Official statement by UMW Toyota Motor regarding recalls in North America

Official statement by UMW Toyota Motor regarding recalls in North AmericaUMW Toyota Motor has released an official media statement regarding the ongoing recall issues faced by Toyota abroad. Here is the statement, published in verbatim:

On 21 January 2010, Toyota Motor Sales (TMS), United States released a media statement of safety recall campaign involving 2.3 million vehicles affecting eight Toyota models. TMS also released a follow-up media statement on 26 January, 2010 regarding the suspension of sales of selected models.

UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd would like to emphasize that we have received confirmation from our principal, Toyota Motor Corporation, Japan that all Toyota and Lexus models sold by UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd are not affected by this recall exercise. The accelerator pedal components of the affected models used in the US markets are different from the Toyota and Lexus models sold in Malaysia by UMW Toyota Motor.

We would like to advise that there is no cause for concern on this matter.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Colin Charles on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:16 am

I wanna see Toyota send this to every camry/lexus owner in a letter. They can SMS when its time to go and service your car, they should probably do similar here.

But thanks for the statement (I don't take things here as official statements btw). Where's this information on http://toyota.com.my/index.aspx ?

• squawk on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:32 am

The components are different here meaning it's a different design? Or different supplier?

• Nothing to worry now. i was correct with my statment earlier.. Malaysian assemble toyota's are not affected.

• Alamak on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:39 am

It's not defect la, it's the "Sportivo" feature! – automatically accelerate, even faster rite!

• errr….Toyota Caldina affected or not?? errrkk..

• To confirm it more, anybody that feels different about their toyota pedal should just now report it. Don't sweep under the carpet. You will JEOPARDIZE other drivers.

• raies on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:57 am

……al least request owner to service centre to double check………

• nabill on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:58 am

this is becoming too big of a news…snowball effect almost…toyotas made in thailand for southeast asia market is too crap to be affected i guess !! hehe….

im jus wondering , if u cut that piece of carpet directly behind the accelerator pedal wd it solve the problem ??

• White Jack on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:59 am

LOL… not sure how Toyota Msia sales in coming months :)

• Alamak said,

January 29, 2010 @ 4:39 pm

It’s not defect la, it’s the “Sportivo” feature! – automatically accelerate, even faster rite!

————————————————————–

and go to hospital faster…..kakakakaakak

• Had that sticky problem on my smart forfour a few months back. Turn out not the accelerator pedal problem but the thick factory floor mat instead. After removing the mat, everything went away.

• Jeffrey Chew on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:21 am

we r in RHD, no need to worry at all, even u bought the car from grey importer

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:38 am

here is how to get the accelarator pedal stuck:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfWETL493YQ

More like the carpet is causing it to stuck. 2nd hand toyota's would be cheap now. Maybe good time to go buy one. hehe.

BTW, buy a VW. Brake cancels accelrator

• klguy on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:20 am

toyota sales here will not get affected. if toyota giv malaysians a car with no brakes they will accept it saying its a good feature. same goes to honda cars here. unless its happens to malaysian or korean cars. stupid kiasis

• shooter on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:22 am

2.3 mil vehicles……tunggu apa lagi? cepat la bash!!! kalau P1 kena benda sama- hell hath no fury like a woman scorned….

• stuju dgn shooter…mana pegi hero2 yg kutuk proton teruk2?1 ape lg…ni la medan korng nk kutuk kereta2 yg assemble cam ni…sila2! klu proton wat camni…fuh!! smua org komen cam engineer!

• Toyota Required to Stop Selling Defective Vehicles, US Says
    http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-01-27/toyot…

• Toyota has a long history of trying to hide problems with their cars, such as the toyota sludge.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs7WI2s-CVw

• 2fast on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:17 am

Apparently this issue is not limited to the US. They are planning for cars sold in Europe and China too. Total recall is expected to be around 8 million cars!

I think one of the models being recalled in the US is the Corolla or also known as the Altis. Someone I know was planning to get the Altis but is postponing it until this serious issue is settled. No point getting it now only to get it recalled (if it happens) later.

