Production Hyundai i-flow planned for 2011; showcar previews diesel hybrid system and new eco ideas

The Hyundai i-flow is one of the significant concept cars at Geneva, not just because it looks dramatic, but because under that heavily sculpted skin is a range of latest tech that could appear in Hyundai’s next generation of cars.

Powering the i-flow is the company’s first diesel-electric hybrid powertrain consisting of a U2 1.7-litre oil burner with two-stage turbocharging and Hyundai’s lithium ion-polymer battery. Coupled to a six-speed, dual-clutch transmission, the drivetrain is capable of 33.3 km/l and a low CO2 output of 85g/km.

The i-flow is also a test bed for new energy harvesting ideas, ranging from a flexible solar panel roofing to a thermo-electric generator developed in partnership with leading chemical company BASF. One such idea is thermal engine encapsulation, which ensures that the engine reaches optimum operating temperature more quickly by retaining heat when the car is idle. Hyundai says that this translates into fuel savings and emissions cuts of 5% during summer and up to 9% in winter. The thermo-electric generator meanwhile recaptures energy from hot exhaust gases and converts it to electrical energy to help power auxiliary systems.

Designed at Hyundai’s European studio in Russelsheim, the i-flow sports the firm’s “fluidic sculpture” design language. With an overall length of 4,780 mm and a 2,800 mm wheelbase, the i-flow is a Honda Accord sized D-segment contender that is set to hit the market in 2011. It remains to be seen how much of the i-flow’s styling is retained for production, but things look promising with the recent Korean realisation that advanced design is as important as making competent cars.

Live pictures from Geneva and official images are after the jump!

Hyundai i-flow live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=936]
Hyundai i-flow official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=935]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Raja Azhar on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:45 am

unbelievably gorgeous! it may have the curviness of a MAZDA but atleast it doesnt have that bloody smiley face like the MAZDA :D

• Two_Face on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:51 am

When one is drunk, one cannot draw a straight line:) Certainly a work of some alchoholics…

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:53 am

SAKIT MATA by looking at dashboard

• redfueler on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:54 am

too forward…

• Lokman on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:54 am

Nice exterior but why suddenly i feel dizzy after looking at the interior..

• tat's y its a concept…

• snake on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:13 am

i wonder how would the passengers (incl. children) and driver feel after say… 6 hours drive balik kampung in this…

and if you were to drive through those kampung roads, i think the cows and goats will run like hell… and night-time, with those lights.. people will think some sort of poyol head wandering around…

heheh..

• Day deSIANG on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:14 am

Huh? Toyota FT86?

• Looks like the control panel of a Zentraedi (Robotech) BattlePod.

Darn alien man!

• Raja Azhar on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:26 am

there is only one thing to say.. THE DESIGNERS WATCHED TOO MUCH AVATAR.. :S

• Iskandar on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:27 am

The interior seems to be like melting plastic that moves. I don't think I can sit in one without throwing up.

• milanista on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:34 am

one of the hottest car i seen so far from geneva

• john joe on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:35 am

the interior is quite challenging to understand

• flow of puke..hehe

• arospeedo on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:03 am

too organic…

• Its global warming….the dashboard is melting

• firebond on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:12 am

Where are all these curves taking us ?…. this is anything but futuristic.

• shawal on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:20 am

it looks as if its been drawn by a 6-year old who really2 hates hyundai

front end got to many mouths…

Nice flow but too extreme borderline ugly…

Asymmetrical steering wheel is a no-no, you can do whutchu want wit a concept car..but never ever an asymmetrical steering wheel…its not 'car' philosophy

• slimershine on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:25 am

not realistik at all..

• shawal on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:26 am

1 positive thing bout this car is….

33.3km/l , (if diesel is still RM2, i dunno, im not in m'sia yet)

RM2 = 33 km

RM12 = 198km (kl to ipoh) ….walauweyh~!…..

• wAzYz on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:30 am

tooooooo much curve…..

