Proton Persona facelift snapped at Petronas Sepang

Our little hardworking secret project for 2010 team was having a short break and discussion at the Petronas near the Sepang International Circuit a few weeks ago and it so happened that a lightly disguised facelifted Proton Persona was being refueled there

We wasted no time and snapped away to bring you a closer look to what we’ll soon be able to buy next year. Look after the jump for all four photos in high resolution goodness.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=674]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bem69 on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:37 am

Paul, what are the key differences that you were able to see with the current Persona?

• that looks kinda awful

• that looks awfullll

• numero uno? hihi

• look more spotier…

exept with that Gen2 CPS front..

• Interior? Dashboard?

• huaipoh.com on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:40 am

LOL!!! the side mirror got a Golf GTI

• Gajen on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:42 am

the only diff i see are diff headlamps,rear lamps,rims,side mirror and 2 tone interior….very minor..

i hope they offer usb port,better material for interior and some features from exora like home lights or sth

• hazri on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:44 am

its front view looks better & sexier!

• hazri on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:46 am

perhaps Proton can do some mods at the tail as current Persona- bontotnya agak tonggek

• Paul Tan on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:47 am

Sharp eyes! The white Mk6 Golf GTI was part of our fleet that day.

• ayamxxx on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:51 am

ahh, another tipical proton, just change the sport rim, add a tiny bumber, change the door mirrow n then WALLA, a NEW 2010 Persona.

• why proton not make PERSONA WAGON? SEVEN seater persona?

• bmpower on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:54 am

eww…

this is a bda when economy crisis not end yet.

common practice is facelift here and then.

(but i think myvi is the facelifter winner… 10th times already ah? forgot.. too much edi).

I think they just use almost gen2 CPS parts, no need to waste much money.

and perhaps… it's also the last facelift with CPS powered engine too!

nad… i think that was LED REAR LIGHT am I?

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:58 am

What's with the scuff marks on the front skirts?

• skiborne on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:58 am

ahaha proton is obviously….. sleeping hell.

they surely think "sokayy rakyat will still buy proton because they have no other choice, nak mahal, beli lah lain kan?" u know i always think that malaysians deserve to drive better cars… proton is the whole culprit of making most of malaysians out there drive kereta buruk, not only that, proton cars itself, i think its expensive! malaysia comprises of low and middle income groups in general, i bet most of them wont be able to own their dream houses, so why not giving these people a chance to own proper cars for their families instead, at least can make the whole family cheerful of what "papa" has bought a nice car, for instance. u know drive around the city, road trips etc, take their children out somewhere….

• ayamyyy on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:59 am

it just facelifted persona not the new persona that to be global car..

i think..

• Hmmm bigger side mirrors, and they change the rear light to the taiwanese design gen 2 brake light… (guess so) …. i like the front

• exedy on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:06 am

ayamxxx said,

December 22, 2009 @ 6:51 pm

ahh, another tipical proton, just change the sport rim, add a tiny bumber, change the door mirrow n then WALLA, a NEW 2010 Persona.

erm…civic 2008 vs civic 2009, city 2006 vs city 2007 what the difference??? honda,toyota also same la….when proton do it ( say typical ) so lapok la..

thats call marketing strategy before they created new model….this pic not new persona…..New facelift persona for 2010 with IAFM+ and 32bit ECU…..good job proton

• initial R on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:12 am

Ok… last face lift for last 2 year cycle model. Next Pesona & Gen2 will have new platform & new powerplant with variant NA tune also Turbo…

• carneo on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:13 am

PAUL, got any info when this going to launch ? by the time Persona price will be over RM60K .

• the have a better ECU tuning too for better fuel. Comes with bluetooth too

• ayamxxx said,

what are u thinking?..everybody knows that new persona will be coming soon..u cannot expect the proton to put new dashboard, new steering wheel, when they already want to replace it entirely..this is what we call a new facelift..not a new car model..all manufacturers do this thing..just do minor changes only..

• aki_zz on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:19 am

some people dont understand the meaning of facelift and new model…this is a common practice among carmakers…update the look in the middle of the product cycle…why people dont complain about the facelifted 3 series bmw and the same dashboard design across their range of cars?

• celicazz on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:24 am

Gajen said,

December 22, 2009 @ 6:42 pm

the only diff i see are diff headlamps,rear lamps,rims,side mirror and 2 tone interior….very minor..

i hope they offer usb port,better material for interior and some features from exora like home lights or sth

you missed the new side skirts… for persona/gen2 its kinda intergrated…

• celicazz on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:27 am

aki_zz said,

December 22, 2009 @ 7:19 pm

some people dont understand the meaning of facelift and new model…this is a common practice among carmakers…update the look in the middle of the product cycle…why people dont complain about the facelifted 3 series bmw and the same dashboard design across their range of cars?

coz some malaysians are soooooo stupid and know nothing bout product refreshment…

• initial R on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:34 am

Facelift = Just some exterior design change for new fresh look.

New model = The whole car are new…..

Understand kid's…. hahahaha….

• xptmsb07_09 (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:35 am

aha.. baru nk siap.. lama nye.. kata nak keluar lepas raya pose.. emm.. bz dgn ckd la ni.. but good job.. something new.. tak la bosan dgn benda yang sama je.. tp jgan lupa vendo yg supply part 2, pastikan yg berkualiti.. nanti tak pasal2 nama korang gak yg busuk.. good luck..

• taboogen on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:37 am

ayoo.. kalu taknak beli dont buy lah…. easy…. we have options

• god, ive had enuf of that evo golf gti gaping mouth front bumper…… Other than its ok.

• make, use, refresh, wash, rinse and repeat…..XDD

• SHADUP LA on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:42 am

ugly and no point at all

• stfodude on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:45 am

wan + cps only

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:04 am

i would buy one persona, if it have:

1) cps engine

2) LARGER headlight!!!

• I prefer upcoming WAJA. CHEERS!

• uDean on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:09 am

i also saw this persona with another persona at R&R dengkil last friday..

from close look, no interior change @ been taped.. just front grill n rear lamp like above..no difference with current persona.. perhaps they testing the engine 1st?

• yippi33 on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:28 am

always tot that persona's front design is too 'safe' .. this facelift gave it a much more macho look..gud luck p1

• exedy said,

December 22, 2009 @ 7:06 pm

ayamxxx said,

erm…civic 2008 vs civic 2009, city 2006 vs city 2007 what the difference??? honda,toyota also same la….when proton do it ( say typical ) so lapok la..

thats call marketing strategy before they created new model….this pic not new persona…..New facelift persona for 2010 with IAFM+ and 32bit ECU…..good job proton

———————————-

agree wit u

• xshiro on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:35 am

hmm, gen2 cps bumper…

• littlefire on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:42 am

Yeah, where is the upcoming Waja which uses M.Lancer platform.. Dono why suddenly the Proton Supporter dont like to mention new Waja?!? Maybe using Mitsu Lancer back they are chicken out saying Proton will develop new platform for next gen Waja.. Proton will never run away from Mitsu shadow.. Even the Auto gearbox now is using Mitsu Invecs-2 if not mistaken…

2010 is coming, get the cameras on the road and snap a few new Waja Lancer..

I bet the new Waja lancer will use also use the 1.6L CPS engine and maybe for performance turbo campro, as Mitsu Lancer have also 1.5L Mivec varient at oversea… So i think to buy this new waja, better wait for turbo campro to move that beast..

• ya cps nicer+faster

• haha..i know what are they trying to do..1st they design and then they go jalan2 with it then go home and go to paultan.org to see ppl reaction

nice one ^^

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:03 am

what is the purpose of marking – – at the car? anyone?

i found that the front grill is differ… erm..the black tape was there to cover the proton emblem..

• ago87 on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:12 am

Good job Proton,hope to see it soon in all Proton showroom…Well done!

• Zidane on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:15 am

How about a 2 door persona with a 2.0 renault engine?

Wouldn't that be a good idea?

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:19 am

Personally, if you want to buy a new car as your second car, better wait for the new Waja model 2010 or a bit longer… 2012 Proton Persona. So, save your money for that unless you really need a new car soon.

2010 Proton Waja. (Perhaps will be named Impian too for domestic market). Mitsubishi design and technologies based on Mitsubishi Lancer / Lancer Fortis.

2011 Proton Perdana replacement model. Well, not much to tell right now.

2012 Proton Persona. Design by Giugiaro, Ride and Handling by Lotus plus more airbags sensors and Body Control Module that first use in Proton Exora. More features to be confirm at the later date.

Hopefully, Proton will still continue design their own new generation of Proton Satria Neo.

What's next? Hahaha….

Happy motoring.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:21 am

the hood is quite different,and perhaps maybe a lower ride

interior should be improve,maybe all-black interior and last but not least improve the quality overall

• chap_de_x on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:28 am

at least you all can spot the difference for this facelift…try meevee exclusive edition can you spot the difference at first glance…i think not…g luck proton…when you gonna launch it…i want to place a booking rite away

• nudin on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:31 am

maybe the price will sure higher a bit

• mamat puchong on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:35 am

not bad at all. buy proton if you want and go to other manufacturer if you don't like. as simple as that….

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:35 am

Regardless the facelift, do not be fool.

