Proton to participate in Geneva 2010 – world debut of new design language coming up?

Proton to participate in Geneva 2010 – world debut of new design language coming up?In the last few days of the 2009, Proton styling department chief Azlan Othman revealed that an announcement would be made soon on the showcase of a new design direction and language for Proton Design. He mentioned that it would be a ‘worldwide announcement’, and I think Proton MD Datuk Syed Zainal has just given us a clue as to when this announcement is going to happen!

He revealed at Proton’s 2010 Family Day celebrations that Proton would be participating in the 2010 Geneva Motor Show in March this year. Geneva is probably one of the most important non-American market motorshows out there along with the Frankfurt show, which is just a wee bit strange considering there are no Swiss automotive manufacturers.

A Geneva exhibit usually warrants something big to showcase to make it worth it so maybe… just maybe… perhaps what Azlan meant was that Proton could be showing an interesting concept car featuring future design language elements in it? Peugeot is also taking the same route, showcasing its Peugeot SR1 Concept there.

Other than that, DSZ also said that the Exora is due for a Middle Eastern market debut soon, and a consolidation process of its Shah Alam and Tanjung Malim plants are underway and scheduled to complete by the end of this year. No details have been revealed but in Proton’s current overcapacity state we might see Proton consolidate all manufacturing in one plant?

Until March then!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• GO GO GO!

• Littlefire on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:50 am

Well, i gonna bet they will use Lotus as their main brand to introduce their sport car first before letting Proton slide in as well… I can guess they will intro their Campro Turbo engine + Exora also…

• infinity on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:07 am

This is interesting!Countdown to March!

• eadgez on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:16 am

woooooow..cant wait. !! ^^

• Superman on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:19 am

Good Job PROTON… make the basher eat their own rubbish,sticky words!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:29 am

omg…proton is about to let themselves down again, like the last time they were in geneva, they made a fool out of themselves and disgraced the country

• bring it and make malaysian proud

• All the best to PROTON.. Make us PROUD..!

• campromania on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:47 am

Good job Proton!! it's time to showcased Proton new global car, Persona R…i got info Persona facelift will also launch on March..

• I just hope that actions follow this Geneva Motor Show.

There's strong demand in Europe currently for economic cars, Renault's Dacia increased sales 50% in 2009.

Where is the 'left hand drive' Proton for continental Europe?

• Tiadaid on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:48 am

The Swiss may not have a motorcar company, and they banned motorsport for 52 years, yet they still have the 2nd important autoshow. Maybe the carmakers are interested in the Swiss scenery!

• exciting.

cant wait

• Infinitt on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:43 am

Good Luck Proton.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:49 am

i can't wait for Top Gear to make a joke out of this.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:10 am

Dun let us down…

• chinaman on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:20 am

Mohd said,

January 9, 2010 @ 9:48 pm

Where is the ‘left hand drive’ Proton for continental Europe?

they do have lhd car for Middle East, China and C.Euro like Savvy, Gen2, Wira, Satria, Iswara etc

• a lot of improvement was done i thought with their partner also can be reveal.

The show of will make us proud

• redfueler on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:28 am

come on..anybody know about it pleasee reveal it soon as possible p1…

im really exciting to know it!!!

• funny on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:44 am

make us proud, by giving us good thing,not that cheap and dumb car.

exora and savvy is going to sell like hot cake in middle east i'm sure.

• orido on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:51 am

unlike Perodua, which only produce a rebadging cars for years already. Proton is the ONLY real Malaysia car manufacturer.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:54 am

Only hope that it is a pre-production concept and not a concept that will never see the light of day.

• letstorque on Jan 10, 2010 at 7:58 am

looks like Mazda 3 MPS is alone, the only Proton basher here. Hahaha

• theanswer on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:07 am

unlike Perodua, which only produce a rebadging cars for years already. Proton is the ONLY real Malaysia car manufacturer.

bla..bla…did u heard the news abt lancer ckd? did u forget where satria and wira came from? forget where 4g93 or 6a12 came from? rebadge or not…sale figure is the most important. no use to produce ur own car when u lost ur sales figure to rebadge car. dont flame me..flame the sales figure.

• Kambing Laut on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:22 am

orido said,

January 9, 2010 @ 11:51 pm

==============================================

I heard Perodua also join it. They will show daihatsu model. hahaha

• shaifz1 on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:57 am

Lets wait for the news, hopefully it will improve Proton's image with new direction and philosophy.

• shawal on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:02 am

All i can is pls pls pls don't embarrass us , and all the best….