• flubet on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:43 am

it's called a concept car!

• ugly..

• drMpower on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:49 am

now that everyone going green, i reckon manual gearing will go as well.. because electric motor operate without gears. u accelerate and de-accelerate it without current manipulation.

more current = higher revs, low current = lower revs.

• too much?

• i feel dizzy after looking at its interior….*throwing up with windows still open*

-5 mins later, coming back from the washroom to close windows-

Excuse me!!……*throw up again*

It really makes me dizzy!!

• Manfisto on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:23 am

definitely not my favourite car.

Whole car look so wavey!!!

designed by someone drunk

• TESLA S on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:27 am

The car looks like a Tesla sedan with some modification to body works.

• Weird looking steering wheel. But the car as a whole looks crazy good.

• Squawk on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:30 am

Was gonna say exterior looks Mazda-ish without being too messy or smiley. Love the wheels but what kind of tires are those? Steering wheel is a Citroen gone wrong.

• speedracer on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:34 am

WOW..OMG..No WAY this is KOREAN…OMG!! I think those Korean had form some 'contact' from an unknown intelligent species…I agree, this is an ALIEN thing…keep it coming, i want to see more…KIA?

• goonis on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:38 am

After i saw this car video, I love it.

Hyundai i-flow (HED-7) Concept Promo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGDrdFuc9lw

• arian on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:41 am

Stunning design i must say…but seems like almostly same design as sonata2011….anyway , in fact, the design probably already overtaked most of current japan cars..perhaps…thumb up for good design~!

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:44 am

too wavy for my liking..that steering design looks weirdo

• goonis on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:46 am

Quite futuristic design.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66RdE3GjSiw

• mohd faizal on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:49 am

VERY VERY NICE..good work koreans…

• kelah (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:53 am

extreme design

oh, i got a headache…

• orido on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:55 am

fugly.

• at least rim look nice… interior overdesign..i don't like it… simple is better

• acerman on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:58 am

CGT said,

March 8, 2010 @ 6:23 pm

Looks like the control panel of a Zentraedi (Robotech) BattlePod.

Darn alien man!

Maybe the little blue man from outer space helped them!

• marsaila on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:06 am

dude! this is one sick car… but it's too mazda-ish. I bet Mazda will have to try very hard not to design the next RX similar to this car.

• Daniel on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:44 am

Looks like a failed attempt at copying the Mazda Furai

• jasonlow (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:03 am

It should be used with an ipad, if u get wat i mean…

• really futuristic,almost like from a science fiction movie

• jaybon on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:17 am

a lil bit weird, from front view it loke like a double dacker car after accident in tapah…hehehe

• The Reader on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:28 am

it design for alien from the outer space to drive one….. look at the steering…. sick…

• A bit of Nissan gt-r…and how to hold the steering?

• shokubeni on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:43 am

alien car..

• One of the best compliment to Mazda's Nagare (flow) concepts. Hyundai i-flow!

• seat-belt on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:48 am

the rear bottom tail lamp ( i not sure whether it is a lamp or only a reflector) is kinda similar with the alfa romeo pandion concept tail lamp..hmm…….

• Hadi1975 on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:26 am

Exterior….nice, interior….so..so…

• elww78 on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:44 am

It's a VERY CREEPY looking HYundai but Georgeous at the same time. Maybe some alien got possessed by demon then transformed into this…. Lols. Love all the Hyundai's great effort.. go go!

• ol guy on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:20 am

lady gaga??ermm…

• taboogen on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:26 am

soo weird.. the car look so ugly also some say its nice…

• Vezeroth on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:40 am

Excellent design! love it and i'd buy one if it was produced like this

btw, paul when is the hyundai genesis coupe coming out?!

• tokmoh on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:49 am

It looks more like something from Starcraft's Protoss. Come to think of it… Koreans are obsessed with Starcraft…

Blizzard oh Blizzard… How much longer for Starcraft II??? Hell, it's about time…

• audio on Mar 09, 2010 at 10:13 am

Just can't believe it's a Hyundai. Yeah what a great effort. Luv it!

