MB C230 makes way for C250 CGI in Malaysia

The W204 Mercedes-Benz C230 with the 2.5 litre V6 engine has been replaced by a new more torquey C250 CGI model here in Malaysia. The new C250 CGI like its larger E250 CGI sibling is powered by a higher output version of the 1.8 litre turbocharged direct injection engine. The new C250 CGI goes for RM287,888 in Malaysia.

The new C250 CGI produces 204 horsepower at a lower 5,500rpm point as compared to the V6 model, and more torque – 310Nm between 2,000rpm to 4,300rpm. However, the 7-speed 7G-Tronic has been replaced by a 5-speed automatic, as these 4-pot turbo engines are only available with the 5-speeder while the 7-speeder is mated to the V6 and etc engines. Fuel consumption is much better at between 7.2 to 7.9 litres per 100km.

One thing to note though – these inline-4 CGI engines in Malaysia are a little different compared to the models you get overseas. The inline-4 engine – referred to as the M271 DEH or M271 Evolution – originally had a ‘lean burn mode’ for its direct injection system.

This is a special economy mode where the air-fuel mixture is able to be tuned for more air and less fuel, thus saving fuel and producing good amounts of power at the same time. In lean burn mode, the Piezo injectors inject fuel multiple times in one cycle.

Mercedes-Benz says that our fuel quality is not suitable for lean burn mode thus the lean burn function of the ECU has been deactivated. Our M271 engines will do direct injection but only in homogeneous mode, which uses a ratio of 14.7:1. Being a turbocharged engine, there will probably be thoughts of flashing the ECU with a performance version of the software to gain more power. These aftermarket software MIGHT (I’m not sure) re-enable lean burn and reduce the reliability of your engine. Be sure to check.

For now, the C200K continues to run the supercharged Kompressor version of the M271, but Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says a C200 CGI is coming very soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• endre on Mar 05, 2010 at 10:29 pm

better than current model

• nabill on Mar 05, 2010 at 10:41 pm

always luved curent generation c-class, and i still cant understand why do we have low quality fuel and diesels here?? u wd think as an oil producing land u wd think its less costly to produce good superior quality fuels , are companies waiting for some G policy to force them to improve fuel quality ?

for me 5 speed auto is way better than 7 speed , 7speed is jus too many for a small engine,the 5 speed probably has beter ratios and wont hunt gears like in the 7speed….

• XEQtor on May 02, 2010 at 3:51 pm

I beg to disagree with your remarks about the 7G-Tronic. Test one out and you might understand the difference. It’s not a numbers game here (5 vs 7), and it is related to speed, not engine size. The 5-speeder can only drop from 5-4-3-2-1 while the 7G-Tronic can drop from 7 to 5 (or lower) directly if the current speed requires that. As a result, we have “smoothness” of pickups and slowdowns. Try going on a road with many speed bumps every short distance – this will be the case for City driving where there are many start-stop conditions. The 5-speeder on the C is already very smooth (in Comfort mode). But it may be even smoother with the 7G. Imagine that. It’s just too bad that the 7G is mated to the V6 by design. One sad point for me…

In other areas, I like the “understatedness” of this horse. Unassuming, not too flashy – looks like an ordinary Merc. Until you get inside it. Until taken to task on open roads, highways and winding inclines, where it may teach some “respects” to some, if need be. Sort of “if you have it, you DON’T have to flaunt it”.

• good technology downgraded by old policy.

• hanssen on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Sell me for less!!! How wagon looks like for this model?

• strange that Malaysia is oil producing country, but our petrol quality sucks bit time…..

Some goes to our diesel quality……

Anyway, it's bolehland……semua can kautim maa…….

• This qualify for fuel subsidy (1.8 liter) if the previously anticipated fuel subsidy system gone ahead….hehehehehe…buy merc still got fuel subsidy

• Faizal on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:23 pm

for the price and specs, i would rather but Audi A4 2.OTFSI Quattro S line.

• Sorry off topic

Has anyone have any idea about this;

Sliding door Alza or what found in bsn website

http://www.bsn.com.my/simpanan/ssp/image/alzabsn….

