Proton to unveil new design direction in 2010

Proton’s head designer Azlan Othman tweeted the above on his Twitter account a few days ago – it looks like we’ll be able to look forward to a showcase of a new look for Proton cars next year!

It was reported earlier this year that Italdesign-Giugiaro (which recently penned the Ssangyong C200 Concept) was hired to help Proton out with the new global Persona full replacement model and a clay model of the new car already exists at the design house’s HQ in Italy. They could also be helping Proton out with its new family design language?

We assure you Azlan, we’re definitely looking out for an announcement soon!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Azlano Junior on Dec 27, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Congrats to you Azlano, you  on par with italian n rest  of the world.

What pizza man can do???

• Amran Abdul Aziz on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:19 am

let’s get the design up to date to european taste market
      and make the quality to japanese standard
      and maintain our Asian price tag

Re-name PROTON model like:

PROTON – M GTi (sport model)
      PROTON – M SE (special edition)
      PROTON – M EX (saloon)
      Established ” M ” as Malaysian Made production to the world automobile industry.
      M – for Malaysia
      M – Miracle
      M – Marvelous
      M – Macnificent
      M – Mighty

• wow.. we can look forward to a new design in proton cars.. yey!!

• ahmad hirzi on Dec 28, 2009 at 1:22 am

is it true that azlan resigned from proton and join vw? can anyone clarify this? paul?

• initial R on Dec 28, 2009 at 1:31 am

ahmad hirzi said,

December 27, 2009 @ <a title="Permanent link to this comment" href="#comment-285938" rel="nofollow">5:22 pm

is it true that azlan resigned from proton and join vw? can anyone clarify this? paul?

———————————————————————-

What i know, he still with Proton & still Proton head designer…

• Paul Tan on Dec 28, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Not that I know of!

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:01 pm

2010 Proton Waja Replacement Model… collaboration between Proton & Mitsubishi.

2011 Proton Perdana Replacement Model… collaboration between Proton & ?, any idea?

2012 Proton Persona Replacement Model… Italdesign-Guigiaro.

Besides other collaboration with Lotus, Korean LG, Detroit Electric for the hybrid and electric car models.

So for this new design direction & language, are they talking about these or perhaps they are also talking about the upcoming models from Proton itself, from ground up (sketches, R&D, testing up to production)?

Proton will launches the new Jumbuck also known as Arena. Proton Savvy also will be replaced soon. How about the Gen.2 and also niche model such as the Proton Satria Neo? I still hope Proton will come out with new Satria Neo in future.

I really hope to hear the good news from them soon. Good luck and all the best to Proton.

Happy motoring everyone and Happy New Year 2010 for advance.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:10 pm

DSZ said Proton will offer full range models….including SUV for sure. Niche model such as Satria Neo hope will still in the list. Using the Exora platform please… It can be spin off to few models, as the current Satria's platform too small. Rear passenger a bit tight.

I like the hatch!!

Happy motoring!

• upinipin on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:10 pm

Joined VW? No lah… that was April Fool gimmick from Azlano only, haha..

• Mysticmind on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:24 pm

Seems it's such a great & rare opportunity for azlano.

Learn from the best (or one of the best). Chance of a life time!

• ayamyyy on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:34 pm

putra neo??

• Lightning McQueen on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Azlan.

Hope you could learn as many things from the italiano..

Hope fully Proton future design will be trend setter instead of being trend follower…

get fresh new ideas, by visiting their design house… n don't let other to copy your ip design likw wira case last time

i.e. chrome wing grille in persona following honda's ….

BTW hyundai is also copying new honda grille for their sonata.

• yippi33 on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:58 pm

The Unicons said,

December 28, 2009 @ 10:01 am

Proton will launches the new Jumbuck also known as Arena. Proton Savvy also will be replaced soon. How about the Gen.2 and also niche model such as the Proton Satria Neo? I still hope Proton will come out with new Satria Neo in future.

————————————–

i think that neo and savvy should be combined into a single model..we can produce two variants which is 4 doors hatch (replace savvy) and 2 doors hatch (neo)..the 2 doors can be tweak into a much sportier version while the 4 doors will be fuel efficient (a hybrid maybe or a normal 1.3 campro used in saga will do) .. design wise, the model should be in the range of vw golf segment..they can save a lot in terms of project cost, common parts and economy of scale thingy..its like throwing two birds with one stone..

cant wait for the announcement from them..gud luck protonians

• azrai on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Perdana and Waja replacement will be the 2010 lancer rebadged waja replacement model with 1.8 displacement. Price around RM75k-RM80k.

