Naza to launch eight models next year!

Naza to launch eight models next year!The Naza Group targets to achieve sales of 25,970 units next year with major contribution coming from its Kia division. Joint executive chairman SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin broke down the 2010 sales target to 22,000 Kia vehicles, 2,930 Peugeot vehicles and 1,040 units of the Naza Forza.

Naza plans to launch four new Kia models which will include a “recreational vehicle” in the first half of the year. The conglomerate will also introduce four new Peugeots in 2010, including the “T33” entry-level model that will be manufactured at its Gurun plant.

Our guess is that the “RV” in question will be the new Sorento, while the Soul and Forte Koup should also be coming. How about the facelifted Optima to make it four?

On the Peugeot front, T33 is the 207 Sedan, which despite the name is a booted 206 with the 207’s “big mouth” face. Naza will be counting on this small saloon to provide the bulk of Peugeot sales. My personal prediction for the other three is 207, 308 CC and a crossover, possibly the 3008.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alan Wong on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:10 am

Naza's got to beef up their After Sales Department in order to get more sales…. that is the bottomline…

• how about improve your after sale services and reduce your spare parts?

• spare parts price… sigh~

• shawal on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:15 am

I want to ask anyone who owns naza cars….are they reliable…?

my sis drives a naza suria , interior quality is far ahead of my savvy , but the ride is punishing, its like riding a on the back of a an old merc lorry crossing the afgan mountain border, im not makin this up its , its really2 terrible….

apart from that , everything seems to be working fine…

• silv3r on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:15 am

nice~

cant wait to see the cars~

• susanevans on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:19 am

To whom it may concern,

I am writing to inquire about advertising on http://paultan.org.

I would be interested in talking to someone about how we can work together. We are looking for quality websites with quality content such as yours, and at the moment we have several strong campaigns that fit your audience well. Please send me more information about possible placements and prices for advertising on your website.

Best Regards,

Susan Evans

Media Director Australian Market

Lidango, Inc.
    http://www.lidango.com

• azrai on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:23 am

Debadged works, if 100 new models also can. Plus they also getting Chevrolet right.

• shawal said,

December 31, 2009 @ 4:15 pm

I want to ask anyone who owns naza cars….are they reliable…?

my sis drives a naza suria , interior quality is far ahead of my savvy , but the ride is punishing, its like riding a on the back of a an old merc lorry crossing the afgan mountain border, im not makin this up its , its really2 terrible….

apart from that , everything seems to be working fine…

——————————————————————

Kia Picanto is a small city car,…my guess, it will ride like kancil/viva/ old daihatsu charade…really terrible

• old timers on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:36 am

PROTON

– in house design.. need to to A-Z

PERODUA rebadge:

– rebadge Toyota & Daihatsu

NAZA rebadge:

-Peugeot

-Kia

-Hyundai

DRB-HICOM rebadge to be:

-Honda

-Audi

-Mercedes-Benz

-Honda

-Suzuki

-Mitsubishi

-Isuzu

-Mahindra

So, next year ..very2 tough competition for P1 and P2… P2 might not the good sales as before when DRB-HICOM rebagde the car…

Opssss..i hope it is not Lorries or Busses to be rebadge..haha

• Naza,

Bring the new Kia Sedona and replace yr current Naza Ria (outdated old sedona) ….pls bring in the diesel version like those in UK (2.7 or 2.9TDI), the petrol is too much a gas guzzler…definately will steal some sales from hyundai starex……hmm, maybe they'll bring the hyundai entourage (which is the same thg) to counter back..

• tikus on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:38 am

Naza..please bring in Bumblebee to bolehland.

• 20v_ke35 on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:56 am

koup!!! koup!!!

• kia is ok… despite ppl here tell u kia's spare part expensive, car no good, fuel hunger and so on.. u can see there's lots of citra on the road. searching for good authorize SC gonna be tough thou.

dont listen to people here.. u dont know who they are. they might be competitor's salesman who felt threaten. go visit their owner club forum or better yet, ask the owner urself. no, not owner who post here tell u he had like 100 kia at home with problem here and there. Most of kia's and proton's so called "owner" in paultan blog got problem with their car. oh wait not only their car, their "family and friends" kia also got problem.

• indigo (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:30 am

In future, I'd be seeing less companies importing or assembling cars. I think there's something behind all of the distribution rights. Berjaya Hyundai and Kah Bintang becomes Hyundai Sime Darby while Kah Motor becomes Honda Malaysia (HICOM?). Then Peugeot was MBF and now extra low price offered by Nasim. Soon will not have Edaran Tan Chong but Nissan Malaysia I guess. Soon I think the Chinese marques also will be owned by some monopoly companies too. What happened to Cycle and Carriage? Now I can see it only in Singapore I guess.

