More details on Proton’s Geneva 2010 Concept Car

More details on Proton’s Geneva 2010 Concept CarProton has unveiled some additional information on the new concept series hybrid car they will be unveiling at the Geneva show.

Some of the text leads me to believe that this Proton concept and the Italdesign Giugiaro concept teaser on their website are one and the same.

UPDATE: Italdesign Giugiaro’s press release has confirmed that their concept car and Proton’s Giugiaro-designed car are one and the same. I’m updating this list with new info on the road via my smartphone. Check the list below for the new info. Italdesign says we can follow the development of the whole project step by step from the 12th February 2010 (probably some European timezone) on Italdesign’s website.

For now, there is no official name for the car announced yet – it is simply referred to by Proton as “Proton Concept Car” for now. Proton advisor and ex-PM Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad will be in Geneva to launch the concept car.

More details on Proton’s Geneva 2010 Concept Car

Here are the released details:

• The car is a creative collaboration with Italdesign Giugiaro.
  • The concept car will have 5 doors and will seat 4.
  • It is 3,550 mm in length, which is approximately a good half a meter longer than the Toyota iQ but shorter than the Proton Savvy.
  • The four seats will be independently adjustable and slideable.
  • The car will use a series hybrid drive. A combustion engine will be mounted at the front and will be used only to recharge lithium ion batteries.
  • The lithium ion batteries will drive the motor that moves the car.
  • It uses a special chassis with a raise floor that allows installation of the regular combustion engine at the front and batteries in the rear
  • According to Italdesign chairman Giorgetto Giugiaro, the car was designed to offer interior spaciousness of a D-segment car with the exterior dimensions of an A-segment car.
  • The hip point is designed to be at just the right natural and ergonomic height – you do not get down into the car like a short sedan or “climb” up into the car like an SUV.

I still don’t have official photos of the car provided to me by an official source yet – only some foreign publications have it, such as Autocar UK. Do you like the concept car’s styling? Cast your vote in the poll below.

[polldaddy poll=2689008]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• john joe on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:36 pm

mahathor?

better edit otherwise ISA

• foock on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm

(Proton advisor and ex-PM Tun Dr Mahathor Mohamad)??

• Alanore Chong on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Again P1 is going for small car, soon P1 & P2 will be fighting for exactly the same customers, leaving the C-segment to Jap & Korean…

• 1st!!

• YES i like it soOOoooooOo much!!!

gonna stick in front my desktop all day to catch any latest news

• This is cool; go go go Proton!!

• sparrow on Feb 12, 2010 at 9:54 pm

YES, from the picture shows in autocar..

this concept looks pretty decent!

hopefully when it comes to production, proton can really make a real car that match the current safety, styling and the most important.. quality build.

cheers for proton!

• Sritharan on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm

I think a concept is good. But first they need to get the concept of consumer car right. But it's still a good effort. Go Proton. Btw, doesn't this look quite similiar to SmartForTwo.

• canteek

• edperdana on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Hybrid? Paul -Is the JV between Detroit Electric & Proton canceled prompting this new direction? Will it use the new 2-stroke Lotus-developed engine ?

At least the design is easier on the eyes than the current range.

• T4VR-Ralph on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Mahathor? yayy

• nabill on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

wat other manufacturer will reveal a car on an international stage with a ex pm???? very stupid…..anyway anyting good,new,funky will be good news…hopefully will be recognized by the world….

btw paul dont forget to write about the Lotus F1 launch today,with photos as well !

• iskett on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a Perodua fan at all,

but the concept car has curves similar to myvi from side..

Interesting..

• staff on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

paul, its mahathir, not Mahathor

• droll on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

"It is 3,550 meters in length"

shouldn't that be millimeters??

• Wah 3,550 meters in length means it should have plenty of legroom at the back….

• Mohd Nazri on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Great Job… truly happy

• kopi-man on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Looks cool! but the back a bit like MyVi feel looking at the picture.

• I wouldn't vote it, coz the question is to vague. If I vote it based on the concept written, in the future, Proton might use it as a tool to tell the world, how many % of Malaysian 'like' the car, in fact, we vote this merely because of the written details only. See the question:' Do you like the new Geneva 2010 Proton Concept Car?' It can be used to tell the world, we like it very much.

• ROBERT on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm

just for make money not make car

• Eyesore on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Alanore Chong… you need to update ur info…

whilst this is on the concept car… P1 are working on an all new sedan to replace persona.. and will be improving its MPV with turbo engine…..

they r not only focusing on small car…believe me.. that'll be the last thing they wanna do…

• Eyesore on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:58 pm

and Paul…. its MAHATHIR not Mahathor… change it!!

• It is 3,550 meters in length, which is approximately a good half a meter longer than the Toyota iQ but shorter than the Proton Savvy.

?????????/,3550 meters = 3.5km in length.

• B33MER on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:01 pm

It is 3,550 meters in length, which is approximately a good half a meter longer than the Toyota iQ but shorter than the Proton Savvy.

Hehehehe … typo error .. should be 3,550 mm :D

Can't wait for it to be shown to the public ….

• xavier lert on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Mahathor

• moha3774 on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Looks nice, and I like it and can live with only 4 seats, but, knowing some Malaysians, they would grill Proton for only providing 4 seats…

• mrzali on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Hi Paul,

Here is the Press Release from itadesign + Proton – http://www.italdesign.it/img/italdesigngiugiaro_p…

• mrzali on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Seem they also have publish the same image as Autocar UK. Picture below.

http://www.italdesign.it/welcome.php

• cun lorh…please la proton move forward..show to our malaysian u can make a good car..

• Ahmad on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:27 pm

The design is one thing, practicality is another factor. I believe all aspect of consideration have been fully taken account.

Go proton!!

• rexis on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:29 pm

OMG Proton is the only local that makes proper sedan here, please dont make MyVi clones!!!

• Sakit Sakit Sedap on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:49 pm

nice Design..

my suggestion for the name & tagline…

Name: Proton Eva (Special name because it was launch in Geneva)

Tag line : Beyond The Future

Sales Target : Executive/ Woman

• MyBoy on Feb 12, 2010 at 11:53 pm

I like the design. Way better than the Viva that is based on LAST generation Mira.

• initial R on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:02 am

Pergh…. Savvy replacment……. good news… can trade my wife savvy to new compact if it go for production line…

• Mysticmind on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:04 am

Perodua still designing bumperssssssss.. Prthhhhhhhh

• if thid comes to production…then it is th end for myvi and viva…i guess

• lowprofile on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:10 am

this is a proton that i would be proud to be seen in!!

• Prismo on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:10 am

Haha… i must trade in my kancil if this concept goes to production line… it's a must!! go to hell bashers!! get a life…!! :D

• mitlanevo on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:11 am

not bad, while for some (especially those anti-p1 guys) this is just 'another' concept car from computer rendering, but its good to see p1 is going forward step by step……

hopefully we will see this car and the upcoming sedan soon~

GONG XI FA CAI to everyone here :-)

• Batque on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:13 am

Mahathor? Hmmm. got a mental image of an old spectacled old man weilding Mjolnir. Anyway very nice design, hope it will change proton's brand preconception.

• mohgui (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:18 am

the concept design looked nice. just hope that the final production version does not deviate too much.

• malcolm lim on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:18 am

Looks very futuristic but whether it is practical and can it sell? Nobody knows till its out.

• medertos on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

i will stick infront of my desktop 4 that car,

GO PROTON!!

• androndraco on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:52 am

I just can't wait until 2nd March because I really wanted to see the Proton's new design direction. Hope its worth waiting for.

• The perfect car for Europe (somebody mentioned the Smart fortwo). This would be the car for Proton to build brand image over there…

• adrianclw on Feb 13, 2010 at 12:55 am

Hybrid car…. great.

Really like the design… wondering how is the interior.

• tamaki on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:05 am

The four seats will be independently adjustable and slideable.

This point make me exhilarate. Breakthrough conservative is compulsory,moreover ,it juz a concept probably might a year turn into production line.

• MyBoy on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:05 am

If it does make it to production I'm sure it will snatch some considerable sales off Myvi and Viva (Based on PREVIOUS GENERATION of Mira).

• common-sensor on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:08 am

Don't get too excited, it's just a concept car. Most important, is making it into production stage .. whether it will look the same or not depending on the manufacturing and engineering capability ..

