Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 Test Drive Review

Many say that the Mk6 Volkswagen Golf GTI is “just a Mk5” with a facelift. It’s not; there are subtle but significant differences, as we’ll discover throughout this report – but even if it really is just a facelift, is it that bad considering the Mk5 GTI was such as great performance car, one that re-energized the hot hatch segment and revived the legendary GTI lineage?

Continue reading the review after the jump.

I remember very clearly my first experience with the Mk6 Golf over a year ago. Driving the 158 bhp Twincharger GT variant on coarse Icelandic roads in poor weather I caught myself saying: “This is all the car I need”. Yes, it didn’t look very different from the Mk5, and much of the old car’s underpinnings were carried over, but VW has every reason to play the subtle evolution game.

The Mk6 doesn’t change the template, but just by improving on the things that the Golf does well – superb refinement, that unshakable feeling of solidity and stability, segment leading quality, understated class – plus the most high tech drivetrain in its class, and it becomes a superbly satisfying car to drive and own.

The hot GTI version here faces the exact same questions – it’s not seen as a major step from the old model. That’s fully understandable if viewed from the outside, as the Mk6 retains the familiar profile and size of the Mk5 which contributes the floorpan and platform to the car you see here – wheelbase is identical at 2578 mm.

What sets the Mk6 apart is the new VW family look which started with the Scirocco, in comes a flat and long black grille (trimmed here with signature GTI red piping and honeycomb grille) and slim headlights that stretch far back into the front fender. These changes, plus the vertical fog lights placed at the extreme ends of the bumper, successfully creates an impression of added width. The inner elements of the headlights are stylish, but the rear lamps are a little mundane and SUV like. We reckon that this more dynamic stance becomes clear with both cars parked side by side. Which do you prefer?

The GTI is never about shouting, so there’s a discreet rear spoiler, twin pipes (one on each side now) and 17-inch telephone dial alloys with red brake calipers hiding within. Looks good in red but our tester’s solid white helps the new features standout.

The new car’s upgraded interior alone is worth the price of admission as such high quality is rarely seen in cars with mass market badges – the quality of the materials, how solid everything feels, the tight panel gaps and classy touches such as the pinstriped piano black trim and the little splashes of shiny bits – all combine for a great ambience. It’s supremely comfortable too, with great insulation from wind/road noises and good support from those heavily bolstered seats.

Nothing spectacular design wise, but things like the new instrument cluster (now illuminated in white) and the more slimline centre console lifts it above the Mk5. In my opinion, the biggest improvement is the steering wheel – still flat bottomed, but the four-way buttons, chunky feel and design all combine to scream premium. It’s one of the nicest wheels we’ve held in recent times in fact. Too bad our market doesn’t get VW’s excellent full colour touch-screen ICE system.

Anything we miss? The “holes” at the base of the Mk5 centre console to brace knees is one, and the column stalks could tick with more smoothness (Honda stalks work with a high quality feel for instance) but we’re just nit picking in a wonderful cabin. Oh yes, tartan seats should be an option too!

Although a glance at the spec sheet might show identical displacement, bore and stroke with the Mk5’s EA113 motor, this car’s engine belongs to the new generation EA888 family – as does the 1.8 TFSI engine in the Audi A4. Chain driven camshafts and a lower compression ratio are among the differences, although there’s no variable valve lift in this application, unlike in Audis. The more compact and lighter engine packs extra power, 207 bhp to be exact, 10 horses more than before, now produced 200 rpm higher at 5300 rpm. Torque remains the same at 280 Nm from a diesel like low of 1700 rpm. Fuel efficiency is enhanced as well – VW’s claimed combined figure is 13.5 km/l. We managed to hover between 10.5 and 12 km/l, which is good for a car with this much performance.

