Hyundai sales break three million mark in 2009

Hyundai sales break three million mark in 20092009 wasn’t a good year to remember for many, with the economy bringing sales figures down along with it. But some have turned crisis into opportunity, and companies like Hyundai bucked the downward trend to proof that people still need, and will buy cars, even when every business report and analyst preach doom and gloom.

The Korean carmaker’s sales volume breached the three million unit mark for the first time in 2009, recording 3,106,762 to better 2008’s sales of 2,783,052, an increase of 11.6%. Domestic sales rose 23.1% while overseas markets went up by 8.7% to support the overall figure. Of the 2009 total, 702,672 or 22.6% were in Korea.

Besides much improved cars, Hyundai also came up with innovative schemes to draw in the carbuyer hit by economic uncertainty. The brand’s “Assurance” programme in the US offered to buy back cars should the owner loses his/her job. As a result, Hyundai, along with sister brand Kia and Subaru were the only three carmakers in the US to have improved figures over 2008. In Europe, sales of its small cars, such as the brilliant i10, rose strongly due to car scrappage schemes which added discounts to its already value priced cars.

In Australia, Hyundai sold an all time high 63,207 units, up 39.2% over 2008, making the brand the clear winner in the 2009 sales race. This year should be even better, as new products like the Sonata YF and Tucson/ix35 gather momentum.

The Koreans are coming? No, they’ve already arrived!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:04 am

They haven't arrived here yet! :-)

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:09 am

Yes, you're right. To arrive in Malaysia is much tougher than to arrive in US, UK and Australia, it seems!

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:15 am

Even the Somali pirates want it. Go figure! LOL!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:32 am

THANKS TO "INTELLIGENT LAWS" BY THE GREAT G

• So it is time to buy Hyundai now in Malaysia, or is it not ?

• trav_da_man on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:03 am

I believe if our local Hyundai distributors went gung ho aggressive like how naza did, then hyundai will be a recognizable brand in mysia. The problem is they been alittle too quiet here.

Its a waste as they have good lineups that matches our buyer's taste. Bring i20 to fight against myvi, jazz or yaris, improve the accent and price it well to fight off the vios/city, and the avante/elantra to fight off the corolla/civic.

• TURBOfans-VW FANS-An on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:24 am

Go KOREAN!!!

• tripper on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:36 am

NAZA is waiting to get the distributorship !!

With a rebadged Hyundai..the prices will fall.

P1 will feel the heat soon !!!

• Whyu12no on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:38 am

waa 3 million… proton how much arr?

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:56 am

Hyundai under Sime now, difficult for Naza to get, plus they have Kia.

• alpha999 on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:02 am

unfortunately in Bolehland, in the mindset of many, though cost a bomb, toyota and honda are the prefered brands among the many

sales statistics years after years hav proven the jap brand far exceeded any korean brand….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:27 am

trav_da_man said,

January 8, 2010 @ 5:03 pm

I believe if our local Hyundai distributors went gung ho aggressive like how naza did, then hyundai will be a recognizable brand in mysia. The problem is they been alittle too quiet here.

Its a waste as they have good lineups that matches our buyer’s taste. Bring i20 to fight against myvi, jazz or yaris, improve the accent and price it well to fight off the vios/city, and the avante/elantra to fight off the corolla/civic.

—————————————-

naza has G backup

• I'm satisfied with my Proton(in term of handling), but I'm not proud of it, because the badge.

• I remembered the picture of pak lah with proton saga no. plated 3,000,000 in 2008. Mean what? proton produce 3 million cars in 24 years, hyundai need just a year.

• wolfsburg on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:18 am

I think Proton was less than 200k cars… lolx!

Hyundai+kia should be around 4.5million, about 23 times more than Proton!

Korea car in Malaysia needs more agressive strategy, hope that this year Naza can really pick up the sales of Kia with the great car such as Forte, Soul, Koup and Sorento. As for Hyundai, SimeDarby seems "lazy to bother", all the best to them

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:03 am

wolfsburg said,

January 8, 2010 @ 9:18 pm

I think Proton was less than 200k cars… lolx!

Hyundai+kia should be around 4.5million, about 23 times more than Proton!

Korea car in Malaysia needs more agressive strategy, hope that this year Naza can really pick up the sales of Kia with the great car such as Forte, Soul, Koup and Sorento. As for Hyundai, SimeDarby seems “lazy to bother”, all the best to them

————————-

yea the i30 is a good car. but not enough is being done to sell it.

