First official pix of new Kia Sportage

New Kia Sportage

We already saw how the new Kia Sportage looks like in clear view thanks to EU patent applications mid last month, but here are the first official teaser photos from Kia, which they posted on their Kia Buzz blog.

Both an orange and a silver car is pictured. The teaser actually includes both the North American spec and the Europe spec. The North American spec is the one with amber signal lamps as required by their laws (pictured above) while the Europe spec has fully clear lenses. Looks pretty good, like a smaller and stouter version of the Sorento!

The new Sportage will be longer, lower and wider than the previous generation model. It will also have a longer wheelbase which will likely translate to a roomier interior and a plusher ride. It will premiere at the Geneva show in March.

Look after the jump for the full pix.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=815]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jarum on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:56 am

Looks good and solid!

• Elvis on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:57 am

Looks like a winner….book one for me!

• A jacked up Kia Forte

• adrianclw on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:59 am

This is really cool.

So different than current design.

• LOVELY! Orange goes really well on it…

• not so good lookin esp at the c pillar

• drMpower on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:04 am

that famous shreyder grill, they use it to maximum effect is it

on that cheap forte, it is a bit smaller.

on SUVs, make it bigger a bit.

lorries got also i bet

• VERY NICE!!!! but when is it coming to our shores?????

• but looks much better than previous one….and i just realize its a sportage and not sorento, front design almost the same

• kia going euro style,

• Muddy on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:18 am

Great purposeful and sharp design. Carrying the succesful Forte language. I like the fact that they make use of their new grille design and apply it subtlely into the bumper air intake and integrate it with fog lights.

Looks very promising.

Hella gud turnaround in design!!!

• kinda weird…

• redline on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:22 am

There're 2 versions of the orange car, one appears to be the real deal and the other a mock-up. Mock-up: key-hole for rear door handles (why?) and oversized brake discs and fake looking calipers. Why send out such confusing teaser photos…? Love the rear end details though, slap on some Audi badges and I would believe it.

• ..it's gemuk lah.. hehe…

• reDsn0w on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:27 am

I tot this suv has been used in their dramas? Saw it in IRIS, several other models were also featured like the Coup. but i noticed all of the cars were without the KIA emblem…wonder why…

• Hmm, Kia design really improve a lot. Just matter of time they will beat the Japanese, I guess.

• KNizam on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:40 am

judging by the look, it looks stunning!

• muharifz on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:41 am

but improvement in design should also go together with improvement in quality and reliability…

• Ajae Da machismo on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:41 am

nicely done….!

• Denfire on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:44 am

I like it… gorgeous design…:D

• kimi_ on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:45 am

You can see how much different and mad nicer the design compare to before

after appoint new former VW chief designer…..

To proton: for god sake, please replace your chief designer to bring more cutting edge and perspective to the proton design, hire others please!!!

• kimi_ on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:49 am

MESSAGE TO OUR LOCAL ONE: being a korean car company DOESNT means

only hire korean people only !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dont be JAGUH KAMPUNG!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• kimi: they already did…the italians GIUGIARO~~~ hehehe

• Gajen on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:01 am

nice design…the rear lights r from audi tho

• RedLine on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:14 am

Wow, looks amazing!

• Dr. Kervokian on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:29 am

Awesome design. Kia Forte is awesome too. I am now a Kia convert since honda still can't fix my darn power window. why should I pay the extra money. shit ass piece of junk.

• I found a lot of Kia vehicles in korean series 'IRIS'…

kinda cool design though

• sparrow on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:43 am

the rear of the sportage have the shadow of K7… and way better than sorento…

OMG.. is good looking car!! and it's Kia.. price is much cheaper than others!! best bang of bucks again from Kia! good job!!

• soya bin on Feb 04, 2010 at 8:45 am

get this SUV

Ditch the CRV

• good design… i love it…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:11 am

not bad………..

• Cocobear on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:11 am

This is so cool. I can't tell u single flaw in the design. It's simply marvelous!

• carput on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:17 am

Very veryy veryyy nice! XD

• Backseat on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:29 am

Now bring this to M'sia and improve our local after sales service and we'll make this a winner here too.

• tamaki on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:43 am

definitely ,exterior rebuild solid yet rigid express deliver sense of sporty and firmly integration.

• l3ryan on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:43 am

looks good!

Kia's going the right direction style-wise.

• iskett on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:46 am

Back a bit funny. Otherwise impressive.

