Alex Yoong “ashamed” with Petronas over Mercedes GP sponsorship deal

Alex Yoong “ashamed” with Petronas over Mercedes GP sponsorship dealFollowing yesterday’s shock announcement that Petronas has signed up as the title sponsor of Mercedes GP, Malaysia’s ex-Formula 1 driver Alex Yoong has showed disappointment at the snub towards Lotus F1. Yoong is now head of driver development for the Malaysian backed Lotus F1 team.

“Petronas signs with Mercedes GP,” he wrote. “Words fail me. Mercedes is a good team, no doubt, but what Lotus is doing is completely ground-breaking and brave and Petronas not seeing that fills me with shame,” he posted on his Twitter account.

Lotus F1 boss Tony Fernandes has been courting the national oil company as a sponsor after the latter ended its deal with BMW Sauber, and was quoted before as saying: “We would love Petronas to sponsor us”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• silentguy on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:19 pm

1st

• Save for national sentiments that has no place in an International Sporting Biz like F1, Petronas made the right choice by sponsoring Mercedes. If you can sponsor the defending Constructer Champion, why sponsor a Newcomer?

This brings us back to when AY was a driver and he and Kimi both tested for Sauber and there were rumours that Petronas should use their "sponsorship" to influence who Sauber hired as their driver.

Sorry AY, you're a nice guy but biz is all about money not sentiments and as someone who has among the elite in F1, you should have known that. Same gioes or TF, he for all people should know that its only biz and its never meant to be personal.

• impreza on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:32 pm

"Ashamed"? "Ashamed"? Is this guy for real? Just because it's a local team doesn't mean Petronas is obliged to sponsor them. Corporations sponsor teams or individuals they know they will gain something in return. And in Petronas' case tieing up with Mercedes can lead to being an OEM lubricant supplier. It's a business decision. And a bloody smart one at that.

"Ashamed"? "Ashamed"? Who is he to be ashamed? Was he also ashamed when Petronas didn't sponsor him during his little escapade into F1? Bah humbug! If anything, HE should be ashamed! Bad enough he proved to be a complete arse of an F1 driver, the tax payers money that was wasted on him, and now something so stipid coming out of his mouth. He should be ashamed.

A failed two-bit driver who really didn't win anything significant is the Head of Driver Development of the nation's F1 team. Go figure!

• Bob Tahar on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:32 pm

nothing personal… just business…

• huiyooooo on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:32 pm

nice facepalm. hahaha

• Muddy on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Petronas has placed their business priority right. Linking with Mercedes to me is a purely for the good of the branding and networking.

Of course, patriotically it looks fitting for it to support fellow countrymen.

• Dungu on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:33 pm

We are even more ashamed of Alex Yoong performance in Minardi. Look at Mark Webber now!

• petmos on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:36 pm

rileks sudeh

• roscoe on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:38 pm

you not having scored a single point in your F1 career fills us malaysians with shame alex

• Samuel on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:42 pm

C'mon Alex don't be sore !

• huh?

• ec (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:46 pm

yeah, it's about business.

Mercedes OEM oil would fetch better in up-market segment and at premium pricing!!

• no eye see on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:48 pm

keep it up and proof to petronas that they make a wrong choice in the sponsorship… good luck.

• tokpaya on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:50 pm

BooHoo AL & TF.

No support from me either on the 1MF1 Team. Stop stealing the LOTUS name.

• they (lotus f1) have to prove themselves on the tracks before even thinking about big money sponsors.

• i agree with CFA..but then..it would be nice if Petronas be the major sponsor for the Malaysian team..since this is a ground breaking project..Petronas should share their experience to support our team..yes i admit..this is totally business..but this is the proof that we really put our nasionalisme and sportmanship behind..no wonder we never go far with anything..am i right?

• keluangman on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:54 pm

I totally understand Petronas decision on this. Whodaheck wants to be associated with jokers newbie Lotus flower F1 team.

Might as well be associated with world class brand name such as Mercedes( a car everyone would want to own if they can afford it) if they plan to expand their oil lubrication world market.

• carrot on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:04 pm

I support Petronas's move. It is all about getting the most mileage for your money and with Mercedes and Ross Brawn at the helm, Petronas will definitely get the coverage and branding that they desire for. good move. at least we know that our national oil company is not run by a bunch of goons.

• tokmoh on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:15 pm

facepalm ftw!! lol

Great, now we'll be seeing new E-class in petronas ads. zzzzzz

• Anonymous on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Good marketing strategy. supply your lubricant to the merc factory & service centre. Now merc will replace beemer in every petronas ads.

• Kuku stim on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Those who decry Petronas' decision have themselves never led a Fortune 500 company.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Nationalism and Patriotism is only for lowly humble citizens.

Big shots and big corporations need not apply. Seen a well off Bumi businessman (or any for that matter) buy and use a Proton with his/her own money?

That said, whatever Petronas did was a business decision…nothing more nothing less. I'm sure they have had some issues with throwing in good money after what could potentially be a PR nightmare from an untested team. Afterall they didn't get a Malaysian to drive anyway…..at least they were smart enough to not do another Alex Yoong a second time running.

• timber on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:26 pm

All i could say 1Malaysia Concept/Spirit is down to the drain. Need not to comment further. Truly 'Malaysia Boleh' Spirit……

• aksMs on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:27 pm

impreza said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:32 am

impreza, I share your sentiment. Nuff said.

• Shame on u AY !

• kodok on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:29 pm

i'm ashamed coz m'sia has an F1 driver like you!!

• whats the role of SPONSOR actually?

anyone can describe clearly interm of business, image product, elevates the qulity and the performance of sport?

appreciate,,,

• Neo.S on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:32 pm

business is business i agree with PETRONAS decision but i what i think …….AY bring up the result !!!!! sure PETRONAS would like to join LOTUS F1.

• DariusDrake on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:33 pm

There is no reason for Petronas to sponsor Lotus F1 Racing just because it's a local team. F1 is an international platform and corporations that are interested in investing in teams will always consider what is best for them in terms of publicity and investment returns.

This was a corporate strategic decision, and that Mercedes GP has accepted Petronas into the team makes me feel proud about how far our Malaysian companies have progressed through the years, that such a prestigious manufacturer and the defending F1 Champions are willing to team up with.

Look on the bright side, we now have two teams associated with Malaysia. If we want to be an international player, we've got to be less uptight about linking our brands together all the time. This isn't a nation-based championship like A1GP after all.

• boohoo on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Proton/Lotus also should be ashamed when they rejected the engine developed by Petronas motorsport division that supposed to be used in Proton cars. Now that Petronas has access to BMW (before) and Merc (now), prove that Petronas should lead the nation in motorsport industry, which eventually the technology will leak down to regular cars.

• pultat on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Who the heck made him "Head of Driver Development". He's no way qualified to be this when there's better drivers in the team…sheesh…embarrasing…I'd hate to report to someone who knows less then me or less experienced than me in a field of work….

Boo…sore loser!

• Neo.S on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:39 pm

well business is business la …..sure they go for Petronas, but if LOTUS F1 can bring up some super result , i guess they will join u too :)

• Its always been Petronas field of playing with top guns… btw who would put a bet on a new team that is headed by the man who have been there so long and yet to show any results. i wont and petronas did a wise move. Now u will see many mercedes owners changing fuels to petronas if they are a winning formula.

• kancil_driver on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:41 pm

Has this AY heard about air time? You'll get more air time on winning cars (or even top ten). No point in sponsoring if the cameras dont really 'look' at you.

There's no obligation as well.

Also, PETRONAS sells lubricants and by sponsoring Merc, it will be a preferred lub brand! Its about branding.

Also, by doing this, you'll get two teams related to M'sia in F1 instead of only one. It is more patriotic to put their sponsorship to Merc rather than LotusF1. We'll have both (Lotus owned by Proton & PETRONAS itself).

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:46 pm

It's purely a business decision…….

So when you are out there, thinking which petrol station to stop by to fill up your car, it is also a business decision…..Petronas had shown us it is merely a business decision…..

• seancorr on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:49 pm

What Petronas did was to gain more $$$ and I don't deny that. But what they did was for more $$$ and not for national pride. Our government has always been talking about patriotism saying that $$$ isn't everything so support our country but in the end they took the bite off $$$ instead. Petronas is just a mirror our our own government. So much for 1Malaysia.

• His filled with shame. tsk..tsk..tsk . This is what happens when u Twitter. Bet he realises he's made a mickey of himself by now. Seriously, Merc or Lotus? It's just that. And if he still doesn't get it, think ManU or Burnley? AY, go figure it out. Just ask TF for advise on corporate sponsorship, after all AirAsia literally took-off from Old Trafford,UK and not Stadium Darul Aman.

• Roslan Abu Bakar on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:55 pm

Tajaan Petronas pada mercedes adalah langkah yg betul dan tepat.Petronas sudah termasuk dalam kategori elite dalam perlumbaan F1.Ia sudah layak menaja pasukan yg hebat seperti ferrari dan mc laren.Menaja pasukan lotus hanya akan menjatuhkan reputasi petronas.

• the bastard on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Petronas is a business. They sell things. They own 2% share of the world's lubricant market, which is a lot, considering that there are 2 billion cars that needs some kind of servicing every x000 km.

Mercedes sells lots of cars compared to Lotus. If a sponsorship might lead Petronas lubricants to be used on all newly sold Mercedes cars, then it makes solid logical business sense to do so.

If Mr. Yoong is ashamed, I would understand, because he is just a driver, after all.

• 2fast (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Alex should look into his own team. There are no Malaysian first or second drivers.

Until Lotus 1Malaysia proves itself, it cannot expect top level sponsors like Petronas to stick their names to his cars.

• demio121 on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:14 pm

of cuz you wud want Petronas as sponsor. anything, juz run to grand daddy and you will get all you want.

please la guys… wake up ok… stop whinning and do some work. face some competition. don't juz sit around and expect the petrol $$$ to flow to your pocket. Prove yourself first. If you can score some podium finish, Petronas will be more than happy to sponsor.

• Premium on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:26 pm

ask Naza or Air Asia to sponsor Lotus F1 lah!! not petronas.. i need petronas money to help develop my nation…. More business , more revenue, more profit = good for Malaysia Government = more money leakage….

• lifesun on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Execellent and Brilliant Choice PETRONAS. Mercedes GP PETRONAS.

To: Mercedes GP Petronas, The F-uture is ONE ( Victory F1) Great! yeah!.

To: Lotus F1, Good Luck! hehe

• “Petronas signs with Mercedes GP,” he wrote. “Words fail me.

Hello? Are you ok? Petronas got the chance to sponsor the defending champion instead of a new comer and YOU still don't understand?????? No wonder you are such a disgrace to the country and tax payers money… 3seconds behind your teammate!! What a disgrace!!

• Typical….asking for sponsorship not because of credentials but on the basis of position. Grow up man Alex. How many more tongkats do you need?

For once Petronas makes a right decision, one that will bring in the money in the future.Go go go PetroMercedes.

• red9five on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:38 pm

Alex…it's business man….grow up….

BTW…Head of driver development…? U dont even have a good F1 driving history….

If i remembered correctly..there are races where you didnt even made it thru the qualifying session..

U are just good for some undies modelling..

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:40 pm

MALU OHH.. MALU OoooH..