Have they solved these 25 years "marvelous" engineering problems:

Failing power windows? (tak tak tak)

Rattling plastic, door, dashboard (trrttttt)?

Squeaking steering (eeek oooaakk eeek ooooaakk)?

Fragile air cond button, switch off, still blowing air?

Knocking suspension (tup tup tup)?

Central locking which doesn't lock centrally?

Fragile door handle, knobs and switches?

Poor quality; for instance the cabin's lamp which is very fragile?

Poor quality; rubber sealant along the door, window, bonet peeling off?

Car battery which fails less than 3 months?

Reverse sensor which makes sound all time (although no obstacle)?

Sluggish transmission transition (especially for manual cars)?

Clutch pedal that's making abnormal noise (truk tuk truk tuk)?

et-cetera…

and et-cetera?

• Kambing Laut on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:39 am

wah.. love to convert my existing persona..

• kenshiro80 on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:57 am

almost look like the saga SE

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:01 am

Facelift sikit interior pakai gated shift and ade chrome finishing sikit sikit baru nampak premium and up market. Persona OK la cuma driving position agak stiff coz IP mounting terlalu rendah. Orang gemuk kaki besar dah susah nak pusing steering. Perjalanan jauh juga agak memenatkan.

• its nothing.

another ….no quality products from BolehLand.hahha

• hitman on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:09 am

need to revisit the beauty salon.

the botox failed miserably to work wonders.

• xshiro on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:29 am

littlefire ,

of course if we had the chance we would snap some pics of the new waja, but if facelifted persona come across, why not just take some pics if it?

how come you can be so sure new waja will be using on 1.6L cps? please dun make yourself eat your words later

• autojohndoe on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:35 am

to syoh,

My answer for you…

Have they solved these 25 years “marvelous” engineering problems:

Yes, mostly….

Failing power windows? – Nil

Rattling plastic, door, dashboard (trrttttt)? – minimal

Squeaking steering (eeek oooaakk eeek ooooaakk)? – nil

Fragile air cond button, switch off, still blowing air? – nil

Knocking suspension (tup tup tup)? – minimal

Central locking which doesn’t lock centrally? – nil

Fragile door handle, knobs and switches? – nil

Poor quality; for instance the cabin’s lamp which is very fragile? – nil

Poor quality; rubber sealant along the door, window, bonet peeling off? – nil

Car battery which fails less than 3 months? – nil

Reverse sensor which makes sound all time (although no obstacle)? – nil

Sluggish transmission transition (especially for manual cars)? – yes

Clutch pedal that’s making abnormal noise (truk tuk truk tuk)? – nil

Any arisen question?

i bet you will still come with this points in another proton topic… will you bring answers together?

Hahaha…

• ayamxxx on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:35 am

wonder why they don't put a cps engine on new Persona?

Any Proton expert can comment on this?

In forums, many applause CPS engine and it really resolve the Torque Dipped problem..

• worst on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:38 am

Wah. liao eh. This personal body will last for another 30 years. hehe. after gen 2 come out. proton design all when to sleep for another 30 years. shit never change.

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:41 am

facelift mmg la minor or cosmetic change only…

use your brain before critics ok..

dont be too prejudice guys

• Never Change on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:42 am

Tambah sini Tambah sana, boring lah.

even car acc shop have more choice.

Taiwan Clone headlight & back light looks more nice then proton design.

• mu_77 on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:48 am

Just one thing guys, dont look down on campro, it can bite u in the arse…

• Nice car. I am sure ride and handling is still better than japanese rivals.

• old saga facelift last time have new dash board, new bumper, new headlamp, tailamp, new seat,new stering,new muffler,new cd player and many more new thing…why this facelift only minor change?

• huiyoo on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:59 am

this one is manual tranny rite? looks cool for medium line

• DaveDiablos on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:00 am

So this is the soon to be 2012 Proton Persona ?

With 2 years to go, maybe its just to early ? because if this is the 2012 wan, im very dissapointed with it cause i thought its going to be a MAJOR changes not MINOR changes…

But its just too early to tell… Have to wait and see for futher news… lol

• proton is practicing a 5 year cycle for their cars now.which is a good thg as we wont be getting the same car after 10 years,take a look at our old saga

and those who think this facelift is another con job to earn rakyats money,take a look at those facelifted japs etc

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:11 am

ayamxxx said,

December 22, 2009 @ 10:35 pm

wonder why they don’t put a cps engine on new Persona?

Any Proton expert can comment on this?

In forums, many applause CPS engine and it really resolve the Torque Dipped problem..

————————————–

If they put the CPS on the Persona, it'll cannibalize sales of Waja obviously. They really should place the Waja in a different segment. 1.8 engine would be suitable

• 9W2MYV on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:19 am

Lampu belakang ma, lampu LED

• Tiadaid on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:19 am

Central locking which doesn’t lock centrally?

Poor quality; for instance the cabin’s lamp which is very fragile?

Clutch pedal that’s making abnormal noise (truk tuk truk tuk)?

et-cetera…

and et-cetera?

——————————————-

What do you do, copy and paste your comment from the other Proton articles?

• It's don't look any different, still the same

• stfodude on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:44 am

lol go n buy perodua better la , body like tin aluminium

• stupid fire on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:49 am

Little fire:

"Yeah, where is the upcoming Waja which uses M.Lancer platform.. Dono why suddenly the Proton Supporter dont like to mention new Waja?!? Maybe using Mitsu Lancer back they are chicken out saying Proton will develop new platform for next gen Waja.. Proton will never run away from Mitsu shadow.. Even the Auto gearbox now is using Mitsu Invecs-2 if not mistaken… "

What's worse is that Perodua never even build a car themselves they only know how to copy straight from toyota/daihatsu. I never feel any heart&soul in a perodua all i feel in these stupid perodua is yea we just want to build a car to rip your money off. No difference from those crap china complete rip off car. Proton is building Hybrid so lets see how perodua is going to cope with that are they going to rip off yet another complete car from the japanese or the japanese will abandon this little blood&money sucker never grow up perodua baby.

• Balesta_RX on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:57 am

Wt is this? Another bored dumb facelifted model by our dearest P1?

Cum onnnn P1.. Msians already bored wit this facelifted stuffs ok..

Designer P1 mkn gaji buta ke apa niehhhh??

Dun u guys try to deceived us wit this crap facelifted model..

Add here n there.. the price for sure goes up…it is just not reasonable!!!

• mirror-mirror on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:58 am

i hope they come with diamond eyes.

• BaLesta_RX on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:00 am

Nway.. local cars r overpriced!!!! But no standard QUALITY!!!!!!!

• PeYno on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:06 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 22, 2009 @ 10:01 pm

Facelift sikit interior pakai gated shift and ade chrome finishing sikit sikit baru nampak premium and up market. Persona OK la cuma driving position agak stiff coz IP mounting terlalu rendah. Orang gemuk kaki besar dah susah nak pusing steering. Perjalanan jauh juga agak memenatkan.

—-

Rubbish statement..

• PeYno on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:13 am

littlefire said,

December 22, 2009 @ 8:42 pm

Yeah, where is the upcoming Waja which uses M.Lancer platform.. Dono why suddenly the Proton Supporter dont like to mention new Waja?!? Maybe using Mitsu Lancer back they are chicken out saying Proton will develop new platform for next gen Waja.. Proton will never run away from Mitsu shadow.. Even the Auto gearbox now is using Mitsu Invecs-2 if not mistaken…

2010 is coming, get the cameras on the road and snap a few new Waja Lancer..

I bet the new Waja lancer will use also use the 1.6L CPS engine and maybe for performance turbo campro, as Mitsu Lancer have also 1.5L Mivec varient at oversea… So i think to buy this new waja, better wait for turbo campro to move that beast..

———-

another rubbish statement.. how many car u want to buy? u said u have kancil, then alza came out u want o buy alza..then Waja coming out u wan to buy Waja… this typical P2 salesperson.. i dont trust this stupid SA at all..

• PeYno on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:17 am

PeYno said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:06 am

Automotive_Critics said,

—-

Rubbish statement.. Persona have Autocruise.. u dont know that huh??? because u BASH BLINDLY… go to P2 showroom to get your WTF Alza…

• proton engineers use markers?!!!

• imanime on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:24 am

I like the new interface persona. What about the difference between the Civic, City and Vios with Proton. Same with Honda and Toyota. at least not boring

• celicazz on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:40 am

Kereta Juga Superseded MYVi said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:03 pm

i found that the front grill is differ… erm..the black tape was there to cover the proton emblem..

it is for durability test.. whether the panels will misaligned after the real world running of the car… to check for parts reaction to wheather etc.

• oldwira on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:54 am

This is much better than coffin mover of what ever their names are of pero2. The verdict for persona from my colleagues, 6 of them, was thumbs up from all of them, no lie. Highly recommended for those ppl who look for B segment car. My wife will book this facelift persona if it really comes up with 32 bit ECU, improved bodykits, those front bumper and grill, LED tail lamp and side light indicator on the side mirrors. Plus with improved interior on top of SE version such as gated gear shifter, bluetooth etc. But most of all, the price remains the same as proton is the most benefitor from the new NAP.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:07 am

VERY POINTLESS

• Anonymous on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:12 am

something or somewhere side mirror looks awkward.

at last, smoked eyes. better with angel's eyes. rear lamp should be LED.

change the silly radio console la, so i can put lcd.

hope lotus engineering really applied to this facelift, like they claimed in tv ads.