• Eyesore on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:31 am

the accelerator stuck due to the matt was I think last time issue…. this time if I remember it clearly from Paul article earlier the pedal still stuck even without the matt…. so if that's the case, it is a really2 worrying problem… serious design flaw or durability problem…

• Eyesore on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:34 am

Here's a quote from previous article…

"Toyota has investigated reports of sticking accelerator pedal mechanisms in certain vehicles without the presence of floor mats. There is a possibility that the accelerator pedal may, in rare instances, mechanically stick in a partially depressed position or return slowly to the idle position. This unintended acceleration could prove to be dangerous."

Stuck even without presence of the floor matt….

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:51 am

just confess la toyota dont denied…..wait Malaysian driver die 1st ?????

just accept ur company problem ma….just

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:53 am

Confess la toyota dont denied…..wait Malaysian drivers die 1st ?????

just accept ur company problem ma….recall recall…Toyota Malaysia just focus on profit on……..So 2010 no bonus 4 staff

• ALKAZAM on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:56 am

thanks god!. is not happened in malaysia.

just waiting new camry.. probably march 2010.

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:04 am

Toyota statement is liar…just to cover the main issue….just to maintain business profit n their parent company pocket…correct????

2.3 million just at USA n Europe……Toyota treats same like proton but at least proton is better thn toyota wawaw……. toyota whre is ur supplier for the the component which affected USA n europe market?????So double standard for Malaysian…..

• Huh…different part?? its means diff RND ????? hu hu i dun think so…. they cheating Malaysian..

• wajarlah on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:20 am

T only shows their care to US people, Malaysia people boleh blah.

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:21 am

Dear P1 Gay Boys,

Let's put it into a simple equation shall we?

T-cars; 1 component problem out from 10 components?

P1-cars; 9 component problems out from 10 components?

So tell me who is worst?

Kecoh beb. Hahaha.

• theanswer on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:36 am

errr….Toyota Caldina affected or not?? errrkk..

caldina is an old model..so, not affected.

• Tiadaid on Jan 30, 2010 at 6:58 am

SY0H said,

January 29, 2010 @ 9:21 pm

Dear P1 Gay Boys,

Let’s put it into a simple equation shall we?

T-cars; 1 component problem out from 10 components?

P1-cars; 9 component problems out from 10 components?

So tell me who is worst?

Kecoh beb. Hahaha.

————————-

Dear Toyota Gay Boys,

1 component – 19 deaths!

So tell me, you still think it's worse? Plus it's not vendor's fault, it's a design fault! They designed it wrongly!

Continue to defend your death trap Toyotas!

• david on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:04 am

what abt those buying recond or grey market?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:07 am

Where is Kimi?..come here laa defend your beloved T..

Toyota-dulu buat kereta xbleh naik bukit. skrg buat kereta xbleh berhenti…

• subhero on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:10 am

now its time to buy PROTON. haha..

anyway, how about US/UK spec that sold in Malaysia?.. Recond car?..

why suddenly this happen?.. Toyota the grand company also can do a QC mistakes?..

• Toyota “will recall an unknown number of vehicles in Europe and about 75,000 vehicles in China for the sticking accelerator-pedal issue.
    http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/…
    ——————

They expane their recall to not only North America but also China and Europe.

They didn't recall malaysia.

• mr_3m on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:41 am

Toyota ker, Proton ker… semua sama jer…. lg pun all u Proton engineers perfect sangat ker? Mcm tak sabar jer nak tengok engineer Jepun, or foreigner fail… and then what? U r all satisfied when that happens? Just becos the Japanese screw up doesn't make you look any better pun…. right?

Your job still not done jugak, ye tak? Go and do your job properly so that whoever buys P1 is satisfied and make sure your component don't kill people in M'sia lah…. btw, how do you know Proton cars not one of the cause of deaths in many accidents in Malaysia? U ppl nk blame M'sian drivers ke? In all accidents? Aiiyoooo… ini mcm punya engineer pun ada kaa…. semua salah orang lain… sendiri salah takda…. padan la tak ke mana after puluh2 tahun…

I've heard stories from your own ex-insider… in Proton all fault semua pass around, distributor kata factory QC tak buat keje, factory kata distributor tk properly take care of the car… very funny…

wanna hear a story? one buyer complains about his P1 panel gaps and tell his dealer… how come like this one… so big gaps, even finger can pass thru… the dealer then call the factory, factory send a rep… and u know what the engineer said to the dealer? May be the gap became bigger becos u left it at the yard too long…. haha.. is that jawapan 'skema' ker? anyway, the buyer said, may be if he let it at the yard a little bit longer and come back later for the car… it could grow its panel gaps and transform itself into a Merc… ;-) nice one buyer…