MAGNUM ALREADY SPONSOR U WHAT? BUT WHAT U GIVE TO THEM???

last place? haha

and the worst case that i still remember in Qualifying during Alex Y with Minardi… alex try to speed the car in the corner but crashing the barrier hahaha.. (youre too malaysian, must TEKAN BRAKE at the corner) at the same time, cameraman focusing Micheal Schumacher laughing at Alex.. haha..

• stupidgovernment on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:43 pm

i dont think anyone would want to sponsor a team with alex yoong in it.

• arch808 on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:43 pm

paul,

u know that Alex's gonna get bashed up-side down when u post this can of article, right…??

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:49 pm

alex yoong is immature. really. mercedes GP has a higher chance of winning and it would only make sense for petronas to sponsor mercedes

• nabill on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:00 pm

why ashamed?? this is a business deal ,no time for being patriotric and emotional abot this , and u alex , probably petronas had no confidence in u being at managment level ,btw i have a sugestion , u know those fighter jet engine that have been 'stolen'…i sugest tony fernandes should get on of these n put it in their f1 car ! thats when petronas will come abroad as well !

• Diablo on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:03 pm

And Paul can you use a pic of Alex without the A1 Team Malaysia shirt.. he has no association with A1TM

• Mysticmind on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:04 pm

hahaha.

i like the pic. :D

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:07 pm

pity to Alex.. haha..

1Malaysia F1 Team must prove they can get No.1, so maybe petronas can sponsor them for the next season..

Brand LOTUS name first ok..

• squawk on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Hopefully Petpet will get more mileage out of Merc partnership and make more money to pay for all our gov wastages.

AY, Brawn didn't have any sponsors the first few races so don't cry.

• To be fair, AY was driving an inferior car compared to Mark Webber and I read somewhere that AY's car does not have power steering compared to Mark Webber which has, hence, its a bit of a handicap. But that said, there is no dispute that Mark Webber is the better driver.

AY as head of Driver Development is an interesting proposition. Just take a look at the Badminton coach, Yap Kim Hock, he was not a 'great badminton player" but produced good results.

• wallstreet on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Alex should first be grateful enough that Lotus F1 is 'stupid' enough to hire him.. just because he is a Malaysian. Which team will be so stupid to hire a person like him??? That for one big reason enough for Petronas to run away from this team…a team that can hire a person like Alex Yoong!!! I will never put a single cent in it…..Worst still, he is the Head of Driver Development?????????? He can't even handle a go-kart properly..

• wetbenang on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Well, "ground-breaking" and "brave" will not translate into business growth and income, pretty boy! Why aren't YOU seeing that?

And we all were, are still, "ashamed" of your performance when you were a Formula 1 driver…

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:18 pm

To understand how F1 works perhaps, we can apply the simple economic rules of "demand and supply" (still debatable, but its a fair assumption).

Seriously, who wants to sponsor millions of ringgit on a brand that is unheard off (team Lotus F1 1Malaysia?). To make matters worst, we have Alex Yoong, with no-win record in F1 as the head of driver development. He should be ashamed of himself.

In this "demand and supply" theory, nationalism is totally a crap. Safeguarding the rakyat's tax payer money is consider "nationalism" by itself. By investing it on the winning team (Merc) and get the return in thousand folds.

But it is the totally the opposite over here in some part of Malaysia. That "theory" is not applicable at all. Here in "Boleh Land" everything is possible, regardless of its terrible prospectus.

Hint: That "car manufacturing company" which have been standing up for the past 25 years (with rakyat's money) and barely touches 20% of its export delivery. Heavily subsidies but still having losses. Plus its iconic engineering achievement; failed power window.

Kudos! to Petronas for being an engineering brainer! This is a strategic win!

Petronas needs to invest their capital in car industry (as our oil and gas reserve is depleting). Perhaps Petronas could start to build its own engine (rather than building a car directly). Build your very own engine from scratch, there's NO shame being an engine builder or car parts. Start small and make your way up slowly and you'll in the course to be our next local car manufacturer.

• azrai on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:19 pm

We the Malaysian used to be 'ashamed' when you become the 1st Malaysian F1 driver Alex. Really ashamed. The G have to pay minardi to make you F1 driver. :-(

• Alex Yoong on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:20 pm

I WANT MY MOM!!!

• stupidgovernment on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

CFA: for your comments.

Positive thinking helps but reality will never change. Gone case.

• Tiadaid on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:26 pm

He's just in shock I guess…but I guess it's their fault as well. They didn't aggressively court Petronas when they knew BMW's pulling out. You can't just expect a business to come to them just because of national pride, especially a company that's been in F1 for long, and have tasted success on the top step.

• if alex can really drive 1MF1T to success on par with the likes of bmw,merz then u can start to share your dissapointment.

• iceman on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

cfa said,

December 22, 2009 @ 12:14 pm

To be fair, AY was driving an inferior car compared to Mark Webber and I read somewhere that AY’s car does not have power steering compared to Mark Webber which has, hence, its a bit of a handicap. But that said, there is no dispute that Mark Webber is the better driver.

AY as head of Driver Development is an interesting proposition. Just take a look at the Badminton coach, Yap Kim Hock, he was not a ‘great badminton player” but produced good results.

————————————————–

AY is not even qualify to race in a F1 car. F1 drivers generally start racing at very young age in go-kart…and go karting itself takes many years before you move to different Formula…Karting is a very important foundation as you can see even Schumacher will always jump back to go- kart during off season and also before he about to makes a comeback to F1. AY does not have ANY karting experience at all…He only started racing at 16 in a Proton..and just before he goes into F1, he thought he can just jump into a go-kart and make a few rounds and whoalah…..i m ready! I bet he can't even keep up with a go karter in Malaysia if you ask him to jump into one….3 seconds behind? Very likely….

Hello, Yap Kim Hock is training a bunch of young trainees…So you think Alex Yoong will make Jarno Trulli and Kovalainen a better driver???? These 2 gweilo will not even look at him…I dont think they want AY to teach them how to be 3 seconds slower than each other….

• kid74 on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:33 pm

why must Alex be ashamed?

it should be, M'sians who were shamed by Alex…

its a good move for Petronas and most M'sians would agree to that…

its better for Petronas to sponsor big names, and get BIGGER returns…

now we have 2 F! teams which bears the name Malaysia…

2 are better than 1…

i just hope that fairuz fauzy can prove to the world that M'sians can drive after the shame that Alex has given us…

• kakakaakkakkaka… alex,that a really funny statement man.

ask tony air asia to sponsor laa.. he took lots from malaysian flying in his plane, but then sponsor MU, american football, etc. prove your self first man. who want to sponsor team that the head of driver development was always the last to arrive at finish line.. (if ever finish laa)

• skiborne on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

nahhh he had wasted alot of time and money, he's incapable and has made malaysia kinda a laughing stock, and btw, all this F1 thingy is the business mann,

• 9W2MYV on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Siapa Alex Young tu?

Atas kapasiti ape dia rasa berhak nak komen tentang keputusan PETRONAS menaja Pasukan Mercedes GP.

Dahulu dia dah di berikan peluang untuk menunjukkan bakat dia dalma sukan pemotoran tapi keputusan yang di beri adalah HAMPAS.

Membazirkan duit syarikat yang menaja dia secara peribadi dan Pasukan Minardi.

Saya amat bersetuju dengan penajaan PETRONAS terhadap Pasukan Mercedes GP. Ini akan meningkatkan lagi nama PETRONAS di kalangan 'PEMAIN' dalan industri petroleum dunia.

Dengan menaja satu pasukan yang 'GAH', secara tidak langsung JENAMA PETRONAS akan setanduing dengan jenama-jenama syarikat petroleum yang lain.

Jangan ingat dah pernah pegang lesen super, anda boleh komen banyak tentang PETRONAS la Alex Young.

Buat memalukan aje.

APA, INGAT ANDA SUDAH CUKUP BAGUS?

LEBIH BAIK DUDUK DIAM-DIAM, BUAT KERJA DENGAN PASUKAN LOTUS F1 tu.

Jangan 'DEVELOPE' pemandu macam perangai anda sudah

• Mohd Nazri on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:00 pm

For sure alex is not the best driver during his stint in F1. But neither ruben barichello, neither eddie irvine, neither nelson piquet jr. They manage to get good points solely because they are in a good car. Which fortunate for them. For Alex, he can only make do with minardi at that time, for sure webber look better than him, but aint he an australian driving for australian own team at that time, dont you think it make a lot of difference? A lot malaysian hate alex, i pity him. I think he deserve better for what have he done. He did well with A1 gp, we are among the top ten team , and he won several races, in which only fairuz could replicate that. and at that time, alex already pass the fit age. I think alex is one of the best driver in malaysia, but the one which is very unfortunate too….

having said that, sorry alex but i got to say it is better for petronas to sponsor merc for now, for their own good and for the future of malaysian engineer, with merc they could replicate what they have done with ferrari and the sauber petronas A.G long ago, in which we seen in the end petronas manage to produce superbike, e01 engine, jet ski, go kart and other stuff. That is good for our engineers. (despite some with moderate succes, it actually bring lots of good value to malaysian engineer…like me, we learned a lot from either their succes or failure,if they never tried, we never know)

For lotus F1, i pray in within 3 years time they can produce more glory. And hope that Proton could get involve further and transalate the technology in the normal car and boost their image.

A lot of people in Malaysia is against Proton as well, and compare their story with Perodua and Korean car. One do understand Perodua is not trully Malaysian, it is trully rebadge car like Naza. Secondly Korean can do so well depsite their similar beginning like Proton for the fact Korean has like twice of Malaysian population. They can sell more car and hence more money to do R&D. Korean car philosophy at the beginning is to porduce 1 million crap car at lowest cost possible, once they reached that goal they change their goal to become great manufacturer. Unlike proton, 1 million mark is not long for korean. They have like a very huge market, and chinese market also help them a lot. A lot of korean car taxi in china at least. So really different story.

Keep on complaining on Proton, but how many countries in this world could actually produce own car? How about Bulgaria, Poland, they dont have it, How about the ever rich Dubai and UAE..no they dont, How about big asian country like Indonesia, Thailand and Philiphine…no they dont….they have assembling plan, but they dont have car of their own (indon almost did it with bigger failure). This year i been to germany, bulgaria, korea, china, holland and dubai…some of that country is a great country…but are they any better than malaysia?…no my friend…not at all better…all countries have strenght and weakness….unless you never been out(which is unfortunate for you) you should be proud with our own country

So where do we stand, keep on supporting Malaysia (which we should admit sometime sounded ridiculous) attempt to do what others could only dream off, or keep on praying that people like Alex, Tony , Proton and others to fail.

Last but not least, most like to complaint that these people use government money . But if they dont, would we feel the benefit either direct or indirectly ? U may feel that u didnt get anything out of it…but look at all facilities around you…petronas pay at least 40% of that , Air asia pay some of it, and if Alex could be successful he will definitely require to pay his share.

Lets learn, to be great we need to take risk…if we failed by it yes we do look stupid, but if we succeed we all would get the benefit….be malaysia people…and be proud of what we are…

my 2 cents….

• RamuNik on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Hey Alex, dont be ashamed. Petronas is just doing his business. Lotus is restarting F1 career. Dont expect you guys born in silver spoon bro! Afterall proton is backing up u guys. We have hundreds of reputable company in MY. Bukan petronas saja ada duit la! I appreciate Tony comment- he just like if petronas in on thier side.

