New Kia Sportage revealed via EU patent application

These images are of the 2011 Kia Sportage SUV, revealed via Kia’s patent filing with the EU Patent Office. It shows either the production version or as some suggest, the near production concept that could be paraded at the upcoming Geneva or Seoul motor shows. The Sportage is scheduled to hit domestic showrooms towards the end of 2010 or by the first quarter of 2011.

Penned by former Audi designer Peter Schreyer, the mid-sized SUV features Kia’s new signature grille and sports a cleaner, less severe look than the Hyundai Tucson/ix35, which it shares underpinnings with. The Hyundai was introduced in Singapore last November with a 166 bhp/197 Nm 2.0-litre Theta II engine paired with a newly developed six-speed automatic, so we presume that the Sportage could carry the same drivetrain when it reaches our region.

More pictures of the Sportage from various angles after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=777]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• guardian (Member) on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm

well…. i dont like this car

• absolutely nice than expected

• nice looking, tail look like harrier, too tall, not so safe if speed

• For a second I thought it's a Sorento.

• Cutester on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm

I thought it was a Volkswagen at first…. Kia's design is now picking up very quickly (so as Hyundai).

• Proton Bashers Unite on Jan 19, 2010 at 5:52 pm

lol whoever leaked this pics is gonna get sacked

• Coolguru on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Sorento – coming soon??

• drMpower on Jan 19, 2010 at 6:48 pm

that so called Syncder grill.. it is everywhere is it?

hemm…

• raybrig on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:24 pm

nice design..couldnt wait to see it on the road later on….will its refinement will be good as the design???we have to wait and see..

• putra_rider on Jan 19, 2010 at 7:38 pm

rear look like vw golf gti..

front crv

• Roslan Abu Bakar on Jan 19, 2010 at 8:20 pm

Go Sportage Go….

• Black Dog on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Sorento? Heard some current Sorento owners, Naza charges very high service charges, around RM1000 even for normal servicing!

C'mon Naza, don't sell your car than slit people's throat! Buaya!

• squawk on Jan 19, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Looks nice but wheels make it look too tall.

• nighttrain on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

A true rival to the CR-V and Rav-4..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 19, 2010 at 10:39 pm

out of proportion

• Its very VW when i saw the 1st pic

• RedLine on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:14 am

It looks too similar to the 2010 Sorento.

• Gajen on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:34 am

looks just like tiguan! the front…only this this smiling more and the back is like audi….kia must be paying tonnes to their new designers…

• shawal on Jan 20, 2010 at 2:04 am

Looks far ahead of previous model… good job Kia…

Theres a hint of Mitsu's Outlander round the B n C pillar …but its okay….

• The rear lights are from Lancer?

• Black Dog said,

January 19, 2010 @ 1:02 pm

Sorento? Heard some current Sorento owners, Naza charges very high service charges, around RM1000 even for normal servicing!

C’mon Naza, don’t sell your car than slit people’s throat! Buaya!

———–

That depends on what they changed and at which mileage they are servicing their car. A 4WD has many items to change at certain mileage points and RM1k is not a big deal.

For most other non-4WD Kias, the servicing costs are reasonable. More so for the latest models which hardly break down.

• farghmee on Jan 20, 2010 at 3:05 am

i like :)

• Neutral on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:50 am

me too :) i like this,if true will replace sportage

• Head Hunter on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:29 am

If you watch the Korean Drama IRIS, you will see this car in action. Looks good in motion. The picture doesn't do justice to the car. Hehehe..

• Additional on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:32 am

Yeah….Korean have done a good job…they make a good car now..

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 20, 2010 at 8:06 am

look like sorento little brother, these 2 cars target may target to same level of consumer..

• sparrow on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:42 pm

K7 SUV??? good!!!!

• Peter M on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:22 pm

I can't decide whether I prefer this to the Hyundai ix35, but each has its nice features. I don't like the thick C-pillar – that was well-disguised on the prototypes spied around the world. I'd like to see it with smaller wheels: those look huge. But well done, Kia.

• Seriously look like VW passat cc… Somehow they copied the looks… Damn

• squawk on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:27 am

Another Iris fan? :-) Yes, if you watched that series, you get to see a lot of Kias. And they all look good.

• Black Dog on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:33 am

Black Dog said,

January 19, 2010 @ 1:02 pm

C’mon Naza, don’t sell your car than slit people’s throat! Buaya!

———–

That depends on what they changed and at which mileage they are servicing their car. A 4WD has many items to change at certain mileage points and RM1k is not a big deal.

For most other non-4WD Kias, the servicing costs are reasonable. More so for the latest models which hardly break down.

——————————————

Not one but a few of my frens complaining Naza charges very high for only NORMAL oil and filter changes.

Kia's reputation is getting better worldwide and Naza should take this opportunity to increase market share. Other than good cars, volume will only go up if maintenance is low by having cheaper spare parts and service, and (if possible) resale value is good.

If Naza don't take advantage of this increase of Korean cars worldwide, then….very sad lah. It'll show the marketing dept (or whoever in charge) is really useless!

• AnakSarawak on Jan 21, 2010 at 3:31 am

Walauwey!!!!!!!

• Edward on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:54 am

squawk said,

January 20, 2010 @ 6:27 pm

Another Iris fan? Yes, if you watched that series, you get to see a lot of Kias. And they all look good.

————————————————————-

u r right….. The Kia Cadenza is a very nice sedan and the new sorento is a sure winner than CRV..

a little off topic… There will be IRIS season 2.. the storyline will depend on LBH…

• I drive Kia Sportage and the normal service bill is nowhere near RM1k as stated by some of you!!

• bslee on Feb 05, 2010 at 8:38 pm

NAZA has to improve their after sale service so that people has confident in buying their car.Often heard about problems like gear box or steering wheel vibrating at high speed etc which cant be solved by NAZA service crew…low confident level equal to low 2nd hand value…

• CarFreak on Mar 29, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Lol, another BIG COPY CAT after Proton, this is a clone brother of Audi Q5.

Wuahaha, good work, Malaysians will definitely opt for this.