• alldisc on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:17 pm

actually Proton can do better with in-house designers but too bad the designers are not passionate enough. they have the knowledge (plus equipment and support) but lack in passion. hence the result of many copycat cues in waja and exora.

though the design of persona and satria neo is quite original, they could have done better….

• Lightning McQueen on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:31 pm

Not Azlan laaa

Camaro designer la join VW…

Once again CAMARO not AZLANO.. the only same is 2 As and 1 O…

initial R said,

December 27, 2009 @ 5:31 pm

ahmad hirzi said,

December 27, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

———————————————————————-

What i know, he still with Proton & still Proton head designer…

• DirkTooth on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:31 pm

bring it on..

really excited on the new design..

really proud with the current proton..

a lot of improvements since DSZ..

still not perfect though..

hope it gets there fast..

Malaysian are counting on it..

P.S : I count PROTON years since their independence which is the first WAJA..

• qosim slamutt on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:53 pm

Help? Help ka replace sebab x percaya dgn kau punya ability brader!

I'm not too much of a fan of Italian design … kalu Peter Schreyer tu memang mantap beb…

• tokmoh on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:03 pm

ahmad hirzi : that was his April Fool's joke. He is still with Proton for now at least… and hopefully, for a looooooooooonger time.

• common-sensor on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:13 pm

Unauthorized announcement at Twitter is a CYBER misconduct ..

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:14 pm

qosim slamutt said,

December 28, 2009 @ 11:53 am

Help? Help ka replace sebab x percaya dgn kau punya ability brader!

I’m not too much of a fan of Italian design … kalu Peter Schreyer tu memang mantap beb…

————–

AT THAT TIME, PERODUA DESIGNER STILL DESIGN BUMPER AND BONNET UNTIL THE END OF THEIR CAREER.. WTF..

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:27 pm

This time looks serious :)

Hopefully not only a leather seat color change, rim design change, front grille, some bodykits…..etc

• Alifz on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:29 pm

ayamyyy, I'm also expecting the same thing..maybe can share with Waja replacement chasis..would looks superb..

Azrai..any good source on the Waja replacement engine?

• FRUST OWNER on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:12 pm

hey , They should HIRE JAPANESE QA head <NOT cosmetic change.

MY PROTON SAVVY 06 april ,TDC SENSOR always need to clean ,

causing my car cannot start.

EMAIL THIS so called I.CARE , but got NONE response.

My car only given 2 year warranty , ignition coil rm400,

power windows driver swtich faulty , driver seatbelt stuck problem.

all bear by me .

SINCE THEY RECALL THE BEARING REAR SPLINDER.

CANT THEY RECALL THE TDC SENSOR NEW TYPE (BLUE COLOR).

• henry on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:17 pm

read one tweet by that fella: "Boss, if you know nothing about design.. shut the f*** up" .. and also that he's worried about M'sian young designer. well, what can i say, he is no where in car design industry and maybe slightly lower than BYD cars designer yet he's trying to talk big like he's another Bangle. get your face right, you're the head of designer and delivered ugly cars etc Exora to us. he shouldn't be the head designer at the first place. this dude is wasting proton resources by tweeting and facebooking at work.

• Alistair lim on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:21 pm

Way to go proton..cant wait to see wad proton hav in store for 2010 waja replacement model^^

• ahmad hirzi on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:36 pm

since azlan othman is head of designer, wonder about the head of QC. there's no point if azlan being the top designer in the world while proton part quality still worse. no point for proton…

so proton need to reshuffle the QC dept to get new fresh people like azlan and improve quality parts with reasonable prices.

the top of mgmt shud take note…

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:02 pm

henry said,

December 28, 2009 @ 2:17 pm

read one tweet by that fella: “Boss, if you know nothing about design.. shut the f*** up” .. and also that he’s worried about M’sian young designer. well, what can i say, he is no where in car design industry and maybe slightly lower than BYD cars designer yet he’s trying to talk big like he’s another Bangle. get your face right, you’re the head of designer and delivered ugly cars etc Exora to us. he shouldn’t be the head designer at the first place. this dude is wasting proton resources by tweeting and facebooking at work.

———–

and you too.. me? ayam boss already hahaha..