In practise, the drivetrain experience is familiar. There’s almost zero lag as the boost spools up, the wave of urge that comes is strong and sustained fairly long (older turbo engines tend to fade a liitle at high revs), and there’s plenty of incentive in revving all the way to redline (cut out at about 7000 rpm). Best of all, the flexibility of it all allows you to hang on to high gears comfortably – 60 km/h in sixth anyone? – with power in reserve to overtake. This, combined with the fact that the engine is refined and silent when you’re not extending it makes for a good long distance cruiser that’s on par with the compact exec segment.

Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk6 Test Drive ReviewAs usual for a DSG equipped VW, the twin-clutch gearbox plays a big part in the appeal of the drivetrain. No matter how you drive, or in what situation, it never makes a miscalculation, the right gear is less than a second away, it’s blindingly quick in shifts and smooth to go with it.

It’s so good in ‘D’ that it gives nothing away to a good automatic, but with the immediacy no torque converter auto ‘box can match. If you just stepped out from a Selespeed car into a DSG car, you’d think that they are a century apart – even when you take into account Mitsubishi’s SST and BMW’s DCT, DSG reigns supreme.

The potent combo of the best gearbox in town with a powerful and efficient engine makes for a deadly partnership that goes about its job like a professional hitman. Not much drama (engine doesn’t sound that evocative or lusty, power delivery is very linear, no mechanical thump when changing gears), but Mr GTI gets the job done fast and without fuss.

“Not much drama” also well describes the driving experience. The GTI has plenty of grip in reserve when you’re going for it and will stick on the chosen line unless you’re really being senseless. Steering it is a joy too, as there’s reasonable feel, perfect weighting and speed to accompany. Torque steer is not an issue, just little tugs at the wheel on full power, and there’s not much kickback on poor roads either.

With so much torque at disposal, a front driven car can struggle to transfer it down to the tarmac cleanly, and this is where the Mk6 GTI’s standard XDS electronic differential comes in. We’re not talking about heaven and earth difference here, but the Mk6 can power out of corners slightly earlier than its predecessor, which at times can scrabble for grip when you’re being impatient.

Another welcome addition is the DCC Adaptive Chassis Control system, where you can choose from Sport, Comfort and Auto modes for the electronically controlled dampers. The system is fed data from wheel and body movements, steering, transmission, throttle and brakes to come up with the optimum damping force for individual wheels. Not just for show, there’s a discernible difference between modes: Sport is best for twisty but smooth roads as you’ll pick up more of the road while Comfort is good enough for moderately fast driving; Auto is the best compromise and we’re happy to leave it there most of the time.

Also available in the Scirocco, DCC is a much better resolved system than the comparable Audi Drive Select, where it’s either acceptable steering weight/very brittle ride or decent ride comfort/super light steering.

The blend of tight body control plus good ride comfort is what makes the GTI a joy to drive on trunk roads. Combine this with strong, effortless performance and class leading refinement and quality that VW infused into the Mk6 Golf and you get a great all round performance car that’s not short on practicality as well.

I’m a great fan of the Scirocco for its looks, but for a substantial RM34,000 less, the RM209,888 Golf GTI offers a newer engine with more power, XDS and a better cabin. If I had that amount of money to spend on a car, it would be sleepless nights of decision making!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Seriously on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Guess the car is basically perfect. and 1st! :D

• my next car.. yes!!!

• huaipoh.com on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Nice Ride!

• mohsin on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:18 pm

can I have Golf R in blue, please?

• damn… to be honest, the 30k plus less from the Scirocco makes it even more tempting. i like the way the new headlights, foglight and the rear light look compared to the Mk5. looks a bit sportier.

• Rassan on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:26 pm

It's a perfect car for all occasion but for RM209k+? (Previous VW GTI MK5 around RM198k+) It’s cheap compare to other country (compare 1:1).

Crazy 1 Malaysia. Hope next GE we change gov….

• prefer the Mk5… more sporty & muscullar … mk6 look more like scirocco.. like the aggresif look been water down…

• 1Dezzy on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:41 pm

I still prefer the aggressive looks of the Mk5. The Mk6 looks more like a girlie car now.

