Volkswagen reveals the 178hp Polo GTi!

Volkswagen has finally unwrapped the all new Polo GTi. This high-performance Polo has a supercharged 1.4 litre TSI engine under its hood which is able to crank out 178hp at 6,200 revs and 249Nm of torque from as low as 2,000 revs.

This enables the mini GTi to hit 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds and it will continue till it reaches 225 km/h. That’s actually pretty decent as anything below 8 seconds starts getting fun. Fuel consumption is figured at 47 mpg on a combined cycle.

The engine in paired with the company’s 7-speed dual-clutch transmission, fondly known as DSG. The hot super mini also has an XDS electronic differential system which is part of the standard ESP system. The Polo GTi is treated to new springs and dampers which bring the hatch lower by 15 mm.

Exterior wise it has a honeycomb grille with red strips, a subtle bodykit, new headlights with the option to add LED daytime running lights and a pair of chrome-tipped exhaust pipes at the back. It sits on 17-inch alloy wheels which are also found on the Golf GTi.

Inside you will find a flat-bottomed steering wheel with paddle shifters, aluminium pedals, front sports seats finished in tartan trim, gloss black trim on the centre console as well as a black headliner.

Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=847]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• FIRST!

Any indication of wether it will be brought into malaysia paul? and will the price range be in the 13xk range agfain?? = D

• Paul Tan on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm

We'll probably get it here in malaysia, but its still too early to talk about prices for now.

• pologti on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm

130k is a bargain for this hp ^^

• littlefire on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Well, i think it look even better than the current Golf-Gti..

If i want to choose, i would rather take this or the sirocco if i am rich… hehe

• Sparks on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

1.4l, definitely cheaper than the Scirocco 1.4 that's probably due to come too. Maybe about 110k?

• Geoff on Feb 18, 2010 at 10:46 pm

RM150k mark would be reasonable for this kind of performance. Anything under that would make it a bargain.

• Really not bad, i really like the front LED Light, is look great, sadly did not come together with the current gti n scirocco. If the scirocco 1.4 i coming in, i believe will be a great hit, since is look great.

• Amiran on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Nice 2 C nice 2 hold, but remember, can easily broken…

• amirad on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:32 pm

If the price difference is only RM50k compared to a golf GTi, might as well get the golf. Somehow I feel the car would be an ideal choice for those who oredi have big camrys and accords in their garages but somehow long for that driving excitement. If the car is priced around RM130k that's it I'm selling my grandma for this car.

• droll on Feb 18, 2010 at 11:54 pm

very nice!!! i'm guessing it shouldn't be too different from the current polo gti price range. maybe a slight increase to around 150k. for performance which is on-par with the golf gti, this'll be a good buy. plus, it'll be interesting to see what an ECU remap can do to this little giant killer!

vw finally realized that it's better to re-use parts from other cars. the current polo gti has a weird rim size that makes it so difficult to find an aftermarket unit.

• barca on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:16 am

this is crazy, isn't it?

with a funky choice of tartan/kain pelikat-like seats, no-nonsense styling at all angles….AND the car still has that "delicious factor".

if VW thinks of selling this like hot cakes and to effectively knock off class competitors, price IS the only factor.

• droll on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:32 am

for people who love to drive, this is the car for you.

• hope price is around 110 – 130k

i targeting it for my next car

• First my A** on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:44 am

VW should make the Polo R… now THAT would be awesome!

• klaka seram on Feb 19, 2010 at 12:53 am

I think the price will be around RM150k

This is good option if VGM refuse to bring in golf 1.4TSI

• Tezza on Feb 19, 2010 at 1:00 am

It's looks even better than the golf gti from the rear end..muscular fascination..

• mr_3m on Feb 19, 2010 at 4:28 am

I WANTTTT ONNEEE!!!!!