• long live proton n malaysia,proud 2 b malaysian……….eager to know about waja rep model……

• nazri on Dec 29, 2009 at 12:44 am

you too bro henry.. why cant surfing web? even i saw MAMPU no longer block social networking website. and i think azlano's tweet on mobile phone..

so when the world wide announcement? i like to see the event too.. pls invite me :)

————————

henry said,

December 28, 2009 @ 2:17 pm

read one tweet by that fella: “Boss, if you know nothing about design.. shut the f*** up” .. and also that he’s worried about M’sian young designer. well, what can i say, he is no where in car design industry and maybe slightly lower than BYD cars designer yet he’s trying to talk big like he’s another Bangle. get your face right, you’re the head of designer and delivered ugly cars etc Exora to us. he shouldn’t be the head designer at the first place. this dude is wasting proton resources by tweeting and facebooking at work.

• aaron on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:01 am

finally! i hope the fantastic duo who chose the color scheme for gen2 leave the color choosing to our 'ang moh' experts!

also hope our proton management didn't show the 'ang moh' the twin towers, a wau bulan and a ketupat to be incorporated into the 'design language' of proton!@

for once hope they can put politics aside and for just ONCE produce a nice looking desirable car that all malaysians can be proud of.. who cares if some guy in songkok or an european business suit designed it… all we want is a nice car!

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:06 am

Hope the new design is good enough to compete with other automaker and they should improve the quality,engine with a better fuel consumption,standard safety features such as abs,ebd,more airbag,better looking rims,lower body,led lights,lighter car,better seat texture,no more power window issues,better interior design………

• aaron on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:07 am

alldisc, what are you talking about? malaysian designer do better job with local cars??? so you're saying they have the skillz but they lack passion?? come on man! it is obvious they lack the skills and have all the passion of a try-hard! now hopefully we are paying for some proven skillz and the passion.. one thing proton has too much of is "duit rompak rakyat"

• qosim slamutt on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:26 am

wah ramainya peminat azlan … boleh buka fan club nih.

'kereta juga superseded myvi' chairman …

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:49 am

2010 design new model, so the model will roll out in what,…. 2020???

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:08 am

To 20v_ke35.

Please use your brain. Don't simply put in comment.

Proton already told you how long they build the car from ground up since they launched their Waja…. until today's Exora. The time to take getting shorter.

Perhaps you have to see and read more CORRECT INFO AND NEWS instead writing your own stories or listen from some rumors.

• EJazz on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:11 am

we'll have to wait and see then :-)

• Good one Proton! Keep it up!

Let us see what you can do.

• Bases on Exora interior design alone Azlano deserved not Head of Designer position. Very much a 1990s product.

• mr_h8 on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:54 am

dude, the worst thing about proton imho is the design..ride&handling are top notch, engine performance are above average but design wise are still lagging behind..just look at the el cheapo interior and outdated styling..no 'wow' factor.

no wonder dsz want to assign italian designers for p1 upcoming project which i think the persona replacement

• pennstater on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:04 am

some one came up with an idea on the star that proton should name a car after Dr. M.. I wonder what could it be…Proton Maha?

• sayapdewa on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:14 am

hahaha…20v_ke35, baru la proton boleh…btw i will for sure support proton…even im not using proton car…

• Al-Kasbar on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:09 am

Should I get the new Persona facelift next year or wait til the Italian-inspired Persona in 2012…? Hmmmm…

• peYno on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:34 am

2010 Jan… Persona facelift

2010 July… Exora turbo (SE)

2010 Nov.. Waja replacement (lancer rebadge)

2011 Mar .. Saga facelift

2012 Mar …Persona replacement ( italiano design)

my prediction only

• peYno on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:48 am

2010 Jan… Persona facelift

2010 July… Exora turbo (SE) + minor change

2010 Nov.. Waja replacement (lancer rebadge)

2011 Mar .. Saga facelift

2011 Oct… Perdana replacement

2012 Mar …Persona replacement ( italiano design)

my prediction only

• 2010 jan – proton close shop

• proton is a junk car , make all the road dirty

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:28 am

Karl said,

December 28, 2009 @ 7:44 pm

Bases on Exora interior design alone Azlano deserved not Head of Designer position. Very much a 1990s product

——————————————————————————————————————————–

dont talk lousy here.it is hard to design a car.if you think its easy,well it can be easy if you draw it on a piece of paper.even ford can't design like what they did on paper.

if you see the actual design on paper for the exora,maybe

it looks more agressive than the production car.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:05 am

good design means nothing if quality like crap. just go to any oem plants and see how they treat p1 parts.. 9 out of 10 you can see the 'tak apa' attitude in full practice. totally lack of respect to people who spent their life savings for mediocre cars.

