BMW Performance kits for the BMW X6

The many BMW X6 owners here in Malaysia have something new to look forward to this year – new aesthetics and performance accessories from BMW Performance available for retrofit on their cars.

The aesthetics upgrade called the BMW Performance Aerodynamics Kit features a new front bumper, side sill, and an insert for the rear bumper. Optional are a rear spoiler, rear fins finished in matte black and a front grid finished in high-gloss black. The side view is enhanced by huge 21 inch BMW Performance light-alloy wheels with a Y-spoke design done in a twin-tone finish – a glossy outside surface and Ferric Grey paintwork between the rims.

BMW claims each wheel is about 1.5kg lighter than a conventional wheel of the same size thanks to special production methods. The wheels exact size s are 10Jx21 at the front with 285/35R21 tyros and 11.5Jx21 at the rear with 325/30R21 tyres. That’s bloody wide – its front wheels are wider than my 5-er’s 265 rear wheels! Finally, you can equip a sports exhaust system which features chrome-plated tailpipes which are lighter, reduce exhaust backpressure and offer a sportier sound.

The Performance Power Kit is available for the two petrol-powered versions of the X6. The xDrive35i engine’s output is increased from 306hp/400Nm up to 326hp/450Nm, which is equivalent to the Power Kit upgrade that we’ve seen on other models that are equipped with the N54 twin turbo engine. The xDrive50i model gets its 4.4 litre V8’s twin turbo engine boosted up by 41hp and 50Nm so post-upgrade it makes 448hp and 650Nm of torque. These power increases boost 0 to 100km/h acceleration time for both models by approximately 0.2 seconds.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=853]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• what a beauty ! im first :)

• endre on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:04 am

nice!

• neokid on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:12 am

expensive..somehow i'm not attracted to the x6..

same goes to the new up n comin 5 series..bummer..

• kodok on Feb 21, 2010 at 2:17 am

i hope im last!

• ugly bulky beast

• they are making the aggressive to become a beast.

• I'm stick to F10 or W212…prefer more of a family car instead of contractor's car…hehehe…

• niuhje on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:07 am

milk it baby…milk it!! d marketing ppl at bmw sure knows how to up-sell.

Sir, wld u like to supersize yr order of X6 for just rmxxxxx. hahahaha..

• very much like gen 2 …

• With the rear tayar so wide, be careful when driving i heavy rain……

I'm gonna kopek the rear spoiler and stick it to my Gen2…hehehe

• aki_zz on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:46 am

tyros=tyres?

• hahah on Feb 21, 2010 at 3:48 am

so damn expensive.. on that car price tag… i can get 1 unit BMW 5series unreg , 1unit BMW 7series '04 2nd hand and 1unit BMW 3 series '04 unreg.. and still got balance to buy pickup suv for site use… ces!

• tiger on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:17 am

Ultimate Road Bully Machine

• staff on Feb 21, 2010 at 4:19 am

this car is HUGE, man…

sometimes i dont know which segment they at… suv?

• mazdAstina on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:49 am

sweet!

• mazdAstina on Feb 21, 2010 at 5:53 am

sweet. . x6. Tell u guys a true story. A friend of mine saw this in pantai bangsar hospital a week back. She was amaze at how it looks that she nearly fell into the drain staring at this unit. I'll buy 1 if i had the dough.

• satukereta on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:00 am

big foot sports car? wider wheel ensures better stability in cornering?

• fuyo. laju nya katak ini.

• DiVo D27 (Member) on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:16 am

Bein de BesT BroTher in de X famiLy certainLy niD a BeaSty Dress-Up!

Wel STAFF, their knwn as SAC=Sports Activity CoUpe!

• kev said,

February 20, 2010 @ 7:20 pm

very much like gen 2 …

—————————

so true

• Jarum on Feb 21, 2010 at 8:11 am

Kev and AAK = retards!

Go get a life and then add a brain to it! :)

• Black Dog on Feb 21, 2010 at 9:04 am

UDM – Ultimate Driving Machine!