Look at the brighter side. Currently all petronas commercial shows X5, M5/ 5 series etc.

Perhaps in 2 years we can see SLR in the commercial… who knows?

If Porcshe can endorse M_bil1, the pride seeing "recommended lubricant for SLR" is Syntium is ahh…. AWESOME!

• Shafiq on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:04 pm

Pure business deals and competitive to the core.

No hard feelings. Cheers.

• lotus-my-foot on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Lotus F1 can go fuck spider la, it is a team just to please Najis

Petronas has been sane.

• Mohd Nazri, you are obviously a nationalis. I have friends who are working all over the world, in UK, Italy, USA, etc. And the truth is that most citizens of those countries that I mentioned don't give 2 sens where their cars are made or who makes them. All they want is a realiable car at a reasonable price and most of them either drive a Jap or Korean car.

Its the same here, I don't care who makes my car so long as its realiable and reasonably priced. Unfortunately for most of us, becos of Proton, we cannot get a realiable car at a reasonable price and that's where the problem starts. Yes, the Japs and Koreans are patrotic and support their own products. All Jap MNC will use a Jap car as their offical car, buy a Jap electrical product.

But just take a look at Malaysia. Ask companies like Sime Darby or even PNB what cars they use as their company cars. Only the middle and lower class are suppose to be patrotic and nationalistic but not the rich and elite. Where does our former education Minister send his children for further education?

Anyway, its off topic – Back to Pteronas sponsoring Mercedes

• maevox on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:20 pm

show 1MF1 team can perform 1st

at least Top 10 position consistently

of course podium finish would be great

need earn the respect

then there will be a lot of sponsorship coming in

• chiewwl on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:38 pm

impreza said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:32 am

“Ashamed”? “Ashamed”? Is this guy for real? Just because it’s a local team doesn’t mean Petronas is obliged to sponsor them. Corporations sponsor teams or individuals they know they will gain something in return. And in Petronas’ case tieing up with Mercedes can lead to being an OEM lubricant supplier. It’s a business decision. And a bloody smart one at that.

“Ashamed”? “Ashamed”? Who is he to be ashamed? Was he also ashamed when Petronas didn’t sponsor him during his little escapade into F1? Bah humbug! If anything, HE should be ashamed! Bad enough he proved to be a complete arse of an F1 driver, the tax payers money that was wasted on him, and now something so stipid coming out of his mouth. He should be ashamed.

A failed two-bit driver who really didn’t win anything significant is the Head of Driver Development of the nation’s F1 team. Go figure!

——————————————————

perhaps the 2-bit driver was put as HDD F1 team as 'put on table to showcase' only…

show show oni…and removed when 'not popular showcase' anymore…

either way.. tats a waste on taxpayer monies..

• superman on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Petronas , moving their backing from a premium global player BMW to Mercedes, another global player just makes more sense than backing a startup that has no links to it's namsake ( Don't kid yourself, Lotus Cars and Lotus F1 Team have no connection watsoeva). It's an acute business proposition for them, continuing a link to another well known brand

On the grounds that Mercedes has taken over the winning constructor, Brawn GP, Petronas has actually moved a step up, seeing that Brawn would/should continue their winning ways.

Petronas has more to gain backing Mercedes GP, much more than backing Lotus F1Team

• superwoman on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:46 pm

apparently, Alex wanted to be granted the $$ for him to play around, try his best, but he don't realized himself not anything close to a proven material.

He deserved nothing! What has he done or achieved to ask for Petronas to sponsor? He should be ashamed to be not done anything during his time, but burning the tax payer's money!

• Jumbsuck on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Get sponsored only to perform silly crashings, last place, not even qualified is even more shameful, like that team Minar-die lah sponsored by Magnum. Lucky number gotta be 4444 die die die die.

• joni (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Sponsorship is about maximum exposure. TV cameras are always focus at the top team. In this case Petronas has taken the right step. Lotus F1 Team must win races regularly to attract sponsors with a lot of money to spend. AY should be ashamed of himself.

• hiruma kecil on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:51 pm

I am malaysian… i love malaysia… but i agree with petronas… can we imagine… petronas is a TITLE SPONSOR.. can u see that everyone wanna use shell because Ferrari and Schumacher use it… now, Mercedes and maybe Schumacher will use Petronas… this thing can increasing Petronas income… if Petronas sponsor lotus team, i don't think the effect will be the same… now imagine, Petronas is title sponsor for Mercedes, then when Mercedes sold their car, maybe they will suggest their customer to use Petronas oil and lubricant like Ferrari and shell.. after all… Mercedes market is around the world… they have a good reputation worldwide… so, this can be a good marketing strategy for Petronas… i use shell because Ferrari use it… i think this is a very good news for us, because when Petronas become more popular than now, it profit will increase…. at that time, when Petronas have a big profit, then Petronas also can sponsor for both Mercedes and lotus, coz it have more money… One more thing is, if petronas be a lotus sponsor, they are not the title sponsor…. even if lotus win, people will say that "lotus f1 win". they not even see petronas. with this mercedes deal, at least people will say" yes… Mercedes PETRONAS f1 win…" then people will know Petronas… am i right… i think la… just 1cent from me…

• yeah…and however put AY there to be in charge must be ashamed of themselves. tis AY fella really buat malu kaum, bangsa dan negara. i'm so proud of petronas in being the main sponsor for mercedes. gonna start pumping petronas from today onwards…as for AY…u can go suck dic!

• Shafik on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:57 pm

Alex, after hearing you sulking..we have decided to sponsor the Lotus F1 team..but only nasik bungkus during lunchtime lah..

yours truly

Petronas

• joe april on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:05 pm

PETRONAS made the right decision. I bet Mercedes GP team will be in front all season long. Value for money.

Salute to Tan Sri Hassan Merican.

• stupidgovernment said,

December 22, 2009 @ 11:43 am

i dont think anyone would want to sponsor a team with alex yoong in it

————————————————————

yo macha…seconded tat

• UNKNOWN on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Petronas is not a charitable company. Sponsoring Mercedes is a viable move and they are prudent in making decision. They will not 'venture', in such economy situation.

• I bet he's doing another palmface becoz of his statement in twitter… I guess he wasn't thinking properly at that moment when he was posting…

• pultat on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Rubens not a great driver ? Oh..so thats why he been with Ferrai and all the years in F1….wake up la brother…smell the roses…give Alex a Ferrari and probably wont finish in the top 10….what a joke!

• Iskandar on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:34 pm

Haiya Alex,

Petronas sudah bagi government 50% of it's profits every year. And a portion of that money is definitely being used for the 1Malaysia F1 team already.

Berapa byk duit Petronas you guys want to cekik ?

My hats to the Petronas management – even with 50% of the revenue vanished to the government coffers, they can still manage the company exceedingly well.

• Huh, what did Alex achieve during his F1 days altho wit full & preposterous govt-backed financial assistance? Nil. Zilch.

It is Petronas prerogative to choose whichever team they wants to sponsor. They have the ultimate & absolute right to decide on choosing the right receipient of their title-sponsor due to various factors such as brand name, reputation, potential & etc. without being sentimental per se, national sentiment. Nowadays, in order to move forward, we have to be global and business is business regardless of nationality & locality. Way to go Petronas! Stand up to its own! As for Mercedes, now go & secure Schumacher as your driver & the rest shall be a wonderful comeback!

• torque (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:51 pm

All I could said is that Petronas have made a good decision on who they wanted to sponsor…IT'S ALL ABOUT BUSINESS ALEX!!

P/s: Anyway, good luck to u too…u gonna need it!

• neveraproton on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:54 pm

I agree with PETRONAS' decision. Its simple business as most of us have commented here. The exposure aside, when PETRONAS gets the OEM lubricant deal with MB, it will be jackpot. All markets that PETRONAS is not in now but MB is in will become theirs. And we know MB sells a whole lot of cars.

Patriotism… I'd like to ask AY, if he was in Lewis Hamilton's shoes in his first year and ended up so close to becoming champion with McLaren, and then Lotus F1 comes with an offer to drive for them, would AY leave McLaren? I doubt it. You're with a winning team, why would you leave? Patriotism should not be subject to physical proof. Does it mean I am not patriotic if I speak English? Am I less patriotic if I holiday at a beach in Maldives and not Cherating? If AY is given a choice by a philanthropist to choose any car in the world, would he get the Perdana V6 because he is patriotic?

Someone up there debated that AY can't be compared to Webber, Piquet et cetera because they drive better cars. So if we're saying the car is the difference, why didn't anybody with a better car pick AY after Minardi? Fact is, he got that slot because he was Malaysian and Magnum sponsored Minardi. He wasn't being patriotic, he was just – rightly or erroneously – an opportunist.

Insiders would proably guess PETRONAS is just giving Lotus – and hence PROTON – a slap for turning down the engine they co-developed and went with Mahaleel's grandiose plans for the CAMPRO. So its all business Alex.

I was in UK in 2005 and had the benefit of visiting the GP Museum at Donington Park UK. There, our delegation was introudced to a man whose name escapes me now, but he was introduced as a man who knew EVERYTHING about F1. Ask him anything, from drivers, cars, winners each year, crashes, scandals et cetera… he will give you an answer.

So I ventured a question: "do you know who Alex Yoong is?" He stood there and repeated the name, and all of us including my British host that introduced him laughed as I was the first man to have ever caught the dude with no answer. Well, I got him up to speed on who AY was, and he was grateful for that bit of data….

AY – just stick to commentating ok?

• akupung on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:57 pm

Cry more Alex!!cry more!!lol

• Petronas-Merc Deal.

More business.

More transfer of tech.

More benefit for Petronas.

In the end.. Its for Malaysia.

Come on..! Dun harp on the nationalistic song or 1Malaysia..

Petronas made a better decision.

Its not puting RM before the country.

Come to think of it.. the decision will benefit the country even more..

Think Big.

Think outside the box.

My 2 1/2 cents.

• Petronas has the right to sponsor a proven team not a rookie team like lotus F1…if they want Petronas to sponsor they need to prove themselve on the track first.

• Eyesore on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:28 pm

lol poor guy…. he just voicing his dissapointment that petronas not sponsoring lotus… nothing else was said… and suprisingly (well not really given the nature of most commenters here) you guys are blowing this issue out of proportion… poor guy…

like tony said it would be good if petronas want to have a part in lotus f1… but if not, it's ok… that's it… no need to dig into the poor guy's history in F1… he was driving an inferior car compared to webber for god sake… he's doing well in A1 gp on the other hand….

• sudha on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:36 pm

If I am entrusted with a multi-million dollar budget to sponsor a sports team, I will aim for the top three teams with a priority towards last year's constructors champion.

I don't give a rat's arse about emotional sentiments. Furthermore, I would not want sponsor someone who finished last at every race.

I pity Magnum for Having to fork out Millions to put Alex Yoong in the driver's seat of an F1 car. What a waste considering all he did was finish the race…without any serious effort to challenge his own team mate at the time…Mark Webber.

• iceman on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Mohd Nazri, its unbelievable u still can't see thru all the shits Proton created….

