Naza to distribute Koenigsegg in Malaysia?

According to Business Times, Naza is set to take up the distributorship of the Koenigsegg brand here in Malaysia and we could see the first units going on sale in February. Naza currently already holds distributorships of Ferrari and Maserati, so this will be the group’s third high performance brand. Koenigsegg is expected to be a very niche model in Malaysia, even more niche than the Ferrari or Maserati brands, especially the latter which is able to target buyers with a budget of about a million bucks and sway their purchase decision from a 750Li or a S500 to a Quattroporte. Koeniegseggs will be a completely different price tag altogether, with the CCX expected to go for over 3 million ringgit at least. More details to come when an official announcement is made.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:12 pm

well , if u can steal jet engines , rm3mil is noting !!

• bobby on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:43 pm

LOL speechless. Who buy shit like this ?

• ace razer on May 21, 2010 at 11:37 am

if u have the money, then u can buy it. Many rich people out there buy 2 or 3 of those

• geelatkaukau on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:15 pm

those with abundance of wealth…let me see…mm..the tycoon of this and that, aargh, especially the filthy rich politicians…ill gotten money to splash arrogantly around, sheesh.

• Kugan on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:31 am

For 3 million in the shitty condition road(Malaysian Super Highway). one must be fool of a took to buy such car. Unless you have roads in the Alps or Autobahn.

• flopsy87 on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:50 pm

shit….3 millions ringgit!!!!!

• initial R on Jan 05, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Huhhh… ?????

• rumors are also going that NAZA will take up porsche dealership also.

the recent acquiring of brand distributorship seems to cement the fact that NAZA is gonna be one of the biggest distributor of supercars in malaysia.

hmmm….are you thinking what i am thinking?

• this car is so elite, even more difficult to spell or pronounce than Fellali, Lembu Cina and Massa Larri.

Bet u the Cronnies have all already pre-ordered.

• mykars on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:12 am

have anyone seen cronies ride a Wira or Kancil before? where is the patriotism goes when that is what they claimed before they become cronies?

• Alpha on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:15 am

lolz!!this is really a niche product!!

To Bobby,

the cars made by Koenigsegg is not shit la wei~~n u asked who would buy these??PEOPLE WITH MONEY LA!!!

• Prismo on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:17 am

if 3 millions rupiah then.. i will buy 10! haha

• bullet on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:19 am

i used this car in NFS…so fast…so furious…

• afkar (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:24 am

nice brand..will sell well,i guess..those rich wont mind to drop 'some' money for this car..aesthetic value??

• Prismo on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:28 am

bullet, in NFS shift XBOX360 oso have this car ka? if yes i will buy 1 hahaha

• amarjie on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:30 am

If you read Supercars by evo, this car is among the least recommended supercar to buy due to ultra-extraordinarily high maintainance cost, more than other supercars…

• Mohd Nazri on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:32 am

i always tot that Naza sons will live in their father shadow, unable to replicate what has been done by the father…

i think they pass the mark..they are writing their own history…stronger …

great job Children of Naza…u deserve the wealth you inheritted from your father…

• wan_knox on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:37 am

no comment.. mcm mana nk sebut this shit?

• Sharviin on Jan 06, 2010 at 12:58 am

this car is scary…so. NAZA…y dun u fellas bring down Mustangs or Camaro or Challenger or cars dat money can buy. Imagine u park ur 3mill quit 'rubbish can' at any car park, dun expect u will find no scratches or dents on it!!

• Oh boy, i just remembered that i need to find a much higher paying job!

Felali la, mesalati la, lembo la, now keonigzeg la… here i am contemplating a kia forte!!

• Koenigsegg, I don't have money to buy….

but

ConeyDog from A&W I got money to buy….sedap.

• sonyman on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:06 am

looks like all the supercars taken up, so what does nassim has to drive ? or the sons of naza?

Well probably they have to ride in a private helicopter like those in the american new york super duper rich ppl..

This is to outshow that i dont need to drive them, i fly with the heli…. then we will see in federal highway on top of a building there is a heli pad.

• MyCarMyLife on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:22 am

Jealous ka , cronies sell to cronies la cannot ah boleh ka !

