Akio Toyoda to “testify” at US Congress hearing on sticky accelerator recall issue

Akio Toyoda to “testify” at US Congress hearing on sticky accelerator recall issueAs if he has not enough problems on his plate, Akio Toyoda, president of Toyota, will now fly to the US to attend a hearing of the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform on February 24 titled, “Toyota Gas Pedals: Is the Public At Risk?”. Toyoda, grandson of the brand’s founder, probably did not have much choice as he was formally invited (more like summoned) to America by Chairman Edolphus “Ed” Towns.

In the invite to Toyoda, Towns wrote: “There appears to be growing public confusion regarding which vehicles may be affected and how people should respond. In short, the public is unsure as to what exactly the problem is, whether it is safe to drive their cars, or what they should do about it. To help clarify this situation, I am inviting you to testify.

“You may submit written testimony for the record, of any reasonable length. In addition to your written testimony, you should be prepared to provide a five minute opening statement and answer questions posed by Members of the Committee.”

Sounds like a grilling in store, but Toyoda is not shrking off the responsibility and will “stand in the dock”. “I look forward to speaking directly with Congress and the American people,” the TMC president answered.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:19 pm

stupid americans…its ur driving that sucks…not the car

• l3 l i t z on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Americans just want to draw attention away from the [failing] u.s. branded cars, so that people will stay away from toyota and instead buy their cars. ;]

• l3 l i t z on Feb 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Next up, Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohd Tahir -cordially invited to aid investigations into Proton's power window problems

• Jeffrey Chew on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Politics! It is shame that GM turns back to a baby, need US government to take care and playing dirty tricks!

• Jeffrey Chew on Feb 19, 2010 at 9:58 pm

M'sia should file a hearing to Proton too, "Proton Power Window, is it public & environmental at risk?"

Risk,

1.) Unable to get fresh air, die die must use aircon.

2.) Aircon increase emission, bad for enviroment.

3.) Aircon increase fuel consumptions, gov. require to pay more fuel subsidy. Increase world petrol demands, lead to petrol price hike.

4.) Unable to pay cash/touch n go at toll, need to use Smart Tag, increase burden to all the Proton owners.

5.) Require to open the doors to get fresh air while car in still condition, with engine off. High risk to get hijack or robbed.

Any more?

• trav_da_man on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:02 pm

That the end of toyota in US. Perhaps next the US gov will hit on Hyundai or Honda as well.

Luckily however Toyota is doing fine in Asia and Japan.

• mynuszero on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

american's now got a good excuse to kill off toyota….thats why they are turning this issue into the trail of the century….killing american's confidence in the japanese brand while in the same time rushing to come out with all the american Hybrid this and that…..lets see if they succeed.

• Gajen on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm

l3 l i t z said,

February 19, 2010 @ 12:21 pm

Americans just want to draw attention away from the [failing] u.s. branded cars, so that people will stay away from toyota and instead buy their cars. ;]

true

• staff on Feb 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

bashers minded… Only berani mumbling and shouting in internet only… in reality, coward…

Go to Tribunal pengguna la… big L…

• ihatekiasu on Feb 19, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Proton Power Window?

Honda Power Window oso problem maa…

Volvo oso got window problem…

Toyota, just go to hell!

• i think peroduag is more dangerous than protong. peroduag should provide answer to us why did peroduag makes tin milo cars. from kancil to viva, myvi and some say alza too is a tin milo car. personally, protong cars are much safer than peroduag.

• however, peroduag strong selling points is their so called toyota DNA fuel efficient engine. protong…. in the other hand lacks QC, reliability and a fuel efficient engine.

• whatabout our own p2 tin milo?

• Anymore? you should write a book on 'what to do when power windows failed for dummies'

• I remember reading an article about an interview with Akio Toyoda. In short he wants to bring sexy to Toyota. He said 'we got reliability,…', well that's pretty much it. Now the brand reliability has come into question. It might just distract Akio from his effort to bring sexy to Toyota (he championed the LFA project, reportedly). Although, it may well be that Toyota will be damn reliable from now on.

I don't agree with conspiracy theorist here. The fact is, in the US, from what I have gathered, Toyota was pretty cozy with the govt. Hell, they brought a lot of jobs, espcially to the south, e.g. Alabama. And their fuel efficient cars are darlings of the media. The truth is they got complacent, and sacrifice quality (though not intentionally) to beat GM as the world largest carmaker. Even Akio Toyoda admits this. The whole furore stems from the fact that Toyota is slow to act, dismissing earlier complaints and when they finally act, they blame it on the carpet. It takes the chilling phone call recording of the panicking (and now very dead) driver of a runaway Lexus to finally jolt NTHSA to turn the screw on Toyota. But once Toyota gets under the microscope, other complaints on other models come to light, e.g. Prius and Corolla. That's what media attention does.

If Proton have to answer to a hearing, I would like to know why they knowingly put unsafe cars on the road. I'm talking about substandard chassis (safety cell) which does not protect occupants in an accidents, substandard brakes on Wiras esp. in wet conditions. Safety is a right, not a luxury. Even if malaysians does not know it yet. I also wahts to know why they spent money on R&Ds for the Campro when the already have the Petronas developed engines. Also, I want them to publish reports on how they spent they government grants, in detail.

• ihatekiasu on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:25 am

why blame P1 & P2 to for the errors made by Toyota?

come on la bashers, support Toyota means all of u will be R.I.P!

• Mysticmind on Feb 20, 2010 at 12:49 am

please die toyota..

for the sake of human being.

hahaha

• Toyota will not die and that is the fact.