• ex-proton on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:34 am

I know Azlan Othman….he is just another ordinary Proton guy. He is the Head of Proton Styling Department…not Head Designer.. Try asking him to use the Alias Software…i doubt he even knows how to use it.. He is the head because he an a** kisser..especially T.M. a**.. so the real experienced designer never got to be "Head Designer"…..anyway…he likes to talk c*ck. Proton subs all their design jobs to outside consultants…so Azlanur…dont act like u know design so much….

• Oooo….this is the guy that brought to us the thermometer bulb design waja tail light, the futuristic circles in the dashboard and the auto shift with the center button that oddly enough looked like someone's p*n*s.

However we must not forget the auto-industry's first, revolutionary and the envy of all budget brands….a car that does not come with a glove box.

Lets just hope that he will actually work and learn for the next 6 months rather then just show face for the first week then spend the rest of the time sight seeing.

• Leonardo on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:20 am

I think the EX PROTON is a big fake! Maybe he got kick out and is working with a component supplier or P2? You sounded like a sour grape to me.

• mu_77 on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:30 am

I hope new Satria Neo coming out with the turbo engine….It will be amazing

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:33 am

I know Azlan Othman….he is just another ordinary Proton guy. He is the Head of Proton Styling Department…not Head Designer.. Try asking him to use the Alias Software…i doubt he even knows how to use it.. He is the head because he an a** kisser..especially T.M. a**.. so the real experienced designer never got to be “Head Designer”…..anyway…he likes to talk c*ck. Proton subs all their design jobs to outside consultants…so Azlanur…dont act like u know design so much….

—————————————————————-

is there any sentence in his post that claim he is the head designer or whatever..paul who the one claiming azlan as head designer.and i just want to say something to you,don't act like you know everything in proton,dumb arse.don't talk cock here.

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:40 am

DS7 said,

December 28, 2009 @ 11:41 pm

Oooo….this is the guy that brought to us the thermometer bulb design waja tail light, the futuristic circles in the dashboard and the auto shift with the center button that oddly enough looked like someone’s p*n*s.

However we must not forget the auto-industry’s first, revolutionary and the envy of all budget brands….a car that does not come with a glove box.

Lets just hope that he will actually work and learn for the next 6 months rather then just show face for the first week then spend the rest of the time sight seeing.

——————————————————————————————————————————–

HOW you know he never design properly or just simply design,don't talk rubbish or dustbin here.he only say 'wait for announcement soon'.he never said 'wait for my ultimate design'.

so if you say he can't design properly,so hope too see your own design soon.

• rambo on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:49 am

Looking forward to more exciting

Proton models. Just hope that we get a higher cc

and more efficient engine.Frankly the 1.6 CPS engine

lacks breath after 120km. Hopefully we get a new 1.8 /2.0

version.My 6 year Perdana has past its prime and needs a change.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:27 pm

tokmoh said,

December 28, 2009 @ 12:03 pm

ahmad hirzi : that was his April Fool’s joke. He is still with Proton for now at least… and hopefully, for a looooooooooonger time

———————

Bad news. Must replace him asap or change to other department (i.e welding shop). Already multi million wasted under his supervisory. DSZ, please act wisely.

• FRUST OWNER said,

December 28, 2009 @ 1:12 pm

hey , They should HIRE JAPANESE QA head <NOT cosmetic change.

MY PROTON SAVVY 06 april ,TDC SENSOR always need to clean ,

causing my car cannot start.

EMAIL THIS so called I.CARE , but got NONE response.

My car only given 2 year warranty , ignition coil rm400,

power windows driver swtich faulty , driver seatbelt stuck problem.

all bear by me .

SINCE THEY RECALL THE BEARING REAR SPLINDER.

CANT THEY RECALL THE TDC SENSOR NEW TYPE (BLUE COLOR).

this TDC always causes problems. it is socket type, when it is dirty, it does not have full contact, that cause jerking and engine cannot start. this problem very common, can find everywhere in savvy forum.

there is one renault specialized workshop in puchong that modify the TDC, it cost RM30. after modified, my wife's savvy dont have that problem anymore.

dont know why protons ignoring this problem when it is so common among savvy owner. thats really a stupid move in brand building.

azlano, please advise your engineering team, it is no use having a sexy design, but the car cannot start.

• I personally think that all Proton design cars since WAJA are desirable and handsome especially Satria Neo. What they need is a very-very good marketing person.

