Toyota’s faulty pedal supplier: It’s not our fault!

Toyota’s faulty pedal supplier: It’s not our fault!CTS Corp, the supplier of Toyota’s sticky accelerator pedals which has led to the Japanese automaker recalling cars in North America and Europe, says it has no knowledge that its parts were responsible for any accidents or injuries.

Mitchell Walorski, head of CTS investor relations said that the company has “no knowledge of any accident or injury” stemming from the accelerator assemblies it supplies Toyota, he told Automotive News. In what looks like an attempt to absolve responsibility he added: “Toyota is heavily involved in all stages of testing and production. That is why their quality is so high.”

In a separate statement, CTS, which designs and manufactures sensors and actuators, said it has been working with Toyota to develop a new pedal to meet tougher specifications from Toyota. “The newly designed pedal is now tested, and parts are beginning to ship to some Toyota factories,” it said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Power of Dream on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Actually, it is Toyota Designer & Engineer problem!!!

The supplier create the design based on the drawing and spec that was given to them..

Toyota Designer Sux!!!!

• Mysticmind on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Design flaw.

• Red Eagle Eye on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Recession time for TOYOTA after 80 years…

Government should ask UMW Toyota to recall back its model in Malaysia too.. for rakyat's safety… as per said " Rakyat Didahulukan.."

Rest in Peace for Toyota…

• rookie on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:35 pm

the downfall of toyota..?

• techboy_88 on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:35 pm

blame game, anyone?

• kimi_ on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:54 pm

It is Proton fault which their poor quality has spread through and infected

Toyota. So, it is proton fault…LOL

• yeah right….

• I still Love Toyota! Will buy toyota and will die for toyota!!

• Will die in a toyota.. if the pedel gets stuck…LOL

• staff on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:10 am

Haha… now, look who will become the goat…

the scapegoat…

• Gullible Malaysian C on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:10 am

Whaddya expect? It's Proton mahhh…no QC.

Ehhh…whaddya say? It's not Proton?.

Sorry…sorry…it's Toyota…so sorry…

Toyota: Best Cars in the world.

• kopi-man on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:11 am

hahahah, we got cars put on the road with not enough safty (not even have airbags, or NCAP tested), and shout at other people's high standard of requirement for safty precaution. HAHAH…this is a great place man.

• squawk on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:14 am

Paul, Danny, no mention of China? http://money.cnn.com/news/newsfeeds/articles/djf5…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:52 am

Can use sticking pedal as speeding excuse:P I was driving a Toyota, cannot slow down. hahaha

• Automotive_Critics on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:55 am

Power of Dream said,

January 29, 2010 @ 3:17 pm

Actually, it is Toyota Designer & Engineer problem!!!

The supplier create the design based on the drawing and spec that was given to them..

Toyota Designer Sux!!!!

————–

Operator produce parts base on SOP. Yet the CV from Pagoh breaks easily.

Hmm..

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:04 am

This is similar to a recall by Chrysler involving Jeep Cherokee and Grand Cherokee in the 1990's. There are several factors involved, the main ones are mostly due to driver's error and also the relative position of the gas pedal and brake pedal causing panic drivers to step on the gas pedal instead of the brake pedal. I am not defending Chrysler of Toyota and I think there is a real problem in the ergonomics of the pedal design for Chrysler's Jeep. For the Jeep, the most obvious thing s that the pedal placement are really different compared to a passenger car due to the big transmission tunnel in the middle.

I am not sure about the Toyota, but I think it might also be an ergonomic issue with the pedals and the floor mat design. Or it could also be electrical fault causing the throttle to be wide open. Sudden aceleraion is a common problem reported to NHTSA in the US and is very hard to proof that the manufacturer is at fault. It's like beating a dead horse trying to get a voluntary recall from manufacturers for the sudden acceleration complaints.

• mirror mirror on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:34 am

Honestly i am not taking this opportunity to bash toyota, but whoever considering buying the avanza, please also consider buying the locally made mpv. I am saying this despite of the 20 yr grudge i have with proton.

• Maren Kate on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:39 am

I think this recall will probably make a dent in Toyota's bottomline but then I applaud them for thinking of "Safety First before Profit".

• dont worry CTS, we malaysian never blame you. we all here very much aware thats this is p1 faults… hihi.

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:28 am

OK we point to proton for Toyota problem….because gomen tax so high .. politician …corruption .bla bla hihi…dont worried all this happened caused by PROTON not from toyota…..cool down ok Malaysian let proton be scapegoat..wakakaka…

• Toyota gonna get pounded by US Congress.