• weddin on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

Superb car. But I do not understand why VW Malaysia brings in the spec with the Winter Pack – it comes with the heated seat and headlamp snow-washer – which undoubtly is useless in here. It is better to replace all that with the auto-cruise, which is missing (and Scirocco has one).

• 2fast on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:53 pm

The interior and its features are better than the MKV but the exterior is a bit softer now.

• nyawere on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:00 pm

I LIKE…!!!!!!

i'll work hard in 2010 to get this car..!!!

• nabill on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:00 pm

the engine bay oso looks alot more simple than the mk5…..mk5 engine bay had so much plastic covers it was a nightmare to service….anyway..superb car….and price is very competitive…..2 questions though,reliability of the dsg box and availability of service centers ….

• trav_da_man on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Good review from Danny just like on his autocar asean days. Guess i wont miss him in autocar as i can always look forward for his reviews here.

Loved the Golf GTI soo much, if i have such money now……

• Tony the Tiger on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

Alright, so it is about 10 grand more expensive than the outgoing model, but what i want to know is that, do they offer the manual version here?

• pulge on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:46 pm

I still prefer the 1.4 TSI twincharger version. The GTI is too much for me.

• theanswer on Dec 28, 2009 at 7:49 pm

to me this is still the best choice compared to ctr or rx8.

• rally_fan on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:00 pm

i'll rather have the Scirocco just for the looks alone.. the golf is still after all, a 4dr hatchback, albeit a very good looking and capable one.

• tokmoh on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Danny oh Danny…

The reason why people criticise it is bcuz of the price. If it really is “just a Mk5 with a facelift", then people should just get a Mk5. Cheaper and just as good.

But of course it isn't. It's better, but is it worth the price? Those who think it's not worth the extra would call it “just a Mk5 with a facelift".

Mmm… white. Me laik.

But me laik Focus RS moar. In green. Yeaaaaahhhh

• mel richards on Oct 27, 2010 at 4:51 am

But isn’t ford set to collapse meaning your Rs won’t be worth a sausage

• MK6 is a nice and improve from MK6, loving it. when i have the budget i will get a VW with no doubt

• Alpha on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Paul,which one u personally prefer??the Mk5 or Mk6 GTi??btw,can a Mk5 be converted in to a Mk6??

• razer on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:25 pm

sigh… no 6 speed manual transmission here

• acbc (Member) on Dec 28, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Haha… nice number plate. If you round to single digit, it ends up as '2'.

So, 9+2+0+0 = 11 and 1+1 = 2.

WTD = Want To Die

Add both together and you have, " Want To Die 2".

• wuttaheck on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Rassan said,

December 28, 2009 @ 10:26 am

It’s a perfect car for all occasion but for RM209k+? (Previous VW GTI MK5 around RM198k+) It’s cheap compare to other country (compare 1:1).

Crazy 1 Malaysia. Hope next GE we change gov….

————

what a clown…funny how some narrow minded people want to change the G so that they can own their desired car…hmm

r u damn sure that will be the case?

• mikelee on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:25 pm

Thanks Danny for the excellent review. I have been waiting for it. :)

• malaysia memang bole on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:27 pm

i saw this car,when you captured the persona facelift picture.saw it on the side mirror.

• meteoraniac on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm

the centre console looks like it was pull out from a 80's car .. :s

• adioss on Dec 28, 2009 at 9:40 pm

ugly car

• redxdevil on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:03 pm

adioss said,

December 28, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

ugly car

——————————

lol! no 1 will agree wit u

• mouse on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:05 pm

good review!! im in love….

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:09 pm

i like this car.! damn nice!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:51 pm

this is one of the best cars in the world.

• faris_torres on Dec 28, 2009 at 10:52 pm

Definitely my next car

• Bruno on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Apart from the brilliant twin clutch gearbox, I believe you'll get more toys in the 308 Turbo or the Mazda6 than the Golf GTI. I am rather disappointed that the car is not fully equipped the 6.5 touch screen, Dynaudio speakers, reverse camera, park Assist, Monza shadow 18" wheels, let alone with the boring selection of colors.

