Audi A8 Hybrid – the limo that won’t cost the earth

The Audi A8 is the newest limo on the block and this is the A8 hybrid which aims to be the greenest in the segment. Shown at the Geneva show for the first time, the A8 hybrid’s drivetrain consists of two propulsion units – a 2.0 TFSI internal combustion engine and an electric motor – that develop a total output of 245 bhp and 480 Nm of torque. This enables a 7.6-second 0-100 km/h time and a top speed of 235 km/h, done in Transporter style coolness.

A hydraulically operated wet clutch links the TFSI with the electric motor (with 45 bhp and 211 Nm), which makes available its grunt from standstill. In the boot lies the Audi’s lithium-ion battery pack, which still leaves 400 litres of luggage space. Subsystems that operate on engine power in a regular car have been modified to run entirely on electric power in the A8 hybrid, such as the air-con compressor, electromechanical steering system and brake booster, all managed by a “pulse control inverter” system. All these will appear in the Audi Q5 hybrid, to be introduced later this year.

This A8 is capable of fully electric-powered driving up to 65 km/h and for a distance “exceeding 2 km”. Normally, both work in tandem but above 65 km/h, the combustion engine propels the car alone, while the electric motor supplies ancillaries and recharges the battery. The TFSI is disconnected from the drivetrain when the driver chooses to coast. The e-motor also functions as a generator to recoup energy from braking and replenish the battery.

Green credentials? The A8 hybrid’s average fuel consumption is 16.1 km/l while CO2 emissions is 144 grams per km. These figures compare very well with the Mercedes-Benz S400 Hybrid, which does 12.7 km/l and 186 g/km. Launched last year, the car from Stuttgart pairs a V6 with electric motors for a combined 299 bhp/385 Nm, and was the first production hybrid to use lithium ion batteries.

Live images from Geneva and the official gallery is after the jump.

Audi A8 Hybrid live images from Geneva
[zenphotopress number=999 album=940]
Audi A8 Hybrid official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=941]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:46 am

so much more impressive than that emas nonsense

• AudiFan on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:08 am

Can't wait to see in action

• think on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:18 am

shoulder lines that flows till the rear tail ligths seems to be ended boxy,but it's nice to c from rear….nice car…

• hmm… actually not suitable for a car that weight heavy.

• when can i buy it ??? i means . . . after retire saving + epf still can't buy it ??

• xavier lert on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:41 am

auwww

• Cutester on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:50 am

Like the interior. Nice combination of colours. This is quite a big hybrid car.

• meteoraniac on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:09 am

hmm… actually not suitable for a car that weight heavy.

tell that to Estima, Camry hybrids in Thailand..

• Does it have the kick to move the car when the driver wants to sudden over take a car? How quickly can the engine kicks in?

• Man… this A8 kicks ass. i cant forget that moment when i got into an A8(2006) in the U.K and fell in love right away. The interior was far better than S and the 7. This model is far better than those 2 gaints.

• O.. yea i forgot to mention it was a city cab.

• Ferruccio on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:22 am

thgh said,

March 9, 2010 @ 8:22 pm

hmm… actually not suitable for a car that weight heavy.

———————————————–

Why not? You're probably underestimating the massive torque capabilities of electric motors.

Read the quoted figures:

"total output of 245 bhp and 480 Nm of torque. This enables a 7.6-second 0-100 km/h time"

It's no supercar but it's no slouch either

• bohpee on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:33 am

i love audi and hybrids!! now it's together!

• hmm… actually not suitable for a car that weight heavy.

tell that to Estima, Camry hybrids in Thailand..

Huh? You know what is the weight of estima and camry compared to A8?

Dont talk if you dont read.

• LightsStar on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:49 am

damn nice….Audi rocks

• thgh said, March 9, 2010 @ 10:48 pm

'Huh? You know what is the weight of estima and camry compared to A8?

Dont talk if you dont read.'

Toyota Camry Hybrid: 0-100km/h: 8.9 seconds

Audi A8 Hybrid: 0-100km/h: 7.6 seconds

Why the A8 is not suitable, but the Camry is?

• c14man on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:20 am

I want I want !! =D~~~~~

• Peter on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:03 am

I am disappointed that some people actually compare this with EMAS…..Can you compare an Audi with a Proton?

You get what you paid for.

• Mazda 3 MPS

You shud buy one then…..btw, can you afford to buy one mr hippies, of course along side your "Mazda 3 MPS"

• nudin on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm

like evora meter

• Squawk on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

"This A8 is capable of fully electric-powered driving up to 65 km/h and for a distance “exceeding 2 km”."

Just enough juice to go buy newspaper.

• Autik on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Lexus LS is better, this car looks boring.

• Autik said, March 10, 2010 @ 12:21 pm

'Lexus LS is better, this car looks boring.'

Yes, the Lexs is not so boring. You always have to check the 'pedal of death', you can't be sure that the brakes are still working, you don't know if you'll get a recall… :D

• MoFaz on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:01 am

what… electric mode up to 65kmh and "exceeding 2km" only? what's so hybrid about that? hurm, might as well use conventional combustion engine than hybrid. maybe for driver to send boss's kids to school only.

• Autik on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:46 am

Mohd said,

March 10, 2010 @ 4:28 pm

———————————-

A retard says 'Lexus have pedal of death'. Are you sure you already got recalled?

• Mamamia on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:30 am

This car is soulless. Looks like a Hyundai for some reason.If i have the money, I'll got for Merc S, BMW 7, or even a Lexus instead of this piece of expensive Volkswagen.

• Autik said, March 10, 2010 @ 9:46 pm

A retard says ‘Lexus have pedal of death’. Are you sure you already got recalled?

Does this mean you were so dumb to buy a Lexus LS? :D

• Ferruccio on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Mofaz, I think you're missing the point of this car. It is not an electric car. It is a hybrid. The purpose of which is clearly to reduce CO2 and fuel consumption. think of the electric drivetrain as more of a 'range extender'. The primary powertrain for this car is still the internal combustions engine.

'Hybrid' is actually a very loose term and it just means the use of more than one type of powerplant. The percentage of total energy from electric or internal combustion can vary greatly depending on what the application is (type of car) and what the objective is.

The A8 clealry is not all-electric or predominantly electric car.

Contrast that to Proton's Emas which is completely electric drivetrain with IC engine supplementing.

• keretasorong on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:02 am

always admired to Audi…. especialy A4,,,, buat hajat di hati memeluk gunung apakan daya tangan tak sampai

• Frankie on Sep 10, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Would the Q5 hybrid be cheaper than the regular 2.0 TFSI Q5 due to the hybrid tax incentives?