Detroit 2010: Volkswagen New Compact Coupe

This is the Volkswagen New Compact Coupe (NCC), Wolfsburg’s Detroit show star. Looking a lot like a “poor man’s Audi A5” the NCC is powered by a hybrid powertrain which combines a 1.4-litre TSI engine with 148 bhp and 220 Nm and a 27 bhp electric motor VW calls E-motor. Naturally, power goes to the front wheels via a 7-speed DSG gearbox.

VW quotes great consumption and emission figures – 23.8 km/l economy and 98 g/km of CO2 to be precise. As a comparison, the Eos Bluemotion is rated at 16.1 km/l and 144 g/km. Performance is not sacrificed to achieve this; 227 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds are resepectable.

A 1.1 kWh lithium-ion battery pack stored in the NCC’s rear powers the E-motor. Efficiency measures include regenerative braking, stop-start and a “coast down” measure, where engine is disengaged from transmission as soon as the driver releases the gas pedal. This is even possible at higher speeds, as in highway cruising. Drag losses are eliminated, so the NCC coasts for a long time to save fuel.

At 4.54m long and 1.78m wide, the NCC has a similar footprint to the Jetta, although it has a lower roofline and longer wheelbase (2.65m) than the sedan. Boot volume is 380 litres. The four-seat coupe is positioned between the Scirocco and Passat CC. You can probably image that the new Mk6-based Jetta will be a four door version of this one.

Everything looks highly ready for production, from the simple, cleanly designed body to the cabin that uses parts found in current VW models. Chief Designer Klaus Bischoff describes the NCC as having a “timeless dynamic and purist elegance that is typical of Volkswagen”. When will it be launched? “When the time is right,” is the statement in the press release.

Full gallery after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=729]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sharviin Sasasey on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:15 am

audi?

• JLean on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:15 am

Wao, nice ride from Volkswagon. I like the design of it and this ride makes me love volkswagon even more but I still prefer Golf Gti

• timeless beauty – yes

if we look at latest ford focus, its very seasonal, not too soon it ll get bored, and fastly out dated.

thats why proton do cars in germans way.

• daemon on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:21 am

looks great… i like the interior…

• are you now at Detroit Auto Show?

• looks like a A4!

• AmirM on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:25 am

Nice one. It has the new Polo front. Too moderate, almost look like an Audi?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:27 am

this looks a lot like the jetta which was caught on spyshots a few days ago

• mitlanevo on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:51 am

why copy audi??

nice but weird at the same time, lol~

• design n platform sharing i guess..ok ma..cost effective..now everyone do like that..lalala

• Gajen on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:56 am

i think it looks a bit boring…the interior and exterior…audi S5 is better looking…

• koozold on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:59 am

they didnt copy audi. audi belong to VW, just they sharing the design..

• bumblebore on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:09 am

i bet if they remove both VW badges everybody will think it's an audi at a first glance. we know that they're under one roof, but this? come on VW

• toycar on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:17 am

VW always has very good engines and nice outlook.wonder if it will launch in malaysia

• i think VW interior looks better than audi`s which is plain especially the steering..

• E46 BMW

• shawal on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:42 am

kinda feels a bit like they're digging through their storeroom for parts and just assembled a car…but theres always a market for coupes~! , the front could be a bit sexier though..altho thats the CC's job , its a sensible looking car with economy to boot.

• oooh, interesting, but the rear lamps shouts AUDI to me. which isn't a bad thing.

• D' only on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:14 am

ohh.. fell in love with this car!

• klaka seram on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:30 am

nice design. but 2-door, 4 seats mmm not my taste.

• squawk on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:00 am

Same company different brand.

• droll on Jan 12, 2010 at 3:36 pm

forget the looks. the drivetrain is impressive!!!!!!!

• Tiadaid on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm

mitlanevo said,

January 11, 2010 @ 10:51 pm

why copy audi??

nice but weird at the same time, lol~

———–

Because they didn't have enough money left Porsche's takeover of VW? But if want to copy a car, you can't do better than an Audi

• moha3774 on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Same like siblings, some do resembles the other brothers and sisters… be it a poor version of Audi…I'm still to poor to own it even if it were to be launch here…

• KaiMun on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:45 pm

I agree that it is a "poor-man's A5"..

haha.. it is too obvious VW!!!

"Sharing is caring" that's the phrase..

Audi shares the design with VW because VW is caring very much with poor-man's wallet. Therefore, a "win win" situation is achieved.

Rich man = A5

Poor man = VW New Compart Coupe

= All money still channel to VW Groups… Yeah!!

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 12, 2010 at 7:46 pm

IF U CAN OWN A VW, U AINT POOR MAN.

FILTHY RICH MAN = WATEVER CAR HE WANTS

REALLY RICH MAN = MASERATI N BLA BLA

RICH MAN = A5

QUITE RICH MAN = VW NEW COMPACT COUPE

POOR MAN = EX5/HONDA CUB

• Clone on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:42 pm

look at those dashboard, very simple and nicely design. I think this car should be ready for production anytime.

• mohsin on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Whoaaa!! better than EOS bluemotion? I Like!

Performance too, 227 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds?

I like it more!

Bring it on here, fast!

• blurp on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:40 pm

I don’t quite agree with the phrase "poor man’s Audi A5" Whoever can afford new VW is not poor and you're talking about every new VW car's are above 100k. So tell me poor.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm

The phrase "poor man's Audi A5" is not meant to be taken literally, it's just a way of saying that A is a cheaper version of B, which is why it comes with inverted commas. Sorry if I offended you. I myself cannot afford a VW by the way.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:17 pm

in malaysia. volkswagen is luxury car. terrible.

• blurp on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:20 pm

ok danny, What if you own this car and your buddy say "hey you're driving a poor man's A5" how would you feel? happy because your car look's like A5 or sad because you cant affod a A5?

• Alanore Chong on Jan 13, 2010 at 2:22 am

Quite a poor design…

• narrowband on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:48 am

looks very unexciting…

• cloudye on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:23 am

looks pretty handsome to me. IMHO

• klaka seram on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:32 pm

whoever can afford a VW car in M'sia, definitely not a poor man.

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:56 pm

dood, just chill.. poor man rich man, if u can afford them, get it, if u cant get others that u can afford. car is just a form of transportation. why am i talking like a monk

• schizomoriya on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:13 pm

geez, its just a figure of speech guys, cut Danny some slack. in this day and age, we should look beyond our Malaysian borders – see things from a global perspective. the average Malaysian can't afford VW, no surprise there due to our auto industry policies. everywhere else, VWs are relatively more affordable (although still not *that* cheap), so dun so sensitive la!

• hi proton, can u design like this?… simple but smart what…

• “A poor man’s …” is just a figure of speech, no point getting offended with the writer, u might as well get angry with the inventor of the english language

side and rear profile is very well done…front is really bleh…boring and flat.