• redxdevil on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:35 am

go to hell la perodua.. rebadge car. overrated car. overpriced car. poor rakyat

• paul and danny

please do best cover for ppl if have a chance be there

• Maes Kurt on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:01 am

Can't wait to see Proton cars in Europe !!!

First see.. and then buy one ?

• rakyat bukan bodoh on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

Ok but they still put cheap price full spec cars to foreign markets…not to rakyat

even they go to geneva pun still the same

DSZ read this pls..

• nudin on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:26 am

to be a rival for all the big name…this not just marketing but this the improvement. a lot change already, compare when they introduce waja.

when they ready to be there, mean they are ready to build the good good product and same level with others

• itunes on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:28 am

Good luck Proton. Hope that the announcement will

be the turning point for Proton on its future direction and

its aspirations to be a global player.

• Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 9, 2010 @ 10:49 pm

omg…proton is about to let themselves down again, like the last time they were in geneva, they made a fool out of themselves and disgraced the country

—————————————————————–

shame on u la Mazda3 WTF!!.. shows that u're a CHICKEN!!.. at least P1 have da guts to improve n expand.. all da best n good luck P1…

• come on proton go for bigger scale sales !

• Meanwhile, Syed Zainal said, Proton would participate in the 2010 International Geneva Motor Show for the first time. (bernama)

Hmm what the heck was Mazda 3 MPS saying huh?

• tedrichie on Jan 10, 2010 at 11:16 am

hmmm i guess malaysia need to provide better stuff if want compete…

• hiruma kecil on Jan 10, 2010 at 11:52 am

mazda3 always mazda 3… as usual.. mazda 3 is a loyal proton basher…

• Tiadaid on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

theanswer said,

January 10, 2010 @ 12:07 am

bla..bla…did u heard the news abt lancer ckd? did u forget where satria and wira came from? forget where 4g93 or 6a12 came from? rebadge or not…sale figure is the most important. no use to produce ur own car when u lost ur sales figure to rebadge car. dont flame me..flame the sales figure.

——————–

Sales figures are not representative. When it comes to Malaysians, there's so many outside influence that affects the sales figure, like brand. Even if the car's a dog, people would buy it if it's the right brand.

• peYno on Jan 10, 2010 at 12:29 pm

prrrftttt look like Mazda 3 MPS aka Ah beng japs wannabe become endangered species nowadays…

maybe so sad because big bro Daihasu doesn't allow perodua aka Malaysia Juara kampung to do showcase in Geneva…

prrrfthhh

• Satria Neo S2000 fan on Jan 10, 2010 at 2:58 pm

All the best, Proton

I wish they(AND VENDORS TOO)could improve their parts quality significantly…

• Littlefire on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Besides that, Proton until now also still using Mitsu Auto Gearbox.. Need to add that as well…

If i not mistaken all gearbox from manual to AMT also from other manufacturers.

Anyway i still so funny that if Proton already so success, what the heck the G so scared to open up the market? Scare to loss, chicken or just want to monopolize even more market for their own pocket? Open up and take others challenge fairly, if you still manage to win others. We will solute you Proton..

• abang haji on Jan 10, 2010 at 3:30 pm

funny said,

January 9, 2010 @ 11:44 pm

make us proud, by giving us good thing,not that cheap and dumb car.

exora and savvy is going to sell like hot cake in middle east i’m sure.

have you been to the middle east?? Both cars can sell like hot cakes IF they have bigger engine. Most of them love big engine cars, innova over there is a 2.7 and SUV rules the street. I only saw 1 waja when I was in Mecca from a sea of american chevy & ford.

• peYno F**K on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm

kau ni peyno…asik bising jela…macam kau jela tau sume..macam kau jela yang bagus…aku tengok kau ni macam JoeOoi dulu..macam die jela bagus…kalau da tau ko tau sume tu baik ko jela jadik journalist kete…nak gak aku tengok kau bagi comment cket..abis sume pendapat org kau bashed..kau igt kau sorg jeke yg bole tulis kat blog ni??jangan nak tunjuk bagus sangat…kalau kau mmg bagus sepatutnye bukannye kau kene bagi komen sindiran..tapi tunjuk ajar dengan baik..kau ni mmg seorang yang biadap…

• upyours on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm

good luck Proton! all the best!

• peYno F**K on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:19 pm

kau ni pon peyno..kire jaguh kampung gakla kan..kat comment proton n perodua x abis2 panjang lebar kaunye comment..cube kau bagi comment panjang lebar kat news kete lain..nak gak aku tengok..

bukan ape..ada gak orang lain yg defend proton..tapi at least care derang balas balik kat proton basher tu aku tgk xla sebiadap kau..at least derang cakap in manner way lah..nk harapkan kau..lame dah aku tengok..haprak pon xde..