Grab your pop-corn and watch the show.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/29/business/global…

Oh, btw 19 deaths so far. And DOUBLE the rate compared to other brands.

• I don’t think pedal itself was cause of accident.

“Toyota has tried to lay all the blame on floor mats, launching a recall last month affecting approximately four million Toyota and Lexus vehicles. But the evidence suggests that the causes of these uncontrolled acceleration events are likely more complex, involving computer, electronic, and mechanical systems.”
    http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/class-act…

Toyota’s response

1. Mistake of customer

2. floor mats

3. Pedal

4. American company (CTS) made pedal

• SY0H (Member) on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:12 am

I have FULL RESPECT to Toyota for willing to recall the potential failure car parts and replace it for free! Social responsibilities versus commercial. This shows that Toyota actually has a good customer feedback programme and excellent after sales service and consultant.

Speaking of this, this reminds me of our very well known "local car manufacturer"; are they willing to do the same exercise for their failing parts such as power windows?

You guys can dream on! Hahaha.

• ALKAZAM on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:15 am

The main culprit is a vendor, if not mistaken supplier from canada.

Must remember the good things offered by Toyota.

similar to proton also for the last 20 years, vendors quality problems.It is not totally the design problem. Who own the vendors company?. you guess…

btw, getting my camry this coming Mac 2010.

• Carelton G. Bolus, A on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:46 am

The issue is exclusive to the pedal armature for the toeboard of left-hand-drive Toyotas. Unless UMW has had some really bad Friday cars and the QC inspectors were snoozing, most leaving the plant have right-hand-drive, therefore the condition triggering the recall cannot exist in Malaysia.

• toyoltak on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:55 am

Q said,

January 29, 2010 @ 7:47 pm

Toyota gonna get pounded by US Congress.

Grab your pop-corn and watch the show.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/29/business/global…

Oh, btw 19 deaths so far. And DOUBLE the rate compared to other brands.

that is what you call transperancy… hopefully they treat the american manufacture the same because i'm not sure if the jeep fiasco was also give the same treatment.

• SY0H

"I have FULL RESPECT to Toyota for willing to recall the potential failure car parts and replace it for free! Social responsibilities versus commercial."

————

No true,

Toyota obeyed by external pressure.

It is not their 'voluntary' recall or 'voluntary' halt sale.

Toyota Required to Stop Selling Defective Vehicles, US Says
    http://www.businessweek.com/news/2010-01-27/toyot…

• subhero on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:18 am

i think toyota should go to team building..

to build up their spirit. like kamikaze..

send them to teambuilding. then create new name.. toyolta.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:28 am

Paul…check this out.. .http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8487475.stm Honda Jazz worlwide recall

• Mastermind on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:40 pm

proton power windows problem caused car accelerate without intention ??????? haha pity on toyota user….just accept ur destiny ….dont blame other la?????

pity on mentality of toyota owner we Malaysian understand ur frustrated ok ….expensive paid on world class car ….but lastly…..car pedal problem put u on casket….end of ur life….

TOTAL DAMAGE ……………BAD IMAGE MOVE TO HONDA BLOG PLEASE……..

• anti-morons on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:38 pm

It's Toyota issue and still there's comparison with Proton.. OMG you guys(dumbasses who mentioned Proton issues here) are morons… it's like comparing accelerating without control to a tree and cannot roll down window properly for smoking(i assume this is the main reason why so many Malaysian complaint about the window)… typical short minded, moron basher!

• Mysticmind on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Not transparency la haiyoh…

They tried to escape so many times already, they wont to responsible… but they cant! Because too many died already!.

They are forced to recall by american (they are not willing to die in toyota like malaysian btw).

Unresponsible toyota. huh!

• Ray Lee on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Toyota Lean Management, no wastage and use everything including the sticky pedals. Service Workshop Very Good Customer Service, we replace your sticky pedal if really sticky loh!.. Ha Ha

• SY0H said,

January 29, 2010 @ 9:12 pm

I have FULL RESPECT to Toyota for willing to recall the potential failure car parts and replace it for free! Social responsibilities versus commercial. This shows that Toyota actually has a good customer feedback programme and excellent after sales service and consultant.

Speaking of this, this reminds me of our very well known “local car manufacturer”; are they willing to do the same exercise for their failing parts such as power windows?