Do you think people are just going to give up buying toyota?

In another 3 mths all this will be forgotten. But Toyota will never

forget as it has scarred them for life. The best part of it all Toyota

will be very very careful from now on and for consumer it is a good thing.

This fiasco will only make Toyota stonger…. Remeber Kaizen…

• ihatekiasu on Feb 20, 2010 at 2:13 am

Due to Camry & Corolla issue, why P1 so late to response? Pls take advantage la P1, where is ur so called Waja Replacement Model? Hurry up la dude, makan gaji buta kah? Lembab nak mamposss!

• There's no conspiracy. the US govt has given Toyota a few years to look into these issues but Toyota didn't give a damn. When the time ran out, the US govt had to take action. It's not a sudden thing. Toyota's problems in the US started even before the US automakers were in trouble, but the US govt gave them chances to fix the problems. Toyota didn't, and now we're seeing the consequence.

• ihatekiasu said,

February 19, 2010 @ 6:13 pm

Due to Camry & Corolla issue, why P1 so late to response? Pls take advantage la P1, where is ur so called Waja Replacement Model? Hurry up la dude, makan gaji buta kah? Lembab nak mamposss!

————————————————————–

The problem now is about Toyota not P1,why getting emotional, so now u're having proplems too,I'm SURE our LOCAL TOYOTA too have problems,but owners don't know or NOT BOTHERED to complaint , even my friends Altis have this sticky pedal issues,but too Malu to complaint…

• staff on Feb 20, 2010 at 4:59 am

to MK,

Petronas engine is costly to be mass pro… thats it… RM/engine is very high and may not affordable to the general public. If you are in the Manufacturing field, than you know how important of this cost/pc… RM1/pc makes a lot of different.

I know this coz i got first hand info… no further Q will ya?

and for the grant spending… when you were a student, did your lecturer share with you how they spend the grant given by Govt? NO, isnt it? they only report it to the Govt.. not the masses… even the grant still ppl's money aka tax money…

• hiyoo MK, you talk like prime minister laa.. i want this, i want that. can become true or not when write want we want on paultan? .. i also want to say i want free camry one (i dont want american one, i want malaysian one, malaysian version always problem free maa..2 MP almost die in camry also never call toyota ceo come to testify… coz in malaysia, if everything go wrong, its the gov fault maa, if success, than thats my own effort, nothing to do with gov.)

• peYno on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

i'm waiting p2 recall on power window SWITCH problem.. this is happen for new/current model viva and Myvi… so p2 MUST do RECALL

unlike p1… power window was in history during waja and gen2 era.. and not many on the road anymore…

prrrrfthhh

• peYno on Feb 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm

Jeffrey Chew said,

February 19, 2010 @ 1:58 pm

M’sia should file a hearing to Proton too, “Proton Power Window, is it public & environmental at risk?”

Risk,

1.) Unable to get fresh air, die die must use aircon.

2.) Aircon increase emission, bad for enviroment.

3.) Aircon increase fuel consumptions, gov. require to pay more fuel subsidy. Increase world petrol demands, lead to petrol price hike.

4.) Unable to pay cash/touch n go at toll, need to use Smart Tag, increase burden to all the Proton owners.

5.) Require to open the doors to get fresh air while car in still condition, with engine off. High risk to get hijack or robbed.

Any more?

====

i think u r kinda outdated ppl…

the above mentioned recently occur to p2 myvi and viva car.. (infamous POWER WINDOW SWITCHING problem)

prrrfthhhh

• peyno, even this problem still outdated.. but we still have to paid our car loan for next 4-5 year more..so we hope our car in good condition la…don't want car that only can user for warranty period only…things like power window switch should lasting forever..just like our home lamp switch..problem free ma..

• littlefire on Feb 20, 2010 at 8:45 pm

I am writing for all Proton Exora owners regarding of the engine burn smell…

Have seen a few exora in service center, finding the source of engine burn smell… Even some chinese owner is cursing the service center for not finding the source in time before cny… Hahaha.. Say ppl, how about ur own?

• wakaka on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:41 am

littlefire, i think that burned smell prob was due to electronic circuitry board and if that happend than it is owner fault when they upgrade honk and amplifier. proton has announced this earlier(with memo) to SC. they put extra load to the system and the circuit cannot tahan to much current.

• wakaka on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:47 am

they said camry in malaysia not affected because we have different type of camry compare tu US. see, even camry they downgrade for our market. why not just use same model with RHD??

some stupid fellow want P1 do hearing about power window problem…to me it is just a not so intelligent idea..or the suggestor is stuipd n moron. i dont see sticky Pwr window is as much dengerous as sticky pedal..

• Littlefire on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:11 am

Hello, buddy the car just 3 days on the road, some more if extra accessory how come Proton say the car still in warranty? Should be kick out from Proton center.. If like this, than the electronic circuitry board must be very low quality which cannot put extra load?!? Gen.2 or Waja upgrade ICE also no problem, why Exora?!? Louzy excuse…

• This Ed fellar must be getting hell load of advantage for this whole drama, Korean brand will be the next one on chopping board, if this drama does not produce sounded result for its intended.

If the national car makers were to put bench for enquiry, first question for them will be "Why isn't all their cars equip with airbags in front?" The money granted for, was it not enough to cover the cost to install airbags to all their cars?

Any sort of safety campaigns will be a waste if the basic passive safety requirement for a modern car could deem not necessary because some national car makers think that they can not afford to includes the airbags for all their Malaysian customers. Irony.