Ford Mustang 5.0 V8 – more horses for the pony car

The Ford Mustang is the original pony car, and the fifth-generation car started it all once again by reviving retro looks which caused other American carmakers to dig out old catalogues. But the Mustang is facing some stiff competition from its eternal nemesis, the hot new Chevrolet Camaro which captured the imagination of many with muscular looks and some help from Hollywood. The 2010 model year Mustang GT, with its 315 bhp 4.6-litre Modular V8 also has no answer to the 426 bhp 6.2-litre V8 Camaro SS.

To save face Ford needed to do something – and this 2011 5.0 V8 Mustang is what they came out with. The ‘Stang gets an all-new “Coyote” engine with 412 bhp and 530 Nm of torque, a massive increase of 97 bhp and 90 Nm! This new engine has dual overhead cams and four valves per cylinder (old V8 was SOHC 24v).

It comes with Ford’s Twin Independent Variable Camshaft Timing (Ti-VCT) which advances and retards intake and exhaust cam timing independently of each other for better power, reduced fuel consumption and emissions. The current 315 bhp Mustang does the 0-60 mph (96 km/h) sprint in 4.9 seconds, so perhaps this 5.0 can manage 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds?

The 2011 Mustang GT also gets EPS steering, bigger diameter vented disc brakes and an improved lower control arm and stiffened stabiliser bushings for its rear live axle suspension. A Brembo brake package with 19-inch wheels is available.

More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=705]

VIDEO: Hear the Mustang’s 5.0 V8 rumble!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• techboy_88 on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:58 am

American "muscle cars"? Their engines are thirsty…just like Lambos and Ferraris

• FIRST!!! there is no point putting in so much power when its defeated by bends and corners.

• deathstars on Dec 29, 2009 at 2:03 am

1st…crazy american..now become more boring

• I hope that will change the rims and add some crazy bodykits in this madness Mustang!

• looks the same from the outside. started to feel boring looking at it.

• Good looks and heritage, but if a Lotus Exige can give you the almost similar thrills and performance on track, and it can take corners damn well.. whats the whole point of big, thirsty heavy american muscle?

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 29, 2009 at 2:56 am

should be call donkey car if still like this.

• And the handling?

Still harsh as ever, no? LOL

• redline on Dec 29, 2009 at 3:47 am

just look at that engine bay… if the Proton Saga SE 1.5 (1992) was ever fitted with a 5.0 liter V8, this is exactly how it would look like! Exposed wiring, lotsa metal showing, and look at that cable for the bonnet release out in the open..ha! ha!

• ya… hope they will change the rims and add some crazy bodykits ….

• jolly_idiot on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:02 am

Usual american style. They need big engines to move their ass! If msia roadtax is not based on cc, i guess we may be driving a V8 4litre proton saga now. Haha

• Annihilated on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:07 am

Nice car. Totally the american way. Look at Paul's previous post, while everyone else in the world is reducing their engine displacement, Ford gone the other way around. And they are still bleeding from market shrink. Haih, but nice.. I like your 'signiture' car though! Even most of the 'Stang' drivers are veterans..

• Both Camaro and Mustang looks great!

• Annihilated on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:32 am

*typo* supposed 'signature"

• bashherebashthere on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:49 am

muscle car is not about cornering, same as lotus is not about absurd power, so why compare? every car has their own character.

charging down straight line, plenty of torque at any speed, tire burning, that is all muscle car about, and guess what, its what differ muscle car from the rest

• Their muscle cars are so cheap and powerful…never mind the bends..will put a smile on anyone having to resort to buying cars with engines the size of a soft drink bottle !

• mohdjiman on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:58 am

bigger power better???

• what about the rumble of the big block V8s…now that's something !come on American's buy corvettes …whereas we buy gen 2s and myvis.

• You only buy a muscle car when you WANT a muscle car.

You don't buy it for the cornering.

You're buying the muscle look and the insane straight line.

Lay off the shelbies and the camaro!

• toycar on Dec 29, 2009 at 6:42 am

lol… look at the gear stick!

• Mustang may lose the competition to Chevy Camaro but these two car are just for their niche market. Ford is still making bigger profit compared to GM a.k.a. Government Motor.

joeY & deathstars, no you're not!! do us a favour, please leave your "FIRST!!/1st" comments to your teletubbies/wonder pets forum, not here.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:07 am

this is among the worst cars in the world

• ReactiX on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:52 am

auto tranny??? WTF!!!

