Delhi 2010: Toyota Etios sedan and hatch unveiled!

This is the Toyota Etios sedan, unveiled moments ago at the Auto Expo 2010 in India. The show cars feature newly developed 1.2 and 1.5-litre petrol engines, according to Toyota. This booted version will be launched in India by the end of 2010, with a hatchback model to follow in 2011. It’s officially a concept, but should be almost production ready from the looks of it.

Toyota expects to sell 70,000 units of the Etios in India annually. To do this, Toyota will expand its Indian sales network to 150 dealers by the end of 2010 from the current 97.

“India will play a pivotal role in Toyota’s global expansion plans and the time has come for us to strategically accelerate our growth here,” said Toyota Vice-Chairman Kazuo Okamoto.

UPDATE: Toyota will sell a similar car in China, Brazil and South East Asia, according to Executive Vice President Yukitoshi Funo.

Pictures of the Etios hatchback and interior after the jump!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ShaolinTiger on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Looks like the Latio.

• the sedan looks very much like the Dacia/Renault Logan….

• lowprofile on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:39 pm

much better looking than the current vios. should be a good sell over here depending on price and spec.

• S.Roma on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:42 pm

ShaolinTiger said,

January 5, 2010 @ 1:35 pm

Looks like the Latio.

—————————————————–

Agree with u !

• Hirohisa Fujii on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:53 pm

looks more likely a 1st gen Vios FaceLifted

• Alpha on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:57 pm

the grille is sooo toyota~~haha!!will it come here??but UMW wouldn't jeopardize the sales of Vios by bringing Etios here rite??

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:00 pm

perodua viva front lamps

• chinaman on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:01 pm

hatch looks nice..

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Tail lights of this car looks like a tiger without a sharp-looking eye

and when it comes to the indian

why must this type of cars given to them

they deserve to have a better looking car with a reasonable price

Uglier than the dugong

I'm not bashing Toyota

but if they want more people to buy their cars

please design a better car

• Just_Once on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:24 pm

mini-Subaru alike..

• Michael Ammot on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Viogong is worst..this is even worst…

It is dashboard pic there..and it is a centre console..1.5 litre and will come to south east Asia.. .no doubt that this would be the next gen Vios

Viogong owner is blind..etios owner even worst

• alpha999 on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:25 pm

as long it has T badge…….no prob selling like hot cakes in M'sia….ppl will still buy

• brutus on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:42 pm

1.2L for a car of this size??

• Vincent on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Look like the old Honda City (1998) head, tak laku lar…

• the front looks funny….. Seriously they should design better looking car.

Reliability and durability alone is not enough. People also want style.

• farghmee on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:07 pm

rupa macam kete lama?

dugong lg cantik la..imo.

• so cool , this cars are spec, i like so much, little like Latio, i think .

• Oscar on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:13 pm

I believe that this toyota etios sedan will be the new toyota vios….If u look properly, there's a large possibility because the current vios is about time to change. The toyota etios hatchback will be the replacement of toyota yaris . I think only 1.5l is avaliable for ASEAN. And thailand will be the place for both sedan and hatchback to be built at.

• Oscar on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:19 pm

malaysia memang boleh said,

January 5, 2010 @ 2:08 pm

Tail lights of this car looks like a tiger without a sharp-looking eye

and when it comes to the indian

why must this type of cars given to them

they deserve to have a better looking car with a reasonable price

Uglier than the dugong

I’m not bashing Toyota

but if they want more people to buy their cars

please design a better car

Please la, this car is built as a budget cars. But our govt taxed so much on these imported cars. So it is no longer priced as a budget cars anymore. It makes more like the middle class car 's price already. Govt is taxing so much on this cars which is supposed to serve poor and needy people. I think this car can be priced around 80k-100k for the 1.5l .

• Oscar on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:23 pm

Indian market , Yamaha Motor has released a R15 motorbike for a 150cc engine. Italy market, Yamaha Motor has released a R125 motorbike for a 125cc engine. If u look properly, there are major differences for both markets. Indian market is more for budget class, Italy market is for much premium class. So u cant compare this car to other toyota cars. Different market got different people. Different people got different needs.

