Volkswagen Passat CC Test Drive Review

As motoring journalists, we’re very lucky to have the newest and shiniest cars in town parked in our porch. After awhile, the “immune system” gets build up to a level that only the very captivating will leave a mark.

The Volkswagen Passat CC is one such car because it’s such a beauty. I caught myself looking back everytime I walked away. I unrolled the curtains so I could occasionally look at it while reading the papers. Such was the effect.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

While the Passat CC looks pretty good in pictures, only in real life does it create the abovementioned symptoms, like the captivating girl you remember so vividly one week after that brief five-second encounter.

The CC is not so much a makeover of the standard Passat, but it’s as if this was the original sketch VW designers came up with before sensibility took over. Personally, I think that this car looks better than the Mercedes-Benz CLS, which we presume was VW’s inspiration for its four-door coupe.

Like the CLS, the Passat CC sports a wider, lower and sleeker shape over the car on which it’s based on, and it shares no body panels with the normal Passat.

To be exact, the CC is 34mm longer, 35mm wider and significantly, sits 55mm lower. This, plus the high and rising waistline results in a slim glasshouse which contributes to the CC’s coupe aspirations. Oh, and aren’t those turbine 18-inch alloys sexy?

The frameless doors also do their part in adding sense of occasion. Open them and you’ll find a sumptous cabin in tan leather. Perhaps VW has gone overboard in trying to make the Passat CC special by having just two individual rear seats; while it was just nice for my family of four, the lack of seating for five could be a potential deal breaker for many.

Moving on, while the basic dash design is carried from the normal Passat, the cozy and cocooning surroundings (you sit much lower too) and the very luxe Nappa leather makes it all feel a tad more exotic. The brushed aluminium trim is convincing and VW’s excellent RCD 510 system (not found in GTI/Scirocco) is a welcome inclusion – the full colour touch screen unit incorporates a rear parking camera and ParkAssist, which gives a bird eye’s view of the car relative to obstacles. Just as well, because outward visibility – especially the over the shoulder rear three quarter view – isn’t great, thanks to the small glass area and thick pillars. Coming out of junctions could prove tricky too.

Yes, there are some parts shared with the Golf, but they look and feel good enough to belong in this car. As a whole, the Passat CC’s cabin gives off nothing to premium badged compact execs in quality, and shades them in ambience.

Looking at that arching roofline, I expected the rear quarters to be cramped, but adults below six foot tall shouldn’t have any headroom problems. Those seated here enjoy good legroom and nicely sculptured seats plus ample storage in the centre seperator. Even better if there was a full length glass roof, but we’re just being greedy here. A luxurious long distance cruiser needs a big boot, and the CC’s trunk is so long that you’ll need a hook to get to bags stored deep inside. In absolute terms, its 532 litres is just 33 litres less than the standard Passat’s.

The Passat CC makes a strong case for itself on the move as an executive express, and asks plenty of questions of the German 3-Series/C-Class/A4 trio. With those compact execs, you pay more for less power, and the Passat CC is one swift car with the sole option of a 197 bhp/280 Nm TSI engine (the same EA113 engine as the Mk5 Golf GTI). VW quotes 0-100 km/h in 7.8 seconds and a top speed of 232 km/h, but in practise it feels much faster than those bare figures suggest, thanks to a turbocharged wave of low down torque sustained fairly long, coupled with a willingness to rev. Much has been said about this engine already, so we’ll just add that in the Passat CC, it’s better insulated than other sportier applications, which suits the effortless nature of this car.

The choice of a torque converter automatic over DSG also makes sense in smooth operator like the Passat CC. While VW’s twin-clutch box is fast, efficient and smooth, we imagine that it would be a tad dramatic and abrupt for the Passat CC’s nature. Volkswagen does offer it paired with the 1.4 litre TSI in another variant of the Passat CC though, but the 2.0 litre TSI gets the auto. In any case, the six-speed slushbox is a good one, never caught napping and very smooth. You never really need to do it yourself, which is a mark of a good automatic. The wide 235-section tyres however (with ContiSeal self sealing technology, auto seals punctures from objects up to 5mm in diameter) generated lots of noise when cruising, marring slightly the otherwise excellent comfort.

Volkswagen Passat CC Test Drive ReviewThe Passat CC gets VW’s DCC Adaptive Chassis Control, which electronically matches the damping to the conditions; there are also two driver selectable presets – Sport and Comfort besides Auto. As mentioned before, DCC is not a gimmick and you do really feel the difference between modes. Sport brings with it a heavier steering and a firmer ride, but Auto is good for most of the time. The presets are better sorted than Audi’s Drive Select.

Despite wearing very thin rubber, the CC rides very well, on the firm side when you’re in Sport but never jarring. The steering’s weighting is good, but could do with more feel and the chassis doesn’t respond to hard driving as enthusiastically as the Ford Mondeo we recently tried, but you rarely feel the urge to test the limits in the VW – it’s not that sort of car. On its own, the Passat CC is good to drive swiftly – fast, composed and stable footed, good enough for most of us.

The Passat CC is the best seller of the three latest VWs to hit our market, mainly because of the attractive RM239,888 price. For that money, you get a lot of equipment (besides those already mentioned, bi-xenons, dynamic cornering lamps, electronic parking brake, sunroof, electric rear sunshade and keyless entry are all standard), certainly more than the locally assembled 320i or C200K, both of which cost almost RM10K more.

