Honda CR-V facelift 2010 in Malaysia adds more safety – VSA stability control and side airbags

The Honda CR-V facelift is now here in Malaysia, with a new price tag of RM149,980, a premium of slightly over RM2k when you compared it to the outgoing pre-facelift model. However in return for the RM2k the equipment list has had some very important safety additions in my opinion. Here’s what’s new:

• VSA stability control has been added to the vehicle.
  • There are now a total of 4 airbags, up from the previous 2. The additional 2 are the two Occupant Position Detection System side airbags.
  • New engine hood, fog lamps, upper and lower front bumper, front grille and 17 inch alloy wheel design.
  • Four reverse sensors instead of two previously.
  • A new in-car entertainment unit featuring USB input – which is found neatly tucked in the upper glove box.
  • New fabric design for the seats.
  • New seat-mounted fold-down arm rest which is wider.
  • LCD screen in the middle of the meter cluster now has blue backlighting.
  • Sound insulators enlarged and new seals added in dashboard, hood, inner fender, fender enclosure, rear door lining, rear side lining, cargo lid and wing mirror garnish.
  • Revised suspension geometry – front caster trail from 20mm to 15mm, rear double wishbone damper settings revised and rear compliance bush shape improved.

Five colours are available – Alabaster Silver, Polish Metal, Crystal Black, Taffeta White and a new colour called Urban Titanium.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=955]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hikari on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:33 pm

the previous front grille looks better..

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm

New model coming ???

• chandler on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:36 pm

sweet. heading over to a showroom now to have a look!

• muharifz on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Only now with 4 airbags, 4 sensors and VSA….

….after realising a few CRVs have crashed in M'sia….

• 1 Malaysia on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:48 pm

the back remain unchange? dissapointed. anyway, CRV is till best selling in its class.

• dirguy on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Facelift CRV ..or …New Sorento (Sorento bila nak sampai)

• Centurio-Cohors Prim on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Rims look diff

• ago87 on Mar 11, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Still looks bored…when is the new model coming?

• brossprocps on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Honda is one of the best sport looking design japanese car. But the performance of the sport car still goes to Nissan. Ride and handling for C segment car still goes to Pesona bcos woman also can speed at Utara selatan Highway 170kmh without any "gentar or seriau" what sifu said from last forum. Hope italiano design for new pesona as good as it get.

• King Samurai on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Only now with 4 airbags, 4 sensors and VSA….

….after realising a few CRVs have crashed in M’sia….

yea looh…which SUV comes with 4 airbags within the same price tag? None so far…Let see what the Koreans are up to with the coming Tucson n Sorento.

Then again…only 2.0L??? Where's the 2.4 version??? Tomyum land & Singland have the 2.4 line-up with built-in navi,blablabla….

• with an additional rm2k as compared to previous pricing, u get massive chunks of safety and entertainment features for this new, refreshed mid-life facelift CRV. i should have said this would be the most generous offering from honda malaysia so far. they have became more clever now and are finally realising the stiff competition other manufacturers could pose if they never update the vehicle properly. afterall, CRV is a global-product by honda and it is sold in 160 countries – the most of any honda automotive product. i always think that 'facelifting' an old model would help regain the model's popularity (and hopefully to earn a top spot in the sales chart). it serves as a better revisional ways of improvement not only in the cosmetical changes externally, but many utmost important areas such as marketing strategy on that particular model, products' affordability towards potential buyers, updates of the safety and entertainment features currently offered by other manufacturers etc. nonetheless, this would also serve as a critical marketing probe on the totally new model that would be launched 2-3 years sooner after the facelift.

• theanswer on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:18 pm

why ah? women should be seriau kah? double standard. nway women drive fast..but only on a straight line.(except leona chin..hahahah)

• blackbox on Mar 11, 2010 at 11:56 pm

you pay RM145k+ for a car with only 2 air bag and with no VSA??? But why still many people buying Japanese car?

• Gajen on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:16 am

looks the same

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:22 am

Not much different from the outside. Only front grille, bumper and rims.

Salam..

• redwings on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:29 am

good deal for those CRV fans.. RM2k extra for VSA and side airbags.. and of course new facelift with minor cosmetic changes…

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:30 am

Nissan X trail better?

• CayaNunAlif on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:36 am

1.2km/Litres? OMG OMG OMG… (from the meter panels shown above)

• King Samurai on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:42 am

CayaNunAlif said,

March 11, 2010 @ 4:30 pm

Nissan X trail better?