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:47 am

toyota's car problem can can cause death

proton's car problem only make you feel mad,but this is way safer than those sticky pedal probs.

so keep up defending your beloved dugongs!!

when toyota's car have problem,every will say,'BIASALAH,MANA ADE YANG PERFECT'

but when it comes to proton,BASH BASH BASH BASH BASH

• toyola on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:54 am

if this was proton, some malaysians will go berserk!

• izzolution on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:29 am

just attach a spring to the pedal, so it will bounce back if the pedal is not being pressed..problem solved.

opss..just kidding ;P

• wolfsburg on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:32 am

Breaking news!

Honda City and Jazz worldwide recall…
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8487475.stm
    A toddler in south africa was burned to death…

• Andrew on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:55 am

I don't like Toyota cars and never will own one as long as they drive like they do now, but in all fairness I think Toyota has taken a bold step that no other manufacturer would dare consider. If I were its customer, I don't think I would shy away from the brand.

• exJAVANESE on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:24 am

to syoh

The faulty of these Tyota the accelerator stuck issue was prove by what was happen to Nizar Camry… pedal was stuck and accident smpai terbalik…hahahah

Continue to defend your death trap Toyotas! (tiadaid word..hihi)

• Gajen on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:59 am

almost every car maker have recalls…even bentley for gods sake…they are 2 main reasons why this has become a big issue..

no1 toyota is the biggest car maker,a mistake from the no1 company is of course sth u cant hide…

no2 the media wants to make money from this

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:28 am

Paul…check this out….Honda Jazz problem http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8487475.stm

• Could it be a ECU glitch ? cause the floor mat issue was fixed during last recall.

• 2fast said,

January 29, 2010 @ 8:17 pm

'Apparently this issue is not limited to the US. They are planning for cars sold in Europe and China too. Total recall is expected to be around 8 million cars!'

Found on Yahoo:

'Toyota safety recall spreads to Europe, China'

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100128/bs_nm/us_toyo…

So Malaysia seems to be the only country in the world without problems… ;)

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm

We probably need an agency to collect and analyze vehcle defects complaints in Malaysia.

• peYno on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:07 pm

believe me.. most of Toyota defender here are not camry car owner, nit estima or wish car owner…

they just own AVANZA or maybe VIOS ASEAN market 2nd grade japs car or perodua kancil or myvi…

prrrfthhhhh

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:32 pm

at least proton 9 component no body die but tO YOK TAH 1 component ….people die die…..hahaha…So ugly with toyota…move to honda ….wkaka….2.3million x 11 people=no body buy toyota now…QC hampeh…..like blaming others…which company suck….????

• helmi on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm

UMW Toyota try to show they cares. What you care? You only care making tonnes of money by selling sooo overprice sub-standard third class ugly design car from third world country & less safety features e.g. vios, avanza, innova, altis etc. Camry and Prius okay, but yet sooo expensive. I hope this pedal issue will effect their sales and teach them a lesson and no more notion in their mind "…don't care about that lah, just put the price, Malaysian sure will buy one, it's Toyota"

• Kambing Laut on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:32 pm

I choose broken power window rather than broken acceleration pedal.

If floor mat issues, proton wil be blame kaw kaw.

Why not they using tikar mengkuang.

It's more safe.. back to the future…

It's about life, its once in a life.

• ezralimm on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:55 pm

SY0H, stop being such a wanker.

Your 1:10 figures are pulled out of thin air.

ANY car company can suffer from crappy suppliers.

I dont think proton at it's current state is much worse than global players. Ask around people who own BOTH a CURRENT proton model and a japanese/continental model. I am pretty sure proton's are cheaper to maintain and dont really suffer that much more problems.

Family has two protons. Im not saying it's perfect (ok, the neo is seriously overweight and underpowered and the transmission is about as smooth as the previous generation mazda2), but then again it's a significantly cheaper car, even in langkawi!

I just sent my jazz back for warranty repair cuz the side seat belt panel popped out. My family's new neo has given less problems than my lil jazz within the first six months of ownership so go figure.

