More issues crop up with North American Toyotas

More issues crop up with North American ToyotasToyota’s recall drama continues with potential problems with both the popular North American Camry and Corolla models. Toyota reported this week that early 2010 model year Camrys with 4-cylinder engines (2.4L model in North America) could have a power steering pressure hose of an inappropriate length. If this condition exists, a crimp on the power steering pressure hose may come in contact with the No. 7 front brake tube.

This could eventually wear a hole in the brake tube. You can probably guess what happens next – all the brake fluid leaks out and this will lead to the brakes being unassisted. You will probably still be able to brake if you slam it hard enough but since it is unassisted, stopping distances will increase significantly. Toyota reports a total of 7,300 units of 4-cylinder Toyota Camrys are affected. The recall inspection and fix will involve a Toyota dealer inspecting and if necessary adjusting the space between the brake tube and the power steering pressure hose crimp.  Based upon the inspection results, the dealership may need to replace the brake tube, at no cost to the customer.

The next issue is with the Toyota Corolla and it sounds like quite a bad experience for drivers with affected Corollas. The NHTSA has receiver over 80 complaints about the 2009-2010 model year Toyota Corolla, citing steering issues. Affected cars are apparently hard to keep inside a lane without wandering around unexpectedly. Some users have described the effect to be similiar to aquaplaning, where your steering just veers left or right by itself. Others have compared it to driving on black ice. The driver has to really use their arms to keep the vehicle straight, and this can get tiring.

The NHTSA will be investigating these complaints and if necessary we might just end up seeing yet another Toyota recall announcement. Toyota spokesperson Ed Lewis says “we have not received any official communication regarding an evaluation of Corolla. We will cooperate, of course, with any inquiry the agency has.”

I don’t really expect Malaysian Toyotas to exhibit any of these issues as we have different suppliers and our cars are right hand drive (American cars are left hand drive), which means the steering rack, hoses, and etc would probably be installed quite differently in the engine bay.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Russell on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:39 am

In my experience driving latest bunch of Toyotas, the steering lack feel or just feels numb and not communicative enough. It is bad especially when you're on the move not knowing where the wheels are. Of course UMW Toyota Motor Malaysia will deny this problem. I think it is a worldwide Camry recall as they are all sharing similar if not exact parts. It is dangerous to know that there are unfit cars that is riding on the road that could take many innocent lives.

• TOYotak on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:45 am

Toyota sux…

• wow toyota really screwed up big time…

• seancorr on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:46 am

Toyota is doomed if this continues…

• toybota on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:58 am

oh… i know what their so-called loyalist will say:

this is toyota mah… doing a public service…

prffffth my foot

• Oblio A on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:05 pm

The steering problem is possibly due to a failure of the drive-by-wire system circuitry, which may be the same in Malaysian Corollas. I have experienced the bizarre, flimsy-like steering behavior in both a 2010 Camry and a 200 Corolla. I hope they can fix it.

GM has also had problems with their drive-by-wire steering systems going haywire on Saturn ION's, Chevy Malibu's, etc. GM has a current recall on the Chevy Cobalt's steering system. I don't know what the 'sister car' Saturn ION is not included.

• Oblio A on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Corrected:

The steering problem is possibly due to a failure of the drive-by-wire system circuitry, which may be the same in Malaysian Corollas. I have experienced the bizarre, flimsy-like steering behavior in both a 2010 Camry and a 2010 Corolla. I hope they can fix it.

GM has also had problems with their drive-by-wire steering systems going haywire on Saturn ION's, Chevy Malibu's, etc. GM has a current recall on the Chevy Cobalt's steering system. I don't know why the 'sister car' Saturn ION is not included.

• dukenborg on Feb 11, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Poor Toyota! I wonder if they will now recall their "The Toyota Way" corporate manuals too :)

• more recall…what next??

• seancorr on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Eh…was my comment deleted? Anyway Toyota is doomed unless they can get their act together. N they better have a overhaul in their company. We in Malaysia are getting watered down specs…

• japanesecarsucks on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:11 pm

so much for the high quality vehicle…

• swoosh3553 (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Yippee…. I wish my wife is able to read and understand all these…. All the while she is so into "forcing" me to get a toyota or honda, and not wanting to have a second look at other makes…. Luckily I could not afford these over-priced models and not becoming victim to their ever continuous recalls lately… hahaha….