• bobdbilder on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:09 am

Hopefully he lets go of Proton now that he's got Petronas in his sight. Worst case basis; he's still got both hands in both GLCs.

• trav da man on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:15 am

For the 1st time proton unrevealed its first car in an int motorshow that appealing n impressive! Syabas proton!

That what I call a breakthough for proton!

• Squawk on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:24 am

In other countries, this car should be fine. But in this country, if they really want people to adopt hybrids, they need to make a sizable family hybrid car. Majority of us can't afford 1 car for work (city), 1 car for family.

• Well done Proton! Hope the real car will be a treat and not a dissapointment for us loyal Malaysian buyers!

Can we have a SUV (that looks like X1) with hybrid engine next?

• atok jedi (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:30 am

Veerryy impressive.. I like what I see here.. I think I may want this one.. Build it Proton, what are you waiting for??

Hopefully the windows are exorcised from the demons that kept breaking the sacred cogs and pins.. Bloody 'ell..

• WasTe_bucket on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:31 am

great effort by Proton..they are showing signs of improvement…but please start your quality from the design stage especially for the interior…glove comparement,centre armrest compartment…and button..because people spend 99% of their time inside the car…there is where you can convince buyers..or your customers..i was pleased with Exora's interior quality but there is room for improvement..especially material selections and again designing of even simple latch,hinge or and mechanism..if the interior is on par with the korean or japanese..i bet proton will sell like hot cake!!!all the best proton..this is first of many new exciting models…Good Luck…

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:32 am

i bet 24% who vote no for this car is proton bashers

anyway,this design is awesome and amazing,

• msian on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:36 am

woah!cool!!

• Ahmad on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:37 am

If it goes for mass prod, the main market would be abroad due to costly to manufacture I guess. But we don't know for sure yet. Suddenly my affection to Proton grows up..unlike b4. Good move

• MyBoy on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:44 am

Squawk said,

February 12, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

In other countries, this car should be fine. But in this country, if they really want people to adopt hybrids, they need to make a sizable family hybrid car. Majority of us can’t afford 1 car for work (city), 1 car for family.

They can simply make a conventional version for Malaysian market and stick to hybrid for Euro and other developed marked, can't they?

• F1diehardFan on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:55 am

guys..forget the Geneva..browse this link to see new 2010 Lotus F1 car.. (^^)

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/81365

• Just_Once on Feb 13, 2010 at 2:08 am

You all know how is the car behaved if it hasn’t been start for month?

What if someone uses the car for short distant for month, and the combustion engine hasn't been run to charge the batteries. Will the engine have problem when the time come for it action?

• Wicked

• can we say 2010 is the year of malaysian automotive.. ;p

• drputera on Feb 13, 2010 at 2:23 am

wow. that is cool. bravo Proton. with Lotus Italian and Malaysian , i am sure that Proton will improve and producing better cars.

Tahniah

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 2:29 am

it's OUT….!!

• All the best Proton.

Beat those Korean and Japanese marques in 10 years time.

You can do it.

• taboogen on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:26 am

In other countries, this car should be fine. But in this country, if they really want people to adopt hybrids, they need to make a sizable family hybrid car. Majority of us can’t afford 1 car for work (city), 1 car for family.

what kind of comment is this lah… majority we see on the street now kancil, viva, myvi and savvy.. small and enffision car. easier for city dweller to move arnd and park the car. Less space needed and less polution. In the end its your pocket money.. if you want a very big car.. go for nissan venntte. you'll have plenty of space behind…. its a trend now people using small compact car.. but Proton need to ensure it is well build and safe.

• klaka seram on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:29 am

pehh!! nice one

Hopefully it will go into production, then I'll consider to buy a proton.

The link for Autocar UK is [url =http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/Proton-Concepts/247491/]HERE[/url]

• klaka seram on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:30 am

Autocar UK
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/Proton-…

• i thought it'll b named proton mahathor

gosh…i wonder what the back looks like

i'm imagine savvy's back n i dunno why..ermmm

gong xi fa cai everybody

• kt (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:53 am

I dont like the design.

1.) It looks like a futuristic concept from the 90s. So its outdated.

2.) Given the Italdesign name I expected more. For all the hype about Italian design flair and artsyness the concept falls flat on its face. This leads me to believe our own desingers actually have more potential.

3.) Why this hatch design? Sedans are are only second to sports cars to show off new styling directions. Malaysia is also primarily a sedan market. Even Protons key markets ie. Australia, Egypt, Iran etc have a preferance for sedans. So why design a good looking sedan? The Persona was a good design.

4.) The good news is that Proton is finally looking in to alternative power.

• malaysian made = milo tin… i'm sure my friends are gonna say that when this car is launch… always explained to them that waja onwards are not milo tins…

Anyway i Love the design of this car… hope it will have very good quality…

• Huhh, any automotive engineering student can come out with a concept. Let's see the execution and implementation!

• Honestly, I would not be proud of myself if I have to depend on other taxpayers money for almost 30 years just to survive, and only survive in kampung. If Proton (or Mahathir for that matter) has balls, then competitive on two legs. Don't use a crutch. Since when we have Olympic 100m sprinters who use a crutch. Konsep Kampung at best!

• Squawk said,

February 12, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

_~_

If according to The Edge interview with Proton’s managing director (see here http://paultan.org/2009/11/03/juicy-details-about… ) there should be a C segment Persona replacement out soon in 2012 after waja and perdana replacement within this year and 2011 respectively. So i guess the above car is a "global small car programme" (as reported in their 2009 annual report) intended to boost proton brand in global market starting with supermini segment. The 2012 persona could just fit nicely as sizeable family saloon for the market. And plus, it could come as either hybrid or EV, or maybe both.

• mitlanevo on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:35 am

Bw, maybe next time u can tell ur frens that their jap/euro cars = vico tin, ovaltine tin, nestum tin etc

• Ordinary Joe on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:36 am

I'm no proton supporter, but i must say that this a clever move by proton. Its not a savvy replacement by any means. Instead of trying to catch up via incremental evolutions of ur wajas, personas, savvys etc. Its a leap frog forward into futuristic design and being environmentally friendly at the same time. If this plays well, we're talking a global market of the more environmental concious urban market who just want something a bit greener, practical and funky. Which also mean is it might be for a bit more of a premium high-end market rather then some cheap car for middle to low income group.

• MyBoy on Feb 13, 2010 at 4:53 am

Ordinary Joe said,

February 12, 2010 @ 8:36 pm

I’m no proton supporter, but i must say that this a clever move by proton. Its not a savvy replacement by any means. Instead of trying to catch up via incremental evolutions of ur wajas, personas, savvys etc. Its a leap frog forward into futuristic design and being environmentally friendly at the same time. If this plays well, we’re talking a global market of the more environmental concious urban market who just want something a bit greener, practical and funky. Which also mean is it might be for a bit more of a premium high-end market rather then some cheap car for middle to low income group.

In my view, it is not necessarily true that the model will sit at the premium high-end market. Proton can always put in a conventional engine for Malaysian version.

• I reckon, Proton should focus its resources to produce cars that are internationally competitive. Malaysians have supported Proton long enough, it's time for Proton to pay back.

• frossonice (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:10 am

iVo D27 said,

February 12, 2010 @ 6:29 pm

it’s OUT….!!

====

Aiya, they're going to launch it officially today (12AM local time) in London. This is old story already.

• selipar on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:29 am

Now thats impressive..Italdesign Giugiaro is one of the best…and the hybrid engine promises good things.

• woww.. this is some serious branding strategy for a world market . All the best.. Sort out all the niggles miggles then u'll succeed . Go Proton !

• Annihilated on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:45 am

Just checked the official 80th Geneva Auto Show web page. It seems that Proton didn't sign-up as a full-fledged exhibitor. Maybe Proton is just riding on ItalDesign's entry as an exhibitor. This might as well means that there should be no other Proton concepts other than ones designed by Italdesign.

Will there be more concepts or design cues? Let's just wait.. ;)

• Elvis on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:03 am

Wah, all praises. See lah if you guys buy once come out. Savvy also TIADA SAMPUTAN, this one….i dont have confidence with Proton. All Hype BUT lousy quality, dissapoint me all the time…..