• what a ugly car…. got to be blind to buy this crap….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:34 am

this country……i gave up on it. now naza is screwing us top to bottom. when we poor, we buy kia, naza owned. we become richer, we buy mercedes also naza owned. richer again, we buy ferrari, also naza owned. when we super rich, we buy koenigsiegg, also naza owned.

• It is Sime Darby that is being "forced" to take the Porsche distributorship in 2010. An annoucement is expected soon.

Auto Eurokars has not been making money hence this development.

• Arcane (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:43 am

If one can afford a supercar, he/she likely can afford maintenance and other miscellaneous costs associated with it.

• Arcane (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:46 am

I remember The Stig almighty himself crashed this car for TopGear's powerlaps.

It's a very good thing this beast is a niche in the supercar market. If Stig can't handle this car, you think Malaysians can? =P

Well, who knows? Most Malaysian drove Myvis like an Exige.

• daemon on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:53 am

well… as usual…. the rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer..

anyways… such a nice car…. i can imagine lots of the rich(if they get one of this) dying from accidentally driving into a lamp post or a wall and so on… haha

• lowprofile on Jan 06, 2010 at 1:59 am

pronounced:

ko-nig-zeg

• sonGoten (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:31 am

Sharviin said,

January 5, 2010 @ 4:58 pm

this car is scary…so. NAZA…y dun u fellas bring down Mustangs or Camaro or Challenger or cars dat money can buy.

————————————————————

just a matter of time Sharviin

• admin on Jan 06, 2010 at 2:50 am

this is faster car in the world.. wow.. how much price this car in Malaysian market?

• later, zonda,bugatti,bristol,

• den bring in Pagani Zonda as well

• trav_da_man on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:02 am

Looks like the next time i visiting a naza showroom at PJ, i dont need to go to any international motorshows anymore!

• wow… lepas ni apa? official disto for Pagani?

• shawal on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:31 am

I can tell you , ive seen a couple of old balding , skinny twigsss wearing huge glasses driving around in GT3 RSs, this car surely break their necks…

• as usual the cronies will benefit while the rest of Msians drive shitty Proton cars……XDD, and the AP shit is more of corruption than anything. very dirty Government we have

• Type F on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:38 am

Stupid damn expensive car for bumpy road in Malaysia

• kimi_ on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:52 am

WOW, NAZA is slowly dominating automobile industry here….

What will happen to this brands IF NAZA " BANKCRUPT" one day…LOL

• prolover on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:10 am

i think the crony2 will buy it.

yala 2 jet engine = rm 100 million.

1 car = rm 3 million

after being SUAP and no tax = around 2 And a half mil

sugar after 20 sen rise = rm 1.65

i thing they will buy any super car if they can sell any army goods,

the SUBMARINE of cause.

• prolover on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:17 am

this is how to pronounce this car maker

"keonisseg" if not mistaken…

• just me on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:47 am

not so good looking…

Mclaren is the best supercar!

• what next? are they gonna bring in pagani zondas or the vandenbrink carver?

• mitlanevo on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:16 am

also remember to bring in Saleen, Pagani and Ascari, ok?

• bashherebashthere on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:38 am

i thought theres zonda on msia road?

• Lol... on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:40 am

lowprofile said,

January 5, 2010 @ 5:59 pm

pronounced:

ko-nig-zeg

Sounds like ko-nek-seks lolol :D

j/k hehe

Even Proton Saga become Potong Zaka……

sigh, wahahha

• drgn86 on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:41 am

Naza monopolizing almost every bloody car brand in Malaysia. This isn't good for us consumers, right? Even the Bubba Gump franchise in M'sia also they get… Mana open tender ni?

• toycar on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:46 am

with 3 million, i will buy 3 ferrari; 1 for myself, 1 for my wife, and 1 for my mother in law… at least people will think i am richer than the guy who buy only 1 Koenigsegg :)

• Gajen on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:53 am

pointless bringing this car here….corvette z06 is only 60 k pounds…in our money after tax is 1 mil ringgit [911 turbo 97k pounds, here after tax 1.35 mil,use ratio method]…cars like corvette or mustang are more affordable despite their huge engines

• bobby on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:14 am

I remember Camaro is only built for left hand drive. Grey importer can bring it in for a few mil, but i bet they will be no demand of the car.