• Kevin Lee on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:22 pm

those cars are even scarier to sit on. i guess this is the toyota scandal heh

• HA HA HA HA DOOMS day for toyota, think tyt & hnd shoul adopt P1 & P2 APPROACH. When you report of a problem, the service center / call center will answer, "ITU BIASALAH BANG, POTONG MEMANG BUNYI DIA MACAM ITU, LAMA LAMA HILANG LA BANG".Best approach, P1 & P2 Never had a recall, Best quality cars.

oh yeah almost forgot …..1ST…

• kt (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Toyota is finished. It will be filing for bankruptcy soon. So much for the Japanese model of progress and look east policy. As ancient and irrelevant as a certain Dr. who led his nation into chaos.

• Nakal on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Floor mat, sticky pedal, brake issues and now power steering+brake. So what is next?

More & more to come. Manufactured to be recalled.

• another toyota problem… this is badddddddd for proton bashers…

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 4:54 pm

It seem that the quality and quatity always cannot get balance in the production.

Last the the Audi qaulity issue cause Audi take up around 10year to re-build its reputation, duunno how long will Toyota take..

• bryan.jones on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

i believe what Toyota did here is truly amazing. They're ethically correct in this recall issue. At least they're doing something good instead of closing their eyes on the matter.

• i'm a car technician and i always believe there's always problems on the vehicle . is just that the manufacture wanna tell or not . and i believe there's someone behind that keep cucuk toyota and honda . wanna make them die . probably US company i believe .

• mirror mirror on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:29 pm

In light of all these recall problems faced by other manufacturers, I guess the playing field in the auto industry is finally more even now. The government can take this opportunity to remove tariff protection for Proton.

This protection to Proton has given the government, the country, the rakyat and the consumers too much headache for the past 20 odd years.

• madimat on Feb 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm

It took Toyota USA a few innocent life to be lost before they come out with a major media campaign for a recall, on the brake pedal thing if not mistaken. Now its already near a dozen of technical recalls , which turn out to effect the safety of the whole car, and the people it they carry inside.

Anybody still remember the incident of, err.. a 'stuntman' who turned turtle in his Camry at a traffic light junction in Ipoh city last year..? heh heh… Now HE has to think his decision of buying a Camry. Oh by the way I think HE should have stayed with the Perdana instead. ;-)

• Premium on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:04 pm

I guess they knew about these issues long time ago, but they keep quite. Now, because lots of problems, better they solved their cars problems now rather than later. If every single month you have recalled, then customers would not trust you anymore. But, if you do everything now when the problems already exist, next few month customers would forget about these recalled issues. emm..that's why I think Honda also take this opportunity to have recall process too..

• Mysticmind on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm

tariff protection is nothing to do wit recall la mirror mirror.

wtf! it's all around the world recall!. not malaysia.

Toyota should close their shop and factory.

• jugaus on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Anybody still remember the incident of, err.. a ’stuntman’ who turned turtle in his Camry at a traffic light junction in Ipoh city last year..? heh heh… Now HE has to think his decision of buying a Camry. Oh by the way I think HE should have stayed with the Perdana instead.

If he used perdana..he already kaput by now

• wochomi on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Malaysia is immune to all RECALLS, H1N1, and all other disasters. Malaysians are strong.

TOYOTA WAY = No Way.. thought they have the overblown LEAN thing….

wait… is the Americans that are screwing up the quality or is it the Japanese? We all know what bastards the mat sallehs are….

Camry terbalik also tak mati… maybe because using left-hand drive and try to avoid buffalo.

• turtlebusiness on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:49 pm

Maybe that's the reason why Toyota pulled out from F1..

Cos they have foreseen all these coming and it's just a matter of time…

By at least they are trying to rectify the problems rather than ignoring it..

Btw where got car which is perfect anyway??.

Either the manufacturer rectify the problems quietly or do a recall like above..

cheers

• Quattro (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 6:56 pm

kalau proton ada buat recall- sure byk lagi pitis rakyat kene habiskan……………

• read this one:
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100209/bs_nm/us_toyo…

• Squawk on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:15 pm

They may be recalling their cars now but it did take them a while to react. And before that they were playing our politicians' game – denial. They only apologized much later, when force almost became shove. It's a public relations fiasco and doesn't do their brand image any good (except that image may be unaffected here).

With the mass exodus of cars this CNY, I wonder how many Toyota/Lexus owners will dare speed. :-)

And I'd like to hear what the govt has to say about the safety of old cars compared to 'modern' ones.

• carsut on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

what next?? wanderrr…

• rally_fan on Feb 11, 2010 at 7:28 pm

“Head Hunter said,
    February 11, 2010 @ 4:51 pm

Honestly, I feel this is just an issue blown out of proportion. Apart from having brake and accelerator pedal failures, I feel that this whole power steering issue ”

headhunter, if you actually read and understood what paul posted up, you will know that this is not a small issue blown out of proportion.

