Toyota to campaign Lexus LFA in Super GT?

Looks convincing doesn’t it? I was fooled too, but this is just a very, very good rendering of a Super GT Lexus LFA in Lexus Team Petronas TOM’s livery. Toyota has not made any announcement to replace the long serving SC430 race car with its new hero, but wouldn’t it be nice to see the LFA go head-to-head with the Nissan GT-R and Honda’s “new NSX” HSV-010 racer?

These brilliant images are the work of Iain Chandler of Australia, who also came up with renderings of the LFA in other liveries. Do check out the rest of his work after the jump.

By the way, the Petronas backed TOM’s team were the overall champion in Super GT’s GT500 class in 2009 (with a 10-point margin over the Autobacs NSX), while drivers Jyuichi Wakisaka and Andre Lotterer came out tops in the driver’s standings ahead of Autobacs Team Aguri’s Ralph Firman and Takuya Izawa. Nismo’s GT-R was third in the team standings.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=728]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:30 am

HOW ABOUT A PUG CAR?

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:54 am

Shut up please, this is not for pug

• nice though

• mabuchi on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:56 am

wah look bombastic..4 sure it'll eat the new nsx in gt japan this season alive..

• alpha movers (Member) on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:02 am

wow!!!! petronas also involve here???? how much money they spent??? but proud to be malaysian, the only malaysia company in forbes 500

• shawal on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:06 am

this guy is gewwd

• mouse on Jan 12, 2010 at 1:58 am

very niceeeeee

• Ferruccio on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:22 am

As paultan said, its just an artist rendering. NOT REAL. But yes Petronas is successfully involved in SuperGT with TOM'S

• Swift on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:30 am

I've always been anti toyota but this looks freaking killer

• theanswer on Jan 12, 2010 at 2:52 am

dont anti toyota..except for vios model only. hahaha the rest like toyota supra,altezza,mr2..those are superb cars rite. nway, the successor for pug 407 will be 508. not 408. 408 is the sedan version of 308(china market only). 508 will be related to citroen c5 since both we share the same factoy.

• toyoltak on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:16 am

Last week's top gear got test drive LFA. Cool car but too expensive..(macam laa aku boleh beli…hehehehe)

• taboogen on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:40 am

just go to youtube and check out how Toms Petronas SC430 tapa GTR on corner and straight line. For me it worth every penny Petronas invest. As you know japanese are very fanatic on cars and very proud when they wave the petroas flag

• 20v_ke35 on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:31 am

now this what i call the really malaysia boleh!!!!!

• MazdAstina on Jan 12, 2010 at 5:47 am

can i get the guy to paint my car in real life?

• armandd on Jan 12, 2010 at 6:17 am

if there's anything from from the land of the rising sun than can beat the GT-R, this is it!

• No wonder we all got fooled hahaha!

It's a very, very good rendering!

• Realistic rendering!

• mystvearn on Jan 12, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Very nice rendering indeed

• Swift on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:09 pm

You're right Theanswer i used to be a Supra fan myself till i jumped ship to Honda supporting the NSX which was like the god of jap sports cars in the 90's. Well Toyota builds decent sports cars like the supra, mr2 n Altezza. But Didn't really like their production cars design much, too "uncle" for me :p except for the Camry. One thing that will never be replaced will always be the legendary AE86!

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:01 pm

not a supercar fan, i like honda city though

• chew ban (Member) on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:02 pm

:P

• hiruma kecil on Jan 14, 2010 at 7:05 am

ya haaaaaaaa…………

• hashiriya on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Love this artist rendering livery

• jeha144 on Feb 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm

saya n family penyokong kuat team toyota terutama team petronas n zent cerumo sebab keretanya memang powerfull dari honda dan nissan sama ada di selekoh atau dilaluan lurus.kereta toyota memang terbaik bila berada dalam perlumbaan antarabangsa..cuma kereta untuk pakai harian je rekabentuknya kurang menarik tetapi jimat minyak..jimat giler.apa apa pun honda n nissan semuanya kereta dari asia kita patut sokong biar kete eropah gigit jari nak lawan teknologi.hidup toyota,honda n nissan