• kote stim on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:27 pm

why no rear view?

• trav_da_man on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Looks like its deviated from the yaris platform. U can see the interior looks like the current vios.

With new 1.2 n 1.5 engines? How can a 1.2cc engine can pull a 1 tonne car unless if its direct injection?

• Jeffrey Chew on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Although it looks sucks, but it is a good movement of Toyota in India market, this is the marketing strategy to penetrate into India market, design doesn't need to suit for other country..

This car really a face lifted from the 1st gen YARIS (not 1st gen VIOS), look at the doors design and pillars, really identical..

• Oscar on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:36 pm

trav_da_man said,

January 5, 2010 @ 3:28 pm

Looks like its deviated from the yaris platform. U can see the interior looks like the current vios.

With new 1.2 n 1.5 engines? How can a 1.2cc engine can pull a 1 tonne car unless if its direct injection?

Toyota has developed new 1.2l and 1.5 l engine. This 2 engine is more likely to provide better power and much better than the current 1.5l vios engine. Well, i think the 1.2l toyota etios will not come here. Only 1.5l will. Because i think 1.2l is for the indian or other markets.

• somehow still looks like avanza.. esp the grill..

• Is this a class below the Vios or above it ?

• the grille is…….not desirable, but the hatchback looks better.

does look like latio, although i think the latio has nicer shape.

• Jerkoff on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:07 am

Do I see Avanza in its grille? Lol

• Dewata Raya on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:42 am

The eye & hood looks like viva..

• The red interior suits Chinese New Year….hahahahahaah

Gong Xi Fa Chai!

• mohsin on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:06 am

who cares? as long it is a Toyota!

• Facelifted Vios? Too much red inside.

• helmi on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:20 am

Ugly, both interior & exterior. 3rd class design for a 3rd world country with out-dated technology. Hey Toyota!!! Malaysian need your latest state of the art design car!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:34 am

this better than vios. drive vios nobody can smile. this car i still can smile.

• Makes sense to bring in the ETIOS hatch back version while retaining the VIOS as a sedan version.

• kerelbort on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:42 am

looks like innova front… does not look appealing but hey.. this is the mass market model.. they cost it before design it cheaply

• Arcane (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:50 am

what's with the stacked air-cond vents?

• frossonice on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:51 am

Well… If this come to Malaysia, people will still buy it, no matter how hedious it looks.

• daemon on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:56 am

its not that attractive…. at all.. haha.. cant imagine… please dont sell that here.. haha

• wochomi on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:06 am

Nice middle aircond vents!

I dunno why some people dun like the organic looks of the Vios that makes it look like dugong? Personal preferences lah….. maybe to them car must be squarish, angular and boxy…..

• nabill on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:15 am

thats a subaru grill i tink…looks cheapo…..stil that horrible center dashboard…can never get use to it…

• little_momo (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:20 am

UGLY !!!

• roadrunner on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:40 am

Beauty lies on the eyes of the beholder (hehe,correct me if i'm wrong guys)

• Lancermania on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:01 am

uglier thn current vios, bt wif d budget car condition…

mayb it is perodua new 4 door saloon car??

• Herminem on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:10 am

Well the 1.2 version will not be available to help protect our beloved national car i think we will only get 1.5 version if UMW decide to bring the car to Malaysia

• UGLY!

• Look alike first Yaris/Vitz or Starlet last generation successor. The interior is so SESUAI for Indian market.

BTW I'll buy one if they sell for RM40k here. TOYOTA maaa. :)

• techboy_88 on Jan 06, 2010 at 3:46 am

the grinning grille. LOL.

• a downgraded Toyota Vios and Yaris…. one word ugly

• raja brooke on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:10 am

MYVI replacement !! As announced new model

wld b introduced to end the current 5 years life-span.

• RedLine on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:16 am

Dear God, the car look so ugly. I know this car is in the cheap / affordable range, but you dont have to make cheap=ugly. Why cant toyota make a good loooking cheap car? Even proton design is much better than this.

