Sexy Alfa Romeo Giulietta says ciao to Selespeed!

The 147 replacement Alfa Romeo Giulietta will be without doubt the most sensational looking five-door hatchback in the market when it goes on sale in Italy later this month. Making its world debut in Geneva, the first right-hand drive models will go to the UK in June. Sime Darby Auto ConneXion, how about this for a 2010 Christmas present for the Malaysian market?

The Giulietta takes on Alfa’s current long headamps as seen on the Mito supermini, but with a strip of four LED driving lamps residing within them. Alfa’s famous shield grille sits inside a larger triangle while the lower bumper is very sculpted. The profile features a strong shoulder line that “disappears” in the middle before emerging again on the rear doors, which handles are hidden like the 147’s (there won’t be a three-door variant). The Giulietta’s rear end sports a distinctive LED pattern in the taillamps and a diffuser-style rear bumper with two exhaust tips. To sum it all up in one word – sexy.

Four turbo engines are available at launch, all Euro5 compliant and with Start/Stop tech: two petrols (120 bhp 1.4TB and 170 bhp 1.4TB MultiAir) and two second-gen MultiJet diesels (105 bhp 1.6 JTDM and 170 bhp 2.0 JTDM). All these powerplants come with a 6-speed manual gearbox, but a dual-clutch transmission will be coming soon as the automatic option – with this, we can bid farewell to Alfa’s frustrating Selespeed ‘box. Ciao!

Also coming soon is a hot 235 bhp 1750 TBi Cloverleaf version. This engine is said to have “performance comparable to – or better than – that of many 3.0-litre engines while still delivering fuel consumption typical of a compact four cylinder unit,” says Alfa Romeo. The Italian firm also pointed out that at 134 bhp/litre, specific output is the highest ever achieved by an Alfa Romeo engine. Max torque of 340 Nm (at 1,900 rpm) is much more than what the VW Golf GTI produces, so performance should be superb, and we’re guaranteed a good soundtrack from Alfa too. We’re salivating already thinking of it!

Live pictures from Geneva after the jump!

Alfa Romeo Giulietta live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=931]
Alfa Romeo Giulietta official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=700]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• oh danny… the chick must come first!! the chick!!

• despite all that, i'll still go for the golf.

The alfa just isn't as appealing somehow…

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:13 pm

the car look great!

Found some DNA of ferarri inside this car, isit?

• woewwwwww

• jugaus on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Cun lah..

• can be a 1 series rival?

• Rassan on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Love it!

• Cpt Shopalot on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:34 pm

mito big brother, is it?

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 08, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Here we are , gracias alfa for the nice engine specs, we will just have to wait and see the otr offers from Sime .

Please assemble these in Thailand for it to be more affordable in MY.

Diesel is the way to go.

• The Royal Academy of on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:15 pm

GTI> R.I.P

• wanramle on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:32 pm

nice..golf GTI contender?

• Brilliant, absolutely brillaint

• kevin on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Absolutely stunning!!! By the time it reaches malaysia, lets hope its around 150k like the MiTo

• tikus on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:51 pm

Sime Darby pls bring this sexy babe into Bolehland !!

• Victor on Mar 08, 2010 at 5:57 pm

wah this is a great looking car!!

• giant 147 on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:02 pm

sweettt n yummy..time to change..

• rugaxp on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:05 pm

i reallly favor the rear end of this car, so sexy. but the front cant seems to catch up with it

• pakteh on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:11 pm

true~

• klguy on Mar 08, 2010 at 6:43 pm

the car is sexier than the gals :P

• leonardo on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Paul, i hope you can get your hands on one of these beauty to do a real road impression soon.

• LandB4Time on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:42 pm

I really hope that with such small engine that the price will be much lower than what they price the 159 here (nearly200k). Looks so good n sexy. Wonder when will this car ever arrive in our country. Currently I am driving a 146 TS. Really wont mind to upgrade to this version if the price is right.

• lotuslover on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:43 pm

alfaromeo and ferrari always look good in red

• Dewata Raya on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:45 pm

Hamster car …

• My next car!!!

• [quote]The 147 replacement Alfa Romeo Giulietta will be without doubt the most sensational looking five-door hatchback in the market …[unquote]

Okay, I see ONE door by the driver, ONE door by the passenger, and ONE door in the rear.

WHERE ARE THE OTHER 2 DOORS?

• Paul Tan on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:22 pm

The other 2 doors are there. The door handles are hidden near the window just like the 147 and 156.

• mitlanevo on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:32 pm

gimme the white color one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

damn nice hatch~

• raybrig on Mar 08, 2010 at 8:54 pm

now my beloved 147 has its replacement..but i will stick to my 147 for now..

by the way, this car looks gorgeous…cant wait to see it in flesh..damn sexy…

• Alpha on Mar 08, 2010 at 9:55 pm

Romeo and Juliet….ta.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 08, 2010 at 11:53 pm

fantiastiko …bellisima

• nice….coming here?

• 15 spoke rims! very nice but cleaning nightmare

• meteoraniac on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:16 am

JD said,

March 8, 2010 @ 12:18 pm

Okay, I see ONE door by the driver, ONE door by the passenger, and ONE door in the rear.

WHERE ARE THE OTHER 2 DOORS?

look closer, its hidden near the window connecting to the rear end of the car … this design is available in the current 147..

• milanista on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:20 am

sexy is back

• Maverick on Mar 09, 2010 at 2:28 am

We won't be able to see any of these cars on our road anytime soon due to

bolehland petrol has quality issues on 1.4 multiair engines, unless our fuel supplier upgrades to EURO-4.

• think on Mar 09, 2010 at 4:08 am

THE CAR IS SUPERB…WILL THE PRICE CAN BE ULTIMATELY SUPERB…MALAYSIAN GOVERMENT HAS THE ANSWER FOR IT…………?????????

• jebon lonely ranger on Mar 09, 2010 at 7:18 am

front goft gti + rear of this car….mmm… i think it would be nice

• Tekno on Mar 09, 2010 at 8:00 pm

I confused with the pedal. Clutch pedal look like accelaration pedal.

• super!so nice!