• lek la on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:18 am

ust checked the official 80th Geneva Auto Show web page. It seems that Proton didn’t sign-up as a full-fledged exhibitor. Maybe Proton is just riding on ItalDesign’s entry as an exhibitor. This might as well means that there should be no other Proton concepts other than ones designed by Italdesign.

Will there be more concepts or design cues? Let’s just wait.. ;)

—————————————————————

Proton will be participating in KL motorshow that will be held in Dec this year..

• bile la agaknya brand proton akn dimasukkan dlm Gran Turismo.

• one word …UGLY !! and its powerplant is still a question mark !??

• seat-belt on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:52 am

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2010&a…

fuck ya BYD!!!

• Amiran on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:17 am

Overall concept is good. I mean "global car" and the hybrid system.

The front GRILL can be set as new proton's corporate grill, just like VW.

But…

1) Get rid of that "Ol style logo". That alone has made 60% of the concept looked '90s as somebody has mentioned.

2) Beat Kors & Japs in 10 yrs? Take the Kors, they built their whole car making capabilities first, down stream or upstream you name it! What they don't have is god hand that can pen other than their only 'sonata girls'… Now they 'steal' it from outside, and "up-up and away… they go"

• XPMCar on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:18 am

no choice, since P1 doesn't have the capability to design its own car, they have to buy designs from others, repeat the same strategy they did 20 years ago from mitsubishi (now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars). i won't buy this car as profit will into someone pockets..

• paparazi (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:29 am

don ever con our money!!!

• Martin (Member) on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:04 am

look at the title from the press release… it's all about creating a new segment to the automotive markets. which is turning an suv to a compact city car (duh).

and it's fortunate that proton would be the 1st player entering the market (if production is fast enough). i hope proton will get the first mover advantage. abit out of topic though, remember how ASUS created a netbook segment and being successful? :D

let's bring it on! =)

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:06 am

XPMCar said,

February 12, 2010 @ 11:18 pm

no choice, since P1 doesn’t have the capability to design its own car, they have to buy designs from others, repeat the same strategy they did 20 years ago from mitsubishi (now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars). i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets

———————————————————–

typical malaysian!!!

you see other carmakers,they just give money and they ask design firm to design for them

don't tell me that suzuki don't have capability to design its own car

italdesign designed suzuki sx4

italdesign designed old hyundai sonata

etc bla bla bla

if you hate this car,just shut up!

easy,right.

• indra on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:08 am

Funtastic…traffic of this is really really good…

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:13 am

pity la to malaysian

i wonder why alot of aussie keep praising savvy,but malaysian……….

then if you say this new concept is ugly

how about malaysian beloved DUGONG

toyota vios is the true meaning of ugliness

same goes to honda city.the 2nd generation

but the 3rd gen is quite-ugly.

did malaysian complain about it,NO

instead,they BUY it.

why,because they are well-known in this country

and now,recall!!!!

WTF!

• Jimmy on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

The most cantiq Proton ever. If priced at RM80 000 sure will buy one.

• Tiadaid on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:27 am

XPMCar said,

no choice, since P1 doesn’t have the capability to design its own car, they have to buy designs from others, repeat the same strategy they did 20 years ago from mitsubishi (now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars). i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets..

————

Dumbass. Italdesign Giugiaro is well known as a DESIGN HOUSE. Many other car companies had their car styled by boutique designers like Giugiaro & Pininfarina. Ferrari had some of its cars designed by Pininfarina, as well as Hyundai. And yet you go and bash Proton for doing the same thing. If you don't want to buy it it's your business, but please grow a brain before commenting!

• Elvis on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:38 am

Proton this, Proton that…but 98% buyers from Malaysia. Just admit it, kampung brand remains kampung brand….

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:42 am

XPMCar said,

no choice, since P1 doesn’t have the capability to design its own car, they have to buy designs from others, repeat the same strategy they did 20 years ago from mitsubishi (now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars). i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets

————————————————————————

Give a big clap to a stupid comment from another illeterate basher woooooo!!!!!

Dude for ur information, it's a common for car manufacturers nowadays to hire foreign designer to design cars for them…lets take Kia Forte as an example, it was designed by a white guy who designed AUDI cars b4…mazda also do the same thing…and for tip..this firm also design concept car for suzuki and syanggyong….so next b4 u bash plez read laaaa bodooo

• WasTe_bucket on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:24 am

CCC said,

February 12, 2010 @ 8:17 pm

Honestly, I would not be proud of myself if I have to depend on other taxpayers money for almost 30 years just to survive, and only survive in kampung. If Proton (or Mahathir for that matter) has balls, then competitive on two legs. Don’t use a crutch. Since when we have Olympic 100m sprinters who use a crutch. Konsep Kampung at best!

your comment is bahasa kampung at best and kampung mentality at best!!!

no body actually cares if you are proud or not..seriously..why do anyone have to care if you are proud about this car,proton or the nation??

you cant type a comment in proper english..and so can i say the nation is not proud of having you as a citizen??

if you want to make a comment..please give a proper one..something constructive one…

otherwise give facts…can you name me one major car manufacturer on planet earth that does not depend on favour from government,banks or other financial backing??its impossible!!!

where hyundai and kia started selling their car in our country..we do complain the quality like crap..but in their country..90% of korean drove these car which was lack of quality and reliability…

why??because instead of giving a stranger/foreign company the money…they rather see it circulating in their home country..and now see how they have improved??

credit should be given where its due…if you are not proud…then you are blind…blindly stupid if i can be rude!!

i will never be proud driving a perodua which i know i m helping japanese growing stronger and malaysia and malaysian getting weaker in terms of economy and productivity!!!

will you be proud to see your own nation going down the drain??

with people like you..there is possibilities of that happening!!learn to think beyond what you see or hear!!

its true there is corruption in this country and its not managed well..but end of the day..if you look at it..its your fault…

you give wrong people the power by voting for them..

you started the bribe and complain as if corruption and cronism is wrong…

first try to be proud of being a malaysian and try to be a good malaysian..the nation is made up by malaysians like you and me…if we do our part well…the country will eventually be a better place!!!think again!!

• kaiser on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:39 am

The press release seems to indicate that a 'family' of cars is in the pipeline. Should be interesting whether this car will make it to production or other's in the so called family will.

A D segment space in such a small car? Should be interesting. There is no way Proton will survive outside Malaysia unless they do something drastic and revolutionary. So this seems to be a good step forward.

• required name on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

proton better live up to giugiaro's name

• Vezeroth on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:56 am

I support proton, except i think this design is kinda flat, and if this is the concept design, then i can only imagine that the real design would look like the matrix! and ya'll can forget about the hybrid powertrain, if it ever makes production, i'd think a kancil looking car with a 1l engine found in the savvy…

Proton sadly does not have the technology, infrastructure and pure will power in malaysia to manufacture and maintain a hybrid so dont get your hopes up just yet..

the cost of such a power train would just be too high…

• haykal on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:13 am

NEW PROTON WILL BE LAUNCH ,LOOK LIKE CAMRY N ACCORD MAYBE REPLACE FOR PERDANA ,NOW ALL STAFF THERE HAVE A CONTEST TO NAME A NEW NAME SEDAN FROM PROTON UNTIL 28 FEB , NEW SATRIA NEO ALSO WILL BE LAUNCH 4 DOOR LIKE NISSAN LATIO HATCHBACK LOOK SO SEXY N SPORT , OUR ENGINEER ALSO ALREADY TES NEW ENGINE 1.8 TURBO CPS WILL BE PUT IN EXORA OR OTHER NEW CAR WILL BE COMING AROUND THE CORNER OK

• peYno on Feb 13, 2010 at 1:35 pm

XPMCar said,

no choice, since P1 doesn’t have the capability to design its own car, they have to buy designs from others, repeat the same strategy they did 20 years ago from mitsubishi (now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars). i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets..

============

Beng

if u know nuts about AUTOMOTIVE…just shut up

This is normal practice for car maker doing outsource for design.. even toyota also use Italdesign Giugiaro to design thier toyota wisdom..

• hehe….profit will always into someones pocket la…who will throw it into drain?

• AnakSarawak on Feb 13, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Put in a 1.3 petrol engine,then sell for about 20K,Then I WILL buy….for my second car…..

