Ford Focus WRC Edition – 50 units in Switzerland

The Ford Focus RS is one hot looking hot hatch and Ford of Switzerland has raised the temperature further with this special version called “WRC Edition”. It will be produced in a limited run of 50 units to commemorate the 40th anniversary of Ford’s RS division.

The WRC Edition, which pays tribute to the legendary Escort RS1600 that was launched in 1970, was designed with the help of Swiss fans who participated in a design competition. The winning design’s base is a “Frozen White” paint finish contrasted by black and green stickers and stripes as well as the 19-inch OZ Superturismo GT multispoke alloys in black. As with all special editions, there’s a plaque and this one bears the signatures of Ford WRC drivers Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen.

No changes under the bonnet, so the 305 bhp 2.5-litre turbocharged inline-five sprints to 100 km/h in under 6 seconds and on to a top speed of 263 km/h. It is priced at 55,900 francs or about 37,950 euros. Check out some of the proposals that didn’t make it after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=823]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bravo Charlie on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:01 pm

prefer this awesome Focus RS WRC than a pathetic MitEvo-X…

• ferris buller on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Bravo Charlie said,

February 6, 2010 @ 2:01 pm

prefer this awesome Focus RS WRC than a pathetic MitEvo-X…

————————————————————

Haha! what Evo-X? Never seen one competing WRC!

• torque (Member) on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Freakin' awesome and yet we'll never see it here…

• endre on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:30 pm

beauty

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 06, 2010 at 10:41 pm

uh oh

• heh…WRC?its dated…

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:08 am

1 in M'Sia plz……..

• mitlanevo on Feb 07, 2010 at 12:59 am

nice hatch, really a great car by Ford…

but its really PATHETIC to see some extremely PATHETIC jokers somewhere up there, comparing this nice hatch with a genuine international certified rally-bred sedan…

very pity these group of PATHETIC jokers, because they never got a PATHETIC chance to get their PATHETIC hands on any Evo, not only the X…

sigh, truely PATHETIC…

• audio on Feb 07, 2010 at 1:22 am

Awesome!.. wish can see this beast in Msia roads..

• NoName on Feb 07, 2010 at 1:57 am

Wish to see Proton Satria Neo S2000 on the road…woohoooo!!

• Hope a road version of the handsome and desirable Satria Neo S2000 would be produce.

• Auto_crat on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:22 am

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

• seancorr on Feb 07, 2010 at 2:54 am

ford will goreng the evo n sti for dinner

• ricaza (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 3:51 am

the one with black and red vinyls are dammed hot!!

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2010 at 4:15 am

i think mit lancer will use the hatchback version for wrc. today most of the wrc car is hatchback.

• torque (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:36 am

seancorr said,

February 6, 2010 @ 6:54 pm

ford will goreng the evo n sti for dinner

In rally sure can la since each car have been tune to the max especially the RS been converted to 4WD but in road going car…? Come on…the RS is a FWD production car la bro…wanna each Evo and STI for dinner…no way…I may ditch the current Evo X simply b'coz the manual version only had a 5 speed but I'll take the FUCKIN' QUICK version….2 liter with 400BHP anyday than the RS…anyday…

• abdul qayyum on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:46 am

satria neo s2000 is more beautiful than this…

• Every car manufacturer are taking the route to produce "limited edition" cars thesedays. Limited edition should be genuinely special. It's a bit dissapointing to know that this Ford Focus WRC is more of cosmetic rather than decals…..Shame….

Somehow, the car sales in Malaysia (ahem, our "hugely" popular national car) also have overly used the term "limited edition". Simply slap some stickers, put some wheel caps, some paint job, put exhaust tips, or smoked lamps, or install awkward dashmeter lights…..IS NOT limited edition.

Limited edition should be the REAL DEAL.

Not CHEAP DEAL, please….

• i don't get it. what's the point of making a wrc version when it's just the normal version with extra paint on it ? give us a goddman AWD car ffs !