• UNKNOWN on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:45 pm

wow i think this post is hottest post in 2009. bravo Paul Tan. The comments are increasing in seconds……

• UNKNOWN on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:46 pm

eh Mr. Tan, mind dropping a few comments

• a.s.hamed on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:49 pm

ok la alex…can i give u some idea

never mind petronas dont want to sponsor

may be u can ask malaysians to sponsor

satu org RM1 x 27million = think that's enough

so we can suggest new names for lotus team maybe…

lotus mca [melayu china ane]

lotus mic [melayu india china]

lotus umno [united malaysian nostalgia]

lotus pas [pakcik aku sponsor]

lotus pkr [pakcik kaki racing]

lotus dap [duit anak pakcik]

lotus bebas [baik engkau bagi aku sponsor]

guys which one do you think suits best

my pick is – lotus pas [pakcik aku sponsor]

good luck to you alex! :D

• linear_system on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:49 pm

i know some ppl feel ok and some ppl dont.for me its up to petronas for the decision.theres good n bad in it.just imagine your own rich brother sponsor someone that no relation instead of sponsoring u in building up a new buisness..so sad right?but.its up to ppl here.nothing can satisfy all ppl in one time.for me,im very proud to petronas can sponsor one big name.good luck!

• nudin on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:51 pm

eventhough they put lotus name but it not storng enough compare with mercedes which 1 world famous automotive. fan just focus for the big n good team like mercedes with ross brawn inside the team.so petronas wil also highlited. agree this for branding. there were no turning back to sponsor new comer team with unclear fortune

• Wiraone on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Wa, nobody backing Alex???? I pity him for sure .. :)

• trav_da_man on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:54 pm

The funny thing is this so called AY ranting post has become AY bashing post!

• kimi_ on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:57 pm

Hey Dude, stop bashing Alex Yong,,,REMEMBER he drive for Minardi which is the worst car on grid that time….

Does world champion Alonso get podium when he drive for Minardi…NO right!!!!!

At least Alex is better than Fairuz who didnt even had chance to be race driver, just as reserve role!!!!!

• scubadude (Member) on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Alex Yoong ….. you should be the one WE ARE ASHAME of !!!!! Stop talking cock …!!!

• Hackerz on Dec 22, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Alex Yoong is a moron.. he didn't excel as a racing driver. Head of Driver Development for F1? For F1? Are you kidding me? It's kinda sounds like a woman who never pregnant but telling everyone how pregnant mother really feels.

Alex.. let it go.. give the opportunities to other 'real' people..

For Petronas, good business decision and hopefully McLaren will not become backmarkers-car… otherwise they loose 'camera-exposure'.

And for Lotus F1 team.. hopefully you can do what Ross Brawn did to Brawn GP.. took over from Honda's failure.. kick the dust on McLaren and Ferrari.. huhu..

P/S : Don't let stupid politician 'menyibuk'.. please..

• ayamxxx on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:00 am

Wat a petty for alex, he must be crying reading all the post.

Neway, during a sponsorship of BMW F1, the BMW doesn't make a Petronas as their lubricant chosen for their road car.

How on earth this will lead to mercedes to chose Petronas as their lubricant chosen for their road car in the future?

• Chriztoburd on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:01 am

I kinda feel what AY feels. It sure would be nice to have an "All Malaysian" team next year on the grid. But now it kinda feels like Malaysia has two teams, and it would be interesting to see each teams perform, especially when they're at Sepang, the "Home" circuit. (Home for Lotus F1 because they're Malaysian Based, Home for Mercedes GP because Petronas is the Title Sponsor for Sepang GP)

• Perform, then we talk

• kimi_ on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:13 am

Actually the most ashamed person is our PM Najib himself….He is the one

who launch 1 Malaysia concept to promote 1Malaysia spirit…But now

Petronas which belong to G CHOOSE not to sponsor 1Malaysia F1….

This means Najib's 1Malaysia F1 had failed before its start race…LOL

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:13 am

Looking at how much Petronas and F1has created such a buzz within 24 hours – it would now be really interesting whether Tan Sri Hassan's post as the CEO will be renewed or not this coming February 2010. Najib would have to think twice before making any move to throw out the existing management. For me, if Petronas can perform – why change the captain. Let's keep up the good job Petronas!

• Ferruccio on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:18 am

ayamxxx, I had the opportunity to tour some BMW 4S showrooms in KL and in the back room where they kept their lubricants I certainly saw them using Petronas lubricants. For the 'M' models they used Castrol.

No idea if Petronas lubes were used by all BMW centres worldwide.

Furthermore their 2% lube market share is small but certainly worth something. They can't expect to penetrate the lube market in a big way without any significant global retail network, which they don't have. F1 sponsorship activation would have been more powerful if they had extensive retail network like Shell, BP etc but Petronas claims their increased revenues can be attributed in a significant way to their F1 spend. We have to trust their word on it..

• TehOIce on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:22 am

Excellant branding strategy for Petronas. Imagine next time you open up merz engine's bay and saw " Use only Petronas Syntium". Just like what Proton marketing their cars with " Handling by Lotus"….actually we don't know what Lotus's tech they put into lar……..:)

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:42 am

Well, that how business goes….

• 1malay on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:48 am

crazy.. what for ashamed, alex & tony should be the ones ashamed to be screwing around girls half their age!! further more, alex cant drive, he commentates like a sorhai, tony always get heart attacks.. hopefully that indian fella dies next year wearing the stewardess overalls! so all the stewardess that he fooled around with can laugh!!!

• 1malay on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:49 am

plus, even at a1, alex can forget to press the power boost button!!!! we dont need this kind of fella running our over budget f1 team!!!

• skiborne on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:01 am

being PATRIOTIC has limits too alex! i doubt that u're a true patriot, if u are why not driving perdana V6 over TVR Chimaera that u're driving now?? talk about patriotic, i think u're undoubtedly one of those ignorant americans that have no idea about their own country,– in this case, our own malaysia

• dickybird on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:06 am

mohd nazri, started brightly and went totally off topic! f1 is a business and business ppl want results. so it is nobrainer logic that petronas would sponsor the defending constructors champion rather than lotusf1 which isnt even lotus. put it another, if you had a choice of a f1 drive in a ferrari or a minardi, for sure you would sign with ferrari in a heartbeat. others have said it here before, petronas is not obliged to support lotus just because it is a malaysian team. AY is being emotional about this decision, but deep down we know all that it was the right call. f1 is not a nationalist pursuit anymore, this is not 1930s nazi germany. as for national pride in being able to produce our own car, pride is a sin and one i can do without if it means i can well built, reasonably priced car that can go under 1:35 on the Top gear test track.

mohd nazri ask yourself what kind of cars do the Bn elites drives since they are the ones who are adamant that we have the ability of making our own cars and where do they send their children if our education system is so good it attracts foreigners?!

one should be proud of one's country only if there is good reason to be.

• Ferruccio on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:12 am

” Use only Petronas Syntium”

The irony is, when a Merc driver, say in Europe..or US etc.. opens his bonnet and reads the recommendation sticker.. where is he going to find a bottle of Petronas Syntium??

• Henry Tang on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:13 am

A good piece of business. Petronas is putting their money on a winner.

Lotus F1? You gotta be kidding me.

• hadi1975 on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:13 am

my 2cents worth Alex… it's a business decision….go figure…or better still ask airasia and naza for sponsor. they're also made in malaysia company….

you guys forgot the go kl f1 team which is sponsored by if i'm not mistaken DBKL….

• btw, TF said the other day that he though he saw it all in the Music and Airline industry when it came to politics and back stabbing the paddock politics in F1 shocked him. TF said, they shake your hands one minute and the minute you turn your back and walk away, immediatelly stab your back.

This must be some of the examples he was talking about.

• kerelbort on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:22 am

when supporting BMW Sauber.. all petronas vidz are using BMWs and now sponsoring Merc.. we should see new Petronas vidz using SLS and ML.. and could use this vidz globally to show Merc and Petronas collaboration.. with Lotus? what? seriously? it is Litespeed to start with.. where got car one…

• skiborne on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:25 am

and honestly tony is dirty mannnn, he owes MAHB alotttttt of money, abt 100++ million ringgit. bloody hell, hutang is hutang man, gotta pay,

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:28 am

funny to all of you, lotus vs merz petronas?

youre kidding right?

do you know how it was seems going so easy for merz to be wit PETRONAS?

1 – There's MERZ assemble plant in PEKAN PAHANG that PM NAJIB'S place.

2 – PM or Relatives might also had share in it too! Who know?

3 – Because of that assemble plant, merz selling well (and cheaper than BMW btw) here and south asia.

4 – So you think there's nothing within MERZ malaysia with MERZ Germany HQ?

Think again.

• Ferruccio on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:34 am

The Merz Malaysia is small compared to Merz global business. I doubt it could be used as leverage.

However it's certainly very easy to make accusations and innuendos

• Jacko on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:37 am

i would love to see malaysia airlines sponsors F1 team…

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:44 am

I agree with Ferruccio.

Mercedes F1 team decision to partner with Petronas will definitely not be based on an assembly plant in Malaysia. I think Petronas wasn't targetting in supplying lubricant to a small production unit. What about other plants Mercedes has around the world? Those high growth countries (the BRIC countries, eg Brazil, Russia, India and China) should be the target for Petronas. Crossing my fingers that Petronas will continue to make smart decisions in the future.

• initial R on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:51 am

If u in biz, which one will u choose :

1. Merc ?.

2. Lotus litespeed ?.

For me, for sure i choose Merc… Why ?. In biz term, U invest for profit volume. So Merc have line up for road car (most of it used by arragont rich ppl) same thing goes it past with BMW that they have all cool cars line up….

So think again, invest for get return volume of invest just for Name only…

Lotus have good line up of driver already…. but to get big back up like Petronas, Shell, etc… need to prove that if u used they lube or gas in race (not by contract) & u get top 10 result it prove that u deserve to get what they want even all big company will go direct to you to put they name on your car…. So start your car & get top 10 above (not top 10 below like AY)…. :)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:57 am

ALEX YOONG. LOUSY DRIVER. IDIOT DRIVER.

• bugbear1986 on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:04 am

well.. looks like he jz dun get it….

f1 is all bout business…

• kayel on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:08 am

for sure after this, Petronas will use mercedes car instead of bmw in their comercial advertising…what model will they used ?

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:11 am

Like it or not, I pity Alex. I guess he was a tad bit emotional when he made that statement. I guess he would have thought a lot of people would share his sentiments. But then again, he is just a driver. He doesn't understand the business world.

Perhaps Alex needs to get a proper education on business studies. And only then, perhaps he can grasp why so many others give thumb up on the Petronas-Mercedes deal. Sorry Alex, it's nothing personal.

• bobby on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:14 am

F U Alex.. Who the hell are you to be ashamed of ?

A guy that never score a single point in his F1 career now the head of dunno-what department. This guy is a joker.

Come on. Business world is all about money. Get over it.

Sponsorship for Merc is a damn brilliant move right on time to slap the face of head of joker, Fernandos

• bobby on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:27 am

134/136 post ( up to now ) is a bashing post to our greatest F1 driver, Alex Yoong and the pic above represents directly what is happening now.

He is covering his face as a result of bashing on his ranting sigh.

• alex, we are ASHAMED of you for not having the ability to qualify for race in F1. Wasting money.

• Eyesore on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:28 am

paul, for god sake… close the comments section for this thread pls… ppl are taking this issue out of context and bash the hell out of this poor man… IS IT FUN FOR YOU TO SEE A MAN TRYING TO MAKING MALAYSIAN PROUD BEING BASHED??