• Mysticmind on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:07 pm

Toyota should close their shop!

*yeah, we always read similar word something…

• this is conspiracy of the westerner to topple the uprising of asian lar. this is the new world order agenda.

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 30, 2010 at 6:44 pm

dear Umw bosses…. U think we malaysian are fool? I know u guys r gonna change the acc pedal during normal service… By cheating us u think we dunno ke? This happened in toyota bcoz they feels they are perfect… Bagero la toyota!!!!

• lightning mcqueen on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:06 pm

mr_3m, pls fill up ur resume n go to work with proton. Then u will know what level is malaysian vendors… Japanese maker's vendors have their own rnd. Malaysian vendor most r petty traders… Nak buat rnd pun malas… Exception to few vendors such as apm, selective sapura factories. Otherssss sucks

• Tiadaid on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:12 pm

wolfsburg said,

January 30, 2010 @ 12:32 am

Breaking news!

Honda City and Jazz worldwide recall…
    A toddler in south africa was burned to death…

——————–

Guess this one's more relevant to us, since the cars recalled were assembled in countries including Malaysia!

• ALKAZAM on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:16 pm

Hello guys,

don't you think it is about US media and GM, toyotas rival exaggerate the issues.

Maybe there are issues about pedal qualities but again we must know that GM BECOME no 2 instead of no.1.something with to do with the US Gov policy.

Like malaysian protonlah, the G will help..

• The problem does not affect in Malaysia.. so why some bunch of people are jumping like the world is going to end.. get a life plp.. if its doesnt concern you.. its better you find something else positive to say than behaving like small kids.

• eugeneat (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Autoblog's disection of the throttle pedal.

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/01/29/video-in-depth…

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm

World will sue toyota……not only american do that…..NOW the new law case

WORLDWIDE VS TOYOTA…….hehehe…

Not America or Malaysia gomen problem this is Toyota's problem…..

We should learn and after this new car brand will introduce to replace toyota lossess..May be toyota introduce the new sedan car through their subsidiaries like Daihatsu …..or might beeee perodua to cover the mistook.

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:44 pm

I’ve heard stories from your own ex-insider…… !!! hahaha.. no proof lol.. i've heard from nissan director that proton will take over nissan.. haha..

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:46 pm

toyota in made in thailand la wei… hahaha… ops.. my favourite Hiace is made in Malaysia.. hahaha.. i like hiace!!!

• Eyesore on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Al Kazam.. i dun think its GM n US govt propaganda… since Toyota admit there a problem, 19 death already and the call spread to China n US… Well CHina is not under US control right??????

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Now Honda also faces car recall, the Jazz model has been recalled for fire danger. Malaysia was affected. I TOLD YOU SO.

• nabill on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:47 pm

if proton had a smart marketing team , thy wd quickly come up with a sinister advertisment jus to rub salt into toyota's wound , sting like " we might not be world number one , bt we sure make u reach ur destination safely' ! sting like that….

• oomph on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Does P2 use the same pedal design as Toyoota?

We should be asking P2 the question!

• Tiadaid on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm

nabill said,

January 30, 2010 @ 12:47 pm

if proton had a smart marketing team , thy wd quickly come up with a sinister advertisment jus to rub salt into toyota’s wound , sting like ” we might not be world number one , bt we sure make u reach ur destination safely’ ! sting like that…

————-

Then the toyota defenders of malaysia will come out and bash Proton with a vengeance

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:16 pm

LoL for the first time here we got so many toyota basher haha… btw guys if your accelerator got stuck, put your gear neutral position as demoed in youtube regarding toyota cars.

Volkswagen cars has mechanism that override the accelerator when the brake is pressed. Now that is what i called peoples car.

• Mysticmind on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:25 pm

Knowing toyota, they share most of the parts in modelS. That's mean, same paddle used in the other models too. A common practice for cost saving plus ultimate profit.

So just beware if you suspect something curious with your lovely toyota car paddle, just report it here. Many will help you to fight them.

Unless you wanna be the epic fail as 1st paddle victim in Malaysia.

• alldisc on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:04 pm

LOL to toyota!! LOL to all toyota bashers!!!

• i read in star yesterday, actually Toyota north america initially refused to do recall but was eventually forced to do so by the american RTD.