• Neutral on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:23 am

Kenapa saya rasa Proton BLM lagi cantik? Toyota dah kehabisan idea styling,tau la mau buat budget car.

xperlula sacrifice styling seteruk ni huhuuu…hopefully perodua jgn support,biar la UMW Msia sendiri buat hehehe…

• Type F on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:41 am

P1 BLM wanna be..haha..

• kimi_ on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:49 am

Looks like Avanza grille…………Hatch looks better

The interior is WEIRD

• Interesting………looks like a budget,watered down version of the vios.

Nonetheless, should be a reliable workhorse or work donkey, camel.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:29 am

still those rims are nice

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:38 am

cannot be next gen vios. the design is too spartan even for vios. maybe p2 have better chance to get this car.

• Nazrin on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:50 am

i dun think it's a problem with 1.2L engine..

toyota BELTA a.k.a VIOS in japan are using 1.0L & 1.3L engine

and through my bare eyes, this car looks smaller than current dugong vios =))

not bad la for me, better look than dugong vios

• kuatmain on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:58 am

The hatchback version looks possible

for the coming MYVI replacement model .

Let P2 come out with a more canggih bodykit and styling.!!!

• Jimmy on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:04 am

VERY VERY ugly. Like a piece of shit.

• bobdbilder on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:17 am

Etios doesn't sound Italian. Terios, Avanza, Altis, Innova they all do. Oh, they'll think of something…Et ios eh Brutus?

• mitlanevo on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:17 am

i demand replace dugong with this !!!

• BeemerFreak on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:23 am

why cant they make the head lamps look like the SAI hybrid, that way would look sleaker..

• 4Lvin on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:33 am

one of the ugliest design i have ever seen for a car. i agree that organic design is a personal preferrence matter, but judging how most car designers ignores this, i think its safe to say toyota made themselves a SS (syok sendiri) syndrome by thinking it rocks. otherwise, others would have followed.

p/s: i drive a 9th gen altis and would not trade if for the vios (the dugong version) even if you give me 3 of them. old vios anytime, and conventional & contemporary design anytime, but not this. this car is plain weird…like the new imprezza or even the latio. yes, latio is weird looking for me…like teeth on braces.

• aveoS on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:37 am

please don't bring in this car, horrible!

• Expecting a good look in the rear design in toyota etios sedan ,hope toyota does not make the mistake of that poor look of Back like dezire sedan and Mahindra Logan.waiting to see ……….

• Gajen on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:49 am

seriously not bad for a budget car…looks kinda sporty and decent interior….imagine bringing this in…price at 60 k…no one will buy gen2,persona or waja….

• I-HATE-GG889933000-I on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:50 am

looks better than Vios here..

and we are paying 80k for such a 'empty' Vios here!!

• wow…very nice,,,better than dugong…bila nak masuk malaysia????what about prices???????

• i want this in hatch-mode pls.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Is very subjective, for me, it look bad, and the design like "ah-beng" car.

Look cheap for interior and exterior.

• lowprofile on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:37 pm

perhaps it is to be positioned below the vios?

• Kamyongkai on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:21 pm

it doesn't look like a dugong.. but its still funny. i think its about time we throw out the toyotas and hondas from malaysia. they are ruining us with their dugongs, baboons and this..this.. RAT!

• hahaahaha…..as usual, hideous lookin thing by toyota BUT will sell by the truck loads!!

• techboy_88 on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Toyota have running out of ideas for car designing. they think people will simply buy their cars just because they're "durable and reliable." i have no high hopes for future Toyota passenger car models.

• limwe on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Actually the look is quite ugly. Be honest with yourselves, whether you are Toyota fan or Vios basher.

But I believe Toyota deliberately made the car uglier than the Vios, and it also looks much smaller, even though in Sedan guise. I'm sure it's part of marketing strategy to capture sales from the small-car market but without affecting the Vios sales.

That means they deliberately make it less desirable than Vios, sell at cheaper price, and depend on high-volume to improve overall profitability.

• limwe on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:38 pm

By the way, the blue hatchback reminds me of the 1980's Toyota Starlet which was quite popular then. I'm sure the size of the 2010/2011 Etios is quite comparable to the 1980's Starlet, therefore reinforcing Toyota's objective of providing a truly small-car to the masses.

