2010 Toyota Vios facelift launched in Thailand!

The facelifted Vios is now officially on sale in Thailand, and the Malaysian market launch should come soon after. There are not much changes externally – just the usual suspects of changed parts such as the front bumper design, grille, rear tail lamp, and a chrome strip on the boot lid. The engine remains unchanged – it is still the 1NZ-FE DOHC putting out 109 PS and 141Nm of torque.

8 models are available in Thailand, more than what we get here. Interestingly they have this version with a bodykit which I presume will make its way to Malaysia as the top of the range TRD Sportivo model (or we might get a different bodykit design), but what’s interesting is not the bodykit. It’s what looks like an aftermarket-ish Heads-Up Display module that displays the car’s current speed on your windscreen. Interesting gimmick!

Another photo reveals a new AUX input for the radio so you can connect your external MP3 players. Would be better if there was a USB port instead for the audio data to be sent to the stereo digitally. And of course finally, there’s an engine start/stop button which hints at keyless entry and go.

I personally don’t know when we’ll see the facelifted Vios launched in Malaysia but it should be very very soon. Shortly after a teaser was posted on their website in early February, the teaser page was then updated with a thick white outline of the car replacing an actual photo of the car that was there before.

Look after the jump for a full photo gallery of the Thai car. Note that specifications and other details such as bodykit design might be different from the Malaysian market.

GALLERY: Toyota Vios Facelift 2010 in Thailand
[zenphotopress number=999 album=942]
GALLERY: Toyota Vios Facelift 2010 Interior
[zenphotopress number=999 album=943]
GALLERY: Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo Facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=944]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:37 am

Nicer? But still an ugly car.

• toyota user on Apr 07, 2010 at 8:30 pm

okla…also a nice car,but fuel efficiency is the most important for user..right@@

• petrol-head on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:39 am

am i 1st?? cool car, sure if city a headache hehehe…. to catch up

• goldfries on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:41 am

ahhh look like mini camry, no?

• one ugly car & at the price sold in malaysia, there are better alternatives like the swift, forte, city

• joe not KIA salesman on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:13 am

u are kia salesman?????hihihi

• TRD Desire on Apr 02, 2010 at 11:57 am

you are really a jerk….do you think city worth 90k as well? do you think forte worth that price as well?

• PradaLoo on Apr 03, 2010 at 1:47 pm

forte and swift will be better than Vios??
      In this range(around 90k) of car, I better trust the world best selling car company–TOYOTA.

• goldfries on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:42 am

looks like a mini camry, IMO much better than the dugong.

so agak when coming to M'sia? we need nicer looking cars. :)

• mu_77 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

Its still a crappy dugong anyhow… Good interior upgrade tho..

• taboogen on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

hahah funny… why lah need two meter….then our kancil also can install this … wkaakakakak… funny lah… why put the meter cluster at the center at the first place

• wow….its now more looking like its brother…the dugong!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:46 am

Is it my eyes, or is the steering wheel slightly flattened at the bottom?

• Salamander on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:46 am

Improved Dugong

• bobdbilder on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:49 am

Truly a wonder of the automotive industry for non drivers around the world! A HUD! I always wanted to fly an F-18.

Believe me the last thing you would want to worry about this car is the speed.

• Yes Danny its got a flat bottom steering like sporty 1 but hope its standard

for all models. Did any 1 notice thats its keyless start/stop engine too?

Hope that'll b standard for all models too.

• slimershine on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:02 am

dugong…… again.

• donadoni on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

r u kidding me?this is how it looked when dugong on steroid or botox. hahaha

• jolly_idiot on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:07 am

The head up display got aftermarket? Probably can get 1 at Brother's?

• Toyota people are th on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:11 am

Oh good, now the Dugong wears braces. How pathetic, why do people still buy this car? Kia Forte is a better engineered car.

• Hunter on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:18 am

Ugly…

• bobby on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:27 am

hahha, dugong on botox, that is funny and true. Its U G L Y.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:33 am

Our market will never receive the keyless-go version, UMW has ever been that generous. We will not have the Heads Up Display too. Worse news is that there will be a price increase of Rm 1000. Daylight robbery

• l3ryan on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

why is it still so darn ugly??? @@"

• bmpower on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:35 am

129th facelift.

the most facelifted car in history.

btw, start and stop button you can buy at any ah beng shop outside there for few RM only. but i do believe umw will markup the price over thousand for that. (who care!? there's always stupid T fan outside there still wanna buy)

wow! wanna follow Saga BLM merz rear light some more.

• it has start stop button…

• I believe the Architect is Dugong in Toyota who inspires Vios…and yet still with an old engine technology….anyhow good point for Toyota to increase the price approx. RM5k-RM8k or even more…

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 10, 2010 at 10:13 am

ugly is the only word that can describe this car

• i m speechless with this dugong beauty…

• nonce on Mar 10, 2010 at 10:47 am

nah..the keyless go won't make it here in malaysia.seen it in the brochure given by the uwm showroom.

• A dugong is still a dugong..good job toyota!

• buy this and die due to SAP ha3

• nabil on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:58 am

thaT headup display exactly the one selling in brother's…rm220 !

• Andrew on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm

What's with the center meter cluster – why in the world do they do that? (I know this isn't the only car that has that)

• Mufasa on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:23 pm

at current vios and city, they should able to give us 6 airbag…

but they squeze us….

• peYno on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:51 pm

prrrtfhhh

any toyota 2nd class asean made topic, sure kena bash

pity toyota 2nd class asean made

• while u all r saying dugong…local showroom is out of quota for march…..just wonder y r there still ppl wan to buy a dugong….tell me y…….

• EchoTango23 on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Wah…this is better! Looks more like Camry & Innova! Love the new add-ons!

• mechanical (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Dugong the Series!!!!!! hahahahaha

or maybe Halimah Jongang the Series!!!!!! hahahahaha

• mechanical (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:44 pm

TEC said,

March 10, 2010 @ 2:13 am

i m speechless with this dugong beauty…

———————————–

beauty among the Dugong..hehehehe

• jugaus on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:00 pm

Fugly..

• Why the pics of the floor mats?

To assure us that the accelerator pedal won't be stuck to it.

• klguy on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:03 pm

so with all this new goodies, price increase by 10k? i wont be surprised

• linear_system on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:05 pm

ugly….

• sparrow on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm

how come they never show the smart key?

don't tell me the smart entry + push start is similar to some after market push start button.. need to insert the key then "push"…

• Maserati on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Wow,nice!

Looks like the steering has become a flat bottom type.

• I think this Toyota will be safe to buy, as it is a cheap piece of… shiz and will not include any fancy features like Super Accelerator and No-Brake Override. Yes, other drivers on the road will feel very secure with this model as it shouldn't accelerate for no reason and bang you in the… azz.

• johan on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Sorry, Kia Forte still offers a better specs, design and value of money..

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm

I think this look nicer than one pre-facelift…

However, with the price increase so much, I may consider Kia Forte, Korean car is getting better, it is just we have no yet recover our confident…

• nogori on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Still Dugong… The price sure increase… RM 3K – 8K

The STUPID T supporter still buying this DUGONG… The Ugly car from Toyata..

• Type F on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Good interior upgrade but this Dugong is still UGLY!!! I bet Toyoto will increase price >3k for this facelift version..Not a single improvement on the engine & still got TRD version somemore? wtf..90k for this dugong is simply stupid..

• akupunya on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:44 pm

dugong pun cun maa….

• orlith on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:46 pm

I heard from a Toyota salesman that that the dugong will be launched here next month – at about 4k more than the current price!

• In term of exterior, don't see much of a transformation, interior the only significant changes is the push start/ stop button, if that is the only changes toyota can come out with, then i ll still prefer a city, which have more aggresive look, and interior more futurelistic.

• Dont think the start/stop button feature is standard across all variants. There is a picture featuring how the new key piece would look like.

And the start/stop button was also the highlight of the recent Camry facelift. Would cause unwanted negative effects if this is found in Vios.

• The ugly dugong is a mermaid wannabe. The front face is even uglier than the butt cheek of fat mama.

• Yamin on Mar 10, 2010 at 4:57 pm

does it come with sticky pedal? if so, i want one ;-)

• michaelk on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Ugly?? i don't think so.To be fair, this one is better than the current version. good job T.

• nick chan on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

less dugong-ish

• initial R on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:15 pm

Hmmmm…… Will coming after upgraded Persona lunch…. Nothing interesting…. Why put other meter if they said that center console are ergonomic ?… silly… Still been con by them… Sure price will increase RM3k to RM6k (want to cover the lost of SAP problem)….

• carsut on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:22 pm

sticky pedal acceleration problem?? takut oooo!!

• fakeSY0H on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:24 pm

facelift againnnnnnnnnn?

make people sh*tbrix again

• King Samurai on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:28 pm

bobby said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:27 am

hahha, dugong on botox, that is funny and true. Its U G L Y.

LOL…agree mate!! and with make ups too….haiya……

Typical Toyota & Honda…face lift=dressed up + price up

Japs car lover called it mid-life improvement, fanboy called it mini-altis, mini-camry…or whatsoever big brother relationship..

Get a Forte 2.0 for facelifted Dugong TRD MkII…better run for money

• turbo on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:31 pm

love the steering, i just wan the steering

• Squawk on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Danny, looks like the steering wheel is still round. It's the lighting and the lines that give it the illusion that it's flat.

What I don't get is if we're supposedly still the primary passenger car market in ASEAN and supposedly the Thais aren't as rich as us to afford cars, why do they have so many variants? It makes it look like the Thai passenger car market is more vibrant.