————————————————–

u don remember ker..p1 once recall savvy for faulty but was bash like tomoro will never come

• AD1978 on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:05 pm

how can they say no knowledge of the faulty pedal? consumer didn't buy the pedal seperately from the manufacturer and they will not deal with the pedal's manufacturer in terms of warranty, they bought the whole car from toyota.

that's the lame excuse i ever heard. if really is the fault from the pedal's manufacturer, it will become your fault in consumer's perspective as you sold the cars to consumer. you can blame the pedal's manufacturer in anyway you want but as a consumer, you are still at fault. where's the quality control? you want to outsource your parts and you should bear the responsibility.

no intention to go against toyota but i dislike silly excuse. no respect on whoever said it.

• Archer on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:13 pm

O.K so there could be problem here probably in highway conditions when accelerating, but I can't understand why some people don't think straight or keep calm when the pedal gets stuck.

I'm sure most experienced drivers would put on the hazard lights, engage neutral gear, steer the vehicle to safe spot and stop the engine instead of forcing the brakes. This problem sounds simple enough to overcome but for some it can end up taking their life if they panic.

• Casta on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Dear Kimi,

Its 2-You-Auta probs..nothing to do with P1 prob…why u want to change topic? Admit la…its 2-You-Auta…..because of P1 previous prob with window probs cause 2-You-Auta pedal probs…infected?hahaha..what a stupid joke!

• I travel the North South Highway almost everyday. Toyota Camrys usually would overtake me at very high speed. Recently I am overtaking them at normal speed. Looks like owners of Toyota Camrys in Malaysia are scared.

• fazron80 on Jan 30, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Syoh plz don't double standard, Toyota recall =full respect, Proton recall = bash like hell. And the recall isn't even voluntary, they only did it because of external pressure from US gov. North america contribute big bucks for Toyota, they wouldn't dare to lose it even meaning losing their face. You give credits when credit's due, and this time Toyota doesnt earn it.

• Cross Polo on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:08 am

SY0H said,

January 29, 2010 @ 9:12 pm

Speaking of this, this reminds me of our very well known “local car manufacturer”; are they willing to do the same exercise for their failing parts such as power windows?

—————————————————————-

Sorry SYOH….. Toyota tak ikhlas pun nak hentikan sementara atau recall semua model yang terlibat sebab kalau tak pasal tak kena presure dengan kerajaan US serta malu dengan kenyataan mereka sebelum ini yang kata semua Toyota boleh dipercayai, rasanya sampai tahun depan diaorang buat tak tau & salahkan pemandu aje… nie kat US aje dah 19 org mati sebab benda tu apa kejadah tu. Sebab tu le diaorang panggil semua yang terlibat aje, dah malu. Tambah plak diaorang tak nak lepas pasaran US sebab kalau US terima maknanya seluruh dunia terima diaorang le…. Kenapa hang tak puji proton panggil semua savvy untuk check balik bearing kat tayar blakang tu walaupun tak ada lagi kes kemalangan savvy sebab bearing tu ?. Tambah plak yang jumpa masalah tu plak mekanik P1 SC kat 3 ke 4 buah savvy yang dia service, report ke engineer & pas tu P1 recall semua savvy dalam pasaran seluruh negara yang dijual untuk diperiksa & diganti baru…. nie sebab power window rosak & hantar ke SC P1 yang tak ikhlas nak buat kerja, hanya sebab tak leh merokok waktu memandu… bodoh namanya tu… tau tak merokok sambil memandu adalah sama bahaya dengan menggunakan handphone waktu memandu…. fikir sendiri…..

• MTaylor on Jan 31, 2010 at 12:09 am

Damn straight its not their fault.

I am one of the victims of the "sudden acceleration" problem. My '06 Corolla (ironically, not on the recall list!) experienced this problem recently. While stopped at at red light, with full pressure applied to the brakes with my right foot only (my left foot off to the side doing nothing) without warning the engine surged and lurched forward, racing ahead towards the car stopped in front of me. I immediately pressed harder on the brakes but the engine kept powering forward. I jammed both feet into the brake pedal as hard as I could, the wheels locked, and my car skid forward. I was able to steer just enought to avoid ramming into the car ahead of me. The car eventually stopped and went back to operating normally as if nothing every happened, however I now have a whole new patch of grey hair from the experience. As god as my witness there are two things I can assure you: 1) there was no car mat in the car, it had nothing to do with it, and 2) neither of my feet were anywhere near the gas pedal, the gas pedal was not stuck, the gas pedal was not slow to bounce back, and continues to operate normally. I am absolutely, unequivocally convinced that this unintentional surging has everything to do with a faulty engine/electrical/computer problem and NOTHING to do with a floor mat or gas pedal. Toyota is using these as scapegoats. I am not the only person who has been a victim of this faulty engineering. Mark my words, the truth will eventually come out.

