Chevrolet Cruze SS for Singaporean market

In case you’re in the market for a C-segment car in a few months time, here’s a piece of news to remind you that you might have one more option soon!

Chevrolet Singapore is now offering a “Cruze SS” bodykit for Cruze customers, consisting of a front, rear and side skirts, a rear spoiler, 17 inch alloy wheels wrapped with Falken tyres, and illuminated skuff plates.

The Cruze SS kit is priced at SG$4,980 which translates to about RM12,075. The yellow stripes are of course quite clearly milking the appearance of the Camaro in the Transformers franchise, though in the movie Bumblebee is yellow with black stripes.

We’re still waiting for our Cruze. There were plans to launch it here in Malaysia last year but the GM and DRB-HICOM partnership fell through. Things should pick up again once new distributors Naza start operations and it’s only logical that they’ll start their distributorship with the introduction of Chevrolet’s C-segment ‘world car’.

We’ll likely see it with a 1.8 litre normally aspirated engine mated to a 6-speed auto but one can still harbor some hope for a juicy 1.4 litre Ecotec turbo instead?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marcus on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:43 pm

can't wait to see this car coming to store…

• Vincent on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:48 pm

fast fast come to boleh land…

• eduardo on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Cool looking car…awesome..!?

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:06 pm

SS=syok sendiri

haha

btw,grille really looks cool.

• chaku on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:49 pm

the bodykit design are rippoff from Wald's bodykit. the side skriting also have uncanny resemblances to wald's

• tamaki on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:08 pm

it been two years since it launch but malaysia still get nothing ,y always lose pace than other 'sign'

• mitlanevo on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:11 pm

CANTIK!!!!!!!

i want this~

• alpha999 on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:13 am

yea…muscular look…….but still need to check out its fuel economy, power and its ride and handling………otherwise pointless….

one of the main reason ppl go for vios and city is due to its great fuel economy compared their rivals in the same class segment.

if the koreans can match or better the japs in terms of fuel economy, there is a fighting chance….

• jeremy0 on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:31 am

One of the main reasons for Chevy's to be fuel guzzling is due to the old-tech holden engines, 4-speed trannies and heavy bodies from high-tensile steel.

If you compare the bodies of a vios/city to a chevy, one is like a tank and the other is like milo tin car….but then, some people prefer their cars to be light

• Annihilated on Feb 02, 2010 at 1:21 am

jeremy0 said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

Is that so? Forgive me for my shallow knowledge on automotive engineering, but I think high-tensile/high-strength steel are lighter yet retain or outperform the standard steel strentgh.

Given an option, I'd be happy to own this rather than Vios. ;)

• @jeremy0

It looks like a tank if compared to the smaller Vios and City.

But the Cruze will compete with the Corolla Altis and Civic.

• The Cruze is based on the same platform of the new Opel Astra, it should be a pretty solid car compared to the Optra.

• saw it in port klang, one red one… nice also… looks ganas…

• jeremy0 on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:50 am

nnihilated said,

February 1, 2010 @ 5:21 pm

jeremy0 said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:31 pm

Is that so? Forgive me for my shallow knowledge on automotive engineering, but I think high-tensile/high-strength steel are lighter yet retain or outperform the standard steel strentgh.

Given an option, I’d be happy to own this rather than Vios. ;)

……………………………………………………….

Thanks for the headsup….So I'm happy to know that this one thing does not contribute to my car's heavy body. Did some research and found this

http://www.autosteel.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=…

• jeremy0 on Feb 02, 2010 at 4:53 am

AM2,

the Cruze comes with 1.6 and 1.8 engine….competes in with the C and B segment market….lets just hope Naza gets their pricing right and does not do a screw up job like Hicomobil and Cergazam previously

• jolly_idiot on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:37 am

So big size. So small engine? Can cope? Hopefully it won't underpowered like what proton is facing. Gutless junk.

• keretakuda on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:55 am

nice design. looked muscular…

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:20 pm

jst a BridGe to pass by!! Cme..cme.. we WelCoMe u!!

• carfreak on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:02 pm

and how much is this baby gonna set us back, any estimates of the price range?

• mynuszero on Feb 02, 2010 at 9:14 pm

chaku said,

February 1, 2010 @ 2:49 pm

the bodykit design are rippoff from Wald’s bodykit. the side skriting also have uncanny resemblances to wald’s

yea rite….well we dont have wald anymore and i bet u cant design anything better either :P

• Woosa on Feb 02, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Naza, 1.4 Ecotec Turbo please :D

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:35 pm

ugly car…..kia and hyundai rocks for korean car…chevy sucx daewoo

• Sbpir on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Singaporeans are lucky

• Peter on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Er, Mazda MPS………………..

Do you know that this car is built in korea? Kia and hyundai cars are built in korea also…….So this car is a korean car………

Its just like Vios built in Thailand….so its a thai car…..

• torujon on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:41 am

wait la this june..maybe around 110k 1.8 with 6speed..hows thats? fuel efficiency..

• Mayor on Feb 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm

AM2 said,

February 1, 2010 @ 5:49 pm

The Cruze is based on the same platform of the new Opel Astra, it should be a pretty solid car compared to the Optra.

Have you driven an OPTRA before sir? I own one and I can say that it has one of the best ride in the market. It beats the Civic and Altis on this. Don't just take my words for it – Try looking for a 'comparo' done by TopGear Malaysia, they agree on it too. The Optra uses fully independent suspension with HydroMounts on the Engine to give it one of the best ride in it's segment. Cheers!

• kazos on Apr 03, 2010 at 6:43 pm

saya dah pakai chevrolet aveo model 2005. Power window ok. ride n handling better than saga LMST or new saga. Leather seat masih good condition and soft jika dibanding dengan waja. jika compare : my waja 2005 leather dah koyak &lusuh, seat makin keras, motor power window asyik rosak. One day, hujan lebat, tiba2 power window terbuka sendiri. habis basah..

• rahul rajveer on Apr 05, 2010 at 2:58 pm

the cruze will be launching somewhere in June 2010. i know this because i am working for cergazam. so be patient! once it has arrived in the show room, we will definately inform people that are interested. But they are open for booking only currently! so please place your booking as soon as possible. Visit your nearest Chevrolet Showroom about the booking.

Thank You!

P.S: They have some AP and tax issue to settle. it is a 1.8l car, 139hp. Yes, the car is already in the Port. Naza is helping to sort out the issue.

• If the price is lesser 105K then it’s worth to buy. Otherwise, go for other brands.
    Cruze ranked 3rd in 3 car test – together with Mazda3, Hyundai i30. Suprisingly hyundai is better than cruze… If you can stretch your budget and want a great car.. go for Mazda3. Or civic can be another choice but it’s already a tad boring car… so if you just wanna go for a car that’s unique – because or it’s a new and rare model but don’t think about other thinngs… then Cruze can be a good choice..

My preferences in this category:
    1) Mazda3
    2) Civic 2.0
    3) Focus TDCi – Diesel
    4) Lancer
    5) Cruze

eventhough many review say that i30 is a great car.. it’s never in my list… hehehe.. dunno why..