VIDEO: Audi A1 in motion – Audi DTM pilot Markus Winkelhock takes it out for a spin

Audi A1

Here’s a chance to check out the new Audi A1 in motion. I don’t particularly agree with the use of a black A1 in this video. Feels like a wasted opportunity to wow potential consumers. Look at the MINI, that Fiat 500 and the MiTo – when you think of one do you ever think of a black one?

No, small premium compacts like this need bright colours, and while Audi did right in releasing photos of the A1 in red for their press kit, the black in thie video looks pretty boring, especially since the A1 seems to be going in a straight line like 90% of the time, despite having Audi DTM driver Markus Winkelhock piloting it.

According to Audi, the A1’s electrohydraulic power steering has a very direct 14.8:1 ratio. The chassis uses MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. Every model of the A1 will come with an ESP system that also has an electric diff lock feature, similar to what Volkswagen and BMW has in their Golf GTI and MINI Cooper S. Winkelhock said the car is very agile and the handling remains neutral even longer thanks to the electronic diff through a corner.

Look after the jump to watch the video.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=829]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• khaix19a on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:29 am

nice….

• i want one… in metallic blue or pearl white hehe.

looks pretty fierce, yet cute.

and i juz love the lighting design… <3 <3 <3

• Love Malaysia on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:32 am

Like Savvy dowh… nice.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 02, 2010 at 6:33 am

rubbish that it looks like savvy. this is in a class of its own above everyone else. however i prefer the citroen DS Sport.

• the side looks like neo

• Mitsu again…

• By lookin at this, i really wish savvy comes with 3 doors option

• c14man on Mar 02, 2010 at 7:27 am

this compact is not compact at all…

looks small but when they stand beside it, it's not that small…

• mitlanevo on Mar 02, 2010 at 7:38 am

nice car, lame video…

but black is ok lah, nothing wrong…

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 02, 2010 at 8:59 am

but malaysians love black ,silver, gold beige and lately pearl white XD

• FaredSYGPROTON on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:00 pm

looks like mitsubishi lancer or WAJA LANCER :)

• NoName on Mar 02, 2010 at 7:09 pm

inspiring

• droll on Mar 02, 2010 at 8:05 pm

this car needs a more aggressive look. it's a bit too sissified. the front looks heavy.

• thgh said,

March 1, 2010 @ 10:59 pm

Mitsu again…

mitsubishi? NOT

• Jaybond on Mar 02, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Yup, you right Paul. Small (even small premium) cars like this are targeted at younger buyers, or young at heart buyers, which should have the flashy, cheeky, and cheerful colours. Leave the black colours to the limos…

• Lightning McQueen on Mar 02, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Hey LG get ur spectacle on..

The front headlamp looks similar to LAncer.. do you understand????

LG said,

March 2, 2010 @ 12:21 pm

thgh said,

March 1, 2010 @ 10:59 pm

Mitsu again…

mitsubishi? NOT

• Lol. Many cars have the same headlight design, but look inside this headlamp (and the rearlamp), and youll only see Audi in it.

do you understand, Lightnin AhBeng.

• AMPANGBOY on Mar 03, 2010 at 8:19 pm

The front lamp design look like MITSUBISHI EVO 10/LANCER. For AUDI much more stylish. But no so compact. I prefer it small like BMW 1 series 3 doors.

• PETROLHEAD on Mar 17, 2010 at 1:49 am

Ok la … not to my liking, but ok lah.