• mustang decepticon for transformer 3 ! … fight bumblebee ! yeah !

• yawn…..next

• pulge on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:49 pm

In America they have such a long straight road to drag around so it is just befitting for muscle cars. We don't have such road in our country so there is no need for such cars here. We need a vehicle that can handles like wonder.

Regardless of what we think, there is still plentiful of muscle car fans in the US. No need to argue.

• chew ban on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:53 pm

awesome, saleen is awesomer hehe

• leaveacomment on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:55 pm

wat the ugly rim?..

wat the ugly colour matching?..

did the designer design for makcik2 go to pasar2?..

better neo CPS

• jalan kat amerika banyak yang lurus.

• CatmaN on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:07 pm

just love the rumble sound of a v8 engine…halwa telinga. boleh inzal woo =P

auto tranny…?? haihh…noticed that most american cars using auto trannies. guess that they're too damn lazy to change gears manually while driving..LOL

• V70T5 on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Wow!

Chrome rims! LOL

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:19 pm

ha, monster fuel consumption car.

• shawal on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:45 pm

It also comes with 6-speed manual

By far the most desirable mustang…, cuz the previous one looks a bit chunky and has an interior from a lorry

If my dad was the sultan of fuel , i'll b burnin rubber all day~!

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:46 pm

I just love this car! Not for the performance, but for the soul and styling. It will be interesting IF Ford Malaysia EVER brings it here (dream on), with a 2.0 supercharged/turbocharged engine or whatever displacement that suits our market.

• shawal on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:49 pm

ooo yeah, not to mention if you go to FORD US website…

the 'stang' is highly customisable…….FFEEERRRIIIIGGGGIIINNNNGGG awesome

i want this mustang ,but..its an insane choice…

• looks like Ford finally had enough…

Ford : "So you want more power huh? Ok, power you shall have!'

• laburit on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

ha ha…. american only know to do good film and porno movie and they good to shoot ur ass…

• chew ban on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:34 pm

RAJA MUDA JOHOR HAS FEW OF THESE BABIES, WELL RMJ IS CUCU SULTAN JOHOR, ITS NOTHING FOR HIM

• joeY said,

December 28, 2009 @ 6:01 pm

FIRST!!! there is no point putting in so much power when its defeated by bends and corners.

——————————————————————

agreed!…350kph on a straight line but 60kph during corner…..hehehehehe

• 4g63tdsm on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:48 pm

Plenty of smart asses here commenting on an American Icon, with no clue what it is all about.

Drive one and you will understand.

I run rings around these muscle cars with my 4wd turbo, but due respect where respect is due. Driving one, especially a tuned one is certainly an eye opener. The sound, the vibrations and that wide open throttle howl makes the hairs on your back stand up and give you the widest ear to ear grin ever as it smokes its rears all the way to 100.

And those that say american muscle cars don't handle? Which decade have you been living in? Never driven a late model Corvette have you?

• *x_x* on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:58 pm

Nice Mustang, Rockss!!!!

• adioss on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:03 pm

what does american muscle car mean? no crumple zone?? sorry just wanna know. ;)

• 4g93t GSR on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:47 pm

it's a awesome american muscle car!!!!!

• chew ban on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:36 am

if u cant afford 1 dont get 1, if u can afford 1 just get it

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 1:48 am

Wrong car at wrong time.

Must be Roman Abromovich to pay petrol bill

• 2010 kitt on Dec 30, 2009 at 2:52 am

KNIGHT RIDER

• Vrooom! there goes RM1.50, VroooOOOOOm!! there goes another RM1.80, VroooOooooooooooooOOOOOOOM!! there goes RM2…… VRRRRRRRRROooooooooooooooMMMM

• shawal on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:23 am

they worship nascar n drag race in the US , because they dunno how to make corners , well.. (except a dangerous cockscrew in Laguna Seca) , so , a mustang makes perfect sense , i wonder y ford europe havent had a hand in developing the stang.., cuz Ford europe makes some of the best handling cars… , the picture above dont do the stang much justice, cuz, no one will buy it in basic trim like dat , put some white stripe on it , exciting wheel , and a different colour interior (preferably red leather with black stripes)…n you got yourself a getaway car!

• wochomi on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:32 pm

A stang without a manual gear stick…… cowboy riding 20cents fake horse in supermarket.

• kat rmh aku area kg puchong ada 2 bijik kete ni, satu kaler biru n kuning..

jeles tul aku tgk..