Who gives a damn about fuel consumption, road tax, insurance, tolls and summons when all it matters is who's sitting next to u….???

• nabill on Feb 21, 2010 at 10:08 am

ive seen few x6 on da road , it really does looks like a big giant Gen2 on the road,specially from the rear…

• 1st pic much like gen2..hahahah this bimmer got P1 DNA..hehehehh

• Heiki on Feb 21, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Sorry of topic..

Latest test result..

Unofficial Saturday times from Jerez:

1. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1:18.871, 108 Laps

2. Robert Kubica, Renault, 1:19.114, 117 Laps

3. Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber, 1:19.188, 117 Laps

4. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India, 1:19.650, 80 Laps

5. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP, 1:20.061, 130 Laps

6. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 1:20.436, 137 Laps

7. Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso, 1:21.053, 139 Laps

8. Mark Webber, Red Bull, 1:21.194, 88 Laps

9. Nico Hulkenberg, Williams, 1:21.919, 137 Laps

10. Timo Glock, Virgin, 1:22.433, 28 Laps

11. Jarno Trulli, Lotus, 1:23.470, 141 Laps

• meteoraniac on Feb 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm

how times have changed…. even bmw is copying our (proton) design

lol.. not serious

• only now they realize that gen2 design is so cool that they have to copy…haha

• tokmoh on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Makes me wonder… will brothers start making kits to make Gen2 look like X6? lol

• Jarum on Feb 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm

But it sure doesn't perform like a Gen2!

• I've seen a Satria trying to tapau this X6..haha..

it was so funny bcos the satria driver was trying SO hard and even had a dream to tapau this Ultimate Driving Machine..LOL

(the X6 driver also relaks je mcm drive nk pegi psar)

=P

• mu_77 on Feb 22, 2010 at 12:14 am

Gen 2 design on X6?? Where? Not even close. This is a BMW…Gen 2 not even a sniff at it!

• old timers on Feb 22, 2010 at 1:49 am

Gen 2 style..

PROTON AHEAD FROM BMWs DESIGNER

BMW designer sux ..

• old timers on Feb 22, 2010 at 1:53 am

then Gen 2 or Persona owners can imagine how to convert rear lamp into BMW rear lamp..haha

• azrai on Feb 22, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Copy Gen2 spoiler design.

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:27 pm

people who say this car copies proton design are sore losers

• The Royal Academy of on Feb 22, 2010 at 6:28 pm

wat proton design….u all retard ke?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 22, 2010 at 10:16 pm

G2 with a touch of Myvi…kah kah kah…

• pantat ayam on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:02 am

the ultimate brutal car…those who compare to gen2 or other malaysian makes are idiots…nuff said

• milanista on Feb 24, 2010 at 7:04 am

BMW pun tiru Proton, The End of days is coming.

• ganz (Member) on Feb 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

i thought i'm the only want wondering about this hahahaha…

• bonito coche

• mejor coche

• Jeremy Clarkson from TopGear takes on the BMW X6 xDrive35d and tested this car's ride and the video can be seen at
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpkHzb3KmeA

After viewing the video, the X6 doesn't seem to do well off road and going uphill off road.

In the video, Jeremy Clarkson seems to conclude that the rear view at the back is poor, idrive system is not user friendly, the gear shift is not easy to use. He even took it to the country side to test. There is no low range gear box, no locking differential the ride is very poor on road because it is high. Check the video at 4:18. The x6 can't even go up on country side. The x6 can't even handle moving on snow in the video at 5:05.

Jeremy Clarkson went to several countries to test it.

Overall, I feel it is horrible after looking at the video.

• SHUT UP Jeff.

You are just an anti-BMW person. What do you mean by saying that a BMW can not handle well on the road. Don’t post shit from your ass here. Do it in toilet and flush it. Keep it yours. BMW handle much greater than any other sport cars, even the SUVs. Go get a GEN2 hahaha. Biaaaaatch