• phahmeen on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:43 pm

why use Heads-up display? obviously putting the meter in the centre of dashboard is

– USELESS

• price plus 2k-4.5k?hehe….but the fanboy will buy….lame…

• DUASINGGIT on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:47 pm

cantik …suka gak kaler dia..but rasanyanya Forte lagi best..pasal member dah beli kete Forte tu,dia bg komen. Vios yg ni cam camry la skit…teringat pinjam kete camry 2.0 E member..bila bawak..tak de la best sangat..hehe..just besar je..bawak Proton Putra lagi best…pendapat peribadi je. anyway Vios facelift tu boleh la diterima…

• dugong will always be a dugong damn ugly car. toyota is going down the drain now becoming a problematic car look what happen in US and Europe. soon toyota buyer in Msia will have the same problem.

• elite on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

still better looking and classier than any proton car

• JACK HAMMER on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm

the current DUGONG already too expensive.. and it's ugly..

with this new facelift and some add on, the price sure hike like hell.. and it's still ugly..

FORTE waaaaay better than DUGONG in any aspect..

it's cheaper!! and not ugly..

DUGONG always be a DUGONG .. it's ugly… U.G.L.Y…UGLY.. get it??

i mean.. DUGONG with skirt? how sexy can it be?????

prfthhhhh…

• Darius on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

Fugly as ever. Put a useless HUD, but did nothing about the cheapo aircon controls.

Ah..I can see the hordes rushing to book one, and think its so great despite being the bottom of the range toilet paper Toyota.

Love seeing the rice boy versions with black glass, white rims, TRD/Brembo/Exegi stickers and spoilers…..but running a 109 PS engine? LOL, what a joke. Some people are sad.

• henry on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Bling-bling Dugong. Ah Beng will love this

• NO USB..? ok, NO for me.

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari&#0 on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Once a dugong, always a dugong . . . even with a plastic surgery!!!! ha ha ha. Sorry Toyota, just want to poke fun. BTW, when it comes to design, the Japs just cant beat the Italians..

• Celica GT on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

UMW please increase selling price when lauching this new facelift Vios ok. Good to earn more profit!

• Auto_crat on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Same s##t.

• Seriously on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:52 pm

(slightly of topic) Even a Vios is getting a Start/Stop now? Why can't they have that in the facelift Civic? Sigh Honda… you dissapoint me.

• alpha999 on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm

top selling non-national make again this year of the tiger

• Louis X on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Nice interior upgrade really. i can see camry front fog lights and grilled too.. but can the Toyota design come out with something new? no just copy here and copy there from others car lol…

• Cynical on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Still a dugong, albeit it managed a faint smile. But it's still ugly

• johan on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm

still cant compete with the forte

• theanswer on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:20 pm

i dont really have a problem with the dsign…but problem with the pricing..top of the range 1.5 can almost get u a 2.0 forte.

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:24 pm

klguy said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:03 am

The price increase is less than 3K. Its been released by Toyota already

• wochomi on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:26 pm

KIA forte design is 80's match box design. It's a wonder that people actually go for it.

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:29 pm

orlith said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:46 am

I heard from a Toyota salesman that that the dugong will be launched here next month – at about 4k more than the current price.

Your salesman doesnt know its figures then. The price increase is less than 3K.

• DM3 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:33 pm

yea, u guys can complain all u want, but as for the monthly sales figures it is still higher than city and the sad part is it is gonna rise from this month onwards.

dunno why ppl stil like to buy it..

• better buy ford tdci..

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Many of you bash the Vios for looks and specs. But how many of you can put a price on the overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards over a 7 YEAR PERIOD?

Can the Forte be cheaper and more value for money for a 7 year maintenance period? Dont just talk about looks and specs. Buying a car is much more than that.

• seyfull on Mar 10, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Saw vios facelift version at Putrajaya, shooting for ads maybe :D.

• jeffcws on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Aiyo, still wanna take other cars to compare to Vios???? especially the forte?? U all work in Honda or Naza is it???

Facts and Figures are important, unfortnately more and more vios otr la…..like i mentioned…yes Vios is expensive, no doubt…but hello!! u all don't know this thing call 'customer experience'? why I bought vios? customer experience bros…..I m buying an average 10 year good and well services from toyota…not just a car…

Go la any toyota showroom and experience it for yourself…go also check out the service centres…. dont just see a car only…..

• King Samurai on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:05 pm

Many of you bash the Vios for looks and specs. But how many of you can put a price on the overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards over a 7 YEAR PERIOD?

Can the Forte be cheaper and more value for money for a 7 year maintenance period? Dont just talk about looks and specs. Buying a car is much more than that.

Most Malaysians trend…change car after 3-4 years. No need to wait until 7 years driving outdated car.

• jeffcws on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:06 pm

can Naza provide good customer service or not??? go la and check it out…don't see sales centre, see service centres also…go and survey the spare parts also….

When I bought the vios, i not only buying the car, I am buying the total customer experience…

• Cynical on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

cybermaster98, why stop at seven years? Why not 20 years? This thing is subjective, and is different between users of even the exact same model. Don't spew your bullshit here, it stinks

• redfueler on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:10 pm

is that new facelife with new pedal i though;))

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

who says only proton cars get bashed left & right???..wakakaka

• Sritharan on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:24 pm

A decent facelift. Just like any other midlife facelifts as expected there isn't much. Keyless for this segment of car is welcomed. Just hope there won't be any recall..wink wink ;) And calling it "dugong" it's really funny!

• barca fan on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Dugong is always dugong eventhough put a make up..dugong will never be a duyong…dont be fool by dugong….different species..LOL

• learner on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:32 pm

cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 11:24 am

klguy said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:03 am

The price increase is less than 3K. Its been released by Toyota already

glad to hear that the price increase is less than rm3k. is the less also mean the spec for malaysia market is less too? no start-stop button, no HUD? than the facelift is just a proxy to increase the price.

• kenny_lim on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:39 pm

yeah, either honda or toyota for me. never to get a kia, peugeot or chevy…why? because of the distributor. just see the crap at their service center and sales office, hiring a bunch of monkey to do a man's job. for long term and less worries, get a toyota or honda. might not looks good to some but at least we got a peace of mind.

• albag on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:48 pm

i like it… so many people driving this car on the roads so it must be a good car… dugong oso cute cute kawaii!!!

• Hmmm..out of the sudden, T fans now sounds like P1 fans…hahaha

• cybermaster98 on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Cynical said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:09 pm

cybermaster98, why stop at seven years? Why not 20 years? This thing is subjective, and is different between users of even the exact same model. Don’t spew your bullshit here, it stinks

My comments are based on my OWN experience. I used 7 yrs cuz my Toyota is 7 yrs old. I cant possibly use 20 as a comparison when i dont have a 2o yr old car rite?

Plus if u had read all my posts u will see that my information and views come from the fact that i have maintained Korean cars of different makes at different service centres. Thus i am qualified to make comparisons.

So before u claim anything as bullshit check your facts. Go visit 5 Kia service centres and observe the age of the vehicles against the type of defects they have. Also check the prices of parts and then comapre them to Toyota. Do it at 5 service centres to get an average. I have done all this which is why i can comment.

If u cant do this and agree then be man enough to disagree and shut up.

• Motorist on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

My impression after driving the Vios for 4 days in Thailand (mostly town & non toll highways. Lots of up & down hills). This car understeers quite badly, even at a low speed of 60 kmh !!! No wonder the women drivers all step on the brakes upon entering a curve that you normally take without thinking about.

Steering wheel torque steer is also quite pronounced. Engine start to lose "breath" at 4500 rpm onwards. Gear kick down respond time is good but dont expect a seat slamming rush at above 4500 rpm.

Good straight line acceleration until 4500 rpm. Good straight line handling (but then so are many cars). I think the Waja would probably handle corners better than the Vios (though am no Proton fan either).

Very economical engine (rough estimate was about 6L/100km for long distance driving on non toll Thai highways).

NVH is very good, for a car of that range. Not very pronounced roll. Absorb bumps rather well surprisingly. Excellent air-cond. Lousy OEM sound system. A very comfortable car.

All in all, a good car for ladies to potter about. Just be careful not to follow to closely as they will step on the brakes at every bend on the road.

Me, I would like to test drive the new Honda City before deciding which of the two I enjoy driving.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:02 pm

King Samurai said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:05 pm

Most Malaysians trend…change car after 3-4 years. No need to wait until 7 years driving outdated car.

Yes i agree King. But how to change a car which has not given me any problems for 7 yrs? How do i change a car which gives me good performance, good fuel economy and low cost of maintenance? Quite difficult. But im sure this is a dilemma many Toyota owners face.

Im waiting for a better model to come along. The Altis is not good enough. Camry is too big. So we'll see.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm

jeffcws said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:06 pm

can Naza provide good customer service or not??? go la and check it out…don’t see sales centre, see service centres also…go and survey the spare parts also….

When I bought the vios, i not only buying the car, I am buying the total customer experience…

Well said Jeff. This is something these Korean car fans will NEVER understand. Nobody will be a fan of a Korean car if they have owned a Toyota/Honda of the same category previously.

• JACK HAMMER on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm

cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 11:40 am

Dont just talk about looks and specs..

all we need is an UGLY car with less maintenance cost and high resale value.. that just it…

no need for 6 air bags..

ABS, EBD, BA, traction control..

better engine power

and so on..

Boy, what a nerd..

u need a G-whiz.. it sure go well with u..

no look & less spec..
    http://regmedia.co.uk/2009/03/26/gwhiz_1.jpg

• fakeSY0H on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:13 pm

toyotaik customer service also same as shit now

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:24 pm

Motorist, did you just say that the Vios has torque steer? I can't see how that's possible in a car with 141Nm

• My vios has alignment problem. Everytime I brought it for alignment, it still keep on going to the left side!!! When I complained to Toyota, they have lots of excuse…

• @ntiperodua on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm

Stupid & Ugly Car and More Dangerous Car !!!

• brokenegg on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:49 pm

For those who say that Vios/Toyota drivers/owners are stupid, it's alright if u say that Vios/Toyota is ugly, lousy, waste of money, dugong etc, but do u think that u are so clever and most ppl out there in M'sia and even the world who own this best-selling brand are stupid?