The team have not even been on the track yet but… well as usual malaysia's finest fortune teller already know how they would perform… bravo…

He just stated his disappointment… is that wrong? He did not even say anything that suggest PETRONAS must sponsor Lotus team…

Pls if you have any kindess at all… close the comment section… pity the man, while these bashers are laying the lazy ass in front of the computer bashing our own country… he's working his ass out to make malaysia a proud country… and this is what he get in return?? bravo…

• anonymus on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:29 am

he thought he'll get Malaysian to support him for his remark but instead, peoples condemn him…what a loser..business is business nothing personal..congratz petronas for saving the malaysian golden goose from the greedy

• wastage on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:34 am

if Maha is still the PM, No doubt Petronas will support Lotus F1 and put the Proton name in the team too.

this is Not A1GP, country is not the reason they compete in F1, they are looking for the best team, not the best Country-supporting Team.

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:38 am

Eyesore, let's see the positive side of today's bashing session. At least people "up there" knows where the RAKYAT stands in this matter.

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:45 am

AY, your kind of mentality is what makes Malaysian and Malaysian companies handicapped. Don't expect Petronas to become "Jaguh Kampung" forever when they are the ONLY Malaysian company in Forbes500.

You have to remember, Petronas is diong business. It is already supporting the gov with half its GDP which is more than enough, since some of it does indirectly goes to your LotusF1 team via grants to Proton to Lotus. Please don't complain. More like, who are you to complain on what a big company like Petronas does?

I mentioned in the previous thread about the Petronas-Merc sponsorship only sends back one indirect messagge which is Petronas will not want to associate itself to an inferior/unproven brand. If Lotus can proove itself like 5 years in a row-like win constructor's and driver's throphy, surely Petronas will not hesitate to sponsor Lotus. Petronas is fighting RoyalDutch/Shell-Ferrari here.

Merc has been in F1 for quite a long time with its McLaren partnership. Cortsworth engine…hmm, when was the last time they won?

Hopefully you read this thread and make another statement on twitter or something congratulating Petronas for landing a huge contract or you could just leave this thing be and don't bring it up again. Hopefully my comments are kind and acceptable to you AY.

• blaze on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:52 am

ashamed? is this guy for real? i think based on the comments above, more people are ashamed of him before.. and he is what? the boss for driver development for team lotus? meaning ?? developing jarno and heiki? chill out la bro..

• petronas wif mercedes ? out of all brands y choose an old man's brand ? oh crap…

• Syntium or Primax branding can still sponsor Lotus F1, on a smaller scale. Obviously there's less freedom in a politically motivated environment but a show of support to the nation's effort shouldn't be sidelined. One for business, another for the nation. My 2cts.

• Tony Fernandes on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:17 am

Alex! You're fired!!!

Go get your MOM.

• Tony Fernandes on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:26 am

Dang!!! I just fired Alex Yong. Lucky me.. Pheww.. who want to be 3 seconds late behind Richard Branson. I don't want to wear the stewardess dress.

• synthium 800 on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:36 am

hi there…dont worry all…

keuntungan daripada marketing and sales of petronas products will also

portion keuntungan government Malaysia….40% revenue goes back into gov. why afraid…what we afraid is how does gov and it's people spending them "wisely" …and with their internal interest with when projects build up and run across country here….

reg.

go go petronas.

• no one's car on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:53 am

"It's the economy, stupid"

• pity alex… Go go go aleX Yong!

nanti kita buat derma kilat ye…kebabom! (bunyi kilat)

• littleboy on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:14 am

ha ha ha….funny…shame on him!!!!last time as F1 driving nothing special came from him….everytime fail to win and said got problem this that….ha haha

• pultat on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:28 am

This is a good example of the Malay saying "kerana mulut, badan binasa"…hahaaha…look before you leap man…in this case…think before you open your mouth…Alex is getting all this flak for that comment…

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:34 am

"think before you type anything on the Twitter".. that's more like it. Even Tiger Woods doesn't get this much bashing

• LIghtning McQUeen on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:43 am

szw said,

December 22, 2009 @ 6:57 pm

petronas wif mercedes ? out of all brands y choose an old man’s brand ? oh crap…

============================================

Wey stupid!!! do your own homework!!! Mercedes was the last year F1 champ dude… Not last century loser like AY!!!

• look our tax money from petronas aka the G use to sponsor merc..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

or

look our tax money from proton aka the G use to sponsor lotus..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

is it same or different….i think people here giv very contradict opinion la..is it they support G or the opposite or U*NO dog (wat they usually said to people who support proton) or just plain ignorance…that wat i think la kan..let u try from previous article bout proton sponsor n petronas sponsor

• LIghtning McQUeen on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:47 am

oohoo said,

December 22, 2009 @ 10:34 am

Proton/Lotus also should be ashamed when they rejected the engine developed by Petronas motorsport division that supposed to be used in Proton cars. Now that Petronas has access to BMW (before) and Merc (now), prove that Petronas should lead the nation in motorsport industry, which eventually the technology will leak down to regular cars.

=============================================

R u sure what u r talking about?

Petronas has succeeded to build 'toy' engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one? I think petronas better concentrate on Enhancing Its product line up like what shell did.

• look our tax money from petronas aka the G use to sponsor merc..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

or

look our tax money from proton aka the G use to sponsor lotus..wat a waste they should use the money to build house, miskin people….rite people

is it same or different…..i think people here giv very contradict opinion la..now they giv bless using our tax money to sponsor merc…is it they support G or the opposite or UM NO dog (wat they usually said to people who support proton) or just plain ignorance…that wat i think la kan..let u try compare from previous article bout proton sponsor n petronas sponsor…its all bout branding rite

• Kambing Laut on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:48 am

"Yoong is now head of driver development for the Malaysian backed Lotus F1 team." – this shud be ashamed.

How can he become a head of driver development with ashamed experienced in F1 before this.

Business is business, family is family. Good job petronas.

• Big Mac on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:49 am

Collaborating with Mercedes, and become the OEM lubricant supplier to a high quality car manufacturer – Petronas would definitely have to up their R&D.

After all, you wouldn't want the Tan Sris and Datuks to start complaining about their Mercedes stalled on the PLUS highway because of wrong spec lubricants supplied by Petronas, do you?

• nabill on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:55 am

alex should be smarter and try and get other local companies to sponser , doesnt have to be a major sponser , any small sticker on an f1 car costs millions , alex , petronas is NOT the ONLY company in msia , and probably he stil thinks od A1 where all local companies sponser the national car , this is F1 , different fish ,

there are alot of local companies who , if u negotiate with them properly , i believe he can get sting like maybank,telekom,maxis, and all those big fat companies , atleast for one season …..

• Potong on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:59 am

I feel sorry for u AY.

But who r you to come out with such remarks. An underachiever decrying a decision made by a business champion that has achieved more than everything on the world stage.

• azhar on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:04 am

Alex and Malaysian F1 Team,

All the very best. Win first and then come and talk to Petronas, Exxon, Shell or others…

• bruce lee on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:16 am

alex yoong pergi mati lah u…… knn, lousy driver…..

• Rrrrr on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:35 am

I dont think Petronas have the technology…they are cheating malaysian. Suck money from ours for given good benefit to their top management, and then enjoy over the world.

• khimfoh on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:38 am

Welcome to the real world of doing business Mr Alex Yoong. Large successful MNCs are only willing to sponsor a front winning team where it can be guaranteed huge amount of TV air time to promote its brand.Forget about patriotism. What Petronas is doing is pure simple business sense. I can't for the life of me understand why Alex Yoong is unable to understand it. You should focus on bringing in the results which by then companies would be knocking on your doors to offer you sponsorship.

Take a look at Brawn GP..the team produced the results and you know what happens next, Mercedes buys the team and becomes the title sponsor.

I am ashamed at Alex Yoong for being so narrow-minded and naive.

• ayamxxx on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:46 am

oohoo said,

Petronas has succeeded to build ‘toy’ engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one? I think petronas better concentrate on Enhancing Its product line up like what shell did.

Are u sure?

From wat i learn during my Uni times, when a company or manufacturer want to built an engine, they must pass a lot of test, rules, emission standard and so on. They must test that their engine capable to surpass like 250k-300k km.

And from I heard, initially Petronas built the engine, and they want to give/sell/whatever to Proton as a proven that their sponsoring of f1 sauber have a benefit. Not just to proton, but to our country also.

But suddenly Proton say that they also capable to built their on engine, which is a campro and not want to lose the dignity to petronas. The Petronas design license has been sold to one company in China if I not mistaken.

• poyolahkau on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:22 am

LIghtning McQUeen said,

December 22, 2009 @ 8:47 pm

Petronas has succeeded to build ‘toy’ engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one?

—————————————————————–

Dear LIghtning McQUeen,

I can't tell you more, because it's highly private and confidential, but let's just say that there are more than one interested parties who are interested to commercialise Petronas' engine. Just wait for a few years' time, you'll see…

• silverarrows on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:23 am

LIghtning McQUeen said:

"R u sure what u r talking about?

Petronas has succeeded to build ‘toy’ engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one? I think petronas better concentrate on Enhancing Its product line up like what shell did."

Halo Incik. Petronas did not develop a toy engine la. E01 is very real and during the Proton fiasco, it was already at the production-ready-prototype stage la. But Proton so stubborn wanted to use Campro instead.

Now Proton has the biggest car park in Malaysia (see Shah Alam HQ). Engine so hot cannot sell cars issit?

Petronas took E01 and produced engines for Superbike, Jet Ski, and ATV.

And then one China car manufacturer pay Petronas money to use the E01 engine for its cars over there. The Chinese manufacturer is happy and Petronas make money.

So, R u sure what u r talking about?

• LotusLover on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:33 am

To Malaysian:

Why other nations look down on Malaysia or Malaysian? Because WE don't love ourself! we just look down to ourself, how u guys to expect another people to respect you?

To Paul:

Is better don't post any news which related to Malaysia auto industry or motor sport in the future anymore . ( Just Joke).

• 9W2MYV on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:37 am

>>>>>

And then one China car manufacturer pay Petronas money to use the E01 engine for its cars over there. The Chinese manufacturer is happy and Petronas make money.

So, R u sure what u r talking about?

<<<<<

Yes, U R right. It's Nanjing Automobile use that engine

• Avatar on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:09 am

Your recent remarks have caused major criticism among fellow Malaysian. It's now very clear on how we Malaysian's actually think about you and your under-achievements. Nevertheless I have always thought you have been very fortunate in your career. By achieving nothing during your 'glamorous' and 'successful' career in F1 World Championship to be appointed as the 'Head of Driver Development' is something we, Malaysian can never comprehend.

Catch us if we are right, Head of Driver Development basically means overlooking the current drivers under Lotus F1to groom and guide each and every drivers so they could thrive in this extreme competitive sports. So kindly enlighten us how is that possible when the Head of Driver Development for Lotus F1 is someone that basically achieved nothing in this industry. Do we really believe Jarno Trulli & Heikki Kovalainen will actually seek any advise or guidance from a former F1 driver that ended his career accumulating a spectacular ZERO career points?

