Toyota sticky accelerator recall crosses to Europe

Toyota sticky accelerator recall crosses to EuropeThe recall in North America which has seen Toyota USA suspend sales of eight models and call back up to 2.3 million vehicles has spread to Europe, due to the same “sticky accelerator pedal” issue. Details of corrective action and implementation will be communicated directly to customers with vehicles potentially affected. The models and exact number of potentially affected vehicles is under investigation.

The Japanese carmaker said that there’s a possibility that certain accelerator pedal mechanisms may, in rare instances, mechanically stick in a partially depressed position or return slowly to the idle position. Progressive wear, combined with certain operating and environmental conditions, can increase friction in the mechanism leading to the problem. In case of occurrence, the driver may notice that the accelerator pedal is progressively harder to depress or is slower to return. A rough or chattered feeling may also be experienced when depressing/releasing the accelerator pedal.

A running change in production using different parts has already been implemented model-by-model in the European production. Therefore, there is no need or intention to stop production in Europe, says Toyota.

UPDATE: Toyota has announced that the Europe recall will involve eight models and up to 1.8 million vehicles. No other models or Lexus models are affected:

– AYGO (Feb 2005 – Aug 2009)
– iQ (Nov 2008 – Nov 2009)
– Yaris (Nov 2005 – Sep 2009)
– Auris (Oct 2006 – 5 Jan 2010)
– Corolla (Oct 2006 – Dec 2009)
– Verso (Feb 2009 – 5 Jan 2010)
– Avensis (Nov 2008 – Dec 2009)
– RAV4 (Nov 2005 – Nov 2009

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Programmer on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Dang Dang Dang !

• Well, lookee here, even the Camry has problems with sudden acceleration:

http://www.freep.com/article/20100128/BUSINESS01/…

Hehe Toyota fanboys, better check your mailbox regularly for letters from UMW, asking you to bring in your car for 'checking'.

• common-sensor on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:45 pm

There is nothing wrong with "recall", it is an indication that the manufacturer is responsible and taking ownership of the problem .. if one still remember the market cases that cause problem to Mitsubishi years ago was the denials of the manufacturer to product defects. I opt for responsible manufacturer than those who keep on covering-up product defects ..

• staff on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Sudah jatuh ditimpa tangga…

In the bad economy situation, comes this bad issue…

• Toyota owners pls dont boast ur car so reliable and bash proton.. hehe.. Btw, if i'm not wrong, some incident happened to an owner that led to Toyota discovering this defect…

• i have a feeling that the ball bearing that supports the accelerator pedal could be the problem. The metal in the bearing expands and contracts in changing weather could be the problem. Since malaysia is hot throughout the year, it should not be a problem.

• Some will jump on this news because such news is few, and far in between.

But, if you are still driving cars that power window failed more frequent than Toyota recalls, please stop laughing.

• caliph akio toyoda on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Toyota the great!

long live Toyota!

defend and protect at all cost.

stop the humiliation.

• azrai on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:46 pm

How about perodua which share some parts with Daihatsu/Toyota.

• Black Dog on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Have you ever heard of Proton recalling their cars for faulty power window, rust on the car door etc etc?

Tak apalah!

• staff on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:06 pm

The famous power windows vs The famous Accelerator pedal…

• barca on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:08 pm

se said,

January 29, 2010 @ 11:32 am

Some will jump on this news because such news is few, and far in between.

But, if you are still driving cars that power window failed more frequent than Toyota recalls, please stop laughing.

———————————————–

dude, i don't know how you think. seriously.

what's more life threatening, the accelerator pedal or faulty power windows? so far, i do not know of accidents caused by faulty power windows.

during your daily drive, how often does one uses the windows anyway except to pay toll and blow out hot air (or foul air)? :)

to the owners who drive with faulty power windows, you can continue laughing and still have the last laugh…..on this matter alone.

• vee-dub on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:17 pm

my friend got hit by Camry, said something about this problem!

will stay away from Camrys behind me!

• takeo1070 on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:32 pm

mu77 said,

January 29, 2010 @ 11:04 am

Toyota owners pls dont boast ur car so reliable and bash proton.. hehe.. Btw, if i’m not wrong, some incident happened to an owner that led to Toyota discovering this defect…

———————————————————-

Yes you are right dude. The incident happened in north America. Its a fatal accident involving high ranking police personal(whole family). The car turn turtle.

• Mysticmind on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

at least, power window didn't kill people. hahahaha

• Power of Dream on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Black Dog said,

January 29, 2010 @ 11:57 am

Have you ever heard of Proton recalling their cars for faulty power window, rust on the car door etc etc?

Tak apalah!

———

Another "EXCUSE" from Toyota fans..

The 'Sticky Accelerator Pedal' can cause DEATH.. so no compromise for Toyota, need to fix it by hook or by crook..

Honda still ok so far.. 1 vote for Honda..

1 Honda 1 Malaysia..Bravo..

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm

i told you.