• shawal on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:43 pm

rm24 from kl to ipoh! (200km est)….not bad…not bad at all for a merc, the champion of coz is still a prius rm10 (190km) / rm.10.5 (200km) , im not in malaysia now…but i assume dat petrol is rm 2 bux per litre…?

• shawal on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:45 pm

16 litre for 200km (KL to ipoh est) = rm 32, quite frugal for a merc

• Kevin Lee on Mar 05, 2010 at 11:49 pm

I think the 200 CGI might come during the next facelift which is due perhaps end of 2010 or 2011, in the middle of the car design life cycle.

It's pretty much like the last update policy of the W211 E200K from 163hp to 184hp using the same engine. I assume the same for the C200K to C200 CGI, and this time its up 20Nm of torque, though no change to the hp output.

The Avantgarde C200K has been discontinued. I suppose the C250 CGI continues where the C200K Avantgarde and the C230 has left off, as they would want to differentiate the E class segment pricing

• niuhje on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:08 am

sui…

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:12 am

any 0-100km/h info for this c250 cgi??..must be better than c230 engine i guess

• mitlanevo on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:16 am

why no more c230????? why why tell me why????????/

actually dont give damn lah, c63 amg is always there, hehez~

• Wira Tua on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:20 am

no facelift? other places got those LED stuff thingy…

• Less road tax, less fuel use, more power. Awesome

• korychan on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:49 am

How come there is only 1 tail pipe? I thought C230 got 2? 2 looks better.

• MADBOY on Mar 06, 2010 at 12:49 am

BMW better…ha..ha..ha

• jules (Member) on Mar 06, 2010 at 1:01 am

:( … Still not a V6

• Ferruccio on Mar 06, 2010 at 1:46 am

The 2.5 V6 engine is very smooth and refined and was the plus point when you compared the C200K and the C230. We're about to lose the silky smoothness.

• Tiadaid on Mar 06, 2010 at 1:59 am

nabill said,

March 5, 2010 @ 2:41 pm

always luved curent generation c-class, and i still cant understand why do we have low quality fuel and diesels here?? u wd think as an oil producing land u wd think its less costly to produce good superior quality fuels , are companies waiting for some G policy to force them to improve fuel quality ?

————————

I think it's got something to do with many of our trucks not being able to run on Euro 4 standard diesel or something like that. I mean, it's no use to have Euro 4 diesel for a minority when the majority can't even use it.

• nabill said,

March 5, 2010 @ 2:41 pm

for me 5 speed auto is way better than 7 speed , 7speed is jus too many for a small engine,the 5 speed probably has beter ratios and wont hunt gears like in the 7speed….

————————-

if low quality diesel can accept..but low petrol quality?? In many parts of Europe, 95 RON (90-91 AKI) is the minimum available standard, with 97/98 RON being higher specification (being called Super Unleaded). the "regular" gasoline in Canada and the US is ron 91-92 (AKI 87)..so u mean that US use low quality petrol

u can read here more n do some research bro dont simply make one fron thin air
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane_rating

• http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_…

i hate people comment without base or info

• phas3r on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:13 am

4 cylinder….. not as smooth as v6.. dunno about this one though

• Alex Yoong on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:14 am

is it the BlueEFFICIENCY version with all the gizmo?

• Persatuan Anti Toyot on Mar 06, 2010 at 2:32 am

I like the new C, but at that price range (C250), i'll get the 323i instead. many would buy the 323i than the C230 because they're better equipped and far cheaper. The 250 CGI looks good on paper, but I rather have BMW 320d, it has a lot more torque, and cheaper still. Okay i changed my mind, BMW 323i.

• YeouWei on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:13 am

Arh…..still no LED DRL???

And how come still the same price since is just a 1.8 compare to 2.5?

• Paul Tan on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:14 am

Just to answer a question – apparently daytime running lights will be added soon.

• Sheng on Apr 11, 2010 at 2:17 am

paul, have you check up with mercedes benz malaysia, whether the new c200 cgi will come with daytime running lights instead of the normal fog lamp?