• good design. i hope that with the new global concept car, proton able to penetrate more euro market, east asia, china and US. if i am the ceo, i will not sell the new car in malaysia. if malaysian want, then they need to ask naza to bring recond here. it is really stupid move to sell it here.

• i hope proton will sell this car in Europe first before our local market. it is so entrenched into our people's mind that its products is no good and to sell as premium car with proton brand in local market is a bit ambitious. malaysian only trust those comments from orang putih and therefore, make sure the car got rave review from those orang puteh first. if not, proton better use lotus brand instead.

• madimat on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:39 pm

I think it is nothing wrong for Proton to use european expertise in designing its cars,.. as what Perodua using all these while like after more than 15 years; still using and 'hiring' the Japanese's designers to design their cars. At least our Malaysian designers can learn a few things and bring that home to later come out some nice designs by themselves. And while people (I am refering to Malaysians of course!) all praising the new Kia cars which of course were penned and designed by a Mat Salleh, why can't some praises as well be said to Proton for their effort to learn some good design??

At least they're learning something new, not just stucked to some 5-10 year old designs 'donated' from Japan…..

• madimat on Feb 13, 2010 at 5:43 pm

and oh, Toyota will be taken over by Kia – Hyundai in a few years time as the world's largest car manufacturer. Eh wait, this is not a Toyota forum,.. but hmm what the heck… :)

• puteripapunika on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Gentlemen, ignore bashers unless they write something more coherent than "Aiya, P1, sure useless, hate it, no other reason needed!". They're trolling; habis cerita.

That aside, there was a comment earlier asking why Proton commissioned a 5-door hatch instead of a sedan, arguing that Malaysia is a sedan market. This is true, but I don't think Proton is aiming this concept car at the Malaysian market just yet. Malaysia isn't big on hybrids because we still have fuel subsidy and will have subsidy for some time to come (even if it's in different form). That's why you don't see a lot of Prius on the road, or even Civic Hybrid. The G's idea to make Malaysia into a regional green car hub also kind of fizzled out because the rakyat themselves don't care about green cars and so it was hard to drum up support to create the infrastructure.

Meanwhile, in Europe, there is a strong interest in alternative fuel and hybrid drivetrains, and Europe is also a market where support for hatchbacks are relatively strong. Youngsters in Europe also tend to go for a "hot hatch" rather than a sedan for the sporty looks. So, I think that this concept car is really designed to change Proton's brand image from "We sell cheap but sporty cars; yay, Lotus handling" to "We sell cheap and practical cars". Maybe we'll see some trickle-down into a sedan version eventually a couple of years down the line, but this is a good move on Proton's part to change the European impression of the company.

That said, I agree that the design is ugly. Just goes to show that having a big name design house style a car for you is not a guarantee for hotness.

• tayar kitar semula on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:14 pm

patut dilancarkan di London… dan jualan serentak di Eropah dan Malaysia… sediakan 80% untuk jual di Eropah 20% di Malaysia… Harga dah tentu mahal nih… Bukan market untuk orang Malaysia… Biarlah orang asing yang beri komen tentang kereta Proton nih daripada komen pembenci yang suruh Proton tutup kedai….

• FarredSYGPROTON on Feb 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

I agree with puteripapunika & tayar kitar semula, I think its better to sell diz car outside Malaysia..biar org mcm XPMCar, Hameed Koyokute(ntah cmne ntah eja nme mamat nih),kp, elvis and other bashers cannot buy diz car hahaha

• The Who.. on Feb 13, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Elvis said,

February 12, 2010 @ 10:03 pm

Wah, all praises. See lah if you guys buy once come out. Savvy also TIADA SAMPUTAN, this one….i dont have confidence with Proton. All Hype BUT lousy quality, dissapoint me all the time…..

everyone already know that savvy r fucking ugly and supposed to junk it into the lake.. stop commenting an old story u fool.. proton improving since the last time people bashing proton in 90"s

• WhiteFox on Feb 13, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Hybrid Technology is good but hope when lithium Battery is not that expensive when we replace it if this car is on production.

BTW is just concept… It will lead proton to design different car in future.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 13, 2010 at 9:08 pm

a very horrible car

• Bihah on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Italdesign Giugiaro designed Bugatti Veyron, Lamborghini Gallardo,Alfa 159, Fiat Grande Punto, Toyota's Lexus and for dumb asses, the popular Perodua's Myvi (Daihatu Sirion) and Viva and many,many more.Brilliant move PROTON to team up with Italdesign Giugiaro.

Give the whole work to Italdesign Giugiaro then PROTON woyld produce truly quality global car. Stop being cheapskate and jadi second best jaguh kampung saving money with Korean and second rate engineering.

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:25 pm

XPMCar…

u are the dumbest basher i ever know..

a disgrace to the basher society…

• Jumbsuck on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:35 pm

Looks like own local design only good for ahbeng bodykits eh? Italian design, Japs model, what is this local car propaganda?

Don't talk so much lah Proton. Better tell the banks to get same rate interest car loan for all.

Why double standard for Proton and non-national cars? Scared of local quality huh?

Not only car buyers punished with artificial inflated car price but also victimised by discriminate loan rate, end up car buyers paying double crook rate for junk crap cars for nothing. Is this how own people must be treated?

Convince the rest of us about future and quality is nothing if the banks themselves still not convinced yet which means the same old craps for us to pick.

• Rusman on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:39 pm

Great,great,great.Hope to be first owner in my campus.Dont go crappy on quality proton.

• Mr.Lusas on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:53 pm

puteripapunika said,

February 13, 2010 @ 10:02 am

————-

Wow.. we got ladies here… and i agreed with you.. just target the import market for this car… get the respond from foreign and world market..

• lencongan on Feb 13, 2010 at 10:55 pm

ada mcm Smart sket.

oversized wheels,will it go into production?

• ezralimm on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Hmm, looks okay. I mean, seriously guys, this car competes with cars like the Smart ForFour. It's not any typical market segment by any stretch of the imagination… One day when petrol runs dry… Cars like this will be mainstream.

• ezralimm on Feb 13, 2010 at 11:10 pm

XPMCar said, February 12, 2010 @ 11:18 pm

========================================

“I would say the first VW Golf and Scirocco, as well the Audi 80, the Fiat Panda, Uno, Punto and Grande Punto, the Lancia Delta, the Alfa Brera and 159 and the Lexus GS300 went into production as I proposed them,”

-Giorgetto Giugiaro, italdesign.

XPMCar, so you're saying VW, Audi, Fiat, Alfa Romeo and Lexus also dont have the capability to design their own cars?

Apparently Giugiaro also designs ferraris.

• XPMCar said,

———————————————————–

1. no choice – loser ppl have no or less choice in life. winner is someone that have all choices at disposal.

2. p1 doesn't have the capability to design.. – they did design saga, gen2, savvy, exora. do more reading, a lots of it..

3. repeat the same strategy they did 20 years … – do some more reading please.

4. now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars… – you think they selected Giugiaro on the day toyota had to do recall in us?

5. i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets.. – since when you buy things that the profit will go into your own pockets, unless if you to buy your own products… or you really do that since nobody buying your product?

• ricosuave on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:16 am

I've found the pic of the Proton concept car from the Italdesign website: http://www.italdesign.it/welcome.php

Notice the Proton emblem on the front grille.

It looks really cool.

• MyBoy on Feb 14, 2010 at 12:30 am

lencongan said,

February 13, 2010 @ 2:55 pm

ada mcm Smart sket.

oversized wheels,will it go into production?

Certainly NOT but still, it is a nice looking car.

• oversized wheel? certainly not…but the other things would be nice if the engineering department can do it…

• Andrew on Feb 14, 2010 at 1:35 am

Mazda 3 MPS,

you called this concept horrible?

i think you must be hit by a toyota that can't brake in time because of brakes failure

• anti_ezora on Feb 14, 2010 at 1:46 am

proton pon nk ikowt jgk

hahaha

bela la

• Littlefire on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:00 am

epol

1. no choice – loser ppl have no or less choice in life. winner is someone that have all choices at disposal.

2. p1 doesn’t have the capability to design.. – they did design saga, gen2, savvy, exora. do more reading, a lots of it..

3. repeat the same strategy they did 20 years … – do some more reading please.

4. now move to continental designer due to too many recall for Jap cars… – you think they selected Giugiaro on the day toyota had to do recall in us?