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:40 pm

To Al-Kasbar. If currently you own a car and still good in condition, I can say it is worth to wait. However, if you need a new car to replace a old car urgently, then you can get the 2010 Persona facelift model or 2010 Waja Replacement Model instead. That's my opinion.

To eddy. You said "2010 Jan – Proton close shop" and "proton is a junk car , make all the road dirty"

How about on 31st December 2009 at 11:59:59pm, during 2010 new year countdown… you just start to shut your dirty mouth off? I'm not totally angry with you. I just feel so sad why we are only about 10 years to 2020, still got people saying something out without using his/her own brain to think at least once.

Thank you.

Happy motoring and Happy New Year 2010 to all Malaysian.

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:04 pm

as usual… the basher will keep bashing…

Just give a respect to AzlanO, do not bash his personal info or whatsoever.. If u are clever enough, just create your own company to create in-house design..

I believe that the person above who loves to condemn others, actually have no friends and 'Kawan Makan Kawan'.. just ignore this kind of Rubbish type of person.

2010 just around the corner.. waiting for SUV..

• waja2000 (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:24 pm

from new SAGA nad Exora, interior design just embarrassing, just hope Proton improve more in interior design and Accessories/equipment used.

if not with in 2~3 year will overtake by Chinese car ….

• 20v_ke35 on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:25 pm

To 'The Unicons',

Design la… that means start from scratch. If 'borrow' design, maybe takes 3-5 years. Itu pun kalau nak buat 'terbaik' la kan….

Some people here sure don't know how to talk/write in manner.

p/s: Double check already, my brain work… how's yours??

• akupunya on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:47 pm

i'm getting bored with the proton style design..

the saga is the best,,and please not to hold the design for 10 years over..plssss..

if not, proton is rubbish car manufacturer..

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm

man said,

December 29, 2009 @ 8:03 am

I personally think that all Proton design cars since WAJA are desirable and handsome especially Satria Neo. What they need is a very-very good marketing person.

——————

To include product planning. However, i noticed product planning improvement in Exora but still way to go (just a challenge and PNW)

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Kereta Juga Superseded MYVi said,

December 29, 2009 @ 10:04 am

as usual… the basher will keep bashing…

Just give a respect to AzlanO, do not bash his personal info or whatsoever.. If u are clever enough, just create your own company to create in-house design..

I believe that the person above who loves to condemn others, actually have no friends and ‘Kawan Makan Kawan’.. just ignore this kind of Rubbish type of person.

——————-

Critics can makes something even better. Can cross check with public perception which under duress to purchase a car due to limited choice. Try to accept if wanna improve rather than counter insulting.

If not it will become self esteem project like Gen2, Savvy and Neo.

• sayapdewa on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:38 pm

DSZ please improve proton quality…we dont care the car price as long as the quality can compete with korean/japanese. typical msian know how to decide between cheap and quality…

long live DSZ…

• Proton like to create "hot air" all these while. Enuf said from proton bashers and supporters… Proton, please talk less, more action la.

Good design means NOTHING if the QC sucks big time. Remember that.

• tokmoh on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Karl : I think azlano mentioned before abt exora being the last of proton playing 'safe design'… or maybe the waja replacement since its basically a rebadge.

U gotta think from their PoV, n I suppose quality improvement is their priority over futuristic design that didn't work eg waja's centre a/c vent cannot reach co-driver at all, Gen2 no glove box n its radio so hard to use, Savvy glove box cannot close properly, Satria Neo glove box too shallow n lack of cupholders. As u can see, that's what happens when they too eager to fly before even learn how to walk.

The way I see it, yes, exora's dash looks boring, but it has spacious glove box, the clock is in the middle so everyone can see the time, a/c vent is good, the radio's good, cupholders are aplenty. It has improved from previous models' weaknesses, period.

Automotive_Critics : hmm… "better"? So asking proton to close shop next month can make things "better"?

How'd u like it if ur wife gave birth to a blind, dumb, no hands, no legs baby?

How'd u like it if I tell u to kill ur baby cuz it'll make things "better"?

How'd u like it if all ur frens n family tell u to do so every single day for every single year?

Will u succumb to killing ur own child to make things "better"?

Puhleez la…… try to look back all the critics' comments, and think about how they can make things "better" before justifying them as being the heroes that help proton.

The only one that I can see that can actually make things "better" is the suggestion by epol to help Savvy owners improve their car. Now that is constructive. The rest… well, I'll be waiting for front page news of proton going bankrupt on 1st Jan 2010.

