Proton discontinues car scrapping programme

Proton discontinues car scrapping programmeProton Xchange Programme, the car scrapping scheme from Proton has been discontinued. In a media statement, Proton said only applications that reached its offices on or before Oct 31 would be processed for the rebate vouchers.

The national car manufacturer said it had received a total of 25,862 applications from March 10 to Oct 31, exhausting the funds provided by the government’s economic stimulus plan before the given year-end period. 7,539 applications were received from Nov 1-6 before Proton realised that the piggy bank was empty – however, the company has come up with a “special incentive scheme” for this group of customers. If you are among those who submitted forms in November, contact Proton for further arrangements.

Unsuccessful applicants will not need to surrender their old cars in order to enjoy the special scheme but Proton would provide the necessary assistance in making arrangements with used car dealers. “While this scheme is applicable to the purchases of any Proton cars, the cars must be registered by the Jan 31, 2010,” the statement read.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• littlefire on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Yawn… As i expected.. Wont last long… G piggy bank is going dry… Be ready for more tax for 2010! Yeah!

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Bye bye to 2009 and good riddance to bad cars and ideas ,hope you all a Happy New Year for 2010 . vrrrrrrrrommmmm.

• kodok on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:27 pm

thank god i never take this rip off scheme!!

• rs4wd on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:32 pm

hahahahahaaaaa……

• ProtonBagus? on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:41 pm

How could this possibly happen? One reason and one reason only – because it's proton – the national carmaker that never ceases to amaze us with its "quality" products and services.

The other day when I talked with my friend, my friend asked, "Is Proton necessary?"

I was stunned, shocked, and left speechless… didn't know what to say.

I know and heard plenty of reasons why proton exists: (sorry if it's unrelated, but i think it is)

1. to provide low cost transportation for the public – conflicting thought, because cars were less costly before the creation of this national carmaker. It wasn't that expensive.

2. to support the economy – Partially agree with this…. It's losing money… but the government has since then been making lots of money from taxed foreign cars. Well, we all know the efficiency of the government when it comes to spending money. Too much bureaucracy and "personal-interest".

Just a food for thought, but I don't think it positively contributes to our country's economy.

3. to "mengharumkan" name bangsa serta negara. My friends who have gone to Australia and the UK told me "Proton is a joke"… Jeremy Clarkson agrees.

It's like building the KL tower and Twin Towers. Well KL tower is a joke. It's freaking ugly. Everyday I look at it, I wonder why it's there…. It's just like proton… Why build something so freaking huge (and wasting money) in the middle of the city when it's not going to positively help with your socio-econ status. (Just the twin towers should be enough)

I'd be EXTREMELY PROUD IF PROTON WOULD LISTEN TO CRITICISM and JUDGEMENT POSITIVELY. If only they kept on improving year after year, then we would have a great carmaker ourselves.

My house's porch has 4 Made in Malaysia cars and all of them have defects on them… And I still can't believe how the assemblymen could spent so much money on maintenance…. and claimed that Benz are better for their use.

It's extremely emotional and sad for me to see wrecked protons and peroduas in the newspaper. I hate seeing that. i still believe Proton and Perodua are making less than decent cars that have subpar safety measurements.

You drive to and from places… but are you doing so safely? I am one of those who cherish lives…. when i was a kid, I dreamed of making cheap cars that can protect the passengers… That's just a dream and only a dream now…

Let's hope Proton and Perodua can improve the quality of their products so all of us can enjoy affordable and safe and satifying rides every single time we hop on the car with a "Malaysian Made" badge.

If only…

• unlucky…

• MyCarMyLife on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:46 pm

For Sale P1 Gen 2 Highline 2006 (black)

No redemption scheme, no accident , no ( high mileage) , no body want( also),

What a year 2009 cheers for the better and good luck .

• nadzri m yusof on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:49 pm

in order to show face g will recontinue this programe but this time only for non national . Wow wow

• common-sensor on Dec 31, 2009 at 5:50 pm

yo yo-i toshi-o .. ake mashite omedatou gozaimas-u

• theanswer on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:15 pm

1. to provide low cost transportation for the public – conflicting thought, because cars were less costly before the creation of this national carmaker. It wasn’t that expensive.

low cost because they taxed imported car higher. but actually not really a low cost because 'outside' the price is more or less a bit compared to imported brand with better quality.

• theanswer on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:19 pm

I’d be EXTREMELY PROUD IF PROTON WOULD LISTEN TO CRITICISM and JUDGEMENT POSITIVELY. If only they kept on improving year after year, then we would have a great carmaker ourselves.

plus, local auto critics(blogs, newspaper,mags) always being lenient towards our local car maker.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:22 pm

many people have regretted this decision

• azrai on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:31 pm

So kow team with used car dealer sure cannot get RM5000 maa..

• kopi-man on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:32 pm

HAHAHA, i cant believe it, it is like low-ball con-man job to tell you got rebate, and later said dont have.

If proton wants to protect the supplier profit, how can it be success in the first place. How the reality hit since the Mother of all $$ (Gov) has shown empty.

I really wanted to see what will happened to Flower F1 team now.

The Dutch Disease effecting is just starting when Petronas dry up.

God bless Msia in 2010. Sure more tax since Gov dont know anyway yo do business to earn income from foreign than taxing local citizen.

• supernan9 (Member) on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:42 pm

to proton bagus?

off topic:i will answer your statement on kl tower because i am TM staff.well i guess the design of kl tower because it is built by concrete not steel like in japan and it is a tower not a builiding.beside being a tourist attraction,it serves ppl of kl where not everybody in kl have astro(like me,haha) to watch tv and listen to the radio(i like to listen to the radio while i'm driving),the authority and many more service i can't explain.

for proton cars i think what i have experienced on my first car that is a secondhand waja 2001(that what i afford,haha) it's a good car in terms of handling and performance.the engine is still in a good run.after i hit twice to someone bumper,my bumper is still in intact minus the scratchs.i do have problem on power window so i left it unopen but for the driver's side it still fine(i hope it will last longer).

Happy motoring..

• what to improve?? as we hv a close automotive system… & every 1 wan "kangtao" to work only.

• Darkerhart on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Damn! I been waiting so long for my application to get approved and now i got screwed. Those PUSPAKOM bastards took my old car, did all kinds of test , stole my steering wheel and backup tyre. Damaging it even worst. So what am i suppose to do now. Simple….

SCREW U GOV BASTARDS!

• As i know that goverment is corrently implement the eco-friendly program, why they dun even think of subsidies to the hybric car, electric car instead of putting the heavy tax on it, Implementing the Xchange program will only incease the pollution around.

Pls.. take it serious as our eartn is seriously sick…

Hybric car should be released widely in Malaysia .

• Well said, ProtonBagus.

As always, don't really expect anything from Proton. After plenty (and still continuing) of QC problems, (unexpected) premature failures, piss poor service centers, incompetent mechanics, etc (and the list continues….). Many of my close frens are saying that Proton cars will be their first and their LAST car in their life…..

• NiceCar (Member) on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Once again show that G decision always a joke..

Once again show that "Malaysia Boleh".

• astalavista on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:59 pm

ProtonBagus? = B.O.D.O.H / B.A.N.G.A.N.G

Stop from buying Malaysian product..