Erm, what lotus engineering they applied? at least old satria gti got lotus logo.

• raixa on Dec 23, 2009 at 10:03 am

If anyone look closely the front bumper is kinda scratch, wonder maybe they do some hot lap in Sepang before take a break. Really want to know the performance of this facelift.

• cuckoobird on Dec 23, 2009 at 10:16 am

Looks like a set up spy shots, knowing proton would want free publicity or huhaas. It looks good. The bumper extensions looked ugly and I think the interior will have a bigger upgrade. Here's some note to proton.. please change the steering wheel, proper radio, cd, usb unit, and u'll be fine. Any news on the powerplant?

• someone on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:07 pm

indeed some of our national car do have some so called "defects" or "imperfection" but still it is our own national car.

• tunomura on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:42 pm

Head unit with USB is illegal becoz it such promoting people to downloading songs from the internet illegally…P2 can be fined becoz they use to have USB as standard feature in their car.

To be safe, Proton if they want to introduce outsource enable function, they must introduce IPOD enable plug just like KIA Forte..

Cheers…

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:47 pm

PeYno said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:17 am

PeYno said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:06 am

Automotive_Critics said,

—-

Rubbish statement.. Persona have Autocruise.. u dont know that huh??? because u BASH BLINDLY… go to P2 showroom to get your WTF Alza…

——

Hello PeyNo, Those going back to Kelantan from genting sempah wanna use autocruise ka? with winding road use autocruise? Sorry i don't highlight autocruise but check everything i mentioned in my first statement. if you don't agree please explain why you don't agree? I think Proton semua OK syndrome still strong with you that's why you react like this. Listen people say and justify first. kalau macam ni lah perangai lama kat proton masih ade, hmm tak tau la. time will tell.

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm

I got different, but bigger news:

M.Shumacher signs 1 year deal with Mercedes GP Petronas

• peYno on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:02 pm

PeYno said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:13 am

———-

another rubbish statement.. how many car u want to buy? u said u have kancil, then alza came out u want o buy alza..then Waja coming out u wan to buy Waja… this typical P2 salesperson.. i dont trust this stupid SA at all..

==============

hmmm someone trying to hide beside my butt???

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:57 pm

707 said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:23 am

proton engineers use markers?!!!

————–

That maybe just to indicate point if any changes on bodykit fitting after high speed test at Sepang i think.

• Alyy8128 on Dec 23, 2009 at 2:59 pm

Where is the difference(s)?

We can easily "create" our own facelift at any of the car accessories shop.

• rickyll on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:30 pm

Well, a facelift is a facelift. Don't expect to much difference. At last, P1 change the tail light, personally I hate the tail light for its design and cheap look. I have seen some Gen 2 owners changed to LED tail lights imported from Taiwan which looked trendy and nice. I also notice P1 adds the side mirrors with indicator. These are welcoming signs, at least those people at P1 are not sleeping on the jobs. But move fast, stand on your own feet, throw away the 'tongkat' or wheelchair if P1 were to compete with other world players in real term. Show to the rakyat if not the world that P1 really BOLEH.

• azrai on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:55 pm

Paul,it's look like the facelifted spyshots are Persona SE. how about the basic one? I think maybe a new ICE, new front bumper, new rim, new tailgate. That's all, minus those skirtings.

• pulge on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:31 pm

I think this facelifted Persona will come with bodykit for all variants (baseline excepted, I guess). Maybe the SE will get a different bodykit design instead?

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:31 pm

One word, boring……Nothing much changes for the so call "new face lift" if compare to other cars which like to play the "face off".

• uglyyyyyyyyyyyy and boringgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

• carsenthusiastdotblo on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:55 pm

i'm noticed more from this persona facelifted n kinda interested with that black markers in every part of front n rear of the car..

• Jeffery Chew on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:00 pm

boring…. the VW GOLF GTi beside it better!

• lazyf on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:16 pm

they miss one thing…change the steering wheel…

• wow!!!the Persona look sport……..Gen.2 don have ppl wan lo……..with full skirt???

• Mysticmind on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

The hood look different.

Is that something about the engine? hermm…

• wochomi on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:30 pm

The BLACK tape on the grill and tail lights are to prevent the parts from falling off or make rattling noise. The BLACK tape will be standard issue for upcoming Proton cars. Brand is LoyTape and 3M.

• Jarum on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Jeffery Chew said,

========================================

Bro, to be fair you can't really compare this piece of shit with the VW Golf GTi.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:09 pm

Not quite sure what is wrong with Proton and its product planners.

Why the oddly mismatched interior colours? Have they not learnt that funny colours don't work? (the endless missmatched greys in a 1999 Wira and the odd turqouise also in the Wira?) Looks horrible.

Whats wrong with the all back of the Gen2 CPS and the original brown/beige black in the non CPS?

If they really wanted to fix the interior, please at least start with the steering wheel and boss cover. They got the door panels right the last time.

• raiko on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:10 pm

good job proton…

abaikan smua komen rakyat m'sia yg xder jiwa m'sia…

aper yg proton buat smua kna hentam…

tp aper yg company japan buat wlupn just facelift bangang2 pn ttp puji… ttp puja…ttp bangga…

langsung x support own product… kena bangga la dgn product sendri… i use proton car tu… still no prob tu me..

cuba tgk rakyat korea… blaja dr diorg… tgk mcmna diorg support hyundai & kia…

sesaper yg pnh ke korea thu ttg nie…

hidup proton… malaysia for life…

produa boneka toyota…

• WOW… ORIGINAL LED BRAKE LIGHTS FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!! i am so very proud of proton's performance lately…

• zaeidos on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Jarum said,

December 23, 2009 @ 9:43 am

Jeffery Chew said,

========================================

Bro, to be fair you can’t really compare this piece of shit with the VW Golf GTi.

————————————–

lol~ good basher correcting bad basher.nice1

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:19 pm

from the pics:

1. same(?) front bumper from gen2 cps.

2. new tiny spoiler at the boot, nice line, matches the tailight.

3. 4lugs, new(?) 9spokes rim..why dun put 8spokes?

from other forum:

1. new 32bit ecu,

2. 2sensors (rain&light (?)).

my suggestion:

1. put cps.

offtopic>>

waja replacement 10/2010

persona replacement 2012

hmm…

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:33 pm

I have no complaints with the Persona design. In fact, I like it. I do think that the skinny-looking steering wheel doesn't match the car's solid looks. They could use the Neo's steering. The Waja's steering is by far the nicest to hold.

I somehow feel that the Gen2 should be phased out. Please don't misunderstand me.. Although that car is nice to drive, the rear passenger's headroom is almost non-existent. It's too low. Definitely not a comfortable 5-door notchback to ferry tall passengers at the rear. But, I am pleased to hear that Proton are going to roll out a totally new Gen2 and Persona come 2012. I hope they change the 'Gen2' name too.

Anyway, nice facelift.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Since this Persona facelift is set for a 2010 launch, why not Proton consider a CPS version for the H-Line trim. The Waja will be phased out by then which will make way for a new replacement right? Just a suggestion, okay.

I would like to know from any Proton employees who ever read this.. Will the Waja replacement a.ka Lancer Fortis use the 1.8 or 2.0 litre engine from Mitsubishi?

• ReactiX on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:39 pm

i think the front bumper with the Gen2 CPS is not match here. they should make new design of bumper that suit persona better

• carrot on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:44 pm

this is a half arsed facelift.

• shahree on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:55 pm

well done p.hopefully can compete with other europe n japan manufacture lar or even beter.

• fasgen on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:56 pm

lu orang jangan cakap yang bukan2 pasal proton. hari tu wa tengok 1 camry baru.. lawa lagi maa… tapi wa tgk dia gerak lain macam.. wa tkasi ikut dekat sikit… lu olang tau… itu camry jalan macam ketam… senget.. wa ingat chasis dia bengkok… itu toyota lagi teruk dari proton…

• Eyesore on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:58 pm

lol… this not a new model… its just an enhancement version of persona with a few changes for exterior and interior and new 32-bit ECU as mention by paul. BTW proton never claim its facelifted / SE version of any model as new model… I wonder where you get that ayamxxx…. in ur imaginary wold maybe…

the all new model for global market mentioned by DSZ is not this one… it won't be out until 2012… duh…

this enhanced persona should be out by early next next year. maybe 2nd week of jan…

• that new persona use the new engine

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:05 pm

I have a Gen2 highline model yr 2006 lying in my hse ( only 50+ km done)

Totally accident free . Any takers ? Open for nego treaty sale then can consider facelift ha!

• looks more like an se, will this gen2/persona gonna last another 10-20yrs b4

a complete model change like d old saga/wira?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:07 pm

I THINK SOME AH BENG MODIFICATION BETTER

• gen2lama on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:07 pm

at least with IAMF persona beat NHC in term of fuel efficiency…but loss to Vios J…

so what else city can claim?…best fc? …not….best handling?…lagi la nottt…

best quality?….well oklah city win…but who cares…

if only i can fit my old campro with IAMF…..no need lah…my gen2 more save la….RM0.04/km….heheheh ngv maaa….