• naik belon on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm

QUALITY & RELIABILITY….. THAT'S WHAT I WANT IN PROTON CARS. PERIOD. I'M NOT EXPECTING AN AUDI OR MAYBACH QUALITY IN PROTON CARS THOUGH.

PROTON, U NEED TO BE SERIOUS IN WEED OUT THOSE SHITTY SUB-PAR VENDORS & IT'S SUB-VENDORS.

• Automotive_Critics on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:05 pm

tokmoh said,

December 29, 2009 @ 1:14 pm

Automotive_Critics : hmm… “better”? So asking proton to close shop next month can make things “better”?

How’d u like it if ur wife gave birth to a blind, dumb, no hands, no legs baby?

How’d u like it if I tell u to kill ur baby cuz it’ll make things “better”?

How’d u like it if all ur frens n family tell u to do so every single day for every single year?

Will u succumb to killing ur own child to make things “better”?

Puhleez la…… try to look back all the critics’ comments, and think about how they can make things “better” before justifying them as being the heroes that help proton.

The only one that I can see that can actually make things “better” is the suggestion by epol to help Savvy owners improve their car. Now that is constructive. The rest… well, I’ll be waiting for front page news of proton going bankrupt on 1st Jan 2010

———————–

The birth of dumb or disable isn't something equivalent to Proton unless its workers are OKU. So you can't compare at all and Proton is not born disable evenmore it was treated like bucket full of oil by the goverment. It is not like disable born by nature that are hopeless even get full guarantee by the governement.

We talk about many critics that directly or indirectly makes Proton even better. Proton close shop is also not impossible thing to be if don't change and is not wrong to be highlighted by some forummer. Sorry, just i think fair statement to all. TQ

• scottloeb on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Some people just dont understand. Designer will always argue with design engineer (and esp production engineer). Just like Architect and civil/consultant/construction engineer, both suppose to complement each other but theyre not. To design everything under the sun is easy, try ask the vendor/tool maker to reproduce the same design, then you'll understand the problem. Function will always succeed over form, that's why Toyota always sell more cars than Honda.

I've worked with these guys at P1 and I know they have enough talent. Its cost, time and some political will that is lacking. You can ask vendor like Denso to quote you and you'll be surprise hearing the price (when compared to Toyota's & P2's). Put aside the volume and invisible trade barriers are in place.

• kerelbort on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:46 pm

hurmm.. almost the same team who are behind Myvi were designing Exora(same module when designing were used and it show success) for both Myvi and Exora.

and most Malaysian still like it for it functionality and ease of use, that is what important.

name one futuristic looking model that really become a craze and being sought after or a safe looking model that would be accepted by the mass market and rejected by the so-call 'professional' in paultan.org comment box.

i don see any of ur arse on auto design or automotive engineering line. I can onli see some student who recently self-thought a 3D modelling software and claims it is better than CAD, some dude who done modelling their car using photoshop or hack DIY junkie.

anyhoo, enough of bashing and mistreating. I'm just interested to see the new language design both from Proton and Peugeot in 2010. and twitting is not a crime. nor it is an insider trade information leak. It is just new way of marketing. Viral marketing has a good track records and will stay a float for the coming time. Press conference is a waste of resource both time and money. Twitt and the news goes global in a second.

cheers.

• anj97 on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:03 am

I agree with ""eddy said"" its a big bonus proton still around after all these years cheating the rakyat.Thanks to malaysian goverment who protect them like chicken.cant stand on own foot.but the ministers are having posh cars.thanks to dr.M bloody fool PM we have ever had.Bepunde!!! but gis sons are into posh cars support proton la.Fuck up!!

• naik belon on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:58 am

OHHH I FORGOT TO MENTION THAT I ALSO WANT TO HAVE A FUEL EFFICIENT ENGINE (AS EFFICIENT AS THOSE JAPANESE & EUROPEAN). NOT SOME GAS GUZZLER.

• funny on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:09 am

just go ahead and rebatch the new lancer, i'll buy this proton lancer no matter how much i hate proton, if you got good product, ppl will support.

• tokmoh on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:17 am

Automotive_Critics : You forgot that in late 90s to 2005, proton was crippled by the great ex-CEO.

In a sense, it's a bit like if your son used to be the fastest runner in the country, but had an accident and got his legs amputated, will you kill your son just bcuz he can't run anymore?

