Peugeot-Citroën recalls Aygo’s French sisters

PSA Peugeot Citroën has announced a recall of about 90,000 Peugeot 107 and Citroën C1 cars following Toyota’s 1.8 million car European recall which includes the Aygo. The city car triplets of Aygo, 107 and C1 were jointly developed and roll off the same plant in Kolin, Czech Republic. Should the Aygo have faulty accelerator pedals, it’s likely that its French sisters are affected too.

A spokesman for Peugeot Citroën said that he was not aware of any injuries caused by the problem in the vehicles it is recalling, which were made from 2005 to mid 2009.

Meanwhile the New York Times quoted Toyota president Akio Toyoda as saying: “Customers bought our cars because they thought they were the safest. But now we have given them cause for grave concern. I can’t begin to express my remorse.”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:09 pm

another recall?

wtf,first japanese,now french…….

• Joseph on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Cute & Expensive cars ( in Malaysia ONLY ) …..

• kelvin on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Dear Toyota President, it's good that you admit your company's mistakes.

• shokubeni on Feb 01, 2010 at 10:56 pm

malaysia memang boleh!!! said,

February 1, 2010 @ 2:09 pm

another recall?

wtf,first japanese,now french…….

—-

this car a rebagde from toyota..thats why

• reuben how on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:05 pm

i think toyota needs to address their drop in quality. Some of their newly launched models only garnered NCAP 3 stars. (Toyota Urban cruiser) Or else… risk getting overtaken by koreans

• mitlanevo on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:10 pm

recall fiesta, hahahahahaha

• barca on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Toyota = irresponsible

PSA-PC = now that's what i call responsible!

great move by PSA-PC, you don't wanna risk publicity over the Aygo shared platform. chuck it all already and give the 107 owners a replacement 206+ instead!

hope PSA-PC would've learned a lesson NOT to go with T for future collabs and should've stick to contis!

vive le mouvement et l'émotion!

vive le peugeot!

• ahh…another toyolta caused prob…

• Fuego66 on Feb 02, 2010 at 12:55 am

Toyota President said "I can’t begin to express my remorse.” So, apalagi, commit HARAKIRI lah!!!!! Hmm Toyota, problems after problems . . . .

• for those who don't know, the citroen C1 and peugeot 107 are rebadged toyota aygo. so, the only thing french about those cars are probably how they look but mechanically, they're japanese. they were created for those who would prefer a japanese car but like the french way of design.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 3:27 am

lol their cars arent really affected yet they bother to recall ppl….now that's good PR =)

• AE said,

February 1, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

"for those who don’t know, the citroen C1 and peugeot 107 are rebadged toyota aygo. so, the only thing french about those cars are probably how they look but mechanically, they’re japanese. they were created for those who would prefer a japanese car but like the french way of design."

Not 100% correct: C1/107 and Aygo are using Toyoata petrol engines, but Peugeot diesel engines. Toyota don't have a competetive diesel which is highly popular in Europe (>70% market share i.e. in Spain). This was the reason for Toyota to join this joint-venture.

The rest is correct: C1 and 107 are rebadged Toyota Aygo…

• thanks mohd!

yup, i left out the mention of the engines.

• MADBOY on Feb 02, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Fuego66 said,

February 1, 2010 @ 4:55 pm

Toyota President said “I can’t begin to express my remorse.” So, apalagi, commit HARAKIRI lah!!!!! Hmm Toyota, problems after problems . . . .

——————

The cars are more suitable to commit KAMIKAZE. Emmm, after this all terorist groups will use toyota to commit suicide bombing. If the operator has any doubt, it will be too late as the car will not stop..

Joke aside, VW target to beat toyota will be much easier now.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 02, 2010 at 8:15 pm

So to blind Proton bashers….. please shut up.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 02, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Proton would never do such a thing. When for example Renault or Mitsubishi calls back their cars….will proton do the same?

• staff on Feb 03, 2010 at 1:48 am

@mazda 3 mps…

why is that, if both make a recall, proton has to do the same thing?

last model proton using mtsubishi is the wira….

and as for renault only engine…

• clever on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:57 am

toyota r sh1t, and so are all french cars

i will stick with VW forever!!

• Sbpir on Feb 03, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Who says they dont give problem

• Cosmos on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:40 pm

cute cars. too bad they’ll be too pricey here.