OUTRAGEOUS: The $220,000 Tata Nano!

A Tata Nano that’s more expensive than a Lamborghini Gallardo? As outrageous as that might sound, Mumbai based D.C. Design’s version of the world’s cheapest car is set to cost $220,000 or 10 million rupees, which is quite some distance away from the 100,000 rupee (1 lakh) price the Nano was designed to fulfill.

“We would like to keep the cost low but with the technology and the amount of work we will be putting into the car, the 10 million rupee price tag will be justified,” said Dilip Chhabaria, head of the specialist car refitting group that has worked for Bollywood stars like Shah Rukh Khan and Anil Kapoor

Much of D.C.’s Nano will be bespoke. The car’s basic silhouette will be retained, but everything else will go. The standard two-cylinder 624cc engine will be replaced by a 1.6-litre engine and the car will roll on 20-inch wheels. To accommodate the new engine, the rear seats will make way. D.C is targetting a top speed of 200 km/h.

“There will be a lot of tech wizardry in it, plenty of IT-enabled equipment. The idea is to give the world a feel of what India’s IT and automotive industries are capable of when working in synergy,” Chhabaria added.

The image above is of an earlier styling concept. The mega-money Nano prototype is expected in two months.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• radsan on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:25 pm

first!!!!^_^…omg better than lagi satu the alien face…

• narrowband on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:26 pm

isn't that just plain dumb?

• me0wster on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:28 pm

LOL!

• satekj (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:28 pm

crazy & stupid…

• lchan on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:35 pm

hahaha…God knows what this Dilip Chhabaria has been smoking…!!!!

• wuttaheck on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:37 pm

1ST!

this is insane…

• err..this if come to malaysia will cost a bomb??

• azrai on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Nonsense

• mitlanevo on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:41 pm

WOW… scary…

• corolla_KE70 on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:45 pm

by the end of the day, you are driving a TaTa… genius!!

• djmeng on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:54 pm

i prefer honda freed than this, seen once at honda pj …..shhh

• Kambing Gurun on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:00 pm

What about a $220,000 Viva?

• w_lighter (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:05 pm

"IT-enabled equipment"??? He mean like a desktop and shit? IT as in information technology enabled equitpment? does he even know what his talkin abt or his just tryin to sound cool. *facepalm*

• no one is going to buy this in malaysia. better get bmw or mercedes benz.

• Jeffrey Chew on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:26 pm

siao…

• Alpha on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:28 pm

wow~!!more than a Gallardo!!b4 this I always bash ppl that said certain cars in not worth buying la,sh*t la,too expensive la.but this one I myself will bash!!haha!!i really dunno anyone who would buy this kind of sh*t!!Nano will be nano.it won't be a mega,giga,terra or anythg else!!

• barium on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:32 pm

dont worry. just a proof of concept. or for the ppl who has money to burn or just plain stoopid. but hey, nothing wrong with that as long as u can afford it.

• Maverick on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:43 pm

I don't think its stupid, because the objective of the car is written clearly:

“There will be a lot of tech wizardry in it, plenty of IT-enabled equipment. The idea is to give the world a feel of what India’s IT and automotive industries are capable of when working in synergy,”

In fact, I think the people who buy the car is stupid, not the makers… lol..

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:43 pm

looks cool down…

it sound nonsense… ohya. we malaysia also have RM1 B to spend in a race wat..

• Ford_GT on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Ingat kita bodoh ke ?

• upyours on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:26 pm

im so gonna get one once it enters our shores. im gonna be driving pass the gallardo and say…..whats up?!!!! real gangster like that

• Hmm so expensive for this kind of car? The name dont even show is expensive or the design. No matter what, people will always look up on Lamborghini rather than a TaTa even if it cost 10 times more than Lamborghini but hey,dont speak so soon.

• Joshua on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:43 pm

You all calm down….

Read the article few times before you say anything la. This car is to prove that TATA can design and have their own R&D implementing GREAT GADGET into the car unlike … ahem Proootooocheeew. Excuse me… I have a feeling this car will be able to drive by itself at 200KM/H! :D Lets wait and see … maybe teleportation? hahahahhaa

• totot on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Over priced car… Also have to admit there is lots of IT Specialist easily available from INDIA.

I found out when last time my college and uni days lots of those IT subjects and programming was thought by Master and Proffessor of IT from INDIA.