So, here nobody in the government is going to do the same thing to umw toyota. Besides here there are lot of toyota hardcores that actually beleive toyota=perfect car. So, who cares……..

• kimi_ on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:59 pm

I wonder this has anything to do with 2 politicians accidents with their toyota camry recently

1.Pas' Nizar with its CAMRY turned turtle
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/1…

2.PKR' Tian Chua with its CAMRY hit the ramp
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/1…

Both occur this january 2010

• Eyesore on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:56 pm

no lah kimi…. according to the PR member those accidents are UMNO doings… hehehehe….

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:46 am

now i know exactly why my instinct ask me to buy proton persona – it is a car with design safety features – much better than jap's branded car. hehehehe

and not to forget with affordable price and petrol saving too.

• toycar on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:57 am

proton and other mades, please learn from toyota to be a responsible manufacturer.

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:42 am

toycar said,

January 30, 2010 @ 4:57 pm

proton and other mades, please learn from toyota to be a responsible manufacturer.

==========

u should read the background b4 open ur mouth..

they r not responsible.. they are forced to do so

• tokmoh on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:52 am

Eyesore said,

January 30, 2010 @ 3:56 pm

no lah kimi…. according to the Proton bashers those accidents are Proton's power window doings… hehehehe….

>>> Fix'd for teh lulz.

• Toyota Camry cause a on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:17 am

Toyota must admit the faulty because of giving direct business to their crony. Cronyism and nepotisme has been practice by both jap and american long time before mahalel.

If you want to claims your life insurance buy camry your wife will love it, i love to marry your wife waka ka ka…

• Ray_azlan on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:55 am

Does anyone remember an accident happen on mid 2006 at around Air Keroh NSE heading south on the evening.

A grey import 05' Toyota/Lexus Harrier crashed into concrete barrier then flip and landed back on wheels. minutes later it burst into flames.

The driver claimed his harrier's pedal got jammed on the floor while it cruise at 110 -120 kph before he avoided hitting another vehicle in front and skid onto side concrete barrier!

Luckily the driver and passengers crawl out and survived with dis-allocated backbone and broken shin.

Sadly they can't complaint, sue or claimed damages from local T dist due to car from grey import…

• voodoo_queen on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:24 am

ray

it has nothing to do with car defect

that stretch of highway is very dirty

believe it or not there are many sorts of car accidents happen there every year

• Premium on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:54 am

I watched the Autoblog video, at its show the accelerator pedal. Correct me if I'm wrong, wouldn't it be similar to the drive by wire by Proton or other car manufacturers? If yes, than all cars have potentials to have this defect and caused death. I dont want to be part of statistics.

To Automotive engineer here, please confirm. The accelerator pedal shown in the video belong to camry, and have sensors to determine how much you press. Thats will translate to electrical signals and send to engine.

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 4:20 am

Now, please do not stand infront of new toyota model if you still want to live safely… :)

• totot112 on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:38 am

Jeffrey Chew said,

January 29, 2010 @ 5:21 pm

we r in RHD, no need to worry at all, even u bought the car from grey importer

———————————————————-

Not safe if bought from grey import UK spec as European market also affected as well…read latest news….sooner or later it will trace back to design fault and will get into JDM market grey import too… Since Toyota like to share the same design for across it fleets of model car to save cost.

• wochomi on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:58 am

To all proton users

Don't you wish you drive a Jap for your next car… work a little harder… maybe… just maybe…. you'll get there…..BOLEH!

Nizar pi naik kereta lembu pasal lesen lembu pun tak pass….

• Premium said,

January 30, 2010 @ 7:54 pm

I watched the Autoblog video, at its show the accelerator pedal. Correct me if I’m wrong, wouldn’t it be similar to the drive by wire by Proton or other car manufacturers? If yes, than all cars have potentials to have this defect and caused death. I dont want to be part of statistics.

To Automotive engineer here, please confirm. The accelerator pedal shown in the video belong to camry, and have sensors to determine how much you press. Thats will translate to electrical signals and send to engine.