• Shafiq on Jan 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Finally, some gear kicking in. Nevertheless, may this decade bring P1 to be a true global player. All the best.

• RedLine on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Good luck Proton…please make our country proud….if Kia and Hyundai, who initially many people hate and many people laugh at their cars, but now they are gaining international recognition and popularity…hopefully proton can eventually follow the same path…

• alpha movers (Member) on Jan 10, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Kambing Laut said,

January 10, 2010 @ 12:22 am

orido said,

January 9, 2010 @ 11:51 pm

==============================================

I heard Perodua also join it. They will show daihatsu model. hahaha

yes it is true… P2 engineer only can design rear and front bumper only… oppsss… forgot!!! they do not design… they are copycat from others… claimed myvi se design with new bumper but @55… looks like subaru impreza bumper to me…

P1 are design from zero until come out are "real car" although not as our expected cars, but they are designed by themselves… not copy from others..

• Han!h on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

All the best P1!!I'm always a loyal follower of you.Eagerly awaiting for this March… =D

• khaix19a on Jan 10, 2010 at 6:33 pm

wow….new improvement by proton…..good job proton…

• orido on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:19 pm

theanswer said,

January 10, 2010 @ 12:07 am

Doll… that was when? years ago rite? Look at Perodua now, they are STILL producing a rebadged cars and PROUD at it. Just look at Perodua Nautica. Have you EVER seen these cars in our street? That is a result of a stupid strategy of Perodua which they thought they can compete with Toyota with the same exact model.

• makan makan on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:53 pm

..may be P2 can also showcase their 'bumper' design language

• semoga berjaya..n jangan malukan Malaysia…kalau setakat rebadge, tak payah pergi pun takpe…tiada apa perlu d banggakan…wp mendapat taraf tertinggi sekalipun…pergi biar dengan usaha kita sendiri..buruk ke baik ke, semua nama usaha Proton dan bukannya dengan nama pemalas dengan rebadge seperti yang d lakukan Naza n perodua…

• P1 need a diesel to do well in Europe.Plus a left hand drive

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm

i can't wait to see the new design language… gud luck… proton and vendor only need to improve their material quality…

• what product p2 want to show of just proud to be jaguh kampung with rebadge even ppl outside dose'nt know their name.Im also doubt until when T & D want to allow to rebadge thier car.Last2 p1 kutip to be partner to safe form lingkup..will surprised ah beng thier lovely car not exist anymore with japan DNA died..

But 2012 p2 will rebadge again to replace their myvi

sure ah beng just mannasee new design bumper from their expert

• bmpower on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Mazda 3 MPS, you should shut up!.

You're embarrassing and disgracing the real Mazda 3's owner!

+++

Good move proton.

Just make sure exora for europe had 1.8 and 2.0 engine option .

1.6l is a joke for them.

• nudin on Jan 10, 2010 at 9:50 pm

peyno

please la dont kutuk ahbeng proud car..despite p2 not will be there but sure

they will proud to see their toyo and daiha with concept car..actually they jsut pretend to be japan wannabe.LOL

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:10 pm

how sad this proton drivers. talking among themselves in this little blog cause they can't face the world. i bet half of them can;t even afford to go to geneva.

• squawk on Jan 10, 2010 at 10:16 pm

As I've said before, it's about damn time. Can't comment on anything yet until they reveal their language/direction.

• sy8_nemesis on Jan 10, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Meanwhile, Syed Zainal said, Proton would participate in the 2010 International Geneva Motor Show for the first time. (bernama)

Hmm what the heck was Mazda 3 MPS saying huh?

fade, i think Mazda 3 MPS is so full of shit……

doesn't read first, he's a basher with no knowlegde……..

if u like mazda so much go japan n live there la……

• kancil elite on Jan 10, 2010 at 11:50 pm

their overseas marketing is more for pride than profits…

the funding for marketing comes from the easy profits from local market protection…

• Indrek Siitan on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:02 am

Paul,

Geneva was chosen as a venue for the spring show exactly for the reason that there are no Swiss automakers – to be a "neutral ground".

And the fall show is then alternated between the two biggest auto maker countries in Europe – Germany/Frankfurt and France/Paris.

• kickoutstupidbasher on Jan 11, 2010 at 1:57 am

paul,what italdesign giugiaro<correct? involve in p1 new style & design kaa?

btw,sorry 4 my broken english….