• Motor-head on Mar 10, 2010 at 10:03 pm

Nak tanya semua… apa specialnya kereta Vios ni atau apa-apa saja kereta Toyota.. hebat sangat ka Toyota nie… sampai Vios ni org cakap kereta luar yang paling laku kat Malaysia?

• still looks like a flower horn

• interesting comments,hmmm.

if a person buys a car based on looks then why are there so many 'dugongs' around?

if a person buys cars based on facts then why are there still so many 'dugongs' around?

overall the 'dugong' is the best car by its class.

• CAmry with dugOng eyes ==

• just a Camry With Dugong Eyes…=.=

• Hey Cybermaster….

Do u want me to give u the statistic of how many ppl cancelled their Vios and City,Civic bookings to go for Forte and New Sonata…..Vios is the ugliest car in B Segment….I have owned Honda and Toyota previously n i regret of doin tht….wasted my money for something not worth the price….every year just change bumper and lights and hike the price….at least Koreans offer new age technologies in their cars coupled with nicer looking designs at very reasonable price….unlike empty shell Vios at 70K+ and only a crappy B segment…..ur talking about spare parts price, if u can get cheap Toyota parts, i can guarantee that are imitations from China….original Toyota parts are more expensive than Koreans car parts….Naza service centres i agree wit u, but Hyundai and Kia has their own service centres and most ppl only go to service centres for the 1st 3 service n then do outside, so why bother….

Talking bout reliability, 8 million Toyotas recalled worldwide, ahahahha….laughable for the so called Safe and Reliable trademark….killed bout 20ppl, then only they bother to recall….wont b long b4 the malaysian market Toyotas follow up, they just trying to wait until someone dies in Malaysia…I rather own a Korean car and stay alive…

• Isnt it strange that NONE of the Toyota recall affects MY versions? Anyone care to comment? I seriously don't believe our local version can be that different (better?) compared to the recalled American models.

• azrai on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Heads-Up Display module sure kena cilok one after on road. And kancil user will buy and use it then. barang panas.

• farghmee on Mar 10, 2010 at 11:59 pm

the projector(?) HUD should be made neater..hide it anywhere pls..

• cheap spare part?hehe

• Cynical on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:21 am

cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 12:56 pm

So before u claim anything as bullshit check your facts. Go visit 5 Kia service centres and observe the age of the vehicles against the type of defects they have. Also check the prices of parts and then comapre them to Toyota. Do it at 5 service centres to get an average. I have done all this which is why i can comment.

Go and find a Forte that is 5 years old and come find me again. If you can't, shut up.

• Masteroushi on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:25 am

Malaysia version shouldnt have so much gadgets as Thai variant. It's veri normal we always get lesser items on the facelift. Hey wait a minute, ain Toyota increased their car price ? This facelift will increase price again ah ?

• alpha999 on Mar 11, 2010 at 12:59 am

wow…..in less than a day of this new published facelifted vios 2010, more than 100 comments (bad or good) posted……proves its popularity

• alpha999 on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:04 am

wow, in less than a day after published, more than 100 (negative or positive) comments posted…..proves its popularity

• please gov decrease on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:30 am

why Vios@ Dugong overpriced in Malaysia. This crap only cost U lower than RM 20, 000. 00 in Japan

• alldisc on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:40 am

i agree with danny. if a 200bhp Alfa or Saab 9-5 ok la. but vios?? balancing problem only. or just suka2 create story maybe.

• Nothing change..engine remains unchanged with 109PS..too sad cant compete with new honda city with new engine IVTEC 120PS..!!!

• lol, cybermaster98 = toyota salesman?

• DUGONG pergi make up and facial.

• buttercity on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:40 am

Got Stop/Start button for Sticky Accelerator Pedal kah?

• Funeral Model on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:44 am

Piece of shit~ City look more better and no matter what. vios is a underpower car. Piece of junk.

• kenny_lim on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

i think korean cars are getting better (not as good as japan though) but the distributor is the one who is making a quick profit without considering the consumer. after getting a car from Kia, i found that the car is ok….but the distributor sucks. so planning to sell it and then get a 'peace of mind' which is toyota or honda…

• jeffcws on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:50 am

in case someone ask me how I know about Kia service centre? THAT IS BECOS I OWNED 1 before…and I have been not to 1 but a few centres from puchong to seremban…they are all the same!!!

• selipar on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:53 am

This…for a few thousand more RM….how low do they think of the market is??

• Abzaja on Mar 11, 2010 at 2:55 am

go dugong go go go

• rabbit308 on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:59 am

dun argue liao.. its gov fault, they put stupid tax on import car so they can distribute wealth via AP to who they want.. buy wat u like, but pls dun buy p1

• MK said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:02 am

Why the pics of the floor mats?

To assure us that the accelerator pedal won’t be stuck to it.

————————————————————–

But UMW saying the current its OK…..??????

• klaka seram on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:05 am

even it's ugly, it still no. 1 in term of sales in its category.

I own 7 yr-old vios. still running good with low maintenance. the resale value is not as bad as the korean

• asgard on Mar 11, 2010 at 4:11 am

behind that shinny pedal holds dark secrets,even fl persona got led light

• toyota lover on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:16 am

nice car…..

• toyota lover on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:28 am

all bad comment about vios come from kia salesman, proton salesman,honda salesman…and others…..hehehehe go go go go toyota…..

• toyota lover on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:30 am

i agreed with u klaka seram…..resale value is not bad than kia n hyundai….just like a "tin kosong" price……hehehehehe

• Scuddie on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:31 am

I've no idea but imho it's utterly stupid for those calling it as dugong..bumpkin guy..phew..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:37 am

wow…now no need buy Gti can get flat steering wheel already

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:13 am

-They changed abit from the spyshot model in the colour tone of center cluster.

-Toyota SA said that this Vios launching 16 April(Same As The Launching Date Of Proton Exora).

-I dont think Malaysia have sticky pedal coz the weather in Malaysia is very hot and the glue expand so that it wont stick togather(hehe).

-The boot seems to be bigger.

-Better steering design.

-Four reverse sensor cells for new vios?

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:16 am

klaka seram said,

March 10, 2010 @ 8:05 pm

even it’s ugly, it still no. 1 in term of sales in its category.

I own 7 yr-old vios. still running good with low maintenance. the resale value is not as bad as the korean

—————————————————————-

My house have a Vios and Sportage. Both 7 years old. Vios worth more than RM50k while Sportage only worth RM18k…

• StupidDugong on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:25 am

Only idiots will buy this dugong, and it is proved there it is real that there are lots of idiot in malaysia. ALL Dugong Owners are stupid idiots!!! and thats y BN still rules the country!!!

• nothing special unless is price below 50K….. yah in my dream

• monash.u on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:03 am

mazda 2 sedan will give them running for their money.

april will be an exciting month for proton, mazda and toyota.

• zookri on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:42 am

y vios r selling well in malaysia? ppl need a reliable car, not just looks.. ppl just dun care watever others call it dugong or ugly car.. peace of mind is number 1.. tats wat vios good at. u buy korean car… ur mind always remind u bout the value of the car… hard to sell. buying dugong is all about ppl think n study bout car market scenario in malaysia

• how stupid can one get to be sucked into buying a vios junk?

you wankers, jeffcws & cybermaster98 should go out more often, instead of trying to impress upon the rest the total customer experience, parts pricing, overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards.

for your information, other options such as the city & swift are available with similiar total customer experience, parts pricing, overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards.

bashing the yesteryears koreans and the forte is under the belt, you know & we know, vios is junk, period.

shame on you two wankers.. tsk tsk tsk

• taliban on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:06 am

nothing special…stupid toyota….no idea kew?

• its gonna come here all right, i bet my life on it.

and then price will be jacked up another 5k.

and still people will still buy it because it's a Toyota, and because my aunt's friend's sister's cousin's grandma's grandpa's daughter's bf's sister say its a good car.

the forte, pug 308, looks better and drives better.

• Kington on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:24 am

don said,

March 10, 2010 @ 3:11 pm

Hey Cybermaster….

Do u want me to give u the statistic of how many ppl cancelled their Vios and City,Civic bookings to go for Forte and New Sonata…..Vios is the ugliest car in B Segment….I have owned Honda and Toyota previously n i regret of doin tht….wasted my money for something not worth the price….every year just change bumper and lights and hike the price….at least Koreans offer new age technologies in their cars coupled with nicer looking designs at very reasonable price….unlike empty shell Vios at 70K+ and only a crappy B segment…..ur talking about spare parts price, if u can get cheap Toyota parts, i can guarantee that are imitations from China….original Toyota parts are more expensive than Koreans car parts….Naza service centres i agree wit u, but Hyundai and Kia has their own service centres and most ppl only go to service centres for the 1st 3 service n then do outside, so why bother….

Talking bout reliability, 8 million Toyotas recalled worldwide, ahahahha….laughable for the so called Safe and Reliable trademark….killed bout 20ppl, then only they bother to recall….wont b long b4 the malaysian market Toyotas follow up, they just trying to wait until someone dies in Malaysia…I rather own a Korean car and stay alive…

Pleaselar.. Korean cars also got recalls.. In australia, it's more frequent.

• FIXER (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:34 am

The most hideous looking thing on the road.Any rubbish,crap,dugong,kerbau or lembu ppl will buy as long its a T brand.Fine if the after sales service is good and if you dont like driving.For petrolheads, they deserve better cars.

So its all bout choices.For me the Vios is an overpriced,underspecced and ultimately overated.

• Kambing Makan Rumput on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:42 am

The best feature of this new Dugong is a special SAP that got more sticky yay!

• only gimmicks :( where is dual vvti..4 airbags..traction..

• :(

• Nicholas on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

Ya it's ugly and shit to you guys rite?

but Vios was the top 1 non-national car sales in 2008 and 2009.