• whystereo on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:15 am

sime darby need better marketing strategy for hyundai cars!!

look at how it is done by naza,

hyundai have some great cars, but no one know much about it, even malaysians kept negative thought such as, koreans < malaysia < japan… and what was that supposed to mean? and why is that? because low exposure…

• squawk on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:31 am

Sime would rather focus on higher end (= higher profit) brands in their stable.

• well can it surpass toyato sales of 8.5mil cars? not including sales in motocycle and trucks

• toyoltak on Jan 09, 2010 at 7:37 am

Toyota brand got Motorcycle?

• Lol, i guess he own a toyota bike

• akupung on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:46 am

belilah barangan buatan Korea

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:24 pm

A comparison between KIA cars and Proton cars:
    http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews/search?dimensi…

and here is Proton's offering:
    http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews/search?dimensi…

Aside from the obvious stars there, notice the CO2 emmissions in Proton cars. My gut feeling is correct. Not fuel efficient.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Danny Tan said,

January 8, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

Yes, you’re right. To arrive in Malaysia is much tougher than to arrive in US, UK and Australia, it seems!

Of course. That was what was intended anyway, isn't it?

Level the playing field, and you will see very quickly what sort of rubbish we have been stuck with the past 20 odd years.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:18 pm

4G63tDSM said,

January 9, 2010 @ 10:56 am

Danny Tan said,

January 8, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

Yes, you’re right. To arrive in Malaysia is much tougher than to arrive in US, UK and Australia, it seems!

Of course. That was what was intended anyway, isn’t it?

Level the playing field, and you will see very quickly what sort of rubbish we have been stuck with the past 20 odd years.

———————————

just look at the volkswagen golf, a car for the poor overseas. here its a luxury car.

• whystereo on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:27 pm

read this,

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/News/Story/A…

Hyundai poses threat to Japanese carmakers

• Yeap…sime darby more concern wt its high end/high margin bmw marque (auto bavaria)…bttr $$$$

• Peter on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:29 am

Guys, i agree with you that our local dealer is not a good dealer. Very slow also. Anyway, i was thinking of getting i30 last year when i was changing my iswara sport. But i got persona se instead. Local dealer is not really very good in bringing and selling the model out. There is alot of good hyundai cars. i20 can fight against viva and saga. i30 can fight against myvi. Elantra can fight with gen.2, persona. they also got many future cars which are so damn good. My friend who is a singaporean told me that hyundai elantra which is hyundai avante is the best selling model in singapore for 2009! it beat other japanese cars like corolla altis! So, your can understand why hyundai cars are not that bad as compare to proton and perodua. Please do something, our local dealer!

• Rhys Millen on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:09 am

Peter … you have got to me kidding us … i30 vs Myvi ????????? Avante Vs Gen 2 and persona ??????

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:30 am

Rhys Millen said,

January 9, 2010 @ 7:09 pm

Peter … you have got to me kidding us … i30 vs Myvi ????????? Avante Vs Gen 2 and persona ??????

————————–

yea should be i30 vs persona. avante vs perdana

• BrakeFader on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:06 am

Hyundai overseas market is value/budget segment. But in Malaysia it is positioned as Premium. i30 for 100K?? They must be crazy.

• Peter on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:41 am

i30 is a hatchback, myvi is also a hatchback. though its just engine difference where one is 1.6l/2.0l , the other is 1.3l. But well, avante is a sedan where gen.2 and persona is a similar comparison. So i am just comparing within the same segment of cars. It may be abit unfair due to the different engine capacity. But what i am trying to say is that actually hyundai has the ability to fight against our national company but the local dealer is not very good in marketing.

• chosun on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:49 am

sense toyota sales in deep shit in USA & EU, might have same fate as GM anytime soon. japanese domestic market also poor!

• ricaza (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 11:16 pm

http://www.whatcar.com/Review/EditionCompare?newO…

look at this comparison..

• Boink on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Hyundai is current 4th place in automobile market (google it up)… think they still need to break into our market???

• eddy chong on Mar 15, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Hi Paul Tan
    Very nice to read yr articles, easy to understand and current. Can you help me buy a new second small car for city use mainly (idling waiting for wife shopping also). My budget up to RM 75k and must be auto trans. My priorities are as follows, safety, nippy and comfortable to drive. No worries about FC. Been looking for i20, swift new model 2011 but cannot find enough info where to buy and price. Thanks for yr time,
    Rgds eddy