• peYno on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:11 am

sy8_nemesis said,

January 10, 2010 @ 3:32 pm

fade, i think Mazda 3 MPS is so full of shit……

doesn’t read first, he’s a basher with no knowlegde……..

if u like mazda so much go japan n live there la……

==============

prrfthh he is not even Mazda car.. he is just typical Ah beng japs wannabe who can't afford JDM car and just own perodua car , then go shopping at halfcut shop and transform his car to JDM.. and felt like driving JDM oredi

pity ah beng

• peYno on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:13 am

bmpower said,

January 10, 2010 @ 1:35 pm

Good move proton.

1.6l is a joke for them.

============================

if the cc is 1.6 but the output is same as 2.0 engine .. why not??

so Turbo is the best solution and of coz turbo is a norm in europe indeed

• Salamandar on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:30 am

how sad this proton drivers. talking among themselves in this little blog cause they can’t face the world. i bet half of them can;t even afford to go to geneva.

=============================================

Seriously, I pity you Mazda MPS for spending your time reading the comment in this blog on Sunday, replying every comment that was intended to you . I pray that you will have a better life in future :( . Then again obvious troll is always obvious.

As for Proton, Keep up the improvement. At least you are making constant small progress.

• Tiadaid on Jan 11, 2010 at 2:46 am

Littlefire said,

January 10, 2010 @ 7:10 am

Besides that, Proton until now also still using Mitsu Auto Gearbox.. Need to add that as well…

If i not mistaken all gearbox from manual to AMT also from other manufacturers.

——————–

So? Other car makers use gearboxes made by other companies like BorgWarner, ZF & Getrag among others. What's your point? Why don't you bash BMW or Mercedes for not designing their own gearboxes?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 11, 2010 at 3:56 am

geneva motor show….it's neutral. i'd doubt they can even smell a whif of air of paris and frankfurt. proton is a total disgrace

• dzulx on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:10 am

Indrek Siitan said,

January 10, 2010 @ 5:02 pm

Paul,

Geneva was chosen as a venue for the spring show exactly for the reason that there are no Swiss automakers – to be a “neutral ground”.

—————–

Make sense…Geneva always have "neutral" image worldwide..

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 11, 2010 at 4:20 am

Proton will have better chance if they try to revive the Proton Juara "refrigerator" concept. Haha.

• squawk on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:03 am

bmpower, one of the Citroen C4 Grand Picasso MPV variants has the 1.6l Prince engine as its heart.

• bashbash on Jan 11, 2010 at 6:11 am

SY0H said,

January 10, 2010 @ 8:20 pm

Proton will have better chance if they try to revive the Proton Juara “refrigerator” concept. Haha.

Proton Juara is from Mitsu model..So mitsu should revive that thing..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 11, 2010 at 8:24 am

bmpower said,

January 10, 2010 @ 1:35 pm

Mazda 3 MPS, you should shut up!.

You’re embarrassing and disgracing the real Mazda 3’s owner!

+++

Good move proton.

1.6l is a joke for them.

———————

you are a disgrace to bmw. in europe, the way to go is turbocharging. the japanese started that a long time ago with their supercar beating evo and impreza

• Actually, a 1.6L exora is the way to go for Europe. They really arent crazy for big engined cars. Or maybe even a 1.3L CPS Turbocharged Exora. (keep in mind the Avanza once had a 1.3L engine :) )

• along on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:33 pm

Hopefully P1 can do better and better in the near future. Please improve the quality of your product. Good luck.

• Marilah Memacu M&#03 on Jan 11, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 10, 2010 @ 2:10 pm

how sad this proton drivers. talking among themselves in this little blog cause they can’t face the world. i bet half of them can;t even afford to go to geneva.

Ur a disgrace, Paultan.org is not little blog like u said.

Its the biggest automotive blog in M'sia.

If you don't believe me, you can check yourself at who.among.us stats
    http://whos.amung.us/pro/stats/maps/reaf/
    Thousands readers all around the world come here everyday.

In fact you are the one that is so little….

• yippi33 on Jan 11, 2010 at 9:52 pm

good luck p1..concepts are the way to go…from concepts, we can derive new models..engaging italian designers are a good move to enter the europe market..maybe setting up an overseas RnD is next??

• Double-77 on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:12 am

superb P1!!!!…go for it…proud of MALAYSIA….shows all the BaSHERS that P1 is the only original car manufacturer ever…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:42 am

Double-77 said,

January 11, 2010 @ 4:12 pm

superb P1!!!!…go for it…proud of MALAYSIA….shows all the BaSHERS that P1 is the only original car manufacturer ever…

—————————

how original. once a proton loser , forever a proton loser. if u were smart, you do not have to drive a proton.