The only thing we Malaysian are really ashamed of is you gracing the F1 circuit with our tax-payers money and now being appointed as the Head of Driver Development. True enough, what Lotus is trying to achieve here is ground breaking but having you as our 'highly qualified' Head of Driver Development around making senseless remarks on Petronas business decision is the SHAME we Malaysian can do without…..

• Najibest on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:08 am

it's purely business. petronas sponsoring mercedes, they'll probably be supplying both fuel and lubricant for the f1 team, get more exposure from it. also petronas brand would be widely know internationally. btw, the team's is a factory owned mercedes team. it's mercedes who's picking up the bills and petronas is just the title sponsor and fuel n lube supplier (maybe just lube)

if the sponsor lotus, it'll be purely monetary. the engine's costworth, and they definitely already have recommend fuel and lube for that engine. what's left for petronas then?

and btw, why is the lotus team getting so upset about petronas sponsoring mercedes. why not ask TF to get Airasia to sponsor Lotus. so far he's still saying that he's in the team on a personal capacity (meaning non of his company is involved). it's not fair to ask money from other companies when your own company won't be sponsoring your own team. also, where's NAZA group? they're supposed to be sitting on tons of money. they should sponsor team lotus also since they're involved in the project. look at Team Force India, the main sponsor is Kingfisher Airlines which VJ owns. And look at Virgin Racing Team. RB is putting Virgin money in it. it's not like VJ is asking for ONGC (India National oil company) to sponsor his team or RB is asking BP to put money in his team.

so get real guys!

• Stop all this bashing! Those involved don't even give a damn to the spirit of 1 Malaysia mooted by the PM.

Malaysia is not ready for F1, period.

• Anak Malaysia on Dec 23, 2009 at 10:07 am

Dungu said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:33 am

We are even more ashamed of Alex Yoong performance in Minardi. Look at Mark Webber now!

I love this statement… AY its better u do your work then blaim any body… wekkkkkkkkk

• Alex Yoong, former F on Dec 23, 2009 at 12:34 pm

Hey Malaysians! Just because I am the best driver in Malaysia (well, at least I was driving in the F1 while your only participation was in contributing towards the taxes that paid me!) doesn't mean that you guys can write hate messages to me. I am ashamed of you fellow Malaysians. Most of you can't drive for nuts; and for sure, none of you bagged a former model to shag in the sack!

Lotus gave me the job because I am the best F1 driver in Malaysia. There is none other in Malaysia more experienced than I am. Yes, I drove like shite while I was with Minardi; but I blame that on inferior cars. Yes, I wasted millions of taxpayors' monies; but I blame that on unsound political decisions. Yes, I have been shagging my wife for years and still no offsprings between us; but I blame that on the pressure from you Malaysians. I mean, I can't help it if I come before I start, can I? After all, I am the famed Alex Yoong and with that, comes pressure before pleasure.

Well, throw in your whining punchlines but in the end, I get to travel all over the world, shagging the umbrella girls at exotic hotels all over (with your monies, no less :) while you guys read about my dismayed performance at my job with Lotus. Well, I blame that on Lotus for their unreasonable expectations that the team has a chance at winning. After all, I did drive like a shite in F1 before, right? They should know better.

• Jarum on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:19 pm

This goes to show how much AY knows about motorsports and sponsorship! I would fire his ass if I was the team principal for Lotus F1 not so much for his remarks but merely worried how on earth is this stupid fellow suppose to lead my drivers?

• willpower on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:42 pm

Look at the BIG Picture. Petronas is making the CORRECT move.

Shame on you

• redfueler on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:13 pm

haha..ashamed to you la AY? what a joke with your kl minardi team???if you really want make a statement, make sure youre world champ 1st!

• narrowband on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:22 pm

Paul I think you contorted Alex's use of the word 'shame'.

He meant it to be 'disappointment'.

Looking at how most previous comments are bashing AY, saying they're 'ashamed' to have AY – it is an unprovoked retaliation that shouldn't have.

That said, I do agree AY could have driven better when he was in F1 last time. It's just that sometimes we gotta give credit where credits due, and vice versa. When he didn't say/mean something, we acknowledge that. Not misunderstand.

If I were Petronas, there's only so much patriotism I can take. When it comes to multi-million dollar business deals, I'd always go for the one that guarantees the best ROI. And this guarantee is forecast based on observed trends and track record. Lotus unfortunately doesn't have that, yet. Give it some time, I'm pretty sure one day Petronas will consider Lotus a worthy investment too.

• narrowband on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:31 pm

Paul I see you've got moderation turned on.

You do not need to approve this.

'shame' takes several meaning.
    http://www.chambersharrap.co.uk/chambers/features…

'shame on …'

'ashamed of …'

'It is a shame that …'

I'm pretty sure AY meant the third one. I don't know what amounts to defamation, but I feel sorry for him for receiving a huge bashing for using good english (albeit a very lousy one as a celebrity).

• Eyesore on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:49 pm

what is wrong with voicing your disappointment? I sure we all at some point have voiced our disappointment…. is it worth getting bashed?

btw this is going nowhere…if somehow petronas decided to sponsor lotus instead of mercedes… you ppl gonna bash it anyway…

there's no way to satisfy ungrateful bastards who only think about themselves and themselves only….

no wonder malaysia is so slow in getting into high income and developed country status….if this kind of ppl exist in this country, looking down on ppl trying to improve, bash the hell out of ppl efforts… malaysia will never be a better country…

petronas decided to sponsor mercedes, lotus f1 is on full speed towards their debut in F1, alex yoong disappointed… that's that…

stop bashing, give them a chance to prove their capabilities, they got world class drivers and former renault boss for god sake…

for those who bashing alex yoong like you yourself are better… why don't challenge him for 1 on 1 at sepang… see if you can even see a glimpse of the backside of his car… stupid ungrateful bastards………

• dzulx on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:50 pm

Eyesore said,

December 22, 2009 @ 6:28 pm

paul, for god sake… close the comments section for this thread pls… ppl are taking this issue out of context and bash the hell out of this poor man… IS IT FUN FOR YOU TO SEE A MAN TRYING TO MAKING MALAYSIAN PROUD BEING BASHED??

The team have not even been on the track yet but… well as usual malaysia’s finest fortune teller already know how they would perform… bravo…

He just stated his disappointment… is that wrong? He did not even say anything that suggest PETRONAS must sponsor Lotus team…

Pls if you have any kindess at all… close the comment section… pity the man, while these bashers are laying the lazy ass in front of the computer bashing our own country… he’s working his ass out to make malaysia a proud country… and this is what he get in return?? bravo…

———————–

Agree

• mystichead on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:22 pm

mystic mind..u need to get your facts right.. mercedes is way more expensive than BMW.. C class is at about RM240k++ but 3 series basic is RM236k++

• Get the work done; show results and look for sponsorship next year end….If sponsorship amount not secure at this point, this team should not be formed anyway.

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:25 pm

I think Alex Yoong are deserved enough at that position.

Even thought he's not the best, but no one as better as him for the time being. Now if you had one, tell me! who is the malaysian man that get highest level in F1 except him?

he also managing well AXLE Proton team and they do win severals racing with their Satria Neo.

Good driver doesn't meant they are good manager. Vice versa.

So you think that Ferrari's Tod is a great driver and better than Schumi huh!

• Jarum on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:39 pm

Mysticmind said,

So you think that Ferrari’s Tod is a great driver and better than Schumi huh!

Here are just some facts about Jean Todt that may surprise you. I hope in future you would at least use your brains (provided you have one) before making embarrassing comments:

1. Multiple winner of World Rally Championships

2. Multiple winner of Rally Raid and Sportscar races

3. Founder of the Peugeot Talbot Sport Team

Now please don't get too bloody smart (for your own good) and start showing us similarities between Axle Proton Team and Peugeot Talbot Sports Team.

• skylar on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Don't feel so down alex. Try your best first in lotus F1 team. make your self valueable in future time. Ganbatte kudasai…….

• nikolo98 on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Wow, reading all these comments was truly educational as well as entertaining. I suppose its safe to say that the majority feels that Petronas did the right thing. I'd have to oblige as well as I think this decision by Petronas is probably the single most intelligent decision that has ever been made by a GLC. The branding of Petronas' name will definitely give them a major advantage into foreign markets and will definitely make the brand more prominent.

"It's just business" as many commenters here have said and that is the simple truth. Don't hang and persecute Petronas just because they decided against becoming a title sponsor for the Lotus F1 team, its not like they sold/betrayed the country by making this decision. As a matter of fact, in the long-run, this sponsorship will benefit Malaysia as how their joint sponsorship with BMW has become.

I've always been a fan of the Mercedes-Mclaren team previously and having the team name read Mercedes-Petronas next season is something extraordinary for me!

CHEERS TO PETRONAS! I'm proud to be Malaysian!

• kuihbangkit on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:57 pm

in the final analysis, we just need to ask la whether this is a good business deal and good value for money for Petronas.

• petronas being in the forbes top500 is questionable once u know how they make thier money. you wont be so proud then. the only historic thing about the 2010 lotus f1 team is that its just a british team using the lotus name only backed by unlimited government money.

• LIghtning McQUeen said,

oohoo said,

Petronas has succeeded to build ‘toy’ engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one? I think petronas better concentrate on Enhancing Its product line up like what shell did.

dear kilat mcpermaisuri,

check ur facts. Petronas E01 was installed in the Proton Satria GTi used in the Petronas F1 in Sepang, if I'm not mistaken the plate number is GP01 and GP02. It's a 2.0 litre engine, producing over 200 ponies and over 200Nm of torque (plus its a NA engine). Go google it if you think its a fairy tale.

• para2 on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Firstly, I agree with Petronas deal. Great moves!

C'mon guys, Lotus is not a bad after all, they have good reputation in F1 history .. just I think they need a great come back. With a BIG sponsorship from Petronas, Lotus can go further in their team development since they have good driver too.

P.S: Its remind me one tv show when this fella lost to his sister on his own race car(axle SN). Maybe he just not push hard or just cruising.. I dont know.. but it kind a disappointed to see that.

• A_Amir on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:39 pm

It's business, you d*mb *ss… btw, proton had backstabbed Petronas before years ago when they cancelled their deal to use petronas engine *which later, China bought the engine after proton dropped out from the deal* so, of course petronas won't want to work with proton anymore after that incident.

• Oscar on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:05 pm

Petronas did the right choice to sponsor Mercedes in F1. I don't think that just because Malaysian company has to sponsor Malaysian "related" team. Its about business and image for Petronas. Sponsoring a good team would bring better image and reputation. If sponsoring a weak team, it only damages the image of Petronas. Of course, i hope Lotus F1 would proved that it is worth sponsoring for. Maybe some other companies would start sponsoring .

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:08 pm

what happened to minardi ah?

• tokmoh on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:22 pm

waa bapak aa… gila hyperactive sume org…

I dunno what benefit petronas gets from their partnership with BMW, but hope better benefit this time ard

inb4 comments closed.

• I think Alex is probably just airing his frustration after all that pitching to Petronas, they chose to go for Mercedes. Well, it's just business, and I hope after this, he'll move on and improve his own team with extra motivation, rather than continue complaining.

• Ferruccio on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:30 pm

This comment thread has obviously been blown out of proportion. Alex Yoong simply twittered his thoughts, which is absolutely fine. Everyone twits and i'm sure we've all twittered critical remarks much worse than Alex but no one cares because we're nobodys and Paul Tan doesn't bother to put in in his blog.

