Toyota Vios facelift teased on UMW Toyota website with estimated pricing

UPDATE: 2010 Toyota Vios facelift launched in Thailand!

UMW Toyota has put up a teaser announcing the coming launch of the facelifted Toyota Vios with the updated grille, tail lamps and etc that we saw earlier.

As expected, UMW Toyota has jacked up the prices of all models. Even the cheapest manual 1.5J has had a price hike, bringing the price now to over RM70k when previously it was priced just under RM70k. Of course, these price hikes could be accompanied with equipment list changes.

Old Price New Price
Toyota Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo (AT) RM90,900.00 RM92,990.00
Toyota Vios 1.5G (AT) RM85,025.00 RM87,990.00
Toyota Vios 1.5E (AT) RM79,425.00 RM81,990.00
Toyota Vios 1.5J (AT) RM73,525.00 RM76,990.00
Toyota Vios 1.5J (MT) RM69,825.00 RM71,990.00

The price hike brings the top of the range Vios extremely close to the top of the range Kia Forte 2.0 SX – there’s a price difference of only RM1,000 and the Forte is a C-segment 2.0 litre sedan with a GEMA engine similiar to the one used in the Lancer, while the Vios is a 1.5 litre B-segment. On paper, the only thing the Vios has up on the Forte is a 3-year warranty (and double mileage) versus 2-years for the Kia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• no good this toyota…

• apeng on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:08 pm

its grill & rim similar to altis lor…

• YeapyEvo on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:16 pm

Why would any moron spend so much on a car that is using old tech, facelifting over and over again, doubtful safety (no VSC, sticking pedal etc…) called TOYO..TA. Greedy Toyota so dam overprice, may be need to cover their loss in USA? Better choice would be Kia Forte anytime.

• darkskies on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:17 pm

I think it a bad business plan to UMW to hike the price.

We already know that Forte is already come to Malaysia, but heck this greedy Toyota still wanna hike their price.

• celicazz on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:18 pm

lets put proton-bashers words into this toyota's facelift move:

"only change the grille and add sum garnish can call new model ah?"

"old model with some additional accessories also want to hike price ah?"

others can add more to this… be my guest.

p/s: dont take this seriously… it is only a sunday joke, everyone…

• bmpower on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:24 pm

What facelife? facelift what? grill?

beware of the S.A.P oso aaaaa…

• theanswer on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:25 pm

sometimes i really dont understand how the company decide the price for their car… kia is a global brand already.. T brand cant no longer expect ppl to come to their shop and buy their product just because of their T logo and name.

• klguy on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:26 pm

watever global quality problem toyota has, malaysians will still go for toyota. hike up the price to 110k, they will still buy it :P . i hated proton, no i hate proton, toyota and honda. these are licenced blood suckers in tis country, worst than ah longs.

• klguy on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:27 pm

watever global quality problem toyota has, malaysians will still go for toyota. hike up the price to 110k, they will still buy it . i hated proton, now i hate proton, toyota and honda. these are licenced blood suckers in tis country, worst than ah longs.

• klguy on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:28 pm

lets support the underdogs…Mazda, Ford, Pug, Kia and Hyundai. some cars from them are far superior and cheaper than P1,T and H. don be blind just like how u guys chose the govt.

• lan090 on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Toyota and John Terry is similar..They do not repent for all of their wrongdoings to their fans.

How come they increase price when they got bad reputation worldwide !!

Forex always fluctuate but that is not an excuse when you change a little bit here and there and call it a facelift.

I better buy a new Forte rather than so called 'Facelifted' Toyota Vios..Puas hati ma..

• mu_77 on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:37 pm

crap dugong..overrated… Now look worse with all those chrome grills and ugly rims… Fugly

• mitlanevo on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Persona, City, Latio and Forte FTW……..

dugong after facelift still is dungu and gonggong…..

• KommeAusDeutsch on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:52 pm

You poor Malaysians. Buying car from recycle bin.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:54 pm

what kind of pricing is this. cut throat.

• amazing how a B segment 1.5 car can cost almost as much as a 2.0 C segment car and yet still sell like hot cakes.just because of a badge.we the consumers are also to blame for buying popular brands for the name rather than the actual product itself (this also goes for all consumer items like clothes,handbags,watches,shoes etc).the good resale value of T and H are also linked to the brand perception.

How is the reliability of Kia nowadays?my friend's Naza Ria needed a new gearbox and overhaul at 110kms only (4 years old)

• nighttrain on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Anhybody who buys this and not wait for all new model are idiots. Don't you just love Malaysians?

• Cross Polo on Feb 07, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Satu Hari dalam meeting tergempar Toyota…

Toyota Japan: macam mana nak cover balik ganti rugi baik pulih SAP kat semua Camry & Laxus ?.

Toyota USA: Bukan Toyota Asia (thailand) nak kuarkan vios Make up baru awal tahun nie, apa kata kita selitkan harga ganti rugi dalam tu sebab yang vios tukar tak banyak apa & kos tu pun berapa sangat pun… nanti kita cakap le yang kos nak buat tu mahal….

Toyota Thailand: Nak buat camna kalau camtu boleh cover baik pulih tu…. tapi nanti diaorang tak perasan ke ?.

UMW Toyota: Kami setuju sebab kat malaysia pun kami tak wartakan penarik balikkan semua Camry & Laxus untuk tukar ganti sebab kami dah kata yang pasang kat semua toyota pasaran Malaysia tak ada kena mengena dengan USA. Tapi takkan tak ada apa2 kot sebab kami cover semua nie….

Toyota Japan: Takpe… nanti kami akan bagi model compact Daihatsu terbaru kepada Perodua… Tapi macam biasa le… pastikan untung lebih tanpa pengguna malaysia sedar yang kuar tu nanti versi downgrade….

Toyota USA & Thailand: Terima Kasih… Sebab tu le kami sayang ngan malaysia nie… selalu cover keadaan…. Kami support u all UMW Toyota…

Selang beberapa hari Toyota lancarkan Vios make up dengan butt job & selang beberapa hari plak UMW kuarkan harga baru untuk Vios baru…. Semua peminat Toyota bergembira selamanya sebab Toyota kuarkan Vios Facelift (katanya)…. hehehehe

• lantoilula on May 06, 2010 at 1:07 am

lantoila..lu mmg anti toyota kan?kalau nk murah pakai la beskal atau proton lol!!!!!u all tau ka ape kerja org2 engineer R n D toyota buat?sume mau kasi challenge dgn car manufacturer lol!!!!!!kalau pandai sgt lu duduk la jadik bangang punye bos kt honda ka,toyota ka,lexus ka…kalau car sales jatuh lu kasik terjun itu kandang buaya!!!!!!!!hahahaha

• Dari segi handling dan ketahanan proton lebih baik dari toyota walaupun harga lebih murah looo.

• Henry Tang on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:00 am

Watered down and baseline models selling at such ridiculous prices. I supposed it is in line with Najib's High Income Economy. High income for who?

• eisyam on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:04 am

in the current competition, i think it is a good for UMW to hike up the price…..it will make us easier to make choice, after this we doesn't need to think twice which car is more value for money….straight can go buy a forte

just compare the basic spec and we can already see who is the winner..hehe

• Baldwin on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:06 am

such fugly front grill and its crazy to get a Vios at tht price bracket.

• WinMo6.5 on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:13 am

money are from people pocket, for those bashers, don't buy if you feel expensive, if you cannot change the goverment just be quiet or do somethings to earn more to afford it or buy the car (2nd or 3rd hand) you can afford to make you feel good

• malaysia boleh on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:15 am

its using old technology, overpriced, ugly, plasticy interior– but people still buy it..

are malaysian just plain moron???

• WinMo6.5 on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:16 am

YeapyEvo, call yourself in a moron city, full of toyota on the road, either you back to place with no malaysia govt tax car. or you do somethings to make govt reduce car tax.

• WinMo6.5 on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:16 am

malaysia boleh, may i know what is your age, or what car you drive, or even you afford to get 1?

• still looks lousy to me…waste of time…

• Neutral on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:23 am

So u're indicating that only such a dumb will buy this Vios instead of Forte? I agreed with legs-up..

• oliver chantk on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:44 am

i rather have the better looking, well equipped, safer, roomier, more powerful kia forte.

• meteoraniac on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:45 am

Well, I'm owner of local, Jap and Intercontinental cars and I would definitely choose Forte in a heartbeat with the latest price increase. Only a hardcore T fanboy would still buy a Vios at such astronomical prices (For a C segment car)

• kodok on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:48 am

stupid car with a stupid price!…if u want to be rip off by UMW and risk being recalled for faulty pedal than this is the car for u..babai toyota!

• Can't really seem to match the vios characteristic with this facelift..the grill and rims just like a failed attempt to imitate camry..come on toyota, why most of your design just seems to be all the way down, even lose out to that of kia..what a shame. Wisely speaking, there is a lot of negativity surrounds toyota lately, and the worst part is the way their HQ management handle this recall thing. They really were caught off guard this time,the fact that the disclosure from toyota HQ is just hasn't been forthcoming make their customers lose trust in them…yesterday's news conference is an example, where there are more questions than answers..even Akio Toyoda himself seems to hands off and pass the explanation to his deputy while being asked technically about the recall. Talk about japanese ethics and values bla bla bla, but I think these people are the bad apples, they might just probably think toyota is too big a ship to sink!

• theanswer on Feb 08, 2010 at 12:58 am

i think the b segment(non msian car) price should be a little(not very) expensive from persona, thats it. how come the price of 1.5 car is 90k..crazy.

• Littlefire on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:02 am

Yup, with the price like this. I rather get a 2.0 Kia Forte..

• H Enthusiast on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:03 am

that toyota looks horrible……….it looks retarted and its a straight cut and paste from the yaris.now its given a price hike which is even worse because there are better cars such as the honda city and kia forte…..DONT BUY IT!!!!!toyota is also having prolems

• H Enthusiast on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:04 am

i agree wig malaysia boleh

• typically malaysian… Proton do a little bit of facelift and people bash, other brands did the same thing no one complain… now the big T screwed up in the USA and people is now looking at the big T at the same way as Pr0t0n

• So much for cheap plastics and metal. After bad publicity and recalls, UMW expect to sell the new vios at 2-5k more. Seriously someone need a smack on the head. Looks like UMW's people should rethink the decision made as it will futher push the sales down. Plp will choose the city/ forte/ ford over this.

Dont be greedy ok!

• mirror mirror on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:14 am

"The Toyota Amazing Ability To Dissappoint"

• take a coin and sratch the vios dashboard and see what happens

• MBX Boy on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:28 am

With Forte already getting good reception, Mazda2 coming next month (sedan below 80k), new Waja coming, Toyota's sticky pedal issue, UMW is just shooting itself on the foot by hiking up their Vios like this. Ooo… Lovely..

BTW, meteoraniac, Vios is not C-segment.

• Nicheadison on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:28 am

Hahahaha, the price is soooooooooooooooooo hahahahaha

• Dr. M on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:30 am

This is a low-end model. For reasonably good Japanese models, one should consider 2.0l cars like Lancer, Civic and Camry.

• Chang Chew Soon on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:37 am

Hi guys,

Like any other imported cars, the high price of the Toyota Vios is due to the hefty import tax imposed by our government, and also UMW's decision to increase the price.

The Toyota Vios itself is not expensive without the import tax. A Toyota Yaris in UK is selling for less than 9,000 pound which is around RM 48,000.

Until the day our government decides to abolish the ridiculous import tax to protect the local car maker, any imported cars that would be sold here in Malaysia will carry a hefty ridiculous pricing.

Yes, we can all shoot UMW for putting up such a ridiculous price for a face lifted car. But before doing so, perhaps we all can ask ourselves where has all the money gone to for the hefty tax collected by our government?

Just my 2 cents. Thanks :)

• l3ryan on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:46 am

facelift??? what facelift?

they didn't even bother to change/redesign the bumper!!!

let's just call it a "GRILLLIFT" as in grill+lift.

raise the price somemore, it's either toyota thinks that consumers are stupid, or the malaysian consumers are indeed stupid for wanting to buy overpriced crap.

92k? i can buy myself a pug 308, a forte, a triton!! i do not understand why people buy this overpriced, underpowered, fugly, low quality piece of contraption.

• TCjackkriss on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:46 am

What so we say.. badge goodwill is always killing new toyota enthusiasts' pocket. Facelifting of 2nd gen still look ugly that 1st gen Vios. Can't Toyota "Brainstorming Team" still don't figure out the drivers' taste?

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:07 am

crap dugong,is this so call facelift

and to KommeAusDeutsch,

get your ass out of here

if you say we malaysian bought our car from recycle bin

then, did you bought your car from garbage

• hey, vios j has got 1 airbag & vios e has got 2

probably the price increment is for the facelift plus airbag

1cent worth

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:27 am

Good move..

Those who are thinking to get B segments, this Vios has been simply eliminated..

Go get Forte or Latio, same price but got 1.6L..lalalala

• to umw, it is easy to hike the price since it is toyota, malaysian still buy even it is 'over-price'. for us, customer it is our right to choose what we want to buy. but since i started to hate umw and toyota for the action that i think 'over-charge' malaysian, i m going to give my opion around that toyota is 'over-price'. hello malaysian, toyota is over price here in malaysia.

(if every malaysian who think toyota is over price start to give their opion around, i think we can create more competitive car market).

• staff on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:35 am

If someone are talking about mere tax…

Then, how the hell 2.0 Forte can be priced the same as 1.5 Vios S/sportivo?

UMW itself may put the tax as the scapegoat for their pricing, because public never know their car actual price and how much is their profit margin..

So, whenever ppl asking the salesman, why did the car priced so expensive… Easy… blame the Tax and Govt…

• makan makan on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:38 am

Chang Chew Soon said,

February 7, 2010 @ 5:37 pm

Mr Chang, if that the case..why KIA, PUG can price their car competitively? way cheaper than this ugly DUGONG. Do you think Gov only tax Toyota car, but not the others? I really confuse anything that claimed to have Toyota DNA always expensive (inc. Perodua).

waiting for your 2 cents answer

cheers

• buttercity on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:01 am

Hahaha.. Giler ke aper UMW? But naturally, Toyota fanboy will blame the tax etc. Hahaha..

• lan090 on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:27 am

In an university..

Student: Prof, how do people design car?

Prof: Nowadays, people don't design that much..It's much more to cut and

paste. Like what Toyota do with their unpopular Yaris.

Student: What? I thought design is very important !!

Prof: No, for the sake of profit car companies just take here and there and

put into their car. I think you should know that changing the grill is also

considered facelift.

Student:???

lol..

• y2ggy on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:41 am

Terms of Price:

Vios TRD Sportivo 1.5 = Mitsubishi Triton 2.5

Vios J 1.5 AT = Ford Ranger XL 2.5

Vios J 1.5 MT = Isuzu Dmax 2.5

How come Vios price so and so and so ridiculous. Govt. Tax?… i dont think so cause all compare ration with all outside brand and all 4wd. Toyota fan boy can answer…

• y2ggy on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:42 am

Except Isuzu 2.5 is 2wd. but still pick-up truck with 2.5 engine.

• acerman on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:55 am

makan makan said,

February 7, 2010 @ 6:38 pm

Chang Chew Soon said,

Mr Chang, if that the case..why KIA, PUG can price their car competitively? way cheaper than this ugly DUGONG. Do you think Gov only tax Toyota car, but not the others? I really confuse anything that claimed to have Toyota DNA always expensive (inc. Perodua).

cheers

—————————————————————

I agree. Why only toyota increase the price and not other car makers like Honda and Kia.