“power steering pressure hose of an inappropriate length. If this condition exists, a crimp on the power steering pressure hose may come in contact with the No. 7 front brake tube.

This could eventually wear a hole in the brake tube. You can probably guess what happens next – all the brake fluid leaks out and this will lead to the brakes being unassisted”

having all your brake fluid leaking out is generally not good for your health.

• Never liked toyota, but the complain on steering problem is a farce. People complained that they can't drive their toyota with one hand on the steering at highway speed. And when they take their attention off for a few seconds, the steering will veer off. Hello! You are supposed to drive with BOTH hands on the wheel firmly and pay FULL ATTENTION when you drive. Sounds like these stupid people need a proper driving lesson.

• More issues not good…..well atleast they are coming clean…

Others still choose to keep quite except Honda… ha ha ha

We shall see…

• rally_fan on Feb 11, 2010 at 8:56 pm

"bryan.jones said,

February 11, 2010 @ 9:02 am

i believe what Toyota did here is truly amazing. They’re ethically correct in this recall issue. At least they’re doing something good instead of closing their eyes on the matter."

there is nothing amazing about this. they have no choice at all. these recalls affect the safe operation of their vehicles.. they are duty bound by the laws of the land to do a recall. if not, they will be in big big trouble, and will have an even harder time explaining why brand new camry's are flying off the road, or crashing into other cars because of brake failure.

• shokubeni on Feb 11, 2010 at 9:22 pm

too many problems stack up that maybe relates to each other

1. CTS bad plastic pedal design / wear out / that could lead to sticky problem

2. ECU/electronic/programming bug

3. now, power steering that could lead to braking problem…

hmm

• I prefer to have power window broken or soggy gear box problem rather than all the problem below..

TOYOTA moving forward (but cannot stop & go straight)

TV ad: you go straight don't belok-belok (if u are driving a Toyota make sure you are using both hand)

• Nakal on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:02 pm

apon said,

February 11, 2010 @ 11:13 am

read this one:
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100209/bs_nm/us_toyo…
    ———————-

Thanks.

Everyone is not perfect. There might be something wrong with the Toyota Production System. And we just know about it. Just now.

• kopi-man on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Proton is the best! since they never do any recall since no need! You crash and die on the road is your driving problem, never the car problem even though it never meet any Euro standard of safety. Proton should take over the USA market!! hurray!

• Louis X on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Always Old School Design

• Mysticmind on Feb 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm

ethically correct?

what a joke.

they were forced by the US & UK gov to total recall or they will blcok to sale the cars something.

Toyota trying hard to cover their ass unethically and not honest at all.

Please read more and update your knowledge..

you're just too funny. Wish you're not T salesman.

• madimat on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:23 pm

No wonder now many and more people prefer Korean products over Japanese ones. Samsung over Sony, .. and Kia/Hyundai over Toyota / Honda. :)

• top_gunkits (Member) on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:26 pm

haiz in malaysia this kind of problem from toyota is just nothing,small matter,if u guy imagine in proton happen this kind of issue,i cant imagine how is it,all toyota fans pls convert u religion to toyota set toyota as u official religion

• carsut on Feb 11, 2010 at 11:43 pm

"Up to 19 U.S. crash deaths over the past decade may be linked to accelerator-related issues at Toyota" source from Yahoo. http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100211/us_nm/us_toyo…. Scaryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!

• GinTan on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:08 am

Eventhough there are many recalls made by Toyota, in positive way I think they took responsibility of their mistake. They respect their customer by not hiding problem. I guess it must be conspiration by US auto company because GM already collapse.

• alldisc on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:13 am

will buying a Honda EX-5 provide that peace of mind compare to the 170K Camry??

• shokubeni on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:25 am

kopi-man, you noob or what, proton last time recalled some savvy …

do more research before bashing…

• langatian on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:28 am

kopi-man…

proton had a recall for their car..

haha..

no remember ka???

proton savvy ma…

at rear bumper

• Duri N on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:40 am

Agreed with GinTan. Toyota not even cuci tangan after their car sold to the customer. Not like P n P. You can only abis air liur complaint to their Service Advisor.