Beli la merc ka, BMW ka, apa ka…

But the important things stop being Malaysian…apply new citizen to the country that you think a good one…

• arch808 on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Yeah ProtonBagus?,

Agreed with u. and while u r at it, y dont u take your freaking ass to another freaking countries where the grass is freaking green and u can buy other freaking vehicles without moaning and whining.

• arch808 on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:04 pm

… and oh where there is no freaking ugly man-made structures too.

• wochomi on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:14 pm

Luckily I didn't fall into that 5k trade in scam. I went over to Toyota, trade in my 10 year old car (with nasty divider dent on door) and got 6k trade in + 3k toyota discount + $$$$ discount lagi. So I paid for a small car which is overpriced by the govt, and ppl says that is not worth it. Well, let's see when I trade in this car in the future for a better ride….

• skiborne on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:15 pm

proton has got sooo mch drama since its establishment, nearly all are about "money". i hate it

• MalaysianBagus? on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:18 pm

ProtonBagus? said,

December 31, 2009 @ 9:41 am

————————————————————

Perlu ke subsidi untuk rakyat malaysia ?…… Ini soalan dari kawan saya, penduduk singapore…..

Bila difikirkan semula, subsidi nie patutnya untuk golongan yang miskin aje & berpendapatan rendah kurang dari RM500 sebulan ke bawah. Tapi sampai orang kaya pun rasa gak subsidi nie….

1. Subsidi baja untuk petani : Bagus untuk menambahkan hasil pertanian & pertingkatkan ekonomi negara tapi ada gak yang jual baja tu…

2. Subsidi Tepung, Minyak Masak, Beras & Gula : Nikmatnya semua nie sebab harga barang masih murah & dalam kawalan tapi bocor gak kat sempadan golok, padang besar, & bukit kayu hitam.

3. Petrol & Diesel : Walaupun harga masih mahal tapi masih lagi terkawal & murah berbanding dari negara lain sebab minyak negara bukan dimiliki sepenuhnya oleh kerajaan walaupun Petronas GLC. Tu pun masih lagi membazir. Tunggu orang dekat 30min > 1 jam, Enjin hidup. Seludup minyak ke negara jiran. Negara jiran pun dapat nikmati subsidi minyak walaupun mereka tak bayar tax….

Kalau kata tentang masalah lalu lintas kat KL nie, Rakyat malaysia masih lagi jauh ketinggalan dengan jepun & Singapore. Sebab nak jimat penggunaan minyak & parking, diaorang gunakan sepenuhnya pengangkutan awam kat sana, sebab tu pengangkutan awam kat sana berkembang.

Projek Mega KLCC, SIC, Jambatan pulau pinang. Tu semua adalah lambang kemudahan, pembangunan, & pencapaian malaysia. Cuba tengok area KLCC tu kalau tak naik KLCC tu ada tak kawasan tu berkembang & membuka peluang kerja lagi banyak ?. SIC, Dunia dah tau litar SIC tu litar teknikal…. Jambatan…. Penang boleh berkembang ke kalau nak harapkan Feri aje ?..

Rakyat malaysia Mati bukan sebab tak makan tapi terlebih makan…

Proton wujud sebab nak capaikan impian rakyat malaysia yang ada produk auto sendiri.

Cuba kita lihat segala dengan cara positif, kritik membina adalah bagus walaupun kengkadang pedih, tapi mengutuk tanpa ilmu menunjukkan diri kita cetek ilmu & sempit fikiran..

• Eyesore on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:23 pm

ProtonBagus? , I don't think imported cars were cheaper before Proton was created… They was never cheap. Thanks to proton that low and middle income ppl can own a car… this was the reason why the first proton saga was an instant success… its cheap and allows low income ppl (which was majority of malaysian) to own a car (some they can only dream of before proton was created)…

I do agree, proton quality was worse few years a go since they went to sleep due to the instant success… but they are improving now, go check new proton models and I think you'll agree that the quality is better (tho not a good as merc benz… well not a fair comparison TBH).

I would say Proton existance has helped improving our country economy. Have you seen the difference in manufacturing industries before and after proton? the improvement is vast, the number or jobs its created is amazing. Thanks to that we are no longer a third world country but a developing country.

If you're listening to Jeremy Clarkson comments and taking it as reality, i pity you.. the guys have been driving ferrari, lamboghini, burgatti veyron etc… obviously a budget cars won't feel right for them…as far as i remember even fiat, chevrolet and suzuki budget cars got a stick from him… on of the most bias and unreasonable automotive jounalist i've ever seen and to him you are putting your trust? he's just doing it for the sake of attracting viewers…

as for proton or perodua cars got wrecked in accidents… tell me which cars in this world not going to get wrecked in accident??? hell I've seen a vios almost cut into 2 pieces in an accident in putrajaya, a brand new merc totalled at ampang, ronaldo wrecked is ferrari, usain bolt wrecked his bmws, a wrecked audi r8 in autobahn and a lot more… are those cars less than decent as well?

most cars, including proton and perodua are safe.. if not they won't get permission to be sold. However, no matter how safe a car is, if they driver is a "monkey"…. you'll know what will happen…

• linear_system on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:52 pm

for proton bagus:

wow..u even hate the kl tower so much..i dont know what is wrong with u..that is called an attraction to come..do u think visitors will visit a 3storey building??lol

i know proton is not as good as european or japanese car..but at least they are improving now..and i luv my superb handling of my neo compared to my honda city latest generation..but in terms of engine, i luv my city more..

hope u'll succeed in your life in other country..good luck mate!

• arch808 on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:08 pm

yeah Eyesore, I second that. nowadays, not just driver is 'monkey', forummer also got 'monkey' what, if u know what I freaking mean…. wakakakakaka

• I dont understand why there is a big fuss about this matter. THe fund has been used up and that's why they are scrapping the programme. Who would want to come out with the money once the fund has dried up. This is actually a good programme targeting the low income ppl as their are the one who have old cars which has no value anymore. With RM5000 incentive, this will give them an opportunity to change a new car. As for those who are rich already, I am sure they wont sell their car for a mere RM5000 when they can get more if they sell it to 2nd car shop. So, overall, this programme benefited the poor and the middle income ppl but has very little effect on the rich. What's RM5000 for those rich ppl when every minute they are earning thousands. Anyway, good programme by the government.

• JACK…. its hybrid not hybric!!!

Hybrids are not all rosy u know… Its not necessarily the MOST fuel efficient car actually. Yes, its better then most, but some diesels can get better MPG. The biggest question mark is, some claim that the enviromental impact of producing and eventually disposing the batteries on hybrids will be just as bad… kwang, kwang, kwang….

• techboy_88 on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:24 pm

Dear all "Proton defenders",

Don't get yourself too emotional on the Proton thingy. Don't simply say all Proton bashers should get out of Msia and look for a new citizenship. You think just because Proton bashers say bad things about Proton, they are not grateful and patriotic? You are lucky to own a breakdown-free, better quality Proton while others might not be so lucky to own a faulty Proton from the day they drive the car out of the showroom.

• Maserati on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:29 pm

I think Proton have to buck up on their QC lah.

I told my friend not to get a Proton Persona SE few months back,but he insisted and got his car yday.

I followed him to the showroom in Glenmarie to collect the car,and guess what,we found so many defects on the car.And we havent even started the engine yet..

These are the few that we noticed on the first day of getting the car :

1. Driver door panel hanging loose and is separated from the door frame.We found a screw connecting the plastic panel and the door frame missing.Just imagine the whole panel was like dislodged from the door frame.There was a gaping hole between them.