This good value is likely to seal the deal for those already tempted by the style, comfort and pace on offer.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=775]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• very sexy car .. seen a few … and it really is sexy … blows away the merc and bimmers …

• altec on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:41 am

its a very nice touch car…

fantastic design with fantastic price..

• is it locally assembled?

• mitlanevo on Feb 08, 2010 at 1:56 am

simply astonishing and marvelous…

will make this into my favourite list later, hehez

• whoa…

• austin_cipan on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:20 am

nice………..

• Jimbo on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:22 am

They have an option for a five seater now.

• kopi-man on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:25 am

The challenge is:

1) Its still a VW

2) The other is BM

3) The other is Merc

You cant deny the power of branding, but it is good to make the BM and Merc putting up the effort in improving the "standard" equipment which is basically like nothing but selling the brand.

Competition is always good to the consumer, which sadly Msia auto market always lack.

Got a feel that Danny does not write the same angle like Paul, from the consumer perspective which give his unique opinion in praise or criticize the car, which makes reader enjoy to follow. This is like extract from those standard printed marketing info given by the auto seller. Just my 2cents of course.

• Lambori on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:29 am

saw one on the streets just 2 weeks ago and i couldn't help but stare!

• It's not THAT pretty.

Face looks like a somewhat rip from a camry, but the ass looks great.

• blurp on Feb 08, 2010 at 2:58 am

Give those Beemer and Merz a heart attack.. Everything is perfect in this car interm of performance, comfort and style.. reliability is not an issue since they offer 5 years warranty. Is a good buy!! ill choose this anytime compare to C class or 3 series.. spanking 10K extra someor..

• yazid on May 19, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Agree with u man..vw passat is awesome ….interm of performance , comfort and style…bravo..and outstanding. let see how beemer and merc fan look at this…HEART ATTACK….

• Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2010 at 3:18 am

kopi-man, thanks for your comments, will take note.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:22 am

does it comes with ESP/ESC ?

Hope it has, even Kia Forte 2.0(Rm94K+) are equipped with Electronic Stability Program!

Bags, ABS, EBD, Traction Control(TRC/VSC) are old tech…

Nowadays, should look for ESP/ESC…

• Love the coppery-gold colour. What colour is it precisely? I'm still contemplating if I want this or Audi Q5. Hmm…

• Hadi1975 on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:39 am

Seen a couple on the road… Nice looking…

• niuhje on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:52 am

The workshop owner i sent my car to just bought 1… i think i helped him pay for it. Dang!! RM1,800 was the damage…Ouch!!!!

• keretakura on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:53 am

I LIKE IT ….. :p

• alanzo on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:41 am

love it

• reefdee on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:14 am

i had the chance to ride on the previous version of the passat a few months back while in the states.. and my friend got it for USD28k brand new, the 2.0T version.. thats like RM100k if converted to our money.. and here it cos what? 200k++?? what a rip off..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:17 am

hahaha "like the captivating girl you remember so vividly one week after that brief five-second encounter" i love this quote. btw, this car is just captivating in real life. anybody who buys this car will feel like a total winner.

• jackson on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:24 am

i have been told by Francis, VW SA of FA Wagen, that the stock for this is no more. Next shipment only in april/may. and different and lower spec. cant remember what they were exactly but noticeable and worth remembering were:

Reverse camera gone, glass roof gone, and 2 to 3 other items gone. with slight increase in price.

this was mentioned to me when i went to look for a passat cc to purchase. since he mentioned no stock and coming is lower spec and higher price, i look at others and am still searching.

• MazdAstina on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:36 am

saw this moving in ampang wit my wife. Breath taking. My wife whom dun care about cars can suddenly ask me, how much arr?

• damn danny, you are one lucky fool to get to drive this car!

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:18 am

An VW answers to de CSL n de 5-er GT?!

• "Jimbo said,

February 7, 2010 @ 6:22 pm

They have an option for a five seater now."

is it true? anyone know its waiting period,tq

• Love it too! But the price keep me on hold..hmm. Maybe camry 2.4 for comfort..but lack of new specs like this one..

• skiborne on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:02 am

gosh looking at the interior, just love that brushed aluminium trim! especially when paul focused n snapped right at the details of the trim..

• Very nice car, saw this in Jalan Ampang showroom, comparing CC Passat with Scirocco, the CC Passat looks so grand. But it is only a four seater, 2+2. Definitely a big and stable car.

• OneEarth on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:07 am

I dont agree VW brand is less then BMW or Merc. It is just different market segment players. All 3 brands are equal but cannot compare 5 or 7 series with VW Passat CC. It looks like comparing Oris watch, to Tag then you may have even forget Patek. Oris does make some better models then Tag. If you wear a Patek, majority will conside it is a nothing. But if you drive a Merc, 90% plp in the market i doubt they know the details, C .. E… CLK… so many. So only those who appreciate cars or particular model will understand.

In Malaysia, so many people keep talking about BMW or Merc, then goes to Toyota and Honda, honestly, thats because of our consumer demand in detail is still not there yet. But i believe it coming sooner then i expect.

Many of my friends keep telling me that do business must have a Merc or BMW, i told them have you see Steve of Apple product launch, he only wear business casual. Co-Founder of Apple also driving a Toyota Pirus.