No way!!!.. Still outdated..Lazy TCM don't even bother to bring the new X-Trail which launched 2 years ago in Japan n other countries. they care to bring the new Murano instead…cheh…TCM enough making monies form their Livina already…why bother SUV lovers…let CRV conquer the market share..

• bslee on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:46 am

yes, the pre face lift model look better. Above other safety & comfort features, i think honda M'sia has woken up…..

• petrol-head on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:54 am

WHY STILL NO H.I.D headlight!!! big dissapointment….. especially almost 150K conider premium car for a SUV

• Jason on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:12 am

boring…

• turbo on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:29 am

buy proton better

• RedLine on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:30 am

Just got back from Honda showroom, and got a look at the new CRV.

What I like: 4 airbags, VSA, USB, wider armrest, the new colour Urban Titaium looks good!

What I don't like: blue backlighting (makes the display look out of place, whereas the previously blends with the surrounding perfectly), weird looking entertainment unit (the old one looks more classy and way better), the fabric is a bit plain looks a bit cheap, and i like the old grill better.

Anyway, since this is a CRV, it will probably sell pretty well.

• Nutkraker on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:53 am

RM150K and STILL NO LEATHER?

• FIREPOLICY on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:06 am

NICE view as a background

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:14 am

emm.. the adv in newpapers make me have high expectation.

but it seem so so lo.

for those honda supporter will still support.

• Which is better 2010 Hyundai Tucson, 2010 Naza Kia Sorento or 2010 Honda CR-V?

Knowing resale value will be on Honda side, but spec and price will be on Hyundai and Naza Kia side. What about reliability and spare parts ??

• openminded on Aug 10, 2010 at 11:57 pm

new xtrail is better…go test drive it. Tucson looks interesting but a little shaky..

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:42 am

whats the diff between VSA stability control and none VSA stability control unit? looking forward for review.

• Good move for Honda to equip CRV with VSA. According to statistics, VSA (or ESC) reduces the likelihood of all fatal crashes by 43%, fatal single-vehicle crashes by 56%, and fatal single-vehicle rollovers by 77-80%.

Of course, some super heroes might argue that VSA is life threatening (I still wonder their level of IQ) and they will opt for Ford Mondeo which is priced at RM180K and comes without VSA.

• The price is like forcing buyer to upgrade modulo face lift compare to previous one. 147k vs 150k

• ford_ton on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:05 am

VSA had saved my life on 2 ocassions. I had to swerve hard to the left as a dog crosses the road at 90 km/h, did a countersteering to the right left and right again with the tires screeching without me stepping on the brakes. I knew the VSA works by braking individual tires to straighten the vehicle path but I managed to pull clean from the incident without stopping and the car was still 60 km/h when everything is under control.

The second time; a garbage truck met with an accident on the flyover in front of Flamingo hotel in ampang spilling diesel fuel on the road surface. Many cars were by the roadside; skidded and crashed onto divider and with each other. I managed to remain in control despite the slippery condition.

Yes. I am now a firm believer in Honda's VSA technology as installed in my FD.

• Well said,

March 11, 2010 @ 6:35 pm

Which is better 2010 Hyundai Tucson, 2010 Naza Kia Sorento or 2010 Honda CR-V?

Knowing resale value will be on Honda side, but spec and price will be on Hyundai and Naza Kia side. What about reliability and spare parts ??

——–

Depends on the pricing for the Tucson and the Sorento. If the Sorento comes with the turbo diesel engine and high-specs, there is a chance it will be priced at the same price as the CRV.

At that price, I think the Sorento will sell very well bearing in mind it has 3 rows, a stonking engine, 6-speed gearbox and looks that won't look out of place on an Audi.

• muharifz on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:46 am

you pay RM145k+ for a car with only 2 air bag and with no VSA??? But why still many people buying Japanese car?

————————————————————–

that is bcoz that's the best we can get with the money….

extra airbag or VSA is just a good to have extra goodies….

• petrol head on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:29 am

Now let's see what Sime Darby will price the Hyundai ix350 – though consider a different class/segment and Naza for the new Kia Sorento. Interesting year!

Once glance at classified section, don't you think an older Murano '05 for RM150k more valuable than this? After five years I think the same Murano could still fetch some 50% of the original price while this CRV probably somewhere slightly higher.

So is it a deal or a nah…

• think on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:53 am

if it's a seven seater than can be even more good deal..anyway it's a good suv for the urban use

• now only got VSA….kia sportage had it looong ago…with and without VSA is a huge difference in safety vise….saved my life a few times!