2. Boot plastic hose was protruding from the boot panel when you close the boot!So imagine a black plastic poking out from the top of the boot when u close the boot shut.

3. Rubber linings on the roof were so damn loose.You can just peel it off without much effort.

4.There was a deep scratch(right until the base of the paint) at the rear bumper.Not really long but noticeable.

5. The worst was soon to come.When we started the engine,and on the air con,there was these loud knocking sound coming from the air con.When we switched off the air con,the sound vanished.

So PLs Proton,pls pls pls improve your stupid quality before even thinking about so called electric cars and its good that you got rid of this stupid incentive scheme so less ppl fall into the trap of proton ownership.

And pls dont tell me buying a car depends on your luck and all.Its just another blardy lame excuse for lazy and ignorant ppl.

• littlefire on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Car are cheaper during 70's & 80's due to no heavy tax compare to now..

Look at that time VW beetle, Volvo's & Merc are everywhere… Nissan Sunny 120y, toyota k30 also very cheap…

But after Proton came out, which 1 really benefit the most? The people (Cronies) who behind Proton & AP, or the people driving in a Proton? Just answer it from ur true heart.. We have seen it for almost 20 years, and those people are always changing big cars, living in bungalows… While most of us still driving 90's Proton Saga/Iswara & Wira area on the roads..

• Mufasa on Dec 31, 2009 at 8:53 pm

littlefire said,

December 31, 2009 @ 9:23 am

Yawn… As i expected.. Wont last long… G piggy bank is going dry… Be ready for more tax for 2010! Yeah!

————————————————–

i still remember in 1998…on komenwel games … a lot of people complain about police always give saman… i believe to support expense for the games so same goes now….

more tax, no more RON92, bad RON95 ,

not sure after gst,,,is G going to reduce salary tax ?

• Improve on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:05 pm

owned 3 P1 cars before i bit the bullet and got a new Camry. Ever since, i was a happy man and the car quality is superb. Proton will never be as good as other brands as long as its managed by profit hungry and greedy people.

• Oscar on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:08 pm

Proton has to improve on its quality check and also its technical campro engine problems before doing any other things. Proton cars are actually very good in terms of power,handling and also design. I love the persona and new satria neo CPS alot. I think proton is doing very well. Not like perodua, perodua has been rebadging daihatsu cars for more than 10 years….and up till now….still rebadging….Perodua says they design unique bumpers and some minor parts, i think they no need to do so….My friend's myvi 's bumper has exploded twice. Perodua has also lack in safety issues and also rebadging old daihatsu cars with old engine…They are not improving at all and also their cars are all so expensive. Persona is much more worth it compare to buying myvi. However, proton got alot of quality check problems…But that can be solve if Proton wants.

• A car is just a Car, who cares who makes it.

Had a fren who was posted to Italy and he asked his colleagues who are Italian, what car he should buy. The answer was either a Toyota or Honda for every day driving. His Itallian colleagues thinks that Alfas suck and are not realiable.

• Oscar on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:16 pm

littlefire said,

Car are cheaper during 70’s & 80’s due to no heavy tax compare to now..

Look at that time VW beetle, Volvo’s & Merc are everywhere… Nissan Sunny 120y, toyota k30 also very cheap…

But after Proton came out, which 1 really benefit the most? The people (Cronies) who behind Proton & AP, or the people driving in a Proton? Just answer it from ur true heart.. We have seen it for almost 20 years, and those people are always changing big cars, living in bungalows… While most of us still driving 90’s Proton Saga/Iswara & Wira area on the roads..

Bro, i agree with what u says. I come from a big chinese company. My dad is driving a ISUZU Dmax after changing his old mercs in 2007. My bro has honda civic 93, my mum is driving a avanza 04 and i drive a persona se 08 . All of us are using old cars like old mercs, civic 93, toyota corolla 91 and i drive a iswara sport (saga) . Olden new cars are much cheaper in the past, when proton and perodua comes in, new cars are so expensive. Changing to toyota, honda or mercs are not possible. Even the next time i change my persona se 08, it will be around 5or 6 years later. We dont have much money left. If proton improve on their quality check problems, i dont mind buying another proton again. I think proton is not a bad company.

• Eyesore on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:37 pm

ummm… littlefire.. of coz there's a lot of merc, vw and volvo at those times.. bcoz those r the only cars available… u shud look at who owns them at that time… mostly bosses and children of the riches…

after proton, even a mere dbkl cleaners can own a car…isn't that better?

• ex-proton on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:44 pm

The idea of having our own automotive company is good…but after 2 decade of establishement and we are still outsourcing our car design to consultants from Korea ( LG) and Germany (EDAG), there is no way things gonna change. The situation is made worst when the suppliers are all politically driven which in the end will affect the quality of the parts…why? because no matter what ever sh*t the supplier sends to Proton they have to accept it.why? because there is no other choice.the amount that they are charging proton is outrageous.And those idoits in Proton RnD have no idea they are being conned because they have been working there their whole life,…

• Too many ppl have been asking (again, again, again and again…) proton to improve their QC. Year in, year out. Many ppl suffer financially due to this car. Not to mentioned oso the numerous machanical defects.

So, are the ppl still hope that Proton to improve one day? Are they still being wishful thinking? Time and tide wait for no one, Proton.

Or proton really improved? Is Proton improve enough to satisfy the consumer, esp. new cars (other brand) are flooding our market?

Masa dah bagi kat proton, Chance dah bagi, duit dah banyak belanja oleh proton and nothing good coming out from proton. They kept recycling their cars "facelift" konon. Rakyat getting fed up…..and rakyat kena tipu.

I think there is no need to say anymore to Proton. Shape up NOW, or better tutup kedai.

Please tembak me….heheheh

• my name is on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:46 pm

is honda necessary?

is perodua necessary?

Is inokom necessary?

is naza necessary?

is merc necessary?

is tata necessary?

is ferrari necessary?

necessity of one person does not conlude the majority…

It is the same way if i am asking, is Malaysia need Toyota when we have our own car? But, luckily other brand is not banned from entering the country… it just taxed… for those who like those brands… pay it with tax… if you cannot afford it… be like one…

• my name is on Dec 31, 2009 at 9:49 pm

by the way… the scheme also exist for other brand before this and it was also discontinued right?

So, why only buzzing about this matter? Owh… it is Proton…

• hmmm.. why proton only announce now? or proton announced the discontinuation long time ago but paultan just put this post today?

well, sad that it end before year end due to the fund finished. but, the announcement should have been handled better. its all math, you know how much fund do you have, and if every approved get RM5k, so you know how many applications entitle for the funds.

if the number of applications approved already hit the limit, then tell the public asap that the scheme has reach its limit. that make people life easy, and manage people expectation right. not to announce in end dec that only applications before end oct will be processed. haiyaa itu pun mau kena ajar ka??

• Change the government!!

• One G on Dec 31, 2009 at 10:34 pm

ProtonBagus? & techboy_88

I'm not a obsessive proton supporter even though I own a proton saga BLM which I used almost daily. I also own 1 Mitsubishi Grandis 2.4L and 1 Vios. I used to own 1988 proton saga, a proton saga knight (my all time favourite) and 1999 proton wira.