• akupunya on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:55 am

bongok punya UMW…mainkan orang…

mentang2 Kia Forte sale value rendah and Toyo tinggi, diorang nk buli customer..cekik darah..

nasib baik gua dah ambik Vios S dulu2…murah siot..akekeke

• transformer (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:56 am

Not attracted with this Vios even before its malaysian launch… JDM Belta are years ahead of ours… Really agree with some commentor about its "dugong" likes… 100% agree…

Now back to pricing, IMHO If one day, after Tax Barrier removed, NAP removed, Fuel and Sugar Subsidies gone, Top of the line Camry 2.4V sells at Rm130K, then its Altis 1.8G approx Rm90K, Vios 1.5TRD might be Rm70K then how much would Naza Forte sell at ? Would P1 Waja/Persona sell at Rm50K+ as per now or lower? If much Lower, would P1 makes profit or/and still ask Gov for funds…??

If car prices dropped then we need no more 9years repayment, just 5/6years enough… Any taker ? Every Rakyat would welcome this!

SO LISTEN!

PLEASE REMOVE ALL UN-1MALAYSIA POLICIES, LETS THE RAKYAT RULES!

• fritz on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:18 am

I really hope toyota vios and honda city would dissapear in this country…ugly and overpriced! But I bet lots of local will give me a punch if I said this in public, because they still hope to own a T or H badge without spending over Rm100k.

I would rather choose Forte or even the great old swift…compare to this crap! :p

• no need to reply so much.

for now i can see.

i will not pick vios of cuz. also will never look into honda city [honda sucks and more suck on their spare parts expensive like shit]

so i will look more into forte!

forte coming with the good timing.

engine start button and ipod ready wow so much new tech and they all still using old shit.

• Hadi1975 on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:33 am

Crazeee ahhh….more expensive than 2 ltr car….

• I think I will consider the Kia Forte compare to this 1.5 sports Vios…

I have to agree the interior of the Kia Forte is way better than Vios…

• believe it or not, even proton also need to pay tax??

basically, it work like this

– proton car has 90% local part + 10% imported part… only 10% have to pay tax…

– produa car especially myvi has 50% local part + 50% imported part, tax will be imposed on that 50% part…

– naza car for example those naza bestari has 30% local part + 70% imported part… so 70% tax…

– toyota vios has 20% local part + 80% imported part, then 80% tax….

that's why we can see those myvi has higher price tag compared with proton cars… so i think let toyota use all local develop part then at that time we can see it has similiar price tag with proton…

• kimi_ on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:44 am

makan makan said,

Chang Chew Soon said,

cheers

—————————————————————-

This is because of NAZA which claim itself as 3rd national car maker……

They CKD the KIA model and slap the AWFUL, CHEAP, SILLY "NAZA" badge

on it, so the tax by G is much lower than UMW…..

Mind you that NAZA still manage get hefty revenue from it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• @y2ggy, the prices for the Vios and the pick up trucks might be similar but you gotta take the annual road tax paid for those pick ups into the equation. You'd pay thousands every year for those monsters.

I'm seeing a lot of comments "Oh, I would buy Forte over this dugong bla bla bla". So do you guys really drive Forte, or any other Korean marques for that matter?

• kimi_ on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:51 am

transformer said,

Not attracted with this Vios even before its malaysian launch… JDM Belta are years ahead of ours… Really agree with some commentor about its “dugong” likes… 100% agree…

Now back to pricing, IMHO If one day, after Tax Barrier removed, NAP removed, Fuel and Sugar Subsidies gone, Top of the line Camry 2.4V sells at Rm130K, then its Altis 1.8G approx Rm90K, Vios 1.5TRD might be Rm70K then how much would Naza Forte sell at ? Would P1 Waja/Persona sell at Rm50K+ as per now or lower? If much Lower, would P1 makes profit or/and still ask Gov for funds…??

If car prices dropped then we need no more 9years repayment, just 5/6years enough… Any taker ? Every Rakyat would welcome this!

SO LISTEN!

PLEASE REMOVE ALL UN-1MALAYSIA POLICIES, LETS THE RAKYAT RULES!

———————————————————-

MADLY AGREE !!!

With this policy, the only way to have lower price from Toyota and Honda is

to ckd by NAZA and carried the "NAZA badge", then all the model will be at

least 10k less…..

But the NAZA service madly sucks and the naza badge downgrade the car

from a beauty to ugly duckling……………..

• sparrow on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:57 am

i am forte owner~

i'm happy to what i'd paid for!

seeing this vios price is crazily overpriced.

i'm happy~ more people will buy forte (and others too) now!

• kimi_ on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:57 am

I agree that the Forte looks better than vios !!!!!!!!!!!1

The only complain is WTH it carried the "NAZA" badge, which spoil many

appetite……For god sake, please remove that stupid badge which i hate…

EXAMPLE : it is like a Miss Universe but wearing the Ugly Betty mask, FML…

• niuhje on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:01 am

Tu lah, beria-ia sangat nak overtake GM sebagai pengeluar kreta terbanyak dunia!! sampai kualiti tergadai!! I always thot the Japs were different & emphasised quality over quantity… Toyota had different mentality kot! But at least their Lexus marquee still looks cun and so far no problem! Love the Lex!! Toyota shld learn from Mr Suzuki, he knows what type of cars his company shld be making and not b so gung-ho trying to conquer the world!!! Oh! n they make some mean bikes too… gixxers rulezzzzz…..

• Gajen on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:04 am

i prefer the forte anytime man…forte is way better than vios and city

• rchoo on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:12 am

Price Hike for Toyota VIOS with cosmetic change, do they deserve it?

I believe pricing wise the VIOS 1.5 TRD Sportivo is getting very close to PUG 308VTI. It would definitely make more sense to buy the 308VTI than the VIOS.

Just my honest opinion. (without fear or favour).

• Auto_crat on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:20 am

driven a Forte 2 days ago. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than the Vios.

• Toyota UMW totally stupid. Vios is totally stupid car. ugly. expensive. bad performance.. still said TRD tune.. tune his buttock. change to more ugly cover… Proton also look better. what happen to toyota people. Camry now also more ugly. why.. Last time toyoya so nice. now sad..

• Jimmy on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:53 am

Does Nazakia really serviced your car? Please check your car everytime you bring your car back from their service centres. One example is that they may not give you your empty oil container and the old filter changed like what UMW service centres do.

• Mastermind on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:56 am

Because the toyota recall not tax…even the car I usepaid tax ma…..

toyota like to blame other….like paddle stuck blame vendors….n now blame gomen tax…wah easy life….la…..hike price blame gomen..hike price blame gomen…what is ur business…where is toyota costing department……….

Actually that is 'arm's leg' issue of double standard price by toyota

THAT IS TRANFER PRICING POLICY BY TOYOTA MA….

Cost of 1 car is 10k

Sold to Malaysia=50k without tax..

Sold to America and other=10k without tax

so here the big liar is toyota…..EXPERT TO MANIPULATE COST…because the bloody Malaysians still believe toyota=world quality…

All parts installing in Thailand …ma…SO to toyota fan thinking first ma…dont just blame tax issue……………………………..first reason is toyota already manipulate this…wakaka…just 4 people like to think………………..

so ur right tht is ur money…………….but 4 me go to hell la toyota…………

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:11 am

mazda 2 is better buy

• trav_da_man on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:17 am

This is overpriced and ridiculous, not to mention it looked hedious. With toyota's image at risk due to the massive worldwide recalls and Korean competition is attacking, unless there are some added goodies, the 2-3k increase does not justify at all.

Thank god i got the vios before the facelift though.

• oledi lost to city , lagi mau naik harga. so manay badnews bye bye no.1 sales

• Comments on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:40 am

With current market situation and toyota's recall, they still increase the price ???

I believe once Forte have good feedback from market then Toyota will lost their market share to Kia / Naza…

• Bad move! I will go for the Honda City I-vtec, 5 gear AT gearbox with a padal shift, a sportier looks, and more spacious with this kind of price. no doubt!

• man…… toyota name soooo merosot after the sticky pedal case

• kimi_ on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:02 am

Eric said,

change to more ugly cover… Proton also look better. what happen to toyota people. Camry now also more ugly. why.. Last time toyoya so nice. now sad..

——————————————————-

You should check your eye immediately dude !!!!!!!! Although this vios is

UGLY, it stll way better than Proton…… There are no ways proton design

better than toyota…….Proton design is a JOKE and just a piece of junk…..

• Chang Chew Soon on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:02 am

makan makan said,

Chang Chew Soon said,

cheers

—————————————————————-

It's simple, locally assembled cars will be cheaper. Also, KIA is a lower quality car, hence cheaper cost of manufacturing, and cheaper selling price. I share the same opinion like bro Kimi.

And for those asking why Honda doesn't increase the price, beats me. Just like I don't understand why would UMW increase the price.

All I'm saying is that before we start bashing any imported car (not only Toyota), we can't ignore the fact that the import tax does play a significant role in it.

For example, the in the US the Toyota Yaris starts selling at the price tag of USD 13,000 which is around RM 45,000 before TAX + UMW's selling price. What can you get with RM 45,000 in Malaysia? Proton Persona?

Then it comes to my attention why a Proton Waja in Saudi is selling for around RM 35,500 while the price of a Waja here is like over RM 60k? I do know Proton has a local assembly plant in Saudi. Doesn't Proton has manufacturing plant here in Malaysia as well?

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_RQcAxTVtNRs/S06ltrnJT3I/AAAAAAAABgQ/eh-kiD_IMLU/s1600-h/kena-tipu.jpg)

Beats me. Again, just 2 my cents answer.

• no matter what, people will still buy Honda and Toyota….big chunk of the buyer are not car enthusiast, they will get input from family members and friends, even their family favourite mechanic said so…..buy toyota, honda or nissan. Better resale value… easy spareparts. This is the reality.

Sad…but true

• White Jack on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:12 am

Toyota kena recall, not scare mei ? somemore price increase, quality decrease. When a company gets bigger, that's the basic problem.

• Guys, i think we should only blame T for the design of the car, and hey thier c;loses rival has nothing to offer under the 70k bracket. The price blame should be aimed at the G, I got an email from a chain e mail on the actual procelist for the year 2006 from the custums of malaysia( CIF value of the cars imported to malaysia) for the price of the vios we coyuld be driving a tyt harier 3.0 2wd, new beetle 1.6. and many more wonderful car, Jazz only cost bout 40k, currently is at 100k barcket. The balance of the money goes to the G.

• yucks, still ugly. i take the forte anytime anyday.

facelift abit and wanna jack up price.toyota really treats the public as idiots. and still people buy their cars blindly listening to a friend of a friend of a friend of a friend's advice.

wake up people, make educated choices, and ask around. don't listen to others but yourself.

• I think better boycott Toyota now.

Stop buying their car until they can brin down the car price structure.

• RedLine on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:30 am

Way overpriced for such a small and basic car….not worth it.

• toy-auta on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:36 am

toyota = perodua => cekik darah rakyat malaysia

• if the vios G rm90k and city E rm90k, i rather go for altis 1.6 with the price rm102900

• to all kia forte supporter !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! kia is the cheap car, some more NAZAKIA …………. kia how can fight toyota? ? no secondhand value , toyota vios 2003 still rm50k

• good luck malaysian on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:57 am

in this bolehland there are some ToyOtak's fans who willing to pay for such a high price and get the low spec car. They willing to pay more 20k to 30k to solve their so call power window problem which is not the problem currently.

Even some buying 2nd hand Toy also few that their car is much much better then those new car which has better spec and cheaper price.

some willing to loan 7 to 9 years to full fill their "dream" (acctually is nightmare) to be the owner of this Toy. but at the end, the so call owner for this toy is acctually the slave of this toy and the slave for the bank and also the slave for the tax collector. But who care, they still few very proud for having the Toy car.

No matter what car u buy, please do not take such a long loan! Juz accept that u are not afford to drive this car and work harder and smarter. Dont be slave OK.

• abb200 (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:57 am

say so much also no use….lol…no matter how high is the price increase…many will still buy toyota. just look around when you are on the road. count the number of vios's vs city,forte,swift,sx4 and latio. i was in KL recently and suprised to see the huge amount of dugong vios's on the road.

back in kuching, toyota's are everywhere. when the forte was introduced, the KIA showroom was quiet. but at the toyota showroom, its even hard to find parking on normal weekdays. what more to say when a new facelift or model is introduced. servicing appointments are as long as 1 month at umw. more packed than proton edar's service center.

• fazron80 on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:59 am

Wow I thought the story ends with TRD dugong. Umw not makes the dugong even more uglier at a higher price. I think UMW is doing an april fool too early. But hey they know malaysian are specials. They're head over heels for Toyota.

Just visited Naza KIA and tried out Forte last week. Speechless. Start car with button only, SX variant already has 17 inch rim. If comparing Proton and forte I would say Proton no chance. A lot more to go for Proton. Forte miles better. But the NAZA badge on the car is a real turn off.

Well let's see how well Toyota will do with the price hike considering Toyota image is now down with all the bad press their having.

• OpenMind on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:05 am

They are just testing the reaction…at the end of the days, UMW would just drop 1-2k, and out of a sudden, people would think that it is cheaper by so much (e.g 90990, estimated price at 92990, and later they would announced it at 89990….).

Relatively, people would think that it is now cheaper by 3k, and it suddenly becomes the biggest bargain in Malaysia.

Old technique, but still works…..

• willpower on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:09 am

Sean, H & T are the same category. Both sucks…

and sucks our blood till we all dried up.

bad move for T.

• steven on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:11 am

vios very boring adn expensive ~ dunno y still got many idol buy it ??

• Nieto on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:51 am

1 word… ugly

• OMG!!!!

After countless recycle process on this Toyota Vios @ Dugong and now…

Recycled again??!!!!!

Either Toyota Malaysia becoming stupid selling this old junk as new car, or malaysian getting stupid and still buying (expensive) old junk…

• viosuser on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:04 am

wow the response is overwhelming……

I am a satisfied vios user, probably it is due to the fact that I was using a proton saga b4 this.

I do not care about how's the look. I am using a RM 99 Nokia phone and lots of people laughed at me also. As long as it's reliable and robust, cukuplah. I do not care whether it;s cheap or expensive as long as it is justified for it's value. KIA Forte ??? You sure or not. You will regret la babe after 5 years. Care more about your wallet lah

After banging the car for a couple of years, sell it lah. Who cares.

• kaiser on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:20 am

I am not an expert, but I suspect the price increase is due to the lower ringgit value and the strengthening of the yen.

I however have always thought that the vios sold here is of inferior build quality, even before the price hike. Some of the knobs looks cheaper than Protons! Havent driven the Forte, but their build quality is superb for the price.

But since malaysians need to pay car installments for such a long time, residual value should and reliability should be top priority. Toyota is proven to last for a long time, while the jury is still out on Kia's.

• Herminem on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:43 am

Damn expensive Kia Forte is much better deal anytime

• We need to open up the AP allow more foreign car to compete with Toyota :)

• raoul on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:15 pm

People buy Vios cause they want to go for :

1. Extra fuel mileage.

2. Easy maintenance.

3. Lots of service center around in Malaysia.

4. 3 years warranty.

5. The most important of all – Good resale value !!

• JeffChong on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I just booked my TRD Vios, well yes I agree its overprice, but however everything has some good and bad, but the car is really superb to drive, easy and just good for a small family…..