Passat CC does have a strong Sport Sedan for Executives charater. It is true, only thing the setback is 4 seaters. Test driven for A4, 320, 323, C200, Camry 2.4, Honda 2.4 and Mazda 2.5, Golf GTi, Passat CC, too much detail to share but Golf GTi rank 1st, second is Passat CC, 3rd is Mazda 6. Howver, in Malaysia, the best car does not represent its best selling trend. Not at all.

• Thomas Heng on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:26 am

I tested drove the car, it is impressive! Acceleration is great! Max torque from 1700-5xxxrpm! The seats is great and it was easy for me to cornering such a big car.

For more info, there are no stock at the moment. The price is increased RM 4k for very new order, in replace for new 210hp engine (found in MK6 and 2010 Scirocco) and DSG. Yes 6 speed DSG as standard.

For the fifth seat, yes it is coming. But i been told not late than Nov and maybe come in june/july if u lucky. So im not place my booking since i need 5 seat for my 4 doors car.

• Thomas Heng on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:32 am

@jackson

I visited FA Wagen too…but im at JB. The salesman told me everything remain same beside engine and gearbox. He called to his head to double confirm for my requested. Hmm…he might be wrong…let's see what will happen in march/april then~

• toycar car on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:33 am

i had this car as my computer wall paper for few months already…. now i need to decide to let go my 2006 camry for this one..it got good comments from JC also…

• Saw one nearby Bukit Bintang ….SETANING ! = stunning ! Wish i could afford one haha

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:53 am

best car in world

• Raul Patel on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:24 am

I've seen a couple already. One at a Shell station in Kota Kemuning and the other near Jaya One.

I spoke to the owner of the CC when I saw his car at Shell. He saw me looking at his car and walking around it. He asked me if anything was wrong and I assured him that nothing was. We started talking for a bit, he saw that I drove a C230 and he said that he had that car at the top of his list. When the CC was launched in Malaysia he changed his mind and booked that one instead. I might well get a CC for my wife, she really likes the look of the car but it might be too soon. I just blew RM300k on the C230 so to spend another Rm240k might not be the wisest thing to do. Will anaylse the finances after CNY and then we'll see.

Also the fact that it is a four seater doesn't bother me as I have no children yet and only plan on having one.

• I test drove the previous version before deciding to get the GTI MK5 for the fun factor & DSG. Now if I were to decide now between this new Passat (with DSG) then I will have a tough time deciding. While the GTI is still more fun, this is more executive. Now if only the R20 is in town!

• dejavu on Feb 08, 2010 at 4:49 pm

VW badge aside, tis baby easily blows d competitors away.

An awesome car to hv in my porch.

• MSIA = MONEY on Feb 08, 2010 at 5:29 pm

vw the world no 1.

• Nice VW, well equip…..even the rear passenger have air-con blower…nice for our hot/humid weather, …just wonder about those mpv like stream w/out rear blower

• Ooooo is a flameless door.. cool!!

• kopi-man on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:16 pm

I have driven a manual Passat during my visit to Scotland last year and with 3 adults, it has no problem to cruise through those highlands. I was thinking this will be my car when I back to Msia. They were offered RM170K of 2 years old stock…that bothers me due to the maintenance unknown.

Then, BM offered RM20xK for new 3series pre-req (which has very less equipment), and later found out Merc affer RM22xK.

Now CC offers at RM230K, I think it has less brand established in the market yet, since my colleague has a 5-6 years old Passat worth NOTHING! Not even second hand dealer wants it.

If I am paying out RM200K for a car, sure I will think of the resale value. The 5 years warranty does help, but what after that? an 5 years old BM-3 selling at around RM150K, a 5 years old Merc-C selling at RM160K, how about a 5 years old Passat CC? its still unkown.

The dealer needs to be more agresive, since its a brand power world.

Its similar you are paying more for your clothing of AX, RL, CK where you can get better quality in other brand of clothing.

• vbkcheng on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Great car right. I hope I can afford ne in 3 years time when the resale value drop to around RM 140K.

• vbkcheng on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:21 pm

DSG with 6 speed…wooorrr…

• bLo0d on Feb 08, 2010 at 6:39 pm

scirocco rims?

• how does it stack up against the audi a4?

• Hell of a breathtaking piece of art frm VW!!! Grrrrrrrr!!!

• wolfswagen on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:41 pm

fugly and overprice, better get an Accord or Camry and save excess money in the bank, second hand value also better.

• reefdee – kau sengal ke?kau x bayar tax mcm kat states sengal 30 40 percent tgk bracket income kau.busuk2 pun 10perc utk plg lower punyer bracket

BUDUS!!!

So…nak mlaysia mcm tu mudah ja.lets follow US n tax everybody kaw kaw n keta murah.

BUDUS!!!

• D' only on Feb 08, 2010 at 7:50 pm

@kopi-man,

Hi, is your colleague trying to sell the passat?

• coolguru on Feb 08, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Any comments at their service center? I heard terrible stories of their technical teams, tend to over-price but never deliver over-quality of maintenance.

Buying a car is easy, I mean those serious buyers, but the biggest problem is the support especially all these Conti cars. Sometimes I even heard BMW and Merc service ctrs give them a lot of runaround and $$$ before anything is fixed (or remain the same even after spending $$$).

So newer Conti brands wanting to establish their name here provides very attractive options to buy, accessories, specs, etc but the question remain not answered is their after-sales support.

Thinking of that gives me cold sweat of otherwise I'd have bought this 2 months back when they first available. I've been a follower of this model awhile back.

