Mitsubishi ASX previewed ahead of Geneva

Mitsubishi will premiere its ASX compact crossover at the 80th Geneva Motor Show in March. The ASX is the European version of the Japanese market RVR, which will go on sale next month. MMC’s small SUV seats five and will slot below the recently redesigned Outlander, now with Lancer style shark nose.

The Euro-spec ASX will come with an all-new Euro 5 ready 1.8-litre turbocharged direct-injection diesel engine, jointly developed by MMC and Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd. Featuring “Automatic Stop & Go” technology with a 6-speed manual transmission, the ASX is said to be very good for economy and emissions.

Not much details available for now, so take a look at the ASX’s rear after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gajen on Jan 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

that front only works on sedan cars like the lancer…i have no idea why they design this suv the same like the lancer…its very ugly

• Im very sick of Evo X front look.

• oliver chantk on Jan 20, 2010 at 9:09 am

Nice Audi Q5, wait.. it is made in Japan?

• shawal on Jan 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

looks desirable…, hint of merc on the side, n audi at he back…. all evo at the front…., get the quality niggles right n we have a winner

• ago87 on Jan 20, 2010 at 9:27 am

The rear is so weird…

• googal on Jan 20, 2010 at 9:39 am

looks so Volvo—ish

• mystvearn on Jan 20, 2010 at 12:29 pm

I don't like crossover vehicles. You just want the hieght without any advantage to driving experience. May be a hinderance.

• First thing comes to mind when I see this model is the similarity to Audi's front trapezium.

• I like this car… it going to be my next car when it launched… very nice…

• Gajen said,

January 20, 2010 @ 1:43 am

that front only works on sedan cars like the lancer…i have no idea why they design this suv the same like the lancer…its very ugl

…………………………………………………………………..

so why the BMW,AUDI,MERC n VOLVO design is same for All model.looking boring? that their identity.

• i think it looks good..

• azrai on Jan 20, 2010 at 3:56 pm

The nose cannot 'masuk' with this model. look really ugly.

• CiviCLisation on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Wow!! Another option for my shopping list in 2010!!

BTW will it make its way to our shore any sooner?

I have sick and tired with all the Civic sedan car on our road, Lancer is nice……but i wan a crossover!!!!

• why the same face as evo?

• DukeKTM on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:36 pm

KS..I agree…enough with Evo X front looks already….

I like Evo X but dont spoil the looks on other models…makes Evo X not unique anymore…vomit!!

• I like it but only 5 seater!

• kakit on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:48 pm

i think it look really good.. maybe this color is bit off.. beside i bet mmc will come out with the sport accesories like spoiler and skirt….

• sons of Tan Sri, on Jan 20, 2010 at 4:56 pm

its nice..

• Type F on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Seriously this SUV is ugly…

• hanssen on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:14 pm

All car's nose are quite boring these days…except Hyundays!

• The pejero was a best seller at a time. Will this model bring back that shine?

personnally.. i dont think so. Do know what has happen to those good old times. USF wake up!!!

• jolly_idiot on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:47 pm

The front doesn't match the rear. Rear look sporty and the front look aggresive.

• The Royal Proton Bas on Jan 20, 2010 at 5:51 pm

mitsu!!!! Schtoppppp with your shark nose. its awful.

• Peter M on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:06 pm

The specs were leaked in Asia last week
    http://www.users.on.net/~pbm/Mitsubishi_RVR/Blog/…

• I'm getting tired with the nose look oredi.

Please, no more of the nose…….

• Casta on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:48 pm

VNOZ….

USF no longer distribute Mitsubishi…& it has been quite sometimes to see a revolutionary ideas from MMC since Pajero made headlines almost 30 years ago…i'm hoping they can bounce back to be among the Top 3 makers in Japan.

• 1malaysia on Jan 20, 2010 at 6:54 pm

why the face so evo? i think it is going to be new trend for mitshubishi cars down the road, like it or not.

