Free bodykit for first 50 Hyundai i30 in 2010

Hyundai i30 M Sport

The first Hyundai i30 registered in 2010 will get a free bodykit that Hyundai calls “M Sport” (from MS Design), which consists of a new front, rear and side skirts, a black plastic cover for the grille, twin exhaust pipes and plastic mouldings on the rear bumper.

Hyundai i30 M Sport

Comparing the price list I have here, it looks like the full kit costs about RM8,000 if you buy it separately after the first free 50 units. You can find hi-res images after the jump.

Related Post:
Hyundai i30 Test Drive Review

[zenphotopress number=999 album=701]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• how abt those wheels? no wheels the car will look funny..

• lambov12 on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:51 pm

M Sport ?? Isn't that is BMW copyrights ?

• yahhhhoooooooooooooooooooooooo!! im no 1

hyudai car in malaysia no second hand value !!

better go for civic or altis!!

bodykit free , is wan to push thier sales only….this is a traps

• azrai on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Ah Beng's Hyundai.

• raybrig on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Korean Impreza..

• please la……this is not mercedes or bmw…and its not even worth RM3K!! kononnya RM8K!! wat kinda stupid korean scam.

• Cross Polo on Dec 24, 2009 at 11:57 pm

ikut cara marketing savvy dulu…. hmmm untuk 50 unit pertama sahaja ?.

• mynuszero on Dec 25, 2009 at 12:13 am

its not korean scam la bro….its our DRB scam…..Korean's dont have to scam Malaysian cause we are nothing to them la….look at their technology know how and how they can do it at such low cost. They are leaders in electronics to ship building….why they want to scam us.

• wolfsburg on Dec 25, 2009 at 12:23 am

The price of i30 has killed all the interest to the car.. Sime-Darby should wake up and look at how Naza price their car.. Hyundai's car sells better than Kia in all market over the world except Malaysia…

• problem with Sime is that they don't really need your money. Hence, their cars are all overpriced. Just look at Alfa, priced close to an Audi. Refresh me, the i30 is a CKD or CBU?

• i"ll buy if the price is rm50k

• i bet after market kits would cost lesser than 8k.. its a gimmic to sell so called OEM kits… it doesnt make sense actually…one small logo would make so much of difference in price..the material used to make them is same anyway…

• Sime Darby should take a look at malaysian Market demand. Plp are not interested in notch back type of cars. Malaysian prefer sedan. i30 is are for ladies/ collage chicks who are rich. Malaysian are lock hard on Honda/ Toyota. Btw the i30 looks a bit dated already.

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:11 am

Hyundai should not give this BULLSHIT Sime Darby the dealership, as SD is poor in marketing cars and this will just retard the growth of Hyundai in Malaysia. See this i30, ridiculously over price. Can you remember the specs? Oh it has keyless entry + push start button + panoramic sunroof + turbo + 6 speed auto + 7 airbags with 10 year manufacturing waranty + 10-year chassis waranty. NO-no-no, I am stupid lah, it is an AWD crossover! Its previous name was TUCSON. hA hA hA.

• I better buy Mywi……korea car no second value…

• SY0H (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:12 am

Hey guys, at least the i30's "power window" are working perfectly.

Proton's power windows will fail the minute you start to use it.

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:16 am

Sorry, overpriced, not over price.

I think the first 50 units with FREE bodykits are left-over products manufactured in 2009 because nobody wants.

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:25 am

The first 50 units with FREE gifts are left-over products manufactured in 2009 because nobody wants. Even a Hyundai fan like me who have extra money will NOT consider i30 at this kind of price, seriously.

• shawal on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:33 am

M sport is BMW's…this is odd

MS..? multiple sclerosis, the bodykits are nice , n grey corners is less damaging when u scratch it over various surfaces

wont these bodykits n big alloys add weight to the car? use more fuel n make it slower

• Jimmy <- the typical Korean car hater, get a life, shall you?

• initial R on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:45 am

SY0H said,

December 24, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

Hey guys, at least the i30’s “power window” are working perfectly.

Proton’s power windows will fail the minute you start to use it.

————————————————————–

Oooooo, Ok… Mr. Power Window…. u have buy 1 of it right ?…. happy with it ?.. sure u will happy to play everyday right…. happy happy joy joy… tup tap, tup tap.

• 4gb3a38w on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:48 am

Hyundai Kia have virtually got nothing to blame these days, actually the best reliable car, but any other choice?

