BMW Malaysia launch limited edition 50th anniversary MINI variants

MINI is British. And to cement that rich heritage, there’s a trio of limited edition MINI variants that sport names such as Mayfair, Camden and Earl Grey. These cars are to commemorate MINI’s 50th birthday, and they’re now available in Malaysia.

Just like the districts they’re named after, the MINI 50 Mayfair is the posh sibling while the MINI 50 Camden is the vibrant, energetic one. Both these variants are available for the 175 bhp turbocharged Cooper S, while the MINI Earl Grey is based on the 120 bhp Cooper.

Find out what’s special about this trio after the jump!

The 50 Mayfair, 50 Camden and Earl Grey stand out from regular models by their special paintwork, alloys plus special materials, surfaces and colour for the cabin. The Cooper S based cars come with doorsills that spell out their names, coloured mirror caps (toffee for Mayfair, silver for Camden) and three exclusive body colours each plus unique 17-inch wheel designs. The Camden adds on “Black Light Reflectors” and a special bonnet graphic.

Inside, the Mayfair cabin is focussed on comfort and plushness with Lounge Toffee leather, white piping, turquoise green accents and carbon black finish. The sportier Camden features ‘Ray Tech White’ Cloth Leather with green and black stitching and ‘Line Tech White’ arm rest and knee rolls. Silver trim is splashed around.

Both Limited Edition 50th Anniversary cars come with a jubilee placard on the radiator grille bearing the number 50 in red, white, and blue – Union Jack colours. Further to this, they also feature a special Harmon Kardon Hi-Fi system which highlights bright chrome rings around the door speakers.

The MINI 50 Camden also marks the debut of “Mission Control”. This cheekily named system processes and evaluates a wide range of vehicle, driving and ambient signals, providing the driver with relevant information and instructions in dialogues. These dialogues are based, among other things, on information regarding safety, comfort settings and the vehicle status. Not sure if everyone will find a talking car amusing though!

Meanwhile, the MINI Earl Grey features Dark Silver metallic paintwork, Black Jack design side scuttles as well as a two colour design line. Inside, there’s a mix of piano black and carbon black trim.

Retail prices (on the road, without insurance but inclusive of the MINI tlc Package) are:

MINI 50 Mayfair – RM259,888

MINI 50 Camden – RM245,888

MINI Earl Grey – RM199,888

[zenphotopress number=999 album=697]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• firdaus yusof on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:32 am

Waa….. look up on the price….. killer…. :-)

• ryder0707 on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:34 am

no 1

• thats so damn expensive!

• very beautiful but the price is crazy expensive. the normal edition itself is priced beyond average joe's budget… definitely for the super rich

• droll on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:10 am

AB is overpricing the MINI line. they should be about 20-30k cheaper.

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:43 am

if proton or perodua do same thing like this.. if la.. ada org nk beli tak?? mesti kena kutuk.. pasti nye.. heheheh malaysian..

• if the price is high but the service is cheap is ok,

but the price is crazy,and the service is mad

• Maserati on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:06 am

If the price is high,but drives like a dream ,I dont mind splashing out ma cash on it..

• nabill on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:48 am

i hate this car…dono y….i always feel those buy are jus wanna be's rather than thy actually want the car..

• damn, with that price, i can get an audi a4, sirocco, gti or passat cc!

all of which goes more to make me feel special than the mini.

but its to those who like limited edition cars and mini cooper as a whole.

been seeing more minis here in JB recently, think auto bavaria having sales.

• I LIKE KOREAN GIRL - on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:09 am

yes! i rather get a SCIROCCO to smoke the MINI S, Or else i just upgrade my 308THP which also can smoke them, since using same engine@!

• Stalonez on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:33 am

Nama mini, harga tak serupa mini langsung, boleh beli rumah ni…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:07 am

WHAT ENGINE DO THEY USE

• droll on Dec 23, 2009 at 10:14 am

308thp can't smoke even with upgraded engine and even though they both use the same prince engine. the gearbox, gear ratio, weight makes a difference.

but mini is really overpriced.

highly modded mini vs highly modded golf gti. guess who wins? golf gti. :) but this is 0-100 drag la. in a tight sepang race, i think the MINI might win.

• chaku on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm

nabill said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:48 pm

i hate this car…dono y….i always feel those buy are jus wanna be’s rather than thy actually want the car..

——————————————

wannabe what?they buy the car coz they can afford it. if they rent the car, then that's wannabe. NHF

• chew ban on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:41 pm

get scirocco

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:11 pm

What the ""uck these are going for under sterling 18000 to 25000 in UK plus lots of goodies thrown in wtf wtf wtf wtf wtf MY

• minis on Apr 22, 2010 at 12:02 pm

You forgot the 300% Import tax on foreign cars, mate… unless, if you have free student AP, then go buy in Coventry UK or Antwerp Belgium… far cheaper than normal Mini showroom in London.

But you must use the car for 1-2 years there then you can bring it back… let say the price of Mini Mayfair in Malaysia is at RM260k, if in UK only GP 22,468 or RM 112,000 then plus cargo charges, you can earn the car at RM 150k, that’s RM110k less if price on Malaysia roads.

Most Malaysians will do this, rent a garage somewhere in Luton or Cardiff, pass the car keys to relatives or friends for them to start the car for like 2-3 times a week or drive it around for short distance, wait for 6-8 months then apply for cargo. 1 Malaysian student is eligible for 1 AP, that’s 1 car per person to bring back to Malaysia.

Well now is a good time to shop anything in UK, our Ringgit is getting stronger because of palm oil prices booming, UK pounds drop and unable to stabilized from economic crisis. So buy those dream cars now before the oil prices gets up again. Sime Darby against BP :)

• haha………buy BMW 5 Series Recond better lo

• hirev on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:05 pm

sial leow…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:12 pm

#

MyCarMyLife said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:11 am

What the “”uck these are going for under sterling 18000 to 25000 in UK plus lots of goodies thrown in wtf wtf wtf wtf wtf MY

#

lee said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:20 am

haha………buy BMW 5 Series Recond better lo

——————————————-

haha what to do our malaysian crazy price. lol yea and in malaysia u can get a 5 series for less

• you think this price is killer???

thats mean you're not their target market ok…