• buruk ke cantik ke org tetap beli…citarasa org semua tidak sama,,kalau sama parah la manusia tu.

• altimate (Member) on Jan 20, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Looks like it's made out of same Nissan Qashqai mould..

• Top 3 Jap Car makers will still remain Toyota, Honda & Nissan.. Theres no way Mitsubishi would even be in tht league… The only model that made Mitsubishi famous was the Lancer Evolution (MIVEC)… Perhaps they should try to outpace Mazda and Subaru first before even considered to challenge the Top 3..

• Thanks Casta for that info

i Hope they could also. Any idea of having this model, down spec for the nasty roads in malaysia? i dont like the triton.. getting too bulky for my liking.

• The Royal Proton Bas on Jan 20, 2010 at 8:31 pm

mitsu, just because this styling was successful with your lancer. doesn't mean it work with anything else. u guys ruined the mitsu colt and outlander which i loved a lot.

• kodok on Jan 20, 2010 at 9:58 pm

itu depan punya mulut manyak ugly wooooo

• RedLine on Jan 20, 2010 at 10:11 pm

Looks good, but I think the Evo front is way over-used. They should create something new for this SUV. This RVR is a small SUV, right? Something like Rav4 and Totoya Rush? Should be interesting…

• sedusaX4 on Jan 20, 2010 at 10:11 pm

I truely hope this car comes into Malaysia at the same price as the Vitara, Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson price range of 110K to 120K and it will truely sell like hot cake !

Mitsubishi Malaysia I hope you're reading this :)

• kimi_ on Jan 21, 2010 at 12:54 am

If proton has SUV in future, sure will use this chasis, like new waja use lancer

• Looks like kena langgar liao, not good shape. The car is small?

• Casta on Jan 21, 2010 at 1:14 am

mu77

For me simple, if Toyota can be current world no.1 & Volks EU no.1..mitsu also can..but with an effort to improve their product line up and after sales svs…to be fair in M'sia right now they performed better under MMM rather than USF..

Whatever it's, i really miss the L300…although it's consume fuel slightly higher than Bongo & Hiace…but when it comes for reliability & durability..it goes beyond expectation..like it!…I'm hoping they will really tie-up with PSA…

and unleash the synergies of collaboration thru better products & services..

• Black Dog on Jan 21, 2010 at 2:18 am

I'll prefer a tamer version with the wide gaping mouth tone down, by having the middle bumper body-colour and take away the chrome lining around the mouth.

Then it'll look more classier! Try it, DRB!

• seems that this car design 85% like mitsubishi evo 10, when look the same design being made at SUV..kind a weird…but still gorgeous…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:37 am

is this replacement for pajero io?

• mata-kungsi on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:42 am

mitsubishi dh xde idea lagi ker? smua je nk sumbat kepala evo x.. nampak totally pelik

• just me on Jan 21, 2010 at 5:52 am

sedusaX4 said,

January 20, 2010 @ 2:11 pm

I truely hope this car comes into Malaysia at the same price as the Vitara, Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson price range of 110K to 120K and it will truely sell like hot cake !

Mitsubishi Malaysia I hope you’re reading this

—————————————————————-

agree with you…

i like the design…

hope they price it attractively…

with Euro 5 ready 1.8-litre turbocharged direct-injection diesel engine

some more… cool…

maybe can do an "ASX Evolution" version also… =)

• hyundai = beautiful/nice?

wow…u should really get a pair of glasses…make that binoculars instead! LOL

• top_gunkits (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:27 pm

i think hyundai tucson ix better looking

• Chocolate on Feb 03, 2010 at 8:04 pm

I have seen this car in flesh in China about few months back. I was wondering if it was a Lancer-based SUV then. Looks real menacing parked admist the tamer SUVs.

• sci-full on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:17 am

i think i read sumwehre dat all current & future mitsu car designs will be based on the concept-x design by omer halilhodži?…

• i think te dsign is awesome… on te contrary, personally i feel te shark nose more applicable on tis SUV insted of Lancer. Looks fierce…