VW M'sia… pls priced this car between:

Swift Sport RM99-101k

and

Alfa Mito 1.4T RM153,888

you get the old Polo GTi price @RM138,888

Come one, VW M'sia… be brave and thin out the margin… you POTENTIALLY have a real bestseller in your hand to sell this time… this Polo hv the potential to be a cult (mini)hot-hatch in the spirit of the TX3 and Mazda 323 of the 80s… assuming this car will handle as good as the Golf GTi that is… it will then be a foregone conclusion…

the ball is in your court, VW!!!

If you don't… I will hv to opt for the Focus TDCi lah… the next best Euro-hatch @RM130k ish

• droll on Feb 19, 2010 at 5:36 am

honestly, even at RM150k, which is a 11k premium over the old price, it would still be a very compelling buy. rm11k is worth it if this car lives up to its specs on paper.

• droll on Feb 19, 2010 at 5:37 am

what remains to be seen is the specifications / equipment that you get with the version of this car that vw will bring into m'sia…..

• I think the price range is RM145k++.

• bohpee on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:45 am

I want it!!

• Triple A on Feb 19, 2010 at 7:59 am

Dream on-lah! The price will never dip below RM140k! if that's the case, more biz for focus/fiesta-lah!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:47 am

lovely car…but i prefer ibiza

• klaka seram on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:54 am

Dear VGM,

On behalf of my friends I would like to appeal to you to bring this car to Malaysia. We have been waiting for this kind of car for ages. I am very sure that this model will be your best selling model. And please price it reasonably, as we Malaysian are generally cant afford car beyond RM150k.

Your kind consideration is very much appreciated.

Thank you.

Your truly VW fan,

klaka seram

• shoon1983 on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:46 am

Only 2 doors?

I thought the old Polo GTI sold in Malaysia has 4 doors. Or am i mistaken?

Nevertheless, this is a great looking car, much much nicer than the old Polo GTI. despite a 1.4, it can still do such quick sprint and high top speed. salute~~

• 1.4 produces 178hp!! really awesome!!… Simply remove my 1st choice.. Hopefully VGM really play their part to ensure customer satisfaction before and after purchase this rocket pocket.

• would like to have the Golf 1.4 TSI MK VI.

Taken ride in Golf 1.4TSI MK V. Love the pulling power. Low fuel consumption.

• mr_3m on Feb 19, 2010 at 6:46 pm

klaka seram,

u better get the signatures and a petition sent to VW… who knows after that u can start a Polo GTi Owners Club too… I hv a feeling this car is more in spirit to the original Golf GTi (in size, if not price) than the current Golf itself that hv grown over the last 3 decades… imagine the original Mk1 Golf GTi is less than a 1000kg, nowadays with all the safety requirements, its more like 1300-1400kg…

• Anoynymous on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Can think of it if its price is around RM130k to RM150k when it arrives to our shore.

• klaka seram on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm

mr_3m,

I agree with you that this new generation Polo GTi is reminiscent of Mk2. Small yet powerful. Can't wait to test drive one :)

• Sparks on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:31 pm

It will be Civic's price.

• Gajen on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:44 pm

ill take this to the golf gti….looks better…as fast as…better fuel consumption

• Ordinary Joe on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Nice car, good performance figures, but its just too 'cute' for my liking…

• why the same rim ? why ? 16" enough la..

• i think a stage 1 rechip will be able to bump power up to 200hp. for a sub 1 ton car, with DSG….madness!

let's not forget that the previous polo was priced only at 13x, and was at one time discounted to 9xk!!

• klaka seram on Feb 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

RM130k price will be a good dream, but I think VGM will put it almost RM150k

let's pray

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Paul,

1.4TSI is supercharged??

I have known about VW 1.4TSI got 2 variants, one is just have turbo only and the other is twincharger (supercharge+turbo), but i never heard 1.4TSI got supercharge version.

• klaka seram on Feb 23, 2010 at 8:39 am

I think it's refer to twincharger

• Wow! Fantastic car!!

• This sure is one lil GTI fast bitch…

• why Volks Malaysia brought in the Polo GTI without 7 Speed DSG.

i'll pass tis. 133k w/o DSG. tat's sux.

• Nice little monster :) fast but save fuel!i like it!