• mirsa7 on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:37 pm

asked the salesman the other day, he said can change to LCD with extra ~RM5k

happy spending!

• chew ban on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:15 pm

i just bought one, sweet car, in my dream…sweet car dream

• kayel on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:33 pm

stunning!!i'll try my best to get this another 2 years….

• asgard on Dec 28, 2009 at 11:42 pm

my dream car,all car should be like this,for the price its worth your money.

• kimi_ on Dec 29, 2009 at 12:18 am

I prefer the old one MK 5 looks…

I hate this MK 6 rear lamp and the interior is mundane….

• You have to sit in a VW to judge it's interior quality. You cannot rely on pictures to do it justice.

• i saw my neighbor driving one candy white … so jealous ! haha…nice car but the price is beyond me :(

• seen one near my area, doesnt look impressive at all.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 29, 2009 at 1:18 am

So with that amount of money, you would settle for a D segment car?

• Opt for 18" rims!

Sweet~

• MengQ on Dec 29, 2009 at 2:01 am

>nyawere said, December 28, 2009 @ 11:00 am

I LIKE…!!!!!!

i’ll work hard in 2010 to get this car..!!!

Me too! But maybe not so fast since im a fresh grad, 2011 maybe? =)

• Mk5 looks better, this car is weird looking BTW

• shooter on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:28 am

Its a great car, but I wonder why previously we didnt get the Golf GT as well??? That would've been a hoot _ 1.4L twin charged, gem of an engine, with performance and dynamics that will make any GTI driver keep looking over their soulder, but with better fuel economy, lower pice, emissions, road tax and insurance….

• Jerkoff on Dec 29, 2009 at 4:50 am

Weird? girlie?

Go drive one and you'll know why the Mk6 is a deserving successor wearing the iconic Golf GTI badge…go on, pick up the phone and call any of the VW dealers! Am getting one in Graphite Blue soon (no unflattering Candy White for my future Mk6) :)

• mirror-mirror on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:24 am

I test drove this car and the passat cc a couple of weeks ago, but then i thought for RM210k – RM250k I can also get the Honda Accord 3.5. This Accord is fully imported from Japan, has much more room, more comfort, good handling (seriously), silky smooth V6 that can switch to V4, cabin noise suppression technology, 275 hp and 330 Nm, second gear wheel spin or was it the first.

But the DCC and DSG in VW are very desirable stuff to have, plus the exhaust note of the GTI has such a sweet timbre. Really hard to decide.

• "mirror-mirror"

Accord is roomy but where your feet really are, there isn't much space. Yes a 3.5L where you have to pay about 4.3K of road tax annually that doesn't even go close to GTi's 0 – to 100.

The GTi is was build for passion and as for the Accord it was made to be just huge in size.

• the dsg is simply the best gearbox out there. no human can overtake its speed in shifting and coupled with the engine, this is really the car men drive and boys dream about.

if only it was priced at 110k like other countries…..

• i have encountered problems with my gearbox and my car is a GTI MK 6, which is only 90 days old.

I have already sent it to the SC twice to be fixed. Even the experts dont know what is wrong with the gearbox. Basically car had gone into safe mode in the midst of driving, whereby the gear fails to engage.

• petrol-head on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:12 am

I am wondering, how does it perform against Civic type-R both price quite similar (RM200K) around that range!!!

Some ppl gonna have trouble choosing between Jap & Euro makes =)

• George Chuah on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:59 am

Dear Paul,

In your humble opinion, what is the best car to own now between this MK6 and the BMW 325?? I'm having a headache in choosing between this two nice cars!

• I just got a 325 M-sport 3 months ago. i test drove a golf gti 2 weeks ago and placed deposit the next day! N i’m selling my beemer. My point is, just drive both coz they are different cars.
      I’m still going to get my golf gti even though i’m goin to loose almost RM50k!