In 2007 Strategic Vision Total Quality Awards, Hyundai Motors leads the most vehicle segments in Strategic Vision’s Total Quality Index, measuring the ownership experience. They attempt to measure more than just the number of problems per vehicle. Hyundai tops in Strategic Vision Total Quality Awards. For the first time ever, Hyundai has risen to share the position of having the most models leading a segment. three models with the top Total Quality Index (TQI) score in their segments, including the Hyundai Azera, Entourage, Santa Fe.
    http://www.strategicvision.com/auto_tqa_winners.p… http://www.autoindustry.co.uk/news/05-06-07_2

In 2003, According to Consumer Reports, Hyundai’s reliability rankings tied Hondas.
    http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2003-03-11-cr…

In 2006 JD Power and associates quality ranking, overall the Hyundai brand ranked 3rd, just behind Porsche and Lexus, and beating long time rival Toyota.
    http://www.usatoday.com/money/autos/2006-06-07-iq… http://www.jdpa.com/presspass/pressrelease.asp?ID… http://www.autospectator.com/cars/hyundai/0024213…

The brand overall is ranked much higher than the average industry and resale value continues to improve; a comparable 2003 Hyundai Sonata sedan ranks just $2200 below a similarly equipped Honda Accord, according to Kelley Blue Book Pricing 2006.

In 2006, Hyundai’s minivan Entourage earned a five-star safety rating – the highest honor the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration bestows – for all seating positions in frontal and side-impact crashes. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety also rates “Good” – its highest rating – in front, side and rear impacts. The IIHS (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, US), in fact, has christened the 2006 Hyundai Entourage and Kia Sedona a “Gold Top Safety Pick,” making the safest minivan ever tested.
    http://www.iihs.org/news/rss/pr112106.html http://www.hyundaiusa.com/abouthyundai/news/2006_… http://minivans.about.com/b/a/000054.htm

In 2006, Hyundai was awarded 'Top-rated 2006 Ideal Vehicle' by Autopacific, Marketing research and consultancy firm for the automobile industry.
    http://www.autopacific.com/index/news-app/story.3…

• ST Chong on Dec 25, 2009 at 1:53 am

Looks nicely done up for a Korean! Great effort to be honest. Hmm….. loads of negative comments, but has anyone really considered the built quality or even bother to test drive the car? I did, and it really impressed me the minute I sat in it. The built quality was really good, even better than some Jap makers. Handling was fantastic too compared to the FD20 Civic I have at the moment. Guys, take it to the road and feel for yourself. Hyundai is ranked 4th largest automaker in the world. Surely they don't get there by scams.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:15 am

One unit only ??

Sure their salesman buy it up and keep to sell with a RM2K profit :)

• X-man on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:16 am

I think a lot people prefer KIA Forte. The KIA forte outlook is better than the i30.

• Srotong on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:27 am

Yes, definitely the Forte. This lump is way overpriced, given the poor representation of Hyundai over the years, locally. Even Kah Motors can't do a thing about this image, not that they haven't tried.

I think the Korean marketing chiefs need to re-think their dealerships.

• Jimmy, can you stfu at korean car articles?

• mystvearn on Dec 25, 2009 at 3:52 am

Only one person? How to know that the outcome has not been fixed? For all you know someone with links already registered to be the first, and this is just a way to make up more numbers…

• whats with those ugly black patches at the rear!

• Gajen on Dec 25, 2009 at 4:28 am

m sport? bmw?…anyway i dont fancy the bodykit…looks ugly esp the front grille

• while naza seem trying to place kia in mass market segment, sime darby seem to place hyundai in niche segment. but all people know that kia and hyundai made car for mass market. it really made sime darby look stupid.

• Yay more body kits on shitty economy cars. Thats right. You too can make your utterly slow front wheel drive shit box look like a sports … hatch?

• _xXx_ on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:21 am

I was actually quite interested in getting one until the day I found out there was NO MT i30 in reality and the valves in the engine are STILL driven by a timing belt!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:50 am

SEXY CAR

• zaff1984 on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:25 am

sorry i think this car is ugly.

• akupunya on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:26 am

aa bising2 nie..

sapa ada duit, beli la ini kereta..sapa takdak duit, beli je la kereta yang mampu dibeli..

at least i30 can give a different view on our road..asyik2 persona and saga..nk termuntah gua..

orang kalau ada duit dan minat ini kereta, dia apa kisah no sec value or overpriced…

citarasa pembeli lain2 and subjective..

Sime Darby pun nk kaya, tapi different style rather than NAZA..

naza wants profits from sales quantity..SD wants more profit from a product..

peace!

• blackdog hungry on Dec 25, 2009 at 6:57 am

i30 looks more european taste, our local market still prefer sedan's. Can refer motor trader among top selling model saga persona vios city.

Hyundai overpriced and poor 2nd hand value. When you call 2nd car dealer they give you price but wont take the car.

Naza own by indivdual, sime darby a conglomerate.