People here comparing Kia Forte? I was driving a Spectra and I got it in Nov 2003 when I paid RM67,000 now after a few years, I managed to trade in only RM 16,000 (that also Toyota topping up RM2k since its kinda good condition and since I getting the TRD) otherwise its only lousy RM14,000…people like us, driving korean car before, very unlikely to go for another korean car…not the car is no good, its the company that runs it don't do a good job initially, and now the brand suffers….so all forte owners and potential owners…good luck!! its a good car indeed but too bad lousy resale value…..

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:44 pm

toyota is the best!no other brand can hit toyota!you guy cant afford buy this pls dun comment alot here wakakakaka dugong still the best,just increase few thousand only bising this bising that,if dun like dun buy comment alot,like ah mah bargain at pasar,haha

• biggie on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Proton price is higher here then in Saudi becoz Proton also pay tax.

Toyota Yaris is cheaper in UK due to different tax structure. However if you strip away the tax structure in UK and Malaysia then you find that Toyota/UMW Toyota take a hefty profit margin for cars sold in Malaysia (much more then anywhere else in the world).

If you enter a Forte do you see that it is inferior then a Vios? The 2nd class T badge made for developing nations? Or a PUG 308?

I dont think 2nd hand Vios should be priced as high as it is, most probably ppl mistaken it for JDM.

• armandd on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:58 pm

please la don't buy this overpriced small car..

• rajaLawak on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:03 pm

vios = handling gampang

better waja

herge naik = pe de hal beli je

Open AP= vios go to hell

better new city.

• CAr LoVER on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:15 pm

I think toyota has just gone bonkers, for those who are still think that toyota vios bring good 2nd hand value. Imagine this RM 70k for a used 4 year toyota vious. Would you buy? i rather go for a new car.

• Got change mer? Only price arise lar…

Like Avanza style… every facelift also price increase. Spec not much change also…

Wrong wrong move…

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:22 pm

Most people in this forum don't drive a Toyota or Kia, or not even living in the real world of Malaysia. Sure Toyota is expensive here; for that blame the government, not the car companies. Even if the government change hands, there is yet any word from the other side that they will ever do anything about the Malaysian motoring situation.

Toyota is perceived to be better quality than Kia or Proton, hence people are willing to pay for it. People are still afraid to get a Korean car due to the reliability and resale value perception, this will have to change first. With our price, not many people are willing to take the risk.

Having more power or bigger engine is not always the criteria of car buyers. Sometimes you just want the smaller car even if it is more expensive.

• Gizm0s on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:26 pm

even though i m a Toyota owner, i m disappoint with this move. This is totally ridiculous, unless they have completely change the engine to the dual vvti version. Otherwise this ease the buyer to make decision, Forte.. what a good option..

• Kambing Gurun on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:38 pm

To cover the cost of manufacturing the sticky pedals, they have to increase the price of the Vios, so that the sticky ones got more sticky.

• This car is seriously overpriced…..

It should be priced starting from 45K for the Basic J.

Can buy good 2nd hand car in the market for the price….

• low quality with overprice

• Mysticmind on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Toyota resale value is not that good anymore. Only selected model.

• Mysticmind on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:02 pm

And Lancer GT is better option than this ugly, underpowered, overpriced car.

Somemore possibility to get SAP syndrome. lol.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:16 pm

With such a price, we can get better car or at least bigger engine capacity or even better specifications from other Japanese make or Korean.

Perhaps…. Proton Waja 2nd Generation….. few more months to go. Hahaha…

• wolfsburg on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Wow!!! So easily can jack the price up 2-5k… Much easier than robbing yet a lot of people are queuing to get robbed by UMW… Such a wonderful world…

• Sharin on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:22 pm

I do think the Toyota is overpriced compared to the Korean offering, but the bottom line is that we also have to consider other issues.

1. Previous Korean Cars were a letdown. Some that i have tested aare not much better than a Proton of similar size. You can check with some owners who have said that their next car will be a Japanese car.

2.We must also look at the total cost of ownership.Toyota has a good reputation of giving you what matters -reliability and good fuel economy but boring cars. Spares are reasonably priced.Their vvt-i is even more economical than similar systems like cvvt from other companies. Why? I still can"t figure out. Fifteen years down the road when the Korean offering is ready for the scrap heap the Toyota will still be seen running down the road because the Toyota is made to last, no doubt it is a boring car.

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:26 pm

CAr LoVER said,

February 8, 2010 @ 9:15 am

I think toyota has just gone bonkers, for those who are still think that toyota vios bring good 2nd hand value. Imagine this RM 70k for a used 4 year toyota vious. Would you buy? i rather go for a new car

70K for a 4 yr Vios?? U surely have gotten your facts wrong. No way anybody would charge this price for a 4yr old car unless you have gold rims. The resale value drops about 15% in the first year already so how can u say that a 4yr old car has got a higher resale value? Common. U gotta bash with facts man.

Allow me to share my 2 cents worth. Yes i agree with most of you about the new pricing. Toyota should have just increased marginally say about 1K and not 3-5K. Its crazy!

But saying that Kia is surely a better car may not be that accurate either. How many of you have owned a Kia before? As JeffChong said, anybody who has owned a Kia before rarely will choose the same brand again. Let me tell u why:

1) Inferior build quality

2) expensive spare parts

3) expensive periodic service

4) service centres that cannot compare with Toyota or Honda

5) after sale service

6) poor resale value

Kia has been well known for its poor quality gearbox even for its CBU models. Even Kia service centre personnel will tell u the most common problem with Kia models is the gearbox. Ive personally seen 3yr old Kia's in the service centres for engine overhauls. Imagine 3 yrs old and need to overhaul! Ive seen 3 cases in different service centres.

Kia even advises Picanto owners to change the auto transmission fluid (ATF) every 15K km to minimise the chances of gearbox failure. Imagine 15K!!!

Some Kia models like the Picanto, Sorento and Spectra also have problems with defective master brake pumps causing loss of braking power in continous stop/start braking. Last week i saw a Sorento who had a complete brake system overhaul. A couple of months earlier i saw another 3 yr old Sorento which needed a top overhaul.

There are just so many problems with Kia or even Hyundai (ive had friends who have bought the Sonata and sold after just 2 yrs citing various issues).

But do u get these many problems with Toyota? Im not saying Toyota is perfect but it sure is alot better than a Kia. Dont just judge the Forte based on looks alone. Yes it may have a few extra safety features and a better physical outlook but whats the point of all this if u have to overhaul your car after 3 yrs for instance? Im not saying this happens to every Kia car but it has happened often enough.

I have the 1st generation Vios and after almost 7 yrs i am reluctant to even think about changing. How can i possibly think of changing a car that has given me almost ZERO problems? It still feels like new. Great suspension, good brakes, no squeeks, good engine with a good pickup, etc.

Kia can never compare with Toyota for its after sales service. Toyota is well ahead. Ive serviced my car in Penang, Ipoh, KL and JB and i have got excellent service everywhere. Ive also serviced a Kia thats why i know the difference.

The price u pay for your car is not just for the car itself. Think about the after sales service. Think about the resale value. Ive checked the resale value of my car and places like Honda, Mazda and Peogeot have quoted around 48K which is only a 35% drop after almost 7 yrs (i bought for 74,700). Show me any Kia or Hyundai that can achieve this high resale value.

Toyota isnt a perfect car but it has alot of positives that you cannot value from just visiting the showroom. Go ask long term Toyota owners and see what they tell you. Then go ask Kia/Hyundai owners and see what they have to say.

Again im not specifially targetting any car make. Im speaking in general. Just my 2 cents worth.

Cheers!

• Ayatollah on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:40 pm

i think the supremacy of toyota going to end soon. a lots of research against toyota build quality and parts reliability are coming to shows that their cars are not good. compare to nissan, toyota are using cheaper quality products and not solidly build as to nissan.

their technology is very outdated compare to honda as you can find in most of the internet site. eg camry in malaysia and honda accord. you can compare. vios and city also u can compare but i dont know why people are still going after this old technology, low quality parts, poor build car ? mayb because they are very successful in their branding. even their sale executives are more arrogant than others. you can check this out yourself by walking in to their show room they are like you dont buy nevermind others will buy .their after sales service are higher than others brand with same quality provide.

I would love to see that toyota going down for what they had neglect in the past.

And bad news for us they are jacking up the price when there are facing worldwide loss buy vehicle recall. these mean they want to get money from us to campansate their loss because our malaysian mostly are driven by branding when buying cars. This is one of their strategy. second they will jack up the service charges. UMW doing not good in their oil business.

Hopefully our malaysian able to change their mind set when buying cars not to just follow branding.

Cars work for people not people work for cars

• Georgie on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:43 pm

CAr LoVER said,

I think toyota has just gone bonkers, for those who are still think that toyota vios bring good 2nd hand value. Imagine this RM 70k for a used 4 year toyota vious. Would you buy? i rather go for a new car.

———————————————————-

Excellent point there, indeed toyota might have good resale value, but that was years ago.. and this facelift just might be the final facelift for a vios as all the tech was pretty outdated. (sorry, vios fans out there) Heck, I wouldn't buy a facelifted 4 years old spec J vios for RM50k. (I would rather check out the much anticipated 2012 persona when it comes out – i'm not a proton fanboy anyway, just a car enthusiast)

• alpha999 on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:46 pm

wonder how many bashers here actually walk the talk……..i have frens who said almost same bashing words…….1 year later i ask him….tot u said….u wont buy vios leh…..all he replied shyfully…wat to do….lor…

vios is no doubt overpriced for many but at the end of the day, its reliable, economical to drive and ,most importantly, owners are satisfied.

of coz there are pros and cons for every model….just be satisfied with the model to your best judgement after doing much research around

• rambo ramsey on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Chew Soon,

Do you know that all your FMC Vios is manufactured and assemble in Shah Alam Plant? Most of the body part are being pressed at Toyota Auto Body at Shah Alam, and being put together at the Malaysia's oldest assembly plant by the name of Assembly Services Sdn Bhd near Bank Negara mint factory? Do you know how many % of local sourcing/content part that Vios 482L have? Do you know that it shares some of it parts with MyVi (which is a 'local' car)? How about the imported parts that being imported using the CEPT/AFTA scheme from all over ASEAN (read Thailand) that entitled to not more than 5% tax? How about this fact: That plant might produce Vios for export with local content will be pushed to highest %? Why is the price still expensive? UMW please think, dont rely too much and the Toyota egg brand, learn from Kah Motor and Honda. Forget about getting 9 months bonus again this year, not even by hiking up the price again. The real profit is going to be brought back to Japan this year to fund the recall and dip in sales across US, besides heavy PR work by TMC. Dont feed this greedy monster at the expense of Malaysian customer!

• Michael Ammot on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Yes…Naza Forte (don't ever mention KiA Forte in this boleh land..since the car is not paying a tax as high as import cars…it is the same situation as Proton Wira/Mitsubishi Lancer) is a good n better choice for the car's equipment or goodies..but watch out guys…just wait for the up-coming fuel subsidies scheme…VIOS and CITY owner will be laughing n joy….

BTW this is ugly..the current altis also damn ugly…it is ok and acceptable if the owner of current toyota is an old guy…can't imagine how can people 25-37 years old would prefer altis rather than civic

• I think I noticed a little hike in the price….hmm..good luck with that Toyota..

• indigo (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:22 pm

I won't blame Toyota entirely since Naza has the speciail connection with G. There's no doubt why Forte can be so cheap as well as its Peugeot. Vios may not be my cup of tea but this is the Malaysia's NAP. When comes to budget, its either Proton or Perodua. The last will be Naza. Imagine Tata Nano priced at RM25k and almost same as baseline Viva. In Malaysia, this will happen. So maybe we should not be so angry if UMW had increased the price.

• acbc (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:29 pm

WTF? Overpriced car with lousy outdated tech. Plus, it is fugly!

Will take Forte any time!

Only a toyol will buy it.

• toyota maa..even with million toyota cars was recalled, but believed me, in msia, it is still a strong brand and very high demand.every one in msia want this brand if give a choice between proton or kia. that why the toyota resale value still high compare to another brand. if u want to sell your toyota,confirm a lot of msian want to buy your car. try to sell you proton,kia,hyundai??erkk..maybe less people will offer you with a ridiculous price.

it is reality in malaysia.very hard to change the perception to toyota in msia.like it or hate it, if get the money, just buy it.

• pulltea on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Crazy liao, now global Toyota brand name go down the drain due to recall, UMW still become greedy… they will lose in long run.

• Ahmad on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Get updated with latest news, Prius got recalled as well, braking system failure? Geez…what is going on with this T, yet Malaysian still idolize this overpriced brand. Their goodwill already tarnished and the White House is lobbying for buying "American Car Policy".

• Ahmad on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:09 pm

T is about to closing their biggest manufacturing plant in North America…people start to boycott their product.

• coolguru on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Ask the current owners of Toyota as overall… do you have fear with the recall of Toyota in US, Europe and China?

Do you have fear that in Malaysia, everything is perfect, no recall. Do you believe you're behind a truly safe, reliable, wheels?

I've doubt and a serious doubt that it happens in US, Europe, China but not in Malaysia. I truly believe because our consumer rights aren't as vocal as these major countries hence we're being exploited. Otherwise, come clean to explain clearly why all the Toyota in Malaysia aren't affected.

Publish on the newspaper, send all owners a letter, emails, postcards, service centers, etc.

Where are your actions against your words Toyota????

• kitty on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Stupid brand for stupid uncles.

Malaysian majority are a bunch of stupid herd mentality bovine creatures.

Tks to sites like paultan, we can learn more, and we can discuss more, and more ppl can take a stand and not be BULLIED by the monopoly of ugly overpriced cars by market leaders T, H, and N.

i love you paultan.

• DM3 (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Well, as usual UMWT has increase price for any facelifts and also now increasing the monthly quantity which means still alot of buyers out there.

Typical malaysians are just suckers for T,H & N with cut throat pricing and always ready to buy them.

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:12 pm

Well even though im a Toyota fan, im also disappointed with Toyota's pricing. With the recent news about the recalls i dont see much effort from Toyota to reinstill customer confidence especially here in Malaysia.

But then again we must also remember that car recalls have plagued other manufacturers as well e.g GM, Chevrolet, Honda, Fiat, etc. Toyota isnt the only one. The reason why this recall is making headlines is not because of the type of defect but its the wide spread of affected countries.

Plus we must also look at it from the political side. GM held the No 1 position for decades and now suddenly Toyota overtook them in 2008. As an American national car, GM was severely embarrassed being beaten by an Asian car. So now that they have a chance to 'attack' Toyota with this recall, the news is spread far and wide. This is the power of media. Any country will want to protect its own national car. If the same thing were to happen here and Proton loses its NO 1 status to Toyota, then any negative news about Toyota would get headline coverage in our national papers.

Sometimes we need to see below the surface to get to the real truth.

• Peter on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Toyota Vios……Not worth a single cent for an old technology and old design……Again….i should say Malaysia is not a country where old models and technology of cars are been dumped at! Our cars are lacking behind from what the world is having….Look at Hyundai and Kia! Their cars are getting better design and also better technology in engine and also high tec! Our cars ,even the Naza will be CBUs….then CKDs!!!!!!!!! I dont think can make it! We, malaysians have to fight for our rights for better nation and better cars!

• Tiadaid on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:47 pm

adrian said,

February 8, 2010 @ 1:12 pm

Plus we must also look at it from the political side. GM held the No 1 position for decades and now suddenly Toyota overtook them in 2008. As an American national car, GM was severely embarrassed being beaten by an Asian car. So now that they have a chance to ‘attack’ Toyota with this recall, the news is spread far and wide.