• One G on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:51 am

An open question to SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin and his management team,

WILL Naza consider of design and manufacture its own CAR?

• What about the 1.6HDi from the lion?

• bobby on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:57 am

I have been driving my Ctra for 5 years. No major problems, just the fuel comsumption a little high for city drive. I guess its really up to luck for what quality of car you got that poop out from factory.

I think Naza wont come out with their own car.

1. What for ?

2. The profit they had already thru the roof in this kind of recession ?

3. They help the rakyat more if bring more new and cheaper car to our shore.

• Cynical on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:58 am

dzat, Malaysian car importers can't simply bring in a diesel model into Malaysia, because the diesel quality here is not up to par yet compared to the countries that the car has been launched.

• raja alang on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:05 am

One G said,

December 31, 2009 @ 5:51 pm

WILL Naza consider of design and manufacture its own CAR ?

===========================================

No need waste money cos with re-badged cars we get

quality cars but at a reduced price.(only assesories/components local)

308/Forte is a perfect example. This is the loop-hole of the NAP

and car manufacturers should take advantage of this.

No use spending hundred of millions but the end product still

uses the same crap-pro engine. If DRB manages to come out with a

Mitsu/Suzuki hybrid. P1 will be hit the hardest cos P2 can rely on Toyota

for the next course of action.(backup plans).

• All the new models sounds interesting..

But when we see the price tags…….can almost faint…

Have anyone seen any cars going any cheaper? Or it will get more expensive in the future..

in the next 40 – 50 years (a few generation later), will all new car be tounching 100k price tag? Your son or great grandson will be paying thru his nose for his car….Kesian for them

Scary thinking of this….

• yeayy more choice.. but do we have large enough market for variety of cars? lets build up big market and take over indonesia. that sounds a really good thing to do after tonight's new year party. haha!

• bmpower on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:06 am

no thanks.

i already boycott AP King's family business.

they ruin our NAP hope.

• sirimusa on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:44 am

Danny, Paul,

Any idea of an approximate price of a Peugeot 3008 should it ever be launched in Malaysia with a 1.6THP?

Since the 308THP is selling for RM114k, I cannot fathom it selling for more than RM150k… otherwise it would be pretty excessive?

Any speculation on that matter?

Thanks for the coverage!

S

• guessing the sorento 2.4 engine would be the same as the engine used for optima. Doubt the 2.7 Mu engine will be available or the diesel version.

the Koup might be having only the 2.0 variant. If they hit the 2.4 engine, i doubt much people would buy that instead of a Optima level.

the Soul might be puzzling, as it uses the old Beta/Gamma engine ( in Rondo/Hyundai x20?) otherwise would also inherit the engine similar to the Forte 2.0…hmmm…

In the face to reduce cost in parts..and etc.

Not sure if the Soul will be in to compete against Rush market…but if they price it lower than 90k, it'll sure take a chunk of the market.

That leaves… alot of competition, and I am happy koreans are coming.

• i think they trying to improve now .. if ur naza/kia owner .. u might get the call from them how to improve their services ;) .. if u dun like bantai lah .. apa susah

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:01 am

Why need to develop own car? People asking this have no idea how much RnD money and development costs that go in…besides, Malaysian market is so small how to recouperate the costs?

People average out a new model cost over several hundred thousand units per year, malaysian market can absorb how many? 10k? 20k?

• kopi-man on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:08 am

Bye Bye Proton. You are the sacrificial lamb.

First, using the AP to earn the money then taking up your market by rebadging all the cars.

I am wondering what will Dr M thinking that the Gov is killing Proton indirectly.

Proton basher like me noneed to bash alrady, since it is very obvious that it is automatically being torn apart by the G. Count down to Proton manufactured car now. I not surprise they become a rebadge car for x-brand.

• onYep on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:01 am

Ptuii … another rubbish things from Malaysian car assembler. Just close your business rather than selling poor quality cars to us. Ptuiii ….

• ayam kampung on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:24 am

If all KIA – NAZA service centres offer service as good as NSS Glenmarie, than the brand stand a chance to keep loyal customers.

• When are you ever going to learn? With your mentality like that, there is really no hope for Malaysia.Always thinking of the tongkat. Always looking for that loop-hole and finding the easy way out.

