Delhi 2010: Tata’s tuk-tuk, the Magic Iris!

Advertisement

Tata seems to be on a mission to improve motoring standards in India, to get people off bikes and trikes and into a four-wheeler. It started with the Nano, which low entry price gave families an alternative to cramming everyone on a bike. Now, the company has launched the Magic Iris at the Auto Expo in Delhi, which should be a decent alternative to the three-wheeled auto rickshaw common in India.

To be launched this year, the Magic Iris “is for public transportation, offering safer and more comfortable mobility for those who depend on three-wheelers”. The tiny body can sit five, including the driver, and occupants will be fully enclosed, unlike in tuk-tuks.

The Magic Iris is powered by a 611cc water cooled diesel engine. With a 10-litre fuel tank, it’s capable of longer distances than a three-wheeler and has a top speed of about 55 km/h. 11 bhp may not be much, but it’s more than what the auto rickshaws offer. Tata also promises lower maintenance costs and a higher load capacity than the popular vehicle it’s trying to replace.

Looks quite cute and cartoonish, don’t you think?

1. Black Dog says:

My God, it looks horrible!!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. nabill says:

i tink its gonna tip over everytime u sneeze !

3. Peter says:

This car is so “nice”…Maybe perodua can think of rebadging this van!!!!! It suits perodua…..Small car, small vehicle.

4. hadi1975 says:

you kidding right, paul????? a 611cc diesel….a smiling, happy vehicle.. tata is creating cars for local market….

5. mohd hafizzul says:

aku tengok keta ni dah mace mato ‘SUPERMAN’….wakakak…Lucu gilo.

6. kimi_ says:

It looks like CRAZY FROG…….LMAO

7. not_ah_beng says:

Such a tall car……….can forsee a high centre of gravity means many will turned turtle.

Should rebadge Passo Sette instead, or Honda Freed. :)

8. Arashikage says:

If bring to Malaysia can replace ‘prebet sapu’ or not??

9. mohsin says:

Love it.
    hey Paul, Can you post and write about Tata Aria MPV?
    it is also looks promising.
    Who knows if it a good turning point for Rajan besides the Nano

10. alpha999 says:

such a ‘cute’ thing…..rim size ’10 inch’ ?

11. moha3774 says:

Bold…

12. duka says:

looks like turtle face to me…

13. msi says:

haha…soo magical.

14. prolover says:

although small and look fugly…..
    but the car is an ideal car…….
    and the diesel engine is a brilliant idea for a small van and its only 611cc…
    but still my grandfather KAPCAi does run faster than this car…

15. dzulx says:

What a social contribution…. Salute

But Indian might despise it in distance future… More vehicle more pollution..

16. Mufasa says:

can tata come to malaysia? i dont think tata car quality is very good, so it give some fair competition to p1? or india got railway construction as contra of p1 to penetrate india market?

17. klaka seram says:

they should put the front wheel more forward.

18. Alpha says:

it looks like a rabbit yang patah kaki!!

19. csv says:

damn thats one fugly car, but its purpose is not to look good, rather to subsitute as a rickshaw transport.

so looks aside, it pretty much wins over the rickshaw in everything else.

20. keretakura says:

ha ha ha ha …. 1st impress …..

21. Prismo says:

it’s just better than a rickshaw…

22. garf says:

i think the car really reflects TATA… very very bollywood kind of ride…

23. Jimmy Dean says:

Looks like ultraman face

24. tiger kayu says:

Looks like ET on rollers : )

ET Phone Home…ET Phone Home…ET Phone Home…

25. waja says:

this is the real moving coffin….

26. p4k4bu says:

Its passengers will enter/exit through the back door?

Interesting…. ;-)

27. kodok says:

bukan mata superman.
    mata ultraman.

28. Perodua Zero says:

pwerodua will rebadge it..down worry..

small comfort. better quality.and all malaysian can buy others Branded car..

29. catchcart says:

petrol is about RM5 per litre in India. Diesel is around RM3. Motorcyclist who would want to convert from 2 wheeler to 4 wheeler probably could only afford to buy diesel engined 4 wheeler. Tata sense a big market in this buyer’s category…..let’s see what will happen.

30. kimi_ says:

IF this is TOYOTA, sure can sell in Malaysia !!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

31. Kamyongkai says:

looks like a honda city, not literally.. but like a baboon.

32. Elvis says:

Perhaps Proton or Perodua should come out with its own tuk-tuk for Malaysia market. Petty those ‘kereta sapu’ using Perodua Kancil…

33. aaa says:

the engine is located at the front or at the back? what will happen if its going downhill with a driver and front passenger then hitting an emergency brake?

34. mystvearn says:

Ugly car. 10L fuel, not going that far when carrying five people. So where is the engine? Is it that small?