• Silverado on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:36 pm

The Mk 5 Golf GTi's resale values have been holding up well. The Touareg's is quite decent too. Perhaps the local market is beginning to recognise and accept good quality, interesting cars. Wonder if the Passat CC will enjoy a similar fate…

• ec (Member) on Feb 08, 2010 at 9:40 pm

I agreed with coolguru.

230k, 300k, 350k is just a one time price tag at the car.

The after sales mantainace $$$ is the one that should be considered in getting conti car.

Majority ppl would always have the mindset of "what is the mantainace$$$ for those who can afford over hundred thousands car!!!!"

• want good aftersale service… plz remove these stupid NAP & APs system.

• mirror mirror on Feb 08, 2010 at 10:32 pm

er…I liked this car very much until I test drove the new A4 with that 2.0 TFSI engine. Now the Passat is looking more and more like the Camry, I don't know why…

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 08, 2010 at 11:26 pm

kudos to those who own one,white colour makes me stare at it even longer,its old tech is fine for an old school like me,,,working my way through to own one.

• Joshua on Feb 09, 2010 at 12:34 am

WOW!! Amazing!!

• Choon on Feb 09, 2010 at 1:00 am

Who would want a sexy Passat? When we talk about coupe, I will only think about Benz, BMW, Audi or other premium brand – but not VW, Toyota or Honda.

With RM 240K, I would rather wait for Peugeot RCZ, and I reckon it will be much cheaper… :P

The rear seat is not practical, a normal Passat is much better. For performance + practicality, I vote for new Golf GTi!

The positioning of Passat CC is a bit … what's the word… – embarrassing!

• Federal_Highway on Feb 09, 2010 at 2:20 am

Dude..this car for one who loves the look not the drive…its like a homo guy. look handsome but **** I'm happy with my 320d after 3 years with B7 TFSI. Never lack in power.. best steering.. Just had a 'test' with GTi last week…. that boy sweat a lot.. the best part.. i still manage 14km/l…few… and free service for the next 2 years..

p/s: i'm not the beemer fan. tq

• klaka seram on Feb 09, 2010 at 3:06 am

If VGM bring in rear 3-seat, I'll consider this car..

Nice design.

• This is a stupid car. 2.0 turbo + direct injection cant even chase a lowspec 2.0 civic!

• I-HATE-PROTON-SOHAI on Feb 09, 2010 at 6:10 am

i TEST drive once.. good car..good handling.. just the outlook a bit uncle.. still A4 looks younger.. ofcos its value for money~ but A42.0 is my choice.

• PCC driver on Feb 09, 2010 at 8:55 am

Arn said: This is a stupid car. 2.0 turbo + direct injection cant even chase a lowspec 2.0 civic!

————————

Care to name a place and time? I'll be glad to give your Civic a run. Pls lar dun tok kok, Im oso a Honda fan, but i oso haf to admit me new Passat CC wud give my ol DC2 a run for its money

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 10, 2010 at 12:27 am

is this car dsg?

• Choon on Feb 10, 2010 at 6:32 am

"This is a stupid car. 2.0 turbo + direct injection cant even chase a lowspec 2.0 civic!" –

I can get a cheap turbo charged Proton Wira and out run any "lowspec" 2.0 civic, what's the point??

• Ammar on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

I'm trying my darnest to see how a VW passat can be in the same league as a BMW 3-series, and a Merc C-class. What happened to Audi? VAG's direct competitor to the two premium brands. I know the car drives well, and has a luxurious interior. But it's an overlap! a VW car is for the masses, and an Audi is for the executive. But in Malaysia, Audi, VW, and even Skoda are 'premium' brands. There's almost no parity amongst the 3 VAG brands. For what it's worth, I'm ashamed with how VW Malaysia is running its business and relationship with it's sister brands. If you've got balls, put it in the sub 200k price range. Let Audi be in the upper 200k range, and let skoda (octavia I guess in this case) be in the 150k range. Then the Public can see at least the cars in different league, even though its still out of the reach of most working class Malaysian.

• Arn-really-is-some-s on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:21 am

Arn said,

February 8, 2010 @ 9:32 pm

This is a stupid car. 2.0 turbo + direct injection cant even chase a lowspec 2.0 civic!

#########################################

There's always some moron trying to be funny here.. for sure this stupid brother is not telling the fact, in fact, the civic 2.0 can't might loose to 308 turbo I bet.. pls la..sohai

• 1/2malaysia on Feb 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

proton is de best!!

• wallstreet on Feb 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Arn said,

February 8, 2010 @ 9:32 pm

This is a stupid car. 2.0 turbo + direct injection cant even chase a lowspec 2.0 civic!

——————————————————-

There you go….this is the reason why our roads are choked with Hondas and Toyotas……

• peter on Feb 10, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Awesome car this. Looks great and by the sound of it drives great. Bravo VW!

• wanshah on Feb 11, 2010 at 2:12 am

great design, aerodynamic design. Internal looks perfect…. rear window looks cls… after my matric assessment.. it is great..but….i just wondering the engine got double timing chain or single timing chain. If single..then tendency of breakdown will be high.

• quadlights on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

I was driving my friend mazda 6 2.0 (power bout the same as civic) cant even keep up with the old passat. If the new passat cc later really comes with dsg gearbox then it will be fun! Those who said other cars is better and never tried this gearbox and TFSI combo pls go and test drive it, im sure it might change your opinion. cheers

• Choon on Feb 14, 2010 at 1:16 am

I would rather get Golf GTi for the price – I know this is just like orange & apple in comparison, but I don't see any point getting one.