• tychoon on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:47 am

Original car manufacturer ?

What's the use if they come up with crappy campro !!

Don't start this Msian culture of counting chicks b4 they are hatched.

don't boast !!

We are still waiting for the announcement. If it is not up to our

expectations then the bashing will definately be magnified !!1

• KickingDust on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:53 am

Hi Paul,

I understand this blog where many will share their opinion constructively. Your website is not only viewed locally, but I’ve have seen international automotive users browsing ur web in Indonesia, Taiwan and even from Australia for further understanding.

In behalf of the genuine contributors & members here, I suggest that you look into censoring some of the write ups here and even specifically some id's if the personal bashing makes no sense as it looks obviously to be propagandas by some automotive players.

Cheers,

• Gear 5 on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:03 am

There's no need to shout so much about going to Geneva. Yes, its an achievement. But remember also, it's about branding. As simple as that. So Proton, take your steps right. To all P1 supporters, please be mindful of what you say and do not forget the saying.."History repeat itself" if you are so arrogant!

• Dude, you are no different from the basher.

I say give proton a chance. 25 years on and they are doing quite alright. Not superb, but they are definitely competitive (yes, you do see protons in langkawi) and are holding their own in our neighbouring countries.

I see the Proton taking a very similar path to Hyundai and Kia, both of which also had very heavy protection from the government in the early days. Note that Hyundai is more than double the age of Proton. Look where it is now.

Compare apples with apples. A RM60k top of the line Persona with leather seats would be competing against say a Vios or a City, that in a fair-tax scenario will still cost about RM70k.

The Mazda3 is in a different league, as is the Civic and Corolla. As far as I know proton specializes in budget cars…cars that would be cheap even if there are no special advantages granted to it. Protons are more expensive in thailand than in malaysia, yet they are still cheapest in the category of cars in which they compete (excluding Chinese/Indian makes). If you think you will be driving your mazda3 for only RM60k if proton didnt exist, you are gravely mistaken. The mazda3 currently costs about RM90k in Australia with all OTR costs in cluded (ignore web prices).

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:53 am

KickingDust said,

January 11, 2010 @ 9:53 pm

Hi Paul,

I understand this blog where many will share their onion constructively. Your website is not only viewed locally, but I’ve have seen international automotive users browsing ur web in Indonesia, Taiwan and even from Australia for further understanding.

In behalf of the genuine contributors & members here, I suggest that you look into censoring some of the write ups here and even specifically some id’s if the personal bashing makes no sense as it looks obviously to be propagandas by some automotive players.

Cheers,

———————–

well some of the nonsensical declarations by the proton fans like "best design", "superb performance" and "most original carmaker in the world" greatly provokes the emotions of people who do not think so.

• Double-77 on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:02 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 11, 2010 @ 7:42 pm

how original. once a proton loser , forever a proton loser. if u were smart, you do not have to drive a proton.

———————————————————–

u think u are smart?…damn la..if u smart, u no need to bash here & there..condemns like barking dog…pleae la man…if proton not smart, they are not capable to produce a car..atleast they are trying from zero to hundred..

• tokmoh on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 11, 2010 @ 11:53 pm

well some of the nonsensical declarations by the proton fans like “best design”, “superb performance” and “most original carmaker in the world” greatly provokes the emotions of people who do not think so.

>>> Blaming govt for high tax, asking proton to close shop, name-calling other people doesn't make sense either.

You, ma'am, need to see the world. Go to other countries that you think will give you paradise and then come back and say whether it is paradise. Don't just keep comparing, DO IT. If you feel good there, well, that's good for you.

I'd rather read comments made by dreamers than ones made by sourgrapes like you.

• Hi Paul,

Readings all the comment posted here made me realize that Malaysian became too attached to their car. A lot of sentiments does not have direct relation with the article that you have well composed. I, myself own a Waja and it is just a car that transport me from point A to point B. Owning a car is not an investment and I just spend 2-3 hrs driving it, in normal day.

To sum it up, you own a car, that's great. You want them (P1 & P2) to improve, give constructive comments. You want your view to be respected, give respect first; write with care. Is there any joy if you're stuck in traffic all the time, body paint scratched, accident, brake down etc? Less emotion please. All the basher should enroll to Raja Lawak. you could win yourself a car..

• http://www.salon-auto.ch/en/exposants/index.php.

proton not in the list…. but lotus will participate….