Generally speaking, my BLM as well as all my previous proton cars was good ones. With regular services, impressively my old saga last for 11 years without major defects/problems before I decided to trade in with the new Wira.

techboy_88 and others who were so unlucky to own a faulty proton cars, return it back to proton. You have a right to own a good one. Do not accept a repair if the car is still under warranty and it is manufacturer error. Your beloved Jeremy Clarkson did the same thing on his Ford GT, he returned a faulty FORD GT for full refund.

ProtonBagus?, unfortunately I agreed with Eyesore.

Jeremy Clarkson often applies national stereotypes to cars, i.e. German cars are well built, Italian cars are stylish but temperamental, Japanese cars are hi-tech but soulless. He used to be labeled as racist and bigoted over the comments he made on cars. Who's the victim? Hyundai and BMW.

ProtonBagus?,

Clarkson is known for destroying his most hated cars in various ways, including catapulting a Nissan Sunny using a trebuchet, dropping a Porsche 911 onto a caravan (after plunging a piano onto the bonnet and dousing it in hydrochloric acid, amongst other things), allowing his American friend "Billy Bob" to destroy a Toyota Prius by shooting it with an arsenal of weaponry, shooting a Chevrolet Corvette with a helicopter gunship, or dismantling a Buick Park Avenue with a bulldozer.

SO, will Malaysian agree this guy's opinion worth of considering? Person who in April 2007, described PERODUA KELISA as the worst in the world, built "in jungles by people who wear leaves for shoes"…

I don't think so, DO YOU?

• KL fella on Dec 31, 2009 at 10:48 pm

and it just shows how narrow minded you are when you start mentioning about seeking citizenship overseas..

i believe no matter how hard they bash proton, we are all malaysians and we're just sad to see what is happening to our local automotive scene and the illegal system implemented to support it..

i hope that one day proton will be successful and on par with those japanese car makers and that will be the day i will get a proton.

• skiborne on Dec 31, 2009 at 10:49 pm

IM SOO AGREE with techboy_88.

btw bashing proton WITH FACTS is ok, but dont be a loser bashing in accordance with one's emotions. bashing proton would also mean that the basher might be loving malaysia to the core but they're just disappointed by wtf proton is doing. and please u can hate the G but wht i dun understand is that theres a fella up here were bashing up KL Tower aswell. bodoh betul ko ni, whats KL Tower has got to do with the automotive industry??

• Anglers on Dec 31, 2009 at 10:54 pm

for those who thinks that our gomen is to protective of our national car….our gomen are not the only doing that…..go to korea, buy a foreign car and you will know how miserable it is not to use their national car..or even japan where they are very protective about their national car…u all keep on complaining but u do not know about the outside world…korean car like hyundai and kia have the same quality as proton or even worse but nooooo because it is foreign car u feel very proud…even some korean expat i know would buy their own car where else they can buy much better car…our people lack of nationalism….for those who still worship the west….go to hell with u

• skiborne on Dec 31, 2009 at 10:57 pm

littlefire is true.

proton is just benefiting the cronies and not the rakyat. menganak-tirikan kita pon ada, look at australia's proton S16 aka saga BLM. with a bloody 12k AU$ u cn get a saga wit 2 airbags and ABS, EBD and other features, cheaper than what we get here and yet our version is hopeless.. god damn proton. may ur tanjung malim plant be burnt one day.

• What type of car is Mahathir Mohammad driving? What is the type of car his son is driving? or the type of car Najib's son drove in UK?

PROTON NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR THEM?

the people have to suffer in the name of patriotism while they enjoyed life with chicks and sports cars, thanks to our people's money.

• waimak on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:25 pm

Ha ha ha this very is funny! Every time Paul posted Proton’s news/ issues, I see the comments get longer each hour – interesting.

I have very limited knowledge about cars so I surf this blog for info. I think people critisize Proton bcos they are frustrated/ had a bad experience owning a Proton – justified. And people do not critisize Honda/ Toyota or other brands so much bcos they dont have much issues/ dont know much or dare not say much – noted.

I dont think all we say here about Proton/ other brand are 100% correct unless you work with the company/s. I think the objective of Proton’s exixtance is to elevate engineering development in M’sia and nothing more – full stop.

This car scrap incentive is a program, thus it will if not now, stop some day – straight forward.

Those who condemned Proton or G may be frusrated with the product/ service. But it is also becos they are frustrated that auto business gets harder each day to survive – obvious.

Proton quality sucks because Proton dont have better quality parts, because Proton cannot afford pay because proton it’s costly to do so because Proton car will then be more expensive than the rest – reality.

Proton, please sell your cars elsewhere and make better business decision – suggestion.

• arch808 on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:37 pm

Dear Proton Basher's Defender aka Techboy,

Got a funny feeling that u r in fact a Proton Basher. Naaaah, am not emotional, just standing up for my own country and its flaws (in case u dont know, every 'freaking' countries in this world have one).

Note: wow, I start to like to use the 'freaking' word now…. :o)

and pls tell me which part of the basher's (eg: ProtonBagus) comments that is "Grateful and patriotic", whuich I quote from your comments?

None, and they're full of degratory remarks.

• wochomi on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:49 pm

I don't see any need to be patriotic about automakers. We pay money, we expect to get what was agreed in the deal. Quality isn't something we need to add money for, it is expected in this era. So what's the huu-haahh about supporting Proton and all? Proton is a coorporation… dun tell me until now it still needs public sympathy. You get free car, ar? You pay money mah…

Try supporting Mr Teppanyaki or Chicken Rice Shop or OldTime Kopitiam.

• Eyesore on Jan 01, 2010 at 12:12 am

i'm puzzled at why ppl is blaming proton over this nationalist / patriotism issue… as far as i know or as long as I have lived, I have never heard proton said that malaysian must buy proton to be patriotic nor that they were saying ppl buying foreign makers are betraying our country… only some hardcore supporters in this blog used that excuse… blame them, not proton… ouh ya.. i forgot.. everything must blame proton, even why kl tower was built also must blame proton…

it's easy to blame others… when you cannot afford foreign makers blame proton… easy isn't it? why not look at yourself and blame yourself for not working hard enough to earn the car? why? well… i tell you… its ego, its self-righteous… thinking you deserve everything and anything that give no benefit to you is a waste and wrong…

Selfish mindless monkey…

• damn malaysian… whatever gov do even right or wrong u always have something wrong with it… admit it, u just want fuckatan to rule so badly.

• blame urself if u cant buy foreign car… its not like gov prevent u from buying it. lots of malaysian drive luxury foreign car.. they can, why cant u? not all of them have a link with gov. some of them are even opposition hardcore supporter. they can, why cant u? why?

i tell u why… while u guys whining about proton existence around the net, they work their ass of to earn more money.. just face it, u only deserve to drive proton.

• dickybird on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:03 am

i dunno why there are still ppl who want to defend proton cars vis a vis product quality. it is clear as day that their quality is still bad even after all these years. these ppl talk about the supporting industries that have sprung up with proton and the prestige that comes with being able to build a car, they talk like ppl in 1930s nazi germany when it was in fashion to do such things for national prestige, only the cars then were much better. do the parts vendors have any other customers? and why cannot proton effectively deal with the legendary defective power windows, is it because that vendor is an untouchable? apparently there are lots of untouchable vendors and that maybe why product quality will never take off. cheap transport is not the same as cheap cars, an efficient and well invested public transport system would have been better for the majors towns like kl and pj, better for billions we'd saved, for the air and our productivity with fewer manhours lost stuck in a jam. now, we "proudly" pay for expensive domestic protons and perodua, rising fuel prices and ever increasing toll rates and then sit in traffic jams.

wochomi got it right, we pay for it so we expect quality. and we should have to the right to choose, if the product is good we will buy, simple as that.

