Japanese brands make up half of the “Top 10 Significant Trucks of the Decade” list

Americans love their trucks, whether full sized or small, and this eternal love is best illustrated by the Ford F-Series’ status as the USA’s best selling vehicle for 33 years running. So to have five entries in influential website PickupTrucks.com’s “Top 10 Significant Trucks of the Decade” must be really sweet for Japanese automakers, who have already dominated the US mid-size saloon segment, among others.

Among those honoured are the 2000 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab, 2004 Nissan Titan, 2005 Toyota Tacoma, 2007 Toyota Tundra and the 2006 Honda Ridgeline. The odd looking Ridgeline is one of a kind by having unibody construction, a trunk in the bed and independent rear suspension. “Love it or hate it (there’s no in-between), the Honda Ridgeline did what Japanese pickups have consistently done over the years: break new ground in terms of form and functionality,” PickupTrucks.com said.

The other named trucks are 2001 Chevrolet Silverado/GMC Sierra Heavy Duty with 6.6-Liter Duramax Diesel, 2002 Chevrolet Avalanche, 2009 Dodge Ram 1500, 2009 Ford F-150 and the super cool 2010 Ford F-150 SVT Raptor (pictured above). The standard F-150 was awarded the “Most Significant Truck of 2000-2009”.

What exactly does significant mean? According to the pickup truck authority; “these trucks introduced new innovations, pushed the segment into new territory and made the competition sweat while helping their driver’s sweat less”.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Cyrus on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

1st… Malaysia Boleh… ka???

• leaveacomment on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

im first again!!!

• likehondanotsomuch on Dec 29, 2009 at 7:54 pm

any body can tell when honda ridgeline not in malaysia yet?

• hiruma kecil on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:05 pm

i malaysia alsa have many choice… i like ranger the most…

• Baron on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm

a lot of stupid comment. when you are not first, don't ever claim it. sound so stupid.this is automative forum.not olympic or what so ever.moron.

• chew ban on Dec 29, 2009 at 8:53 pm

PROTON ARENA USED TO BE IN THE LIST

• Hadi1975 on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm

oil burner pickup….want one…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:07 pm

where is the mother trucker

• *x_x* on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Aww! How could that stupid fugly honda got in the list?

• i'm 1st.. i'm 1st!!!!

as if i will get a trophy.

better spend some time on humanity, perhaps i will get a real price from Swedish Academy.

• blabla on Dec 29, 2009 at 9:48 pm

chew ban said,

December 29, 2009 @ 12:53 pm

PROTON ARENA USED TO BE IN THE LIST

————————————

yea? ur joking. so funny.. hahahahahahaha

• theanswer on Dec 29, 2009 at 10:42 pm

"any body can tell when honda ridgeline not in malaysia yet?"

let me tell u..ridgeline got only one engine..3.5 v6..and i bet it is a petrol engine. in malaysia most truck user do not need luxury pickup….but more to use it for commercial. 2.5 turbodeisel is more than enuff to us.

• sick&tired on Dec 29, 2009 at 11:30 pm

yea, proton arena ftw! NOT! anyhow the raptor looks really really good. damn f-ing macho, not like the pussy new ford ranger (triton, hilux,etc)

• theanswer on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:48 am

we cant deny that american trucks looks way better and powerful(drool~)than our trucks..but who wants to buy those big blocks v8 just to use it at oil palm plantation or for ikan keli project? i bet the price of the trucks going to be no less than 200k.

• likehondanotsomuch on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:44 am

@the answer,,,resourceful smart answer tq,,,now my choice is obviously nissan navara,,hope will be the right one.thanks again

• Late me become a Gov on Dec 31, 2009 at 2:15 am

Ask our Gov ,why so claver in a very high tex.