Why don't u sleep tight with your Myvi and Saga lol.

• Tiadaid on Mar 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

Nicholas said,

March 11, 2010 @ 2:16 am

Ya it’s ugly and shit to you guys rite?

Why don’t u sleep tight with your Myvi and Saga lol.

———–

Like I've said many times, Malaysians are BADGE CONSCIOUS. They'll even by a dog of a car, as long as the badge is there.

• learner on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:12 pm

Nicholas said,

March 11, 2010 @ 2:16 am

Ya it’s ugly and shit to you guys rite?

Why don’t u sleep tight with your Myvi and Saga lol.

___________________________________________________________________-

don't play play, at least myvi and saga BLM space interior can match vios interior you know. even some said roomiest than vios.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:15 pm

don said,

March 10, 2010 @ 3:11 pm

Hey Cybermaster….

Yes please provide me with those statistics and tell me the source of the info. I dare you to do so with absolute accuracy. Lets see the stats published here for all to see. How many ppl were killed by defects in other makes? Do u know? U dont cuz the news wires didnt report. U only know what is reported. Nobody would have known about the Toyota deaths if that guy in the Lexus didnt make that call. How many didnt make a call while in their Korean, Italian or German cars? Nobody will ever know. At least Toyota is sensible in recalling their cars even if it means a loss of sale and face. Thats a company who is concerned. Hats off to them. So unless u know ALL your facts please do not converse like some uneducated fool.

All the parts mentioned are from Toyota service centres. If they produce their parts in China or Mongolia doesnt matter to me as long as it LASTS and its WARRANTED. Only Korean car owners go outside for service after 3 yrs because they know their service centres are crap. Toyota and Honda owners dont need to do. Why should we when the service is cheap, parts are guaranteed and warranted and the service standards are good?

You do not own a Toyota / Honda and i doubt u ever owned one. So please dont claim so just to prove a point. Its quite easy to pick out a liar.

I only state facts based on my own experience. I have maintained Japs and Korean brands. Soi know the difference in service standards. As i have said many times in this forum, Korean brands have BETTER SPECS and CHEAPER CARS. But to sell a brand u also need good AFTER SALES SERVICE and LOW MAINTENANCE COSTS.

Im saying this for the last time for all those who keep quoting me as saying otherwise. Stop comparing just looks and specs alone. Its the overall experience that counts. No brand has all the best points as no brand is perfect. But there is a real strong reason why ppl prefer Jap brands and its not merely a herd mentality.

Dont forget that Toyota is the best selling foreign make not only in Malaysia but in the world. I want Korean brands to come up fast and quick as these Japs need a worthy competitor. But as long as the Korean brands do not improve on their service standards and cost of maintenance they will still be left far behind.

You can quote me on this when the overall vehicle sale statistics are released for 2010.

Cheers!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Funeral Model said,

March 10, 2010 @ 6:44 pm

Piece of shit~ City look more better and no matter what. vios is a underpower car. Piece of junk.

How to you rate an underpowered car? Just on the CC alone? I dont think u know much about cars do you? U merely say stuff just to get your name on the forum eh?

For your info, a 2003 Vios weighs 942kg (kerb) and has 109HP. It has a factory tested 0-100kmph acceleration of 9.8secs. How many cars in the same category have that same acceleration statistics? Underpowered you say?You know the meaning of power to weight ratio? I dont think you do or else u wouldnt have posted nonsense.

Of course if you put 4 adults in the car then u feel the limitations of a 1.5cc engine. But thats the case with most cars in that range.

Even till this day i still get City (older model) drivers trying to race with me on highways and at traffic lights. Most of the time i dont bother as im not into this crap but sometimes i do give them a lesson in acceleration. Havent lost to date. Hehe!

Yes i agree that the new City is powerful with its 120HP but that doesnt make the Vios underpowered. So please do check your facts before commenting. It can be embarrasing if proven otherwise.

Cheers!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:28 pm

TJ said,

March 11, 2010 @ 12:03 am

how stupid can one get to be sucked into buying a vios junk?

you wankers, jeffcws & cybermaster98 should go out more often, instead of trying to impress upon the rest the total customer experience, parts pricing, overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards.

for your information, other options such as the city & swift are available with similiar total customer experience, parts pricing, overall cost of maintenance and after sales service standards.

bashing the yesteryears koreans and the forte is under the belt, you know & we know, vios is junk, period.

Thanks for your comments (childish). But unless you have owned and maintained a Toyota and a Korean make, i doubt you have any credibility in comparing. Refrain from merely quoting 3rd party sources. U must drive a Proton or a Korean make for sure. Hehe!

Cheers!

• Cynical on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:38 pm

cybermaster98, as long as there are dumbasses like you who have money to buy cars, of course Toyota will top the charts. The number of cars sold is of no consequence to car buyers. It's only for that said manufacturer's CEOs to boast about. And stop it with the 'overall experience' crap, you're just trying to justify your wasted money on your dugong, where you know can get a better car with the price of your car. There are horror stories at Toyota service centers too, if you're not too naive to think Toyota service centers are heaven sent. I sent my car to a Kia service center last week, and the service good, nothing to complain about. So I'm still waiting for the hell on earth experience at Kia service centers. I REALLY hope that I can experience it soon.

Enjoy your tin kosong dugong, while we enjoy higher spec and more powerful cars with the same price. Idiots like you deserve nothing more.

• initial R on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Hmmmm….. Europe car also reliable car also…. Proton also on the way to be there also… Kia have good reputation now days…. if compare in malaysia only maybe can said anything….. Try go to other country like UK… They not selling Vios at there but they sell Yaris 1.0 & Aygo 1.0 (both hatch) but price is 3k more than Savvy 1.2, that price on the road… this just 1 only… so google your self to find out more….

• initial R on Mar 11, 2010 at 5:44 pm

1 more thing, Jap car in Jap maybe cheap, but u try to park your car in tokyo city. How much per hour ?. The cheapers are RM7.50 per hours…. so think your self…. (Just came back from Kobe, buisness trip)…

• Exciting on this car…will run a test drive when it arrive to malaysia on april.

• alpha999 on Mar 11, 2010 at 6:34 pm

haha……it makes me laugh…how some 'tin kosong' remarks are made out of small temper

• Mysticmind on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:22 pm

No teh tarik hook.

No iso fix.

it's mandatory!

lol!

1 word :

FUGLY

• Seriously on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Ahhh how I love reading internet disputes… tickles me everytime. Especially when people argue over the dumbest things. It's amazing how people still defend something so intangible as "personal preference".

If someones wants an ugly, slow, cumbersome wife who'll treat them good for forever over someone more attractive and with higher maintainience who'll probably ditch them in a few years… then damn it, let it be!

No offense though, although Vios is seriously unattractive. But hey, no one's stopping you from getting one :) Just not me lol.

• WRG8080 on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm

I am an idiot, stupid or whatever in that class any of you would label me.

I am an idiot for owning a 2 year old Vios a.k.a Dugong – brought brand new; that has in the past:-

1. Cost me about RM65 for every 500 to 550KM driven (RON95 as at 11 March 2010); having said that monthly would be RM195; and annually would be less than RM2,000 spent on petrol!

2. Has never broken down (although I noted that is it only a 2 year old baby)

3. Superb and excellent after-sales service at any of the UMW Service Centre; I’ve seen many Toyota owners still services their car here years after the warranty period ends. Pelik juga, how they are able to maintain the customer service experience with high demand of car service week-in, week-out.

4. Has a notable higher resale value than the much classy Koreans imports, especially the Sonata – Mercedes wannabes. Oh, and probably in a few years, also the new Civic wannabes.

I was so stupid to sell my 1997 Proton Satria 1.6 (A) – acquired second handed; that has in the past:-

1. Cost me about …sorry I can’t remember but I do remember spending nearly RM500 monthly on petrol only! (maybe the 1.6L engine demands more fuel usage, nevertheless, the speed and power seems the same for the Dugong if not better – except for the roaring engine)

2. Breaks down, on average, quarterly – not including the monthly wiring problems where all the rear light won’t be functioning (money, money, money)

3. The best out of this world excuse by EON Service Centre Staff, “Wiring kami tak pasang bang, sub-con!” followed by no initiative to actually get it right.

4. Was quoted RM6K by most Secondhand Car Dealer and fortunately one dealer quoted RM8K. Was it plain luck that Trade in at Toyota is higher by RM2K at RM10K?

The reason that made me took the dumbest decision to offload my 1997 Proton Satria 1.6 (A) sometime in 2008, was that on one fine weekend, I was on the way to Shah Alam and at the Batu 3 Toll where I stop to pay…. Suddenly the window got jammed after I paid and it won’t roll up (although this is already common). Then, smoke started to come out from between where the window should come up, lots of them. Then the door got jammed. I thought the car was about to blow up and I did an emergency stop. Cancelled the journey, went straight to a workshop; as usual. “Ni masalah WIRING bang, dah shot”.

I’ve had it and decided to purchase the highly reliable (despite whatever the news wants to report about Toyota) Dugong since my wife would never agree to be buying a Mercedes Benz chassis.

-Proud Dugong Owner-

• Motorist on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Danny Tan said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:24 pm

Motorist, did you just say that the Vios has torque steer? I can’t see how that’s possible in a car with 141Nm

==============================================

Danny, perhaps my terminology is wrong but what I wanted to convey was that the steering fights back when you take a sharpish corner. Eg. You're turning left at 80 kmh around a bend & the steering wants to turn back to the right. You end up fighting the steering to hold the line. Add to that the very obvious under steer, it's not a pleasant drive.

One more thing I fail to add (which might contradict the under steer I mentioned earlier) is that the tail tucks out when cornering. I know this is known as over steer & have had some nasty experiences myself. This tail tucking out + understeer just doesnt give you any confidence in the car's ability to handle corners.