• 2K for VSA and extra 2 airbags is a good offer.It is a good urban SUV.

• fugly. fexpensive.

• recycle, recycle and recyle……and with increase price…

Way to go Honda!

• 2k increase only, so much new stuff in it.

TOYOTA, this is what you call a facelift!

• went to honda today and saw this new cr-v.

quite cool.

very garang and a huge car.

the plate is very new WTR XXXX

just can see, cant buy yet.

sob2~

• haidar on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:40 am

I like the new CR-V facelift.cool man

• Ravi Kumar on Mar 12, 2010 at 9:32 am

For a price of RM150k the 2010 facelift model is a rip off. I know because I have a 2007 model. Remember running cost in terms of servicing is higher for Honda and not forgetting poor service support. The door handle inside is going to be prone to wear and tear and is not covered under warranty.

• Truth on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:32 am

Ravi,

it happened same to me with my 2009 CRV but in different dramas. Until now, my crv still creating unusual noise when cruising on the uneven road which not yet considered off road. I brought up this matter all the times during the servicing, and the service personnel could not solve the problems and now the mileage is just 20k and coming to 2 years. Other than tat, the dashboard console also creating unusual noise as well. This is ridiculous by paying this amount of cash for disappointment. ….

• TopGear on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:04 pm

is value for money !…should have wait for this facelift…bought mine last

year…

is worth it !

• joey69 on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:29 pm

the latest mitsu rvr much more better

• subhero on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:42 pm

WHAT THE DIFFRENT?…

I DONT SEE ANY ABVIOUS DIFFRENT.

• bohtakchek on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:45 pm

G3 before facelift gear ratio;

1st: 2.786, 2nd: 1.614, 3rd: 1.082, 4th: 0.773, 5th: 0.566

The now facelift; new gear ration

1st 2.785; 2nd: 1.684; 3rd: 1.128; 4th 0.772; 5th : 0.592

3rd and 5th gear is shorter now; believe to address to claim of highway overtaking no power issue, but not much. have to test drive to know. (F/C will suffer abit i guess), since urban drive most of the time in 3rd gear for G3)

with more rubber seals around door, dashboard, etc… hopefully this will also make

it more quiet compare to the earlier one. any exsting G3 owner who had test drove this facelift, please share your driving experience.

relatively to the imported Koleos, CRV is the only choice. anyway, some how no one "heboh" about the CRV UK fuel injector connector 'recall' uh??? … honda didn't make any statement either here!! y??

• Well said,

March 11, 2010 @ 6:35 pm

Which is better 2010 Hyundai Tucson, 2010 Naza Kia Sorento or 2010 Honda CR-V?

—————————————————————-

Depend on Tucson & Sorento pricing…if tucson/sorento can undercut crv by 20k-30k shud sells well

performance wise if Tucson & Sorento comes wt the stonking diesel 2.0 & 2.2, R-series will outperformed ths crv

Reliability & spare, hyundai sime darby shud be on par wt honda……Naza/Kia, not soo sure

• ravi kumar,sorry to hear that your door handle broke. my 2008 moodel has been trouble free and I can't believe how cheap it is to maintain jap cars compared to my previous contis, so I suppose expensive maintenance is a relative term. soundproofing for my 2008 model is already good,much better than my 2007 toyota wish so the new model should be really quiet

• c14man on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:17 pm

didnt anyone tell Honda the gaping front bumper is farking ugly?

someone please close that CRV's "mouth" !

• overpriced!!

• dirguy on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:03 am

need 2 or 3 months to wait after confirm booked the CRV…huhuhuhuhuhuhu!

• have you get ur car? Been told by the dealer my CRV need to wait untill september. Booked on March. So bad!

• So disappointed, thought it will have GPS build in to dashboard like the version in other country.

• Dark Magicians on Mar 13, 2010 at 6:29 am

still the same……

• 2-Sen Opinion.com on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:21 am

Don't be too excited about facelift model because before you finish your sixth month installment ( over a 9-year HP loan )the new model will arrive and then you start mumbling regreting over the purchase . As always , never learn not to be stupid .

• 2-Sen Opinion.com on Mar 13, 2010 at 7:25 am

Don't be too excited about facelift model because before you could finish your sixth month installment ( over a 9-year HP loan )the new model will arrive and then you start mumbling regreting over the purchase . As always , never learn not to be stupid .

• Bo sui eh~! lolz…

• kim8mis on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:43 pm

RM150k and doesn't come with leather seats. If you ask a third party to change the seats to leather, the dealers (or Honda) will not give you any warranty on the side airbags. I'm debating between the CR-V and the Peugeot 407!!