——–

That's what a Toyota Fanboy would say. The recall is a political move, even though the problems that caused the recall actually KILLED people. No, it's not a recall in the interest of safety, it's a politically motivated recall. Yeah right!

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:49 pm

kitty said,

February 8, 2010 @ 12:59 pm

Stupid brand for stupid uncles.

Malaysian majority are a bunch of stupid herd mentality bovine creatures.

Tks to sites like paultan, we can learn more, and we can discuss more, and more ppl can take a stand and not be BULLIED by the monopoly of ugly overpriced cars by market leaders T, H, and N.

i love you paultan.

I agree with some of your comments. But i have a question. Who is making a stand? How many of the ppl here who bash T & H are not actually driving them now and can confidently say they will not in the future?

Just like Alpha999 said, many of those who actually bash T & H here will end up driving them at some point in time. Most of those who bash now are either those driving lower grade cars like Protons or higher class ones. But those in the middle will still go for T & H because of the popularity, price, specs and resale value no matter what we say here.

We can make as many stands as we want but i dont think this will translate into any change of sale figures.

Maybe we should make it a rule that whoever comments here should first write down what car they currently drive before commenting. Of course ppl can lie but we'll just have to trust. Then we can see whr the bulk of the comments are coming from.

Cheers!

• barca on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:51 pm

adrian,

fair enough on the recalls by other manufacturers and media coverage.

but what i am particularly pissed off (and probably most car enthusiasts) is of T's reluctance to react, admit and act on a proven tragedy and prior complaints on several models. no sir, this wouldn't work until a good kick in the butt by the US government FINALLY pushed them to initiate the recall.

heck, even T's flagship car prius reportedly has electronics issues, which include steve wozniak's, the founder of Apple. if THAT did not catch T's attention, what more of other "normal" prius owners?

this is not what you would expect from the world's top car manufacturer, known for its safety and reliability. i believe that's in the past now.

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Peter said,

February 8, 2010 @ 1:36 pm

Toyota Vios……Not worth a single cent for an old technology and old design……Again….i should say Malaysia is not a country where old models and technology of cars are been dumped at! Our cars are lacking behind from what the world is having….Look at Hyundai and Kia! Their cars are getting better design and also better technology in engine and also high tec! Our cars ,even the Naza will be CBUs….then CKDs!!!!!!!!! I dont think can make it! We, malaysians have to fight for our rights for better nation and better cars!

I agree with you Peter. We arent getting our value for money that we pay for these cars. But alot has to do with the Government duties.

For instance a Camry 2.4L costs about US 22K in the US. Dont convert it to Ringgit. U only convert when ure going there for vacation. But for someone working there and earning in USD its actually a dollar for dollar situation. Its the same as selling a Camry for RM 22K in Malaysia.

So when prices are cheap manufacturers have to provide a wide range of features to entice ppl to buy their cars. Or else they risk losing out to another brand.

But we cant do that in Malaysia can we? Here manufacturers know that for that select middle income group only the T & H would entise them. There isnt much choice. You can name the Kia's and the Hyundai's as competitors but the market is already monopolised by T & H. Plus our customer powers are much limited here due to limited consumer rights. Kia and Hyundai provide excellent quality cars in US and Europe. But is that same quality available here? Surely not.

As much as we hate to admit this, ALL middle income car makes provide us with sub standard cars here in Malaysia not just T & H. Even if your Naza Kia car develops major problems can u take Naza to court and get them to replace everything FOC? Of course u cant. But u can do that in the US. That's why we will always be fed with sub standard cars.

Its nothing about the manufacturers. Consumer power starts from the people. We can talk and bash all we want in here but what do we say in public? We asked for this system to be in place by keeping the present Gov in power for 52 years. This and many other disasters began from the people and now we have to pay the price of our mistakes. No point blaming the Gov policies. We asked for it.

If you want a change then be prepared to get your hands dirty and make that change happen. Talking here is good for awareness but it isnt gonna change anything major unless we are prepared to walk the talk.

Cheers!

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Tiadaid said,

February 8, 2010 @ 1:47 pm

adrian said,

Plus we must also look at it from the political side. GM held the No 1 position for decades and now suddenly Toyota overtook them in 2008. As an American national car, GM was severely embarrassed being beaten by an Asian car. So now that they have a chance to ‘attack’ Toyota with this recall, the news is spread far and wide.

——–

That’s what a Toyota Fanboy would say. The recall is a political move, even though the problems that caused the recall actually KILLED people. No, it’s not a recall in the interest of safety, it’s a politically motivated recall. Yeah right!

Tiadaid,

You need to understand English first in order to comprehend wht im trying to say. I did not say the recall was politically motivated. Of course its due to safety concerns. I said politics play a part in the MEDIA HYPE. I didnt say politics caused this recall. Yes Toyota needs a kick up their butt and they need to know that they need to earn their No 1 position.

Next time read and understand before replying Tiadaid.

• potibala on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:13 pm

whatever la you can say. Toyota will be the no. 1 for non malaysian car. every month 2400 Malaysian will buy a Toyota Vios for the next 10 years. If buy Kia Forte, by end of next year your car is only RM28 K on the road. Its proven la. Hyunai Matrix is now below 30K for a 3 year old model. Vios is still above 50K for 2003 model

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Potibala,

My friend i agree with u. I think a 1.5G would be 50K while a 1.5E is around 47K depending on whther u trade in or sell directly. As i said before a Toyota value only drops less than 40% in 7 yrs. Thats really good.

• wochomi on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Greedy bastard UMW. Car made in Shah Alam, put together by Malaysians (not bangla, not Jap, not Indon)…. painted in Malaysia (let's assume we didn't know bout the issue with 'miscolour' of the GreenGrey paintjob 6 months ago… dunno how many of you heard bout this lah…)… why charge over RM22k of excise duty…?? then increase price somemore…siau

• adrian on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:36 pm

Car sale records for 2009 released: Check out
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/articl…

Toyota Vios – 29,387 units

Honda City – 19,722 units

Camry – 8715 units

Accord – 6052 units

Altis – 4585 units

Civic – 7722

Toyota market share = 15.81%

Honda market share = 7.50%

Kia market share = 0.61%

What i cannot understand is how a car like the Honda City with much better specs and newer model is still lagging far behind the so called 'bad' Vios with the dugong look.

• BMW-fan on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:52 pm

I worked in UMW before, I can tell u the profit margin is very high. The top execs and manager can get an Altis/Camry for free (company car). Staff price for Camry is only RM88,000 (yes I bought one) but then now drive a BMW 525i (Sold my Camry at RM110,000 after 3 years. My EPF was 16% and I got 9 months bonus averagely. Thank you fellow T-supporter for paying me my lucrative EPF and Bonuses :)

• rambo ramsey on Feb 08, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Adrian,

Vios got 'J'unk spec. City limit to mid-to-high spec only. Dont forget about the Avanza- self created low range MPV, Innova – the Truck based MPV and Hiace the commercial vehicle range. Honda dont have commercial vehicle.

Those comparing the retail price of Camry at States, you must've missed the insurance, delivery, tax and others. Furthermore Malaysia is known as a low to middle range income country. Try strengthen the ringgit, put higher personal income tax (like UK for instance) and spill the welfare around. You'll start seeing your job being taken over by Vietnam (as if that is not happening now). Dont be fooled to follow Singapore, a 4 Mil pop living in an overcrowded island where camera is every where, Malaysia is not all about KL. Think Ba' Kelalan, Dungun, Kudat, Jenan, Batu Pahat. Not just Ampang, USJ, Taman Tun or Mont Kiara only. Of course now we are blessed from the hutang bank but that shows the foundation of economy is still strong. Indonesia have strong growth but their NPL still high, same goes to interest rates.

• please provide better engine,do your part to save tis world n our wallet

say no to toyota engine,main co2 producer

same cc compare honda,nissan,volkswagen engine n etc

toyota engine consume more fuel

• JeffChong on Feb 08, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Hello BMW fan,

Which company u worked don't have benefits for staff one? UMW can give benefits like this means they are successful, good corporate values..normally big corporations are like this..directly that does not reflect for a reason to jack up the price of the car high to earn such a huge profits…

Well if there is a demand then supplier always have better options… unlike some other car distributors need to come with BIG gimmick to push sales… I m not working for UMW, but its good to know others are doing ok….Lets hope Toyota continue to be market leader, at least in this B Segment

• that minor facelift causes RM2000-RM3000 price hike, Toyota sucks….

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:06 am

adrian said,

February 8, 2010 @ 2:07 pm

Tiadaid said,

February 8, 2010 @ 1:47 pm

adrian said,

——–

That’s what a Toyota Fanboy would say. The recall is a political move, even though the problems that caused the recall actually KILLED people. No, it’s not a recall in the interest of safety, it’s a politically motivated recall. Yeah right!

Tiadaid,

You need to understand English first in order to comprehend wht im trying to say. I did not say the recall was politically motivated. Of course its due to safety concerns. I said politics play a part in the MEDIA HYPE. I didnt say politics caused this recall. Yes Toyota needs a kick up their butt and they need to know that they need to earn their No 1 position.

Next time read and understand before replying Tiadaid.

——————-

I guess I misinterpreted that. But I believe that the American media is not politically motivated, but is more sensationalist in nature. I mean, if it's Ford or GM cars that are being recalled, then they'd sensationalize it too. Just look at the Audi scandal back in 1980s, where the Audi 5000 was vilified by the American press, when in fact the car was not at fault (well partially at fault, since the pedal design was designed for Europeans who like to heel-and-toe, but did not anticipate Americans who are used to automatics mistaking the throttle for the brake pedal). Audi wasn't threatening the then-Big Three in the least bit.

• Malaysian on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:14 am

BMW-fan said,

February 8, 2010 @ 2:52 pm

I worked in UMW before, I can tell u the profit margin is very high. The top execs and manager can get an Altis/Camry for free (company car). Staff price for Camry is only RM88,000 (yes I bought one) but then now drive a BMW 525i (Sold my Camry at RM110,000 after 3 years. My EPF was 16% and I got 9 months bonus averagely. Thank you fellow T-supporter for paying me my lucrative EPF and Bonuses :)

——–

You are welcome… Nice to meet u..

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:24 am

rambo ramsey said,

February 8, 2010 @ 3:04 pm

Adrian,

Vios got ‘J’unk spec. City limit to mid-to-high spec only. Dont forget about the Avanza- self created low range MPV, Innova – the Truck based MPV and Hiace the commercial vehicle range. Honda dont have commercial vehicle.

The ratings do NOT include commercial vehicles. Again read before u comment.

Explain the difference in the Camry and Accord sales then. There isnt a Junk spec Camry is there?

Are u saying that the Vios J is the reason why Vios sales outperformed the City? There wasnt any Vios J pre 2008 and yet the City never did come close in terms of sales.

Whats the explaination for this then?

• Just_Once on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:29 am

Oh please, don't show the sale figure from Motortrader. Please quote that 2009 T market shares drop and H market share going up as compare to 2008..

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:41 am

81 said,

February 8, 2010 @ 3:12 pm

please provide better engine,do your part to save tis world n our wallet

How do u know Toyota engines consume more fuel? Did u try and compare with the other cars which u mentioned or are u talking blindly without checking your facts?

Toyota Vios 1.5E full tank is 42L. At approx 119kmph steady highway driving, i can drive from Damansara tol to Juru tol with only less than half tank of petrol. Total distance of 330km. Consumed about 18L of petrol. Thats about 18km per liter on highway driving. This is a 6.5 yr old car as well.

Is this what u call as consume alot of petrol? Again i say, check your facts. Honda City will consume less petrol because its a 5 speed auto while the Vios is a 4 speed. Its final gear has got a higher ratio so it will consume marginally more. Nothing to do with a bad engine.

Toyota surely does not have the best engine around but it surely doesnt consume more petrol than the car makes mentioned except for maybe a few models.

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:20 am

adrian said,

——————————————————————

Madly Agree, i sense some conspiracy there…..

Just like in malaysia now, where an ex-pm who come back strongly in 2008

has been accuse of sodom**** an animal…….What a joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:23 am

81 said,

February 8, 2010 @ 3:12 pm

please provide better engine,do your part to save tis world n our wallet

——————————————————————-

What a JOKE dude !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The engine that should be ban and boycott first

is cam-pro which produce by dunno which crap company?????

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:34 am

ENOUGH please !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Tiadaid,

WHY ??? WHY??? WHY???? malaysian are so obsessed with Toyota, Honda and

Nisssan although it is overprice, outdated and ugly design…. STILL we keep on

buying and treat them like god.

Because this is consider a LUXURY for us after 20 years of ownership from

our local one and suffer like hell… ( CRYING> <CRYING)

We have no choice and rights to choose from the limited model where neighbour country using it for taxi

Eg, ALTIS, VIOS in Indonesia, Thailand. Hyundai in Singapore….

Own a Vios or City is such a luxury like owning a MERC here…..

SAD, SAD, SAD, SAD, SAD, SAD, SAD

• Ahmad on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:37 am

rambo ramsey said,

Adrian,

Vios got ‘J’unk spec. City limit to mid-to-high spec only. Dont forget about the Avanza- self created low range MPV, Innova – the Truck based MPV and Hiace the commercial vehicle range. Honda dont have commercial vehicle.

Those comparing the retail price of Camry at States, you must’ve missed the insurance, delivery, tax and others. Furthermore Malaysia is known as a low to middle range income country. Try strengthen the ringgit, put higher personal income tax (like UK for instance) and spill the welfare around. You’ll start seeing your job being taken over by Vietnam (as if that is not happening now). Dont be fooled to follow Singapore, a 4 Mil pop living in an overcrowded island where camera is every where, Malaysia is not all about KL. Think Ba’ Kelalan, Dungun, Kudat, Jenan, Batu Pahat. Not just Ampang, USJ, Taman Tun or Mont Kiara only. Of course now we are blessed from the hutang bank but that shows the foundation of economy is still strong. Indonesia have strong growth but their NPL still high, same goes to interest rates.

Well said…

• blame the G?come on..blame yourself la…high demand=high price..as simple as that.

• no matter how u all complain or dislike new vios.. is still no 1 !! amont this non national car!!! wakakaka.. toyota u r the best !!

• Malaysian on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:14 am

adrian said,

February 8, 2010 @ 4:41 pm

How do u know Toyota engines consume more fuel? Did u try and compare with the other cars which u mentioned or are u talking blindly without checking your facts?

Toyota Vios 1.5E full tank is 42L. At approx 119kmph steady highway driving, i can drive from Damansara tol to Juru tol with only less than half tank of petrol. Total distance of 330km. Consumed about 18L of petrol. Thats about 18km per liter on highway driving. This is a 6.5 yr old car as well.

———

Same like my Wira, 13 years old car…

• alldisc on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:25 am

no matter how much toyota got bashed in here, malaysians will still buy toyota cars for at least 4 reasons

1. they can afford toyota now that the loan is up to 9 years.

2. 3 years warranty or 100,000km

3. many service centre through out malaysia.

4. they are not fancy about what mazda 2, honda city, kia forte or lancer can deliver.

• carsut on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:31 am

braking problems in Prius hybrid, sticky accelerator for some T models in U.S., Europe and China (and Malaysia maybe, but did not tell the public)… still want to buy this brand??? love ur life, and importantly others drivers.

• Because toyota is pretty car.honda city and kia forte are ugly car for me.

• Barry Ong on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:56 am

GUYS AND GALS,

IT'S NO POINT COMPLAINING. NO POINT…

THOSE IDIOT WILL SAYS, I RAISE THE PRICE, SO WHAT? WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT?