• In the automotive world terms, when they say "the new…..", it means facelift…

When they say "the all new….. ", thats a completely new replacement model…

• silver on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:29 pm

i heard (from a reliable source – inside people) that p1 wont use mitsu new lancer as the platform for new waja.. since it's tooo expensive.. bad news :( since i really2 like the new lancer (a bit expensive here in malaysia.. in australia can get for only AUD$19,000 equal to their (majority) 4-5 months fresh grad salary.. home sweet home anyway.. hehe.. :P

• fasgen on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:35 pm

something fresh… let's do it..

• fasgen on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm

gen2 suspension better than persona.. no goyang2 even while change lane in highspeed…

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:53 pm

offtopic>>

if the new waja replcmnt. doesn't use the lancer chassis, then it must be already too late to design whole chassis to meet the deadline of october 2010, isn't it?

i'm not arguing ur statement, but ur "reliable" source is that fishy..

haha..if it is not "lancer", so it must be "lancer evo" chassis? fingercrossed :P

• blackcipan on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:55 pm

It seems to be a typical facelift, refreshed a bit here and there, as practised by car maker all over the globe, nothing to be ashamed and bashed for!! its an update of 2007 model, itself a derivation of 2004 gen2.

As far as I can see, the front bumper is Gen2 facelift item, with an added garnish to fill front grill previously filled with meshed pattern on gen2 facelift. The floating chrome bits looks like current persona item, but reposition to suit the new grill opening. seems like a good steps to accelerate the ammortization volume of the slow-selling Gen2 facelift.

I wonder whether the rear lamp is gonna be like the aftermarket item that many people put on their gen2/persona. those light are not bad at all aesthetically.

Interior wise, other website posted center console pic showing the integrated ICE is now absent, replaced with aftermarket item, single DIN at that. Hope to see more detailed interior picture soon to reconfirm.the fabric pattern on the seat also looks different

But two bad things seem to be retained from previous model. First is the steering. I wonder why they can't ditched the old, hard, thin and cheap looking gen2/persona/savvy steering and replace it with a better one? secondly, the ugly row of buttons sit above the ICE looks like it still there. the circular button, with improper white lines surrounding is super ugly. current switches found on waja cps/exora ( button splitted by chrome bars) is more classy.

lastly, hopefully CPS will make it in there. this is a solid car that can become a good starting place to engineer next generation persona that they call will be a global car with italian design nonetheless.

• Mufasa on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:01 pm

silver said,

December 23, 2009 @ 11:29 am

i heard (from a reliable source – inside people) that p1 wont use mitsu new lancer as the platform for new waja.. since it’s tooo expensive.. bad news since i really2 like the new lancer (a bit expensive here in malaysia.. in australia can get for only AUD$19,000 equal to their (majority) 4-5 months fresh grad salary.. home sweet home anyway.. hehe..

—————————————————–

i think only people who work oversea, who pay tax at oversea, who notice what 'extra' payment/contra you should made in other country, ,,thy know how sweet our home is actually,…

• spool on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

the truth is……….

saga – 1.6

neo – 1.6

Gen2 – 1.6

Persona – 1.6

Waja – 1.6

future model – 1.6 for sure…hahahaha

• nudin on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:34 pm

when look at the grill seem like this car use new grill diff from gen 2 cps and previous persona

• cardreamer on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:45 pm

It seems to me that the roofline is different from the existing one? Is it lowered? kurang 'tonggek' effect?

• Annoy-nimous on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Facelift or not, Id say that the Persona is a MUCH MUCH more better looking car that the Toyota Vios… and a better drive too.

Everybody facelifts… Vios TRD Sportivo is also a minor facelift… even worse, some were fooled by the "inspired by TRD" tag…

• Mufasa said,

December 23, 2009 @ 12:01 pm

silver said,

December 23, 2009 @ 11:29 am

i heard (from a reliable source – inside people) that p1 wont use mitsu new lancer as the platform for new waja.. since it’s tooo expensive.. bad news since i really2 like the new lancer (a bit expensive here in malaysia.. in australia can get for only AUD$19,000 equal to their (majority) 4-5 months fresh grad salary.. home sweet home anyway.. hehe..

—————————————————–

i think only people who work oversea, who pay tax at oversea, who notice what ‘extra’ payment/contra you should made in other country, ,,thy know how sweet our home is actually,…

————————————

agree….u know malaysian la kan..everything wan cheap..i also wan cheap thing..but not all thing..certain thing should be kept expensive..can u imagine if car all r cheap for sure…i hav to travel by LRT la by then..massive jam..yes at japan car very cheap, electronic even cheaper eg phone…is it really cheap (car)..1 thing we do not need to pay is rent for parking lot for each car at own house in japan u must pay n register wit police..that 1 example…question to ponder by us here

• anak malaysia (Member) on Dec 23, 2009 at 8:59 pm

I think it looks quite nice. i would like to see a bit more change though. maybe on the inside?

• oldwira on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Silver,

From my source in proton, new waja 2010 will be using Exora platfrom, not Mitsu lancer's.

• karipap on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:03 am

SY0H said,

December 22, 2009 @ 9:35 pm

Central locking which doesn’t lock centrally?

Poor quality; for instance the cabin’s lamp which is very fragile?

Clutch pedal that’s making abnormal noise (truk tuk truk tuk)?

et-cetera…

and et-cetera?

Si SYOH ni aku perasan comment mende yg sama je tiap kali Proton punye post. Mamat ni mesti sakit la…. Ko ni mesti ada trauma dgn pengalaman keta proton yg dulu… skang proton dah takde dah masalah2 tu… kebanyakan laa… ada jugak problem, takkan nak deny plak… tapi keta lain tu sempurna sgt laa… BMW pun kadg2 ada defect gak… skali rosak laaagi teruk laa BMW tu… tapi orang kaya takkan nak mengaku keta BMW dia problem… lagipun orang kaya apa kesah takat bela keta puluh2 ribu… Betul jugak orang marah Proton ni… after sales kene laa jaga… customer yg beli keta tu bela kene baik punye. kalau ada orang komplen, kasi dia kaw kaw punye servis, kasi chantek, cepat, cekap, baru laa sejuk ati yg panas… Apa pun aku sedey sbb dah beli dah persona tahun ni… kalau aku tahu Persona ada facelift yg cenggini punye chantek, aku mesti tggu punye laa… Yg paaaaling aku suke, side mirror & lampu belakang… kalau dah kuar aku nak tukar jugak laa side mirror & lampu belakang aku tu… Bole ke? Bole la ek? Malaysia kn Boleh! hehehe… :p

• initial R on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:10 am

This Pesona only facelift for 2 year cycle until 2012 before replace with totaly new Pesona. However i have hear from my friend in proton said this pesona tested with new BCM (same used in Exora). Next year Waja will out maybe 1st Quart with used Lancer platform but diffrance chasis design (hear also look stunning) also hear that now they test the prototype near Lotus HQ.

In 2011 New Perdana will do entry if new engine (2.0) ready on time. So maybe nearly end of 2011 ?. Persona will rise with all new look. Hear also the design consult by Giugiaro, further more will used BCM, all ride & handling by Lotus. All the design hear the target to meet at lease 4 star NCAP rating & not below than that. That just some info that i hear….

• Tekno on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:08 am

More look like camry. Proton should put CPS on this Facelift model.

Dashboard color should be dark color to make it elegen. And leather seat of course.

• gen2rosak on Dec 24, 2009 at 1:46 am

haha is this called a facelifs?? still the same face, just different lips & bumpers.. wake up proton people. baik tak payah study design kalau design facelift setakat macam ni.. i think, those custom body shop can make better n more creative.. at least they can change a car looks rather than adding bodykits and call as facelifts.. its annoying.

• farghmee on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:25 am

offtopic>>

@gen2rosak,

lawak le…

awat xcakap toyota camry punya FL tu huduh?

see…"huduh" or "not huduh" is subjective.

how to change a car look if it is still the same model?

tell me if vios 2nd gen looks different with TRD-inspired BK :P

although it's the same outer "skin",

i'm more interested to know more on the "inner" stuff :)

• T/Black savvy on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:42 am

Actually this model call persona enhancement not persona facelift. Maybe next time paul can explain what'ts are the enhancement item have been done?

• initial R on Dec 24, 2009 at 2:53 am

gen2rosak said,

December 23, 2009 @ 5:46 pm

————————————-

At lease it much batter than Vios J JRD sportivo wanebe…. & u no need to pay the damage when u install at ah beng shop…

• littlefire on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:36 am

Peyno,

Sorry i am not SA, but i do own a Kancil and own another AE111 Toyota Corolla Seg which i own almost 3 years now without any serious problem i encounter compare to other friends & relatives which own ur famous local car.

I didnt mention that i want to buy Waja, just to show the info that their going to replace it with Mitsu Lancer. So to prove that, Proton will never be an independent car maker as they still depends on other to do it.

Peyno, just 1 question. How much Proton milk peoples money to have today success? PKFZ case already a boom already, and Dr.M is challenging people to sue him for bribe, MAS money losing report also have been covered up, I think not long from now, Proton real financial status will pop out also.. Just hope that ur proton will last another 10 years under our beloved BN control with extream NAP counter-measure.

Besides that, is funny that you always come in to those pro-Proton news, while those negative news like GM pay back the G didnt saw ur comment in it? Even previous NAP review mention that the G will still protect Proton, you also very senyap compare to now..