• nabill on Mar 06, 2010 at 3:45 am

KZM ,

im not claiming anyting , read many local reviews of curent bmw and merc diesels and the first thing u read is (ecu has been detune due to low quality fuel) thus , the lower power output from european versions)…

jus normal facts , no need copy & paste wikipedia links !

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 06, 2010 at 5:20 am

eee…change those rims

• nabill said,

March 5, 2010 @ 7:45 pm

KZM ,

im not claiming anyting , read many local reviews of curent bmw and merc diesels and the first thing u read is (ecu has been detune due to low quality fuel) thus , the lower power output from european versions)…

jus normal facts , no need copy & paste wikipedia links !

————————-

diesel is low quality that im agree..but not petrol from wat i understand from ur comment..i copy n paste for a reason that is not to give wrong answer..that y im quoting from wikipedia n not claiming that mine

• not-quite-the-auto-j on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:01 am

no surprise, the V6 2.5 was hardly much faster than the 200K, i think its 8.6seconds for the 0-100 times. this turbo-4 model does it in a dam quick 7.4s (MBM website)

the 325i sport and 323i really kicked them off the 2.5L engine range sales ranking. wonder if this will change the 323i buyers to the c250 camp.

great too, that the dynamic handling sports mode , carried down from the V6 model is kept.

mbm website now only currently feature the C250CGI and of all things, the C63 AMG! ..haha .and 2photos of the 2010 C-class with the S-class inspired DRL feature.

with the DRL means this will get the Intelligent light system (no more halogen foglamps) and possible automatic high beam?? woww…. alot of tech….

• Elvis on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:41 am

Of course lah, Malaysia Tapis oil, the best oil in the world sold to Europe and US, and we here use the Arab oil, the worst ever, and once Tapis oil finished in 2012, we import Russian oil, the worst of the worst, stupid lah we here, kana tipu government only….

• tokmoh on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:42 am

KZM : I think it's less to do with RON rating and more to do with EURO emission.

AFAIK, the fuel used in Msia is from Middle East. We may be a fuel producer, but we don't use our fuel cuz they're exported as they're high quality fuel with low sulphur, therefore better trading value.

I can't remember and I'm not exactly sure, I remember hearing/reading of our exported crude oil twice or thrice or more the price of crude oil being imported to our country.

That said, it's pointless to assume that we being oil-producing = best fuel. For all we know, those foreigners get high quality fuel cuz they're using our oil while we use their lousy oil hohoho.

Some may argue that we deserve better fuel, but I read that to go from EURO 2M to EURO 4, it'll cost 20sen/L more to purify. Knowing Msians, most would disagree due to ripple effect on other goods' price.

Some may say increase fuel price but reduce car tax, ptooooooooi. What have you been smoking to even remotely think that is possible?

On topic, baw…. do they really have to stop selling the V6? They should keep selling, at least people got choice… =.=

• skiborne on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:24 am

bcs malaysia sells back 80% for its crudes abroad, we only use 20% of our own crude oil, apparently our crude is low on sulphur therefore its more likened out there to the likes of arabs n others. so we've got the arabs' crude oil which on the other hand, HIGH on sulphur which is not good (frankly i have yet to justify this, why on earth we're doin this), no wonder petronas' RON95 cepat habis as compared to others' like Shell's RON95. so u guys need to read n understand and perhaps be patriotic abit, not label malaysia as "bolehland", frankly that word sounds stupid, hate it so much, i noticed only apeks selling pork mee who hate malaysia so much use this.

• YangYang85 on Mar 06, 2010 at 6:34 pm

The Figure show the C class in 250CGI form, though it is only 1.8L Turbo charged it is already faster than the previous C230 V6 NA. And it is more fuel Efficient too. However, I thought the new version is going to be facelift model, but as I see in the pics the car is still under the old bumper and lights. IS this going to change soon? to facelift version?

anyone?

• Cherokee on Mar 06, 2010 at 8:41 pm

I think still better to use RON 97 and V-POWER or blend it at 60:40 for economy and power, depending on your car make and driving style. But Continental cars still better to pump in V-POWER.

Want to fly up the Hills, try V-POWER in KANCIL Makes you wonder why you buy SUV or MPV elephants or pregnant SOW. cheerios !