• noName on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:03 am

at least its fuel consumption is lower than forte n the protons…..

a lil bit overpriced…but its rated 4 star in safety in Europe.

how many star did proton get?

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:45 am

Again, the Korean car give me an impression of "copy cat", the stylish body kit remind me of the Porsche Cayenne and the VW R8.

• the back looks really familiar… is it one of Renault grand scenic design LOL?? ^.-

• The black patches at the rear…. for what ah?

to protect the car from corner scraping ka??

• Hahaha….

I'm laughing at the so-called twin exhaust pipes…haha..

• Alistair on Dec 25, 2009 at 9:33 am

haha i think the car that is clearly overprice is viva!!! 40k++ for a car dat size is obviously a bullshit!!!!!

• Hyundai i30 earned euro ncap 5 star safety rating.

And somebody who think i30 styling is copycat is downright silly.

The i30 design derived from arnejs concept.

http://photos.autoexpress.co.uk/images/front_pict…

• The i30 is a compact car.

It is not a subcompact car like a Honda city.

Is it really overprice?

• i10 – mini

i20 – subcompact ; honda city

i30 – compact ; honda civic

• i30 is overprice?

really?

It offers compact car as subcompact car price.

Check honda civic price.

the hatchback offers spacious interior volume, and More good safety rating & fuel economy than Honda civic.

• wastage on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:57 pm

ppl need more time to accept korean car, but if you can accept proton, then you can accept korean car la. Only korean car spare part more expensive.

Let more and more Kia Forte roam on the street, lets hope kia forte can start a new page of Korean car in malaysia, forget about the old comment of Kia spectra and sonata.

• wastage on Dec 25, 2009 at 2:58 pm

frankly speaking, at this price i rather buy 308 turbo with Minicooper engine, right? come on, peugeot over hyundai any time at the same price.

• _xXx_ said,

I was actually quite interested in getting one until the day I found out there was NO MT i30 in reality and the valves in the engine are STILL driven by a timing belt!

—————–

Actually the 1.6 i30 with the Gamma engine is driven by a timing chain. Only the 2.0 is driven by a timing belt.

• theanswer on Dec 25, 2009 at 5:02 pm

read the review and we'll know why it's expensive and the diff it can bring by putting multi-link setup at the rear instead of torsion beam(altis,city,forte,sylphy use torsion beam). but i still feel it's overpriced especially the 1.6 version.

• nudin on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:12 pm

what korea hv…just lousy engine at all..what can expect for like this design even not design by them

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm

SWEET !!!!!

but rm8k is a bit…. errr…..

• ericfoong81exe on Dec 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm

And the head lamp even remind me of the Myvi hahaha….would it be derived from the silly arnejs concept too? Naive…..

• ggg2c2 on Dec 25, 2009 at 8:56 pm

even they make the bodykit standard also ppl dont want la ,

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 25, 2009 at 11:19 pm

but why would one buy this car over the peugeot 308?

• alpha999 on Dec 26, 2009 at 12:05 am

to all certified bashers…… jsut go for jap cars la……whatever design and price they set…sure….top sales…….any year…

• Ricky on Dec 26, 2009 at 1:08 am

For those not interested please don't make any noise or bad mouthing here.

• stfodude on Dec 26, 2009 at 1:56 am

this car is same like throw money into the sea!

rm8k bodykit ? scam

• stfodude on Dec 26, 2009 at 1:59 am

The first 50 units with FREE gifts are left-over products manufactured in 2009 because nobody wants. Even a Hyundai fan like me who have extra money will NOT consider i30 at this kind of price, seriously.

haha same v mi .

eg sonata , rm12xk , after few years RM3xk 2nd hand hah , u lost RM90k.

• Jimmy on Dec 26, 2009 at 4:44 am

No critics no improvementlah.  Or you just want people to tell you only nice (false) words that you want to hear?  Peugeot 308 Turbo or i30 2.0(not Civic Yah, because Civic is also overpriced)?  I will go for Peugeot 308 Turbo with 6 airbags and panoramic sunroof.  Same price, but I can hardly remember any goodies in i30.  BTW I currently owned a Hyundai and a Kia (not Naza, sorry) and my wife has a Toyota, and I may want to buy Sonata YF or Genesis as my next car, if it is STILL value-for-money under Sin Darky.

• Are you still living in 1990s?

They recent improving their quality and safety, resale value.

Please don't tell a lie. proven hater.

• cikai on Dec 26, 2009 at 6:10 am

kalo adak duhik belik lak satuk.. kalo tak dak duhik belik lak sangga blm kak.. persunna campuroi kak.. wajahkuk kak.. ahpancai kak (sorik ahvanzak..).. sampai kak tolllll.. buhkak pintu kak..kak.kak.. tup tap tup tap..