• Nodame on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:51 am

Gyabo~~ Nicely done KIA!

Keep it up!

• kimi_ said,

February 3, 2010 @ 11:45 pm

You can see how much different and mad nicer the design compare to before

after appoint new former VW chief designer…..

To proton: for god sake, please replace your chief designer to bring more cutting edge and perspective to the proton design, hire others please!!!

———————

foreign or local……if foreign nnti u said waste money (tax payer) n no local talent…..if local nnti u said they r not capable enough, drop water face nnti

• Taras on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:20 pm

This one is nice, but i'm in love with the VW :P

• msian on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:20 pm

wow…amazing..

• willpower on Feb 04, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Awesome hot looking car….dashing & killing stunning design.Nice one

• androndraco on Feb 04, 2010 at 2:58 pm

Cantiknya design dia!!

• X-MAN on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:15 pm

how much it will cost us to buy this car?

what about the fuel consumtion??

if both this thing it can beat CRV then

bye bye for japanese SUV…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Look superb..but KIA famous with High Fuel Consumption!!!

• Wow! Nice design!

The front lamp and fog lamp design looks like a fierce tiger's tooth.

Hope got changes in engine.

• Kia & Hyundai strategy is to concentrate on North American & Euro mkt first, get acceptance there & the rest of the world will follows suit (asian mentality, if mat salleh accept sure gud one!)……good strategy, now they are household names in both mkt…soon the rest of the world will follow, ..heard at BFM by the inokom boss rgrdg current priority of the principal ..ie hyundai, thts why not much new model here in msia

• kt (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Boring and ugly. SUV… your time is up. Even Toyota the Deity of boring cars promises more exciting looking and feeling products so why bother with run of the mill SUVs? I dun think this vehicle does anything by the way of progress as well, besides filling up the makers coffers.

• HatchBacklover on Feb 04, 2010 at 4:19 pm

beef up kia forte with short tail huhu..but I like it!!

• HatchBacklover on Feb 04, 2010 at 4:20 pm

no internal shot aaa paul?

• mr_3m on Feb 04, 2010 at 4:21 pm

a Tiguan lookalike… but not surprising since the designer comes from VW… but it will only be good for KIA… best looking Korean SUV so far… and better still if they bring this to Malaysia with a CRDi engine…

• I've seen and touched one in Los Banos, Philippines..hehehe…silver colour… even managed to look at its interior.. awesome!!

• Ha Gnih on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:16 pm

love the rear. a bit VW-ish

• Still afraid of the fuel cnsumption..

• just me on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:38 pm

front looks fierce, the rear does looks like VW golf…

overall kind da masculine… great job!

• vbkcheng on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:38 pm

If they price it at around RM 90K, I believe it can gain quite a number of market share….

• barry on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Better looking than the Tucson ix35! Hope it will come with the 6-speed dual-clutch transmission, the Theta II and the newest 2.0 diesel engines.

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:44 pm

lol i wonder what happened to all the ex kia designers? mercedes? proton?

• I always like Sportage design.. what I don't like is their engine. For a 2L car, it lacked power when start moving unlike Nissan X-trail 2L engine which is very smooth… I hope this new car will have a better engine than the current Sportage.

• MADBOY on Feb 04, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Dr. Kervokian said,

February 4, 2010 @ 12:29 am

Awesome design. Kia Forte is awesome too. I am now a Kia convert since honda still can’t fix my darn power window. why should I pay the extra money. shit ass piece of junk.

———-

Honda also got power window problem ka?

• Peter on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Please,….Hyundai uses the same engine platform due to the formation of chrysler , Mitsubishi and hyundai…..All these companies uses the same engine theory…….So in order words, because KIA is under hyundai….They also benefited….

• xtend2damax on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:00 pm

freaking awesome design! KIA is on a roll. Will definitely buy this over the boring RAV4 & CRV. In fact I don't think there is another SUV in the market currently which looks better then the new Sportage.

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 04, 2010 at 6:46 pm

SaTisFiYinG desiGn..!! luK's gd on road Too!! {spY shot's!}

i totaLLy agRee wiT-dzat n KiMi

dzat;(asian mentality, if mat salleh accept sure gud one!) Wel saiD buDDy

KiMi;{jaGuh KamPung} We niD a chanGe!!

PaUL;interior shot's plz…!!!

• kurikuri on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:08 pm

yeah, it's boring and ugly. totally out.