I have been impressed by Waja's taking a very sharp left corner at 70+ kmh & its a corner that is hell to master. It's on Jalan Semantan (pass Bangunan CIMB, Amanah Raya on your left) going toward Jalan Duta heading to city centre. Google maps 3.153432,101.673734

• WRG8080 on Mar 11, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Correction:

1. ….and annually would be less than RM2,500* spent on petrol

• got teh tarik hook, lok at interior-pic-008

• jeffcws on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:09 pm

TJ said,

March 11, 2010 @ 12:03 am

how stupid can one get to be sucked into buying a vios junk?

Hey TJ,

U cannot read properly ah? u need to check your stupid eyes.. in which sentences I insulted Forte??? which line I insulted Kia?? I always maintained my stand, Kia is a good brand….but only run by a lousy company in Malaysia…thats all…..

U say Vios is junk? who is as stupid like to to be sucked into this? Vios may be ugly to some, it does not matter..some say its expensive piece of shit…it does not matter…its an opinion, Vios is a junk??? U drove one before??? Maybe for u, whatever u touch on becomes junk

I m not trying to impress upon the total customer experience, I am merely sharing my thoughts, as I was there, and I experienced it…u dont have to give me more information, i know honda and suzuki maybe be good…what for u wanna bring other brands in??

Cheers man..don't call names…we are all learned people. (incase u may not opps)

• opaque on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:26 am

why anyone need to say bad things to others. if someone think vios is ugly, let it be. someone says vios is good, then ok. just give your opinion on vios and dont insult others. if you are rich enough and afford to buy vios then ok. to me its about whether you can afford to buy and maintain the car not about the brand.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:59 am

HAHA! But i appreciate everybody's comments. This is 1 of the most interesting threads in this forum. Always got alot of 'action'. Its good. Keep it up guys!

• agree with opaque..just let it be. our money, our priority & at the end, our choice right? no need to insult others :)

anyway, as for me, safety is my main deciding factor when buying a car since that i'm traveling quite a lot with my family . which car offers the best safety features within my budget will be my first choice. for me, the looks, after sales service, spare parts' price & other 'toys' would be my least concern.

and for my 100k budget to buy a new car, no doubt that the Kia (Naza) Forte 2.0 are a clear winner here in our Boleh! land ;)

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:08 am

Motorist said,

March 11, 2010 @ 12:03 pm

Danny Tan said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:24 pm

Motorist, did you just say that the Vios has torque steer? I can’t see how that’s possible in a car with 141Nm

==============================================

Danny, perhaps my terminology is wrong but what I wanted to convey was that the steering fights back when you take a sharpish corner. Eg. You’re turning left at 80 kmh around a bend & the steering wants to turn back to the right. You end up fighting the steering to hold the line. Add to that the very obvious under steer, it’s not a pleasant drive.

One more thing I fail to add (which might contradict the under steer I mentioned earlier) is that the tail tucks out when cornering. I know this is known as over steer & have had some nasty experiences myself. This tail tucking out + understeer just doesnt give you any confidence in the car’s ability to handle corners.

I have been impressed by Waja’s taking a very sharp left corner at 70+ kmh & its a corner that is hell to master. It’s on Jalan Semantan (pass Bangunan CIMB, Amanah Raya on your left) going toward Jalan Duta heading to city centre. Google maps 3.153432,101.673734

Thats the route i take everyday to work from TTDI. I have hit speeds of up to 90kmph on those same bends and my car handles pretty well. Road holding is good for a car that weighs only 942kg. If what u say is true, then your car would fly off the road if ure travelling at 180kmph on the NSE rite? But hasnt happened to me even once and ive hit those kind of speeds occasionally.

Maybe its that particular car which you drove? I dont think its fair to say all Vios have that problem. Vios doesnt have exceptional road holding since its light and it can get a bit wobbly at speeds above 150kmph but i doubt any Vios will take corners badly at 80kmph which is a perfectly normal speed to drive on.

• fakeSY0H on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:14 am

desperate toyolta salesman.

• toyota fans on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:34 am

who r u want to insult other, are u a genius?

toyota already make a good car.. dont be like "tin kosong".. u cant say anything on the internet, but who know in a real world u just own a "kapcai"… think…!!

For me vios is a good car in term of handling, fuel, smooth engine. Interior very comfort.

• cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 1:04 pm

Well said Jeff. This is something these Korean car fans will NEVER understand. Nobody will be a fan of a Korean car if they have owned a Toyota/Honda of the same category previously.

—————-

I have owned a Fiat, Skoda, VW (under Auto Dunia days), Honda, Perodua, Proton, Hyundai (2 of them), and a Kia so I am very qualified to pass comment on the levels of service at authorised service centres.

Hyundai service centres are very fair when it comes to pricing and quality of work. Common parts are cheaper than Honda though the Honda service centre has more extras to make your wait more tolerable, i.e. cleaner and larger facilities, hot drinks, newspapers and WIFI. BUT my Hyundai service centre also has all these "extras" now with their pricing maintained.

Kia service centres that are run by Naza directly are best avoided. I have located a very decent Kia authorised service dealer that is also very professional when it comes to servicing my Kia.

Please also revisit your comments on the Hyundai Sonata YF and Tucson post. Some people there are doubting the validity of your claims that your father's Sonata 2007 needed a replacement gearbox outside its 2-year warranty (when 2007 Sonatas should come with a 3-year warranty – thereby making your "out of warranty" statement not hold water).

• cybermaster98 said,

My comments are based on my OWN experience. I used 7 yrs cuz my Toyota is 7 yrs old. I cant possibly use 20 as a comparison when i dont have a 2o yr old car rite?

Plus if u had read all my posts u will see that my information and views come from the fact that i have maintained Korean cars of different makes at different service centres. Thus i am qualified to make comparisons.

———————-

Why does one have to visit so many service centres to get parts pricing? If they are visiting authorised service centres, all parts pricing should follow a standard price list.

I have no experience with Toyota (I cannot make myself buy one!) but I can comment on a Honda City vs a Hyundai Sonata. The City is a Category B car and the Sonata is 2 categories above at Category D.

At Hyumal Motor, the oil filter is selling at RM16+ whereas at Honda, the oil filter is at RM27+. Service intervals for the City is set at every 5k km but this can be extended to every 10k km if you use fully-synthetic. The Sonata has a 10k km service interval. A Category D Korean car has an oil filter at slightly over half the price of a Category B Japanese runabout!!!

Please share with us how much the oil filter will cost at UMW-Toyota Motor service centres for the Vios, Altis and Camry? I would be most surprised if any of those cars have oil filters that cost less than RM16+.

I keep track of all my repair costs for all my cars and the trend is the same except for non-common replacement items.

• raksasa on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:16 am

dugong senyum

• WasTe_BuckET on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:08 am

in Malaysia, buying a car is not the same as most countries in the world..we really have to accept that important fact first.as an engineer i make decision like how an engineer tought to make one!!

many people here dont talk based on fact which is a pity!!and many cant accept fact as well!!again its a pity!! people talk about toyota customer service and etc..but the fact is they only have about 2 or three in one city..i live near cheras and there is only 2 service centre for toyota here..and at times you many have to book a time 3 to 4 days in advance..and thats what you call customer care??look at the ratio my dear readers..dont come here and talk bullshits!!

there is about 5 service centre of proton in ampang/cheras area i know of if you comparing to a proton..and waiting time is way much lesser that a toyota service center..and yet you say you are getting a good service..how?by waiting for days??is that good in your term??

if you say you are getting good customer care,satisfactory service and etc..please mention in details!!if you dont eloborate your comment..then what is the point??

imagine if Paul or Danny were to write about cars in single/two words?? great car,good quality,nice and etc..how would you feel reading it??come on guys..dont think most readers here are stupid to believe all those bullshit!!!

come on show facts or give an explaination on why you saying so!!otherwise dont bother commenting!!!

• Helda on May 01, 2010 at 10:20 am

U know mathematic? 100 people share 5 toilet and 10 people share 3 toilet, which one more convenient? 5?

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:59 pm

vee said,

March 11, 2010 @ 8:42 pm

Why does one have to visit so many service centres to get parts pricing? If they are visiting authorised service centres, all parts pricing should follow a standard price list.

I have a reason why i ask u to check out 5 Kia service centres. Cuz not all of them follow a standard pricing like Toyota / Honda. Go check it out yourself. Ull be surprised.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:07 pm

WasTe_BuckET said,

March 12, 2010 @ 12:08 am

U understand Government politics or do u live in a hole? Can u ever get a foreign make of the same category cheaper than a Proton? In that same way dont expect to have the same number or more service centre's as Proton. There's alot of behind the scenes activities that go on in this country for foreign companies trying to do business here so unless ure aware of it i suggest you do not comment unneccessarily.

About the customer service, I think i have provided enough details of my own experiences with Toyota in previous posts. Please fell free to read them.

Cheers!

• Cynical on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm

cybermaster98 said,

March 12, 2010 @ 9:07 am

U understand Government politics or do u live in a hole? Can u ever get a foreign make of the same category cheaper than a Proton? In that same way dont expect to have the same number or more service centre’s as Proton. There’s alot of behind the scenes activities that go on in this country for foreign companies trying to do business here so unless ure aware of it i suggest you do not comment unneccessarily.

Now you're trying to cover your ass by blaming the government, how childish. Grow some balls and admit Toyota service center is not as godly as you say.

P.S – quoting you "If u cant do this and agree then be man enough to disagree and shut up."

• Peter on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm

I dont understand why people are still competing about having japanese cars…..Japanese cars are reliable and also having better after sales……

Just look at Perodua…….Even though it is much expensive than Proton…….With lower specs,power ,etc……i still see many peroduas out there…….Because it its sourced from daihatsu old engines…..

Verdict: Japanese cars will still win no matter what……….Look at rebadges of Perodua's sales, Rebadged Proton Wiras aka Mitsu Lancer, Toyota and Honda sales………These are statiscally proven………..