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 4:30 am

Go to any Proton Service center, you'll see on daily basis most Proton owners are NOT going for regular car service, they went there to claim for warranty and repairs (if they manage too). Surprisingly for the 9th time in few months. Damages and defects (as stated above).

Owh please don't tell me, that 21 people (including me) waiting in line at the Proton service center on daily basis are bashers and blind people? They're normal citizens or "rakyat" whom have been craped by Proton's terrible quality.

Not to mention lose of productivity and income, do you know most of us have to take our precious limited annual leave just to send the car for defect checks; I don't mind once or twice, but 9 times in less than one year? You must be kidding me if some arse-holes in here telling me that's normal.

You don't need an engineer or a scientist to tell you that your power window is "rosak" when it is making that awful gluk-gluk noise whenever you wind it down and up?

Who says that all these problems have been solved? I don't mind an idiot, you still can educate them, but a liar (fitnah) and ignorant people are the most terrible sin. It's worst than killing people.

• hadi1975 on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:03 am

i like persona better than gen2…way better looking.. neo also…..

hope the new facelift improve more in interior than exterior cos can't see much different from the old one…….and new engine managent….

• Rrrrr on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:30 am

stupid SY0H….

• kandiman on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:37 am

well…i would rather go for Korean car than Proton at this point, although my first choice is still Japanese. Sorry to say, but Proton hardly come out anything that really excite me. So far, what they give is always a few steps behind others and nothing really novel.

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

To be honest with you guys, I love my car (althought it's a lousy Proton). Why? Not because of nationalism, it's because you're paying it with your hard earned money for the next 5, 6, 7, 8 & 9 years (depending on your loanship). Even Proton Perdana offered by Bank Rakyat (last time) can "tarik" loan up to 11 years! Insane price, many thanks to NAP.

What choice do low and middle income people have (which make up almost 90% of Malaysians?) If the Government is sincere in helping Malaysians during these terrible time; I will not ask for stupid things. I will not ask for "tongkat ali" as what those UMNOputeras doing. Just remove that damn protection from Proton and compete evenly with other competitors. Proton can have as many cronies for all I care, but give chance to other car industry players as it will DIRECTLY benefit the rakyat a whole.

Wanna to help Malaysian car industry? Give incentive to foreign companies; to open up their factories over here and make sure they employ some percentage of local workers. Please use our unprotected electronic industry model. Our electronics and IT industry are doing very well due to these similar incentives. Let the market decide the flow of economics, and do not allow any UMNOputeras to be the middleman that will ruin everybody's life to kingdom comes.

Malaysia is a "trading" country. Most of our income comes from FDI (foreign direct investment). To put our entire car industry on 1 lousy local company is a bad business decision, terrible financial strategy, but excellent politics and Mahatirism. Somebody is NOT protecting the industry, somebody is protecting a legacy.

We could increase the living standards of Malaysians by just removing this insane NAP policy by relieving them from 1/3 of monthly financial burden.

If the government still insists on protection, please use that NAP money to provide efficient and cheap Public Transport and make sure you do not award the tender to some lousy punk; anak menantu of the famous ex-PM "ubah gaya hidup" idiot.

• waste_bucket on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:04 am

littlefire said,

December 23, 2009 @ 7:36 pm

Peyno,

Sorry i am not SA, but i do own a Kancil and own another AE111 Toyota Corolla Seg which i own almost 3 years now without any serious problem i encounter compare to other friends & relatives which own ur famous local car.

I didnt mention that i want to buy Waja, just to show the info that their going to replace it with Mitsu Lancer. So to prove that, Proton will never be an independent car maker as they still depends on other to do it.

Peyno, just 1 question. How much Proton milk peoples money to have today success? PKFZ case already a boom already, and Dr.M is challenging people to sue him for bribe, MAS money losing report also have been covered up, I think not long from now, Proton real financial status will pop out also.. Just hope that ur proton will last another 10 years under our beloved BN control with extream NAP counter-measure.

Besides that, is funny that you always come in to those pro-Proton news, while those negative news like GM pay back the G didnt saw ur comment in it? Even previous NAP review mention that the G will still protect Proton, you also very senyap compare to now..

Littlefire,

Same goes to you man..bad new about proton,you make such a big fuss..but good news about proton..you senyap buat tak tahu or find something to comment in a negative way…

and Littlefire,

one question for you, give me a list of top 5 car manufacturer who does not depend on their Government for loans,protection or bailout..Honda,Toyota,GM,VW and etc has done it…even korea market is fully protected!!!

atleast you know the Government is investing some money where we can see rather than into the pockets of some people we dont even know!!!its not milking from people..but its investment!!!understand???

people like you a SY0H are typical negative malaysian and the country is like this because people like you are the majority…full of negativity and crap!!!!

so how can you blame the country?? you know what is the Government biggest investment loss??its YOU..providing you with 11 years of basic education and yet you still have the mentality of a standard 1 student…dont you consider it as a waste….

if you are a person who can take things in a positive way..then the country would be a much better place!!!

human being takes about 8mth to 1 year to walk…and a calf(newborn cow) take less than 24 to learn and walk.. so who you consider smart??a cow or a human??

so its not how long someone takes time to learn,the point is as long a you learn something ever step of your life..Proton is learning..in a country where people like you exist,it takes time to improve and come up with world class products..cause as i been saying always..proton is made up by malaysians..and malaysians is made up by people like you and SY0H, MAZDA 3 MPS and et-cetera….et-cetera…YOU CANNOT EXPECT A LIGHTSPEED progress cause to be a world class product,we need a world class mentality…which i dont think most malaysians have..so learn to change yourself 1st..before expecting any changes!!!!!

• pucek_85 on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:15 am

pergh….nasib baik aku xbeli lagi tahun ni…design yang ni mmg lawa….mmg sesuai ar ngn aku…aku xpaham apsal orang asyik kutuk proton jer…mmg ar kalo nk dicomparekan ngn kete luar diorang lg bagus…diorang dh berape lame exist…at least bg ar support kat proton xpun idea2 yg bernas…menarik…ni tau kutuk jer…

• autojohndoe on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:43 am

To SY0H,

repeating you

Who says that all these problems have NOT been solved? I don’t mind an idiot, you still can educate them, but a liar (fitnah) and ignorant people are the most terrible sin. It’s worst than killing people.

please read my answers to you at above… some ppl you met with problems equivalent to others that not have the probs?

or you just keep finding power windows issue? hard isnt it?

• old timers on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:51 am

As usual.. if Proton got some improvement..the basher will bash Government, NAP bla bla..

Perodua and Naza, who want to comment? Their CEO becoming super rich person already..

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:57 am

klo nk citer proton pnye defect x payah r… sme co. kete mesti ade defect..

ak tgok C200 bru 2 bulan tailight sebelah dh x nyale… pe citer?

sal x nak hentam merc. ? use our brain wisely guys… all electonics must have defect. the different is whether it is in a large scale or not. what i know is defect in proton is now decreasing…

• autojohndoe on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:05 am

SY0H… SY0H…

remove NAP and all malaysia will be rich you mean? your economic knowledge is so… weird…

see things in bigger picture la… if all car prices are the same (proton, non-proton)… you still need to make loan 5~9 years also…

1. car RM/month – 1/3 of salary

2. Meal RM/month

3. Bills RM/month

4. Astro RM/month

5. etc etc…

If the long dream imported sophisticated branded car is a problematic one… maybe, you will also come to the SC 9 times in less than 1 year…

you are nagging about NAP, politics because you cant afford japanese, korean, conti car isnt it?

• old timers on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:13 am

for those who want to buy Vios TRDugong or New City..better save some money by choosing this persona.. same class but u pay less, and got all the technology.

if we want keyless remote, 2way..can use SteelMate alarm, if we want Doubledin, can install it too..so, what else we want? Quality? custom interior can be change at specialist interior shop..

except we are super rich, so buy BMW to show off.. wow

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:25 am

autojohndoe said,

December 23, 2009 @ 10:43 pm

Eh, don't repeat me lah, get your own sentence. Don't tell me you're out of ideas already? Just admit it, SY0H is right. Trust me, it's good for your soul (if you ever have one).

waste_bucket said,

December 23, 2009 @ 10:04 pm

Your nickname by itself tells me you're a waste. No point talking to an ignorant people. At least I got my points shown off. But, I don't mind repeating myself over and over again. Perhaps explanations below could enlighten you;

VIABILITY AND PROTECTIONISM

I am not against developing local car manufacturer or protection of local industry (the vision). I am against favouring one company and binding the others(the apparition).

On 80% market share initially to 25%, it is called diminishing effect of protectionism. Initially it will dominate, but as competitors find ways to counter the monopoly will crumble if it still relies on the old crutches.

Rome was not built in one day, neither was it destroyed in one day! Proton did not become sick overnight, it ignored the symptoms!

I have explained, other countries practice protectionism of local industry but let local companies slug it out. M'sia protects one company and hold back the whole local industry for him. Cant you see the difference?

Thank you for reading!

• wajarays on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:12 am

some forumer here comment like they are smart enough …… actually STUPID !!!!! wake up guys …. support sikitlah our national car ….. not all japan cars are good ler !! our proton also not bad ……. what are you all thinking actually aaaa guys ??? what is lag about proton from your eyes ????