5. i won’t buy this car as profit will into someone pockets.. – since when you buy things that the profit will go into your own pockets, unless if you to buy your own products… or you really do that since nobody buying your product?

———————————————————————-

1. No Choice, yup for normal citizen of Malaysia they have only P1 & P2 to choose, not like those AP holders & rich ppl can drive super "Overprice" cars..

2.P1 can design, but how's the quality, durability & technology wise compare to others? Oh yeah, Normal Malaysians can only stuck to P1 & P2 only thanks to NAP..

3.I think P1 is going to repeat, as the rumoured Lancer rebadge Waja is coming out.. Still until now nearly all Auto gearbox still using Mitsu also..

4. P1 have long time European design cars, guess it.. Tiara.. and now Savvy. Which i still wonder when it going to be replace..

5.Proton is built on who's money? So when P1 untung should we all P1 owner get dividend? Especially those EPF payers.. Oh yeap, sorry only the G related ppl only get it… Just like those invisible supplier, like what Paul describe be4… We all knew it, this is Malaysia.. Anything Malaysia 'Boleh'..

So from what the P1 supporter claim that P1 is so hebat, why not go to PM or MITI office and ask them open up the market and fight it faily in open market? I think P1 sure can survive, especially now the Japs are getting more recalls back? Fight like a man P1 & P2, no need hide behind NAP! Go go P1!

• steve on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:07 am

the design is nice…well its from people who know well in designing car that look nice… but still we didn't see the interior…hope its ok.

but overall… look nice on adobe illustrator rendering is different when we get the actual feel of the car…especially in production quality….sorry to say. Proton still unable to get away with the bad quality impression.

but if they able to make the right move without going back to all the stupid mistake. it might be able to get potential.

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 14, 2010 at 2:22 am

To XPMCar.

Italdesign Giugiaro designed lots of cars to other global car manufacturers. So, you mean other car manufacturers also don't have capabilities to building cars from ground up?

To Mazda 3 MPS. You said this is a horrible design? If this car was designed for Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, Mercedes Benz….. sure you will say brilliant and it's such a beauty!

Typical blind bashers…..

• nazri on Feb 14, 2010 at 4:36 am

still minda dijajah.. free up your mind kids.. :)

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 4:53 am

steve said,

February 13, 2010 @ 6:07 pm

the design is nice…well its from people who know well in designing car that look nice… but still we didn’t see the interior…hope its ok.

but overall… look nice on adobe illustrator rendering is different when we get the actual feel of the car…especially in production quality….sorry to say. Proton still unable to get away with the bad quality impression.

but if they able to make the right move without going back to all the stupid mistake. it might be able to get potential

============

steve.. those who always update the info..wudnt say that… ppl who drive new gen of proton cars such BLM, Persona and exora's thinking is not same as what older generation (wira, gen2 dan waja owner)'s think

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:06 am

he Unicons said,

February 13, 2010 @ 6:22 pm

To XPMCar.

Italdesign Giugiaro designed lots of cars to other global car manufacturers. So, you mean other car manufacturers also don’t have capabilities to building cars from ground up?

To Mazda 3 MPS. You said this is a horrible design? If this car was designed for Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, Mercedes Benz….. sure you will say brilliant and it’s such a beauty!

Typical blind bashers…..

==============

yes this is normal and standard practice for other global car manufacturer..

there are a mix of products come from own developed and also from collaboration and rebadge…

just name it.. Nissan,Daihatsu, Suzuki, VW, Subaru more and more.. all these car maker make their own product and at the same time, collaborate with other such sharing platform or rebadging

example.. daihatsu ,.. it has its own develop product such as AVY, MIRA,.. but the same time rebadge/collaborate toyota BOON/LUMINAS

same goes to proton… develope own product like exora, persona .. and also collaborate with third party to develop a car like waja replacement(lancer rebadge) and italdesign..

even toyota also ask italdesign to design their toyota wisdom…

so what i can say.. what proton going to do now is a TREND and normal practice for all car maker…

but there no in the world.. car manufacturer produce a car by 100% rebadge except PERODUA…prrrfthhhh

• prrrfffhhh on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:31 am

you learn from re-batch. no matter what you guys think about TIRU, myvi still sells, and proton still suffers, nough said.

let see how proton learn after 20 years of rebatching? like….rebatch another lancer again??? lol.

hyundai and kia are so darn cheap in their own country.

if proton selling car's cheaper than the others, we are ok.

but now, proton is force others to sell more expensive.

so, common ppl are paying more, because we have proton, so we hate proton.

yea, australian loves savvy, thats why they buy none of the car.

come on, dont be so dumb, they are driving V8.

Savvy cant even sell in malaysia, you think it will sell in australia? you are crazy. you're not dumb, simply crazy.

• i still love conventional car

• proper sedan or hatch, for manly machine

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:50 am

myvi sell well not becoz of perodua.. but ppl tot it is Japan T nD

same goes to Waja replacement Lancer ..

it will sell well not becoz of proton.. but ppl tot it is Japan Mitsu..

moral.. p2 saleman in trouble

prrrfthhh

• Tiger on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:54 am

im boring with this basher..no new point..

as usual, basher said:

– want to buy proton, but less tax, more warranty, service centre must be superb 5 star..

– govt protect proton, but not perodua & naza..

-power windows problem.. <–can cause death, cannot pay ticket so die loh..

but they just closed their eyes when:

-handling superb..thanks to Lotus

-Chassis superb..thanks to Lotus+Proton

-can design its own car..

-others socol 'national car maker' got brake disc problem..

the reason why P2 got better sales, not because of P2 better,but because most of P2 buyers are women… women only know how to drive, so they just avoid the car that they think got many defect.

p1 need to make some campaign to the potential buyers…prove them its safe.

• Tiger on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:56 am

this design make P2 Myvi 20years old outdated design…

• staff on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:58 am

I urge the Govt, let ALL THINGS in Malaysia at Level Playing field… take back all subsidies…

So, instead of the car price only become competitive… let Our people also become competitive…

What say you?

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:03 am

ah beng tot… best selling in malaysia.. means it is good and can sell oversea???prrrrtfhhhh…

if the car sell well in US, europe, Japan or even spore…i do believe it will sell well all over the world as well… but if it's sell well in Malaysia…no body cares…

• yippi33 on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:14 am

Littlefire said,

February 13, 2010 @ 6:00 pm

So from what the P1 supporter claim that P1 is so hebat, why not go to PM or MITI office and ask them open up the market and fight it faily in open market? I think P1 sure can survive, especially now the Japs are getting more recalls back? Fight like a man P1 & P2, no need hide behind NAP! Go go P1!

————————————-

yet when the G starts to abolish subsidy gradually, will the likes of you sing the same song??? can u please elaborate to me on which specific clauses in the NAP the G is protecting them?or..u havent read it at all actually?

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:20 am

staff said,

February 13, 2010 @ 9:58 pm

I urge the Govt, let ALL THINGS in Malaysia at Level Playing field… take back all subsidies…

So, instead of the car price only become competitive… let Our people also become competitive…

What say you?

===========

i agree.. but gov oso need to protect p2 maa.. i do believe proton can develop thier own car.. but p2.. if no special treatment by G.. Daihatsu may say bye2 to p2/Malaysia and move to Indonesia.. so p2 has to develop own car? so far p2 only can make bumper and head lamp.. same level as brother shop

• good luck malaysian on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:38 am

If no protect, then P2 will have no car to sell because they do not have their own car and daihatsu will do the selling by themself.

• peYno on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:49 am

at that time.. p2 may collaborate with brothers shop and manufacture bumper, bodykit and headlamp

• C'mon Proton on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:35 am

"The hip point is designed to be at just the right natural and ergonomic height – you do not get down into the car like a short sedan or “climb” up into the car like an SUV."

Damn it, sounds like Myvai. Oh no…

Hope it has that superb Lotus Handling. Oh love Proton's handling.

• Infinitt on Feb 14, 2010 at 8:00 am

i like it…will sell my savvy then

• prrrfffhhh said,

February 13, 2010 @ 9:31 pm

hyundai and kia are so darn cheap in their own country.