• cybermaster98 said,

March 12, 2010 @ 8:59 am

I have a reason why i ask u to check out 5 Kia service centres. Cuz not all of them follow a standard pricing like Toyota / Honda. Go check it out yourself. Ull be surprised.

————

Perhaps so that is why I stick with my dependable Kia authorised service dealer who sells me an oil filter for even less than the same filter from Hyundai :)

• ann lee on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:26 pm

i dont own any toyota.. but i owned a honda…

i just wondering who r tis balless/ cockless/ chicken here are calling vios/dugong or toyota owner stupid or tis and that… wut car are they owning… ???

i believe, most of malaysian buying car r consider the most of re-sale value…

RESPECT TO BE RESPECTED!!!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Cynical said,

March 12, 2010 @ 10:36 am

cybermaster98 said,

U understand Government politics or do u live in a hole? Can u ever get a foreign make of the same category cheaper than a Proton? In that same way dont expect to have the same number or more service centre’s as Proton. There’s alot of behind the scenes activities that go on in this country for foreign companies trying to do business here so unless ure aware of it i suggest you do not comment unneccessarily.

Now you’re trying to cover your ass by blaming the government, how childish. Grow some balls and admit Toyota service center is not as godly as you say.

Do u even understand why you are saying? I doubt it. Im merely answering your query about why there arent enough Toyota service centres. Im not covering up anything or anybody. Im just telling u that there could be OTHER reasons why there arent enough service centres for a particular make and it may not be caused only because they company wants to inconvenience its customers. U obviously arent involved in the business circle of professionals. I am.

Again i say to u: read and understand before commenting.

Have a nice day!

• if sold 50K , good car.
    if sold 80K, bad car, blood sucker!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:08 am

ann lee said,

March 12, 2010 @ 3:26 pm

i dont own any toyota.. but i owned a honda…

i just wondering who r tis balless/ cockless/ chicken here are calling vios/dugong or toyota owner stupid or tis and that… wut car are they owning… ???

i believe, most of malaysian buying car r consider the most of re-sale value

Good point. Most of ppl who actually bash Toyota/ Honda here wont take the risk and buy a Korean just to prove their point. If we were to confirm ppl's identities by their cars they drive ull be surprised at the result. Everybody should state the cars they drive first before commenting. Haha!

How come we dont get any Kia /Hyundai current model users defending their products? All those who defend the Korean makes in this thread are new Forte owners (who will defend naturally) or those who cant afford to go beyond a local make.

Anyway, Forte is a nice looking car with good specs and value for money. But ultimately its the after sale service standards and costs that will let the car down unless some drastic changes are made.

Cheers!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:16 am

vee said,

March 11, 2010 @ 8:35 pm

I have owned a Fiat, Skoda, VW (under Auto Dunia days), Honda, Perodua, Proton, Hyundai (2 of them), and a Kia.

Please also revisit your comments on the Hyundai Sonata YF and Tucson post. Some people there are doubting the validity of your claims that your father’s Sonata 2007 needed a replacement gearbox outside its 2-year warranty (when 2007 Sonatas should come with a 3-year warranty – thereby making your “out of warranty” statement not hold water).

U claim to have owned so many cars of different makes and yet you cannot understand the basic concept of warranty? Did u not know that MILEAGE is another milestone by which validify warranty or have all your cars been given warranties based on TIMEFRAMES only?

Again i say to you. Please do not try and look for flaws in my comments. I dont tell stories and i can validify my claims anytime to anybody.

Plus i note that you have NOT owned a Toyota. Try it and then tell me if u notice a difference. Most industry ppl agree that Toyota service standards and quality is a notch higher than Honda.

Cheers!

• toyota owner on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:13 am

why everyone argue to each other… if people dont like toyota based on their experience just go for other car maker. thats all. Every comment here is just wasting time only. People who already fall in love with toyota will definitely buy it no matter what u guys said.

Its all about WHAT U WANT….

Am i right??

• Cynical on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:24 am

cybermaster98 said,

March 12, 2010 @ 3:59 pm

Do u even understand why you are saying? I doubt it. Im merely answering your query about why there arent enough Toyota service centres. Im not covering up anything or anybody. Im just telling u that there could be OTHER reasons why there arent enough service centres for a particular make and it may not be caused only because they company wants to inconvenience its customers. U obviously arent involved in the business circle of professionals. I am.

Again i say to u: read and understand before commenting.

There's another word for it, conspiracy theory. You don't have any solid evidence that the government is purposely denying any application to setup any additional Toyota service center. What you can spew out is just your theory, and a typical 'you know, i know' script from kedai kopi, it's always the government's fault. If you can't supply any evidence to support your bullcrap, please don't waste your bandwidth. And please don't think of yourself too highly. You don't even know who I am. And what kind of professional businessman drives a dugong anyway?

• WasTe_BuckET on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:36 am

cybermaster98 said,

WasTe_BuckET said,

March 12, 2010 @ 12:08 am

About the customer service, I think i have provided enough details of my own experiences with Toyota in previous posts. Please fell free to read them.

Cheers!

what enough detail??i dont see any details besides good service and good standard..please justify your claim..why politic??ok dont compare with proton..how many toyota service centre in klang valley??and how many cars toyota have sold in the last 3 years??what is the ratio??

ok answer my question in binary form..just YES or NO?

1. do you have to book a service slot to service your car?

2. if you have an emergency repair,usually the fastest time you can get it done is half a day?

3.toyota do have quality issue and they never claim zero defect production here in malaysia,do you agree?

4.toyota recent new sedan cars in malaysia did not receive an engine update(except camry) so its using nearly 10 year old engine design for vios and altis?agree?

5.toyota service centre has an unsual high price of its replacement parts(original) compared to spare parts shops?

6.labour charge is also higher than its competitors?

just answer yes or no..we will see who is living in hole then…

and again justify your claim of good service quality,good service and whatever you claim..cause you never give a detailed explanation yet!!!

let me point out to you ..check for yourself!!

• WasTe_BuckET on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:42 am

cybermaster98 said,

March 10, 2010 @ 11:40 am

what overall cost of maintenance for 7 years??in what terms?regular service??prove your claim..show calculation or provide more details!!!original parts of toyota is much more expensive that naza kia!!!so in what sense you trying to say vios is more value for money??

and please tell in detail about toyota after sales service..why is it great?what do they offer??what makes them different from the rest in malaysia???

what benefits do i gain??

• WasTe_BuckET on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:46 am

cybermaster98 said,

where is the facts and figures??i dont see any facts and even a single figure???so if you cant show any facts or figure..then be man enough to shut up and stop writing bullshits and craps!!!!

• toyota owner on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:50 am

Cynical said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

bandwidth. And please don’t think of yourself too highly. You don’t even know who I am. And what kind of professional businessman drives a dugong anyway?

—————————————————————-

Who r u Sir.. If u dont mind please share your knowledge and experience….

• Cynical on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:31 am

toyota owner said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:50 pm

Dude, butt out please. I'm merely addressing cybermaster98 cocky statement of "U obviously arent involved in the business circle of professionals. I am". For me, I don't make it a habit of flaunting what I do or in which circle I belong to. I hate these kind of people who think they're a notch above others by posting that kind of statement. We're all posting here anonymously, so I don't think anybody is any level above others. This is the internet, we can be anybody we want to. So, dude. Get off my back

• OrdinaryMan on Mar 13, 2010 at 3:16 am

Getting Hot Here…HEHE

Come on la guys, dont gado2. Anyway its good car but dont expect to much coz its not Lambo.

• WasTe_BuckET on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:55 am

Cynical said,

March 12, 2010 @ 6:31 pm

toyota owner said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:50 pm

Dude, butt out please. I’m merely addressing cybermaster98 cocky statement of “U obviously arent involved in the business circle of professionals. I am”. For me, I don’t make it a habit of flaunting what I do or in which circle I belong to. I hate these kind of people who think they’re a notch above others by posting that kind of statement. We’re all posting here anonymously, so I don’t think anybody is any level above others. This is the internet, we can be anybody we want to. So, dude. Get off my back

i agree..cybermaster98 is indeed cocky..but if he is a professional or whatever he claim he is..validate his points!!if he cant do that..then we can assume he is crappy desperate toyota salesman!!i am waitng for his answers..and i hope he will answer me!!if he cant..then he has to stop calling others name!!seriously..he asked from which hole i am from..and he claims he is a professional..haha..what a joke..

• VIOSuser on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:00 am

u say vios is like dugong …. i don't think so :)

u say Forte is a good buy, I really really wanna salute you.

u say vios owner is stupid and idiot….. i also do not agree. I am a Vios Owner and I have a take home salary exceeding 15K at the age of 31 and i REALLY do not think an idiot. LOL

so sorry must be a bit arrogant to teach this rude people a lesson

• brokenegg on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Some ppl just don't like the fact that vios beat their preferred car to top the chart.

Some ppl just fall in love with vios and love it blindly no matter how the car is.

Some ppl are so ignorant that they just follow the "hot trend" to criticize the car without knowing much of it.

Some ppl just take what other ppl say of this car as a truth without owning it.

A few ppl has bad experience with the car doesn't mean that the car is bad, as there may be much more with good experience.

Some ppl just blindly follow the mass to buy vios for its toyota brand and peace of mind, and don't care whether it's worth their money. But they are not stupid or idiot. They're just not interested in cars/machines. They have interest elsewhere and may be they are much more intelligent than you in general.

So don't insult others!

• Motorist on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:27 am

We spend our money as we wish. No one is putting a gun to your head & ask you to buy XYZ.

We each buy something based on some core value; be it 'value for money' or 'trendy/flashy/up to date look' or 'this is what I can afford' …. yada yada yada.

Whatever it is, we hate to be criticised for our believes on our purchases.

Thus those who had purchased the Vios would have felt insulted by some of the harsh comments here (on my part, I tried to give a balanced opinion on my experience with the Vios).