• omg are the tires 235/55 R18 ? How much is that size gonna cost?

• chyan on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:35 pm

DiVo D27 said,

February 4, 2010 @ 10:46 am

SaTisFiYinG desiGn..!! luK’s gd on road Too!! {spY shot’s!}

i totaLLy agRee wiT-dzat n KiMi

dzat;(asian mentality, if mat salleh accept sure gud one!) Wel saiD buDDy

KiMi;{jaGuh KamPung} We niD a chanGe!!

PaUL;interior shot’s plz…!!!

—————————

I have NO IDEA why you guys like to type this way. Ain't it difficult and USELESS?

Geez!

• Jumbsuck on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:42 pm

Better close shop lah Proton let Hyundai Kia takeover business, factory. Make better use of good steels not waste it to produce junk fugly cars like savvy.

• Mpower on Feb 04, 2010 at 7:46 pm

mazdaish front and evoish rear…..phail besat….lol

• when can proton design cars like this?? love their design language

• nighttrain on Feb 04, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Slap on a NAZA logo and sell same price as the elusive Perodua Nautica. I will buy.

• deathstars on Feb 04, 2010 at 10:59 pm

finaly KIA got their own style and flagship..market going competitive

• ts mdl not bad……..hw abt the soreto….cometts..!?!?

two mdls so far so good………..!?!?!

• Squawk on Feb 05, 2010 at 1:52 am

Hyundai just recorded a 24% jump in USA sales in Jan'10. They should be buying Toyota a nice dinner. :-)

• Type F on Feb 05, 2010 at 4:07 am

Yuummmmyyyy….

• paparazi (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 4:49 am

wow lan eh~

• Royrogers on Feb 05, 2010 at 4:53 am

It is definitely a winner on the design part. Kia and Hyundai are the only automobile companies in the world that made huge profits during last year's economic slumps. They will be world beaters in the next few years. Look at what happened to T&H now!

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:04 am

After looking on it for a many times, I think this is a high definition 3D model that rendered using 3D software. Maybe…

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~G on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:35 am

The Korean is a rising star rapidly now~~ sooner japs also got to follow them~~

is their car industry 'protected' like ours belove Proton here?

but no matter how… if you were to get money from consumers's pocket, you always have to listen to consumers needs, and be alert on the market…

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~G on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:41 am

btw..

with the new design coming out from korean…

and also if our local dealer would keep up the speed..

we might change our buying preference on the next few years…

since many new & cool design are coming out from them, tough now we only get the Forte as the first 'newly design' …we soon will get many many others good design…

u can imagine, korean car will flood our road in 3 years times..given the naza also doing the good job in keeping the price low~~

its not hard to foresee that, as PUG is another same story here~~ good design with good price…

just hope NAZA can do better job in the services part~

• Golf rims?

• senzu bean on Feb 05, 2010 at 8:43 am

Do u guys think Lotus APX can fight with this Sportage or not?

APX still look fresh IMO.

• Wow…..this looks good

I used to own the current Sportage until i have to ditch because of expanding family………. 2 1/2 years of fun but you need to throw out the current rim and Kumho tyre …. real crap…. Put in 18" Rim and nice set of Proxes tyres. Looks good, handles beautifully and certainly has the grunt up to 180 km/h. No need to do anything else. Sportage is well known to have good handling among the class SUV. Yep it was fun indeed.

Time to convince the wifey again.

• senzu bean on Feb 05, 2010 at 8:52 am

This is APX picture.

Maybe the model overshadow it lol :)

http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/508/aweklotusc…

http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk204/amxrules…

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 05, 2010 at 7:01 pm

WeL APX hs been a HoLd fr a Lng tiMe nw… let's C it MakiN an imPaCt!!

Whn ur Use to it, thn u Wn't c de diFFicuLties BuDDy!! {CHyAN}

• quite boring…typical safe design…nothing new…

• Kia has came with better design compare before, but I still need courage to buy korean car.

• nuajon on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:13 am

handsome…

• sheikh mohd nasir on Apr 03, 2010 at 11:13 am

Very god design by Kia, now which one to buy either new sportage or new sorento?? but when it shall arrive in Malaysian market?? Naza, please disclose the info…

• azninzaghi18 on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:58 am

i like it!!!the design is awesome….used in “Cinderella’s Stepsister” series….good looking and look solid….since then I wonder what car model is that???wow…it’s new kia sportage…. how much does it costs???