If I want a coupe – Peugeot RCZ is better in style and pricing (not release yet, should be around 200K)

If I want a powerful fun car – Golf GTi, Sirocco!

If I want a practical saloon – Normal Passat / BMW / Audi 1.8T / (Not Benz :P)

Look at the Passat cc tail light – personally, I hate that design. A price of RM 240K is too much, if they offer it at RM220K as an alternative to normal Passat, that's the selling point!

• sammy on Feb 14, 2010 at 3:30 am

Nice car, pity about the price. If you want to change the mindset, you'll need to lower the price like Peugeots…which are of the same level in Europe. Sales is more important than prestige, Hyundai and Kia know better!

A used 2 year old Passat is now worth less than a used 2 year old Camry..go figure!

• Great engine

excellent kit thrown in

beemers 3 are over rated. Strong brand But not really the ultimate driving machine

this plus the normal passat plus the golf plus the scirocco… No wonder VW is moving up quickly in the top automaker ranks

• jpegeson on Mar 03, 2010 at 1:09 am

wonderful design and technology, compared to my A4 1.8 TFSI, this come with DSG, and i am regret to owned audi right now, because the sizes and interior also, and the service of euromobil is bad, just same like proton…

btw anybody know what is the different between TSI and TFSI?

• jo lim on Mar 09, 2010 at 9:21 am

VW always offers nice car… but the fact is that is their car service centre in Malaysia manage to provide services to ensure that VW cars are maintained at their high level of quality?? I recently having problem with the car service centre… really disappointed with the services that they provided…

• silverado on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:03 am

What happened, Jo?

• jo lim on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:09 am

oh silverado… this is a long long story :p at first place i just take things easily and try to be optimistic bout my car… my new car upon collection – alignment out, fluid washer tank left opened, air-con got hissing sound when turn on and wooing sound when driving (like cat grumbling – quite comedic actually hahaha). I send my car for service twice to fix the air-con and alignment prob but for air-con they say no prob at all… alignment they have fix it (after twice the visit – but actually not). When i call to check with them they said definitely have fix it.. i m being too sensitive.. so after a few months as the alignment really out, i send it to a local car service centre to check and they manage to "really" fix it for me… so for this incident i dont take it quite seriously…

2nd incident- my air con really got prob and it blow out hot air but my car only 8 months old!! it is during my way back to butterworth before the CNY in the afernoon – Damn HOTTT!! (pardon me…) . But again my fault as i was too busy to fix it and i wait until my car stuck in a flash flood at Jalan Brunei..

3rd incident – car service centre had my car on 2.3.2010 morning (after i towed it on 1.3.2010 evening) and they told me that they only lift up my car engine for checking on 8.3.2010 (only when i call to check my status in the afternoon)… It is really pissed me off this time… if at all water already went into the engine, they are retained there for one whole week in the car service centre without anything being done. Reason giving by them for such delay – they done have jet machine to lift-up the engine. They need another 3 days..

4th incident – when asked bout the air-con and wanna claim for warranty.. They happily say i definitely cannot claim due to the above incident no matter wat is the cause of the air-con's mul-functioning…

Frankly speaking Silverado, I love my cross polo and enjoy my ride with it (although it is just a 1.6cc car hahaha)… but with this kind of service they provide i keep on worrying bout the future of my car. Will they ever do normal servicing on the car or they just "say" that they have done it… we as lay man wont know…

As you see, I don expect to send my car for others to check again after servicing to ensure that they have actually done it….

GOD BLESS ME NOW… hohoho

• silverado on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:43 am

That sucks. You ought to complain right to the top. Especially now that they've extended warranty periods to 5 years.

Good luck and thanks for the frank feedback. It's making me think hard about getting the 5-seater CC…

• jpegeson on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:01 pm

look like all service center are the same, maybe the technical is not strong, or the worker are BTC, some time as consumer, we are looking for the quality of the services or management.

just like audi service center(euromobil),

my car sent for first service and also need to claim the front LED light due mal-function, so the technical consultant said this cannot, that cannot, then after i make a complain to the service manager, he agreed claim for me, we he promised will be at last jan month, but as at CNY, my A4 still satu mata, and call them, said stock not yet arrive, and ask for solution, no solution can provide, as for date of parts arrival, tak tahu la.

until after CNY, i really impatiant on it, so to that service center and make noise with the service manager, finally i get may parts changes and with a free services for next visit.

and for Jo's cases, it is ur car still under warranty, if yes, i believe u can request for get a temparary car from them, due to the technical issue or others reason.

• KLdude on Mar 19, 2010 at 12:24 am

to federal_highway:

first, please refrain from making disparaging and deragotary statements about gay poeple, its 2010, not 1910…

second, by the sounds of things, you are defintely a closet case, if not, why would you look at other men…? lol!

third, just like poeple, your comments about cars are likewise inconsistent, you mentioned that you are not a beemer fan, yet you heap praised on your newly bought 320d…???

• MR.MILLER on Mar 31, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Hi to the author of this post,

Not much on the performance review~ your review is short as usual..

but still ok.