• Tiadaid on Mar 06, 2010 at 9:45 pm

skiborne said,

March 6, 2010 @ 1:24 am

bcs malaysia sells back 80% for its crudes abroad, we only use 20% of our own crude oil, apparently our crude is low on sulphur therefore its more likened out there to the likes of arabs n others. so we’ve got the arabs’ crude oil which on the other hand, HIGH on sulphur which is not good (frankly i have yet to justify this, why on earth we’re doin this), no wonder petronas’ RON95 cepat habis as compared to others’ like Shell’s RON95. so u guys need to read n understand and perhaps be patriotic abit, not label malaysia as “bolehland”, frankly that word sounds stupid, hate it so much, i noticed only apeks selling pork mee who hate malaysia so much use this.

————————-

Actually from what I understand, low-sulphur oil produces more gasoline and diesel during the distillation process, whereas high-sulphur oil produces more byproducts such as bitumen. Nobody need a lot of bitumen so that's why it's said to be of low quality. But I don't think petrol and diesel that came from high-sulphur oil is of low quality, in my opinion. But then again I'm basing this on Form 5 chemistry.

• paparadzi (Member) on Mar 06, 2010 at 11:42 pm

"The new C250 CGI like its larger E250 CGI sibling is powered by a higher output version of the 1.8 liter turbocharged direct injection engine"

Irrespective of the price, the engine capacity means this car is to be used by the poorer people of Malaysia. The rich will use a car with 2.0 liter or larger.

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 07, 2010 at 5:15 am

Ok,if you all really want a better quality of fuel,would you all pay more money for it?

typical Malaysian!

• not much different from the predecessor..like BMW more..

• malaysia memang boleh said,

March 6, 2010 @ 9:15 pm

Ok,if you all really want a better quality of fuel,would you all pay more money for it?

typical Malaysian!

————————————

sure we would. but must lower the price of cars .

then everyone would be able to afford a c250 cgi.

but leave it at home. everyday take public transport to work.

because the price of petrol too expensive.

• Darius on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Overstyled plastico Merc. Cars are becoming forgettable.

Even tho old, W201 and W124 better looking in my opinion, hell, even W123

No wonder they have to facelift every few months….chasing fashion and what BWM does only.

Yawn!!

• KZM and Nabill,

Read this post.

skiborne said,

March 6, 2010 @ 1:24 am

That answer your question. Fuel quality has very little to do with octane number. Sulphur is the main culprit. We sell our sweet, light crude (see Tapis benchmark) and buy (and use) middle eastern crude (could also be the reason why our refineries are on the the west coast of peninsular, e.g. PD, Melaka).

Google Euro 3, 4 fuel

Read (in australia): http://www.environment.gov.au/atmosphere/fuelqual…

Sulphur content in europe:

Proposal for a Directive of the European Parliament and of the Council of 31 January 2007 amending Directive98/70/EC as regards the specification of petrol, diesel and gas-oil and introducing a mechanism to monitor and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the use of road transport fuels and amending Council Directive1999/32/EC, as regards the specification of fuel used by inland waterway vessels and repealing Directive93/12/EEC [COM(2007) 18 final – Not published in the Official Journal].

This proposal is intended, inter alia, to confirm 1 January 2009 as the date on which all diesel must have a maximum sulphur content of 10 ppm (parts per million); to reduce the polyaromatic hydrocarbon content of diesel to 8% (instead of 11%); to reduce the maximum sulphur content of non-road gas oil from 1 000 ppm to 10 ppm for land-based uses and from 1 000 ppm to 300 ppm for inland waterways; to increase the oxygenate content and vapour pressure limit for petrol blended with ethanol, in order to enable a higher volume of biofuels to be used in petrol, with appropriate labelling; and to require fuel suppliers to reduce life-cycle (refining, transport and use) greenhouse gas emissions from these fuels by 1% per year from 2009. The proposal is also designed to simplify Directives 98/70/EC and 99/32/EC and repeal Directive 93/12/EEC, which has become redundant.

• Devils on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:27 pm

just a bit comment..the new CGI model feels lighter then the older V6..pick up is better compare to it..only V6 engine comes with twin pipe..if like to drive drag abit..then go for the CGI..