Hyundai Tucson and Sonata local specs confirmed!

Hyundai Sime Darby held a media preview this morning where the specs and variants for the new Tucson and Sonata were confirmed. What’s not confirmed is the pricing of the cars, which are still in the process of being approved by the authorities. The planned launch for the duo is in late April or early May, and we’ll be one of the earliest markets in Asia Pacific to receive right-hand drive cars. As previously revealed by this blog, both the Tucson and Sonata are imported CBU from Korea and will come in 2.0-litre Standard, 2.0-litre High Spec and 2.4-litre variants.

Both cars use the Theta II family of engines with DOHC and Dual CVVT. The 2.0-litre produces 164 bhp and 197 Nm of torque, which compares favourably to the Honda CR-V’s 148 bhp/190 Nm or the Accord’s 154 bhp/189 Nm.

Hyundai’s 175 bhp/227 Nm 2.4-litre beats Camry 2.4 figures and Honda K24A torque ratings, although it’s just shy of the Honda’s 178 bhp (which is made at a high 6,500 rpm). No diesels though, our Euro 2M standards are still not convincing enough for HMC.

Hyundai Sonata dashboard

All models will come with a six-speed automatic gearbox with tiptronic function. Developed in-house by Hyundai, this gearbox is said to be maintainence free. To back up the claim, Hyundai ran the gearbox for one and a half months, 24 hours a day, cycling through all six ratios. In that situation, the transmission lasted 300,000 km, so we can presume that it’ll last even longer with normal use.

For “harsh conditions” (the example given for “harsh” was up and down Genting Highlands full bore every day), you can send it in for service after 100,000 km. It was also mentioned that the A/T is “serviceable”, meaning that a faulty component can be replaced, rather than chucking the whole unit away. Anyhow, a five-year or 300,000 km warranty covers the gearbox, so it should be truly worry-free.

Hyundai Tucson dashboard

The Tucson is available in 2WD and 4WD, but the latter is only for the 2.4-litre. It’s a torque on demand system that automatically sends drive (maximum of 50%) to the rear wheels if slip is detected, and there’s a button on the centre console that locks it at 50:50. High spec 2.0 and 2.4 models are fitted with ESP, Hill Start Assist and Downhill Brake Control – the latter takes over braking duties from your foot in steep off road descents.

They also get keyless entry and start (with start button), a full length panaromic sunroof, semi-leather seats and driver’s powered seat. The only feature on the 2.4 that’s missing from the high spec 2.0 is auto climate control with ionizer.

The spec spread is pretty similar for the Sonata, which high spec 2.0 and 2.4 also get the glass roof and keyless entry/start, but adds on HID headlamps. Curiously, the panaromic roof on the sedan has a one-touch function that’s missing from the Tucson. Wheels of up to 18 inches are available for the two, but Hyundai Sime Darby has opted for 17s to avoid expensive tyre replacement costs. Both cars are yet to be officially crash tested, but Hyundai expects no less than full five stars for both cars in Euro NCAP and North America’s IIHS test after in-house simulations.

Now, all that’s left is the pricing. HSD is not having it easy on this matter; although this new breed of Hyundais meet and exceed class standards, the typical Malaysian customer still wants a substantially lower price than an equivalent Honda or Toyota, so we’ll see!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Maybe they will sell it at RM120k and cut both Toyota and Honda again

• meteoraniac on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:32 pm

The specs looks good ! .. can't wait for the pricing to be announced..

• cooleo on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Nice! I bet the price is more then 150k..hehehehe

• Toyota people are th on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:36 pm

This is good news. Korean cars are even better than those Japanese cars that are assembled in Asean with excellent value. Hope they will convert plenty of owners from Toyoda.

• kopi-man on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Just position 10K lesser then Accord and it will be very interesting to the market with 5 yrs warranty.

• Ahmad on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:41 pm

6 speed auto g/box & maintenance free at 300k km…wow! that's really to shout about.

• Eric G on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:02 am

aw man..no diesel..i was expecting diesel..

• DenFire on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:07 am

Good, finally it is here. Hopefully it will not priced ridiculously like i30. That make it seldom seen on road.

• dejavu on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:08 am

Looking fwd to d launch of the Cam-Cord rival and soon-to-arrive Teana.

Paul, just wondering. Was there ever an official reason for authorities to approve/decide the selling price of new vehicle models here? Was speechless when a overseas fren commeted about such free trade sanction especially from the government.