• then itu proton sudah rosak punya hantar mana?Dr.M punya rumah ke?

sebabd dia la baoak proton.hantar anak anak dia yang rosak balike kat dia.ataupun Dr.M punya anak boleh modifi itu rosak punya proton.Dah la bodoh lagi buat kereta bodoh.Rakyat sakit tapi anak dr.M pandu kereta posh mewah.tipu rakyat.sesiapa still support proton boleh pergi mampus

• One G on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:06 am

Eyesore, nice.

it's self-righteous and ego. People tends to blame others when they failed. That's what most of us are doing here. Blaming proton for their failure to afford foreign car.

I wonder why nobody blame GM for its collapse, the sale of Volvo from Ford to Geely for $4b less. Its business. Business was only meant for profit. Failure to gain substantial amount of return from investment made is a loss. Proton current leadership is wise enough to consider this.

Malaysian are hypocrite. They want a nice sleek car, beautiful leather interior, powerful engine that produce 400hp at 6000rpm at RM50000. It's impossible from business point of view.

Proton are capable to design a wonder car, sleek, nice good looking. I believe Azlin Othman's team at proton design are well trained on car design.

But there is no point proton produce cars which are not sale-able. Proton will never achieve volume sale of Saga BLM if the car price hike up to Rm100k.

I adore Exora. A good presentation of design by Azlin's team, good pricing for such a big MPV. Even Alza can't match exora class. Quality? You can't compare to BMW M5, or even Merc R class. Still, it's a wonderful for A FAMILY CAR.

KEEP IT UP PROTON. And Perodua – don't just design the spoiler and rear bumper for you up-coming model. Design a Malaysia CAR please.

• are you stupid "mog" ?when foreign cars are sold at very high price how to afford them.If proton close shop then even middle income ppl can afford buy quality car.What loose talk?Are you nuts? If you deserve to drive proton then go ahead and drive why blame others who can afford only crap proton cars.You think you so rich? buy aeroplane la!!!

• _xXx_ on Jan 01, 2010 at 1:13 am

You think u r clever/humble? If u r good, refute with something constructive, something better than saying someone bodoh. Who do you think u r to suggest him to leave?

astalavista said,

December 31, 2009 @ 10:59 am

ProtonBagus? = B.O.D.O.H / B.A.N.G.A.N.G

Stop from buying Malaysian product..

Beli la merc ka, BMW ka, apa ka…

But the important things stop being Malaysian…apply new citizen to the country that you think a good one…

arch808 said,

December 31, 2009 @ 11:03 am

Yeah ProtonBagus?,

Agreed with u. and while u r at it, y dont u take your freaking ass to another freaking countries where the grass is freaking green and u can buy other freaking vehicles without moaning and whining.

• Improve on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:00 am

let's put this to the test for proton supporters.

if the same amount of money can buy a honda city vs proton persona, which would you get? assuming no tax apply. i think the answer is very clear.

• One G on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:06 am

Dear Daim and _xXx_

I don't think any of the so called 'proton basher' over here give a constructive criticism. All I read was moaning and whining since they can't afford a luxury imported car.

Could you give one? At least something that make proton think. Do not mention about its low quality product, but idea on how can proton improve. THAT IS CONSTRUCTIVE.

• mohd faizal on Jan 01, 2010 at 2:50 am

Dear one G,

i think the problem with Potong(proton) is NOT LISTENING to user's comments. Yes, i understand that most of us malaysian can't afford a luxury car but does it mean we can comment about national car?? most singaporean doesn't even own a car but even their BUS COMPANIES values end users comments, u can try to EMAIL any of s'pore company to complain, i'm sure you will get an email justifying what happened within a week…

however, if the same thing happens in Malaysia, your email problem will sink in LAUT CINA SELATAN.

I know there are some idiots working for Potong who are JAGA-ing the online websites/forum and protect Potong but the truth about Potong cars is wide spread all over the world.

We are proud of the OLD protons but the new potong's quality is really not the mark, U KNOW LA …first protons in 1985 cost around 30k++ now at 2009, the same potong cost almost same… with inflation etc… how do u think potong keep the same price?

1. cut cost la…. everything cut, here cut there cut,

2. make parts less durable so users have to change frequently-gain from spare parts

3. sell their BRAND to half bake workshops… the mechanics then will repair n repair n repair the car until the car become scraps

i understand we should support local brands and products but we can't support blindly!! if good i the first one to support, if not good, give chance to improve, but if is still degil and have a tunggu durian fall attitude… how can we just let it rot??

Mr one G, if you think you can/able to talk proton to some sense, please do so, i would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of all malaysian.

• JACK HAMMER on Jan 01, 2010 at 3:27 am

bashers are idiot..

especially littlefire & mazda 323 WTF..

why???

because perodua also scrap thier exchange programme,

and they (including all the stupid bashers here) never complain..

hahaha..

whether u like it or not, proton sales keep growing better & better everyday..

& these days we see a lot of good news regarding on proton posted by danny & paul..

all these good news give mental disturbance to them.. pity..

• the title of the post is "Proton discontinues car scrapping programme". but the comment about gov, auto policy, bashing here and there. one thing for sure is auto tax is gov income. dont be stupid to believe that foreign car expensive because to protect proton. if proton die, or change gov, i dont think the other gov willing to let go the income.

it hard to accept things when we dont have money is it. my neighbor, as young as me, run his own biz, just get new s40. i employed, just drive proton everyday. so everyday, i just open paultan, look at the car that i cannot afford, and then start bashing the p1 and gov. life is good.

• i think the comments are out of topic already. You all are discussing about proton QC rather than the car scrapping programme. No thanks to all proton basher for this. Please stick to the topic which is CAR SCRAPPING PRORAMME.

• Leonardo on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:25 am

I just came back from Holland over a month ago, and one of the sought after car is the Toyota Prius, not any other "high quality" European cars! It is percieved to be an environmentally friendly cars.

• MalaysiaBagus? on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:36 am

Improve said,

December 31, 2009 @ 6:00 pm

———————————————————–

Yes, saya pilih Persona sebab harga Persona akan jadi murah lagi time tu… kenapa aku nak kena pilih buatan luar kalau dah ada buatan malaysia. Mungkin katakan kualiti tak sama, tapi yang aku tau City kualiti dia pun sama macam Persona gak. Tapi biasa le kalau dah suka lebih jenama import nie. Kalau buruk pun dikatakan cantik.. Kualiti rendah pun beli… kalau rosak pun kata tak apa, diamkan…. biasa le…. Macam pakcik aku kutuk ayah aku beli saga dulu, dia pakai toyota… sekarang nie lepas 20 tahun, saga ayah aku elok jalan lagi, boleh lagi buat long distancedari melaka sampai kedah sana. Toyota pakcik aku tah kemana….. kata dah jual sebab nak tukar kereta baru, tapi bukan aku tak tau yang makcik aku kata corolla dia banyak masalah… Diam je la….. duit dia… la nie ayah aku nak tunggu persona 2012. Saga lama dia tak nak jual…. sayang kata dia….

• Should have just get additional budget from the govt and finished off the scheme in a good way.