35. azmi says:

like MJ…

36. zain says:

my boy-boy love the look of this van….he want to paint “Ben10″ on this car

37. lo says:

i am still wondering why do they design the crumple zone to be so far to the front. the reaosn why some car manufacture put the wheels wayy up front to be part of force absorbtion.

38. AXL says:

suitable for india magic road

39. xatomic says:

Think it is not right to compare to a normal car at them. To them, beats sitting in rickshaw or motorbike

Some heavy vehicles zooming past this car fast enough can make it topple, if not the least sway like hell

40. Cyberkayu says:

box with 4wheels
    ….

41. lchan says:

man..this thing has got a COG so high that it looks like it can tilt over anytime while standing still!

42. Neutral says:

1st in my thought is this car shouldn’t be allowed into highway PLUS.dangerous bcos too slow!!!

43. initial R says:

Can bring in to malaysia for replace Melaka & penang beca… sure looks nice…. :)

44. cars-addict says:

i think this tata suits india…

45. trav_da_man says:

Dont tell me even with inputs of prodrive like the later article 5-10 years later we still see such crap in India. sweat!

46. hiruma kecil says:

sangat menarik perhatian.. kejap je dah 40 komen lebih..

47. techboy_88 says:

it’s Tata’s Keicar model (again).

48. zaff1984 says:

scary….

49. taboogen says:

i thought so someone will say it is nice….what da….

50. Gajen says:

nano…then aria…now this…quite a good move from tata,suitable for places like india thailand etc…definately not malaysia…

51. bga jd ank m`sia! says:

WTH*! SO FUNNY! LOOKING! LOL!

52. radsan says:

alien face…

53. Elvis says:

This car look like trying to scare indians…

54. taiklembu says:

Another sucks from india, similiar monkey face, they should engaged italian . Where been local talent? shame2!

55. Najibest says:

600cc diesel engine? damn that should be the holy grail of fuel efficiency….why can’t we have 1 of those?

56. kobealex says:

hmmm… no aerodynamics needed for this? :D
    n yea… look like an alien smiley face!

57. asgard says:

TATA GOODBYE

58. Vinish says:

Looks good

59. mohit says:

very good looking with good efficiency

60. Luqman Rohaizat says:

Lime green paint job screams optimism, but optimism cannot hide the fact that the exterior design is bad, really bad. I sincerely believe the smart people at TATA can do better in their product design, while still being able to limit their budget. Its seems like they’re not trying to reach their full potential…where’s the effort? Cheap can be excellent too. Go, India! TATA should try harder.

61. hanif thange says:

TATA YOU ARE THE TAJ OF INDIA.YOU ARE THE JEWELE IN THE CROWN OF INDIA.KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP. MY BEST WHISHES TO TATA AND ITS ENGNEERS.

62. alansmithz says:

Look 1000x better the the fugly Proton Sawi. I haven’t even mentioned the uglist vehicle everr created by mankind >>Proton Juara<<

63. Neo.S says:

sure alot of tuk-tuk sound coming out …..

64. Malaysia memang boleh says:

Ugliest car ever.looks like someone asking for a slap
    even savvy is million times better than this frog
    even juara is way better than this box

65. aaa says:

i thk it’ll be better alternate of rikshaw….. nice

66. Car carzy says:

This thing sucks big time. I wonder who designed this thing. You can keep this as an example of how NOT to design an automobile. TATA u can make cheap cars but they look cheap as well… I would be ashamed to travel in one of these. GOD save us please!

67. chuasoilek says:

can be dumb n dumber’s ride 4 next movie..

68. sabi says:

Mmmm i m thinking ver 2 start, ok first of all its better den BIKE & RIKSHA if u think about safety,much safer den BIKE & RIKSHA,as it is diesel must be ECONOMICAL for middle class people to own it and utilise it, buying vehicle is not only DIFICULT but after buying the vehicle it is also important for the person to AFFORD the MAINTENANCE and FUEL,and this UGLY but USEFUL vehicle is delivering both to indias middle class, i bealive something is BETTER den nothing,i hope in future TATA will not ask KIDS to design vehicle but use more PROFESSIONAL designer to put xtra effort in DESIGN & SAFETY,this vehicle looks bit tall and not much ground distance between tyres,like the DIESEL concept,i hope TATA will provide free insurance to all buyer of this TOY VAN.but i am saluting THE TATA to make something for middle class of india who never thought that they can afford to buy 4 wheeler,THANKS TATA, i am giving 6/10, I LOVE MY INDIA & ALL INDIANS WITHOUT THEIR CAST/RELIGION/REGION.