To have a car that has IT enable equipment and a top speed of 200km/hr on that kind of car is really unable to imagine. Hope to see the video of it or more detials of it (PIMP up tata nano)

• teamslepnine on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:45 pm

dammm someone on syabu again!!!

• alpha999 on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:00 pm

"1.6-litre engine and the car will roll on 20-inch wheels To accommodate the new engine, the rear seats will make way. D.C is targetting a top speed of 200 km/h."

aiyoyo…….a 2nd hand mod vios with 17 inch can do pretty much at the same speed for a tiny slice of the price…..damn….

• alpha0201 on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:17 pm

This or Gallardo hmmm… very tempting….

• Black Dog on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Just publicity stunt! I can announce to sell my 3 year old solidify shit, call it art and sell for 15 million! Anybody buy is another story.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:22 pm

this is like one of those modified proton's. sure u can invest as much money as u want but end of the day it's still a proton.

• xatomic on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:33 pm

totally no cool factor at all for spendin that money haha

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Key word…

bespoke…..

Things can be stupid expensive when its bespoke. I had a friend make me a CNC engine sparkplug cover out of billet aluminum. It would have cost well over RM$1000 for it (after conversion back to RM).

Some people here are just missing the point.

It said COST, not sell for. Its more likely a technology showcase, or proof of concept.

One off prototypes on the auto show circuits cost 10s of millions. This is budget price…..in comparison

• wmfoong (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:09 pm

what car of that ohhh ?? how can going to be high price .. ( RIDICULOUS )

• nazri on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:13 pm

why the picture the rim doesnt look like 20 inch? he khayal or not?

• drive such an advanced piece of car but still look like shit? no thanks.

i rather put my money in a car that is less advanced but looks tons better.

you can tell everyone this car has more IT than bill gate's home system but once they see that ugly car, people don't care. you're condemned.

• lambov12 on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:25 pm

it is just like putting a turbocharged perdana engine into the kancil ..

it will all goes wrong ..

• Anonymous on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:31 pm

stupid

• FRUST OWNER on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:36 pm

even satria /gen2/waja 1.6 with 4 seats also can get 200km/h la…..

neeed to buy till USD220,000

USD17xxx only.

• squawk on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Our 'Abang' shop also can do what.

• funny on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:54 pm

i think they put the supercomputer into the car, and a lot of phone to handle call station.

• afkar (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:26 am

Kambing Gurun said,

What about a $220,000 Viva?

————-

haha,think like me..

btw,this car is not really intended to be sold,i guess..mr dilip even stated,''The idea is to give the world a feel of what India’s IT and automotive industries are capable of''..so,its kind of,show-off actually..

• gey2718 on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:31 am

faster build viva with 2.0 V6 rear engine, selling 1million ringgit!

• Neutral on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:33 am

It's a Marketing strategy, a smart one..I bet if Proton Satria Neo has it way to get these gadgets and style turn-over and selling it at RM2, 000, 000. 00, there will be a lot of people buying convention Neo and modify as if it's one of these millions babe..u know la, Malaysian brain..At the end of the day, they need no effort to sell any single piece of 'Million-Nano', but few thousand pieces of 'cheap-Nano' will be stalking on the street. Best, some of them even make it looks like 'Million-Nano'(like remove back seat, change tire into 20"?)

Can u imagine if Proton produce a Neo with a 4.0L engine stalled behind, removed the back seat and make it transparent so people can see the engine(like Lambor), the tire replaced with 20" with stiffer suspension+loads of gadgets inside? I bet when that is out, lots of RM50k Neo will follow the same way, thou they can't get 4.0 under the hood, but they like it..Agree??

• amirzaim on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:35 am

tengok… tata lagi terer pi modify kereta kecil jadi kereta sport mengalahkan kereta Smart yang makin tak laku kat eropah!! orang India makin gila dengan perkembangan automotif. Malaysia macam mana?!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:36 am

Dumb. 200KM/h or not, the one bend and the car will easily roll over.

Also, upgrading a flawed platform still makes it flawed. Its like thos Ah Beng with their Kancil's. Larger exhaust and RM200k worth of mods will not make the car any faster than a 2.0l Civic. Or if it is that fast, its not safe, or comfortable also.

• peYno on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:37 am

Smart Fortwo ?