Do we have the road for this type of car , i mean car road and not those race circuit. I can hardly find a road that i can speed 210kph steadily. Our road is danger + all those uneven bumper in residential area + potholes + etc , I wonder how the car suspension react. This is just so crazy.

• meteoraniac on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:14 am

now waiting for bugatti….

• Anonymous on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:17 am

Yeah. Even The Stig can't handle this beast.

Last weekend i saw Myvi Ezi did 180km/h++ i guess in PLUS h/way to JB, also dare to overtake new S-class. Suicide driver.

Poor buyers, they will drive this beast on bumpy road, even depan klcc pun bumpy! Cehh!

Paul, did u ever write about Amalgam Fine Collection? I bet u will like it :-)

• skiborne on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:26 am

o-oh! rumours about cars usually end up with the truth! hahah, welcome swede!

• it's pronounced KOH-NIG-SEGG.

who would buy this, seriously.

you can almost get 2 murcielago-s with 3 mil.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 9:43 am

Driver must know how to control car before buying this :P

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 06, 2010 at 10:01 am

I bet Naza will be selling submarines and fighter jets soon

• Eyesore on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:40 pm

how does this make the rich richer and the poor poorer???

Naza brings in Koenigsegg… the rich buy it…. how does that affect you? how will it make the poor getting poorer???? no relation at all…. you guys just have bash everyone don't you?

well i know one way how it'll affect you… jealousy… you get jealous bcoz they can drive it and you can't… :P

• Jaybond on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:41 pm

I think the Koenigsegg is more exclusive/rarer than the Pagani Zonda, Naza should have brought in the latter first. Maybe American GTs like the new Ford Mustang and Chevy Camaro should be on the list too.

And for the record, before this another super exclusive model that can be seen in the Naza showroom is the Maserati MC12.

• theanswer on Jan 06, 2010 at 4:52 pm

i wont discuss any political motives here..it's just a business. susah kalau buruk sangka ni..semua mende nak kaitkan dgn politik..naza jual goreng pisang pon org kata kroni punye pasal. oh back to topic, it's a superb car..but still, ferrari is my choice. ferrari is a well known champ in f1..but koenigsegg?

• saya ade duit lebih ni lepas letgo engine jet…kasi 2 itu kereta coney dog

• alpha999 on Jan 06, 2010 at 5:10 pm

looks futuristic…..but for RM 3 mil….arghhh……

• *Monopoly, only happens in Malaysia

• molala on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:20 pm

I don't think this car priced at 3mil.. it should be over RM5mil..

and, this car isn't shit or crap, it is once is the fastest production car in the world.

• klaka seram on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:55 pm

how much?? 3 millions!!??

ok bungkus 4, kasi kuah lebih sikit

• torque (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Wow…my dream car…oppss…sorry…my fantasy car is gonna be distribute here?! Niceeee…well done NAZA for your business hunger and achievement so far (by conquering many distribution rights recently). Well, the rest of us just need to work like a mule now these years to come…

Weii NAZA…bawak ar Ford RS dari UK kat sini…recon pun recon lah! :-)

• torque (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:07 pm

molala said,

January 6, 2010 @ 10:20 am

I don’t think this car priced at 3mil.. it should be over RM5mil..

and, this car isn’t shit or crap, it is once is the fastest production car in the world.

Yes bro! This car even hold the highest speed fine ticket in the world if I'm not mistaken…I'll take this baby over Bugatti anytime…wait…darn…I'm not rich wat…shit…

• This car after the normal tax of about 200% to 300% will cost more than RM6 mil. FYI, the currennt AP Holder of Pagini Zonda belongs to a certain CEO of an Investment Bank. Unless he gives it up, then only Naza can distribute the Zonda.

• xavier lert on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:12 pm

came on SSC Aero!!! came on Veyron!!!!

• biggie on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:21 pm

why monopoly? they ask for distributorship for konekseks, so if they can show to konekseks that they can deliver they get the distributorship?