——————————

Why is a car that’s made in Korea cheaper in the U.S.?

http://joongangdaily.joins.com/article/view.asp?a…

• the design looks amazing. very proud of you proton. i cant wait to see the new designs for upcoming proton cars. the sky is the limit for proton. make us proud.

• i prefer proton to design sedan car, that car look like myvi car and there is ton of it on the road. time to move on proton

• business is business on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:54 am

and i'm talking about you Proton. no matter fancy you came out. pls be pratical ..

give me a Forte? can u?

• kancil elite on Feb 14, 2010 at 5:25 pm

safety not so much a concern here, so rejected designs like this 4 seater futuristic kancil can make it in our market…summore they talking about electrical car, i mean we haven't even reach the age of mandatory airbags, abs and crash tests….

• ezralimm on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Hmm, I am all for free speech and all, but too many comments about govt automotive policy is really taking the thread off topic.

Im sure there are other places to voice your views. Try Real WOrld Issues at forum.lowyat.net or something.

As far as im concerned, there is nothing revolutionary or anything really special about this car. Other manufacturers have been researching such cars for some time now like the Toyota IQ.

It's good that Proton's jumping on the bandwagon though… And a good designer is paramount as image means alot to a car. This designer also designed the Volkswagen Sirroco and Lexus sedans so why is everyone complaining???

• khali-FaH !!! on Feb 14, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Syabas proton for the creative design !!!

But why should make it shorter than savvy ? ? ? ?

Most Malaysian love compact as the size of Myvi……

Need people to suggest what the best size for that car ???

P1 Engineer and their leader should think twicely for that size..

• Littlefire on Feb 14, 2010 at 7:05 pm

yippi33

Well, letz start with AP? Besides that, those tax which impose on those imported cars how much? Are u living in Malaysia or u dont even know what is AP & tax? Or u tot that all oversea cars are expensive when the first day they start selling? Please check the price list from those other car manufacturer and u will know how much tax our G have on their price list.

• oldwira on Feb 14, 2010 at 9:18 pm

Well done proton!

• Rusman on Feb 14, 2010 at 10:06 pm

VW Group (VW,AUDI,Lamborghini,Bugatti,Bentley etc) and FIAT Group (FIAT, Alfa, Maserati) and TOYOTA Group (Toyota,Lexus, Daihatsu,PERODUA) are giants in car manufacturing yet they go to Italdesign Giugiaro. Kinda stupid bashing PROTON for doing the same.Hear new Persona also design by Italdesign.Hope so.

PROTOB better change engineering works and improved quality control to be meaningful global entry for this gorgeous and evolutionary concept car.

When would it be produce.Can do booking now?

• Bihah on Feb 14, 2010 at 10:20 pm

PROTON btr stop using el cheapo engineering cos becoz luvly design wld be wasted if new city car quality like Gen2 and Savvy.

Repeat same mistakes with this city car as in the past meant death row for PROTON.

Be unique…go for niche market.Buyers willing to pay more for unique look, envi friendly, good handling and well enginereed car.

GO GLOBAL PROTON WITH THIS CONCEPT CAR.

• Rusman on Feb 14, 2010 at 10:26 pm

PROTON,when can we (me and 10 other friends) pay advance booking for the city car? I bet many willing to book now and wait for it to be produce so please open up booking center.

Just make sure the car same as concept car and of global quality.

• Rusman on Feb 14, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Please give intelligent comments ppl.Global car for sure meeting Euro and US standard in safety etc.Malaysians should congrats and support PROTON for daring going to global market.

As to Perodua lovers, check out facts..it's Japanese owned as majority equity owned by combining Daihatu (Toyota subsidiary) and Toyota (thru UMW) shares in Perodua.Go do yr maths.Myvi and Viva both also designed by Italdesign Giugiaro for Daihatsu.

• Jumbsuck on Feb 14, 2010 at 11:23 pm

rusman-"Just make sure the car same as concept car and of global quality."

Fat hope lah. Look at the window step for sure to hook the glass from falling down in case of door carrier failure later.

• Its the same thing lah…. Korean car is cheaper in Korea (and imported car there will be more expensive) just like how Proton is cheaper in Malaysia & other car expensive in Malaysia. While at the same time, Korea car is damn cheap in US compare to other car, just like Malaysian car damn cheap in Saudi/Australia/Britain, compare to other car. Its the same strategy, you attack the price first, later the quality. Everyone here is good in business, surely you know that.

For those who don't like to subsidise Proton, I'm sure they are those in Korea complaining too, except that, we don't understand their language. Maybe they complain about power window too, ha ha ha.

What to do? if you are so good, you'll not be here complaining in paultan, instead you'll be a PM or CEO of Proton or Kia.

• maw maw on Feb 15, 2010 at 1:14 am

proton.. pleeasee!! pleaasee..!! produce this car..

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:35 am

business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market. business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market.. said,

February 14, 2010 @ 3:54 am

and i’m talking about you Proton. no matter fancy you came out. pls be pratical ..

give me a Forte? can u?

—————————————————————-

2010- waja replacement= lancer

2010 or 2011- perdana replacement

2012- persona replcement

hope can afford them all

but if u still want a forte then get one from naza…no harm k

• Andrew on Feb 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

kancil elite said,

February 14, 2010 @ 9:25 am

safety not so much a concern here, so rejected designs like this 4 seater futuristic kancil can make it in our market…summore they talking about electrical car, i mean we haven’t even reach the age of mandatory airbags, abs and crash tests….

you think your kancil, viva, myvi all so safe? idiot… think again ..MORON

• FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOT on Feb 15, 2010 at 4:00 pm

tahniah Proton.

saya baca dari bawah byk komen positif dan ada juga yang negatif.

2-2 kita kena terima yang positif sbg galakan, dan yg negatif sbg penanda aras untuk kita lebih maju bergerak ke depan.

berkenaan kereta ni scr peribadi

1) design look like Myvi Malaysia cuma ditouch up, dipendekkan, diubah sana sini sikit jadilah kereta baru. Tapi apa nak kisah sbb manaada dlm dunia kereta yang tak sama langsung design nya ngan kereta lain. Kurang2 mesti ada gak sikit2 irasnyer. Lagipun pereka Myvi dengan kereta konsep Proton ini adalah firma design yang sama. Kereta milik BYD dari China pun design lebih kurang macam ni cuma yang Proton ni lagi cun banyak depan dan tepinyer.

2) berdasar komen yang saya baca, boleh kata majoriti rakyat sedang menunggu kereta konsep ini dijelmakan sebagai satu realiti. So Proton kena pantas keluarkan kereta ini dan dengan kualiti yang tinggi. Saya kira ramai rakyat Malaysia sedia membeli kereta ni sbg kereta ke2 dan jika ia direalisasikan, saya rasa kereta ni boleh jadi pelaris baru Proton selain Saga BLM, Persona dan Proton Exora. Lain2 model jualan amat2 menyedihkan. Jadi Proton jangan biar rakyat tunggu lama2 sbb penantian itu 1 penyeksaan. Penantian yg lama akan memperlihatkan anda seoleh ketinggalan jauh di belakang kerana pengeluar lain telah lama sebenarnya menghasilkan kereta hybrid/ EV.

3) saya rasa design kereta ni bukan isu yang paling penting. Yang lebih penting adalah teknologi yang akan dimasukkan ke dalam kereta ini oleh kerana ia adalah kereta hybrid. Tahniah sbb akhirnya dah mula masuk dalam segmen kereta berasaskan bahan bakar baru walaupun langkah anda terlalu perlahan.

4) kereta ni exterior lebih pendek berbanding Savvy tetapi saya difahamkan luas interiornya adalah seluas kereta segmen D. Mungkin ni pembaharuan yang nak diperkenalkan Proton. Mungkin ruang letak barang dikecilkan dan mungkin juga dashboard dinipiskan.. Apapun yang penting bagi saya lebih elok kiranyer interiornya seluas Myvi. Lagi best lagi laris

5) x salah upah company lain design kereta. 1 lagi company design popular adalah pininfarina juga design kereta2 negara China spt Chery, Brilliance, Hafei dan Jac, Jepun spt Honda dan Mitsubishi dan Korea spt Hyundai dan Daewoo. Di Eropah mereka da design kereta mewah spt Jaguar, Ferrari, Bentley, Masearati, Alfa Romeo. Fiat, Peugeot, Volvo, Ford, Citreon dan Lancia.