• I always perseive that the indian market are up for ugly cars. Just look at their home made brand Tata, Mahindra and Maruti… Just a bunch of rebadged cars and outdated models. If proton were to export its models there, They should just revive the old Saga and export it. Im sure it will be a hit.

• Fuego66 on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:47 pm

The design spells C-H-E-A-P all over!

• joni (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Somehow many of Toyota's design failed to excite me, in fact they are boring. They're reliable and durable alright, but how the car looks is also important. No wonder that this model won't be available for more mature market.

• I hate that air con vents. Hell, if it's cheap car. I guess most of us will go for it.

• wochomi on Jan 06, 2010 at 10:17 pm

A few months in India, I've seen a really low-spec version of the Maruti…. there's no carpet covering the centre bone (i dunno the technical term) from the dashboard right through the gear stick to the back seat. What I'm saying is that, the Indian market can be really really really stripped of the amenities of what we think is the normal standard. So I don't think the RedWhite interior concept is going to make it. Besides, you can hardly drive more than 60km/hr on their roads (farm animals and 3-wheeler cabbies aside).

• azrai on Jan 06, 2010 at 10:20 pm

If come to malaysia sure it will be placed under BLM or entry model for Toyota. Pity on Malaysian if get this t badge model here. Last 20 years Corolla was the entry model, now Vios (which seem to be downgrade from Corolla).

• Fuego66 on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:50 am

Hmm . . . Toyota (the Father) COULD ask Pero2 (the Grandson) to re-incarnate this Etios into BOLEHLAND to become. . . get this New MyVi!!!! Ha ha ha, scary … . . .

• motorcamper on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:12 am

The front grille blends much better with the hatchback body. I suspect that it was designed as a hatchback and the booted sedan is an afterthought.

• limwe on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:16 am

"Fuego66 said: The design spells C-H-E-A-P all over!"

In that case, Toyota has achieved its objective!

• initial R on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:55 am

As long have T badge, Malaysian will buy no matter how ugly the design…..

• Nahar ARS on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:04 am

Videos and pics of Toyota Etios at India Auto Expo can be found here:

http://www.toyotaautoexpo.in/blog/

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:59 am

anak dugong… kahkahkah!!!

• eaglex on Jan 07, 2010 at 8:23 am

the hatchback looks ok but the sedan just look really weird lol (like a cartoon car)…..

• Justin Lee on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:43 pm

If the Etios slots in under the Vios/Yaris, then it probably replaces the Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Boon, which means it may become the next Myvi!

• Peter on Jan 07, 2010 at 8:49 pm

Justin Lee said,

January 7, 2010 @ 9:43 am

If the Etios slots in under the Vios/Yaris, then it probably replaces the Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Boon, which means it may become the next Myvi

Bro, just because daihatsu is under toyota, it doesn't mean daihatsu will get the toyota models. This model will be replacing the toyota vios version. So how can this become the next myvi? Furthermore, daihatsu is currently designing the next version of daihatsu sirion already . So the new version of daihatsu sirion will replace the myvi version. This toyota etios will be badged as new toyota vios in malaysia.

• Kamyongkai on Jan 08, 2010 at 12:30 am

toyota and honda both running out of design ideas.. one obsessed with a dugong.. another obsessed with a baboon.. lets start voting for renault!

• Dacia on Jan 08, 2010 at 1:28 am

It's a bad copy paste of current Dacia Logan. Really damage!

• biawak on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:58 am

even the outlook ppl say ugly.. but i bet, if buy same time with bLM, with in 4 years time, try compare both.. for sure, loosen parts sound is more heard in BLM then this ugly car.. :P

• ignas on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:59 am

deformed front…yuck!

• shaifz1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:38 am

What a crap design for the coming vios. Not to my liking as still prefer conventional and safe design.

• Delphys on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:26 am

I Like Toyota Etios , Excelent and Low price. Desain Funtastic

• bluefire on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm

this model realy remind me on old daihatsu model ( charade )

but if the price under RM40 surely will be potong proton & produa