I have been using a Proton Iswara Manual for 4 years and was very dissappointed when they dropped the price to 27k for a better spec model.

I can only say it moves from point A to B and C but dissappointed there was no improvement in quality compared to the first saga's which came with steel bumpers!

The older ones are better built.

• onYep on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:03 am

Ptuiii …. nothing good about Proton … ptuiii

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 01, 2010 at 6:26 am

"the proton is an excellent car….not!" – Borat

• auto maniac on Jan 01, 2010 at 7:46 am

Mestilah persona…with price tag of RM59,800(persona SE with tax), i got leather seat, GPS, lotus handling, full bodykit including tinted windows…do i get all of this with RM 57,980 (price @ langkawi WITHOUT TAX) on city? NO….even with RM61,980 (also price without tax)grade E Honda city..If we can buy persona without tax price, imagine how much more gadget we can put in to perfecting persona until the price will be the same compared to city…We can also improving the NVH index better than city…my head was hit by the city A-pillar when 1st time i tried to enter that car in the showroom..and guess what..i'm just 170cm and 70 kg…but in term of design, offcourse i'll choose city…but for value, persona is better…if honda can provide city with same spec and price, then i will choose city due to its design…

But…come on…how many generation of city until we see such a beautiful car?compared with persona, i'm sure next gen (whole new car not 2010) persona will be better built n look…TQ

• fordtelstar on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:32 am

wooow… cannot wait this coming monday to cancel proton and my approval bank loan…. i may loose rm500 booking fee… but u know smthing ??? 1 save rm520 per month for 9 years…. thanks my govermnent…

• nighttrain on Jan 01, 2010 at 8:35 am

C'mon.. Luxury is Merc and BMW and Bentley, Jaguar. Fiat, Peugeot, VW and Citroen is not luxury brand. Tell me why these brands should be more expensive than Proton? Shouldn't be, right? Why so expensive? Hehe..

• wajarlah on Jan 01, 2010 at 4:17 pm

MOST forumer highlited their wira, waja & persona got problem.

NONE forumer highlited their new SAGA and Exora got problem.

See the different. Is proton not improving their quality check?

• Rrrrr on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Well said, ProtonBagus.

As always, don’t really expect anything from Proton. After plenty (and still continuing) of QC problems, (unexpected) premature failures, piss poor service centers, incompetent mechanics, etc (and the list continues….).

—————————————————————

It's look P1 having a big problem in term of planning in their organization.., what HR department doing???.

• tell me why on Jan 01, 2010 at 5:24 pm

littlefire said,

December 31, 2009 @ 12:38 pm

Car are cheaper during 70’s & 80’s due to no heavy tax compare to now..

Look at that time VW beetle, Volvo’s & Merc are everywhere… Nissan Sunny 120y, toyota k30 also very cheap…

——————————————————————-

man, have u compare with inflation during dat time and now? how u said dat cheap? c'mon, i'm gonna say 'chicken rice only $1. aiyaa.. superficial!

• kecoh proton xbagus….2 ekor lembu pun leh sumbat la! kalau exora…ntah gajah afrika pun leh masuk.

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Open letters to Proton Fan Boys, Proton Gay Boys and Blind Supporters;

CRITICISM AND CONDEMN

Many Proton apologists respond to criticism on Proton by condemning the critics not the issue. They spew unhelpful insults and try to shame the critics using race, religion, nationalism and patriotism. They hound you out of the country, demean your identity. They ignore the economic, commercial issues.

This type of response is typical of communist countries propaganda. These people would make perfect citizens of North Korea, China (Mao Zedong era), East Germany (pre unification). Kim Jong Il (Hermit Kingdom) will be pleased to exchange 100 of his dissidents for one of you! Perhaps this is the most stark achievement of Proton?

Remember whether you are proud or arrogant about Proton!

GULUNG TIKAR

Nobody is advocating Proton to close shop per se. We are asking for more free market. Proton must learn to compete just like all other M’sian companies. It is already 25yrs! Iran and N. Korea has nuclear weapon technology in less than 25 yrs, we are struggling to make a car?

It is true Proton is sold in foreign countries cheaper than in M’sia via marginal costing concept. M’sian profit is subsidizing foreign pricing. M’sians will tolerate this to penetrate a new market, but not as a permanent long term strategy cos Proton has no idea how else to sell! Again it is already 25yrs.

On 10,000 jobs lost if Proton fails, it is a shallow uninformed argument. The vacuum left by Proton will be picked up by other players, who may create more jobs and better opportunities. Right now they are being held back.

HOW TO DO?

If we applied the model of electronics industry for our automotive sector, who knows what wonders we could achieve. In electronics, we are the world leader in a few electronic and electrical equipment. This excludes the support industries.

In electronics we have no national electronics company to monopolise the industry. Govt assists the entire industry and the capable will shine. Assistance thru incentives is different from tariff and import restrictions.

CASE HISTORY

For cars and steel where we fiddled with protectionism (of only one company not industry) we are badly burnt.

Perwaja flopped with massive losses and corruption scandal. Proton amazingly posted losses in its own tightly protected market! Both these companies were protected with tariff barriers and import controls on others. This type of protectionism ties down our own people to benefit the chosen one.

Look at the building and construction industry without such baggage. We have exporters like IJM, WCT, Gamuda, SP Setia, UEM.

Buka mata dan guna fikiran bukan menuduh ikut hati!

• Jumbsuck on Jan 01, 2010 at 9:29 pm

my name is: "necessity of one person does not conlude the majority…"

But govt made necessity a luxury. To buy cheaper, safer, more quality car at fair price considered a patriotic crime except buying Proton.

If Proton feel it can compete anywhere then stop act as jagoh kampong lah.

Open up car market for below 2000cc diesel or petrol engines. Anything above that govt can charge sky high, but let majority of rakyat buy the best priced car below 2000cc national or foreign cars included.

Govt must stop making cars a luxury out of necessity anymore. Luxury and necessity cannot mix. 2000cc stop-gap point is a good barrier to end this crazy car policy. Proton Saga full-spec at RM20K and Merc C-Class at RM1million a piece, now that's what you call real neccessity and luxury.

• animous on Jan 01, 2010 at 10:43 pm

asal keluar berita pasal proton, mesti kluar cerita pasal govt, pasal tax, quality.

Stick to the topic la. Ini kan pasal program Xchange tu.

adoila.. tak reti baca tajuk ke.

• Ironman1malaysia on Jan 02, 2010 at 1:13 am

Wat a joke for Malaysia!

Ever since N become leader, our economic getting worst!~

Haha, the $$ become empty, i heard rumours said going some1 pocket???

• Ironman1malaysia on Jan 02, 2010 at 1:15 am

Animous, u kena faham,

Pasal national car ni berkaitan dengan faktor2 lain, bukan sekadar kereta saja.

Tengok benda jangan tengok surface saja lah….

• guys proton dah nak naik korang g bash g.. bodoh tul lah.. dorang dah dengar sume komplen korang n improving.. so shut the foul up. xchange prog dah habis dah lah .. nak komplen pasal scam lah ape lah ..

• a aaa.. betol laaaaa….. ni puak2 x reti baca tajuk….. aku ni termasuk dlm puak2 7000 org yg x dapat pasal submit bulan november…. so kena terima la… x payah la tukar kereta… cancel la buat sementara ni ..walaupon loan dah lulus….. bukan nak rugi ponnnnnnn … esok2 kita pikir la lain …..

be cool ….. hehe

• fordtelstar on Jan 02, 2010 at 3:51 am

be cool ….. kali ni x dapat.. esok2 kita oder lain…..