• redfueler on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:17 am

wow korean got more power engine than japan !!!

• odi862 on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:18 am

If it is priced at around RM120k, it will sure attract new potential buyer as K brand has improved a lot recently. Just like Kia Forte, Hyundai also throwing a lot of extras compared to their J brand rivals. Maybe it is worth the money we are paying.

• ladygaga on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

wah seh! blown away by Sonata….cant wait…cant wait….

• Hisham on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

GO KOREA!!!! Let it be an alternative to the japanese..and affordable to the malaysian…

• BroJoe3771 on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:31 pm

I agreed 200% as per Hisham mention…….go Korea go…….
      Can’t wait to buy this lovely looks Sonata….

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:24 am

kopi-man said,

March 9, 2010 @ 3:37 pm

Just position 10K lesser then Accord and it will be very interesting to the market with 5 yrs warranty.

It has to be at least RM30K lesser than the Camry / Accord in order to make the sales. Or else it will merely slip into oblivion like the previous models. The after sales standards and cost of maintenance are the ones driving ppl away from Korean cars despite their cheaper sale prices and better specs.

• endre on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:24 am

"For “harsh conditions” (the example given for “harsh” was up and down Genting Highlands full bore every day), you can send it in for service after 100,000 km. It was also mentioned that the A/T is “serviceable”, meaning that a faulty component can be replaced, rather than chucking the whole unit away"

—————–

which parts that can be replaced?

• jackson on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:31 am

great looking cars, both the sonata and tucson replacements.

now, just have to wait to see if the official price and specs are great for the consumer also.

if the official price and specs are great for HSDM, then it is destined to be like the i30.

HSDM, MAKE SURE YOU DONT PRICE IT LIKE YOU HAVE PRICED THE I30!!!

• Jane Yong on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:34 am

The new hyundais look so OTT laaa…i prefer camry/accord…

• CHANG VOON CHING on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:50 am

I THINK U CANT SEE WHAT IS BEAUTIFUL OR XXXXXX.SORRY TO SAY THAT BRO….TO ME HYUNDAI DESIGN IS BRAVO

• …stillll hoping that proton can come up with better offer,spec in near future…

• tishaban on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:49 am

If the Kia Forte can set the standard (RM93k vs. 130k Honda Civic) let's hope this one can be just as affordable. However I'm not too convinced since Kia is being managed by Naza which is known for their low prices and low quality after sales service. Sime Darby, not so much on the prices, not sure about service.

• RM 138,899 :) (not real figure ok..teka2 je)

may be lah!!

• tokmoh on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:02 am

Hmm? 2.4 models don't come with auto climate control with ionizer? Baww……

• bobby on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:08 am

Price it around 100-120k, those youngster will be flocking to it.

Let there be alternative than japanese cars. I am sick of toyota and nissan.

• Techmimem on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:21 am

Hope HSD can do a Coup d'état at like the Forte and give us the best bang for our bucks.

• okie paul the interior photos are from which car ? Sonata or Tucson ?

• kjryth (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:31 am

yup… the i30 was too overpriced. the 2.0 was selling at rm109k++.. ehehhe tht's y very hard to see otr..

• Vbkcheng on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:38 am

RM120K pls!

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:53 am

Tucson Suv in white looks KUGA like from Ford, seen many running around in Hanoi, great looks

• I'm happy to see that none of the models have fake wood trim.

The cars will have to undercut the Japanese by at least 25% for them to sell. Price them any higher and I'll gladly pick up the balance stock when there is a firesale :)

• Hisham on Mar 10, 2010 at 2:47 am

My next purchase, either sonata or teana…

• Hisham on Mar 10, 2010 at 2:57 am

HOpefully We Malaysian, will start to realised what we are missing and start to know more about the products are being offer around the world. So we should realised how our stupid official govermment making stupid deciasion on our automotive policy.

• Gajen on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:19 am

toyota and honda better have proper answers to this…

• wolfsburg on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:03 am

My ideal price:

Tucson: 110/120/135k

Sonata: 120/135/155k

• wolfsburg on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:04 am

bkk: first one is Sonata, 2nd is Tucson

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:20 am

139k i'm guessing..sime darby is not like naza…they dont know how to con gov by removing hyundai badge & replace it with inokom

• think on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:24 am

how about the launching of kia sorento and sportage…will be a great comparison,,,,,,

• cannot wait to see them in the road.