SO FELLOWS, IF THE JUST KEEP RAISING THIER PRICE, IT'S TIME THAT WE CONSUMERS HAVE TO REALIZE… STOP SUPPORTING THEM. DON'T BUY THIER GOODS. THERE IS OTHER ALTERNATIVE. WHY YOU CHOOSE TO BE THEIR SERVANT? YOU GOT A CHOICE AND NO BODY FORCE YOU.

SCREW THEM MAN.. WE STILL HAVE PROTON, WE HAVE KIA, WE HAVE HYUNDAI, THERE IS HONDA AND THE LIST GOES ON………

YOU MAKE UR OWN DECISION.

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 3:01 am

adrian said,

February 8, 2010 @ 4:24 pm

rambo ramsey said,

Adrian,

The ratings do NOT include commercial vehicles. Again read before u comment.

Explain the difference in the Camry and Accord sales then. There isnt a Junk spec Camry is there?

Are u saying that the Vios J is the reason why Vios sales outperformed the City? There wasnt any Vios J pre 2008 and yet the City never did come close in terms of sales.

Whats the explaination for this then?

———-

As a City owner, I think I can answer that. Because of its looks. the 2003-2006 City looks unlike any other car. A bit out of the ordinary. Its quirky looks may have turned off some people compared with the plain looking Vios.

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 3:04 am

kimi_ said,

February 8, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

We have no choice and rights to choose from the limited model where neighbour country using it for taxi

——————-

Only in the eyes of a FANBOY like you. A rational person would think about the pros and cons before committing to a purchase. Right now, the rational choice for Malaysians, if they can afford it is the CIty. Or, if they're looking into the Vios TRD, the Suzuki SX4

• buttercity on Feb 09, 2010 at 3:33 am

Wait a minute.. After launching their new improved/facelifted dugong UMW will wait for awhile then come out with promo. Discount here & there and the price will back to square one. Brilliant strategy by UMW and stupid buyer of the 'new' dugong. Wakakak…

• Abzaja on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:23 am

This facelifted Vios is the most sophisticated, mean-looking, super car in the history of human kind…..:)

• staff on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:29 am

kimi_ said,

February 8, 2010 @ 5:34 pm

they make it as taxi cause they choose to…

even BMW can be a taxi of the german wants…

• Squawk on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:53 am

Let them raise the prices. If you don't like it, be like me, don't buy. If you want to commit 7-9 years for a car like that, it's your hard-earned money anyway.

BMW-fan, Honda employees also get fantastic bonuses, even with lower sales. Can only imagine how much better Toyota's perks will be.

• oomph on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:54 am

I personally don't like Toyota..and my future new car will not be of Toyotas.

Liking Mazda2…

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:58 am

For me, buying a car is an investment, many will think on the practical side first rather than just looks and feel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

First, the resale value of toyota is ridiculously high, for vios only depreciate 20k for five years……you can see how much the others worth after 5 years like spectra, chevrolet optra and sonata which has no value at all…………..

The maintenance cost and parts are low for sure than the korean cars!

ADVICE: dunno you all ever heard that the reality of the korean car able to sold cheaply is because they will get back their revenue from the HIGH maintenance spare parts which you replace when service!

–This just like the colour or 3 in 1 printjet printer at our home that is cheap to buy…… BUT the small ink catridge replaced cost like HELL which is their real main revenue!

• dchegu on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:22 am

kimi_ said,

February 8, 2010 @ 8:58 pm

For me, buying a car is an investment, many will think on the practical side first rather than just looks and feel !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a car will never be an investment, the value will always go down. unless of course you go for the vintage cars. for your your average toyota/honda/hyundai/kia/peugoet/proton/perodua, all of them will always be an expense.just like your internet bill.

plus, this badge snobbery is getting quite passe. a boring cliche. just look at your budget and then decide which car would serve your purpose better.

if your looking for a car with specs to dream for at a low(ish) price,by all means go for it (for me it's the forte)

if your looking for a car to reflect your not so rich but better than your average malaysian status by all means get your vios J, your altis 1.6 and your camry 2.0.

but seriously,folks, what the heck is UMW thinking? a price hike for a minor facelift.

• Kamyongkai on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:44 am

Utterly disgusting.. the looks, the price, the company. Proton, Honda, Toyota are all in the same boat. A boatfull of crap. I think I'll stick to my bicycle to go to work.

• MonfereBlogspot on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:08 am

High price with bad design, I rather buy Toyota Corolla Altis than this Vios…

The best time to buy Vios is back to year 2003 where they offers nice design Vios with reasonable price…

Forte is selling at reasonable price coz it is CKD not CBU…

• alot of comment here keep said vios this vios that dugond here dugond there, coz they don own a vios

• owner myvi putih on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:12 am

70k for 'Jinjang' spec????

ayoooo…..

• huiyoo on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:19 am

new persona facelifted is better than this

• dugong version fACELIFT….mahal pulak tu….so rubbish,,,i think..proton batter than vios….baik aku beli proton or kia or ford or dmax,,,,non sense la….

• it look like time to go forte :-)

• good luck malaysian on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:31 am

toyotak can sell well because it is toyotak. those fans think problems with their cars are normal. they paid thousands more to "assume" that other car have more problmes than the toyotak.

In fact alot of toyotak owner they juz tried to close the problme because they are shy to share. Why? when the buy toyotak, they proudly declare that I bot this because of the quality, at the end they found that their car is also having problems and yet they cant change. why? because they are stuck with 7-9years loan… too bad.. still they have to finish singing the same song…. if not they make themself look like idiots where the pay 20k-30k more to try to avoid the problem that they failed to avoid currently. emmm good luck to those potential toyotak owner…

• wrongturn on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:35 am

FAT people are lazy….and TOYOTA is one of them!

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:36 am

dchegu said,

February 8, 2010 @ 9:22 pm

a car will never be an investment, the value will always go down. unless of course you go for the vintage cars.

———————

Well, even vintage cars aren't that good an investment. If you got a rare model, or a significant model than it'll be an investment. If it's a nice, but insignificant model, then nope, not gonna do anything to the value.

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:38 am

MonfereBlogspot said,

February 8, 2010 @ 10:08 pm

High price with bad design, I rather buy Toyota Corolla Altis than this Vios…

The best time to buy Vios is back to year 2003 where they offers nice design Vios with reasonable price…

Forte is selling at reasonable price coz it is CKD not CBU…

——————

Is the Vios CBU?

• asgard on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:45 am

people now prefer cars that give value for money,lots of extra at affordable price and this toyota is not 1 of them

• viosuser on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:47 am

Haiyo, still compare whether Vios is good Vios is bad………….

I am a Vios owner. Does not matter lah the car is Ugly or not

Open an account with Hwang DBS tomorrow, buy Toyota Motor Corporation shares as much as you can. The 14days average line is crossing the 21days, indicating a good buy. USD 73.25 now.

Once the consmers' confidence recover, you will MAKE BIG BUCKS…..

Get any car you want then ! I will get myself a C Class also. No need to thank me!

• only moron buy forte. pariah car

• kancil elite on Feb 09, 2010 at 4:31 pm

toyota can facelift all they want…cos overall their car already solid..

but proton has yet to prove any of their car can get 3 star in crash test..

• I myself owned a new vios…

I bought toyota because of the quality (that is what they are known for)…

But now… Toyota has lots of problems… and now only with simple facelift, they jack up the price to almost 2k!!! Man… That's the way they want to cover their expenses on the defects in US.

And now, lots of other models are fairly competitive.

If I would have the chance again to buy a car, I'll go for Kia since the price is almost the same, but with 2.0L…

• Tiadaid on Feb 09, 2010 at 5:52 pm

kancil elite said,

February 9, 2010 @ 8:31 am

—————–

3-star? Waja got 3-star. Exora could get 4-star if tested.

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Rey said,

February 9, 2010 @ 9:40 am

I myself owned a new vios…

I bought toyota because of the quality (that is what they are known for)…

But now… Toyota has lots of problems… and now only with simple facelift, they jack up the price to almost 2k!!! Man… That’s the way they want to cover their expenses on the defects in US.

And now, lots of other models are fairly competitive.

If I would have the chance again to buy a car, I’ll go for Kia since the price is almost the same, but with 2.0L…

What do u know about Kia? Its easy to talk when u dont know the facts. You wanna know facts go to 5 Kia service centres and just observe the number of cars that come in for major repairs.

Dont just listen to me. Go do your homework and be your own judge. Dont judge just by price and specs.

I totally agree with what someone said earlier that Korean cars have lower prices to get ppl to buy them and then later kill them off with the prices of spare parts and periodic service.

My friend took her 3 yr old Picanto (CBU) for a scheduled service and the bill came up to RM835. This is just normal service with ATF change plus adjust here and there. No major replacement e.g timing belt,. aircon belt, aircon service, etc.

I service my Vios regularly and even with a major service including full aircon service the price doesnt cross 700 unless u replace a major component (which i didnt have to). Vios normal service is only about 300.

Look at the bigger picture when u compare cars. Not just the price and aestatic looks.

Cheers!

• lol, funniest automotive news ever. Not only the new vios is totally UGLY than prev gen. Now, UMW decided to up the price and equip it with stupid grill and even more stupid, is the stupid rim. Just look at that stupid rim.

OMG, the stupid people in UMW. I think those kids in automotive college can do better than people in UMW. I m laughing my arse right now. I would rather buy a persona than this ugly overpriced piece of crap.

hahaha!

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Kamyongkai said,

February 8, 2010 @ 9:44 pm

Utterly disgusting.. the looks, the price, the company. Proton, Honda, Toyota are all in the same boat. A boatfull of crap. I think I’ll stick to my bicycle to go to work.

Are u sure you take a bicycle to work? Or u just trying to reinforce your point by saying something silly? If u drive mind telling us what car u drive then? And pls do tell the truth.

• xempro on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:31 pm

i rather buy any "luxury" like H-line proton car rather than buying this tin kosong.

• Type F on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:37 pm

90K for 1.5l car??? wtf

Better buy Forte…

• MC chan on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:39 pm

toyota expensive cos of their suspension tech R&D.

honda expensive cos their engine tech & design R&D.

i bought city cos i choosed Design rather than comfortable suspension.

• rickyll on Feb 09, 2010 at 7:43 pm

I think Malaysian should get out of the cocoon of 'resale value' mentality. If you like the car and can afford it, go ahead and buy it. Enjoy driving it but most important, maintain it properly. A well maintained car irrespective of the marque should last a long time. My new Kia forte 1.6 sx is into 3rd month, it's superb in every sense of the word. For those who do not like the NAZA badge, simple change it to KIA emblem.

• Dear adrian,

Yes, it's true that the Korean parts are more expensive than Toyota, but that was few years ago. And I assumed that ur homework was few years back… Have you seen any Forte sent back to the workshop? You haven't, right? because it's a new model. We just wait and see.

My point is, there are other models are highly competitive which should be considered by us. New models are designed to be better… that's all.

• Brainless on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:01 pm

If u talk about value for money..do investment..not buy liability…

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:48 pm

u like it u buy..

if not, dont buy..

nobody force u..

suddenly T-boys sound like wat P1-boys used to..

now, that is pure karma..

• rambo ramsey on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Adrian,

I'm stating the facts as well, as much as you say that Toyota will always lead in the non-national categories. That includes the Hilux and Hiace. City already hit their sales target, and lead by miles. Do you really know how much UMWT sales target for 482L Vios? The investment and all that is for 183 vehicle per day, where its actual capacity is planned for 44K per year, and did Vios hit that target? And prior to FMC City, that flowerhorn honda never really hit the sweet spot with customers due to its shape, and sometimes its CVT. I agree that Honda loosing on current CP3 Accord to Camry but Camry ACV30 lost to Accord UC1 big time rite? Also forgetting Civic leading Corolla in the C segment?

• "toyota expensive cos of their suspension tech R&D"

Wow! nonsense man

front strut & rear torsion beam very expensive???

• Thomas on Feb 09, 2010 at 9:54 pm

stop complain ab this vios, i know u all dont own a vios thats y keep complian the vios… persona ? wakakaka, is a junk car la..proton ? wakakaka is a cheap car.. some more alot proton fans dream of this vios

• melayu babi on Feb 09, 2010 at 9:55 pm

i rather go for altis 1.6 !!!

• wallstreet on Feb 09, 2010 at 10:59 pm

adrian said,

February 9, 2010 @ 10:01 am

I totally agree with what someone said earlier that Korean cars have lower prices to get ppl to buy them and then later kill them off with the prices of spare parts and periodic service.

My friend took her 3 yr old Picanto (CBU) for a scheduled service and the bill came up to RM835. This is just normal service with ATF change plus adjust here and there. No major replacement e.g timing belt,. aircon belt, aircon service, etc.

I service my Vios regularly and even with a major service including full aircon service the price doesnt cross 700 unless u replace a major component (which i didnt have to). Vios normal service is only about 300.

Look at the bigger picture when u compare cars. Not just the price and aestatic looks.

————————————————-

Changing ATF is not a normal service, its a major service. Even if the Korean parts are more expensive which I really doubt it will be much, its still far cheaper when you take the price of the car into consideration. and don't forget Korean parts come from Korea while T & H parts come from Thailand or China. A 'C' segment new Forte 1.6 fully loaded only cost 81K compare to a bland 93K 'B' segment 1.5 third world car, still cheaper by 12K. With that saving its more than enough to compensate any spare parts price differences (if any) for 5 years. IT IS CLEAR, T & H ARE REALLY OVERPRICED DUE TO SO MANY FANS WITH HERD MENTALITY LIKE YOU.

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:28 pm

rickyll said,

February 9, 2010 @ 11:43 am

I think Malaysian should get out of the cocoon of ‘resale value’ mentality. If you like the car and can afford it, go ahead and buy it. Enjoy driving it but most important, maintain it properly. A well maintained car irrespective of the marque should last a long time. My new Kia forte 1.6 sx is into 3rd month, it’s superb in every sense of the word. For those who do not like the NAZA badge, simple change it to KIA emblem.

Congrats on your new car! Has anybody ever bought a new car and said it was crap after the 3rd month? Even a new Kancil owner wont say that. Of course ud say its superb or else u wouldnt have bought it rite? Sorry but that argument doesnt hold any weight.

Yes i do agree with you that maintenence plays a major role. But saying that any marque will last for a long time if u maintain well is v subjective. U gotta know what u mean by 'maintenance' first. Does it mean changing your ATF after 15K just to prolong the life of your gearbox past its original shell life of say 4 yrs? That aint called 'maintenence' my friend. But thats the case with many Kia models now.

Does 'maintenance' also mean doing a top overhaul every 3 yrs to avoid doing a complete overhaul after 5 yrs? This too isnt 'maintenance'.

Again let me remind you that im not speaking based on 3rd party info. I have seen and known about these cases directly myself. I also have close friends who like you owned Korean cars and have sold them after just 2-3 yrs because of numerous problems. I have also sent Kia's for servicing myself thus i know the difference in service prices and standards compared to say Toyota.

Lets see u say the same thing after 2 years when your free service vouchers are finished and ure paying thru your nose. Remember what i said cuz im not sure ull be here in the forums in 2 yrs time championing the cause for Kia anymore.

Anyway, i think the Forte looks great and the specs are neat. But dont overwork it if you want it to last more than a few years irregardless of your maintenance schedule.

Have a great drive my friend!