So secara peribadi bagi saya, ini adalah langkah kedepan Proton mengupah company yg terbukti pandai design kereta untuk design kereta Proton. Apa yang penting adalah kereta yg kita design memeuhi kehendak global dan saya lihat dengan mengupah design2 firm ini kita dapat hasilkan kereta dengan imej global. Lagipun x silap saya Saga BLM adalah direkabentuk oleh LG, tetapi laris jer macam goreng pisang.

6) Proton wajib memastikan kereta ni keluar secepat mungkin. Proton perlu ingat Proton dah jauh tertinggal di belakang hatta dengan pesaing2 baru dari China yang telah lama memperkenalkan kereta konsep, kereta hybrid juga kereta EV. Malah hingga hari ini Proton masih lagi tidak cuba memperkenalkan segmen enjin melebihi 2.0 cc, tidak memperkenalkan kenderaan spt SUV/ Crossover. Saya tahu Proton dah ada Proton MSX iaitu Proton SUV tetapi tolonglah keluarkan nya secepat mungkin. Dah tak tahan ni menunggu. Anda lambat anda la yang rugi sebab pesaing2 anda bergerak terlalu pantas.

7) ini kereta hatchback 5 pintu pertama Proton. Satria Neo dah ramai mintak 5 pintu tetapi hingga hari ni masih 3 pintu. Adus.. lamanyer aku menunggu nak tengok Neo 5 pintu. Kalau dah 5 pintu konpem jualan meningkat, penguasaan Myvi dalam pasaran bakal merosot. Hehehe

8) ni point terakhir. Yang ni yang paling aku tak suka ngan Proton iaitu harganya yang terlampau menekan rakyat. So untuk kali ni make sure harganya adalah lebih kurang sama dengan pesaingnya di overseas dan kalau lebih mahal pun biarlag dalam lingkungan 10% dari pesaing sama di luar negara . Ini kita terpaksa membayar RM 40 k – RM 60 k untuk mendapat sebuah Persona sedangakan di Jepun kita dah hampir mampu memiliki kereta spt Honda Stream, di Koera kita dah boleh dapat Kia Sorento.

Saya tak kisah orang nak kata saya basher ke penyokong ke apa ke.. yang penting point tu ikhlas di hati saya tanpa niat2 tak baik. Kalau yang kritik tu ambiklah wahai Proton sbg cabaran tanpa ganjaran dari saya dan yang saya puji tu sbg motivasi untuk Proton.

• italdesign designed myvi and viva?

hahahahah.what a joke.

• i support fikirlah di luar kotak especially about the price. Truer words were never spoken. proton guys, you should really heed fikirlah's advice coz what he said represent every malaysian's opinions.

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:32 pm

To FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOTAK

http://joongangdaily.joins.com/article/view.asp?a… sila bace dr link ini….

Kereta proton memang la xmurah sangat, and saya faham ramai org nk proton bankrupt so that cukai kereta diturnkn….saya pn nk mnyeru rakyat malaysia berfikir di luar kotak gak…korea selatan pn impliment polisi yg sama, kete nasional kt sane pn mahal and low quality drp version import. OK mybe org xnmpak ape yg belaku kt Korea…mybe org lg nmpak kete kt singapore, thailand and indonesia murah pn murah kn…ok saya nk anda pk…kt Sinagapore, indon and thai ade sudsidi minyak ke?ade subsidi beras ke?ade subsidi gula ke?ade projek perumahan rakyat ke? ade sistem kawalan harge ke?ade MARA ke? ade Biasiswa JPA ke?especially kt Singapore(ade free education ke?)basicly rakyat Malaysia hidup lagi mewah drp org Jepun dan Korea…org jepun stakat keje kerani naek basikal, bas ngn train tau x..mmg la sistem pngankutan dorg cekap tp mmg kehidupan kt Jepun mmg menekan rakyat…saye bkn Pro Kerajaan saye bdak Kedah tp bile org asek mngutuk Proton nk proton bankrupt wat saye rase dorg ni xbersyukur ngn ape yg ade…sebab proton laaa bnyk rakyat malaysia dapat pakai kete, sebab proton laaa berpuluh ribu pekerjaan dihasilkan, sebab proton laaa rakyat dapat smthing untuk dbanggekn….pkir2 kn laaa…peace………….

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

FIKIRLAH DI LUAR KOTAK sial bace link ini

Kereta proton memang la xmurah sangat, and saya faham ramai org nk proton bankrupt so that cukai kereta diturnkn….saya pn nk mnyeru rakyat malaysia berfikir di luar kotak gak…korea selatan pn impliment polisi yg sama, kete nasional kt sane pn mahal and low quality drp version import. OK mybe org xnmpak ape yg belaku kt Korea…mybe org lg nmpak kete kt singapore, thailand and indonesia murah pn murah kn…ok saya nk anda pk…kt Sinagapore, indon and thai ade sudsidi minyak ke?ade subsidi beras ke?ade subsidi gula ke?ade projek perumahan rakyat ke? ade sistem kawalan harge ke?ade MARA ke? ade Biasiswa JPA ke?especially kt Singapore(ade free education ke?)basicly rakyat Malaysia hidup lagi mewah drp org Jepun dan Korea…org jepun stakat keje kerani naek basikal, bas ngn train tau x..mmg la sistem pngankutan dorg cekap tp mmg kehidupan kt Jepun mmg menekan rakyat…saye bkn Pro Kerajaan saye bdak Kedah tp bile org asek mngutuk Proton nk proton bankrupt wat saye rase dorg ni xbersyukur ngn ape yg ade…sebab proton laaa bnyk rakyat malaysia dapat pakai kete, sebab proton laaa berpuluh ribu pekerjaan dihasilkan, sebab proton laaa rakyat dapat smthing untuk dbanggekn….pkir2 kn laaa…peace………….

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm

sory2 sila bce…jgn marah hehehe

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

haaa lgi stu,harga P2 la yg menekan rakyat, Viva yg kecik nk dekat same harge dngn saga blm,Myvi nk dekat same hage ngn Persona….so pk2 laaa

• learner on Feb 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm

car with above average design like this if not really marketed well is a big failure. for such a nice concept car which most probably will go into production line in the future, proton should market the car like how fiat marketed fiat 500 model, or toyota marketed iQ, or how BMW marketed mini (wah so high ambition).

let small market dominated by perodua, because concept car like this not only slash perodua designs kau-kau but should be marketed with 'high-market' specs. maybe leather seats, ABS, dual-airbag, 0 to 100km in 10s. i believe compate to savvy sale right now which is between 100 to 200 units per month, marketing this new hatchback as 'high-market' still can sell around 50 units per month but the profits is equivalent with that of 200 units savvy per month, and what more important is, this car will be better accepted in the world market.

• learner on Feb 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm

business is business, no matter how, you have to fight for yourself in the market, if not you gonna be eaten up by market.. said,

February 14, 2010 @ 3:54 am

and i’m talking about you Proton. no matter fancy you came out. pls be pratical ..

give me a Forte? can u?

you want forte, go to KIA dealer not PROTON

• kronos (Member) on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:15 pm

maybe this can be a leap for proton to leave orthodox minded, no more outsider shell anymore, p/s perhaps proton can discuss with petronas about the engine…

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 15, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Rusman said,

Myvi and Viva both also designed by Italdesign Giugiaro for Daihatsu.

——————————————-

Owh Myvi and Viva also designed by Giugiaro ka?

Kahkahkah..kahkahkahkah

• ameer on Feb 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm

apa yang kita nak ialah kereta yang ada kualiti sesuai dengan harga yang kita bayar. malangnya kereta proton walaupun bagus tapi tak sebagus kereta import. sebab tu rakyat biasa macam saya ni rasa kereta proton overpriced. But it's ok, i know Proton can improve. sebenarnya saya lebih suka guna pengangkutan awam tetapi p'kutan awam di malaysia tak sebagus p'kutan awam di UK, jepun dan singapura. even para pelancong pun tak suka guna p'kutan awam kat malaysia. is this the kind of image we'd like to portray? i really dont know what the government is planning to improve public transport in malaysia. i just hope they're not sleeping on the job.