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 02, 2010 at 6:29 am

Ironman1malaysia said,

January 1, 2010 @ 5:13 pm

Wat a joke for Malaysia!

Ever since N become leader, our economic getting worst!~

Haha, the $$ become empty, i heard rumours said going some1 pocket???

———————————————————————————————————————————————————–

is there any prove that our economy is getting worst since N took over the leadership.is there any big drops in our currency.

are those rumours came from the opposition leader??

i bet,coz they have many ways to attract voters for the next election.

don't talk nonsense here.

iron man konon.or yang lagi satu…..penggosok baju.

• tokmoh on Jan 02, 2010 at 7:14 am

Fuyo, for the first time……

SY0H POSTED AN INTELLIGENT COMMENT!!!!! KYAHOOOOOOOOOOO~~~~~!!!!

Your new year resolution kah? well, I look forward to better quality comments by u… and the rest of paultanians :)

Happy new year 2010 everyone!!

• MalaysiaApaPunBolehL on Jan 02, 2010 at 9:14 am

Haha..Malaysia apa pun boleh lah

G hav to charge 300% tax(that is awesome! LOL) for forgein car to protect our "national car" sales ..

please la… Proton just NOTHING outside Malaysia, just a joke for the world ..lol only Malaysian hav to spend such a high price to buy such a low standard car…(RM30k ady enought to get a new vios in other country)

Do u know that proton car sell even cheaper in foegein country rather than in Malaysia? The even worst things is it cant even compete with forgein car even it already low down the price..OMG

However, cant denied that this is a good way to prevent MalaysiaRinggit value to drop, G can get more income from that and provide job opportunity to people. So… Rakyat hav to suffer a bit to buy a forgein car lah …haha XD

For me, I will never buy our "high standard" national car anymore due to their high standard service (can even ask a customer spend 2months time for waiting and then tell the custermer that he or she just get NOTHING…LOL Proton and G really best la XD)

Happy New Year and All The Best in 2010 !!!! ^^

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 02, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Eyesore said,

December 31, 2009 @ 11:23 am

ProtonBagus? , I don’t think imported cars were cheaper before Proton was created… They was never cheap. Thanks to proton that low and middle income ppl can own a car… this was the reason why the first proton saga was an instant success… its cheap and allows low income ppl (which was majority of malaysian) to own a car (some they can only dream of before proton was created)…

——–

How old are you boy?

Back then, people bought a Saga not because it was cheap. We bought it because it was patriotic. The Saga was only a few thousand less (maybe 2 months salary for an average middle class) than a Civic/Corolla/Sunny. Granted imports were never "cheaper" than Proton, but they were better, afterall, at that time, Proton did little other than to rebadge a Lancer anyway (the other selling point…all the way to the 1gen Wira).

Fast forward a few years, the only reason we buy a Proton was because it was cheap. There was a hugh price hike sometime before the Wira was launched.

I think you need to look into yourself to be honest before you comment. Would you buy a Waja if a Civic cost maybe 10-15k more? (take the price disparity proportioned at 1985 prices).

Is it still possible to buy lets say a Civic paying with 2 months of middle class salary – ie 5k/mth?

Could you with a straight face, tell me you would still consider to buy the Waja even if you could afford the Civic?

All the bad comments posted here are because simply Proton screwed up. They had the potential, but clouded by greed and now its no more than a puppet for its political masters. I don't necessary blame Proton for being crappy, as I know the underlying factors, largely by mismanagement/heavy handling by the government and its interests.

Unfortunately in this country, these are inseparable. They are one and the same entity.

• S.Roma on Jan 03, 2010 at 3:45 pm

as for proton or perodua cars got wrecked in accidents… tell me which cars in this world not going to get wrecked in accident??? hell I’ve seen a vios almost cut into 2 pieces in an accident in putrajaya, a brand new merc totalled at ampang, ronaldo wrecked is ferrari, usain bolt wrecked his bmws, a wrecked audi r8 in autobahn and a lot more… are those cars less than decent as well?

————————————————————–

Talk much for what?

U see, other also wrecked in accident. But not so horrible like P1 or P2. Got that?

Compare a foreign car, that have same price like our nat car, and do the crash test. See what happen ! I cut my dick if our nat car win !

• S.Roma on Jan 03, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Anglers said,

December 31, 2009 @ 2:54 pm

for those who thinks that our gomen is to protective of our national car….our gomen are not the only doing that…..go to korea, buy a foreign car and you will know how miserable it is not to use their national car..or even japan where they are very protective about their national car…u all keep on complaining but u do not know about the outside world…korean car like hyundai and kia have the same quality as proton or even worse but nooooo because it is foreign car u feel very proud…even some korean expat i know would buy their own car where else they can buy much better car…our people lack of nationalism….for those who still worship the west….go to hell with u

———————————————————

Agree with u, my fren bought a new Kia Spectra Novus, after 4 months, the engined condamned, do not know why, suddenly just stop at middle of the street. And he regretedly said that, "I SHUD BUY PROTON BETTER LA…"

• kpl9145 on Jan 03, 2010 at 7:10 pm

In 1984-85, a 1.3 Saga was less than 18k. A 1.3 Toyota LE/Nissan Sunny was about 22k. A Honda Civic was about 26k.

Cheap if compared to now but doesn't mean affordable to most of us. Car loans are at 80% max with at least 8% interest for a max 5 years. Banks don't give out car loans. Only finance house/cooperatives do.

To put it in perpective:

in mid '80s, for graduates, a newly employed govt officer gets about 1.2k, Bank (local) officers start at 1.6k, OnG companies (EPMI/Petronas) employees start at 1.6 – 1.8k. HSBC officers and Shell Sarawak got the highest at about 2k. Intel and the electronics industry was still in assembling mode.

By late '80s, a 3 room flat at PKNS Kerinci can still be rented for RM 300 per month. A compact house at sri petaling (next to the kl-seremban highway) is about RM 180 – 220 per month. a DS prefab house at Kelana Jaya goes for RM 140K (next to LDP now) Petaling Garden was having a firesale for houses at zone M for RM 110 – 140K. At Shah Alam (near the industrial area) and Bangi, you have the luxury of inpecting completed houses before choosing and paying the deposit. If you buy a house in seremban/senawang area you get a free car (an Alfa IINM).

Car prices started to go through the roof when the Yen was revalued sharply in 1985.Between early 80's-mid 90's, the yen almost tripled in value vs MYR (re plaza accord/endaka).

In 1987/88, UMW introduced their latest generation toyota corollas priced at about RM 32K. And we started to shake our heads.

However cars are also more expensive than previously as they are better specified.

In those days, the corolla, sunnys, civics and 323s are basic version. No power steering or power windows. 13" wheel with steel caps. The main active safety are your brakes. passive safety is your tali pinggang keledar. For radio/stereos, you get them fixed at accessory shop AFTER you bought your car. Still there was progress. In 1983, you can buy a 1.5 mazda sedan without an aircond. It was still an optional item.

Off course, govt tax doesn't help matters especially if you are looking for non national cars.