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:39 pm

wallstreet said,

February 9, 2010 @ 2:59 pm

Changing ATF is not a normal service, its a major service. Even if the Korean parts are more expensive which I really doubt it will be much, its still far cheaper when you take the price of the car into consideration. and don’t forget Korean parts come from Korea while T & H parts come from Thailand or China. A ‘C’ segment new Forte 1.6 fully loaded only cost 81K compare to a bland 93K ‘B’ segment 1.5 third world car, still cheaper by 12K. With that saving its more than enough to compensate any spare parts price differences (if any) for 5 years. IT IS CLEAR, T & H ARE REALLY OVERPRICED DUE TO SO MANY FANS WITH HERD MENTALITY LIKE YOU.

You really dont read correctly before u post remarks dont ya? Did i not mention that the ATF is recommended to be changed every 15K by KIA?? Does this mean that u do a major service every 2nd service??

Thats my whole point! The ATF change is supposed to be done only during a major service but just to prolong the lifespan of the gearbox they say u gotta do it every 15K which is crazy.

Whats the point of having aprts coming from Korea when it does not last?? Yes T and H get theirs from Thailand and Malaysia but which lasts? Who cares where they come from as long as they give u value for money and last!

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Rey said,

February 9, 2010 @ 11:58 am

Dear adrian,

Yes, it’s true that the Korean parts are more expensive than Toyota, but that was few years ago. And I assumed that ur homework was few years back… Have you seen any Forte sent back to the workshop? You haven’t, right? because it’s a new model. We just wait and see.

I think its you who hasnt done any homework. I sent a 3 yr old Kia for service just 2 weeks ago. That was the price then. So unless Kia has dropped the prices drastically since then i doubt it has changed much.

Yes thats wht ppl said about the Kia Spectra when it was launched. Everybody said wait and see, no more problems, all previous issues resolved, bla bla bla and now whats the story?

Anyway, only time will prove. I sure hope the Kia Forte does well despite whatever u may think. I also agree with many of you that T & H have been milking us with their over priced models. I also agree that there should be more competition for T & H.

But for now, they still lead the Korean pack by a wide margin in terms of branding, quality, service standards, price and resale value. Specs wise i think the other marques have caught up and some have even overtaken which is great news for all of us.

• Leonardo on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:47 pm

If you have RM85-90k to spend on a car, buy a City. Good quality, relaibility,nice styling, good resale value and equipment level. More importantly you don't worry about stuck padels; just check the power windows don't get short circuited during rainy days. Ironically the power window problem used to be P1's problem! Now Mighty Honda also have such problems.

Kia Forte might have issues on spare parts and poor resale value.

• paparazi (Member) on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:49 pm

no one could know what will happen next. let just forget about Vios, its too many out there.

• adrian on Feb 09, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Leonardo said,

February 9, 2010 @ 3:47 pm

If you have RM85-90k to spend on a car, buy a City. Good quality, relaibility,nice styling, good resale value and equipment level. More importantly you don’t worry about stuck padels; just check the power windows don’t get short circuited during rainy days. Ironically the power window problem used to be P1’s problem! Now Mighty Honda also have such problems.

Kia Forte might have issues on spare parts and poor resale value.

I agree with you Leonardo. The City is a better buy compared to the current Vios (and im saying this despite me being a Toyota vios owner)

But your comment on Kia you should change the word 'might' to 'will'. hehe

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:25 am

screw this car. get nissan latio. it is nissan gtr kid brother.

• honda malaysia sales already nearly reaching the umw toyota sales.only toyota got extra avanza,hilux,fortuner n hiace.make them volume become larger.time only possible honda will surpass toyota in future.or volkswagen possible the next brand will surpass both honda n toyota in future.if umw still maintaining such technology on their model,i wont buy any of their car from now on.

my house got vios,altis,camry n hilux.i know umw toyota quality n technology very well.my conclusion umw toyota cars very lousy.just dont add the resale value in tis conversation.

now is modern world with lots of new brand n technology,v r saying the

value of the car = is worth tat of pricing?

but i am 1 of the toyota fan

• JeffChong on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:03 am

Whatever car you all buy, Vios, City or Forte or even Persona, aiya, happy can already la, wanna compare??? until tmrw also cannot finish la….. all cars got good and bad….its what u r driving now and what u wanna drive later counts lo…. I drove b4 proton, then I upgrade to Kia, actually all also feel damm shock for 1st time, because u feeling it new…now I gonna get my TRD Vios, I also damm excited….because the feeling is better than my current Spectra….then again….its what u really had experieced before, then u would learned and not repeat again…those who buy forte..its a good car, but wait and see lo….my spectra's timing belt snapped, and I paid RM 9,000 for the whole damm thing including workmanship..I learned my lesson…some cars cannot be so reliable, so don't be waiting too long to change one….Vios is damm good for me….but for me…i didn't say my neighbour who is driving another brand thinks the same…cheers everyone…..

• JeffChong on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:06 am

oh btw resale value? aiya forget about it la, everyone knows driving a car surely the car will be a liability, but heck la…..happy can lo….at least u driving it…some only think how it feels like driving it….can afford, then buy….thank God la…for it….what for compare resale value…..

• adrian on Feb 10, 2010 at 1:10 am

How old was your Kia Spectra when the timing belt snapped?

• bayar mahal utk mende buruk..

• Peter on Feb 10, 2010 at 3:18 am

Tiadaid said,

February 9, 2010 @ 9:52 am

kancil elite said,

February 9, 2010 @ 8:31 am

—————–

3-star? Waja got 3-star. Exora could get 4-star if tested.

—————————–

Bro,….Exora is awarded 4 star ENCAP saftey test in spain……It is a true malaysian car. Dont talk about cars like Perodua Myvi, Alza, Nazas which are rebadge. Even though the cars which they rebadge are 4 stars or even 5 stars safety standards but the problem is that Perodua and even Naza did not even sent for any safety test. Reason is simple, want cheap, built cheap. Then through advertisement and say "4 star ENCHAP safety test"…..But the test is refer to those models which they rebadge. Thats why i dont like Peroduas and Nazas,…

• Viosfans on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:34 am

If Vios adds in the paddle shift, USB or AUX input, then it will match to the new price of Vios. Facelift so many time why still Vios cannot provide single things such like paddle shift, USB or AUX input?

Look at the Honda City E spec, they can really give what people expected.

• Koreancarsupporter on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:44 am

Many people treat Kia Forte like Kia Spectra? Am I right?

This is totally different car and that's why NAZA want to replace the Kia Spectra. We all know Kia spectra has lot of problem, but do you guys really know about Kia Forte? Those who drive Hyundai Avante X20 will know. Because Kia Forte based on Hyundai Avante X20. We all know Korean car improve better nowadays but ridiculous thing here is why ppl still has 10 years mindset especially in Malaysia? No wonder Korean car has a worst sale in Malaysia, no wonder Malaysian cannot improve because they cannot change their mindset.

Don't forget, the Korean car manufacturer also learn from Japan car, some even built by Japan car companies also. If you suspect Korean car means you also don't trust Japan car. Toyota should be one of the company involve R&D for CVVT engine outsources for Korean Car like Hyundai, Kia.

• Viosfans on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:00 am

If Vios add paddle shift, USB or AUX output in G spec and TRD spec, I think it should match to the new price. Just don't understand why Vios facelift so many time still cannot add this single facilities? Look at Honda City E spec, how they make impression to the people and attract them to buy it.

• JeffChong on Feb 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

adrian said,

February 9, 2010 @ 5:10 pm

How old was your Kia Spectra when the timing belt snapped

Dear Adrian, can't remember exactly but it should be around 2 years ago, so it means after 5 years from 2003?

• Viosfans said,

February 9, 2010 @ 10:00 pm

If Vios add paddle shift, USB or AUX output in G spec and TRD spec, I think it should match to the new price. Just don’t understand why Vios facelift so many time still cannot add this single facilities? Look at Honda City E spec, how they make impression to the people and attract them to buy it.

u r WRONG , look at the toyota sales last whole year…city is behind vios ab 10000 units left

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Viosfans said,

February 9, 2010 @ 10:00 pm

If Vios add paddle shift, USB or AUX output in G spec and TRD spec, I think it should match to the new price. Just don’t understand why Vios facelift so many time still cannot add this single facilities? Look at Honda City E spec, how they make impression to the people and attract them to buy it.

if TOY add those things into thier vios..

then the price will be like hell.. (but T-boys will say "nice price! u like it, u buy"..)

prfthhhhh… (peYno TM)

• seems like adrian is a die-hard fan of TOYOTA!!! and hates KIA a lot…

• adrian on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Latest News: Honda issues 2nd recall for defective airbag inflation. Total 378,000 cars to be recalled in America, Africa, Europe and Asia. Models affected: Accords, Civic, Odyssey and CRV.

So now is everybody gonna slam Honda and stop buying Honda? I wanna hear from all those who condemned Toyota's safety standards. Lets see what you have to say now.

I said earlier that almost all major car marques have issued safety recalls at some point in the past and safety recalls shouldnt be a yardstick to judge the safety standards of a particular marque unless it happens frequently.

• wallstreet on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:51 pm

adrian said,

February 9, 2010 @ 3:39 pm

You really dont read correctly before u post remarks dont ya? Did i not mention that the ATF is recommended to be changed every 15K by KIA?? Does this mean that u do a major service every 2nd service??

————————————————————

Halo….woke up from your Vios dream? This is what you said earlier..

"My friend took her 3 yr old Picanto (CBU) for a scheduled service and the bill came up to RM835. This is just normal service with ATF change plus adjust here and there. No major replacement e.g timing belt,. aircon belt, aircon service, etc."

I think not many will believe your stories anyway……….I know you are unhappy ppl bashing on your Vios but please la…don't make up stories..

Thats my whole point! The ATF change is supposed to be done only during a major service but just to prolong the lifespan of the gearbox they say u gotta do it every 15K which is crazy.

Whats the point of having aprts coming from Korea when it does not last?? Yes T and H get theirs from Thailand and Malaysia but which lasts? Who cares where they come from as long as they give u value for money and last!

—————————————————————

• wallstreet on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:52 pm

adrian said,

February 9, 2010 @ 3:39 pm

————————————————————

“My friend took her 3 yr old Picanto (CBU) for a scheduled service and the bill came up to RM835. This is just normal service with ATF change plus adjust here and there. No major replacement e.g timing belt,. aircon belt, aircon service, etc.”

I think not many will believe your stories anyway……….I know you are unhappy ppl bashing on your Vios but please la…don’t make up stories..

• bmpower on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Stupid people buy overated overpriced underspecs car (ie: toyota vios)

Smart people buy others.

Like that!

• My friend trade-in his Vios G spec 2004 for a Forte 1.6 Sx…and my ride is a Kia Rio JB.

nuff said.

• adrian on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

wallstreet said,

February 10, 2010 @ 10:52 am

I think not many will believe your stories anyway……….I know you are unhappy ppl bashing on your Vios but please la…don’t make up stories..

U must have a problem with English? U quote my exact words against my own exact words? So what do u get in return? MY EXACT WORDS.

Cant u understand? Im saying it was supposed to be a normal service but was told to change the ATF for the reasons mentioned. Whats so difficult to understand?

Ive also said that anybody is free to check what i said with any Kia service centre. If ya want more confirmation of my so called 'stories' then go visit about 5 Kia service centres and observe the types of repairs being carried out.

I didnt ask anybody to take my word for it. I gave u the option of double checking whatever ive said yourself.

Now if u still fail to understand this, then i think u should refrain from commenting.

I dont defend anybody or anything without facts of my own and neither will i condemn without facts either.

Cheers!

• alpha999 on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:37 pm

smart buy wat ? which car is not overpriced ?? tell me tell me….

• alpha999 on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:38 pm

smart ppl buy wat har? which car is not overpriced ?? tell me tell me….

• Tiadaid on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:41 pm

adrian said,

February 10, 2010 @ 10:48 am

Latest News: Honda issues 2nd recall for defective airbag inflation. Total 378,000 cars to be recalled in America, Africa, Europe and Asia. Models affected: Accords, Civic, Odyssey and CRV.

So now is everybody gonna slam Honda and stop buying Honda? I wanna hear from all those who condemned Toyota’s safety standards. Lets see what you have to say now.

—————–

As a Honda owner, I can safely say this. NEVER AGAIN! If I'm going to buy a new car, then the Pug 308's the one for me.

• - L e O - on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Guys, for most of u guys who commented here are mostly very updated with the latest technologies in the car industry bla bla bla.

But if u ask the majority of malaysians who buy new cars and drive new cars, they don't really CARE abt how how many speed ur gearbox have, what is a paddle-shifter, how many seconds can ur car sprint from 0-100kmh.

Most drivers just expect this from their car:

1. reliable

2. easy to service, conveniently located service centers.

3. good after sales service.

4. saves fuel.

5. car weight to power ratio is balanced.

6. well designed car chassis to provide passive and active safety to passengers in car.

7. good resale value if needs to sell the car when they upgrade to another car in the future.

Vios..fullfils all the requirements above, its proven by the majority of vios owners in the country, vios is like the new wira, everywhere can be seen, if its not by words of mouth or proven facts, are u saying that majority of malaysian are stupid? ask most of them, they do not regret buying the car even after few years down the road.

Yes its overpriced, yes i'm a vios owner. BUT yes, i'm still satisfied with my car after 2 years of ownership and problem free service and maintanance if compared to my GEN 2 and WIRA i used to own b4.

Cheers.

• jeffcws on Feb 10, 2010 at 9:54 pm

bmpower, so u so smart is it?? what car u drive then??? BMW? Peugeot??? Kancil????

Don't insult like this….very bad…

• Car LoVer on Feb 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm

Haiya,

I think every ppl have different purchasing power. Those that earn more will think that the increase is not significant. But we all got our own opinion, it is better to give our own opinion than critise others la.

As for Toyota and Honda problem is because they care for their user that y they annouce it and they are willing to rectify the problem. Can u say that none other brand cars dun have problem. Most probably they just keep quiet cause once announce it will effect their sales.

In regards of the pricing, of course it is over price for car that is having a small engine but that is my opinion, does mean that you need to accept my opinion.

As for Forte, we still to see after 2 years where the car stand. If there is still no problem i think we have ourself a competition.

• Tiadaid on Feb 11, 2010 at 1:21 am

Car LoVer said,

February 10, 2010 @ 3:21 pm

As for Toyota and Honda problem is because they care for their user that y they annouce it and they are willing to rectify the problem. Can u say that none other brand cars dun have problem. Most probably they just keep quiet cause once announce it will effect their sales.

————–

They didn't do it because they care, they did it because they were FORCED to. Toyota was told to recall the cars, after a family died in a Lexus, while Honda recalled ONLY after Toyota started recalling their cars. Their reputation depends on them recalling those cars.

• vios J – 1 airbag , retracable side mirror and power adjustable side mirror

vios E – 2 airbags , dark grey interior

vios G – leather seat

vios TRD – remain the same interior

• adrian on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm

Guys,

Just some info i got from JD Power. Kindly note Kia's ratings as compared to Toyota and Honda.

J.D. Power and Associates: 2009 Vehicle Dependability Study

(Problems per 100 vehicles)

Jaguar 122

Lexus 126

Toyota 129

Honda 148

Porsche 150

Audi 159

Ford 159

Hyundai 161

Subaru 162

BMW 166

Industry Average 170

Mercedes-Benz 184

Chevrolet 185

Mitsubishi 185

Volvo 186

Nissan 199

MINI 205

Kia 218

Mazda 227

Volkswagen 260

Suzuki 263

http://businesscenter.jdpower.com/news/pressrelea…

• Mad Cat on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:15 am

Some of you guys keep saying Toyota is taxed higher than their competitors. Why is that?

a) It's of Thai origin, thus ASEAN origin CKD, hence it comes in under CEPT with ZERO import duty.

b) Excise Duty exemption is based on 'Local Content'. ASEAN content is condidered 'Local Content'. If the Vios is mostly from Thailand that means it qualifies, hence they pay virtually NO Excise Duty.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:05 am

Guys,

Check out this quality ratings from JD Power.

