2011 Lotus Elise revealed ahead of Geneva debut

Advertisement

Lotus has decided to give the Elise a facelift and this is the final product. Lets go over the key changes in regards to the design. The most significant change is the new headlight design which is part of a revised front fascia. The headlights are now combined with LED daytime running lights and LED direction indicators.

Over at the rear, the vents which were placed at the side of the outer taillights in the previous version have been removed. The rear bumper has been restyled and there is also a new engine cover.

The Elise’s aerodynamics efficiency has been improved as well, by 4%. There are also new alloy wheels. The company also revealed that it has increased the Elise’s warranty period from 2 years to 3 years and 36,000 miles.

All three engines offered with the Elise now output lesser emissions. The 136 PS 1.6 litre outputs 155 grams of CO2 emissions per kilometer followed by the 192 PS 1.8 litre with 196 grams and lastly the 220 PS supercharged 1.8 litre with 199 grams. The above mentioned 1.6 litre powerplant is a new entry-level unit and it features Valvematic and Dual VVT-I technologies.

Other upgrades include a new 6-speed close ratio gearbox and the availability of cruise control which is part of the Touring Pack. Potential buyers will also be able to open the rear boot from the interior instead of making do with a separate key.

You can check out more images after the jump together with a detailed press release with more technical details on the new Elise.

2011-lotus-elise-5
2011-lotus-elise-1
2011-lotus-elise-7
2011-lotus-elise-6
2011-lotus-elise-3
2011-lotus-elise-9
2011-lotus-elise-11
2011-lotus-elise-4
2011-lotus-elise-10
2011-lotus-elise-8
2011-lotus-elise-2

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring TV programme and as our version of the Joker.

1. Rosmah says:

1st!

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. MADBOY says:

The above mentioned 1.6 liter powerplant is a new entry-level unit and it features Valvematic and Dual VVT-I technologies.

————–

First I tot they are putting campro CPS into the elise….LOL

3. tanasi says:

sigh the elise has grown in both size and weight since the mark1. i am also quite sure that the suspension has been revised a bit to maintain the agility of the original elise. heard that danny bahar isn't exactly a fan of small sports cars, coming from the Ferrari stable – so this is maybe the last installation of elise.

4. vbkcheng says:

I feel the 2nd generation Elise is much more pretty…

5. kigabex says:

haha..! 1st!! coooolll carrr~~~

6. max says:

why proton cannot use lotus engines for local proton cars?..are they expensive? they dont have to spend for R&D coz it is stated that lotus come swith 1.6,1.8 engines and it is also supercharged..

7. ELi says:

Hmmmm..

minor change if ur looking in my point of view..

but @ the head on picture I think elise got some aggresive headlamp~

a bit evora que @ front..

HEY~ if it not broken y fix it.. rite?

BTW… love that orange color..

8. NiceCar says:

I still prefer the previous version of Elise.

For the new engine, is it from Toyota?

9. KitKat says:

Baby Ferarri California!!!

10. FaredSYGPROTON says:

1st!!!!

11. theanswer says:

the front looks nice and a bit tame..but the rear boring already..

12. malaysia memang bole says:

overall i really this new design

but those weird side mirror really irritates me

13. malaysia memang bole says:

i meant i really love this new design

14. malaysia memang bole says:

1.6 engine?

wow,is it from proton's campro

15. bem69 says:

Time to sing Negaraku

16. FaredSYGPROTON says:

nice..looks like lotus has started to simplified their models…nice one…it resembles the cute evora

17. hashiriya says:

Nice new facelift

18. lo says:

i dont like the soften look of the elise. maybe i prefer the vents to be in this car. it looks too clean.

19. subhero says:

im 1st again?..

cool CNY..

20. mu_77 says:

First! Good power for such a small sports car…. Nice facelift too.. Wonder how much in RM?

21. subhero says:

semua cantik.. rim je banggang design.. whos the designer?.. pick me up.. call me..012-8888888

22. aksMs says:

Pretty much the same lah…but the front look, reminded me of when I look at a fish inside of an aquarium. Hehe…

23. BASHERking says:

Well,no doubt 4 LOTUS…they r expert…

24. Mazda 3 MPS says:

boring ugly car

25. dejavu says:

No doubts in tis baby's handling.

But isnt d Elise like 10yrs ol (current head lamps aside) already?

26. dan says:

not much different…same shit all over again sigh~

tsk tsk tsk lotus….

27. chyan says:

I kinda like it.

Design is just ported off the Evora. :D

28. zaff1984 says:

mmm…. dont know what to say. kind in a middle…. like it or dont like it….