Well, proton is changing. Some people say proton design sucks, outdated, etc. But hey, it's not like they're doing nothing about it. The main point of this post is that they're responding to demands for new designs that are more exciting and practical.

It's just that you and many other msians chose to be blind about these changes and continue being ignorant.

• funny on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:21 am

to be frank, if any of your relative is buying new car, will you recommend proton?

i was facing this dilemma when my girl was looking for a car.

even tho myvi is boring, but there isnt any competition for sub RM50k car. Given the quality, reliability, and the praise from everyone.

Every single one will ask, aiya, why buy proton?

altho i would love to have a manual Satria neo CPS. damn it.

• luke cage on Dec 30, 2009 at 5:49 am

hmmm..i went to proton rnd recently during technoogy week, i noticed that only stylist dept staffs wearing colurful t shirt, jeans and sport shoes to office, so stylo…but the design???? not that "stylo"…….

• gattaca on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:06 am

just to say, too much politic is the main killer of proton. i believe the initial design is great but when it reached the 'politikus'… the design become subtle and boring. isn it??

also this politikus got strong relationship with the vendor. so when the vendor said, "aiyahh.. ini design lampu sgt susah mau buat moulding dia laa… kasi simple sikit laa…".. so end up the design become biasa2 aje..

critics can be good, but in please have it in good manner. bukannya "Proton Sucks" whatso ever related. We are not in the child-style and no-brainer of thinking…

I'm not backing proton or whatso.. but i believe the design team are thinking and doing with their best effort already. But the final decision is not their privilege i think. same goes to perodua. They are fully controlled by Toyota. What more can we say? Anyhow all these people are cari makan to feed their family. if P1 and P2 close shop who want to bear all these people burden?? u? u? u? Naahhhh… cakap senang.

if u can afford Honda, go buy Honda. If u can afford Toyota go buy. Whatever brands that suits your budget. People doesnt bother anyway. But please dont mix around other people choice. They choose and they pay by themselves. Let the people do their own judgement. Life is full of experiences. Not all of your choices are right but the experience that counts and lead to your better thinking.

Sorry Paul. Just my way to express dissappointment to all this politician.

Cheers….

• anonymous on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:48 am

dude…be proud of your country. when u see disabilities motivate them not condemning and shutting them up. aren't we suppose to support each other? please don't bring typical Malaysian attitude in your lifestyles. if you are not proud of your local brand better off get out of this country. the least this country need is the support of their own local community. what the f*ck is wrong with you people.

everyone is struggling to make the country look good. unlike you idiots who know nothing but giving negative comments.

• waimak on Dec 30, 2009 at 3:37 pm

New design direction gets me excited. Hopefully its for the better. Well, my experience with proton cars leaves me one thing to always remember – quality. And oh yes, design that supersedes functionality and practicality as well, such as 1st generation gen2, the old waja and satria rims.. The new saga line is nice but not the Saga SE kits..Also please please Proton, give us better rims design..look how VW, Toyota and BMW do..

When everybody else is going for designers pinching, Proton should be the fast follower in this too, just like what everybody else is doing for cvt engine, aluminium block, electric vehicles.. well if not now maybe that's the direction to go in the future.. Those proton supporters will tend to say "please dont compare with VW or dont compare with Toyota or Audi" I say yes you should compare proton with the rest, because I see proton is always one step behind in comparison to others. One simple example is the led lights i.e. when everybody moves to the stage of LED rear combination lamps such as in 3 series or new camry, Proton just started it with the Exore!

When the auto industry is becoming more competitive each day, I just wanna wish proton all the best!!

• Oscar on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:16 pm

There's no point designing and building a very beautiful car where there is alot of quality check problems. Firstly, Proton needs to have a standard in quality check, safety and good engine performance. Also, Proton should design higher CC of engine. Maybe 1.8l, 2.0l,2.4l engine. Then i think Proton will become better.

• agree with anonymous,to anj97 if u dont like proton buy other brand . dont simply bash without giving constructive suggestion ok !!!! one more thing,get out from this country if u think malaysia not good enough for u….

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:51 pm

proton should improve its quality n variety of powerplant. sharing technology is one of d goodway. can't wait to see new waja replacement…

• wochomi on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:43 pm

1. Proton design is important. Why? Because at least you'll win the Beauty Contest, if all else fails. And they'll always be ahbengs to touch up for you.

2. Yes, you should compare proton against VW, Toyota, Honda, Mazda. These days the middle class can afford to choose. And the poorer class can afford to wait and save up. And nobody wants to be driving a Handicapped (tongkat kerajaan) carmaker's make.