• mozaks on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:43 am

the price should be the same as current sonata… in korea the new sonata also almost the same price as previous sonata (around RM60K)…

• takeo1070 on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:59 am

con the G…..so what, bottom line is we the consumer reap the benefit

• Black Dog on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:05 am

Sime can oso replace with Inokom logo.

Sime IS the government!

• 1 thing for in boleh land that is tak boleh is diesel…..so hyundai diesel tak boleh….haih no diesel spec…dam

• oomph on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:36 am

Nice to see better equipped cars from Korea arrived on our shores.

We've been conned by Japanese for a long time!

• Jimmy on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:26 am

Berapa airbags ni? Have to be 6, at least. After-sale service macam mana??? Prices should be RM118,888(2.0L), RM128,888(2.0H) and RM148,888(2.4).

• Jimmy on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:28 am

Oh no, the position of the gear-shift stick…

• YeapyEvo on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:58 am

Why don't they CKD it instead of CBU? Coz ppl will think soon Sime will CKD the car which will lower the value of their CBU car due to cheaper pricing and ppl may just hold off their purchase.

• Peter on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:58 am

Why don’t they CKD it instead of CBU? Coz ppl will think soon Sime will CKD the car which will lower the value of their CBU car due to cheaper pricing and ppl may just hold off their purchase.

—————————————————————-

Why must our own people like CKDs alot??????I refuse to accept this fact. Look at Perodua, Naza……..Are they capable to provide a good CKDs????

Malaysians dont need these companies to CKDs and sell cheaper to us…….

What we need is the originality of these cars and not companies who anyhow CKDs and sell cheaper to us…..

I have lacked the confidence by CKDs…..

Anyway, i planned to sell my Persona SE away for a Sonata!!!! Yea…..

• TEH KUANG NAM on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Very agreed with what u mentioned ! Since u r interested with Hyundai Sonata
      PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT MR. TEH AT 012-3725989. We will assure u our service to u. Hope to hear from u. TQ

• more rugged n muscular shape for this soon-to-launch sonata YF as compared to conservative n squarish shape for the current NF. if u r a girl or a guy that likes anything that is muscular, then this YF must be the choice of unregretful!

also, current NF is used as a taxi down in KL (kiasu-land or SG to be exact) together with his brother (kia optima). not many locals buy it coz this has somehow tarnished hyundai's reputation as a C-segment car, for being wrongly (ab)used as taxis. hope this will not be the same scenario in MY. btw, C-segment is dominated mostly by camry, accord, cerato forte, corolla altis, avante, civic, wish and jazz here in SG but not sonata.

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:40 pm

The Korean made is aggressive now, with better spec, more power, and cost less compare to Japanese made…

• King Samurai on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Korean are making tremendous comeback…enough for the Japs to leverage with their overrated and overpriced products. Let the Koreans run them good this time.

• the reader on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm

i wish they put cooler name…SONATA??..cmon..

• nigttrain on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm

You have to consider the upcoming Perdana replacement when it comes to pricing. If you set the Perdana price at RM100k, then you can't set Sonata 2.0 with 'a six-speed maintenance free automatic gearbox with tiptronic function' at RM120k. That would make the low tech Perdana look "really, really expensive". Nobody will buy the new Perdana.

Some people just cannot take that kind of competition. They'll just die. So rationally, try not to hope for a low price for this car even if the distributors can set a low price. The G works in mysterious ways…

• the reader on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:35 pm

SAMSUNG beat Sony in TV business…i bet Hyundai/KIA can do the same….way to go Koreans

• Squawk on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Nice cars. Hope they give good value for money. The long warranty is certainly something worth considering.

• What Car reviewed on the Tucson

Performance4 out of 5 stars

The ix35 is available with two 2.0-litre engines: one petrol and one diesel. The diesel is strong and provides real shove-in-the-back acceleration. In fact, there's so much grunt that it's easy to set the front wheels spinning if you pull away too swiftly on front-wheel-drive versions.

—————————————————————

But No DIESEL for us, sigh….can't they just re-tuned/mod the engine to suit our diesel like its Starex/Santa Fe…

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:18 pm

GT27 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:40 am

The Korean made is aggressive now, with better spec, more power, and cost less compare to Japanese made…

This alone will NOT affect the Japanese manufacturers sales. As i said many times before. The Koreans need to improve on their after sale service quality standards and maintenance costs. Unless they do this, they can put whatever specs in their cars but ppl will still prefer the Japanese.