69. azrai says:

Juara’s ugly sister. :-)

70. Leonardo says:

I have rode on an ‘AutoRiksha’ (not tuk tuk, Paul) in Mumbai and Delhi and this is way safer and comfortable. Well you can say it looks like a grasshopper or whatever but i think is suitable for Indian roads and users. It would be pointless to compare it with a Guigaro or Bertone designed car, cos Styling is last on the priority list.
    TATA is doing something good for India market and i don’t think they will be exporting this vehicle any time soon. Anyway their internal market is already sufficient without exporting.

71. 112bz says:

i’ll drive that. Cute and fun!
    In Japan, you can see worst than this.

72. mitlanevo says:

for short distance, this is perfect, much better than riding a bike…

73. JACK HAMMER says:

alansmithz said,
    January 7, 2010 @ 11:13 pm

Look 1000x better the the fugly Proton Sawi. I haven’t even mentioned the uglist vehicle everr created by mankind >>Proton Juara<<

hahaha..
    this guy try really hard to be a basher..

if TATA put their emblem on a COW DUNG also he will say.. CUUUUN..

hahahaha….

74. JACK HAMMER says:

Peter said,
    January 7, 2010 @ 1:10 pm

This car is so “nice”

WTF?? hahaha..

u must be ridding a GWIZ rite now..
    http://www.carpages.co.uk/news/news-images/gwiz_15_04_05.JPG

TATA only sold 18 vehicles here last year..
    if they bring this van here.. it’s a suicide…

and 1st person to commit that is YOU..

75. W. says:

if sell in malaysia, should be more like beca replacement model.

76. Annoy-nimal says:

Funny looking car which might only suit Indian market. But at least they dont plagiarize other peoples designs like China manufacturers.

The van looks as if its going to roll over its roof under braking… then again, I suppose they dont use their brake that much over in those parts of the world… should work well with Hindi movie stunts.

77. djmeng says:

honda freed away better……paul should review that than this experiment vehicle..

78. squawk says:

Looks are subjective lah. A lot of kei cars won’t even pass our ‘appearance’ standards but sell well in Japan.

At least they’re trying to get people off bikes & trikes and into something relatively safer.

79. didi says:

Fuyooo.. magic betulla..

80. Elvis says:

When will our local manufacturers start to produce ‘kereta sapu replacement models’, or ‘beca replacement models’ or ‘taxi buruk mercedes kelantan replacement models’….

81. SKL says:

this is on the likes of what the Japanese use. If u dunno what i mean go to Tokyo. U will see worse ones

82. SY0H says:

This would be the next Proton Juara replacement model!

Proton, please get this into our local market and sell is RM100k without AP of course!!!

83. joseph says:

guys u are missing the point !!! its not abt aerodynamics, styling or any of the exteriors!! if its exteriors u r concerned with, take a bajaj auto !! what is the styling quotient??? so f**k that !!! talk of the purpose, talk utility, talk economics of an average auto driver trying to maitain hiis GAADI!! talk of pasenger comfort, talk of a workeable solution to travelling/ driving in a back bending useless-suspension rickshaw almost everyday for almost 18 hrs of the day !!! ever done that ???? see the point ????

84. Mg says:

There will be some idiots always to comment negative for every move someone make to improve the standard of living. This is a replacement for Auto Rickshaw and NOT for those who want to purchase a car.Are you crazy enough to think TATA is releasing this vehcle without passing the security tests? ‘N look?? Far better than the Rikshaw and much safe than it. Congratulate TATA!!

85. Peter says:

JACK HAMMER said,
    January 8, 2010 @ 10:42 am

Peter said,
    January 7, 2010 @ 1:10 pm

This car is so “nice”

WTF?? hahaha..

u must be ridding a GWIZ rite now..
    http://www.carpages.co.uk/news/news-images/gwiz_15_04_05.JPG

TATA only sold 18 vehicles here last year..
    if they bring this van here.. it’s a suicide…

and 1st person to commit that is YOU..

Bro, i say it is “nice”,….Not nice………”nice” = not nice la…..simple english leh….

86. Peter says:

Btw, i already had my persona . So i dont think i will be buying anymore car from now. Maybe i will wait for the next global version of persona in 2012.

87. Waiora says:

my kapchai has 14hp…from 125cc….

and they say 1.3 campro drinks fuel…because underpower…

now?

88. Jessen says:

The car looks like a frog… seriously ugly….

89. posters says:

maybe suitable in india.. but i dont think it is a good idea to bring that thing here… malaysia people should get better quality design car not things like this…

for the first time… juara looks better if put side by side with this thing…

i wonder.. time brek tayar blakang benda ni tercunggit tak…? or maybe not enuff hp to do that…

Previous Story: America’s top ten best sellers in 2009
Next Story: BMW X6 M now available in Malaysia!