3. There's nothing special about Proton except the millions of people here who are patriotic enough to support you, and these are the people you betray with your half-witted sub-contractors and lousy material suppliers. Time to change. Or be changed. Make us proud.

• ex-proton on Dec 30, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Azlano is like Alex Yoong…talk co*k…cant

• town box on Dec 31, 2009 at 12:13 am

ohhh fuck you patriotism… seriously… i don't feel proud & patriotic if i buy a proton. why? duhhhh the quality & reliability issue though.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:06 am

Its not the design, its the BOD and the TOP MGMT……

They have no balls, not creative, slow, inexperienced esp. from P2.

If you look at the designs that fails to reach the mass pro, u'll be suprised on these kids creativity….

But afterall, their bosses still wear the cowboy boots……so last millenium, not hip at all.

• anonymous on Dec 31, 2009 at 1:13 am

omgwtf is wrong with you ex-proton. did azlano kidnap your son and throw him in sungai klang?

• funny on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:27 am

eddy said,

December 30, 2009 @ 12:23 pm

agree with anonymous,to anj97 if u dont like proton buy other brand . dont simply bash without giving constructive suggestion ok !!!! one more thing,get out from this country if u think malaysia not good enough for u

———————————————————–

this statement shows how screw up is our education system who can talk rubbish.

shame on you, shame on your parents who has such a kid, shame on your school.

you buy proton, u support proton directly.

you buy honda you support proton indirectly.

you take bicycle, you also support proton indirectly ( unless you dont have EPF, then, pity you)

If proton close shop, all proton worker can work with honda and toyota, they got factory in msia, those who think proton close shop= ppl die starving is, retarded ppl.

where the hell are you guys working anyway? such a statement from someone who can read and write english, my gosh….

• ex-proton on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:23 pm

well….anonymous….u should try working in proton….and no…he did nothing to me…but he should just shut his mouth and dont talk like he is one of the best in world automotive design…

• initial R on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:37 am

No wonder la before this proton turn suck… Have employ such person like ex-proton that so call him self good employee but turn to back stabbing the company… sure waktu keje kat proton kerja main-main. Macam le aku tak pernah duduk kat shah alam & tinggal serumah ngan pekerja proton….

• prolover on Jan 04, 2010 at 9:47 am

i wander when they want 2 replace the ARENA/JUMBUCK….

its alrteady 8 years old….

very OLD enough..

and when the SUV… i cant wait 2 see it

• gattaca on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:32 pm

funny:

aiyah..simple thing also cannot think mah??

proton workers? 10,000? dunno but please think.. can toyota,honda, naza ke can absorb all these jobless people directly? can? can? let say january proton close shop, february already got job at toyota??? hoorraayyy…

fikir la jugak pasal location, proton got factory in pekan, shah alam and tg malim,..close shop..kena pindah melaka? shah alam? u mau kaa?? ke honda dah bukak kilang kat pekan?? huh..

is not about starving or whatsoever.. but the hardship that they have to go thru if all this thing happen.

funny, u deserve your name la like this..

• arghhhhh...... on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:11 am

Leaking sana, leaking sini + et3 sound = Don't By, Said Good Bye!

• ex-proton said,

December 28, 2009 @ 11:34 pm

I know Azlan Othman….he is just another ordinary Proton guy. He is the Head of Proton Styling Department…not Head Designer.. Try asking him to use the Alias Software…i doubt he even knows how to use it.. He is the head because he an a** kisser..especially T.M. a**.. so the real experienced designer never got to be “Head Designer”…..anyway…he likes to talk c*ck. Proton subs all their design jobs to outside consultants…so Azlanur…dont act like u know design so much….

………………………

this ppl totally rubbish, no brain at all

pity him

• hahaha… what lier tell is absolutely 100% right… the people here especially TokMoh are all his a**kisser… hahaha… didn’t know anything about Alias and not to mention a very very terrible sketch also… yeah he can talk but not on design… thats for sure…

• Trans on Jul 03, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Proton cars dont need designer la. At that price bracket. Give what sh** also msian have to buy… Like why bother making BLM or savvy? If they had continued to sell the old Saga at that price , msians will be still buying them!

• Petar Tenev on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:44 pm

How to contact with Mr. Othman ? I’d like to participate in PROTON as a Designer.
    Please if you have his Skype or Email address, don’t hesitate to reach me.

Thanks?
    Petar, Sensata Technologies (SensorNITE Industrial)