ADA FAHAM?

With konekseks etc. it is always an open tender, to get a distributorship. A company (based in Malaysia) need to guarantee to the manufdacturer that they can

(1) sell xxx number of cars (if cannot have to pay to mfr)

(2) maintain an after sales service for the car.

If any company can satisfy (1) and (2) then you get distributorship.

And with distributorship you will get AP to bring the cars in.

• Artline500 on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:22 pm

all u kata keta ni x lawa lu all lawya ya….sapa ada duit pakai la xda duit tgk saja lah apa salahnya.keta ni lawa.

• Eyesore on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:27 pm

drgn86, open tender for distribution right? are you out of your mind? It's not like koenigsegg come to govt and ask them to find a distributor for them… Naza have to work their asses and prove to koenigsegg that they deserve to be a distributor… if you think you can do better job then go to koenigsegg and convince them your can be their distributor… duh….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:35 pm

this country is disgusting.

• The Stig on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:43 pm

True, even I can't handle such speed in this thing during the powerlaps I did a few years back.

• Ferruccio on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Jaybond,

Pagani Zonda is here for a number of years already. There was even an appointed dealer and Naza also displayed the blue unit in its PJ showroom for a while. Founder, Horacio Pagani paid a visit to KL a few years back.

As for Mustang and Camaro I think the Mustang at least is already here. There are rich enthusiasts who are buying these unique American muscle cars but they don't drive them around too much unfortunately.

Even the Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV is already here. Someone bought a yellow example.

So the Koenigsegg is no biggie. At the very least we can be sure to see it in the flesh in the Naza showroom. The Koenigsegg is a seriously engineered performance car. Not to be scoffed at. I think Christian Koenigsegg was rumoured to be interested in buying over Saab some time back

• Cars4Life on Jan 06, 2010 at 9:37 pm

hmmm, KANASai. cronnies get all the benefits. And please do not think this NAZA group did good by getting all this. It's just because they are cronnies that's why they get all this benefits. Just look at the 26-hectare parcel of land they got in the prime area near jalan duta in exchange for building some reportedly 689million building for the government. That parcel of land is worth billions lah. Damn it

• i still fail to pronounce it…. hahahahhahahahha….

• azrai on Jan 06, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Naza again. They want to CKDed this car in Gurun? Please make it so and rebadge it to NAZA, sure price more attractive.

• kelvin on Jan 06, 2010 at 11:05 pm

RM3 mil car is peanuts to those who earn tens of million easily. If you know what i mean.

• Fabregas on Jan 06, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 6, 2010 @ 11:35 am

this country is disgusting.

—————————————————————-

why dont u say swede is disgusting? And also all countries with koenigsegg's ditributor are disgusting too..?

• lambov12 on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:17 am

wow …. Koneigsegg coming to Malaysia ..

• nighttrain on Jan 07, 2010 at 1:12 am

i know some people who will buy this car. They won't be driving this around town though. Too much attention. Probably drive around their private airstrip only. No chance for us to oogle this car on public roads.

• Bob Tahar on Jan 07, 2010 at 4:27 am

am proud of this bumiputera company… next stop… Naza F1 team or some EPL teams.

• teamsleepnie on Jan 07, 2010 at 5:30 am

the jealousy is darn strong in the comment…

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 07, 2010 at 6:51 am

soon they will sell bugatti veyron with a price tag of 13million hahahaa….

• rageaccel2 on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:40 am

Well said,

den bring in Pagani Zonda as well

————————————————————-

aik? i tot pagani zonda already in their showroom la. i saw when i went there last year. blue or black, i forgot. 1 row with other exotics..

after this bring nobel here la.. moto guzzi also :o

• Late me become a Gov on Jan 07, 2010 at 7:58 am

coroni Umno only can used that car

• WTF 911 on Jan 07, 2010 at 3:22 pm

@Late me become a Gov! said,

OF COURSE LAAAAAAA. only to UMNO la. still dont know ka?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jan 08, 2010 at 1:25 am

Sure ka??? Mont Kiara ramai apek cina pakai ini kereta??? Apek pun kroni UMNO ka???