Lotus F1 car to make track debut this week?

A few of the established Formula 1 teams are testing their 2010 machines at Valencia now, but we’ll have to wait a little longer to see the much anticipated Lotus F1 car. However, that’s fully expected and not due to any trouble in the car’s development. Chief technical officer Mike Gascoyne earlier revealed that the Malaysian-backed outfit will only join the final two test sessions before the 2010 season starts in Bahrain.

Lotus has confirmed that its official launch will take place on the 12th of February at London’s Royal Horticultural Hall, where we’ll get to see the car’s livery for the first time. It was speculated that the car will then run on track for the first time in Silverstone the following day, but reports say that the Lotus could see some action on the British track this week. Gascoyne earlier mentioned that the car will be fired up on February 5, so it is a possibility.

Interestingly, if that comes true, Lotus could “bump into” friendly rivals Virgin F1, which is set to shakedown their 2010 car at the same time and place. An early stage for the battle of the newcomers?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jknight on Feb 03, 2010 at 1:49 am

yess!!

• Delio on Feb 03, 2010 at 2:07 am

Damn newcomers!. Schumi will beat u.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:18 am

who cares about this little team

• virgins new car http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rw806Nd2dv0

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:55 am

Mazda 3 MPS is jealous because the country he is from does not have his own F1 team. Loser.

• Abzaja on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:06 am

good…Lotus F1 and Virgin F1 can play police sentry themselves while the big boys do the racing

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 03, 2010 at 5:06 am

japanesecarsucks said,

February 2, 2010 @ 7:55 pm

Mazda 3 MPS is jealous because the country he is from does not have his own F1 team. Loser.

———————-

neither does ur country

• tokpaya on Feb 03, 2010 at 6:53 am

Nama aja 1Malaysia F1 Team tapi launch di UK.

Come on, launch-lah di sini, pasti beribu rakyat Malaysia tercinta nak hadir tengok "kereta F1 pertama Malaysia".

Grand-grand di UK pon, Malaysia pon boleh buat grand. Mana slogan Malaysia Boleh, mana slogan 1Malaysia. Lebih baik tak ngaku 1Malaysia F1 Team, panggil Lotus je. senang cerita.

• tokpaya said,

February 2, 2010 @ 10:53 pm

Nama aja 1Malaysia F1 Team tapi launch di UK.

Come on, launch-lah di sini, pasti beribu rakyat Malaysia tercinta nak hadir tengok “kereta F1 pertama Malaysia”.

Grand-grand di UK pon, Malaysia pon boleh buat grand. Mana slogan Malaysia Boleh, mana slogan 1Malaysia. Lebih baik tak ngaku 1Malaysia F1 Team, panggil Lotus je. senang cerita.

————————————————————–

Nie kena launch kat UK. Pasai cronies and pak menteri Malaysia boleh pi join jalan-jalan kat UK. Macam lawatan sambil belajar (ahem, paham-paham jer la)

Kalo launch kat Mesia, habuk pun tarak. Takde chance….so baik launch kat UK. Dapat naik airplane 1st class, acomodation 1st class, makan minum best, etc. heheheheeh…

• Neo.S on Feb 03, 2010 at 8:34 am

Aiyo…… Mazda 3 MPS…….F1 story also come across your nerv ar ?? haiya you better dont drive a car …or any automobile la…..go take "Bas 11" la…..healthier for you less anger and less frustration hahahaha

• azrai on Feb 03, 2010 at 3:49 pm

What a waste by Tony. When will Air Asia pay the airport tax to MAHB?

• gellardo on Feb 03, 2010 at 4:50 pm

er….the nama of the team are Lotus F1 Team, right?

u guys didnt know the name of the team or forgot?

so what's the problem the team launching their car at UK?

• hashiriya on Feb 03, 2010 at 6:29 pm

1Malaysia F1 Team is only use in Malaysia but actually the official name for this team is Lotus F1 Team.

• drMpower on Feb 03, 2010 at 7:37 pm

i dont know what these fellow boffins are condemning about the launch where n where.

already they announce in few years time the base will be move to Sepang. as for now, everybody in the world knows that the team is Lotus F1, and will be based in the UK, except for these super boffins who know nothing apart from complaining.

i lost interest in Lotus F1 not because of their logistic arrangement or the budget or anything, but the moment i heard about Tony The Team Principal challenging his buddy Branson which involve either wearing a sarong or killing himself, my throat become so kembang one.

wanna vomit my shit out.

it doesnt take rocket science to see which party uses charm, intelligence, and sense when you make humor out of something. but tony, telling himself and anyone want to listen how he is the next Branson (even MO of his company also similar, so does the theme colour) of Malaysia, decided to go 'killing someone including myself if Lotus F1 loses to Virgin F1' version of 'humor'

which tells u something. contender for most stupidest team principal? u got my vote, tony.

• Motorist on Feb 03, 2010 at 8:14 pm

drMpower: Its all a public relation stunt lah. They're both in F1 to advertise the respective airlines, so any opportunity (the friendly bet) to plug the airlines is used to the max.

Whoever said advertising has be to a pretty sexy model representing the product. Look at the latest Ikea CNY TV ad. 2 fat, not pretty young actors with an old aunty who is made up to look haggard.

Its not conventional like your BMW adverts

• nighttrain on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:02 pm

Haha good one drMpower.

As for the rest of 'tak puas hati' group the name is Lotus maa. UK mari. Intro at London la… Well it's gonna be fun to watch the group at the back battle for 11th-22nd position. Bonus if Lotus and Virgin can get any of their cars into the top ten, right?

Kat mana nak cari t-shirt Mercedes GP Petronas ciplak A? Kat pasar malam dah ada ke?

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 03, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Hmm.. releasing de car is all tht matters nw.

Is de M'sia GOV gonna tc of wht's gonna go wrng? has our tracK been inprovised on making it better?! has de whoLe area of SEPANG being upgarDed?! AiRaSia terminal is nt so far..!! showing de worLd wht we're doin cn onLy b done outside of M'sia! nt internaLLy. Whn de internal story prevail's no resPect is al we get!

{we wan a raCe wit a gd show! nt internaL conFlict cramping up de fun..!}

• drMpower on Feb 03, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Motorist:

I know it is publicity stunt or whatever. nothing serious.

both branson and tony got whatever they wanted from that stunt. but then see again which party used charm, intelligence, and fun?

branson said something like he will wear sarong or something if virgin F1 finishes the season below than Lotus F1. thats fun stuffs.

heard what tony said if 'his' team finishes below virgin F1? he'd kill himself.

now that u call funny and charming?

what a wonka.

• Ferruccio on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:30 am

Tony claims in a press conference in KL that he never actually said he'd "kill himself". He said to thank the British press for that unusual statement.

• hasrizal on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:43 am

AHA ..you can find the replica at KLCC already , just side of RHB bank.

• Ferruccio on Feb 04, 2010 at 1:38 am

Really? sure that's not replica of the Mercedes GP Petronas car?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:17 am

support the campos team

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Ferrari the best…

• isfufushah on Feb 10, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Lotus F1 tuesday (9-2-2010) test – spyshot image

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/81365