• what is lag ???

all 4 power windows broke down in one year…yes other car brand also have defect, but not until like that…its just TERRIBLE. Anyway, up to you all, for me…no way, its my hard earn money.

• Malaysia memamg bole on Dec 24, 2009 at 9:41 am

Paul,is it true that some parts of campro engine are built by perodua,if it is true then perodua should be blame for campro problem

• waste_bucket on Dec 24, 2009 at 10:51 am

SY0H,

my nickname doesnt define me or my points!!

you were saying something else and now you came up with more sensible comment…which i seriously feel better and constructive from your previous copy paste crap comments!!

It is how you look at it..last year toyota recalled millions of cars..can we assume they are lack of quality??

honda city (previous gen) and Honda jazz has its famous CVT problem…can we say honda lack of quality??

they made mistakes and they rectify it by correcting their mistakes..proton does that too but..credit is not given…i can see clear improvements from every model they produce since waja..if you cant see it that way..then i cant help it!!

ignorance is not proton's fault..its us again..we ignored past 30 to 40 years of corruptions,cronism,mismanagement,cover up and etc…

we didnt bother to take any action to change the culprits or keep them in check even if their mistakes are very obvious!!

same goes to proton..we never took effort or demanding enough..we accept them as it is because we are getting them cheap??how many of us has sue proton or the Government for their wrong doing or ignorance??

how many of us has campaigns to improve proton's quality or took the effort to boycott proton??

how many of us written letter to the prime minister or the CEO of proton to tell our problem??

tell me??all we do is sit at a mamak stall and talk crap..or during office lunch hour or when meeting another proton owner..then add more spice to the story to feel your problem is more superior or worst than your fellow friend..and remain talking and spreading rumour to all who believes you..and make a problem even worst than it really is without realising the problem is actually us??!!??

we are a democratic country for god sake..people are the most powerful in this system..yet you guys let politician control everything and give them god like status/power..

we have the chance to change the fate of proton or the nation..and the power as well..but when we are not united and fail to realise the real problem..its not going to help improve things!!!

again..ignorance starts from you…

• haha… SY0H,

when somebody give u answers dont want to accept… pedih isnt it? than, u continue with the power window story… i bet, this will continue becoming a "Kisah Teladan" to the kids…

well, as somebody said.. IN US, accord if 20,000 USD and the salary is 2,000 USD as a waiter… In US, no need to eat, to pay bills, to pay insurance… In US, Money is only for car… WOW!!!!

so, why stay malaysia anymore…

why joining the kataks in Malaysia? go and get there la…

• apeng on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:34 am

when comes proton topic for sure it will "panas"…..

support……..condemm………etc……..

your money your choice lor….

the truth ones no car are perfect….ok…..

cheers……..

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:00 pm

autojohndoe said,

December 23, 2009 @ 11:05 pm

SY0H… SY0H…

remove NAP and all malaysia will be rich you mean? your economic knowledge is so… weird…

see things in bigger picture la… if all car prices are the same (proton, non-proton)… you still need to make loan 5~9 years also…

1. car RM/month – 1/3 of salary

2. Meal RM/month

3. Bills RM/month

4. Astro RM/month

5. etc etc…

If the long dream imported sophisticated branded car is a problematic one… maybe, you will also come to the SC 9 times in less than 1 year…

you are nagging about NAP, politics because you cant afford japanese, korean, conti car isnt it?

—————-

It's a relief actually if others is priced reasonably. Monthly installment can be lesser and more disposal income can be put for children education. Moreover, for those who want to get rid from Proton quality issue can easily do it by changing to other makes.

• wajarlah on Dec 24, 2009 at 3:23 pm

EVERYBODY HERE ALREADY KNOW ABOUT OLD PROTON CAR PROBLEMS, DON'T MENTION THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN, IT JUST MAKE PROTON SUPPORTERS FEEL MAD, AND IT SHOWS THAT YOU ARE THE OWNER OF THE ANCIENT PROTON MODEL AND NOT UPDATING YOUR DATA BASE SINCE PROTON RELEASE THEIR NEW SAGA MODEL.

• Desirable and Handsome, just like Satria Neo.

• deathstars on Dec 24, 2009 at 5:02 pm

1st..BORING!!!

• farghmee on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:02 pm

offtopic again>>

if u guys think that proton is not up to ur expectation, just do not buy its product.

wth with u guys, the article is about the enhancements in facelifted persona, then suddenly goes to tax, study abroad & bla2…?

if NAP isn't there, which company will affected most?

a. rebadging factory company,

b. independent manufacturer with automotive basic.

if u have the calculator in ur hand, & working as a bartender whose income is USD2000/mth, why it is seldom to see those bartender driving an Accord? Accord isn't good? or..

is it that so called "calculation" is 1/2-cooked?

i wonder why most of my Deutschland-educated friends with so much Euro (teuero) Stupendium didn't buy Fünfer, SLK, Kaefer usw.?

• Quattro (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:14 pm

Dear Proton engineer > pls put exora aircon knob to this facelift. The previous one mudah berpusing bila baby duk tendang2 > hope to see those install sama mcm city i-vtec – ada staged > tap tap tap. Lampu depan hopefully dapat tukar lah guna yang dipasang kat satria neo > baru cantik dan sporty. x perlu beli lampu baru…………

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:37 pm

wajarlah said,

December 24, 2009 @ 7:23 am

EVERYBODY HERE ALREADY KNOW ABOUT OLD PROTON CAR PROBLEMS, DON’T MENTION THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN, IT JUST MAKE PROTON SUPPORTERS FEEL MAD, AND IT SHOWS THAT YOU ARE THE OWNER OF THE ANCIENT PROTON MODEL AND NOT UPDATING YOUR DATA BASE SINCE PROTON RELEASE THEIR NEW SAGA MODEL.

—————–

Your statement just make those owner of problematic cars more angry. Is not new or ancient but is about cost of ownership. Please take note not all people can afford 2-3 cars per whole life here and if it is indeed really problem please just improve it or at least give time frame when it can be improved other than saying like this.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 24, 2009 at 6:40 pm

farghmee said,

December 24, 2009 @ 10:02 am

offtopic again>>

if u guys think that proton is not up to ur expectation, just do not buy its product.

—————————-

Unfortunately, others are beyond reach for masses.

• roadrunner on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:04 pm

dear proton engineer,if possible can the rear cushion of facelift persona 'di condongkan ' a little bit…baru best sikit! thanks

• many info about waja replacement model from here ,,,, but confuse which one is correct…….paul or proton people pliz comment…….

• farghmee on Dec 24, 2009 at 7:14 pm

@ Auto_Critics,

yes, some (new) are beyond reach, some(used) are within.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:05 pm

My apologies in advance as I feel that I need to go off topic here. Can anybody enlighten me on this question of mine, as I'm rather confused :

Is the upcoming Waja replacement basically a rebadged Lancer Fortis,

OR

based on the Lancer Fortis Platform (Platform sharing) ?

I hope anybody from Proton can give me an answer. Sorry, I just want to know. That's all.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:35 pm

nizam80 said,

December 24, 2009 @ 12:05 pm

My apologies in advance as I feel that I need to go off topic here. Can anybody enlighten me on this question of mine, as I’m rather confused :

Is the upcoming Waja replacement basically a rebadged Lancer Fortis,

OR

based on the Lancer Fortis Platform (Platform sharing) ?

I hope anybody from Proton can give me an answer. Sorry, I just want to know. That’s all.

—————————

It's derives from Lancer GT i think. Refer to below news. But the price is somehow maybe beyond reach again.

http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Monday/…

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 24, 2009 at 8:38 pm

farghmee said,

December 24, 2009 @ 11:14 am

@ Auto_Critics,

yes, some (new) are beyond reach, some(used) are within.

——————-

Still beyond reach at 5-7% hp rate.

• chap_de_x on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:42 pm

proton basher have no new thing to raise arr…every topic about proton regardless of what it is, same thing again, power window, NAP, Tax, politic. nothin new to argue ah…but if i take it in positive way it show that proton don't have new big problem for their product line up…good la in that sense…so keep it up mumbling the same thing basher…you make fool of yourself day by day to me….

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 25, 2009 at 12:20 am

chap_de_x said,

December 24, 2009 @ 3:42 pm

proton basher have no new thing to raise arr…every topic about proton regardless of what it is, same thing again, power window, NAP, Tax, politic. nothin new to argue ah…but if i take it in positive way it show that proton don’t have new big problem for their product line up…good la in that sense…so keep it up mumbling the same thing basher…you make fool of yourself day by day to me….

—————–

What else they can do? They have been fooled by car quality, NAP, Tax day by day. To them maybe you're fool not realizing that. Just i think fair statement.

• Automotive_Critics said,

December 24, 2009 @ 4:20 pm

What else they can do? They have been fooled by car quality, NAP, Tax day by day.

———-

Pity for them :(

• wochomi on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:22 am

Sure Proton has done it again. Refreshing looks and nice CPS engine. And they're going into Turbo. Cool. Kudos to our handicapped national car maker. It's time to forgo political protection from the Rakyat and Politicians (now politicians are not Rakyat, they're above in the foodchain).