Alex didn't do anything wrong BUT he should by now be mindful of the fact that the global media follows his twitter and are quick to sensationalize anything worth sensationalizing, unless of course he doesn't mind being in the media often for whatever reason, good or bad.

As for his deservingness to be the head of driver development at Lotus F1, it is an irrelevant issue to the Petronas Merc issue. It is even more irrelevant if the person making such comments are not part of the motorsport industry and thus CLUELESS to who has been doing what in the driver development circle and thus CLUELESS as to who would best fit the job description defined by Lotus F1 for the role.

I'm quite sure they spent more then 10 seconds to formulate job roles and I'm sure they have a bunch of people responsible for recruitment. I'm sure it's not a case of Tony Fernandes waking up one day and deciding for himself, he wants Alex Yoong on board, Mia, Riad etc.. If that was the case all his business ventures would be screwed including the F1 team

• anony on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:32 pm

Lotus F1 is a waste of ppl money

• superwoman on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Latest news! Shumi Racing for Petronas-Merc!!! WOW!!!

• arum said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:39 am

Mysticmind said,

Here are just some facts about Jean Todt that may surprise you. I hope in future you would at least use your brains (provided you have one) before making embarrassing comments:

Now please don’t get too bloody smart (for your own good) and start showing us similarities between Axle Proton Team and Peugeot Talbot Sports Team.

————————————————–

R U sure bro……

Life and career

Todt was born in the commune of Pierrefort in the Cantal department of France. His father was Polish Jew who escaped to France during World War II. His mother was French. Todt's motorsport career began when he borrowed his father's Mini Cooper S for a friend to drive in a rally. Todt soon became a rally driver himself.[4] He moved to various driving roles in rally series, but decided his strength was as a co-driver; he continued as such with the Peugeot Talbot Sport rally team until his retirement from competition in 1981.

[edit] Peugeot Talbot Sport

The team moved Todt into a management-oriented position, charging him to organize the design and construction of the 205 Turbo 16 for the 1984 World Rally Championship season. After a slow start, the 205 won the world title in 1985 and 1986; other Todt-managed models continued to dominate, winning rally championships, hill climbs, and with the highly successful Peugeot 905, the Le Mans 24 hours and the World Sportscar Championship, into the 1990s. Peugeot, despite Todt's continual urging, refused to enter the Formula One Championship, and when a position opened at the Ferrari F1 team, Todt took the opportunity in 1993.[5]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean_Todt

he actually very good as co-driver bro…….smack on the face bro

• Jean_Todt

+ he manage not driving at Peugeot Talbot Sport

• I was more ashamed when I saw him driving (racing is not the word for him) in F1…

• Agreed wt Petronas decision…..all abt ROI.

• whoosh on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Maybe he thinks our government can apply our Malaysia Boleh's NEP into their team…Prove what you can do first before you even open your mouth…

• Yap Kim Hock not a great badminton player????

World class…competing at world level all the time….

Compare that to AY? driving (not racing) F1.. courtesy of Magnum…left foot braking was too difficult…

• whoosh on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Mysticmind said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:25 am

I think Alex Yoong are deserved enough at that position.

Even thought he’s not the best, but no one as better as him for the time being. Now if you had one, tell me! who is the malaysian man that get highest level in F1 except him?

———————————-

He was up there in F1 merely because of our gov at that time desperately wanted to show Malaysia Boleh by bringing a Malaysian driver to F1. At that time only Alex Yoong was actively racing..'Active' only, active but NO result. So the only way is give Magnum few more empat nombor draws and ask them to pay Minardi for a ride. Minardi always occupy last spot, so what the heck. They will let any tom, dick and harry to drive provided they bring in money…And you call this 'Highest Level'?

• which one do u support?

Merz Petronas or "Air Asia" Lotus? without AY….tough to decide…

with AY – Merz Petronas for me…

• krekosan on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm

hey alex, win first laa, talk later. action speak louder. petronas want to sell their brand in a bigger way.

please laa alex, once u win, we sure support u. but for now, please just shuddup and do ur job!

• alex yoong on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:56 pm

Help , help , help don't do this to me forgive me I know I'm a failure .. At least I was in f1.. Ok ok petronas the best ..

• fazron80 on Dec 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Superb deal and amazing opportunities for petronas to sponsor a known f1 winning brand instead of obscure brand like the one Alex yoong works for. Go get other sponsors. Petronas is already taken. nuff said.

• kodok on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:09 pm

LIghtning McQUeen said:

“R u sure what u r talking about?

Petronas has succeeded to build ‘toy’ engine, not even tested at actual on the road car. If the engine is good why there is no other manufacturer interested to buy one? I think petronas better concentrate on Enhancing Its product line up like what shell did.”

have u ever seen a waja installed with E01 engine???..if u dont juz STFU!!

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Jarum said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:39 am

Mysticmind said,

Now please don’t get too bloody smart (for your own good) and start showing us similarities between Axle Proton Team and Peugeot Talbot Sports Team.

—-

Multiple winner still unconsidered as great as 7 times world champion in F1 btw. Use more your brain.

lets take another example.

so you think, that Sir Richard Branson should be the best pilot to be a manager and owner of the Virgin Air huh!.

Managing and running company had nothing to do (in total) with being a great driver. It's just and addition!

• Eyesore on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:38 am

Anyway… Good Luck to Lotus F1, Trulli and Kovaleinen….

Last year brawn Gp caught ferrari and other manufacturer unguarded with the double diffuser design… lucky they were not banned as FIA cannot afford to face anymore major issue last year (after too much major issue).

This year won't be easy… ferrari will be back stronger… and i wish ( i do wish) somehow lotus F1 can finish in front of mercedes in one of the race… that would a smack on the asses and faces of all ppl here that currently looking down on them and underestimate their capabilities…. if they can't do that.. top 10 finish would be enough since top 10 racer will get points this time….

GOOD LUCK… may the year of tiger will awaken the tiger in Lotus (read that as PROTON) =p

• Lancer-Nation on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:09 am

Just because we have Lotus F1, Lotus F1 can waltz into any corporation and ask for sponsorship. Absolute crock.

I believe we shouldn't single Alex Yoong. We have left out Tony Fernandes. And as some of us know, we know how Tony "ticks".

Tony, you cannot get people to sponsor or should we say "absorb your marketing/sales cost" or sponsor your "CAPEX" or "I want more incentive from your sales" just like in the case of AirAsia. It doesn't work.

Dont get cocky.

• Mamakspecial on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:16 am

If Alex Yoong joins mamakspecial's treats, I am sure that he'd be greatly welcomed by the ladies as he would come so fast before the game has even started; then tell everyone how great he is while the other cheongsters are really playing the field. Perhaps Durex may sponsor him then; then again, maybe it's gonna be Scott's paper instead.

• torque (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:34 am

LIghtning McQUeen said,

oohoo said,

Careful bro, Petronas E01 engine is quite powerful…dare I say as powerful as the K20A Honda's engine!! Even Paul used to post a news on this engine. As I see it, Proton is the dumb shmuck that refuse to work together with Petronas on making this engine available to us MALAYSIAN. Imagine the new Satria Neo is packed with this marvelous engine…with 204 hp@7300rpm, 203Nm@5300rpm with VVT tech some more!! Heck, we MIGHT even don't give crap on Integra DC5 if Proton make it available to us…now imagine that the Chinese ppls are the one that enjoying it!

Such a waste….

• torque (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:45 am

Mysticmind said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:25 am

Multiple winner still unconsidered as great as 7 times world champion in F1 btw.

Come on dude…just b'coz he's ain't 7 times world champion in F1 doesn't mean he ain't good enuff. Some commenters here had already stated that Dato' Jean Todt is in fact an experience driver. Hmph! Never change do you…comics and cars are two different field la my friend!

• pomen F1 on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:59 am

hahaha…padan lu punya muka AY…kan sudah kena hantam…hahaha :p

• raybrig on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:16 am

Alex, lu better jual tofu jelah…

• Big Mac on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:38 am

Datuk Jean Todt got Datuk Michelle Yeoh. That's quite an achievement indeed!

And with Jean Todt holding the F1 helm, suddenly this sport is now more becoming a Malaysian affair.

• Bini Alex Yoong on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:35 pm

please help me , i dont want a ashame husband…. please divorce me alex..

u have a small burung

• Bini Alex Yoong on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:47 pm

but i love you because all the malaysian felt ashamed on u. darling maybe u should grow up and be a man . and grow your burung… thats the most important one.. . p.s please shave your arse aswell its fuking disgusting further more there is a small tiny shit hanging on the crack that's why you becoming cracko.. . remember twitter only for someone have a brain.. u should join 'twatter'. but im always your fan even ure my hubby.

• asssmat on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:23 pm

wth is this alex yoong???

• Ohlala on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:42 pm

This coming from a one-season driver? ah pleasee

• whoosh on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:26 pm

Ohlala said,

December 24, 2009 @ 8:42 am

This coming from a one-season driver? ah pleasee

——————————————–

Correction…One season 'pay to ride' customer….

• Nazirul on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:17 pm

What is Lotus F1 One Malaysia team business proposition? Not clear and seem to be seasonal.

• Macha Perre Madurai on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Dear Alex Yoong,

i am utterly disappointed with you saying such a thing. Again, i may not really know what is moving in Lotus f1 team right now, but do you expect a company which had been in f1 for 15 years to give you kids the money to play with? That could had been 15 years a go, not today. PETRONAS build up their reputation not straight away at the top, the started small. They started with Sauber and then when BMW took over Sauber, PETRONAS continued to sponsor the team, altough the lost the team name to premium sponsor. But lot of activities was being carried out, and i am not sure about your involvement or any other "leader" of Lotus f1 involvement. When PETRONAS created the new EO1 engine back in 1998, where was the "national service" to make use of this engine? It was purely business. Same today. 14 years of branding development, moving towards being the elite (Just like Shell, Mobil etc), you can't expect them to sponsor you blindly. I thought Magnum sponsored your f1 foray a few year ago. Go back to them. I don't deny that you, or the Naza fellows or Datuk Tony has been successful, i think you must learn to respect. If not PETRONAS, you may get a bigger sponsor from outside Malaysia. But don't say things like that. it is not gentleman. Datuk Tony surely has a big contact, and he has been sponsoring William f1 team. There are many companies in malaysia (YTL, Genting). Go look for them.

• Azmi KachaK on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:20 pm

I support both PETRONAS and Lotus teams. AY better look and think forward. At least we have 2 F1 teams. Business is business. Nationalism is Nationalism. PETRONAS has its own way and Lotus & AY have their own way. The most important thing is not to waste the opportunity and have a healthy competition. GO GO GO and win !

• tokmoh on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:41 am

torque : But the Pet E01 engine is EURO 2 compliant only. I think if it needs to meet EURO 4 emission, it's power output will be reduced to… not that much more powerful than other 2.0 engines…

Anyway, kononnya some Chinese car manufacturer buy that engine, how come no follow up at all? The last thing we ever heard is the deal, but there's NO news at all on which model it's used in, how many have been produced, et cetera. Feeling kinda sceptic about it… If it's that good, why did it just fade away? Is something fishy going on inside Pet?