So, if I had unintentionally insulted the Vios owners, my apologies.

As for the Korean Vs Japanese car debate, just leave it at "you got your opinion, I got mine, let agree to disagree"

There will be no zero sum game here. No ultimate winner & no ultimate loser. Each car will have its pros & cons.

• Quattro (Member) on Mar 14, 2010 at 12:34 am

VIOSuser >>>> kalau waGES dah byk org dah tak beli vios > tapi org beli camri 2.4v…..koman lah…dok pun beli bmw 5 series………..baru kelas….org yg beli vios @ city gaji dia kecik……nak beli rumah dan tanah lg…..tapi vios model baru nanti harap2 meter panel dia mcm altis > sakit tengkok nok tengok meter dia..

• YAWN

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Cynical said,

March 12, 2010 @ 5:24 pm

You don’t even know who I am. And what kind of professional businessman drives a dugong anyway?

Did i say im a businessman? So u judge be based on the car i drive? So if i drive a 7yr old Vios that means im a nobody eh? Hehe! U have such limited knowledge. Nevermind.

There was a blogger here who attacked me once and claimed i was a nobody, etc. I dared him and told him to contact me via my personal email and he actually did. I actually met up with him near my house n provided him with some facts and figures of a personal nature just for the sake of proving something to him since i was free. We had a nice 10min chat and it was all fine. Quite a nice guy actually.But he has not contacted me since. Plus he hasnt responded to any of my posts here in this forum since then (although he does post comments) and has never attacked me again in the forum. I guess he learnt to shut up the hard embarrasing way.

Anyway, doesnt matter. Wasnt my intention to offend anybody. Im not any kind of salesman. I just want ppl to know what they might be getting into by going for a Korean car. Ive experienced a few in my family and i hope nobody else needs to go thru that bad experience.

Again i state that i hope Korean cars can improve their service standards and cost of maintenance. Then they will become a real threat to the Japs.

Cheers!

• Cynical on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

cybermaster98 said,

March 15, 2010 @ 9:20 am

Dude, don't keep changing the subject, there's an elephant in the room. You haven't answered any of WasTe_BuckET's and my questions yet. My experience with a Kia Service center is really pleasant. And my Forte has been nothing but a pleasure to drive. And I don't care about your romantic escapade with that said blogger and personally, I really am tired of you. So, keep spewing your crap, I don't care anymore. I got better things to do. Enjoy your e-penis.

• cybermaster98,

anal over your status.

Anyway, doesnt matter. Wasnt my intention to offend anybody. Im not any kind of salesman. I just want ppl to know what they might be getting into by going for a junk vios car. Ive experienced none in my family and i hope nobody else needs to go thru that bad experience.

Again i state that i hope vios junk toyota cars can improve their service standards and cost of maintenance. Then they will become a real threat to the Japs.

• WRG8080 on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Wow… Page Toyota Vios, comment pasal Vios dah la. Nak comment byk² pasal Forte or what ever other cars, go to their page.

On the other hand, I am glad that a lot of people out there, Malaysian particularly care for us Vios/Dugong owners. hahaha…

• Ronaldo on Mar 17, 2010 at 2:46 am

nice car…better than proton and perodua…

• Hyundai overtakes Japanese in brand loyalty chartMarch 16, 2010 at 10:40 am by Danny Tan · Cars, Hyundai, Koreans

According to the latest Kelley Blue Book Market Intelligence data, Hyundai in the US recently surpassed Honda and Toyota when it comes to making customers happy and retaining them. In addition, Hyundai resale values have been outperforming the car segment average, which is something reserved only for Toyota and Honda in our market. The new Sonata YF was also the fifth most researched car in kbb.com’s Top 10 Most-Researched New Vehicles list.

Comparing February 2010 data to Q4 2009, Hyundai owners looking at new models within the brand increased by 10.4% to 56.3%, good enough for it to top the chart for the first time, up from third place in Q4 2009. In the same timeframe, Toyota fell from top to third spot while Honda held steady at second place. Toyota owners considering a repeat purchase fell by 4.4% to 53.3%. Honda’s score is 55.8%.

At the same time, Kelley Blue Book Values data for Feb 2010 showed that Hyundai outperformed the overall car segment average by a healthy margin, increasing 2% month-over-month, relative to a 0.3% increase for the entire car segment.

“Hyundai is clearly benefiting from ‘a perfect storm’ – a result of introducing passionate new products like the 2011 Sonata and 2010 Tucson, while Honda’s mainstream vehicles like the CR-V and Accord are a bit stale in the marketplace and Toyota is experiencing a huge consumer perception crisis,” said James Bell, executive market analyst for Kelley Blue Book’s kbb.com.

This should be another warning sign for the Japanese carmakers, whose models like the Accord and Camry have deep roots in the US top ten best sellers list. Hyundai, along with sister brand Kia and Subaru, were the only carmakers to have increased market share in a troubled 2009.

• ypaymore on Mar 17, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Jap car really chop our head.. 1.5cc car selling that expensive.. To me it is over selling.. Why pay more? Forte is selling 83k.. Have Camry safety features somemore.. From here you can see that how overselling jap car is.. If you talk about resell value.. There is nothing to joy about too.. Think in this way, u pay RM 130k for 2.0 Civic vs Forte 2.0 RM 93k.. Means, u pay extra 37k to get the car.. 5 year down the road.. Both car is on sales.. And you are happy that u can sell higher price compare to Forte.. What is the joy? U just get back the extra 37k back.. This is what u have pay extra.. And if you count clearly, u are making a lost in bank interest for the extra 37k..

That is my tough.

• someone on Mar 17, 2010 at 8:47 pm

gado gado like children, childish enough….

each car have their own pro and cons……so y fighting to compare??

for those speaking of "total customer experiance" of toyota….please be remind that driving a higer spec and more luxury korean car also a customer experiance right? while you paying more for a smaller, less comfort car ….ppl paying less for more comfore korean car, this is definitely customer experiance too.

for those bashing toyota vios as "tin kosong", you cant denied japanese car indeed having better service and sales around our country… and also the resale value…..you will know the pain if you ever try to sell a korean car…

for spart part and servincing cost, i have no comment as i do not own any japanese or korean car….maybe someone can come out a list of cost for servicing thought out the year for both japanese and korean car, instead of just talk and talk and talk and talk and talk….

• someone on Mar 17, 2010 at 9:04 pm

ypaymore..

for resell value, yes, indeed for civic, you need to forge out 37k more , but after 5 years, forte might lost more then 37k then the civic…..

for example:

toyota vios 2003 G spec: selling price 85k – resell curent 52k…

kia spectra 2003 : selling price 70k resell current 20k

so, although pay more for vios +15k, but in the end only lost 33k, while spectra pay less 15km, but in the end lose 50k…..

so korean car indeed have bad resell value….but only as of current situation.

for the improment we see from korean….. no one can know wat going to happen for the future…..especially with all the great model coming from Kia and hyundai.

• dugong on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:00 pm

someone u r really someone,

ppl compare civic and forte, you then bring out spectra.
      you must compare it sensibly to convince ppl mah, so that ppl won’t call us dugong lah.

• someone on Jun 28, 2010 at 8:16 pm

i just taking a living example to explain y korean car are rugi when sell 2nd hand. because no one knows forte 2nd hand value yet, so we cant really know wats going to happen in 5 years time.

• life in the slow lan on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:59 am

amazing..

ppl always like to talk about how ugly the new vios (06 model)

haha..

on man's meat is another man's poison guys..

i think it's a very good looking car. not the nicest but contemporary..

i drive a passat cc but i dont understand why ppl must bash vios up..

i used to own one. and i think it's one hell of car. so, if you think it's ugly keep it to yourself. if its great then share it with everyone.

dont get all touchy feely when vios gets an update or facelift. the comments are meant to be constructive? maybe.

• Ben X5 on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:18 am

ONE OF THE BEST CAR FOR YOUR MONEY AT THAT PRICE IN MALAYSIA.

My gf have one and i love it.. eventho i usually drive and x5 and vw.. but this lil toyota is amazing to drive in the city hehe.. actually come to think of it if ur not driving fast, the highway is also smooth..

perfect if the malaysian spec is same as thai.. even at 98,000 its worth it.. damn..

BEST CAR.. for the price :D

• christine on Mar 21, 2010 at 3:02 am

toyota is good in any sense~ they do produces Lexus indeed. vios is to catered for a specific market segment in Malaysia market.people dont care whether is dugong anot~~ most importantly is the values that take into consideration. different factors which malaysians look forward such as reliablility, handling, stability, reselling values, petrol consumption~!!! dont think this innovation doesnt create any return. It does~!!! for different affordability consumers wil take different cars~!! seriously if chose to buy korean cars, i guess it doest not creates strong confidents altho the design and styles are very 'attractive'. imagine if you cant seek for a spare parts outside~! wat would happend? vios came in different varience to captured different preferences of their consumers…depend on their dollar willingness to spent. new facelift will then creates freshies new look both interior and exterior.

no one asked u to buy if u dont like~! if you afford go ahead to buy a better 1~!!!

• i dont think Malaysia will have spec like Thailand. Next month is here already, let wait and see. btw, i have booked G spec and now consider to upgrade to TRD. will make decision after view the actual unit.

• more comment pls… !