• D'Engineer.3077 on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:55 am

Good day,

someday, somehow, everyone need to be bash.. but bak kata orang2 tua dulu..

jangan lah nak main sembur/ bantai jer.. kalau nak menegur tu biarlah berhikmah..

Proton ni usia nya sgt muda lg jika nak dibandingkan dgn kampeni2 automotives yg lain..

tambahan pulak kapasiti pekerja mereka.

Sekadar perbandingan sekali lalu.. Utk satu department di proton, pekerjanya mungkin sekitar 30 ke 50 org shj.. nak dibandingkan dengan katakanlah maybe KIA (xyah yg besar2 lg.. yg ni je dah cukup) KIA pnye department capacity adalah sekitar 100 ke 150 org.. itu locally at korea.. belum yg dari design and engineering team diorg yg base di eropah lagi..

so maknanya.. kapasiti pekerja di proton tu yg sbnrnye bnyak menghadkan hasil keluaran Proton itu sendiri.. kalau nak cakap pasal teknologi.. mmg Proton dah boleh dikatakan agak setanding dgn kampeni2 automotif yg lain.. Tp berbalik kpd masalah td.. Proton x cukup org utk buat n siapkan all those jobs.. Sbb tulah kita biasa dgr yg sepatutnya satu2 model tu dikeluarkan pada sekian2 tarikh.. tp akhirnya keluar pd satu2 tarikh yg berbulan melangkaui dari jadual asalnya.. contohnya the rebadge Lancer.. Jadual asal Proton spatutnya mengeluarkan this new car pada bulan 6 yg lepas (Jun 2009), tp sampai skrg x dapat launch lg.. its all becoz of the capacity.. man power..

x kirelah utk department manapun.. Engineering Design.. Quality.. Powertrain.. Project.. those people yg currently inside aren't capable of delivering the requested job on time due to lack of capacity..

So.. maybe if Proton open up n hire more people to work with them.. maybe all the unforseen troubles/mistakes/unwanted issues can be tackled earlier then the current situation.. Thus, less bashing will be receive because everybody being satisfied.. n moreover PROUD to own a PROTON..

Cheers!

• JKucing on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:38 am

Not bad … any new accessary??

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:12 am

Still remember in the topic "Proton Exora platform to spawn new models". It did stated that the next generation Persona can come with a torsion beam. A sportier version, the future equivalent of the GEN2, can use the multi-link setup. Stretch it a little and give it the multi-link as well, and you get a potential new Perdana.

Anyway, I really hope the 2012 Proton Persona will comes with multi link setup for rear. By the way, if DSZ and Proton engineers read my comment, please guys… besides 5 star EuroNCAP ratings, active safety, I hope better passive safety too. Install more airbags, ABS+EBD+BA with traction control. Body Control Module of cause. Better aerodynamic (lower drag co-efficient / cd). If still using Campro CPS, please improve the ECU plus aluminium built instead of cast iron and other related stuff!

I'm reallly waiting for this global model. If the car really meet my taste, I really going to buy one. Lastly…. Multi Link setup for rear please… Hahaha…

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:27 am

Oh yes… projector headlamps or Bi-xenon, even syok! If you know about CCFL Headlamps with projector also not bad. LED rear lights. It will be even nicer if the rear lights especially the break light looks like those current BMW 5 Series or Toyota Camry and the front like the Audi A1. If Proton & Guigiaro have better design…. sure welcome.

Interior design also very impotant. Dark grey / black colour of course.

Overall built quality must be on par with 2012 standard and not 2009 to 2011 standard. So, please do your homework and do it carefully if you (Proton) want it to be global model.

All the best. Happy motoring!

• wajarlah on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:57 am

Automotive_Critics said,

December 24, 2009 @ 10:37 am

wajarlah said,

December 24, 2009 @ 7:23 am

EVERYBODY HERE ALREADY KNOW ABOUT OLD PROTON CAR PROBLEMS, DON’T MENTION THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN, IT JUST MAKE PROTON SUPPORTERS FEEL MAD, AND IT SHOWS THAT YOU ARE THE OWNER OF THE ANCIENT PROTON MODEL AND NOT UPDATING YOUR DATA BASE SINCE PROTON RELEASE THEIR NEW SAGA MODEL.

—————–

Your statement just make those owner of problematic cars more angry. Is not new or ancient but is about cost of ownership. Please take note not all people can afford 2-3 cars per whole life here and if it is indeed really problem please just improve it or at least give time frame when it can be improved other than saying like this.

———

I think you misunderstood to whom my statement should be delivered to and what is my statement is all about.

For those who had bought the ancient proton car, they should be proud to theirself for sacrifying their money, time and happiness in order to develop proton and malaysia. If not because of this people, proton will not improve into this level. They are a part of the proton history. Proton must walks first before can flies. No today if no yesterday. If they can think like this, they should not spread the bad thing about Proton to the rest of the world. The fact is that Proton is improving. No doubt, even how hard they want to accept it.

• aiks … terrible design, can't proton come out a better design???!!! =="'

• nudin on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm

2010 will change the proton brand and design..they will better

do your plan that decide before this

• wochomi on Dec 26, 2009 at 7:48 am

Kalau nak pakai kereta kurang mahal, belilah, jgn byk songeh pasal kualiti lah… power windowlah… poweroot lah… agak-agak ada duit nak kasi govt, beli kereta jenama import. Proton bnyk bagi pekerjaan kat org kita tau. Dah 20 tahun.

"if you ain't got no money, get your broke ass home"

• mazda3 on Dec 26, 2009 at 4:17 pm

what a nightmare to buy a car now…why persona do a small2 facelift.donno how many version will come out later.maybe 3? 4? 5?

special,super special,extra special,premium special,gonna die later.

• Arcane on Dec 26, 2009 at 4:52 pm

@ The Unicorns

With all the things that you requested, what price are you willing to pay for such Persona?

• RWD+turbo persona?

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 27, 2009 at 3:20 am

To Arcane.

Well.

1. ABS+EBD+BA….very common… even Perodua models have it now.

2. Projector / Xenon headlamp. Current Waja has it.

3. More airbags (Driver+front passenger). Common. Plus another front side airbags at least. It should be become a must have standard by year 2012? Don't you think so?

4. Body Control Module. Proton Exora has it and DSZ conform that will be in for next Persona. Plus he also said more features and tech will put in.

5. Five Star EuroNCAP rating. Yes! as it is designed to archive tougher European ratings.

As DSZ said, this is the next global car!

RM65K for high line, I will go for it too as long as it is worth. Next Waja might be a 1.8L model… costs around RM80K…?

One more thing, you can have a base line for persona with single or dual airbags, ABS+EBD only (or without) with normal multi reflector H4 headlamps. Think about Exora high line with DVD player+LCD screen and Proton also offer medium and base line too with cheaper price.

So…. what do you think? Even Vios got J version. Base line model.

• gila modi on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:47 am

apa gila, buat sana sikit sini sikit, kasi menteri lancar…

harga kasi naik… .. kualiti tetap tarakkk, apa daaaa

kasi sumbat turbo laaa… baru syokkk

• mazda3 on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:00 pm

i think new executive now will think twice to buy proton persona coz so many version will come out. its nothing to do with quality or what ever but feel unsure what will happened next? maybe got something extra here and then for upcoming persona….tired dow…like never ending story.

• relax la gila modi…kualiti proton ada improvement,jgn kutuk tak guna fakta, comment biar membina……..proton tak paksa kita utk beli keta dia,kalau mahal beli keta lain….byk lagi choice kat luar sana tu…..

• squawk on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:56 am

Hope they will consider changing to better steering wheel and aircond dials.

• Kyle @ Facelift abro on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:35 pm

I think it looks rather good. Bring it on par with the luxury car look. Now all it needs is a cream leather interior and it will look great.

• Quattro (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:18 am

proton pls make sure the next persona at least at par with vios J – base line – very good sound proofing. kalau dkt trafik light tu, engine tak dengar hidup ke tidak > this is the reality dan proton has to face and eccept it. current persona + on aircon bunyi mcm kete zaman 60an.. bingit telinga.

• waja lancer spyshot yg baru takde ke??????? x sabar nak tgk waja rep model……….

• engine tak dengar hidup ke tidak > this is the reality dan proton has to face and eccept it. current persona + on aircon bunyi mcm kete zaman 60an.. bingit telinga…..

CUBA DENGAR ENGINE EUROPE CAR…SAMA JER MACAM PROTON..X SEMESTINYA SENYAP ENGINE 2 BAGUS…

• yoohoo on Dec 31, 2009 at 4:20 am

wah.. new design cues and direction for 2010?

if this is what the proton design chief is tweeting about then all guys should tweet that they have a pair of balls in their pants..

anyway.. nice to see that the wing mirrors got bigger, proton should sack all of those responsible for the current gen2 and persona wing mirrors for being unsafe…. maybe the design chief can tweet his own resignation…. btw… can see a golf mk6 reflection – a proper car.

• Auto Guy on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:11 am

the marking are points where gap between the body and bumper are being inspected. Its to check the dimension accuracy of the bumper.

• farghmee on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:47 pm

bingit bunyi kete? smpi bingit ke?

ke ko ada superpower cm superman?