• Neutral on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:41 am

Best part was, they spend few money in R&D, buy 1 4.0L engine taro inside, and remove wateva looks 'not-so-cool-stuff' and replace with 'look-darm-cool-stuff'(Spends only few thousand I bet), and place it in one of Proton important show-room selling at RM2 mil. Ppl heard of it, ppl come n see,see,see and turn to 50k-satria neo n says:"I want this", n after 1 month, u'll the the exact 2mil Neo 'roaring' on the street, (with 1.6L CPS)..I like tat, smart man..

• loveyourdidi on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:43 am

that is mega ugly!

• Neutral on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:44 am

And non of the 2mil Neo was sold..bcoz tat was just for strategy..or maybe some '1-Malaysia-celebrity' will get 1..Oh, tat even burst the sales..bcoz they tot they own one exactly like the 'I-love-buatan-malaysia-celebrity' does..and at the end of the day who wins??Tata Nano wins..

• armandd on Jan 09, 2010 at 12:57 am

this is very typical of them.

• Sucks, kinda ****ing stupid

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:40 am

Only 1.6L? For that price, the should install bigger motor and try to get a kick ass quarter mile run or something like 0-60 mph in 5 seconds.

• Gajen on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:17 am

crazy…haha…who would buy this? aston's cygnet is stupid enough, now this is worst..lol

they should at least modify the aria rather than to modify this nano

• Haha!

• Carelton G. Bolus, A on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:48 am

What we have here are a couple of guys with WAY too much time and money on their hands.

• upyours on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:56 am

this is what they call gangster ride! for the real deal! this is the ishhhh!

• Totally agree with Neutral….

VW has done this with 650hp Golf W12-650 concept with, top speed up to 325km/h… but it fail around the curve due to MR setup and short wheelbase (based on 2 door version). It just the matter of showing you (conceptually) what they can do with their technology, it doesnt really have to be fully functional.

• And of course u hav to pay alot of money for a concept or limited run models…

At least that what in Mr. DC's mind I think…

Really hope Proton can come up with the same idea…

P/s: Renault also have done the same with their MPV Renault Espace F1 Concept but even crazier coz it powered by F1 V10 engine…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:06 am

jay-z is planning to buy a tata nano

• snake is always snak on Jan 09, 2010 at 6:54 am

Another sucks from land of curry. Better ask their IT expert to improved car design first! i dunno who want to buy this shit.

• Annihilated on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:06 am

relax.. they just want to do another Satyam..

• anonymous on Jan 09, 2010 at 8:52 am

The car might probably fly when it reach 200km/h, that's why it's so expensive.

• India want to boast their IT advancement? The price would justify if the can can drive by itself.

• what to show of, normal modified school boy can do r, with the huge bumper like bullet train +1.6 engine and then accident, all ppl died in the first corner..BTW how to go fast with 200kilo with indian magic road. LOL

this is totally rubish marketing idea

• kodok on Jan 09, 2010 at 5:50 pm

try to sell to Dubai?

• crappy flying coffin tin can selling at 200k…must be kidding.. of maybe they will put F-5E stolen engines in the car….

• iskett on Jan 09, 2010 at 9:40 pm

For $220k:

small car with ultra safety features (bombproof, etc) – maybe

normal brand with super displacement (eg. viper 15000cc)- maybe but unlikely

1600cc car with ultra technology (like knight rider) – maybe

but a shitty 1600 cc with 20'' rim and top speed of 200km ???

Our own wajalution can do much much better! For a tenth of the price..

One must be a real idiot, I mean REAL idiot to buy this regardless of how rich he is..

• looktothesky on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Only Indians will buy it

• Brainless people

• Prismo on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:25 am

Ratan Tata is sick i quest… :D

• pranish on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:04 am

Ratan Tata and Tata motors are savior in disguise. This car will cause more traffic congestion in India than before without the right infrastructure in place and not to mention debt to the population. Pure pressure of neighbor having a car will lead most Indian citizens to be consumed in debt. The lack of innovation and ingenuity in india leads the country to copy the western world mistake all over again.

• posters on Jan 14, 2010 at 6:09 am

mod skit2 bleh laaa, maybe for proof of concept.. but if i have more than $2**,***, i wont buy this car, better buy ferrari or lambo can go more than 200km/h lorrr…

• ……. I think I'll walk instead.

• TheKHAI on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

The front bumper is plagiated from Gallardo’s design?
    Surely they smokes ODWeed!!! (See YouTube)