• khairul on Mar 14, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Just came back from Honda showroom after viewing the much publicised of the new facelift CR-V. Wondering Modula accessories (consisting front & rear aero bumpers, tailgate spoiler & running board) which cost an addition of RM6,750 is value for money or whether buying those accessories from outside is cost savvy…????

Another thing is tinting (film) mirrors (using v-kool product) which the price range from RM1k to RM3.8K is worth buying.????

The most dissapointing part is yet it comes with NO LEATHER SEATS considering the pricing

Appreciate if you guys could give your advice on this. many thanks….

• muharifz on Apr 01, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Modulo kits? Depends on your preference. I do find the side step useful especially for small kids to get into the car. Spoilers and modulo bumper is just another comestic upgrades.
      After market products or so called ‘original imitations’ do have downsides however, for instance, the finishing is not good, gaps here and there, starts to make all sorts of noice if you drive more than 100km/ hour, installation done ‘cincai’. Bear in mind these are Taiwan made products. Still in my personal opinion, nothing beats the original Modulo. If you have the $ go for original Modulo. Worth every penny spent and it also comes with 3 years warranty if you have it installed before the car is delivered and 1 year warranty after you have the car delivered. Nicely done…I used to have after market side steps and spoilers but I wasn’t happy and opted for the originals…got mine from Kosmokars.

As for V-kool? There are so many other products that have good specs like Rikecool or Llumar etc…The best is you compare the specs of each and every film. I went for Llumar 6mil and it cost something like 2.4k. Rikecool same price only 4 or 3 mil…and so forth. 6 mil do certainly saved my windscreen few times already due to stone chips.

Leather seats, be prepared to pay extra 3-4k. Mine comes with 3 years warranty. NIce!

Then again depends on your $ and priorities. Adding additional sonar sensor for front bumper does help a lot too….can check out from Cobra Malaysia…

Rgds…

• bohtakchek on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:25 am

i have always wanted to try out the korean as the european SUV, i cant afford, japan short change us, Ford and GM got realiability issue, what else can we get?? Just the new tuscon and kia came too late, mid of this year. of course by looking at the specs, honda is definitely charging us too much. In jakarta which i am right now, the 2.4 specs with all u want above came within 141k MYR that's with electronic seat, gps, (no moonroof though), vkool tint come together. but that's the fact in malaysia, just wait for the next election to voice our disatisfaction and activate the JFTA, and stop protecting proton which never realize and grateful to improve. Getting a decend SUV needs to fork out half of the amount a landed property would cost these days.

• Kentut on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Change gomen reduce import/excise duty ka, don’t want to pay duties go buy hybrid car.

• Dottcomm on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Test drive the new model lately. My comment:

1. Not much changes to the outlook – look more soft now.

2. Additional 2K for VSA and minor facelift – i think its generous from honda. Overall the car still over-price.

3. Overall driving experience comparing to the before facelift is better as I think the NVH is better now. Feel more quite now (initially dunno why, may be it is new), but saw Paul Tan reply it seems new model is enhanced with better sound proof.

4. Too bad no leather, HID and GPS.

Those looking for SUV I guess you got not much choice unless you take recon.

I am considering Stream / CRV but end up my choice CRV.

• Thomas G on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:07 am

How is the fuel comsumption for the lates Honda CRV?

• csching on Mar 31, 2010 at 1:31 pm

How about buying Chevrolet Captiva? It's packed with lots of goodies to although the price is somewhere 10k more…

• rikky on Apr 03, 2010 at 8:46 pm

For RM150k & no leather seats, really really sad…!!!! Makes the interior looks normal normal – cannot complement the new nice dashboard lah..

• fuaad on May 25, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Like the bumpers, appear more clean. wanna change my present bumper to these ones. any friendly suggestion or advice…tq

• Truth on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:20 am

Can we upgrade the sound proofing on the 2009 CRV ???? Also solve the unusual noise from the front lower axial arm suspension system although has been brought up this issue almost every time yet not been solved.

• Khoo KW on Jul 26, 2010 at 8:18 pm

Just test drove the CRV.
    Nice and I’m getting it.

• I cant afford to buy CRV etc.. Buy bicycle with VSA installed. Ride and healthy.