• We (me and my wife) were considering between City, Mazda2, Vios, Alza, Hyundai Matrix, Grand Livina & Kia Forte. finally, we decided to go for Vios. Reason:-

VIOS

Personally, I do not like Vios very much. But since we are looking for a reliable car, Vios fit our criteria nicely. good FC, right price, low maintenace & high resale value (i usually change car every three years). Besides, the sales person @ toyota is also very friendly. We all know that Vios is one of the most common car in Malaysia. Whether it is overpriced, i think it is common for a good reason, i.e. reliability…

MAZDA2

this sexy is actually our top choice. for 79k, you get sport rim, leather steering, electric side mirror, front sensor etc. Walau eh, it is a steal man… But we decided to drop it because it is not a very popular brand in Malaysia, so resale value may be low… besides, also worry about the spare part price and FC…

CITY

I actually prefer City over Vios. But i had bad experience with Honda sales persons. I went to three Honda showrooms and no one even want to serve me! maybe they see i am young and therefore thought i could not afford a city??? so, gave up…

ALZA

Again, bad experience with sales person. Went to two showrooms but the sales persons did not seem to be very keen in promoting the car…

HYUNDAI MATRIX

Fuel sucker, so no no no

GRAND LIVINA

My wife does not like this, so tak jadi

KIA FORTE

I was eargerly waiting for this car. But i changed my mind when i first saw this car on road – the design is really not my cup of tea. it is a typical old continental design, so plain and square…

How about Proton? Ha, this brand have been blacklisted by me. Why? My dad used to drive an Iswara & Wira and there were too many problems. Besides, I had also visited their plant in Tanjung Malim before, and there are some things which I could not tell here and make me do not want to buy proton car…

just my 2cent. didn't mean to pick any fight…

• > ALZA

> Again, bad experience with sales person. Went to two showrooms

> but the sales persons did not seem to be very keen in promoting the car…

If you are staying in Johor Baru, I suggest you visit the Perodua showroom at Nusa Bestari beside BestMart. Look for a female sales person (around 30+ or 40+ in age, Chinese). Excellent attitude. She talked to me for probably close to an hour, accompanied me during a test drive (driven by another customer), got a quotation on the spot for my existing car, and gave lots of useful comments and comparisons. Since I may not get a Perodua car eventually, I feel I have an obligation to recommend such a good sales person to other interested potential customers.

• christine on Mar 23, 2010 at 2:48 am

i am agree wit you hs~perhaps TRD is more sporty look…G is more worth the Value..instead…u mean nex month will be launching? around when?

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 23, 2010 at 4:22 am

christine said,

March 22, 2010 @ 6:48 pm

i am agree wit you hs~perhaps TRD is more sporty look…G is more worth the Value..instead…u mean nex month will be launching? around when?

—————————————————————-

16 April if I am not wrong…

• yup is on April, but my sale told me Toyota try to make it early because of the get too many booked and lots of buyer want to see the car before make NEXT decision like spec and color. but too bad we cant get Thai Spec else it will be better to have it.

I am using 2003 Toyota vois now, till now i still feel the car condition very good (100% service by Toyota). that is main reason i continue to get it but have to change car this year for company allowance matter. Altis and camry not for me because i have another Mazda6 bought last year. Vois is just for my to drive around 100KM daily for working. so have to save petrol.

• christine on Mar 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

thanks for the info Mon & hs…appreciate it

btw jk would you mind share some info wit me?

• christine on Mar 23, 2010 at 7:22 pm

thanks for your info hs~

jk mind share some info with me?

• and… addition information from sale i forget to share… they say this round new vois will have better petrol consumption because of the petrol handling technology was upgraded. let wait and see !

• hi christine,

What do you want me to share with you? :-)

• still dugong……overprice

• AnFHell on Mar 24, 2010 at 2:21 am

anyone know of the promotion package for the new vios? previosly there are like RM3000 discounts and free insurance and such… did the new vios have any promo package?

• Zack hakimi on Mar 24, 2010 at 2:45 am

still SuXX..Toyota SuXX…

Quality issue make me afraid 2 toyota…

stiff..firm ride…110kmh shaking like hell…4 me no balance here…

Better Persona Elegance……

my 2cent

• hate proton on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:18 am

hahaha u maybe proton salesman….proton not good in quality…..no value

• christine on Mar 24, 2010 at 3:46 am

hi jk

add me in msn [email protected]

• christine on Mar 24, 2010 at 3:48 am

hi zack

im driving persona as well…yea persona is cool driving..due to lotus handling…no doubt!

how about lexus 460? im driving tat too….

• MonfereBlogspot on Mar 24, 2010 at 4:28 am

Hi Christine, sry. until now I only know about this only woh… If any latest news I will share with you guys here…

• arghhhh..this is the 2nd time my rear left absorber vios 2009 got leaking after 6 month..i wonder i still can replace that stuff without money.last time they told me the replacement just got once only….anyone got the same problem like me…

• Nikita on Mar 24, 2010 at 6:59 am

Yucks & Sucks… eventhough with the new facelift UMW had increased the price damn much really looks like a blood sucker!!! I rather prefer City or Mazda2. Whereas, for Mazda2 which more reliable in terms of maintenance & good FC. It looks sporty, nice and cool while you are driving on the road… nothing can be compare in from it's interior & exterior design. Can't wait for the day to come for the launching on next month….

• anyhow, each car brand will have own supporter with own reason to support it. Since the the facelift version is around the here, let wait and see ! but i have already booked with RM3000 down payment so no turning back d…. hope Toyota can still "deliver" something i expected to me for that cost.. Value for money ! :)

• Zack hakimi on Mar 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm

chrisrine….

i own persona hi-line 2007 n previously toyota Vios 2008..

but wat can i say is i need to sell my Vios due to lot of prob tht make me suffer a lot…

im takin care so much the cAR..service when the time is come…

but the prob here the first month im using it…headlamp bulb blackout…. go 2 SC and repair it….3 month aftr tht..wiper is mulfuntion….luckily is not heavy rain….go to SC..ok….then after tht front passenger power window failure….got dust and very sensitive…. tukar to the new one..ok….

after im thnkng back…its not worth it ….its make me feel in trouble…now im only drive my persona…no issue so far…

• Malaysia car better than Toyota… Good for Malaysian ! Malaysia BOLEH ! hahaha…

• andrew on Mar 27, 2010 at 8:31 am

i have booking for Mazda 2 ,the issue raise in my mine was the EBD and BA doesn't found in Mazda 2 so it lead me to reconsider it with "Dugong" .Furthermore UMW always give extra discount.

• christine on Mar 27, 2010 at 11:38 pm

zack

thats make the sense. persona is better, but bare in mind, think bout services, i wanted to claim a pair of disc brake & pads for my persona…it takes me ages~!!! at the end i change outside and i nid pay for the cost…under warranty lagi~!!! persona is having good ride..for long journey, stability and handling wise i salute him!

I wish to obtain ideas from you guys~!

1. Persona pricing is comparable to Myvi! will people take myvi rather than persona?

• zinzoud on Mar 28, 2010 at 12:20 am

hello….

vios 2010 look like mini camry……decided buy it……

• omg… wht a nub car… inside de dashboard like shit… rear boot like proton saga…

meter still middle… thought my mine can seperate to see front n see side ah ,,, stupid car… buy honda city better

• Kin turbo on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:16 am

i think u are Honda salesman……stupid ooi

• xenogearz on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm

u honda salesman aa? what happen to all those rust rust issue with new City maa? solved edi?

• hate proton on Apr 01, 2010 at 12:24 am

ooi is honda salesman….i know him…..hehehehe sorry

• haha… Honda saleman always like this laaaa i use to consider change toyota to honda but because of BAD attitude of those sale man then i better get toyota since Honda also dont have much better value as compare to toyota…..

• PradaLoo on Apr 03, 2010 at 2:14 pm

aiya.. dont talk bout the value… every overseas car in Malaysia, the price is more higher than it worth…
    Malaysia tax high….
    U see Taiwan or other countries… BMW 3 series not more than RM200K in Taiwan.
    Dont talk bout the value worth or not in Malaysia… We should compare this price range of car, which have more better function and performance.
    And…..PLEASE dont critic a car with the word “UGLY”. Think of WHAT CAR U ARE DRIVING NOW????
    If U are driving a car that CHEAPEST than Vios, PLEASE SHUT UP, POOR MAN!
    * I’m driving BMW 320… but i respect every car~!

• SeXy 4ever on Apr 07, 2010 at 11:21 am

Any Suzuki fans here? I’ve just book my SX4 Crossover (a 4×2 FWD 5 sitter CUB SUV fully import from Japan, 1.6L VVT engine, 2 air bag, ABS,BA & EBD) with the price tag RM89K, for those who got the budget,maybe can add to their shoping list, although compare to vios it’s a difference type of car.

initialy wanted to buy T.Rush, but it seem a bit overprice.Vios & city also a nice car,everybody got their right to make choices, I’ve made my, hopefully will be a good decision for me to take SX4 crossover…

• Im not an avid fan of Suzuki,
      but knowing u are buying SX4 is a good choice.
      Your Suzuki will do just fine.
      its co-joint by F.I.A.T car company.

• dugong on Apr 07, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Basically,

ppl who likes Honda hates the hell of Toyota. Toyota fans are also die-hard fans, very loyal.

all the comments here are non-neural. all are biased to their own side. the facts/data/evidence used here are also to their own favour.

buy the car you like most within your own budget, period. dont comment like a big mama baby.

you think city, civic no problems? lexus, merc, bmw no problems? it is just your luck. You might be getting a Ferrari with hell lots of problems too.

P1/P2 has excise duty too. if our useless G is willing to pull out all kind of car duty/tax, by then we are buying cars based on our preference and ability.

• why ppl always said vios is dugong. if u don’t like then don’t buy. thats all.

• when the new toyota vios facelift sell in malaysia market? how about the price in malaysia currency ? i want to know the whole informations regarding this new car. thanks

• unhappy on Jun 26, 2010 at 1:11 pm

this puchong branch looks impressive from the outside but the service still way below par. it takes more than 4 hours do do a service and they cannot meet their promised delivery time. if you have nothing better to do and just like wanna waste your time in life, you are welcome to service at the new puchong jaya service centre. as for me, this service centre is blacklisted!

• Do Not buy a vios or any toyota in thailand. They are having problems that no one can fix it seems with the steering rods (axel) and brakes. I have one and also my friends who own toyota’s in thailand have the same problems. STAY AWAY from Toyota in Thailand atleast!!!