• firefox on Apr 03, 2010 at 10:02 am

performance review, go Beemer and test drive lo, haha

now passat came with 5 seater with DSG gear box , auto cruise…etc, suppension and tuning same as GTI.
      150++ KW, 211PS, top speed 255KM/H

i test drive it before, it really can fullfill if you enjoy the power of speed and performance.

• BMWForever on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:03 pm

last time i checked DSG gearbox will only available in May and 5 seater in Sept… r u sure it’s already available?

• firefox on Apr 17, 2010 at 5:10 pm

yes, JUN/JULY come with 5 seater and DSG gear box, but only candy white colour available….u can check with the auth dealer at jalan university, look for Julian, and ask for test drive, have fun men..

• You don’t have to wait long for the 5-seater Passat CC with DSG gearbox. I just placed a booking for it a couple weeks back at FA Wagen on Jalan 222. They are bringing many cars in mostly in two major shipment, one in July and another in August. I got a light brown metallic and black Nappa leather seat. Get yours man, I would love to see more Passat CCs on the road. The new 5-seater CCs will come with a better audio system. With DVD player perhaps? But then doesn’t really make much sense to watch a DVD at the front seat. IT’d be a distraction for the driver, especially I’m a couch potato.

• firefox on May 21, 2010 at 9:47 am

Hi IE,
            i booked CC at Beemer,
            as u said, i took the light brown too, but with orange nappa seat, coz due to night light at the interior..haha

the confirm spec for all 5 seater, high-line spec, actually not much diff then 4 seater CC
            Only Extra with
            1. dyna audio (worse >RM 7000)
            2. DSG gearbox
            3. cruise control
            4. paddel shift (no sure)
            5. Night Light for Interior.

right now BMW credit still offer 2.98% HP, grap it now, else
            Mid June will be increase to 3.5%
            and the manager free V-cool elite tint + a car number price below 3k.
            the rest no discount….

• Silverado on May 04, 2010 at 11:18 pm

Hi IE8,

You made a booking whilst you are not sure of the specs? Salute!

I hear it’ll come with the Dynaudio sound system which is top of the line for VW. I doubt you’ll get DVD or satnav though.

Is there a price increase? They’ve already bumped it up once earlier this year and the 5 seater should see another hike (albeith with the higher spec). As a consolation, the 5 seater should have a better resale value vs the 4.

• Silverado, yeah I liked the car a lot, convinced my wife it’s the right purchase, and when I brought her to test drive the car, she liked it too, so I placed the booking immediately. It was also the last day to enjoy low HP rate. I heard that the bank loan rate is only going to go up, another revision sometime this month perhaps?

Good to know that it came with top of the line sound system for VW. Yeah I doubt that it would come with DVD or bluetooth.

Yes there is a price increase of RM5K. I bet the 5-seater will have a better resale value. It also comes with DSG, I was a little confused, the Passat CC 4-seater do not have DSG?

Martin, where’s the news about Proton rebadging it as Perdana, sounds like a joke though.

• firefox on May 19, 2010 at 10:55 am

what is the HP rate u got? and which bank?

• HP rate was 2.88% at RHB Bank. When I booked it on Apr 15, that was the last day they were offering the rate. you got a pretty sweet deal: free V-cool elite tint + a car number price below 3k. so it’s confirmed that the new 5-seater comes with dynaudio. cool! when are you expecting delivery of the CC? i can’t wait!

• firefox on May 24, 2010 at 11:09 am

hey bro, are u really can get 2.88% right now? i applied from BMW credit 2.98%
            delivery on End of June, Candy White Only, 5 seater and dynaudio, if you want Light Brown, have to wait till August,
            ha ha, every sales men/girl will be the same, it depend your neg power, this car commission estimated 1-2% from selling price, plus the HP loan u apply, sales men can earn eddition 0.5-1%, so must request and get the good deal la (of course, bring the cash put on the table for deposit (very important).
            some more sales men can have a good deal with the tinted shop and can get the car number on 50%, example u request a number of 3338 0r 2226, cost about 3k, he can get less then 1500.

• it’s funny that both IE8 and firefox can be talking to each other.. cool! he he
            yeah i got 2.88% HP rate but that was in Apr. I called the bank staff again just to make sure, and he said yes to that again. but there is nothing in b&w. they better not mess around, otherwise it will be a case of all hell break lose on them if they renege on that agreement, both FA Wagen and RHB Bank.
            i’m giving them the benefit of the doubt that i’ll get my car in july. but realistically, so as not to be really disappointed later, i already set my mind that i might only get the Passat CC in Aug.

thanks for the tips… must be cash, credit card won’t do the trick? ha ha, i didn’t really think i would buy the Passat CC right there and then. i just had lunch at paramount with my wife, went to Jalan 222, wife said ok to buy, so we bought it, otherwise could have tempted them with the cash on the table, ha ha.

so another month to go.. good to see another candy white passat cc on the road.

is beemer an authorized dealer (sorry for my ignorance), if not where do they get their cars from?

oh yeah btw, VW and proton deal in the works again, but rebadging the passat as a replacement model for perdana, NOOOOOOOOOOOO….
            http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/proton-vw-deal-in-the-works-again/
            shouldn’t it be something like what VW JV in indonesia on the Touran MPV? that should be proton’s niche market

• firefox on Jun 01, 2010 at 10:35 pm

beemer is sell the imported cars, veemer is authorised dealer for VW, at Jalan University, both are the same company, btw, the sales manageer told me the shipment for this batch will be at 22th June, wait for declaration, maybe take 2 weeks..my car also need to wait until earlier of july,

proton deal with VW again? ya, maybe, because GTI, Golf will be CKD soon, who know, but i heard mitshubishi galant replace perdana from long time ago, btw, if really JV with VW, is a good news also, otherwise, proton will continue to market the perdana for the next 5 years again, maybe come with RS version…..hahaha, just joking..