Just look at the yearly sales figures. Even with new models being introduced every year by the Koreans, the Japanese market share has not been affected much.

• milanista on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

agree, sonata a bit girlish, i prefer they changed it to i45 as what in australia

• I like last sentence:

Now, all that’s left is the pricing. HSD is not having it easy on this matter; although this new breed of Hyundais meet and exceed class standards, the typical Malaysian customer still wants a substantially lower price than an equivalent Honda or Toyota, so we’ll see!

• cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 11:18 am

GT27 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:40 am

This alone will NOT affect the Japanese manufacturers sales. As i said many times before. The Koreans need to improve on their after sale service quality standards and maintenance costs. Unless they do this, they can put whatever specs in their cars but ppl will still prefer the Japanese.

Just look at the yearly sales figures. Even with new models being introduced every year by the Koreans, the Japanese market share has not been affected much.

———————-

Current Hyundais are cheaper to run than their Japanese equivalents. Don't listen to the rubbish that other people say. Speak to owners of modern Hyundais and ask them if they will buy another Hyundai.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:16 pm

vee said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:41 pm

Current Hyundais are cheaper to run than their Japanese equivalents. Don’t listen to the rubbish that other people say. Speak to owners of modern Hyundais and ask them if they will buy another Hyundai.

My father drives a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. So i know the amount of trouble he has. His gearbox went kaput last year just after the warranty lapsed and Hyundai took about 2 months to get a replacement. Go to 4-5 service centres and see the kind of problems fairly new cars are having.

But i think Hyundai is alot better than Kia in terms of quality.

• CHANG VOON CHING on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:03 am

agree withu bro,,,hyundai car is better than kia….in term of QUALITY…HYUNDAI IS THE BEST….100% BETTER THAN KIA/SSANGONG OR DAEWOO@CHEVROLET

• RM120K and a diesel (just used the same engine found in Santa Fe 2.2 CTDi) definitely a steal.

Though hardly we can expect a Nissan level of service many will love to back Hyundai. Doing a INOKOM or NAZA also ok as long as CBU.

• please gov decrease on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:47 am

Saya suka Hyundai Tucson ni. Lebih cantik dibanding Honda CRV, Kia Sorento, Kia Sportage baru dan agak setaraf exterior design dengan Nissan Murano . Tapi kalau di Malaysia walaupun pasang secara CKD, amat mustahil our G nak benarkan kereta ni dijual lebih murah berbanding Proton Perdana. So jangan mimpi Hyundai Sonata akan lebih murah banding Proton Perdana. Tapi berkemungkinan bagi Hyundai Tucson itupun kalau dipasang di Malaysia scr CKD. amat terkejut dengan harga di China, amat2 murah. Bawah RM 100 K.

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:17 am

It takes time for bad memories to fade.

I look forward to seeing this in market. I have been impressed by the improvements they have been putting in every model change.

I used to own a Excel 1.5 (bought it for CAD$200) 2 door hatch, it was a POS, but then again, it never really broke down and ran just like any japanese car (it has a 1.5L Mitsu rebadged D4DJ/4G15…which is actually more reliable than the 4G15P in later year Wira's..my excel has 320,000kms on the clock)

From that to this in a mere 3 full generations. I'm impressed.

What fails Hyundai here is not the fault of Hyundai. Its the dealers and importers.

I'm tempted by the Forte 2.0 and this new YF Sonata. Still waiting for a proper compact MPV though, had not been so, the choice would be default.

• Vbkcheng on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:36 am

Har, Accord, Camry is C-segment mer? I tot it should be D-segment…?

• jmg_32188 on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:37 am

the footbrake seems to be awkward for sonata..

• Vbkcheng on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:38 am

So, can some one provide link or more solid prove that sonata is selling at RM60K in Korean?

If this is the case wor, Malaysia and Japanses got to gulung tikai lior..

• cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:16 pm

My father drives a 2007 Hyundai Sonata. So i know the amount of trouble he has. His gearbox went kaput last year just after the warranty lapsed and Hyundai took about 2 months to get a replacement. Go to 4-5 service centres and see the kind of problems fairly new cars are having.

—————————————————————-

So I take it that he drives the Sonata NF. Which engine? What was the mileage when his gearbox died?