• White Jack on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:48 pm

So how now Camry, Altis, VIOS, Innova, Advanza sales drop and Honda up ?

Anyone know if this problem in general for Asia versions too ??

• Hey, if you still depend toyota, It is OK to buy a toyota by your money.

But, don't kill other person by Unintended acceleration.

Toyota Required to Stop Selling Defective Vehicles, US Says
    http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-01-27/toyot…

• oomph on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:25 pm

There should a new road sign.

Watch Out for Toyota on the road!

• perodua suck people on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:34 pm

aiyooo..just few yeas back they had EPS problem, now come with pedal problem. both are safety issue..shit. it's better to have power window problem rather than this one.

wat da hack..cazzo toyota!

• I exeprienced this "sticky accelerator" pedal where the pedal stick in a partially depressed position and return slowly to the idle position. For my case it was the cable issue where after replacing the accelerator pedal, it was back to normal. The experience was scary especially when you are caught in a jam………… You have to step on the brake like crazy.

• Cynical on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Looks like the Toyota fanboys are all quiet now…

• squawk on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:59 pm

The question is… how long ago did Toyota know about this problem?

• Nop who said so.. Btw its no big deal here in malaysia.. so why make noise about it..

• barca on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:34 am

Vnoz said,

January 29, 2010 @ 4:11 pm

Nop who said so.. Btw its no big deal here in malaysia.. so why make noise about it..

—————————————-

yeah, we SERIOUSLY hope there's no such problem in Malaysia. but who knows?

even though this happens in the US and Europe, T owners and would-be owners would still need to be aware, regardless of their location.

if you don't make noise for a SERIOUS issue like this, i don't know how you value a person's life.

• alamak on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:41 am

This is TRD sportivo feature la, no need recall, Toyotas can self accelerate!

• Imagine if this happen to Proton..then all people will jump-on the bandwagon to slaughter Proton, well, it's Toyota then ;P

• Cynical on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:18 am

Nah, Toyota owners would (literally) risk their lives defending their precious brand name. You won't ever see them posting their anger or concern about this small (sarcasm) issue here.

• wajarlah on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:10 am

Can you believe what they said no problem in Malaysia? Maybe in your mind can but not in your heart.

• ALKAZAM on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:01 pm

i will still buy toyota.

its only a gas pedal problems.

but the rest still okay.futhermore malaysia not involved.

• opaque on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:37 am

don't want to risk my life. better buy p1 with power window prb. never get a chance to bash T like this. hehehe

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:54 am

Power Window problem cost you few money, time & warranty only, but sticky accelerator cost you your life & your family….. so think wisely..

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 1:53 am

the best part.. proton Power window is old story oredi and not an issue for CURRENT model like BLM,persona or exora..

But toyota problem involve existing and NEW products all around the world…

• khun bakam on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:43 am

so which one is the bigger issue? sticky gas pedal or interfering carpet? so which one has been killing dozen of people? i am so confused. in retrospect, I miss the good old days when the gas pedal is actually a mechanical linkage to the throttle and not some pretentious contraption that talks to the computer instead.

• totot112 on Jan 31, 2010 at 6:34 am

Remember the drive by wire concept…

its the same (no throttole c cables) its wireless. So watch out Auto driver out there…if accelerator stuck, Quick shift to "N" and step on the brakes till it stop at safe place and turn off the engine.

For manual drivers, step on the clutch and shift to "N" and brakes till the car stop at safe place and turn off the engine.

It also can happen to cable type of gas padel as it may tend to jam at accelerate position.

The keys is be alert and know what to do when your car start to do run away.

• ALKAZAM said,

January 30, 2010 @ 11:01 am

i will still buy toyota.

its only a gas pedal problems.

but the rest still okay.futhermore malaysia not involved.

——————————

1. the rest still okay.

>>The rest are still not OK.

According to NHTSA and US media, The pedal itself is not a problem.

"In recent interviews, two former NHTSA administrators, Ricardo Martinez and Joan Claybrook, have said they believe that some kind of 'electronic glitch' may be causing the Toyota problems. Similar conclusions are being drawn by independent automotive safety experts, forensic mechanics and automotive electronics researchers, as well as many consumers."
    http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-toyota-peda…

2. futhermore malaysia not involved.

>> Toyota does not want recall in malaysia.

• y2ggy on Feb 02, 2010 at 5:01 am

This is actually the faulty of mass production. Toyota target is to beat GM to be the world biggest car manufacture. So they miss q regarding the quality and safety. That's why this problem rise at US or Europe, GM biggest market.This is my opinion only. Any other opinion guys?

• akbar on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:18 pm

dude, have used proton, perodua (wira & now myvi) and toyota. Both good value for money. NOW, stay away from NAZA KIA SPECTRA — lost a lot of money there. a total lemon.

next, if you afraid of dying on the road, better take the bus / train. But again no guarantees. I like the fact Toyota is admitting its mistake.