• skyjuice on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:31 am

u aspires me bro…coz im about to do the same…bye bye my E60..

• Mk5 looks more decent compared to Mk6….

The performance figures are Mediocre…..nothing to shout about…

Too expensive for a hatchback……

• Golf R sounds more promising..however one problem… creeping close to WRX 2.5 STI grounds…..

• nak beli rumah dulu!

• Paul, is this your secret 2010 project? (refer Persona facelift story)

• Mufasa on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:33 pm

W. said,

December 29, 2009 @ 10:58 am

nak beli rumah dulu!

————————

go to www.iproperty.com.my … dont buy rumah,,buy car ,,, then become slave of ur own car…. ebeli body like that lohh….

• I wish to have this car, i m currently driving a Civic 2.0, is the best car i ever experience, even at home my parents and sisters owned a 325, 520 and 525, but come to enjoyment of driving i think i still prefer the Civic. But this car was awesome. I did read a lots of reviews for this MK5 but i believe MK6 is not too far away either. Is one of the best hatchback car you can get in the market. I really hope can get it sometime soon. But with the price tag RM209K, Seem like at current condition is unreachable. I will try my best to achieve it, Hope will in a year or 2. Wish me Luck k…

• already traded in my B7 Audi tfsi for this volks. the dsg is special, very quick.

after 3 days, my wife wont return back… damn, i have to drive her city (but is okay, still got paddle shift…and nice car too)… hu hu hu

• audi_or_not (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:51 am

is the DSG really that reliable… ?

i read in Sep/Oct 2009 that Audi in US has been made to recall something like 50,000+ audi and VW cars because of some problem with DSG — customer complain DSG auto-shift from D to neutral on highway… scary…

• _xXx_ on Dec 30, 2009 at 5:59 am

yeah, ugly car. Savvy looks much better

• isn't there any manual transmission GTI available? like the ordinary golf..

imho, auto transmission and performance car just doesn't seem to match..

• NotorieZ on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:52 am

I prefer the exterior looks of the old Mk5 however looking @ the new added features of Mk6 would make all of us drooling :)

Only wish if i got the money or our Gov suddenly decides to forego NAP. This is a car that i would look at and purchase without any qualms @ all.

• I LIKE KOREAN GIRL - on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:59 am

First of all, the dashboard of 308 looks more sportier and more class compare to this Golf GTI… really hope PUG could come up something hot hatch that can head to head challenge with GOLF GTI..soon..

perhaps a tuned up 308GTI with 210HP can have a real fight with GTI?

"thats why 308 only pack with 4 gear auto , cos they know the engine can simply be rechip.. then there will be many real hot hatch on the road d…

I very particular about a car's interior, compare to exterior, a driver or passenger get closer everyday than exterior.. (ofcos..those "wow.".from road sider effect only can let the exterior do the job) nothing to complain among the 2B1A, Audi always has the best interior.. in term of quality & feel~

the VW group 2.0TFSI is simply genius, this engine has been put on so many model and doing a good job.. GTI, SCIROCCO, passat CC, Q5, A4,A6, TT….

passat CC is value for money.. but my choice is A4 2.0TFSI Quattro

better still those 'die hard' fans of BM or Mercs dun appreciate Audi..

so that they won't be so boring on the road like u see 3 series on the road now!

GO VW…

• yazid on May 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

i prefer vw passat cc…passat cc better than 3 series 325I passat cc…horse power is better than 325i

• The reliability of the DSG is questionable. The maintenance also not sure…

6MT still the perfered GB for real drivers…

The price is steep for a hatchback.

Buy expensive when sell cry..cos…no value… cos bank view the car as non popular…

• George: MK6 anytime…..

• Saw the same car in the mailmotor test drive. What, is there only one car for all the car columnists to testdrive? Wonder who got the 1st run.