• CicitDato' Baha on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:18 pm

Like this ka….? Quite Ok lo…

But please improve ur ECI / ECU … So many time problem…

I am the one who 4 times 'kena' on the highway plus….

Otai-otai staf at Proton Shah Alam who low performer better resign….

Don't create double trouble…. Lets Dato' Syed settle them out…..!!!

• maymay on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:28 am

boring :-o

• So this persona model gonna have its facelift soon, will current gen2 follow suit with all these new ecu, side mirrors, rear lamps n etc? just curious since gen2 already have its cps facelift in 2008.

• roadrunner on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:48 pm

V8 said,

January 2, 2010 @ 12:41 am

So this persona model gonna have its facelift soon, will current gen2 follow suit with all these new ecu, side mirrors, rear lamps n etc? just curious since gen2 already have its cps facelift in 2008.

gen2 will face out..in my opinion..

• Quattro (Member) on Jan 03, 2010 at 6:34 pm

chor said,

December 30, 2009 @ 5:20 pm

engine tak dengar hidup ke tidak > this is the reality dan proton has to face and eccept it. current persona + on aircon bunyi mcm kete zaman 60an.. bingit telinga…..

CUBA DENGAR ENGINE EUROPE CAR…SAMA JER MACAM PROTON..X SEMESTINYA SENYAP ENGINE 2 BAGUS…

En. Chor, this is only my suggestion > a room for for improvement for proton guys > i'm not comdeming since i got 1 persona and 1all new H brand in my garrage. so if you don't expericene it yourself, so better try it > which one is better. kalau mcm ni > bg idea pun salah bila proton mau maju > itu belum dikira engine tecnology > byk pengeluar dah pakai timing chain instead of timing belt > do you know that??

• Oscar on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:49 pm

I am currently owning proton persona. Bought for more than 6months, this car is powerful, good in handling and also fast. Overall, this is a good sedan car. This facelift persona like dont have much difference with the old one which is mine.Maybe this car got campro CPS. also nt very sure. For the price ,i got persona instead of myvi. It is much more worth buying a much powerful and safer car. I drove my friend's myvi, totally a scary experience.

• quattro,even vw revert back using timing belt, didnt u notice that :-)….and thats company who won the best engine 2009. dunno about honda. yes, its good to have a silent engine, but it is about preference. u shud wait for one year before u heard harmonious sound from timing chain engine. my sis has one, toyota vios, when start the engine every morning, it sound like something cracking in the engine, but the engine is still good. it is not the engine, it is the aircond compressor for proton is louder, but as u want a powerful aircond, so need to live with the powerful sound. dont tell me that new h city aircond is more powertul than persona. has driven it, a guud car (NHC), but persona aircond is better cooling compare to it. even if compare to my waja campro. happy motoring

• Quattro (Member) on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:20 pm

mat > everything u said is true > all proton car aircond is the best in it class > u got what i mean

VW > is it affortdable to own one????????

my next dreams car > VM Golf 2.0 TDi

• Quattro (Member) on Jan 04, 2010 at 8:26 pm

mat > everything ur said is true> all proton car aircond is the best in it class >u got what i mean > it not about the engine prob but sound insulation.

VW > is it affordable for us???? won best engine 2009 is not about timing belt or timing change > it about the technology………overall

my next dreams car > VW Golf 2.0 TDi

• Mat Komen on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:41 am

adeh..

just copy and paste from current gen2 cps?

the front grill looks awful..

'dah x de idea ke nk design bumper lain?'

• u still dont get wat i mean on the vw engine related to ur post previously quattro, i mean that whether it is timing belt or timing chain, it doesnt mean it is advanced. still if u didnt notice, even plain campro use drive by wire. in the same category in japanese car in malaysia, only the new honda city start using drive by wire. the other class is civic. only the upper range product for toyota n honda using drive by wire, but plain campro already used it since 2004. so, is it the vios engine or previous honda engine outdated? for me, it is not, the engine still relevant. even the previous vw engine never had valve timing/lift, but they used direct injection.

cps/iafm is not the most advanced engine in its category but it is still releveant n current. for example, vios engine using alluminium block, campro used cast iron, so vios is ahead, vios engine using variable valve timing/dual valve timing whether advance or retard on intake while iafm is variable intake manifold/dual intake manifold whether long or short runner on intake, so its a fair. vios using a normal cable throttle while iafm using electronic throttle, so iafm is a head. so for me, conclusion, it is a fair match. while cps is a different story when it has variable valve lift/dual valve lift n variable intake manifold, both on intake so cps is better than vios engine in term of tech.

yes, i have to agree that proton need to put more sound insulation at the engine bay n firewall. hopefully with the released of campro LE on persona enhancement, heard that they also improving on the NVH also. i also hope, the NVH will be a lot better than the previous persona.

• hopefully u will get ur dream car vw tdi, for me i adore golf gti mk6. maybe can only drive it in my dream ha..ha..happy motoring ;-)

• sy8_nemesis on Jan 07, 2010 at 10:14 pm

GEN 2 COUPE………!!!?????

WITH RENAULT ENGINE…….!!!???

REPLACE PUTRA……..!!!????

WOW…..!!???

THAT IS SOME THING…….!!!???

• En. Chor, this is only my suggestion > a room for for improvement for proton guys > i’m not comdeming since i got 1 persona and 1all new H brand in my garrage. so if you don’t expericene it yourself, so better try it > which one is better. kalau mcm ni > bg idea pun salah bila proton mau maju > itu belum dikira engine tecnology > byk pengeluar dah pakai timing chain instead of timing belt > do you know that??

saya pun x cakap awak condem proton..actualy awak kena tahu sistem aircond engine campro dahulu sebelum komen macam bunyi macam kereta 60an sama juga macam awak cakap t atau h bagus..kenapa bagus sbb awak tahu banyak pasal kereta tue…XKAN DENGAN BUNYI KITA TAHU KERETA TUE BAIK KE TAK??..timing chain bukan new tech…cuma inprovement tech dari yang lama..bagi dia lebih senyap jer bila dah guna lama.. masih xbanyak beza pun.so better pakai timing belt daripada timing chain..pendapat saya jer..TQ

• Joshua Pui on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:05 am

Guys,

I dont know anyone notice way before or not. I went to Proton Show Room and thought of getting a Persona myself.

I am totally surprised to see a major discrepancy of placement of Steering and the Meter Panel. Both element is not aligned to the center!!! I was truly disappointed with Proton and went on…

This shown that there is lacking in some kind of coordination among themselves. (Designer – Engineer – Mechanic – Manufacturer ?? )

Anyone can provide a good answer so the confidence would be built up for proton again.

Thanks Paul!!

• Like the Persona actually, the ads with pregnant lady shows how Proton emphasize on its Lotus handling features. But Please Proton, change the center console. It just sucks and looks pretty damn cheap. Other than that, thumbs up!

• Joshua Pui said,

January 8, 2010 @ 5:05 pm

Guys,

I dont know anyone notice way before or not. I went to Proton Show Room and thought of getting a Persona myself.

I am totally surprised to see a major discrepancy of placement of Steering and the Meter Panel. Both element is not aligned to the center!!! I was truly disappointed with Proton and went on…

This shown that there is lacking in some kind of coordination among themselves. (Designer – Engineer – Mechanic – Manufacturer ?? )

Anyone can provide a good answer so the confidence would be built up for proton again.

Thanks Paul!!

hai joshua, actually not really undertand completely what do u mean, but if u mean the gap between the steering wheel and meter panel, u can adjust it manually using the lever under the steering column. it is a tilt steering, so u can adjust it up and down according to ur preference. if u adjust it to the lowest setting, of course u can see the gap between the steering and the meter panel, if that u mean.

but please give details info or pictures so that we can help u if can.

• Joshua Pui said,

January 8, 2010 @ 5:05 pm

Guys,

Thanks Paul!!

hai joshua, actually not really undertand completely what do u mean, but if u mean the gap between the steering wheel and meter panel, u can adjust it manually using the lever under the steering column. it is a tilt steering, so u can adjust it up and down according to ur preference. if u adjust it to the lowest setting, of course u can see the gap between the steering and the meter panel, if that u mean.

but please give details info or pictures so that we can help u if can…

• SangBogol on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:29 am

dun buy proton, wasting time,wasting money low quality and expansive.When got extra money better buy honda civic or any japanese car :) value always hight when u trade in :)

• mohd shamsul on Jun 24, 2010 at 3:41 pm

salam. persona elergance yang baru ada kelebihan dari segi pecutan dan rupa luaran. bonet memang luas dan dalaman yang kemas.tetapi ada bahagian yang perlu diperbaharui seperti sistem brek. brek berbungi apabila ditekan sewaktu hendak berhenti dan mengeluarkan debu hitam pada rim walaupun baru 2 hari digunakan.body masih bersih tetapi rim sudah kotor.ini berbeza dengan model proton yang terdahulu yang kualiti brek yang lebih baik. kerusi pemandu juga ‘ menekan’ bahagian belakang sekiranya memandu jarak jauh. suspensi juga agak beralun jika melalui jalan kurang rata.

• i pakai gen2 1.6 auto 2006. tapi perasan x, kenapa jika kemalangan berkait persona selalu terbakar hangus?any comment..
    apa pun, i harap gen2 or persona x da la dijadikan teksi, berbanding waja,saga,wira n iswara.