• torque (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:14 am

Bini Alex Yoong said,

December 24, 2009 @ 5:35 am

please help me , i dont want a ashame husband…. please divorce me alex..

u have a small burung

Oh for crying out loud….dude….I ain't AY fan but that's just too much and darn low man…come on…

• torque (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:33 am

tokmoh : Yes bro,that's right…the engine is EURO 2 compliant only but do u think our G give a rat @$$ about EURO compliant? Berapa byk bro lori2 kat sini kentut hitam memanjang…at least like I said…it's our tech and biarlah orang kita, Malaysia ni merasa dulu, pakai dulu…from there, Proton together with Petronas work slowly ler to improve on it…reliability, better emission and others.

On the matters about the engine hype or "mystical fade", err…only Petronas could answer that! Happy motoring.

• "pay to ride" customer we proudly call F1 racer…

another "pay to ride" we proudly call angkasawan…

we sure are proud bunch…

• i like petronas good brand strategy hehehe… proton + petronas + merc + bmw wow synthium been used by elite car ekekeke so proud hahahah yes yes yes go petronas (ikon jumping jumping hahaha)

• earl kane on Dec 25, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Air Asia currently using Shell Jet fuel.MAS only using Petronas Jet Fuel.he,he,he what do you think? peace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOL

• tokmoh on Dec 26, 2009 at 12:25 am

torque : building an engine that can only sell in malaysia and few other countries that are lenient on emission std is very, veeeery poor business sense. Good engine like E01 should target to be marketed in rich developed countries, which mostly have EURO 4 requirement. Some countries have even gone EURO 5.

Our govt's lackadaisal attitude on emission is a blessing in this case :) It means if ever the E01 materialise, it will be available here with 200hp :D But then that is the exact problem : why didn't it materialise? Yes, we've heard all kinds of stories abt last time Mahaleel was a stuck-up, we've even heard story if proton fits with this engine, the car will cost RM200k-300k to sell, and then of course the news of Nanjing (which also bought over MG) buying this engine. Then…?!?!?!

Why no one want to import Nanjing into Msia? I mean, some people can bring in Chery, Geely, etc, so why not bring in Nanjing with E01 engine? Was it ever built? Was it ever used? Was the "deal" just a smokescreen for some kroni to get free lunch?

• Anti F1 on Dec 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

stop burning O2! ban F1 and car racing! save earth! Peace.

• He drove like an asshole, who cares on sponsoring him?

Always finish the line at last, and never intend to upgrade the points, I think it's a wise decision from Petronas to sponsor mercedes.

Well, it's all about business.

business is business, friend is friend. Patriotism? Naaah!

Now schumi become the driver for Petronas, hey, it's Schumi!

• carbontech (Member) on Dec 27, 2009 at 6:23 am

I think the 1MF1T should give all their best next year to proven that Malaysia Boleh in all aspect ( development,technology n driver )..then the team should not worry about the sponsorship..i bet u that all this billionairs people will look after u and said 'HOW MUCH DO YO WANT'…………..go malaysia….

• coolguru on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:16 am

Totally agreed and thank god someone in Petronas was quick to avoid any teams that Alex is in… he can't, unless by pure luck, make it into the starting grid.

A1 maybe, but not F1…

I seriously support Petronas sponsoring Mercedes and with Schumi, there is a very high chance Petronas gets a lot of recognitions and brand exposures in very positive notes.

Does Alex gives that to Petronas… well, maybe! And that maybe means either in the garage or walls with smashes!

Alex, you're not there yet so pls don't ask. Start to be shame of yourself first before others… prove your value. We, Malaysians, have sense and eyes to see if you can else shut up and just do your work! Let your results speak, not your words.

For now, SHAME ON YOU…

• Eyesore on Dec 29, 2009 at 12:56 am

Paul…. the comments are getting out of hands… and pretending to be someone wife is not funny…. no matter how you look at it. I think its about time you close the comment section for this thread… the man already recieved more than enough bashing, jeered, cemuhan, ejekan or even hinaan… enough is enough..

you don't have any grudge towards him… or do you?

• Neo.S on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:40 am

agree with eyesore , close it

• jong84 (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Nobody want to be a looser….

• Petronas takes a lot of operating risks in carigali ventures, and after winning tenders for the Iraqi oil, their risks have shot up even more. I think it makes a lot of sense to reduce risk in other areas, esp in their branding and marketing, hence the decision to sponsor Ross Brawn's Mercedes to be driven by Schumi.

If I was on the panel deciding where to put money in, I'd just look at Ross Brawn's record vs TF or Mike Gascoyne, and Schumi's record vs all the drivers on Lotus F1 team.

Petronas has already done a lot for Malaysia motorsport. For F1, they have moved up one rung from the old Sauber to the BMW team. It doesnt make sense to downshift to a new team, whose objective is just to beat the other newcomers.

Just my 2 sen.

• tweak on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:33 am

Just one question ! What have Petronas gained from all that money pumped into BMW-Sauber ?. ………a fool never learns…

• kuihbangkit on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Tweak:

Are you talking about yourself again?

• intermilan on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:09 pm

gaduh saja la..

more constructive and informative comments please..

• maymay on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:29 am

hahaha… :-D

• Tweak: Google this interview with TS Hassan Marican, I think it is on The Star. The title is "F1 gives international exposure to Petronas". TS was also quoted as saying that the lubricant business shot up from 10% to 18% in 10 years. So from marketing and branding, it has now translated into real revenue from the lubricant biz.

I think the Lotus F1 team already has enough partners for now. Besides, Airasia itself is a big listed co, sponsored teams like Man U, BPL refs, the Oakland Raiders etc, I am sure they have enough money to pump into the team if needed. Come to think of it, we can ask the same question to TF on AirAsia's sponsorship of "American" football, instead of Malaysian football. The answer is the same as what TS Hassan Marican would say.

I dont think there's any politics behind this. DS Najib liked the idea of the F1 team, and he also has his man planted in Petronas. He can just tell Petronas to sponsor the malaysian team, if it has to come to that. But fortunately, it doesnt have to.

My 2 sen. Happy New Year to all.

• carbontech (Member) on Jan 03, 2010 at 5:32 am

I think and really hope that we can see PURE Malaysian F1 Team for the next 2-3 years…Inside Malaysia we have a lots of billionaires ( roberT,amanda,tony,mokhzani ),we have most experiences technology partner ( PETRONAS ),we have the company can make all this easy parts from composites ( CTRM ),we have PROTON to developt superb engine,we have a lots of universiti to run the windtunnel test,we have our own F1 track.And for u Bro Alex's…pls make sure that Malaysian driver like Fauzi,jazeman and also fahmi will have all the knowledge….DS Najib and Tun M will surely like it to have OUR OWN F1 TEAM….1 MALAYSIA…

• Neo.S on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:50 pm

agreed with Carbontech

anyone known that Alex Yong was driving a Saga track car and win the race with the big boys when he was just age of 14 ?

• Neo.S on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:51 pm

agreed with Carbontech

anyone known that Alex Yong was driving a Saga track car and win the Batu Tiga race track with the big boys when he was just age of 14 ?

• 1alexparia on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:38 am

i like the comment from:

Macha Perre Madurai (look below)

Dear Alex Yoong,

i am utterly disappointed with you saying such a thing. Again, i may not really know what is moving in Lotus f1 team right now, but do you expect a company which had been in f1 for 15 years to give you kids the money to play with? That could had been 15 years a go, not today. PETRONAS build up their reputation not straight away at the top, the started small. They started with Sauber and then when BMW took over Sauber, PETRONAS continued to sponsor the team, altough the lost the team name to premium sponsor. But lot of activities was being carried out, and i am not sure about your involvement or any other “leader” of Lotus f1 involvement. When PETRONAS created the new EO1 engine back in 1998, where was the “national service” to make use of this engine? It was purely business. Same today. 14 years of branding development, moving towards being the elite (Just like Shell, Mobil etc), you can’t expect them to sponsor you blindly. I thought Magnum sponsored your f1 foray a few year ago. Go back to them. I don’t deny that you, or the Naza fellows or Datuk Tony has been successful, i think you must learn to respect. If not PETRONAS, you may get a bigger sponsor from outside Malaysia. But don’t say things like that. it is not gentleman. Datuk Tony surely has a big contact, and he has been sponsoring William f1 team. There are many companies in malaysia (YTL, Genting). Go look for them.

End

what he said is totally RIGHT. HEY ALEX PARIA… dont be stupid man. recently i heard that because air asia buys a lot of petrol from petronas for their aircraft so they should consider sponsoring tony fernandes's f1 team… DONT BE STUPID MANNNN…. it's like i fill up a lot of petrol at Petronas then expect them to sponsor my open house because my whole family fill up at petronas… hey STUPID FUCKER (WHO PROBABLY DIDNT GO TO SCHOOL).. Use your brain man…

Cannot believe you made that statement. hopefully u dont go ashame the malaysians at the international stage with all your idiotic comments. somemore so lansi.. WHO THE FUCK YOU THINK YOU ARE. ALL THE PRESS ALSO DONT LIKE YOU. FUCK OFF MATE. thats all i can tell you. your last comments just show how idiot you are.

Thank you for the confirmation Mr Alex Paria

• heng84 on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:06 pm

he might look like a nice guy on the tv. but he likes to swear and curse at ppl on the football pitch on sunday lol

• 1alexparia on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:40 am

yeah fucking two face fuck.. remember that malaysians.. HE IS A TWO FACE FUCK. Fuckin loser too. I am saying this with all honesty. u have to know him to believe it.

• 2alexparia on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:41 am

yeah fucking two face fuck.. I would like to remind all malaysians again.. HE IS A TWO FACE FUCK. Fuckin loser too. I am saying this with all honesty. u have to know him to believe it. U KNOW IT URSELF ALEX PARIA!

• yunus on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:43 pm

i agree …. alex yoong is a moron. he can't even know how race for nuts. Atleast you don't hear fairuz fauzy commeting on anything about petronas.All he cares is racing . and improving … he may not be that good compared to the rest in the field but he keeps his head down and work at it. why do we even employ this half breed joker to commentate. what a joke … alex … ppl dont respect you …. so keep your comments to yourself . Dude your justa pretty face … i think you'd be a better underwear model or a pornstar .that's how much iq you have

• Daamz on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Hai Guys…

Wow…impressing me……..Most of u know how to critise about the government, Petronas, AY….and more…

1st of all is AY history at Minardi. So pity with him coz even tried his best but still he cant get a point. Let me tell u something la..i'm not supporter of AY but the truth is Minardi car was very poor..I still remembere past svral years i read Schumacher statement that 'If i drive Minardi, i believe i also will be the last driver and maybe without point… So?how your comment?C'mon..Webber car was dif from AY but webber only few second infront AY and Webber was always be 2nd last person. Haih..If u know the fact, data, statistic, u wont critise AY for sure..Hey…If petronas richer, what do you will get?Petronas ppl already reach ma..High slary…They drill and take malaysian petroleum and sell to others coz our petroleum is good. 'OURS'? No!!Petronas and G only share the benefit..

YES, everything surround us maybe half from petronas money and half from government(from our piad tax)..SO wat???where petronas got money??from biz..Wat biz?oil & gas biz..then from nature source of malaysia land (sea)..So wat?they been hired and high salary, luxurious life, so they should carry out their job to gain more profit to company..haiya…each ppl got responsible la..no need to lift up petronas tinggi2 la..

• Daamz on Mar 18, 2010 at 11:33 pm

G okay…petron pun Okay