Develop something that is of international standard and sell worldwide. Own the product, own the technology and know how. This is what will keep us alive.

================

raja alang said,

December 31, 2009 @ 7:05 pm

One G said,

December 31, 2009 @ 5:51 pm

WILL Naza consider of design and manufacture its own CAR ?

No need waste money cos with re-badged cars we get

quality cars but at a reduced price.(only assesories/components local)

308/Forte is a perfect example. This is the loop-hole of the NAP

and car manufacturers should take advantage of this.

No use spending hundred of millions but the end product still

uses the same crap-pro engine. If DRB manages to come out with a

Mitsu/Suzuki hybrid. P1 will be hit the hardest cos P2 can rely on Toyota

for the next course of action.(backup plans).

• muixxium on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:12 am

Lol…why ptuii ptuii..you got money make your own choice la..they just make the car cheaper

• subhero on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:17 am

another rubbish otr.. see how many NAZA/KIA showroom shutdown.after sell drop too bad?..

dont buy naza .. regret for the whole life..

gurantee given

• although i do like the new kia models, i am not really taking this nicely.

its an ap king business, naturally they will outlast the others.

8 new models, compare to the other jap and conti manufacturers, we're gonna be in for one tight year. seeing rebadged cars with inferior quality due to CKDs.

• xshiro on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:51 am

wow, soul and koup are coming

• rickyll on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:44 am

Keep on bashing for as long as you could, no one has the right to stop you. Though I dislike the AP King, I bought a Kia Forte 1.6 SX recently simply because it's the most affordable C segment non-national car around. I took delivery of the car on Christmas eve and had done 700 km so far. It's a nice car to drive, quiet, comfortable and powerful ( at least by my standard) but I must admit that the fuel consumption is quite frightening. Doing 10.5 litres per 100km in city drive and 8.4 litres city cum high way drive. May be the engine is still tight, hopefully the figure will improve, I have my fingers crossed. Anyway, I do enjoy every moment while driving the car. By the way, a very happy new year to all of you out there.

• raja alang on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:35 am

9166 said,

December 31, 2009 @ 11:03 pm

When are you ever going to learn? With your mentality like that, there is really no hope for Malaysia.Always thinking of the tongkat. Always looking for that loop-hole and finding the easy way out.

Develop something that is of international standard and sell worldwide. Own the product, own the technology and know how. This is what will keep us alive.

For me the bottom line is that i get to drive a more decent car than a

crappy Proton. What to learn when P1 controls the local market with

sub std cars and very limited choices and engine.

What to develope when the cars Naza is bringing in is already of proven int.std ? We just don't have to economies of scale to come up with an int std car so don't pretend that we have one.

Proton is the one using the tongkat for the past 25 years. :(

• david on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:55 am

Paul to clarify the Peugeot models coming next year, it will not be the 3008, but will instead be the Citroen C4 Picasso's nearly identical twin, the 5008.

• Langit Gelap on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:00 am

what about Kia Ceed?Does Naza will bring it in? As a hatch for Forte I think…

• steven on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:07 am

Kia Soul @ rebadged prices – YES i want !!!

• eatie (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:50 am

Paul, i think the 4 kia models are Soul, Sorento, Sportage & Koup.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Maybe this car?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyundai_Genesis_Coup…

Just wishing

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:07 pm

naza brothers and sons, u r rich already, just enjoy u r life

• Naza if you want to attract people to buy your car, please improve your Customer Service….

• RedLine on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Looking forward to the new Sorento. But am a bit afraid due to the bad track record of Naza when it first launch the old (i.e. the current) Sorento. I read in forum so many problems with the first batch of locally assesmbled Sorento due to poor assembly quality. Will history repeat itself? I really hope not because the new Sorento looks amazing…

• torque (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:58 pm

mog said,

December 31, 2009 @ 5:23 pm

dont listen to people here.. u dont know who they are. they might be competitor’s salesman who felt threaten. go visit their owner club forum or better yet, ask the owner urself. no, not owner who post here tell u he had like 100 kia at home with problem here and there. Most of kia’s and proton’s so called “owner” in paultan blog got problem with their car. oh wait not only their car, their “family and friends” kia also got problem.

Ooooooouuuuu….and we should listen to u then?! We also might be competitor salesperson who felt THREATEN? Oh come on….and who r u? U also might b a KIA salesperson wat…

Hello fren…I don't need a 100 KIA to tell u it's BAD…I need just bloody 1!!! Want me 2 show my 6 months purchase proof of bad quality NAZA built KIA n does that gave me right to kick ur butt?!! Nonsense crap!