• bfgffh on Jan 04, 2010 at 5:09 am

i just wish i had enuf money 2 buy tis car (red one) for my bf~

*praying hard*

• Alamak on Jan 07, 2010 at 2:00 am

There is no reported failure of DSG in MY except for 1 incident with the grey import wald version.

Watch the video on YouTube comparison of shifting times and sprint to 100kmh.
    Http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4HpD5K6Qws

• if I got money too..will be my first choice!

• wilson on Jan 07, 2010 at 11:06 pm

sleepless nights indeed… scirocco vs mkvi gti… but i decided to get the GTI… considering that the mkvi has won numerous '09 coty awards worldwide.. cheaper (for us at least).. better.. newer.. ultimately, people will only go for the scirocco for its looks… my verdict is the gti ftw!!

• Have been salivating over the Golf for sometime now.

• drchan on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:21 am

i chose the GTi for the practicality, comparatively good FC and great performance for the price. and surprisingly good resale value judging from GTi MKV. This car is truly all rounder, u can drive it in comfort and when pushed hard, not many cars can even come close. Besides, DSG gear box is the best among all dual clutch, even better than the M3's. My carbon steel grey coming before CNY… Yippie!! But kinda feel shortchanged and sad it doesn't come with a sunroof and auto cruise(i rarely use it though), no full touchscreen player, no 18" rim. My salesperson told me all 2010 new VW will get 5 years warranty(unlimited mileage)!! Another reason to be happy.

• what a nice car… but damn it is pricey to get a golf in Malaysia!!

• drchan, i ordered a GTI too (arriving before CNY also), but my SA said the warranty is only 2 years. which dealer did you buy from?

• drchan on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:48 am

hi mk6,

mine booked through jln 222 dealer, check with your SA, it's just annouced last week that they offer 5 year warranty which comes as a pleasant surprise to me, in fact my SA was shocked too. what colour did u order?

msn [email protected]

stay in touch for tt or something

• the jln 222 dealer is FA Wagen, whilst i booked from wearnes. but you're right, i'll check with my SA first.

tt, sure. we can also chat here : http://www.vwgolfclubmalaysia.com/index.php

• Hey the additional 3 years of warranty make up to be a total of 5 years warranty. This is already confirmed. Had the car for over a month already. Bought from Wearnes in Ampang but liaising with my SA who is now at the dealership in Jln222. No complaints.

• drchan on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:53 am

Damn it!! My car left stranded in Port Klang over some issue, they failed to register it as 2010 car as promised. thinking to get refund from VW for that! the reason i booked the GTi because they promised delivery of 2010 batch before CNY. so pissed off!!!

• 2fast on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:40 am

Test driven the MKVI some time back. Its a great car, better than the MKV.

The interior is better and it has the comfort switch which smoothens the uneven and potholed roads in KL. The power and the DSG paddle shift is fun too. The price is reasonable (for Malaysia!) for an imported German hot hatch.

• Benny Teh on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:21 am

i've booked one carbon steel grey golf gti mk6 and SA promise me will get the car before CNY too, hope he keeps his word. lol

• jameshunt gti on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:55 pm

good review. Mark 6 less aggresive but beauty is really in the eye of the beholder. 2 years of Mark 5 GTI and I still feel only yesterday out of showroom…love it!

• Keith on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:30 am

Poor drchan… Actually i'm going to place a booking for the MK6 at Jln Ampang showroom within tis week too, and the SA also told me tat there's the same problem u mention at the custom. The cute custom said tat this batch of car was arriving at the port around 5 JAN, so it means it was out from the German Factory in DEC 09. So tat's why they won't agreed to registed it as 2010 AP.

Luckily i haven't place the booking yet.

Anyway, wat colour is the best for your opinion>?

• Keith,
      I wouldnt buy the GTI Mk6 if i were you.. i own a GTI mk6, which is less than 90 days old and Ive had problems with the gear box.

Even better, VW SC cannot determine what is wrong with my car. They’ve attempted to fix this problem twice already.