• Martin on May 05, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Saw in the news…..is it true that Proton will rebadge it as Perdana? Any confimation?

• firefox on Jun 17, 2010 at 12:05 am

damm, the delivery delay again, kns VW…

• PaulS on Jul 08, 2010 at 12:38 pm

went to check out the PassatCC,must say it is an impressive car as to 3 beemers and c mercs,test drove both Gti and PassatCC,must say it really depends on wat the driver wants and driving style..seriously considering the 5 seater and with theEA888 engine,would like to ask the present PassatCC owners,how is the after sales service experience?any dissapointments encontered so far in terms of driving pleasures?firefox,did u get a good deal from Beemer?

• firefox on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:51 pm

hi paul,

beemer help up to get the lowest loan rate for me 2.98 from BMW credit, and discount 2k for tinted, paid 600 for v-kool elite (dark colour)..the rest…nothing much…just give u some VW key chain, T-shirt and polo cap.

• Jafferi Md Nor on Jul 11, 2010 at 2:34 pm

sexy…slik and beuty…go start for cfo’s talker test trial surpassed the streets.

• Dear firefox and IE8,
    Driving Passat CC is like reading a never forgetting poem
    Resting in a bathtub of cool fragrant foam
    Acceleration felt like you’ve just being flown
    Genuinely ecstatic of its skin and of its bones
    Fantastic maneuvering even at corners of difficult cones
    Feels like you’re on top of the highest dome
    I know, I’ve been there in that happy zone
    Tend to forget that the price tag is really such a moan
    But I’m happy to know I’m no longer alone
    You’ve bought a Passat CC, disappointed I’m sure you won’t
    The more the merrier, let VW make more clones
    We need a serious demand of second hand or our money is really blown!

Regards,
    Tone

• PaulS on Jul 18, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Dear Tone, a truly wonderful poem from a diehard VW fan..u said it all!

• Tone, yes beautiful poem indeed. how long have you been driving the Passat CC?

i wish there are more demand for the passat cc. recently found that a friend has bought one too. the more the merrier. whenever i explained to friends that i’ve bought a passat cc, they always go “why the passat, aiyorrr”, because they thought it’s the old boxy passat that i’d bought. this is a branding issue that VW should have resolved before they launched the car. when they saw the passat cc on the road, they called me back saying “wow i’d seen your car, it looks sleek, good choice”. ha ha

I’m waiting to collect my Passat CC this Wednesday. Firefox, how long has your car been delayed already? hope you’d received your car, or are you enjoying your car so much that you never go online anyone, going for joyrides whenever you can?

• firefox on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:47 pm

hi IE8,
      almost 1 month delayed, total on waiting 5 months, on July 26th dapat my car, because i change to the colour from white to silver leaf, so i can get it faster, else have to wait till Nov.
      everything is good for this car, fuel comsumption also not bad,

• Vincent on Aug 08, 2010 at 6:42 pm

I just picked up my Passat CC last Thursday. Bear in mind, I’m a guy who has been driving a proton saga 2003 hatchback (which I still keep and love, I got one of the better batch), and have also been driving a Lancer regularly. Been in an A4, 3 series and C class before (which supposedly the comparison with Passat CC), and I must say I am very happy with my Passat CC! Each of the models above has their characteristic and I narrow down to the A4 and VW, finally giving in to the Passat.

It’s really a car made more for comfort rather than sport and racing. You can hardly feel the road with its ACC modes and feels like its floating. I am so tempted to get into the S gear in my DSG box but technician advice is to wait till 1000km first, let the car change its gear naturally. I’m somewhat a safe driver, but really the car is screaming at me to go faster. I got a 2.0 TDI for some extra power just to get out of sticky situations, and has a nice hum on the highway when the turbo kicks in. Corners are great and well balanced and work wonders on a roundabout with sports mode.
    Fuel consumption is fair and good. So far based on my driving pattern (rather safe and reasonable) my average based on the car record average at 8.2l/100km. I spend equal amount of the time on the freeway and in the city.

Interiors. With all the bells and whistles in the car, VW has managed to reduce the clutter in the cockpit while maintaining the luxury. It’s all very familiar with the normal Passat, but with the extra sporty spirit. I got the fabric seat option (2 tone) and it feels just as good as the leather seat which I’ve test droved, and looks just as great. All the controls are within easy reach. One thing about German cars and in particular of this, it feels big yet you can get the sense of its scale almost immediately and can maneuver through difficult corners I thought having problems to getting through. Nevertheless, the rear camera is an indispensible component with the narrow rear window (knowing there could be kids especially around my neighborhood) worth the extra buck. Oh, and I got the 4+1 seat options, though rather low at the rear but can still fit in a 6 footer comfortably.

Exterior. I know it’s all about taste. It was love at first sight. There’s a strong resemblance with the standard Passat, and the lower roof and broader width makes it look and feels faster. Lots of chrome parts may put some people off. I choose black to bring out the details of the shape better. I just feel the car looks ‘clean’ in terms of details and tooling up, not too much but enough to makes you to take a second look. I was driving it next to a CLS (the inspiration to the Passat CC) this morning and can’t help but feel VW car designer did a better job on the exterior (at half the price too). Again that’s my opinion.