J.D. Power and Associates: 2009 Vehicle Dependability Study

(Problems per 100 vehicles)

Jaguar 122

Lexus 126

Toyota 129

Honda 148

Porsche 150

Audi 159

Ford 159

Hyundai 161

Subaru 162

BMW 166

Industry Average 170

Mercedes-Benz 184

Chevrolet 185

Mitsubishi 185

Volvo 186

Nissan 199

MINI 205

Kia 218

Mazda 227

Volkswagen 260

Suzuki 263

Source: J.D. Power and Associates 2009 Vehicle Dependability Study
    http://businesscenter.jdpower.com/news/pressrelea…

• It is based on the models sold in US. Is Vios included?
      Even if Toyota/Honda build some crap cars, it is still less problematic car?

• ooi…. bro,

Data released in March2009 leh. 1 year old oledi oh. Does not reflect the recent recall for the japs cars oh.

• MonfereBlogspot on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:43 am

eddy said,

February 11, 2010 @ 12:34 pm

vios J – 1 airbag , retracable side mirror and power adjustable side mirror

vios E – 2 airbags , dark grey interior

vios G – leather seat

vios TRD – remain the same interior

—————————————————————-

Good!! But TRD version do not have leather seats woh… If G version and TRD Version have 4 Airbags and keyless entry it sure sell like hot cakes…

Btw, i saw a comment in other blog writting that this vios is launching in 16 April…

• bmpower said,

February 10, 2010 @ 10:54 am

Stupid people buy overated overpriced underspecs car (ie: toyota vios)

Smart people buy others.

Like that!

SMART ppl buy wat ?????

smart ppl buy proton like ?

• all car in malaysia are taxed !!!

• Carl Chin on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:08 am

Nice grilles ..

• john wayne on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:17 am

aku mau angkut kete nih satu..ade ape2 masalah kete toyota vios nih yg org ptt tau??..

• Buy Proton Last on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:52 am

Every id1ot here who mentioned Forte every here and they is just plain silly.

Forte is a crappy car , a Spectra replacement which is a pure crap and thirsty fuel drinker. And not to mention the extreme poor quality if local Kia cars. I dont mean that Kia never produce good cars , but those models selling in Malaysia are just plain pathetic. Forte is just over the Pesona class. Not even close to any Jap sedans here. So just stop talking how good Forte is until u hear from the not-so-many owners of the car and listen from them. One thing for sure , FC is gonna be a pain in da a$$ .. Good luck Forte.

• Eh, you got block head is it?

What ppl’s like is their freedom. If u never drive the car or even own it, don’t simply comment. moron.

• opaque on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Buy proton last,

It seems that u r not reading cars mag. they all praise the forte. same rear suspension setup with vios but it is not as firm as vios. why i said this bcoz i have test drive them. i think if the secondhand price regime is not change to age of cars just like sg,then toyota will sell at weird prices but sell like hotcakes

• cangkul on Feb 17, 2010 at 1:24 am

lu org semua mata merah..ha..ha.. nasib baik sy sulah angkat 1 vios awal bulan 2 ni.. sampai pencen pn lu org x dpt pakai itu kete sebab dah naik..he..he..

• cangkul on Feb 17, 2010 at 1:26 am

proton waja… dgn vios.. baik vios..harga lebih sikit vios jer..tapi kualiti…

• KELVIN on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:39 am

i like toyota vios, i already order …..

hahaha…….

• y2ggy on Feb 24, 2010 at 3:41 am

Haiya… resale value Toyota car in US, China and Europe already drop. Kesian owner, Toyota kat sana, banyak kedai 2nd x nak beli Toyota mereka. Tak lama lagi akan spread all over the world. Check is out.

www.newsobserver.com/business/…/328666.html – United States

Just my advice to Toyota owner… jualah kereta anda secepat mungkin.. sebelum value Toyota anda jatuh kaw-kaw.

• qwert on Feb 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

Sebab secondhand value dier maintain, rupa buruk pon orang beli…

• i love proton on Feb 28, 2010 at 4:31 pm

semua kereta boleh beli, kecuali PROTON and PERODUA !!! =P

• Freddie on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:24 pm

proton waja… dgn vios.. baik vios..harga lebih sikit vios jer..tapi kualiti…

Quality DOES improve a lot…. Check market survey by JD Power….. buat la research sikit abang oi!

Handling wise, Proton wins……… Ask the singaporeans…..Hahahahaha

• Freddie on Mar 01, 2010 at 8:39 pm

Guys, for most of u guys who commented here are mostly very updated with the latest technologies in the car industry bla bla bla.

But if u ask the majority of malaysians who buy new cars and drive new cars, they don’t really CARE abt how how many speed ur gearbox have, what is a paddle-shifter, how many seconds can ur car sprint from 0-100kmh.

Most drivers just expect this from their car:

1. reliable

2. easy to service, conveniently located service centers.

3. good after sales service.

4. saves fuel.

5. car weight to power ratio is balanced.

6. well designed car chassis to provide passive and active safety to passengers in car.

7. good resale value if needs to sell the car when they upgrade to another car in the future.

Vios..fullfils all the requirements above, its proven by the majority of vios owners in the country, vios is like the new wira, everywhere can be seen, if its not by words of mouth or proven facts, are u saying that majority of malaysian are stupid? ask most of them, they do not regret buying the car even after few years down the road.

Yes its overpriced, yes i’m a vios owner. BUT yes, i’m still satisfied with my car after 2 years of ownership and problem free service and maintanance if compared to my GEN 2 and WIRA i used to own b4.

Cheers.

You're partially rite:

1.Reliable…. T is reliable, but so does other make….. Failure to comply to the maintenance schedule is the major culprit of breakdown.

2. easy to service, conveniently located service centers.—So does P1 and P2…. even peugeot as well

3. good after sales service.—- Is toyota really that great? Have you REALLY ever been to p1 svcs centre lately?

4. saves fuel. Other p1 and p2 save fuel as well…. if you want to compare with persona@waja with vios, vios win because of it's tiny body and super efficient engine…. What if we compare savvy with vios?

5. car weight to power ratio is balanced.—- basically even the 1.3 avanza is considered OK……..

6. well designed car chassis to provide passive and active safety to passengers in car.—– how many star (not sure whether to add "s" or not) vios had? Waja had ONLY 3. Does the vios chasis good? Go and drive the car….. and compare that with proton.

7. good resale value if needs to sell the car when they upgrade to another car in the future.—- if people care to see the price of T in langkawi, then you'll know how much UMWT "katuk kaw-kaw" on us….. Bet the resale value of T will drop significantly.

• along on Mar 03, 2010 at 11:39 pm

haha..funny la u guys..u guys must be so poor because cannot buy toyota then kutuk2 for no reason..

• mekatoronikusu on Mar 10, 2010 at 10:07 am

forte? vios??? better choose basikal ma….green transportation! wakakakaka

cause i'm still studying… xP

• Civic EK on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:33 am

come on guys, if u change d gov also d tax issue will be d same,

u all just dont get it dont u?

• rahim rahman on Mar 17, 2010 at 2:46 am

At the moment there are a lot of key issue on big T. Big T must keep it's promises on the development of GreenTechnology and Price System on it's unit. Intro hybrid to Vious and then can increase price. Another example it's back bumper cost RM499 and rear light RM399 in Malaysia. There are others. With abandon of plastic iin Malaysia it should not cost that much.

Big T is very reliable company for at least 10……….generations. Please keep it up!! Before it is too late.

Big brother

• learner on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:57 pm

i love proton said,

February 28, 2010 @ 8:31 am

semua kereta boleh beli, kecuali PROTON and PERODUA !!! =P

blindly bashing! P2 and P1 is first and second in ranking for car sales in malaysia, who cares protection by gov since this is facts.

• just booked the G spec last week. May change to TRD after look at the actual unit next month. but, toyota give me a good trend-in on my last 2004 100% serviced by Toyota vois. so G spec or TRD?

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

hs said,

March 19, 2010 @ 1:14 pm

just booked the G spec last week. May change to TRD after look at the actual unit next month. but, toyota give me a good trend-in on my last 2004 100% serviced by Toyota vois. so G spec or TRD?

Why would you want to trade in to a similar model which didnt really incorporate much changes? Not really an upgrade if u ask me.

• because my vois running at 180K mileage and getting more sound… to save more petrol and still need Toyota car, i still goto vois… My company need a toyota with at least RM80K price for allowance claim. so have to get vois… not camry, altis etc…

• because for company allowance i need a RM80K toyota car. and i daily travel 100KM so have to get save petrol car… some more, now my vois us running more than 180K mileage with more and more sound on it.

or you have better idea ? :)

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 19, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Freddie said,

March 1, 2010 @ 12:39 pm

You’re partially rite:

1.Reliable…. T is reliable, but so does other make….. Failure to comply to the maintenance schedule is the major culprit of breakdown.

2. easy to service, conveniently located service centers.—So does P1 and P2…. even peugeot as well

3. good after sales service.—- Is toyota really that great? Have you REALLY ever been to p1 svcs centre lately?

4. saves fuel. Other p1 and p2 save fuel as well…. if you want to compare with persona@waja with vios, vios win because of it’s tiny body and super efficient engine…. What if we compare savvy with vios?

5. car weight to power ratio is balanced.—- basically even the 1.3 avanza is considered OK……..

6. well designed car chassis to provide passive and active safety to passengers in car.—– how many star (not sure whether to add “s” or not) vios had? Waja had ONLY 3. Does the vios chasis good? Go and drive the car….. and compare that with proton.

7. good resale value if needs to sell the car when they upgrade to another car in the future.—- if people care to see the price of T in langkawi, then you’ll know how much UMWT “katuk kaw-kaw” on us….. Bet the resale value of T will drop significantly.

Im sorry to say this but I think you have a very limited knowledge of things and issues which has resulted in your inaccurate statements above. Let me correct you:

1) RELIABILITY of a car has nothing to do with maintenance. Maintenance is a redundant factor in this argument since any car without proper service will break down. The issue here is the quality and reliability of the ORIGINAL parts of the car. For instance, u can service a Proton Wira well every month and u will still get 50 problems at the end of the month because of the reliability factor.

2) You can have 100 Proton service centres in 1 town but the issue is the QUALITY of the service. I had a service centre that was in my own taman and my Wira spent most of its time in there. So how did the number of service centres benefit me? Its the quality of the service centre that counts.

3) Yes Toyota SC is good and you obviously have NOT been to one. Does P1 service centres stay open for you to collect your car at 11pm? Does P1 SC's offer you free wiper blades and free washes just cuz u waited long for your car to be ready? Does P1 allow u to send your car for service the night before if u arent free in the morning? Does P1 offer to pick or drop off your car if ure too busy? Toyota SC may not be perfect and some need improvement but its a whole lot better than P1 and many other manufacturers. (im not refering to just 1 Toyota sc)

4) Its stupid to compare a Savy with a Vios since its in a totally different car category. Shall we compare a Vios with a BMW and see who consumes less?

5) Balanced??? What do you know about balanced? The Avanza is underpowered and everybody knows it. The Vios is NOT underpowered since its power to weight ratio is really good. It only becomes sluggish when u load it up. The Vios can beat even a Perdana V6 in a 0-100kmph speed test in ideal conditions. Did u know that? Go read it up if you dont believe.

6) Have u tested the difference between the Vios and the Proton yourself? I dont think you have. Of course make sure u compare the same category car too. I have done it and i know the answer. Weight of a car DOES NOT mean it has a good chasis. U need to know the difference.

7) Please go and check The Star classifieds and u will see yourself that Toyota has the best resale value among the foreign makes. A 7 yr old Vios only depreciates about 35% from its original sale price. Im sure u didnt know that. Dont talk about UMW katokking us cuz Proton is doing the same shit by giving us far inferior quality cars while charging us the sky for it.

Cheers!

• thanks for your long writing…i dont thing you are comment on top of mine post. but anyway, you have your point.

• SWK_Tuyang on Mar 23, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Honestly, i am extremely disappointed looking at the so call NEW FACELIFT or whatever it is on this new Vios. SUch a bad move for Toyota jacking up the price. Thought it was a brand new Vios!! I plan to buy Vios sooner but looking at this new facelift, my mood of buying going badly down. Why 1.5 cc engine price like mountain everest?… wahhhhh.. apa lah… dont be like Proton la Toyota.. pliz la… just changing the front lamp, so call new model.. what the heck.

think twice… we Asian market is not a bin or forex to cover the lost that you make at US market!. consider it.

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facelift_%28automoti…

facelift x= new model.

as for price… erm… i still think value for money. if want to say everest cost then we should thanks to our Gov. :)

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facelift_%28automoti…

facelift x= new model.

as for price… erm… i still think value for money. if want to say everest cost then we should thanks to our Gov. :) P is protected on this matter. :)

• Brandon on Mar 26, 2010 at 8:38 am

Hi, everyone i need some help on my car recently bought about 3 months already from the Kota Damansara branch.(Toyota Vios E) When i received my car i had some knocking sound from the engine so as usual i brought it back to the service centre to rectify the problem. So the SA told me it was the "tap pad"(Something like that) so need to change those "valve" inside whereby took me about 3 weeks. Other than that i found a defect on my windscreen (where i have done a tint), there was a long line on the glass but they manage to change for me but the main problem is after 3 weeks when i about to take my car, the sound was just the same nothing change but the SA verify with the car technician and they told me i have to run in…(i have already run in for the 1st 1000km) so now run in but still the same problem then i called up. I told them the problem and they now tell me i need to change the Cam shaft and something like the top engine have to change. Sorry i am not good in car but those sound coming out from the engine, who ever will also know how to differentiate there is something wrong. Now they inform me to sent back the car for 2 weeks to change those parts. I was wondering is it that bad the quality now for Toyota? I bought Toyota is because it was reputable, quality & lasting. Its also my 1st time buying an imported vehicle and most expensive things i ever bought in my life now & its so dissapointing & upset. Now I worry & not sure after this 2 weeks sending it back will it be fixed? Can i request for a new car by the way? as since i receive the car i never had a peace of mind and the worst like working for them by sending the car to the service centre. I requested from them if i could get a rental car so that i can go to work but they told me there is no such service. Now i have to go to work by taxi and the worst is 3 weeks in the service centre and my problem is not solved and now going in for another 2 weeks. Can I get an advise from u all what is the right thing i should do? How can i get someone from Toyota to look into my stage of problem? Please Help…

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 26, 2010 at 5:17 pm

Brandon,

No u cant exchange cars for sure. This is what u do. Go to the Toyota Service centre at Jalan 217 off the Federal Highway. Ask for a guy named Lim. He is good and he will be able to get your problem resolved. Dont worry.

• this is something i do for Citroen few year ago after more than 1-year to complain and action on my problem in many channel. end up, have to shown myself in newspaper then baru they start to " MOVE". BTW, brookland is the one to resolved my problem which creating by Directional under HRB-Hicom.

• DoubleA on Mar 27, 2010 at 7:29 pm

Oh dear… This is a long. It's make me to skip reading all of it.

Well said, Toyota also increase their car value. I guess many people feel very frustrated.

In term of quality, it's very hard to say. We're not god, some small minor defect inside car cannot be detected with current technology.

