Kia Ray concept revealed at the Chicago Auto Show

Kia was present at this year’s Chicago Auto Show and took the opportunity to reveal the Ray concept vehicle. The Ray is based on the Forte platform and measures 4,400 mm long, 1,850 mm wide, 1,360 mm high and has a wheelbase that is figured at 2,700 mm in length.

The concept which is able to seat seat four utilizes a plug-in hybrid powertrain that is made up by a 1.4-litre Gamma GDI engine that outputs 153hp as well as a 78 kW electric motor. It uses a continuously variable transmission. The Ray is able to deliver 1,200 kilometers in terms of overall range and can travel for 80.5 kilometers on pure electric power.

Overall fuel consumption is figured at 1.2 litres per 100 kilometers which sounds very good. Key features on the Ray concept includes a “cool car” technology along with nano-laminate films and cool-glazing materials that reduce solar heat which can help keep the interior cool. This will then reduce air conditioning loads and subsequently greenhouse emissions.

It also has a drive-by-wire steering system, touch screen controls, Kia’s UVO voice and touch-activated controls and more. More images can be found after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=830]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Paul, check this out.

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars…

Proton Hybrid Concept by Italdesign Giugiaro. Quite nice.

• nazri on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:34 pm

wow drive-by-wire just like in saga blm?? issit new feature?

• Black Dog on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:38 pm

The front looks ok, but the arse…terrible!

• rookie on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm

ikan pari……..

• rookie on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm

frossonice :

the side profile definitely looks like current savvy……

right?

• nudin on Feb 12, 2010 at 6:55 pm

paul/danny how about lotus f1 launch

nice concept form proton..hope it can be real

• mynuszero on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:06 pm

love them rims!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

copy maserati 3200 gt XD

• staff on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm

the rear design is not my taste… looks weird

• Annihilated on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:19 pm

The front is OK but the rear must go..

• orido on Feb 13, 2010 at 2:03 am

UGLY AS HELL.

• Ridori on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:09 am

As pretty As Heaven

• glacius_25150 on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:24 am

who cares about look when they claimed 1.2 liters for 100 km? look how successful prius in US. as long as it is not as troublesome as prius and its price in malaysia, i think this car will make way for market in malaysia

• a_ongsy on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:36 am

maserati back….

• chyan on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:13 am

I freaking love everything!

The way the body flows till the back and never finishes. :D

• AnakSarawak on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Wau la wey!!!!!!

• The Who.. on Feb 14, 2010 at 4:09 am

very cool interior!! But the exterior is too weird.. Hope the production model look normal..

• Arn-really-is-some-s on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:48 am

Why can't we see something like this from our proton?

Proton simply not seriously doing the business like korean, and many malaysian still feel sympathy to believe in PROTON, not becos we we like proton of what it did for the past years or achievements (any good one?) but becos it is our home grown brand ! am i rite?

just imagine if Proton is from Thai, and for the past 20 years they feed us with all the cars models with cheap quality and too without proper replacement model in schedule, and many many others craps, wat would you all say about it??

now i wanna buy a new 2.0 local make car, should I get the Perdana which appear on the road almost 10 years d??

I hope proton don;t use up our quota, we all know with the money we pay on ur craps, we actually can get a better pieceof metal from japs, now even korean..

don't take us for granted.. a govt company doesn't mean you have the absolute ACE card in your hand, business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market..

• krzystoff on Feb 16, 2010 at 4:43 am

why doesn't Proton produce these style of cars??

AFAIK, it takes 3-4yrs to take a prototype to production to showroom.

90%+ of buyers are conservative with tastes, more so with a large purchase they will keep for years.

the majority of car manufacturers want to ensure success from the millions they spend on making a completely new model, so they take the most conservative approach to the design.

which unfortunately, almost always means the cutting-edge DeLorean type vehicles you see as motor shows never make it beyond a concept stage.

as for this–I think it looks really HOT!! but the ass-end looks like an old Honda Civic–sadly, that will probably be the only part they end up keeping.

• c14man on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:43 am

no schreyer grill?

• Peter on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:07 am

Is this car going to fight with Toyota FT-86 concept???/NO-NO…..i still liked the FT-86 concept!

• the rear just like lego..u can attach another segment to the rear this car..hehehhehe anyway..nice car, but don't how many peple will buy? u know..korean car is only korean car.. people in malaysia stiil buy toyota with pedal problem or honda with air bag problem.

• i wonder where ah beng guy will put their GT wing spoiler..heheheheh no space ma..

• very radical design