• hi hehe not bad.but when is this concept car are going to be produced?

i have a good news. you see my girlfriend's bro work with pproton and the WAJA LANCER (that's what he refers to the new waja replacement model)will be launched in september. and i'm still wondering whether to go for neo CPS or this WAJA LANCER

• Peaceaim on Feb 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Yes very good design. i cant see where the myvi looks come from. maybe we all get used myvi design language. anyhow the most important thing is, it's a hybrid. imagine on how long GM needs to develop Volt, can proton do it in shorter time? only a wishful thinking.

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:11 am

This concept car is ugly. A MyVi wannabe, hahaha. "Karma" law I guess.

• Rosmah on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:51 am

Looks like a JUARA!!!!

• Please Proton, Produce & sell this car for overseas market jer… Biar Malaysian telan air liur… btw they hv P2 wat..

Double standard for bank interest loan to P1 & P2 ?? so which company actually protected by Gov. ?? Its NAP working well ???

• ikramfender on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:32 am

proton car but design by italiano? so proton designer team only sit around? or maybe got other important job waiting in the line

• mu_77 on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:43 am

Honestly, do u think because of proton, its more affordable to buy a car? Otherwise, Proton made other cars more expensive..Shame.

• that's a great design for better futuristic concept car…i like to see more new design of Proton's cars..

• rteha.. on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm

ha h

• staff on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm

car price is higher just bcoz of Proton only?

HAHAHA….

blame Proton for own incompetency…. Shame

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:48 am

staff said,

February 16, 2010 @ 2:15 pm

It's actually easy to educate stupid people.

But its way impossible to educate "ignorant" like you.

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:57 am

Sell this model in international market!!!!dun sell in Malaysia….people juz noe how to complain here =D…hope that one day proton stop depending on local market and juz sell car outside Mlaysia…juz let the locals drive P2 cap ayam….

• staff on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:23 am

SY0H,

i am no ignorant… in fact, i am aware of this tax system in our country… but, it has been your choice to stay as you are and unable to get what u want…

so… why keep mumbling on something that we may not be able to change, i mean the tax system… it is better, to change yourself, rather than blaming others… work harder, find better paid job…

• JACK HAMMER on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:32 am

SY0H said,

February 15, 2010 @ 9:11 pm

This concept car is ugly. A MyVi wannabe, hahaha. “Karma” law I guess.

myvi wannabe????? WTF!!!!!

seriously, r u really think this car looked like a myvi??? a perodua myvi??? perodua 'toad'???

damn… u really need to check yur eyes lar…

ugly?? yup, myvi is ugly indeed..

yur fellow basher said that the car look like juara & savvy also..

hmmmm.. i think basher really had a trouble wit their eyes..

cross-eyed mybe???

• Tiadaid on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:53 am

SY0H said,

February 16, 2010 @ 4:48 pm

staff said,

February 16, 2010 @ 2:15 pm

It’s actually easy to educate stupid people.

But its way impossible to educate “ignorant” like you.

—————————

Well, you're the ignorant one. He's right you know. It's not just because of P1. P2's also the "cause" of expensive cars, as well as Naza and Inokom. Though I don't see how cheap cars can solve problems. There's too many cars on the road as it is now…

• Peter on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

This car is a nice design car….But Proton is very famous for its poor QC and also poor assembly….Perodua who is also very bad as well…..Now even if the car is nicely built, there will still be quality check problems………What about the engine? Since it is hybrid? I forsee the reliability of this car! My view of this car: Nice efforts, Proton….But sorry, NO-NO for me!

• lalahula on Feb 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm

proton going to geneva? for what? try to show off?

better think and solve current problem..malaysian are still suffering with the quality of national car

• ikrmfender on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:03 pm

i think people who says this car look like myvi because

1) got 4 wheel = like myvi

2) got 4 doors = like myvi

3) got side mirrors = like myvi

design wise,still not the same, better get your eyes checked

• used non national ca on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:44 pm

A nice looking car.

Proud that Malaysian is capable of producing such design.

Hope that the quality and material used will match up with the design.

Not likely though as Proton need to keep their price within certain range.

Exora is an example.

• Tengokaje.. on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:06 am

Cool looking car. Hopefully the quality will match the design if this concept car go to production. Remember P1, do not compromise with quality in your production in each and every part of the car. Good luck.

Salam..

• pliz..proton don't make a hatchback car….it's already own by perodua….i buy proton only because it has sedan and sedan is more for a single unmarried boy than hatchback which is more for lady or family

• lalahula said,

February 17, 2010 @ 8:01 am

proton going to geneva? for what? try to show off?

better think and solve current problem..malaysian are still suffering with the quality of national car

—————————————————————-

so why u go to jamban?to show off?hahahaha.. katak bawah tempurung la ko nie… tak da vision langsung.

• lorrr front look like my cat…huhuhuhu…proton we need more aggresive and sportier looks!! plzzzz

• dinamytho on Feb 20, 2010 at 5:57 am

looks like mitsubishi i 5 door..but nice.

good luck for proton..

• haha..many malaysian dont like thier own product go out side and keep said no good, no brand, no quality..thx to japanese cz brain wash all the malaysian with thier idealogy..huahuahua..hait!

• looksmart on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:24 pm

cmon la, it's been 25,000 years and that's the best potong can do?

Just name it PROTON GIARO since its giugiaro design & potong pay

• Gugur Daun on Feb 20, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Competition is good.

Masih ingat semasa zaman monopoli proton, dengan perlindungan kerajaan dan tiada sangat saingan. Apa yang diorang buat? buat dono dan bodoh sombong.

Sekarang, setelah tercekik dengan banyaknya saingan, barulah terhegeh-hegeh nak menambat semula hati pelanggan. Untung Proton ada fanboys yang sentiasa menyokong walau sebodoh mana pun tindakan yang diambil. Tapi kalau Proton masih perasan yang mereka bagus, sejarah akan berulang bila mereka di atas.

Competition is definitely good.

• FaredSYGPROTON on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:56 am

Gugur Daun said,

February 20, 2010 @ 2:43 pm

Competition is good.

Masih ingat semasa zaman monopoli proton, dengan perlindungan kerajaan dan tiada sangat saingan. Apa yang diorang buat? buat dono dan bodoh sombong.

Sekarang, setelah tercekik dengan banyaknya saingan, barulah terhegeh-hegeh nak menambat semula hati pelanggan. Untung Proton ada fanboys yang sentiasa menyokong walau sebodoh mana pun tindakan yang diambil. Tapi kalau Proton masih perasan yang mereka bagus, sejarah akan berulang bila mereka di atas.

Competition is definitely good.

—————————————————————–

totally agree wif u!!!!

I used to hate proton for their old models like wira and iswara….those cars r lacks of quality and outdated…but now proton is getting better and they are working hard to redeem their mistakes…thnx 4 d competition..although diz is hurt, but i had to admit that we also need to thnk P2 for teaching P1 a lesson…

• r u kidding? still learning how to run yet they wanna fly….

our own p1 designer dunno how to design meh?

wasting taxpayer money.

• staff on Feb 23, 2010 at 1:07 am

f1…

why tax payer?

you think proton designer are paid by your money ka?

dont perasan too much la…

• Tahniah proton kerana buat kerja dan teruskan berkerja.

• Rusman on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:30 pm

For those ignoramus info, P2 Myvi and Viva were both designed by Italdesign giugiaro but not for P2 but for Toyota/Daihatsu. In case of Myvi,its Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Sirion.

If Toyota IQ can become Aston Martin Cygnet, why should not PROTON EMAS concept cars become Lotus or other OEMs for EU and USA markets.

If PETRONAS managed by Malaysians can be a major global player in oil and gas, why cannot we support PROTON to be a global player in automotive world.

Go for it PROTON, just make sure quality at par with major OEMs.Ignored those defeatists who know little about cars.

• jishak2004 on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Sometimes I really don't understand. When Proton tries to initiate something good for it's future, there are still people who will try to find something to downplay these initiatives. On the other hand when Kia revamps it design direction, most people was wowed by the bold move and even suggested that Proton follow Kia's path.

I'm not a Proton fan or anything coz I too have my share of bad experiences being a Proton car owner, but I do believe that when someone is trying to something good, we should give credit where credit is due. Constantly being negative, giving destructive criticism and undermining good intentions are not going to bring anybody any good…. let's just be rational and objective rather then being a clairvoyant of gloom….

• Jimmy on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Look good