Please visit the autoforum to find out more before you purchase the unit…

• drchan on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Thanks Keith, now they are trying to solve this issue with up to 100 unhappy customers for this shipment. hope can press them for compensation or discount. all the while they have been able to change the date until this time due to new MITI guildline. cars already out of port and in volvo midvalley showroom parking. should be getting b4 CNY but waiting for their response to make me happy again.

i like steel carbon grey(metallic) but majority prefer candy white(non metallic). In UK, u have to fork out extra few hundred sterlings for optional metalic colour.

• I m one of the unhappy customer, as promised ll deliver before CNY, but now i need to wait sometime in late Feb. Or another shipment will be sometime in Mid of March. Really dissapointed, still thinking either should get back the deposits to look elsewhere? But if u guys insist one to get the car before CNY you guys can considering getting the 09' car which have some discount.

• Benny on Feb 06, 2010 at 5:34 am

Same case with BM T, SA gave me discount for RM5k and i might ask for more like rm10k if not no deal

• The Car…….nothing else comes close(DSG)…….

btw anyone knows what happened to the autocruise?

• arifad on Mar 25, 2010 at 7:38 am

Hi all

Am really considering getting the new Mk6 and would appreciate any advice. Thinking of booking one at the Jln 222 dealer – any issues with them?

I've been informed that there's a 3-month waiting list at Wearnes c.f. only about a month at Jln 22 – is this true?

Thanks and best wishes.

• Please dont get the car, am not recommending anyone to buy this car. My unit is only less than 90 days and its already spent 21 days in the workshop due to a gearbox problem. I encountered this problem twice since the day i bought my car…

Please visit autoforum to find out more before you make your purchase

• golf_addicted on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

this car really marvellous…

• paparazi (Member) on May 12, 2010 at 10:27 pm

TM, new car 21 days in workshop… better let it go

• Alan Wong on May 28, 2010 at 7:10 am

A reporter can only tell you the good things about the car and what he feels for the short moment…. but an owner can tell you the truth…. 21 days in the workshop is something a reporter cannot tell you…. Better let it go!

• I’m sorry to hear about TM case… but is this a common problem with the gearbox or just 1 isolated case?

My friend had a brand new C-class and the car spend 3 months in workshop after just 6 mths, due to electronic problems but that does not mean the C-class is a bad car..

• any one please to advice ……. MK6 or Passat cc this two , what will you purchase ? im confuse !!! so hard to choose for a married guy on age 27. which car more suitable ?

• Just got my MK6!!! Loving every moment driving it! I used to drive a E90…this MK6 just blows the E90 away! I look forward to a new day driving it everyday!!! Oh…VINZ, I had a thought about the PAssat as well…but it really depends on your requirements. Do you need such a big long PAssat? if u do, then go for it, if not the MK6 serves ALL purpose!!!

• Lappy on Oct 18, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Going to place order on the mk6 GTI. Carbon steel gray or Red. Is there really no options like cruise control, sunroof or 6.5 inch LCD satnav for the car?

• just wanna get some opinions about the golf gti,,is it a car that is worth buying? :D

• Jerry on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:37 am

This is certainly the best in range. But too bad it’s way out of my budget. Would love to have it one fine day

• Steve on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Can anyone tell me about the engine oil topping up for the Golf Gti?
    Heard about it and not too sure how true is that..Planning to get one apparently…

Thanks thanks.

• Although I am currently using the Honda Civic 2.0 DOHC VTEC as my means of transport, but I have to say, I’ll definitely go for a much more stronger horsepower car, the Volkswagen Golf GTi. No matter the power, comfort, stylish, and reliability are achieved what you required.

• AllHailProton on Sep 25, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Satria R3 will smoke this germanic car.

• i just drive this car once…200km/h feel slow..feel like 80km/h on vios….max speed 250km/h..

• skyjuice on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:46 am

im going to get this car soon and will let go my E60…any current update regarding the problems they have previously especially the gear box? anyone?