————————————————————–

hi premium, i watched the video too…glad to know that my dad's altis is using the old cable system (9th gen)….i guess most toyotas sold here use that too…its not too hard to check..just open the bonnet and look for a steel cable near the throttle body…

just curious, my dad had owned 4 toyotas so far (ke20, le, seg and nw altis)…how come we never get any recalls here in malaysia? umw malaysia assembly quality must be so high with and all the asian components made must be of superior quality tan those made by our american or european counterparts…maybe they should start learning from us…hehehe

• Enginerd_2010 on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:54 pm

UMW Toyota proved that in Malaysia, they use downgraded version, so no need to recall the downgraded spare parts…

One more thing is, if they recall the affected Toyota models, thy will cause Perodua too.. Perodua wont get best sales anymore if this recall programme involve them.. so that why they make a decision to say it is safe..

Now, we know who is big Liar…

Different spec but still use same Crash Test…

Alza <–Where is crash test..??

• Mysticmind on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:57 pm

So proton waja Drive by wire is better designed than toyota drive by wire.

Toyota are sucks. period.

while proton use drive by wire since late 2004. toyota just use it now?

I wonder.

• wmfoong (Member) on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Hi everyone here, this is my experience in the year of 2005, my Toyota Vios (2003) model also having with is problem pedal stuck with carpet flooring. When i left from Mid Valley car park, my car out of control with pedal stuck carpet flooring almost near by crash in exit entry pay ticket out, lucky i realize and removed it immediately. That time i only think is my carpet flooring in my car not suit with this. Until now the matter in US was big recall with pedal .

• Jumbsuck on Jan 31, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Proton with no major recall so far doesn't mean they're free from quality problems. For example Proton door carrier, door handle, power window etc. problems ever heard Proton offer mass recall to fix it FOC or prefer to let it rot only for car owners replace it at own cost later. Toyota simply humble enough to accept responsibility and fix it anyway unlike Proton which only God knows just how many parts defects swept under carpet so far.

Another problem is the imitation parts (and left to operate legitimately as car parts makers) which really piss off not only Proton but the rest car makers as well that equally pose safety risk to unsuspecting car buyers upon frustrated that most original parts simply too insanely expensive (and high labour charge too) to buy which left no other choice than to buy used or 'semi-ori' parts. This is always the case when defect parts known too late after warranty period (due to negligance of car makers to inform car buyers) and cornered car buyers in tough choice.

That's why 10-years car warranty/no-question-asked is a must and for Proton well, it's minimum 20-years car warranty lah.

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Last night, the high ranking misters 3rd degree of UTC (United Toyota Clan) have spread E-mail to all clan member's worldwide to do whatever they can to defend & to spread the bad thing about local car manufacture to cover up the beloved goddess Toyota image. The member must highlight:

1. The error are not mainly Toyota mistake, it vendor mistake.

2. The error just small matter coz any car can face the problem

3. Just only tiny glitch in electronic system

4. GM try jepordice Toyota sale in US

5. Please rise back on floor matt error are not Toyota error.

6. Rise up that all are human error.

7. Toyota still can trust & excelent.

8. Just cover up that only certain model only, the rest will change quietly when they send for service.

9. Please said that Toyota care, even Toyota will not responsible with any defect…

For rises the local car manufacture error:

1. Rise back the power window error, car caught on fire, not reliable, & protecisem.

2. Cover up by tax implant, G protection, Scandal, & minister used Toyota also.

3. Please protect all Toyota manufacture in Asian country & also Toyota branch like Daihatsu & produa…

4. The local car dealer have to cover that in the country are not affected with this recall coz Toyota will change it when they send for service by secretly.

Please do all members have done them hard to defend Toyota until u die (we will cover up for you also)….

Hahahahaha……. LOL

• Tiadaid on Feb 01, 2010 at 12:02 am

Jumbsuck said,

January 31, 2010 @ 12:30 pm

Proton with no major recall so far doesn’t mean they’re free from quality problems. For example Proton door carrier, door handle, power window etc. problems ever heard Proton offer mass recall to fix it FOC or prefer to let it rot only for car owners replace it at own cost later. Toyota simply humble enough to accept responsibility and fix it anyway unlike Proton which only God knows just how many parts defects swept under carpet so far.