I drive a 2006 Sonata NF which has presented no major problems since day 1. Servicing costs are lower than Japanese cars and even local cars (you may surf over to AW to read the feedback on parts pricing for the Forte compared with the Waja). My current mileage is 80k km and the gearbox is still running fine.

I also drive a 2008 Kia which also has no issues.

I speak to many people in both Kia and Hyundai service centres and the majority (more than 80% of them) are very happy with their cars (only applicable to those who drive the recent models – older ones are problematic, I agree).

• Karl said,

March 10, 2010 @ 4:15 pm

RM120K and a diesel (just used the same engine found in Santa Fe 2.2 CTDi) definitely a steal.

Though hardly we can expect a Nissan level of service many will love to back Hyundai. Doing a INOKOM or NAZA also ok as long as CBU.

—————————————————————-The only diesel option available for the Tucson is the 2.0 litre R-series diesel which is an improved engine from the one in the current Malaysian Santa Fe. The new R-series diesel 2.2 litre is found in the facelifted Santa Fe which I heard is going to be launched after these 2 models are out.

• Jimmy on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:59 am

Cheater? Sonata NF 2007 came with 2-year warranty? Cipta cerita ni ke?

• Jimmy said,

March 10, 2010 @ 9:59 pm

——

You have made a brilliant observation in stating that 2007 Sonatas did not come with a 2-year warranty. They actually came with a 3-year warranty but I gave cybermaster98 the benefit of doubt because there are some 2007 cars with 2-year warranties.

So I am hoping he can clarify the matter and, at the same time, let us know if his dad's car was manufactured in which year, registered in which year and whether it was CBU or CKD.

• in the us the sonata is more expensive than the camry so yea…

• the koreans are coming!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• SaLeS aDViSor on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:08 am

ok ok.. here the fact… I'm a salesman from jap dealer. i'm driving 2004 hyun car.. eventhough i can buy this jap car with staff price… i really2 want to change my new ride with the same ride i use coz…

1.they sincere in making their ride compare to jap (cheater).

2.buy cheap, service cheap(if u have both car, try to service in jap service centre and HSD service centre,then compare for urself), spare part cheap (if you want cheaper, buy non ori but made in korea part, its come from same manufacture), no spare part ciplak(very2 dangerous).

3.handling superb, near europe standard…

4.bla bla bla(too many to talk about)

SO, i dont want to talk so much coz this jap car is my rice pot… i love them coz its easy to sell them IN MALAYSIA… AND, if all of u still want to compare between this two, u better open ur brain n be honest, compare for urself okey… dont make urself blind and be like our G-string…..

• nice design!

• silas evenstarr on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:00 am

Am hoping to get either one of these two … I already have a Starex. Previously, I was anti-korean too. Now, I love hyundai gilos. Woo hoo!

• vee said,

March 10, 2010 @ 7:53 pm

cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:16 pm

—————————————————————-

So I take it that he drives the Sonata NF. Which engine? What was the mileage when his gearbox died?

I drive a 2006 Sonata NF which has presented no major problems since day 1. Servicing costs are lower than Japanese cars and even local cars (you may surf over to AW to read the feedback on parts pricing for the Forte compared with the Waja). My current mileage is 80k km and the gearbox is still running fine.

I also drive a 2008 Kia which also has no issues.

I speak to many people in both Kia and Hyundai service centres and the majority (more than 80% of them) are very happy with their cars (only applicable to those who drive the recent models – older ones are problematic, I agree).

—————————————————————

Yeap, agreed….I luv my 2005 trajet, ..very2 solid & reliable till today, will definitely buy another Hyundai in the future. Most of those commenting actually never owned a hyundai before, coz most of the slanted H owner i meet at the SC are very satisfied wt their car/suv/mpv

• Maintaining, spare parts and servicing for hyundai is cheaper than japanese cars.

• Bryan Toong on Mar 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm

I suppose 115k will be reasonably competitive.

• klangboylty on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:42 am

I bet it will price around $130K. Hyundai sure priced the sonata value for money.

• ktas09 on Mar 12, 2010 at 9:01 am

Koreans are slowly gaining their reputation in automotive industries. Go Korea!!

• beeling on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:57 pm

If CBU around RM130K then CKD shall be around RM105K ?

Why not wait for CKD unit otherwise the value depreciated quite substantially!!