• civic lover on Jul 30, 2010 at 1:24 am

hopefullu..the next CRV generation will have a futuristic look dashboard with GPS & black leather seat too, then i bet it will be hot sale SUV. ^_^

• Farhat on Jul 30, 2010 at 2:25 am

I just received my 2010 CRV in Crystal Black 2 days ago after an agonising (for me atleast) 3 months of waiting for the order. And its a really fun and great car to drive. The steering is so smooth and easy, unlike my dad’s 2008 E-Class which is on the heavier side. The ride is smooth, it levels bumps and potholes pretty well and the sound system is great.

I dont know why people see the CRV as ugly? I mean i loved it the moment i saw it. although the extended lips is abit over the top but that what makes the CRV unique. As for the ‘gaping’ mouth, i think the Lancer is the winner for that and in terms of SUV, u guys love the 2010 Tuscon with the weird mouth design, why bash this?

I payed RM154K including the rear spoiler, smoked wind-deflector and sidestep (all original Modulo) but im thinking twice about the new Modulo bumpers. On black it looks pretty good, but on silver its damn weird and its a mere 2K each. So im waiting to see how much the in-house Honda sports kit costs, as my Honda dealer recommend waiting for the cheaper in-house parts because they have similar quality, just under Honda and cheaper (only for cosmetic, not really performance)

Cons though: The seat fabric attracts many white particles which is a pitty, and the malaysian version cannot store away the tennau (is that right?) cover which is already difficult to get it out.

RM 150K is quite a premium for a Honda, but you get AWD/4WD, superior quality, great handling and its a good sized bulky and tall SUV. My cousin has a Mazda CX7 and its RM240K for something quite similar, just abit more powerful. But i dont take this offroad (not an offroad car anyways) or climbing up hills (its KL, u drive quite slow in traffic and very few hills) so this car for me is already powerful enough and great to drive. PLUS i know the second hand value is high, so if i get bored of it, i can sell it and get myself a convertible without as much fuss as korean-car drivers, in which after a few years the value will drop. :)

Apart from that, i love the 2010 CRV.

• Farhat on Jul 31, 2010 at 10:36 am

After driving the CRV here and there, did a few off-paved driving (off roading seems more of jungle trekking), I have found a conclusion why many people who owns a CRV, will care for it and love it more and more.

Before my purchase 3 months ago, i did a test drive and took home a Grand Vitara and Chev Captiva. They were good SUVs, but the Grand V lacks the AWD and the ride was choppy and rough. The Captiva is similar to the CRV, only to the fact that the Captiva has a more old-style premium interior, which to me is a let-down (single, still young and studying). But I think the 3rd row seating in the Captiva is only bragging rights by Chevrolet, its small, and its uncomfortable.

There are no options for the CRV, apart from the Modulo kits, but the car is well equipped compared to the pre-facelift version. The USB/iPod connector is my favourite since most of other premium cars lack this, only USB is available on them. The number of cubby holes make interior looks spotless and clean, and the VSA is exceptional.

The ride is fairly smooth. I love the tall seating position of the CRV, it makes you see the unpredictable along the road easily. The Captiva though, lacks this as when i look out the window even with the seats up high, the hood seems to get in the way, i personally dont like that.

The hydrophillic side mirrors works well in rainy conditions, making you see clearer (even though the water stream on the mirror may alter the shape of the rear-coming cars) but its visible. And the only problem is the rearward visibility at the D-Pillar.

I recommend the CRV if you are looking for a SUV that will satisfy you for a long time, why? because its trusted, has high resale value, have the specs you really need (The korean counterparts may have more specs, but those are just selling rights, but you will hardly use 60% of the car’s capabilities – When most people buy 4WD, do they really climb up hills, go offroading, ever? – When you buy a SUV with HUD, you’ve been driving cars without it, is it just for showing off? and since HUD is for you not to look elsewhere but the road, you would still be calling and SMSing while driving? –

• Farhat on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:44 pm

To CRV owners, im just posting regarding my new forum dedicated especially to CRV in Malaysia. Since there were no focused forums for the CRV, i wanted to help out by creating one. Debut today.

http://mycrvclub.freeforums.org

register thanks. n thanks paul.

• crving on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Just received the new crv. Really impressed with the handling and FC. Not sure why a lot of people make a big fuss about new Tuscon.

• Tyler Durden on Jan 01, 2011 at 1:10 am

Guys,

Am considering the CR-V with some doubts (too long to mention).

Anyone could advice their top pros & cons please?

Would really appreciate it.

Kind regards,
    TD

• i have two car of Honda brand…which is odyssey and cr-v 2010.
    so far from my exprience drive this two car, iam more comfortable for honda odyssey then CR-V…
    odyssey more smooth comfort, smooth and relax when i in the car…
    furthermore the car more sporty….