Another problem is the imitation parts (and left to operate legitimately as car parts makers) which really piss off not only Proton but the rest car makers as well that equally pose safety risk to unsuspecting car buyers upon frustrated that most original parts simply too insanely expensive (and high labour charge too) to buy which left no other choice than to buy used or ’semi-ori’ parts. This is always the case when defect parts known too late after warranty period (due to negligance of car makers to inform car buyers) and cornered car buyers in tough choice.

That’s why 10-years car warranty/no-question-asked is a must and for Proton well, it’s minimum 20-years car warranty lah.

———–

I dunno why I even bother responding to such misinformation. Toyota humble to accept responsibility? They were TOLD TO RECALL THOSE CARS! That's not humbly accepting responsibility!

As the matter of imitation parts, if you service your car properly, the question of having to replace parts wouldn't have risen. The problem with Malaysians are, they often buy cars but never thought of periodical maintenance. Not that many go and service their cars, and by the time they do, the damage has been done. This is especially true for expensive cars. If you can't afford to have frequent servicing of your car, you might want to reconsider buying that car. Don't practice the old Malay idiom "Biar papa asal bergaya"

• Toyota is FLIP-FLOPPING.

Follow the news and you guys will know they dont even wanna do a recall in Europe but what did they say now?

Even the recall in US, they were FORCED to recall, not VOLUNTARILY.

Such transparency….

It wont be long until all of the world Toyota's being recall if it's a DESIGN flaw.

• Eyesore on Feb 01, 2010 at 5:42 am

Jumbsuck….Manufacturers only makes recall when the problem is life threatening and could result in they getting sued….

you ever heard any manufacturer do recall for power window problem or defect door handle… etc? you can die from broken door handle meh? Small problem they only replace when customer come for services… duh….

• LIghtning McQUeen on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:27 am

Dear Jumbsuck…

recalls usually done for case which might cause death… if simple thing like my sucking hard to push power window button for my avanza pun tarak recall aper?

U will hear lots of recall from US becoz their RTD @ JPJ is so strict than Our JPJ…

I wonder our JPJ is good enough to do forensic case?… Last time bus crash… driver fault bla bla bla… road surface mana ada diorang kaji?

• p4k4bu on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:05 pm

I'm sure now that every Toyota driver will be very careful when he/she floors the pedal …

:(

• I think Malaysian RTD should check the affected toyota models here and not to simply trust what umw toyota says because in america also they tried to sweep under the carpet but eventually forced to do recall. What it in m'sia, they can just pay the officers. So, Toyota drivers out there, please check your high regarded toyota cars especially those from grey importers. Safety comes first, reliability/vvti, second.

• 2fast on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:29 pm

A deeper look at the Toyota crisis by New York Times.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/01/business/01toyo…

If it is an electronic issue, the problem will take longer to fix.

• Leonardo on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:20 am

It's very simple – if you make and sell more cars, you make more money. However if there is a problem you need to recall more cars, which costs you more money. So it's fair right?

An exception to the rule would be niche car manufacturers, who make less cars but with big profits.

To Toyota owners, go slow until everything is ironed out. And don't forget to fasten your seatbelts, just in case.

Or you have a bit more money, trade in for a Honda instead!

• Eyesore on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:33 am

Advice

Toyota Owners (should include Perodua as well )- Drive slowly until the pedal problem solved.

Honda Owners – Do Not use your power window until the switch fixed…

Meanwhile… Proton, Hyundai, Kia etc… well you can continue drive fast and use you power window freely…..

So next time…

If there's traffic jam.. Blame Toyota owners since they are driving slowly…

Long queue at tolls esp touch n go lane… blame honda owners since they can't use their power windows…

hehehe…..

• opaque on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:27 pm

'However, the Times review of federal safety records shows several instances of complaints of stuck pedals on vehicles built in Japan, which Toyota has said are not subject to the recall. For example, one complaint, filed two years ago, told of a 2007 Japanese-built Camry in Maryland with a pedal that "stuck to the floor.'

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-toyota-peda…
    It seems that camry from japan also affected by these problems. or camry from everywhere. so watch for camry behind you that are fast and prepare to avoid them. Time bomb on the road.

• Ahmad on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:49 pm

opaque said,

February 2, 2010 @ 8:27 am

It seems that camry from japan also affected by these problems. or camry from everywhere. so watch for camry behind you that are fast and prepare to avoid them. Time bomb on the road.

Hahaha…It's a mobile bomb!