• tokmoh on Jan 03, 2010 at 8:52 pm

S.Roma said,

January 3, 2010 @ 7:45 am

as for proton or perodua cars got wrecked in accidents… tell me which cars in this world not going to get wrecked in accident??? hell I’ve seen a vios almost cut into 2 pieces in an accident in putrajaya, a brand new merc totalled at ampang, ronaldo wrecked is ferrari, usain bolt wrecked his bmws, a wrecked audi r8 in autobahn and a lot more… are those cars less than decent as well?

————————————————————–

Talk much for what?

U see, other also wrecked in accident. But not so horrible like P1 or P2. Got that?

Compare a foreign car, that have same price like our nat car, and do the crash test. See what happen ! I cut my dick if our nat car win !

>>> S.Roma : I have absolute confidence Exora's crash test can pwn Nissan grand livina… n avanza… n innova… maybe even wish n stream…

O hai thar Miss S.Roma ;)

• Poo Kee Mark Proton on Jan 03, 2010 at 11:03 pm

hahaha…

• i wonder will proton cars be cheaper if it outsource all the parts from Thailand or Vietnam or China? will proton still gets the national car status? since some of u guys are saying that the shitty vendors are quoting crazy price for proton parts? proton… on par quality with air keroh honda? nahhh. never. reliability? frankly? i think only naive ppl or 1st time buyer will say proton is reliable & has acceptable quality.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 04, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Kiah said,

January 4, 2010 @ 12:49 am

i wonder will proton cars be cheaper if it outsource all the parts from Thailand or Vietnam or China? will proton still gets the national car status? since some of u guys are saying that the shitty vendors are quoting crazy price for proton parts? proton… on par quality with air keroh honda? nahhh. never. reliability? frankly? i think only naive ppl or 1st time buyer will say proton is reliable & has acceptable quality.

—————————————-

Only naive ppl or 1st time buyer thinks Jap cars are reliable too. Sometimes they are, sometimes they aren't!

• hey proton

what happened to Detroit Electric? where proton cars in US? Another crappy deal again like apa nama "Gold…" in china dulu? Detroit Electric another empty vessel making a lot of noises….kita pun takut nak put money in Proton when we hear the dodgy Detroit Electric deal….

investors

• Gabriel Choy on Jan 04, 2010 at 7:30 pm

I'm one of the 7000 applicants in Nov 09 that was rejected by Proton for their car scrapping programme.

In the 1st place, their closing was 6th Nov and Perodua's was one week after. They should have told us that our application would be rejected and not let us have false hope. Why did they set the closing date at 6th Nov and not honour it, i dont know. Whether or not there were applications on that week i dont care. Its their problem not ours.

I feel i should have instead gone for Perodua. I called up a Perodua salesman 2 weeks ago and he told there's no plan to reject their Nov 09 applicants. i'm highly dissapointed with Proton.

I went directly to their USJ HQ asked Proton why this happened (why only Proton and not Perodua) but they said "saya tak tahu.ini top management punya decision. Saya tak ada kuasa punya". Great. He said there were two memos out. One is to reject any applicants after 6th Nov 09. Their 2nd and latest memo (came out about last week ) rejects all applications from 1st Nov till 6th Nov. Great…last minute decison.

Their so called special scheme only trades in your old car up to rm2000 for my car. A far cry from the Rm5k that was promised and the car has to be registered by end of the year. I guess they want to clear off the old 2009 stocks (which they normally give discounts without any trade-in anyway).

I have lost confidence in Proton and will not buy any Proton in the future. Since they cant even honour what they promised, i cant imagine how their service will be like anyway. I'll choose Perodua over Proton any day….not just because their cars are better in terms of quality but atleast they deliver what they promised.

• Bad experience on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Proton should just give in to the 7,000 plus applicants of the exchange programme vouchers of RM5,000 each instead of giving the excuse that the fund has been fully used up to save its bad image .Proton must show its responsibility when it announced that the closing date was 6 November 2009 ! For all the applicants from 1 to 6 November 2009, you are all entitled for the RM5,000 vouchers since you have met the deadline ! Since the mistake is created by Proton, Proton must absorb the full RM5,000 itself ! Do not be conned again by Proton in accepting the special incentive of RM2,000 only ! The 7,000 plus affected applicants should team up to seek justice for the predicaments and financial losses they have suffered from the wrong doings of Proton !!!!!!!!!!!

• Eyesore on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:27 pm

4G63tDSM, maybe toyota or honda just a few Ks more expensive than saga in 80's… to you (a rich kid maybe) a few ks is nuthing, flick your fingers and there you go… a few ks in hand… but 80s d you know how big it was that few Ks value to low and middle income ppl? how hard the have to works to ern just that few Ks? so having an option to buy a car that a few Ks cheaper is like a blessing in disguise…

• if i not mistaken, the rm5000 exchange vouchers is from goverment fund, it is not proton fund, so if the gov said no money, they have to stop it. so, it is out of their power to continue the program if there is no fund from government. but i heard that proton did extend for those who are entitled untill 30 of november, dunno whether gov funding or proton owns piggy bank. read this in motortrader forum. Hopefully Mr Bad experience understand it. perodua also get funding on 5000 from the gov, but seems not many are willing to scrap their car at p2, so they have more reserve i presume. So, people need to know where is the source of problem and do not just blaming others. it is like malay old saying, marahkan nyamuk, kelambu dibakar. so, it is better for u to pasang ubat nyamuk atau spray ridsect ke….ha..ha..jgn mrh. happy motoring

• Bad experience on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:17 pm

En Mat, I know that you are supporting P1. How will you react if you are one of the 7,000 plus applicants who have made the crazy rush and met the deadline on 6 November 2009 to be informed by Proton that all applicants up to 31 October 2009 only are eligible for the RM5,000 vouchers ??? This is strictly the fault of Proton to announce that the closing date was 6 November 2009 and therefore , should be responsible for it ! For your information, only RM3,000 out of the RM5,000 voucher come from the Government and Proton only bear the balance of RM2,000. The affected applicants are mostly poor buyers who have incurred costs for Puspacom, JPJ , runners' fees and time on the exchange programme. Proton should just bear the full RM5,000 on the affected applicants to show its responsibility and save its deteriorating image !! If Perodua can close its application date one week later and still accept all its applicants, Proton should also show that it can ! Boleh ! Can the top management in Proton show some responsibility and tell the affected applicants whether they are still eligible for the RM5,000 vouchers if further allocation are obtained from the Government ??? If no ,is Proton going to absorb the full amount and close the issue ?????

• TheVictim on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:24 am

Same wif u all, i am oso one of the victim of this car exchange programme XD. What kind of stupid idiot things our G n Proton had did! Our effective G needs to spend 2 months time to know that not enought fund for 1 Nov onward applicants? OMG … our government really the best! LOL

Just contact wif my car salesman just now, according to him, those 1 Nov applicants can get thier car back and enjoy RM2000 rebate for Saga, RM5000 rebate for Waja, Persona,and RM 7000 rebate for Savvy.

I think u guys have no time to angry to G n Proton, is time to decide whether purchase the car or not, becos this offer will end on end of this month ..LOL

Now, ur choice :

1. Accept the offer.(save 2000 better than none)

2. Purchase an import car (60k+for sure)

3. Dont buy car.

4. Hold your plan and wait for import car tax to be reduced(10 years may b)

5. Change government (at least few more years)

Thanks to governmen to charge so high tax(300%) on import car to make us no choice to receive this offer ! HAHAHA ! ****