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Checked the US honda site, their Accord 2.4L has two engine spec 177hp and 190hp…

I thinnk the next version 2.0L civic probably will have 165hp…

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:16 am

Jimmy said,

March 10, 2010 @ 9:59 pm

Did i tell you that the car came with a 2 year warranty? Go read wht i typed before u comment further. I merely said the warranty lapsed and it lapsed due to the mileage. I believe it was about 115k at that time

• Kimchi lover on Mar 14, 2010 at 8:01 pm

Hopefully Hyundai will bring in the 2.0 petrol direct injection engine with 200bhp to Malaysia, except for Lexus and Nissan non of Far East Maker has this engine. Hyundai could make a huge follower and respect for them.

The continential cars with direct petrol injection are too expensive, America and Australia are getting this engine why not Malaysia.

Bring it too Malaysia before Polo GTI arrive and take away all the potential buyers.

• Yah.. wonder why we not getting the Direct Injection engine over here… the specs on the Hyundai USA website looks really good… 200bhp for the 2.4L engine. Probably because we don't get RON99 fuel… the compression ratio quite high ?

• Vbkcheng on Mar 22, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Look like the price is much higher than what we wish:

http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai-sonata-yf-theta-ii-2….

• Vbkcheng on Mar 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Tucson is price at RM120K…

http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai-Tucson-ix35-NEW-55859…

• jacky on Mar 22, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Dear Vbkcheng

the price advertised on mudah.com is not official as i called up a hyundai sales person today..

• Price is very important bcos Hyundai has very low 2nd hand value. Also their Maintenance & Spare Parts are very costly.

Anything more than 125K for 2.0 High Spec will be seen as not worth it by Msians.

Sime Darby must understand that Toyota/Honda branding & 2nd hand value is very important for ther pricing strategy.

• hanifhamzah on Mar 23, 2010 at 5:26 pm

the front grill of the sonata looks very similar to the current model of honda city…obviously….

• Japanese Rival on Mar 26, 2010 at 7:04 am

This is a masterpiece by korean, unlike those japanese who will just remain and retain. i am totally disappointed with the japanese over these 5 years. Nothing new but only enhanced and enhanced again, so bore!! i Used to drive some Honda cars, there is noway for any japanese make can beat this YF Sonata. Very impressive outlook with a very advanced powertrain, combination of new direct injection engine and 6 speed maintenance free gear system. Toyota Camry and Honda Accord is totally out of picture. This is what we called WORK WITH HEART

• Daniel on Apr 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Just booked 2.4 Tuscon last week and price is rm152,888 and was told to wait for 1 month. Also understand that their pre-launch is sometime next week.

• new kid on Apr 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Just called a Hyundai dealer, and the low spec 2.0 is selling at RM126,888, high spec RM136,888. Plan to check out the car once it arrives in the showroom…expected sometime next week. Have anyone seen the actual car? Heard that Korean cars have alot of problem…anyone has any good experience to share?

• nizam on Apr 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm

the 2.0 engine same as kia rondo… theta II MPI. Let get korean car..

• New Kid In Town on May 04, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Hyundai car is good compare to other korean car. As u know Hyundai is pioneer for making a giant Ship SuperTanker. If Hyundai can make an engine that can run the super tanker through the ocean so think about it bro!

• Dan kong on May 07, 2010 at 8:13 pm

I have plan to buy a new car in this couple of months. After seeing the ad on star, rushed to the show room and tucson is love at first sight. It fits my original budget and it is just pretty. No issue with korean car as i have been driving a matrix ckd for 5 years and love every minute of it. Full confidence with hyundai. One must try to appreciate hyundai’s value for money. Fully agree that those who question hyundai quality most likely are “hear say”. The tradeover option will cut the price tag by Rm5000

• 130K car on May 08, 2010 at 9:53 pm

dear dude,
    may i know 130K++ car, toyota altis and tucson, which one better?

• jasson on May 09, 2010 at 8:31 pm

i like that 2 sun roof. rm136.888 better then xxx jp car….

• Dan Kong on May 10, 2010 at 8:33 am

I test-drove Tucson on Saturday on a standard spec. Power is good, gear-shift is smooth, handling is stable… now need to check the other colour before making a booking… but need to pay RM2000 for booking, so better be sure.

• flchan on May 11, 2010 at 5:47 pm

no worry….the salesman said the booking can refund with any condition….one thing i think u need to check is the paint work….i dont know why most of the korean car paint work is not good….u will find a kind of not smooth surface….but when touch it is ok….just check it