• Head Hunter on Feb 12, 2010 at 12:51 am

Honestly, I feel this is just an issue blown out of proportion. Apart from having brake and accelerator pedal failures, I feel that this whole power steering issue is just another normal problem associated with mass produced vehicles. My Myvi of only 3 months have had issues with its front right suspension sounding very loose and the compressor making funny sounds. It's one of those things that all of us have to go through and we should always remember that nothing lasts forever. The best we can do is care for the car and maintain it regularly. Cars from the 80s and 90s have lots of problems too but then again, we keep on improving the technology and make cars better. This is just another case of mass hysteria, especially with Americans who are simply paranoid with almost anything. If you remember a Sarawakian in Johor with her Neo having sudden deceleration complained of her car to iCare and didn't get it fixed after several months of frequent visits to the mechanic. The problem was severe, and she could get into an accident but it was not even notified to the public. To say that Toyota has done badly in handling this, I guess they are doing quite well and speedy in their fix. Better to do a recall than not doing anything for customers safety. Other makes, take note, your customers are your goldmine, don't only sell, serve us well. Thank you.

• kassorga on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:00 am

it's well known fact that japanese/korean car makers have not been regarding safety as their top priority. They believe only design will sell.

It is also a well known fact that european cars regard safety as paramount. Their designs have not always been pleasing to the eyes.

So fortunate, P1 has shifted from east to west and inherit the european legacy.

• Malaysia Spec on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:18 am

Not meet NHTSA spec but still way too far meeting Malaysian spec.

• Jaybond on Feb 12, 2010 at 1:21 am

Toyota = low cost & big space & ugly design..

• middels8088 on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:04 am

the best idea is to call all the Toyota cars to be taken for an inspection……

• shokubeni on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:15 am

Duri N, it took them 1-2 years to ingore reports and complaints regarding unintended acceleration…after 16 deaths…and several injuries..

now after being forced by US gov, they started fo all these recalls..

please read more

• toycar car on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:42 am

i drive toyota for 4 years. if there is a recall, i just sent for repair. if i drive potong car and there is a recall (if there is), i will send for repair and then sell it off….

• WhatCar? on Feb 12, 2010 at 2:53 am

Please pull out the car accident reports and check what cars are at the top, take away the few odd cases that commit suicide in the cars, i think more other cars worth to be investigated for recalls… trust me, let the statistical data tell you the truth. Remember the "Cash for Crunker" campaign?

• rally_fan on Feb 12, 2010 at 3:37 am

the other issue that people forget is, toyota delayed doing the recall even after they found out the problem.. unfortunately, the news was out and about on the internet and that sealed their fate.. even so, after the accelerator pedal issue, they delayed yet again on the issue with the prius although they knew the problem.. they are now possibly facing a multi-million US dollar fine from the NHTSA.

• Toyol on Feb 12, 2010 at 4:21 am

Bring all the rejected car to bolehland, sure can be sold like hot cakes.

• y2ggy on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:04 am

Dear Gin Tan,

GM never collapse, looked at proton, even it is a small car manufacturer but it never collapse, cause The G protect them. Same goes to GM. Think wisely bro…

• ganz (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 8:31 am

ethically recall.. ? Really a DIE HARD FAN oF T.. Kekeek

• ggg In Japan there i on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:00 am

In Japan there is a proverb, "If it stinks, put a lid on it."

"One glowing exception to this parsimonious record is the saga involving pharmaceutical companies that kept selling tainted blood products to hemophiliacs that left many of them infected with HIV in the 1980s. The government was aware of the issue and failed to stop this avoidable public health crisis. After years of denial, the current finance minister, Naoto Kan, who was health minister in 1994, revealed documents showing that the government allowed the companies to continue selling the bad blood so that they would not lose market share to foreign companies selling safe blood products."
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704…

• TeeMoon on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:09 pm

I drive H before & I also drive T. Both is better than my bro's P.

• I am a Toyota owner, but I think Toyota really sucks this time. For defects on the pedal really can cause serious issue happen. UMW Toyota and Toyota should make a thorough check on their car sold in the market. Toyota was a trusted brand, but now is not. I think Hyundai and Proton are better than Toyota and Honda since both of the Japanese brand have some serious recall issue. The recall is a system failure … is never a product failure. Since it is a system problem, the whole line of product should do a total recheck. Toyota and Honda have lost their trustworthiness.

One recall , you say is supplier problem I can forgive. But if more than one recall, than it is your system problem. Japanese should know these immediately, since the problem not only start this year, they hide the problems and don't tell to other because that time they are riding high in the market. Now they owe every Toyota and Honda user apology even some of their car are not affected, but the brand is affected so is the resale value.

• tokmoh on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:58 am

Somewhere in Seoul, the Hyundai and Kia directors are sipping ginseng tea peacefully. They put down their tea cup gently, then smiles the smiles like they're pleased with themselves.

JUST.

AS.

PLANNED.