The only GOOD KIA is KOREAN KIA and the only BAD KIA is NAZA KIA! Forte is good right?! That's b'coz it's from Korea dude…go see for urself!

• torque (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:15 pm

ayam kampung said,

December 31, 2009 @ 10:24 pm

If all KIA – NAZA service centres offer service as good as NSS Glenmarie, than the brand stand a chance to keep loyal customers.

At least here there's a person who know what he speaks off! Yes bro, that's right…NSS Glenmarie does give a better services compare to my experience at NAZA KIA own service center near Federal Highway there!

• semporna A on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Naza just don't be a "Jack of all trade & master of none."

Most car co's offering 3S outlets. With better management

of these centres then only your reputation will improve.

Way to go Naza !!! P1 feeling the heat !!

• kimi_ on Jan 02, 2010 at 2:23 am

NAZA is expanding from a small second hand car shop to a big business

group which include automobile, property and land, chains of restaurant

etc Now……Just look at the EFFECT of being AP KING…

Btw, i havent see even a Forte on road which launched with much hype EXCEPT one with singapore plate

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 02, 2010 at 4:22 am

as much as i hate it. naza is doing a good job.

• Aaron Ch'ng You (Member) on Jan 02, 2010 at 5:30 am

I think the four model that Naza Kia bring in is 2011 Kia Sorento, Kia Forte Koup, Kia Soul and Kia Cadenza. :)

• kopi-man on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:31 am

When the traditional sugar business also forced to sell to another company AND then raise the sugar price….well, congratulations for those public, we are officially going to be squeeze with our daily needs beside oil.

They are the same group of people who DOES NOT care about the public, but squeeze every cents from our pitty earning.

Still wanna support NAZA?

• ramalan on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:29 am

What to do,kopi-man. Naza was the smartest bumiputra who

took advantage of the AP system and built an empire from it ??

Naza pls give some back to the rakyat by giving us better value for money

cars when they come to our shores. TQ

• mercewannabe (Member) on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Naza should take over the assembly of Mercedes from DRB and also BMW from Sime Darby also do assembly of Alfa Romeo in Malaysia. The prices will surely drop like what's happening with Peugeout.

• Black Dog on Jan 02, 2010 at 8:21 pm

NAZA formula of success:

NAZA = Auto + Property + Restaurants = Cronies + Politics = BIG $$$$$

Malaysia mah…what do you expect??? You can't fight them, join them. Just accept that Tolls have to pay, good cheap vehicles have to buy, no point hating them..

• another rubbish otr.. see how many NAZA/KIA showroom shutdown.after sell drop too bad?..

——————————-

i think u should not said its a rubbish .. the only thing rubbish on the road is "lori sampah" …

and for me what i look for is safety .. at least 5 star rating safety :P …

dun recall if vios or city or that … or should we call it coffin on the road??

come on lah exora also better in term of safety

• kopi-man said,

January 1, 2010 @ 11:31 pm

When the traditional sugar business also forced to sell to another company AND then raise the sugar price….well, congratulations for those public, we are officially going to be squeeze with our daily needs beside oil.

They are the same group of people who DOES NOT care about the public, but squeeze every cents from our pitty earning.

Still wanna support NAZA?

all the business news i read, i never found anywhere that ever said it is forced to sell. Did Kouk told you directly he is forced to sell? dont speculate other things here. we discuss car here.

• dowan to be caught driving a korean car!!!!! worst still french car with its electrical gremlins huhuhuhu,wise up boys get a german,italian,japanese(i mean real japanese car,not the one that was designed for 3rd worl countries ,se please be smarter ,we had enough of this rubbish from naza

• vampireangel1984 on Jan 03, 2010 at 10:33 pm

torque

may we know what kia/naza model u buy?

• torque (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Kia Spectra Novus 2006 Model, black colour and the no. plate is WLV 8844. If you want the chasis and the engine no.,no prob..I'll gladly dig my car's purchase old file and write it here but for what…to bring Naza down?! What did I get from an old grunge? Become rich wan meh?

My point…Forte is a good car b'coz it's built in Korea. Upon purchase got AP, come on…that's just prove it's a CBU unit. Naza need to IMPROVE on it's after sales services and built quality! Jangan ASSemble kereta 50% is good, 50% is crap…sapa kena nasib lah! Not a good business ethic…nuff said!

• still thinking of naza kia Forte..why only 2years warranty?? naza have no confident??