Speak as engineer, even a manufacturing company that i join will have a tight quality control. 4 piece per million(4ppm) for 1 small electronic chip. Yet still sometimes defect will leakout to our customer. And our customer is Denso, Toyota, Mitsubishi & Merc.

Price hiking up due to engineer R&D cost study especially for small stupid crazy chip that demanded by customer(like us) outside there with super duper high tech function.

For example even a car front headlight control chip (called IPD-Intelligent Power Device) or a hybrid engine for current under power Camry which still carrying a test until next year. This 2 example is the product that our company currently have a joint venture with Denso and Toyota.

– Not Toyota Fan. I drive Swift CKD only…=P

• Booked a new facelift vios on the 12th of March… managed to get 2.7% loan. After the 15th i checked again the interested already increased to 3.5%. But too bad i got to know from one agent saying that there will be no more rebate on the insurance for the new vios. Is it true? Do u guys know anything abt this? Btw can i know normally what type of free gifts the SA will offer? TQ

• you get any infor from that for rebate and free girts? i also booked but bad i get 2.9% interest rate.

• hello,

Wah, do you know that? Sales for major car makers drop! but NAZA, BENZ, FORD, VW bla bla increased! Why ya?

You guys are really f-up, especially those die hard Toyata fans or so call master.
    P1 and P2 are still the top in car market! Based on car model, new SAGA is champion! Vios only 6th. And i notice something, Forte just launched, sold only 123 units in Jan2010 but 458 units in Feb2010!!! Shit! 300% increment, a bit worry now, with this kind of trend of sales.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_2427/pagAe_m.asp

BTW, KIA is considered as national car wor! oledi leh since 2003. So is it fair to compare P1/P2 to KIA? Why KIA is a national car?! Not Korean meh?

[PDF] The Development of the Automobile Industry and the Road Ahead Mohd …File Format: PDF/Adobe Acrobat – Quick View
    The implementation of the national car projects was a step towards the development of an integrated motor vehicle ….. *KIA have been considered as national cars since 2003 ….. Department of Statistics Malaysia, MIDA and MAA in …
    www.statistics.gov.my/portal/images/…/V204_AUTOMOBILE.pdf?… – Similar

• P1 and P2 “still” the TOP in the car market ? really? reason? cheap? if gov reduce tax then will P1 and P2 still the same…. :) :)

• cybermaster98 on Apr 05, 2010 at 11:11 am

IIIV,

It is not logical to compare local makes against foreign makes in terms of sales due to the lopsided Gov pricing policies and unfair pricing platforms for foreign makes. I think you should know this by now.

Yes the Kia Forte has increased its sale figures from Jan to Feb 2010 but the overall sales will not differ much for it. The much older Vios despite all its critisisms and lack of specs is still a front runner for the non national car sale figures. Its sale figures are still the strongest among the non national makes despite much newer models like the Honda City and Kia Forte.

Top 10 non-national vehicle sales for February 2010

Toyota Vios 2,349
    Toyota Hilux 1,206
    Nissan Grand Livina 1,013
    Honda City 1,004
    Toyota Camry 816
    Honda Civic 634
    Mitsubishi Triton 572
    Naza Kia Forte 458
    Nissan Sylphy 452
    Toyota Avanza 437

• Hey cybermaster98,

Forte is considered as 3rd national car leh. So hor, ou mentioned that we cannot compare national P1/P2 with non-national (Vios/City are made in Thailand wor, but just carrying japs name oni), then why you compare naza with the japs leh? Is it that u have strong prejudice against other cars?? or u have just wanted to try to fabricate some facts to achieve some interests/motives?

From the data by motor trade malaysia, we could analyse that:
    1. By price range, SAGA wins! if cybermaster98 u r going to say, “no no no, they are different segment”, ok lor, then Persona wins! (but then we talk about price range wor, who cares about the segment neh??)

2. By segment, saga is the winner in the B-seg!
    And civic is the winner in C-seg (forte is catching up oh! altis and lancer is behind forte leh, jia lat! how ah, cybermaster98?? help!)!
    And Exora is the winner in the MPV seg.

3. By the category of national car, regarless of the segment but just units sold, Saga wins!

4. By the category of non-national car, Vios wins!

so i feel har, if u wan to go for the good price range car, the SAGA!
    if for good resale value, u must go for the most popular car, the SAGA!
    if u wan the best in the B-seg car, go for SAGA!
    if u wan the best in the national car, the SAGA!
    if u wan the best in the C-seg car, the Civic!
    if u wan the best in the non-national car, the Vios!

so, SAGA wins all! then y r we still buying the vios oh? i bought 1 vios, the price is equal to 2 SAGA!

but cybermaster98 oh, u said resale value is important lah, resale value is based on its popularity mah, then it should be SAGA lor, then our Vios only wins in 1 category oni.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:57 pm

IIIV,

You are out of point. I am not talking about national cars. Whether the car is marketed by naza or otherwise it is still a KIA. The only difference is the distribution and after sales network.

U talked about the Kia Forte sales being very high jump from Jan to feb and i answered u based on that. I didnt say anything about resale value here. So dont bring in useless comparisons.

If u want to compare then please compare NON national cars with NON national cars. Dont mis them up. The pricing strategy is very different. I am talking about the Vios here.

Cheers!

• carloverRX8 on Apr 05, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Hey IIIV,

U really stupid fellow la. Wht the heck u compare local car with foreign make for? Its no comparison ok. U can talk about price, bla bla bla but if u want to talk about local make then talk about QUALITY first ok. If using that your useless Proton is shit ok!

U so stupid cant even understand what that Cyber guy saying ah? He only talking about your Kia Forte against the Vios sales. Thats all. Nothing else. U go and talk so much for what la! U talk so big about your Forte sales increase 300% so he taruh u kau kau la.

Next time dont so fast open yor mouth la. See what ppl say 1st then try and answer. If cannot answer then shut up lo. What for talk rubbish this and that. Want to compare Saga with Vios. Only stupid person like u talk rubbish like that.

• stupid carloverRX8,

From what you commented, you really have upbringing problem, you disgrace your parents, your grand-parents, your grand-grand-parents. Pls go back and knee down to them and cry for the forgiveness, else they will haunt you over your fucking asshole.

Forum is for us to speak out and share opinions. Cybermaster98 is our Toyata master, he knows a lot about the car and Toyota. Why can’t I seek his advice?

I don’t own proton or SAGA, stupid carloverRX8, read carefully, i own a Vios!

• :) :) :)

this is really funny talking like that !
    I think you are RX8 owner.. nice car… i use to be !

• cybermaster98 on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Aiya…no need fight la u guys. RX8, your comments are noted but lets not be harsh here. IIIV, i dont think there is a need to bring in family and use foul words.

Lets be calm and talk about the subject we love most: CARS

Cheers!

• passerby on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:26 pm

I doubt so, he just dreams to have RX8.

Dream… Dream…. Dream….

• Cybermaster98,

yes, master. sorry lah, i apologize to you oni. Let’s talk about car.

vios sportivo already rm90k++, crazy, what would be the resale value for Altis? thinking of upgrading my vios to altis. pls advise.

• carloverRX8 on Apr 05, 2010 at 3:34 pm

U so stupid III. Go read 1st la wht u type then onli open mouth la. U really talk rubbish then make fun my bum for what? Cyber talk something else and u komen something else. He talk cow and u answer kambing pulak. Dis call clever guy?

Cyber,
    I understand u. I know u mean what. But i taruh him show him not open his mouth simply. I hate this type of guy just talk rubbish and out of point. My eye sakit see him write long komen but all rubbish. Anyway, u have Vios? what model

• cybermaster98 on Apr 05, 2010 at 4:17 pm

IIIV says:
    5/4/2010 at 3:32 pm
    Cybermaster98,

yes, master. sorry lah, i apologize to you oni. Let’s talk about car.

vios sportivo already rm90k++, crazy, what would be the resale value for Altis? thinking of upgrading my vios to altis. pls advise.

What year is your Vios anyway? If u wanna upgrade then i suggest dont choose Altis. My personal opinion Altis isnt that great a car. The Civic is better. But i think u have the same problem as me which is we are reluctant to leave Toyota.

Im also gonna upgrade as my Vios is 7 yrs old now. But i havent come across a suitable car yet. Im looking in the 1.8-2.0L category. Very reluctant to move to some Korean make as the after sale service here in Malaysia is crap. But i think ill just be patient and wait since my Vios does not have any problems so far.

• 13Point on Apr 06, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Do you guys know where can i trade in my new J spec vios wheel rim and tyres?
    Any good shop to recommend?
    Any idea how much i can trade in?
    TQ

• Brandon on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:01 am

Hei Guys my second time writtng here! For your info I feel Mazda 2 & Ford Fiesta is nice cars I saw it in One U . I dont know if its good or not but for what i see the price is about a Vios. The other thing is not local ensemble. Design is nice & moreover i never heard much complain about this 2 company having many defaults & complains.Just to share my experince on my 3 months old new car.. Sorry to say My Vios already in the Service Center in Sg.Buloh about 3 weeks soon and not fixed yet (Really worry later when collection comes problem again. I am like working for them sent in and out making me so much of a hassle & inconvenience). BTW this is not my 1st time putting my car back to the service center for so long. For everyone info this is my experience and failure i had with my Toyota Vios. The best thing is there no where I can compain in Toyota website. Once called the Freeline as stated in their web and they say they will rectiy my problem & call me back. True enough! they never call me back. So sad to say there is no Customer service, problem solving & Concern taken. Is it true local ensemble in terms of quality is not good? Just need some advise from you guys here. Really disappointed with it. Just an opinion we should be more careful and compare other car company & if your budget is about the same as mine, I would advise try to save for a few more month or a year before commiting buying a imported car totally not partially imported. Don’t later the experience if u get is bad they do not have any service like getting u a temporary car or rental car. Moreover everyone is not rich enough to have 2 cars in life so now I have to take Bus & taxi. Alright folks just to share my sorrow dont mean anything but think about it the price is about the same and diff of maybe 5k-8k but everything in it is clear cut imported. Design wise not bad should have a look as they are having exhibition now in One U. BTW this is more towards people who are interested to buy imported cars. ~~~COMPARE & get advise~~~

• I Lol'ed on Apr 11, 2010 at 3:57 am

I’m not a Toyota fan boy but what i can say is Forte is cheap ONLY because it’s CKD in Malaysia…otherwise you think u can get that kind of price in Malaysia? please..dont expect toyota to achieve that level..what we’re looking for is quality..i dont think korean engines will be as good as Japanese ones for now..

• Brandon on Apr 12, 2010 at 10:00 am

Hi I Lol’ed, just to share with u about the quality i get… for sure we are looking at quality for buying Toyota if not why spend so much whereby double price of a local car… I get a lot of problem one of the car door lock can’t lock, my windscreen got defect, Engine got sound (they say tapping sound then change the valves but when collect its the same, they cant rectify the problem & now resend about 3 weeks coming but still in the service center changing “top engine” thats what they say “Sorry not a pro in car’s”), car door handle got problem when open (very hard), some place paint defect, suspension not smooth & at the speed of 100km u hear sound from the car its like the car bearing making noise..sigh..the difference between my old car (20Yrs) now and the new car is about to be the same soon. =)

Anyway if u have any idea where can i get someone proper to solve my problem i would be appreciated. Putting a car so long in the service center its something not what i feel its right whereby to ensemble a new car would not take such a long time at all. The worst its a hassle and inconvenience for me. I am totally disappointed actually. I sometimes do wonder did i make the right choice? plan & plan for few months then only commit. FYI, its about 4 months my car now but the car was sent in the service center 1st round 3 weeks and now coming another 3 weeks so total about a month plus, maybe i manage to use the car for 2 months?

Take care..

• cybermaster98 on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:34 am

Your new Toyota Vios is only 4 months old and these are the problems? Which Service Centre did u go to?

• Brandon on Apr 14, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Cybermaster98:

Sg.Buloh, I have no choice to sent it there coz they are trying to rectify my problem…Btw can i actually request for compensation for all my travelling and inconvenience expenses occur while my car was in the service center? Was travelling with taxi and bus. Its horrible and time taking (always late to work).

• cybermaster98 on Apr 14, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Why dont u try the SC in Jalan 222, PJ? Look for a guy named Lim. He should be able to help u if Sg Buluh cant.

• mazda on Apr 13, 2010 at 9:01 am

I Lol’ed ,

I think you don’t even read about the Forte spec, not going to mention to test drive it. Pls do some study on the Forte new Gemma and Theta engine and how they are developed from.

Mazda is great!

• I cannot understand y those who has not driven Vios condemn it sooo much? Vios is good car. definitely more reliable than locals…definitely more fuel economical than Koreans. I had driven locals and Koreans. If the car is so bad why is Vios achieving high global sales if Honda or Korean is so good as what ppl say here. How many cars FC as low as Vios (similar range) other than City’s (IDSI only) but still can perform on the road. How many cars battery can last as long as 3.5yrs(even with alot of night drive)This is not luck is because the current is extremely stable when running this car. No suspension change for 5 yrs(i changed my Wira last time very accurate and consistently 2 yrs) . The increase is not due to Toyota want to make more to cover lost BUT it’s UMW who increase the price because they had thrown in more specs into each car spec. Simple.I started with Proton, driven Perodua, bought a vios, then a nissan then went with Kia to try out sold in 6 months, replace with Altis, now booked the new Vios. I decided to keep the Altis and Vios. I’ve driven City and Civic too good car as well. They had erned their name.

• Kimizo on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:55 am

overprice for a facelift model
    there is another better option i think
    greedy is the suitable keyword

• toyota my ass on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:49 am

the price for toyota and honda in malaysia is ridiculous becuae of the OVERWHELMING support that we ourselves provide to them. look at almost every house – there is bound to be a honda or toyota in it.

we are supporting them even though they have faulty parts and need to recall the car. the body is not solid, it closes the door with the sound of a tong kosong. just the engine is maybe a little superior to the rest. but i rather have a sturdier car protecting my life.

we have become the cause of the high prices for these crap cars.

do you see kia or hyundai recall back anything? enough said.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:12 am

Ure again another case of ‘katak bawah tempurung’. Most of the major car makes have had major recalls in the past 10 yrs. Hyundai had a major recall involving almost 1 million cars last year. Did u know about that? So now do we boycott Hyundai as well?

For your info, the car pricing in Malaysia is NOT determined by the manufacturers. Its determined by the GOVERNMENT. The basic prices of the cars are mostly the same. The basic prices of our cars are almost the same as in US or Europe. The only difference is with the excise duties and import taxes and to a certain minimal extent, the currency exchange.

U have the power of the internet at your finger tips. Use it well to get the right info.

Cheers!

• whatevaaa on Apr 27, 2010 at 4:32 pm

There is no need for an argument or condemning what car is good or bad – just buy whatever you can afford and to your liking.

Some people thought bitter gourd is ugly and yucky, but to some the taste is very pleasant and yummy! Furthermore it’s the most antioxidant contents.

A lot of people love to give their opinion based on what they hear from other people but the fact is they dont know what they’re talking about or rather experience it themselves.

Be it vios or city both has its pro and con – go and test drive both cars and see which one you prefer.

I just booked a vios J myself. Not that I dont like city but because I want to do the shortest loan duration and vios J auto is the perfect match for me. So everyone has their own criteria and requirement, go and find it yourself before condemning and bombarding vios or city.

Ta :)

• toyota vios club trd 2009 on Apr 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

knapa toyota vios 2010 tidak mengeluarkan versi 1.5s dan knapa toyota vios trd sportivo tidak mengeluarkan versi manual jelaskan pada saya

• aremere on Apr 30, 2010 at 8:57 am

rime yang menarik.