It’s refreshing to drive a car of this class that has yet to be contested thoroughly. Yes, there are many models/makers out there which can offer the same/better spec on paper and cheaper, but really, it’s the extra little details and thoughts that has been put in place that gives this car a special feel when you step into in. You can’t really put logic into feeling I guess, but it’s very real alright.

Personally I’m pleased to see more effort from VW and Audi to push themselves to compete with the other 2 giant German car makers. The Passat is of those efforts that will elevate them to the next level, and that is just the start. I hope to see more good things to come from these 2 carmakers.

• any one please to advice ……. MK6 or Passat cc this two , what will you purchase ? im confuse !!! so hard to choose for a married guy on age 27. which car more suitable ?

• Vincent on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Married? I say go for passat. Looks great when you go for dinner and passing your key to the valet!

• Vincent on Sep 01, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Then again if you’re considering something small or if this is your 2nd car, consider Scirocco as alternative to MK6… was riding with my friends car, and it is really nice!

• firefox on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:55 pm

ai…just go for passat cc,
    btw anyone know where to get the passat cc body kit..?

• PaulS on Sep 11, 2010 at 4:58 pm

Test drove d Passat CC and,Audi A4 1.8T,must say d Audi A4 while exteriorly looks good,d handling of the car IMHO was rather bumpy for passengers in the back and d power of the car was rather a tad asthmatic and a sense of longing to surge bein held back by an invisible leash.Passat CC on its own can hold up pretty well,features wise for the price range is value for money,power wise is very much adequate for a 2 litre T,only problem is the badge which stil not widely accepted as Merc or a Beemer but bein a cbu and sharing similar engine with d legendary Golf Gti and with proper after sales care by the principal VW AG I believe the brand will slowlly gain popularity espcially if d other. German brands have its own share of nightmares in quality and aftersales service,ask any Audi owners the quality of its service.A car may be very good but the pleasure of owmership covers d aftersales service also,resale value,well if all goes well VW will be quite ok after a few years from now HOPEFULLY!jus book myself a Passat today can’t wait to drive it!maybe can form a small club among the forummers of Passat CC owners to share info and experience and of course FRIENDSHIP!

• It feels good whenever I read about others who have booked their Passat CC or just gotten their cars, welcome to the club! It equally feels the same when I see other Passat CCs on the road, which I’m seeing more cars especially after the July shipment. So now it seems that there’s another shipment in Oct/Nov? Cool.
    When comparing with other German cars, many in this part of the world would no doubt just be thinking of Beemer or Merc and that’s just that. To me, what’s more important is to really enjoy the ride, and what you’re buying it for. Forget about resale value, the value of your continental car would depreciate like nobody’s business anyway. like the saying goes, the moment you drive it out of your car dealer, you lose 10%-20% of the car value. so what’s the point of worrying about it? i reckon other “german car” owners (not a german guys) buy a car wanting to resell it, but for VW car owners, you buy it just because you enjoy driving the car, and you just love every aspect of it.

i can’t seem to read enough about Passat CC news, so far I go to the VW CC fan page on facebook to check out photos of other people’s Passat CCs and the mods they’ve done, posted a photo of my Passat CC there too, heh heh, joined some local chatter at autoworld.com.my, and check out what our couz down south are doing to their cars. i would have to admit that they are pretty advanced. they place bulk orders through a guy who orders the parts from germany (i’m sure he makes a profit, but perhaps lower than what the sparepart workshop would charge). check out the threads on vagsg.com. Then send it to a shop to get it installed and VAG-com recoded.
    Firefox, you should check out vagsg. no harm driving down to s’pore, come back with a body kit, heh heh.

But the question that begs is whether any mod or parts installed would render the warranty void?

personally i just want to get the iPod MDI cable (shouldn’t be too expensive), and a Fiscon Bluetooth and handfree kit. check out the Kufatec OEM website, http://www.kufatec.de/shop/index.php/cat/c328_Passat—CC.html/page/1
    enjoy….

• Leon Loke on Feb 04, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Ordering parts from VASG direct is cheaper than of Malaysia. Fitting bodykit will not void your warranty.

• this is my opinion….
    best design for sedan-civic
    best design for executive car-PASSAT CC
    best design for mpv-honda odyssey
    best design for suv-bmw x6..

• Anti Proton on Oct 18, 2010 at 12:08 am

so worried about car problem. take bus la ish

• I’ve seen few on the road…i like it….

• Arabian Knight on May 15, 2011 at 10:56 pm

I was told about import tax problem for the Passat CC. I booked the car a few months a go and was recently told that the car is in Port Klang but will be stranded there for sometime until the tax issue is resolved with Customs. Can’t wait to get my car but customs kacau… so, wait lah. Maybe Paul can help me.. Hehehhe.

• namronc on May 24, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Yup, same experience here. Still waiting for my passat cc.

• namronc on May 24, 2011 at 10:29 pm

yup, can’t they kacau next year. Hope to get it in early June.

• Hishon on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Rm 239,888.00 in 2010..
    2012 OTR for Cc comfortline Rm262,951.90..while cc sport 278,341.90
    Read all the comments above..should i get passat cc?..need advice.tq