• Sentient Jellyfish on Mar 09, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Nice seats, warm lights, cars should be fantastic things. This is on the list. Would be wicked if one got to change the colours of the interior lights… and what's with a double clutch? Everytime i go out of the gate I slip straight to third.

• the car in and out looks like it's melted

• start on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:20 pm

GTR facelifted Kim Chi style

• DoubleTap on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:55 pm

make me feel so damn dizzy .

• Littlefire on Mar 09, 2010 at 3:56 pm

The most important thing of this car is the technology.. See that i have said in a few times in this blog that Diesel hybrid is the best to go… Why want to waste so much money on petrol hybrid knowing that it cant go futher than diesel cars? If diesel cars are louzy why Europeans are using it crazy?

Opps, in Malaysia our Diesel only Euro2, while theirs are already Euro4/5… Why we cannot be Eco friendlier as a oil producing country?

• Seriously on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:05 pm

where are the side mirrors? That lil red thing jutting out from the bonnet? I dont think that can be it. And if they were cameras on it… I don't see side display screens in the car :S

You know what, i think it'll still stay a concept, no practically what so ever. Or at least they'll rework almost everything in the car, and just remain its exterior. And the steering wheel… what the hell!? It'll look cool at night, but look how ugly it is in daylight! But seriously it's just horrible, I'll be lucky to be able to stand 1 day with a steering wheel like that.

• pulge on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Is that a steering wheel?

Anyway, I believe this car is purposely for design study. Such radical looking interior is too much. Production version should be toned down as always.

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Mean machine from Hyundai, good try, for MY please introduce your Genesis first as I think it is more likeable to compete with the the FairLady's is town.

• droll on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:22 pm

what an ugly looking steering!!! but the exterior is nice. i'm more interested in the drive train though.

at 1.7L, pushing 33.3km/l isn't really that impressive i think (i hope i'm wrong!) but it's the CO2 output that is nice!!! this should attract lower taxes in the UK!

• The Royal Academy of on Mar 09, 2010 at 5:45 pm

is this a peugeot?

• GO SAGA on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:03 pm

milted plastic

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 09, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Hints of the next Azera? That would really be something.

This would really put this smack in the middle of the E and 5ers. Probably a close match with the G450H

• WTF911 on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:19 pm

as long it is not Proton, people will say; it is NNIIIIICCCEEEE~ (even though it IS already clear, the design is like TAHI LEMBU only)

kiasu~

• Its a concept car…nt production…anyway, diesel hybrid make more sense (BMW/Merc/PSA)

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Going to be SUPER expensive to manufacture.. lol

• hyrax on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:29 pm

very2 creative….

• Dr. Kervokian on Mar 09, 2010 at 10:38 pm

33.3km/l is AWESOME! Normal driving on a civic 1.8 ala grandmother mode is 11km/l.

You rev it up to 3K-4K rpm as a practice and your fuel consumption drops to 8-9km/l.

• nigttrain on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:04 am

The emotional lines are waaay too emotional. is the exterior design going into production? IMHO the koreans want to be trendsetters, thats why Mercedes is following them with this Flow trend? BTW, FC is awesome!

• Pengawas on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Wow..!!! it should be drive by Avatar's species…!!

• Dr. Kervokian said,

March 9, 2010 @ 2:38 pm

33.3km/l is AWESOME! Normal driving on a civic 1.8 ala grandmother mode is 11km/l.

You rev it up to 3K-4K rpm as a practice and your fuel consumption drops to 8-9km/l.

——————————————————————

With diesel engine….normal driving is btw 1.5k – 2.5k rpm (huge torque available arnd that range), low down torque = no need to rev the engine = low real world FC

diesel very suitable for easy driving style, just ride its torque wave

• wahaha on Dec 30, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Looking forward to 2011….