• y2ggy on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:32 am

Only Ford and Citroen can compete in WRC. Japanese car .. evo/sti/toyolta, indah rupa jer… but not tough enough. Sime Darby, bring 10 unit to malaysia laarrr…

• FFIVE.GIVE ME FIVE~G on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:57 am

308GT can tune better too!!

• guys, i;m a diplomat in service in switzerland, and i'm planning 2 get 1

• JULIAN_LEE on Feb 07, 2010 at 10:15 am

i can do better with my kancil.

• dont care

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2010 at 4:10 pm

"comparing this nice hatch with a genuine international certified rally-bred sedan…"

i wouldnt blame them bcos the certified rally bred sedan also got it's own tame nice sedan which is normal lancer GT. ans ford focus also got well known for its rally capability which driven by collin mcrae for the first model.

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2010 at 4:12 pm

oh nway, i did get my hands on evo 3..and drive it around the block as well…(no abs,no tc, no vsc..pure fast car)

• staff on Feb 07, 2010 at 6:24 pm

@zain…

Where is the limited edition u mentioned by any of our national car maker?

what i can see is… SPECIAL EDITION… not LIMITED edition… So… different isnt?

SPECIAL is not LIMITED….

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 07, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Y nt in M'Sia…Y…..?!

http://www.autoguide.com/manufacturer/kia/2010-ki…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 07, 2010 at 10:18 pm

why swiss?

• mitlanevo on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:04 pm

so?

focus got 'tame' version too…..

dont tell me u dont know???

• im a regular reader here and i would just like to point out something. im trully sickened by the vast quantities of unconstructive comments over here. pls behave maturely when commenting, unless ur a 10 year old kid talking smack.

• whatever on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:59 am

Stupid comment are always here in paultan comment corner. whatever it is Focus is a nice car to drive.Handling are supersuperb without any of those active ride handling gadget install to it. Just a unique suspension system. By the way, each car ahve their own characteristic and it goes by price. so stop arguing about which car is the best….adios idiota's

• fazron80 on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:08 am

Focus seems a good alternative from the japan makes. This limited edition looks desirable. What's with the RS? Alot of cars on the road stick RS stickers on their cars. Always wonder what RS stands for.

Perhaps Proton can make some limited edition for their neo s2000 too. I don't think there'll be problem finding customers to buy them. The neo looks quite nice too especially neo s2000. If Proton took too long the Neo will be too outdated already.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:52 am

mazda 3 mps will eat this up in real life

• @zain…

Where is the limited edition u mentioned by any of our national car maker?

what i can see is… SPECIAL EDITION… not LIMITED edition… So… different isnt?

SPECIAL is not LIMITED….

—————————————————————–

In Malaysia our national car maker makes no difference even when they use SPECIAL or LIMITED or SPECIAL LIMITED edition for their cars…

It's all the same old, same old…….car with questionable of reliability and quality..

• Rallyfan on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:11 pm

RS = Rally Sport

Usually, RS versions are sporty versions of the model, with sportier accessories and sometimes, performance upgrades.

As it is, the Focus RS comes with big performance and rally-inspired design. Truly a delight that it matches up to the older Focus RS in spirit.

Try catching WRC from this year on! Its gonna be a really good season with Ford really in place to grab both titles from Citroen! Hopefully, FIA addresses the appeal of rallying better too. Coz thats where the roadcars (with this RS badge) come from.

• Leonardo on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:39 pm

Some of you might be too young to remember, but Proton did offer a Limited Edition 1.8 liter DOHC Wira which was required under FIA to qualify for "Production Car" category rallying some years ago. Try looking at Mudah.my and type in Wira 1.8, and you could probably see some examples.

• wochomi on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Fuyoh! So nice the sticker… I'll probably get the Stickershop guy to copy the vinyls and paste it on my white dugong! hehehe….

• rakyat on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:56 am

tim, tq very much! now if only there are more readers like you.

• 1malaysia on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:15 pm

bravo charlie,u dont know about cars then u simply say a pathetic MitEvo-X?

lol poor you