29. khaix19a says:

every body using daytime LED now….

its like a fever something….

cool facelift by the way…

30. corolla_KE70 says:

cool and cute lotus !!

31. Imran says:

Hows the interior?

32. Gajen says:

nice…!

33. ikus says:

i prefer the old design headlamps. I don't really like the rear diffuser design…

the front grille is much like the peugeot 407 grille

34. taboogen says:

wow… I like the front view. garang but look like blow fish lah

35. Lancermania says:

look like the tesla roadster…

36. Tariq says:

Beautiful

37. Tariq says:

Unfortunately, Roger Becker has retired. So will that affect this new car? Because I doubt Lotus will remain Lotus without him

38. thgh says:

hmm…. quite nice

39. DtG says:

the headlights now make it look like the ferrari california from a certain angle…

40. ben says:

the front lights are like the ones from the ferrari california

41. Wan says:

The front very similar to Ferrari California.

42. CarMusuem says:

the front look like Ferrari Califonia…

43. clone says:

nicely done.

44. hiruma kecil says:

1.6.. wah.. can used this engine to proton car..

45. ago87 says:

Headlights are from Ferrari California….Right?

46. Fie says:

tired already of the sme design of lotus elite..and being facelifed over n over again..

can't they make a new 'mouth-watering' design?

(borrow paul's words) =P

47. namerku says:

all lotus design..kinda same each model..maybe lotus wanna show they own image..or maybe they need a new designer…haha

48. vlwh says:

nice :)

hope there will be a new exige

49. q says:

proton…always know facelift only…

when they wan to be adult ah?

50. tikfido says:

now this is called facelift

51. bohpee says:

It's looks like Ferrari California.. anybody who can't afford a California should buy this Elise!!

52. Yap says:

juz like a fish

53. Altezzar says:

dual vvti…..valvematic…sounds like from toyota

54. rageaccel2 says:

prefer exige more..

55. satukereta says:

i dont see much differences in this model compare to the earlier models…. sama aja!

56. pacifictuna says:

max said,

February 17, 2010 @ 2:42 pm

why proton cannot use lotus engines for local proton cars?..are they expensive? they dont have to spend for R&D coz it is stated that lotus come swith 1.6,1.8 engines and it is also supercharged..

lotus have been using third party's engine for their lineup for quite sometime. proton won't use them, they are toyota's………

57. ali bin abu ahmad says:

Oh finally… finally.. after years of facelift, finally Lotus dropped their 4 peanuts eyes! Wooo~

58. skiborne says:

is this second lotus with auto transmission? after lotus esprit V8? it could be auto because it was mentioned that it had cruise control. how could manual be having this feature.

59. mct says:

dun be silly~~ the 1.6L engine is the latest engine from toyota , code name 1ZR-FAE . 1.8 is still the old VVTL-I unit from toyota as well …

60. sam says:

still never change the design..haiz..! out date la~the lotus design is out ready…upgrade please…

61. sam says:

especially the tail lamp…my god..! over 5-7 years still round lamp..! what the lotus designer thinking..

62. transformer says:

How many would buy if a turbo charged campro mounted in one ??

Or even twin charged, any taker ? ?

If i'm not mistaken, previously Elise has Rover engine before, later using Toyota series… but Campro… tunggu lama-lama laaa….

63. nmh says:

Engine sourced from Toyota, fine to me, hope not came along with the pedal

64. Alma says:

Looks damn ganas, but the front look a bit TOO smiley, like those Mazda cars…

65. mu77 says:

sam said,

February 18, 2010 @ 12:44 am

especially the tail lamp…my god..! over 5-7 years still round lamp..! what the lotus designer thinking..

Bro, u see fellali also round lamp mah..where got outdated, just see if the round lamp is special or not eg. LED circle etc..

66. wakaka says:

q said,

February 17, 2010 @ 8:15 pm

proton…always know facelift only…

when they wan to be adult ah?

————————————

tot myvi alwiz do faceliftt..

67. nipponsucks says:

engine sourced from Toyota again WTF !

LOTUS should considers utilizing BMW/Prince engine instead!

68. sam says:

mu77 said,

February 18, 2010 @ 11:15 am

Bro, u see fellali also round lamp mah..where got outdated, just see if the round lamp is special or not eg. LED circle etc..

Bro, Ferrari is using round lamp, but already change to 1 round lamp & also the design has change lot of that..~you try to check it up the last design & passed design, still is same.! every part including the front bonnet, rear & side…….must improve. now's 21 century…if not changes, maybe will like 12 years history of proton wira. think positive & make a change

69. sam says:

[IMG Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

70. sam says:

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Negaraku will be played if Lotus Racing wins a race!
Next Story: Bentley reveals the 4-seater Continental Supersports Convertible