• voodoo_queen on Jan 31, 2010 at 2:25 am

MTaylor said,

January 30, 2010 @ 4:09 pm

Damn straight its not their fault.

I am one of the victims of the “sudden acceleration” problem. My ‘06 Corolla (ironically, not on the recall list!) experienced this problem recently. While stopped at at red light, with full pressure applied to the brakes with my right foot only (my left foot off to the side doing nothing) without warning the engine surged and lurched forward, racing ahead towards the car stopped in front of me. I immediately pressed harder on the brakes but the engine kept powering forward. I jammed both feet into the brake pedal as hard as I could, the wheels locked, and my car skid forward. I was able to steer just enought to avoid ramming into the car ahead of me. The car eventually stopped and went back to operating normally as if nothing every happened, however I now have a whole new patch of grey hair from the experience. As god as my witness there are two things I can assure you: 1) there was no car mat in the car, it had nothing to do with it, and 2) neither of my feet were anywhere near the gas pedal, the gas pedal was not stuck, the gas pedal was not slow to bounce back, and continues to operate normally. I am absolutely, unequivocally convinced that this unintentional surging has everything to do with a faulty engine/electrical/computer problem and NOTHING to do with a floor mat or gas pedal. Toyota is using these as scapegoats. I am not the only person who has been a victim of this faulty engineering. Mark my words, the truth will eventually come out.

Looks like your car got disturbance from supernatural power.

• "I have FULL RESPECT to Toyota for willing to recall the potential failure car parts and replace it for free! Social responsibilities versus commercial. This shows that Toyota actually has a good customer feedback programme and excellent after sales service and consultant."

Excuse me, in the US, the EU and China, the gouvernment will terminate the registrations of all faulty cars temporary, if there's no recall.

This is no sign of "responsibility" of Toyota, they are simply forced by the gouvernments to do a recall. If they are not "willing", then Toyotas will disappear from the roads, that's it… ;)

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 4:05 am

Now most toyota model have been posses by hunted stiky paddle…

• initial R on Jan 31, 2010 at 4:08 am

Power window problem only cost you some money, time & warranty but sudden acceleration problem cost you & your family life…

• whatever on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:24 am

TOYOTA IS TRYING TO ESCAPE NOW???? HAHAHA WHO APPROVED THE SUPPLIER?

• staff on Jan 31, 2010 at 9:07 am

Japanese are RESPONSIBLE???

Hahaha…

You better work with one before you say it… My experience tells…

• drgn86 on Jan 31, 2010 at 10:08 am

how do we know that protons are that safe? you know la about this 'sweeping under the carpet' attitude we have here, keeping bad news in isolation, make us 'look good'. well, toyota has a serious problem, and it could be down to one component, the etcs-i (electronic throttle control system with intelligence). not so intelligent, eh? more to insecurity…

• staff on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:52 pm

at drgn86,

that attitude is not happen in our country only la…

it happen everywhere… even in your workplace, if you are working…

• Mysticmind on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:01 pm

1 word somemore to describe toyota now.

BIGHEADED!

• peYno on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:45 pm

the funny thing that most toyota defender here not even own REAL TOYOTA car such Camry, estima or alphard…

they just own ASEAN toyota that japanese in Japan oso this car exist in the world like AVANZA, UNSER, and Myvi but pretending they are TOYOTA car owner

prrrfthhh

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 01, 2010 at 6:14 am

peYno said,

January 31, 2010 @ 3:45 pm

the funny thing that most toyota defender here not even own REAL TOYOTA car such Camry, estima or alphard…

they just own ASEAN toyota that japanese in Japan oso this car exist in the world like AVANZA, UNSER, and Myvi but pretending they are TOYOTA car owner

prrrfthhh

agree..

'most' of them only owned cheap produa car..

and 'some' of them owned dated toyota (2nd hand one)..

i dont say 'all'.. alright..

it easy to know who owned a Perodua among them..

perodua owner really like to bash kaw-kaw on P1 (even when the topic is not about P1 at all)..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:19 pm

DOWNFALL OF JAPS…..kah kah kah….

Previously it was JAL going bankrupt

Now Toyota for low quality parts

Later Sony due to old technology TV compared to Samsung and LG………

But still, P1 punya mistake…..

Potong jgn tak Potong……P1

• SEE???toyota also have a problem!