• wochomi on Dec 26, 2009 at 7:39 am

hmm… nice also wor the body kit. Free gift arr? so good Koreans

• I'm still laughing at those twin exhaust pipe..LoL…is it even real?? And the rims..are they included for extra RM8k? If it does, good. If it doesn't, then I wont appreciate this car.

But still..they look nice though…keep it up, Hyundai!

• stfodude on Dec 26, 2009 at 8:27 am

GL3n said,

December 26, 2009 @ 12:02 am

I’m still laughing at those twin exhaust pipe..LoL…is it even real??

no its not real , is same like new accent , one side is dummy.

the salesman once told.

is the same thing same style.

……………………………………….

They recent improving their quality and safety, resale value.

how u know imporve quality, , by their marketin ads , resale value , is determine by the public demand .

parts become cheap? 4 spd auto will gd fc meh.

hey dont say that u choose the conti etc  is more than instalment, if the repair/part  cost bomb , ohow lol.

• mazda3 on Dec 26, 2009 at 4:09 pm

nice car for me…but sime , do homework abt price.

• Rhys Millen on Dec 26, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Guys these are not replica's or locally fitted body kits.

They are actually imported from MS-Design in Austria.
    http://www.ms-design.com/produkte/singleview/mark…
    The company does many body kits for alot of European makes..Ironically only Hyundai is one of the only Asian makes they make body kits for.

You guys know how much the body kit costs in Austria ?EUR 5k = RM 25k ..

So relatively it's alot more affordable when you get this kit from Malaysia .. but I guess its not for the mass of Malaysians who cannot afford the car or body kit. …

• @ntiPerOdua on Dec 26, 2009 at 5:26 pm

better go for NAZA FORTE la!!!!!!!!!!!!! Suck Hyundai !!!!!!!!!!!

• Kesian this "new" car,  kana criticized until no more value……

Imagine if the car is second hand…..even worst the value…..

• gila modi on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:05 am

rm8000 ???? wahhhh giler ka… kereta tarak value tauuu…….

• gila modi on Dec 27, 2009 at 8:07 am

Naza ka, hyundai ka…. dua dua pun tarak guna laaa, jual mahal giler..

barang nak repair mahal, 2nd hand value mcm nilai kertas lap taik je

better buy honda or toyota….

• bslee on Dec 27, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Agreed.Korean car is expensive to repair and maintain,though the build quality is better now!Not many choice for M"sian; thay's why most people still stick to Japanese.

• nisha on Dec 27, 2009 at 9:11 pm

how come i've never see this car on da road arr? seriously, how many ppl did bought this car? any stats?

• eddiekee on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Why do you guys worry about no resale value ? The moment you drive your new car out from the showroom , the value drops.

Do you actually own a korean car ? How do you know it is expensive to repair and maintain ? I own one and the parts are plenty. And I have not encountered any issue with the car…just regular servicing. Also Korean cars have been improving a lot. It drives like a continental car and stable on the highway. Why would you want to buy a honda or toyota when Korean cars are price at a fraction? Compare the Forte . I can't find any honda or toyota that can beat the features and pricing.

• azrai on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Its sales in Europe already 4million units. So, not a seller here dia tak peduli pun.

• rezzzz on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:29 am

Haha.. Typical of some ppl dont know anything simply say only cuz they hear from ppl, so they eat it and think that its true without base. Honestly, is there a 'cheap' spare part for your car? And cheap parts are always good to some ppl i guess since they wouldnt care bout the quality.

But i have to admit, the price of the i30 is kind of a turn off. So probably the reason why no a lot of them on the road.

• I can answer my own question, the i30 is a CBU from, South Korea, hence the more expensive price. Due to taxes and preceived better quality than a CKD.

• I'm driving Hyundai Avante for 8 months.

Surprisingly Hyundai is having a very good quality with its product.

If got extra $ definitely consider about I30, good buy!

• Jugaus on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:32 am

I owned Elantra for 8 years before switching to Sonata NF..maintenance tak mahal pun?

• lantoi (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:55 am

Those people who said Hyundai not good were the guys that never owned or drive Hyundai. I owned P1, P2 and Hyundai. Frankly speaking, maintaining these cars are lot cheaper than T or H, really. I even compared with my friend's cars. FC good, maintain cheap, resale oklah, if no value, nobody buys second hand car.

Do homework firstlah, Think before talk, not talk, then baru mau think. Pakai otak kepala, not otak lutut.

• wan hyundai on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:55 pm

U all yang komen negative on hyundai ni expert in automotive ke ape?…main cakap je…u all know that hyundai is the one of the sponsor of fifa world cup 2010..there r big company..so dont talk rubbish ok…i have used hyundai accent since 2007 untill now so far ok n good condition…