• taxman on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:51 pm

For 1.4, lower tax bracket, so should be able to price even <100k. Only trouble is proton may complain. Let's hope AP system abolished then lots of parallel imports will drive price down, and consumers benefit. Otherwise let's all vote opposition :-)

• rosdi on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Yes VeeDub… bring this to Malaysia now!….. Golf GTI is way too expensive… price this Polo GTI below 150K and this will be a best seller!

• borres on Aug 09, 2010 at 2:48 pm

ok now. a polo for 108k.
    a golf for 150k.
    the price of this polo gti should be in the range btw these two price right?

140k is my target price. if cheaper than better!!!

• gimmeone on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm

yes ! finally a 140 k car with dsg and 160+ HP. now all the swifts and other modded myvi’s are going to be sitting in the dusty corner. : D

• rosdi on Sep 25, 2010 at 11:50 pm

The price is RM128,888 lah…

• VW fan on Oct 23, 2010 at 11:32 am

128k??? What are u referring to?

• rosdi on Oct 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Forgot where I get that price. But I am referring to Polo GTI, the estimated price is RM128,888. Ameen…., repeat after me.., ameen…..

• stevencbk on Oct 23, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Recent updates from VGM:

RM 128, 888k.

Start shipping around FEB-MAR 2011.

• RM 128, 888k.

Wow nice!

• I notice most of VW car price have no 8888 :)

• hafiz on Jan 10, 2011 at 11:55 pm

HELP GUYS ! I’m contemplating on whether to get the golf1.4TSI or this polo GTI. should i wait for this baby to arrive? or should i just get the golf now? Any suggestions?

• go for polo gti.. i have the same delima but i already placed my booking for the upcoming polo gti.. which will be arriving in malaysia this coming Jun they have both 3 n 5 doors RM128k/RM132k

• wait for the Polo Gti first…bcoz i heard from other ppl that it might be a 3 door instead of 5 :)

• wait for the Polo Gti,might be a 3 door instead of 5 :)

• Zamani on Feb 27, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Hey volks, to be so proud that to annouce that I the 1st person in klang valley book this car for 3 door version, the price aroud 130k, for the first batch we can request for any standard german specs which is dsg7, rdc 510, sun roof(if im not mistaken), and any rare fancy colour other than red tornado for standard gti family, who take for 2nd batch is already standardize to 2-3 colour, and no more modification allow, I do have conversation with gm marketing vgm that car will arrive on Q2 2011 and lunch on Q3 2011 which on octorber, stay calm, dont get rush, book now.. I’ll see u all on octorber, cheers volks..

• diablo on Mar 01, 2011 at 10:20 pm

you mean the booking for polo gti is open for us?
      is the 5 door version available?

• Zamani on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Hey Volks…

Yes 5 doors Polo GTI is available, and i like to give additional information that, Polo GTI is lunch together with Golf R and Scirocco R, i have spoke with GM Marketing VGM that the car arrive in malaysia is on Q2 2011 with 2 version which is 3 doors and 5 doors, and i asked him why lunch on Q3 October?, he said that because inspection by the customs Malaysian, and please pray hard all, if the tax include the original price is over than RM140k-RM150k volkswagen malaysia would not sell it on malaysia.. Please pray hard, hopefully malaysia customs is not putting tax too much on this car.
        Pray hard.. Stay calm…

Cheers Volks..

• Zamani, who/where did you book from? Mind to share the contact? Also, could you elaborate more on “can request for any German specs for the first batch”?? Where did hear about this and how true is it?

Rgrd,

• diablo on Apr 28, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Already launched in singapore. when is our turn?

• Kevin on May 13, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Yes, taking orders now. The full specs will cost around S$10k more but the heavy and hot panaramic sunroof is standard which cannot be removed from the order. Total comes up to S$86k before our COE is included.

• Hey guys,

Visited VW Bangsar, polo gti will be coming in Sept/Oct 2011 with price estimated from 130 – 136k. Prior booking can be done here… :)

• airness on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:53 pm

My next car!

• Iskandar on Aug 18, 2011 at 4:10 pm

will come with 180bhp and uses 95RON.