Mitsubishi joins recall party in the USA

Better safer than sorry. In the wake of safety issues affecting auto makers, with the most high profile one being Toyota, other manufacturers are not waiting for something to happen before issuing a recall. The latest to join the party is Mitsubishi, involving the 2004 Endeavor SUV and 2010 Galant sedan in the US market. These cars could have corrosion issues that can cause flammable fluids to leak. This recall affects about 56,113 Endeavors and 2,307 Galants across America.

For the SUV, the issue is salt, road salt used to “de-ice” roads in winter to be precise. The road salt, when mixed with other debris, can become trapped between the Endeavor’s fuel filler pipe and reinforcing bracket, leading to possible corrosion and a fuel leak.

For the Galant, the oil cooler pipe for the automatic gearbox on some vehicles may have insufficient corrosion-preventing plating. Rust can lead to a hole where ATF fluid can leak out. The recall exercise starts in March for the Galant and July for the Endeavor, and will not cost owners a cent, of course.

Local owners need not demand Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia to explain – both models aren’t sold here and while we have plenty of potholes, our roads are not full of salt.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• montana on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm

hmmm.some US conspiracy to save their own automotive industry??

• MoFaz on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Salt… that's why cars in Langkawi and Labuan are cheap. They corrode quicker than mainland.

Anyway, lucky for Mitsubishi, not so many cars affected like Honda and Toyota worldwide, and not very serious defect. Proton should do the same too… better late than never to replace all (especially the legendary power window) problem for free… then people will think Proton is honest in doing business.

• seat-belt on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:15 pm

yeahhhh~~~~its a party in the usa~~~

• rexis on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Although it sound like they recalling for the sake of recall… but seriously every car maker has their own problem, they know about it, and they just pretend dunno about it.

Paul, it would be nice to demo a bit how actually did toyota fuel pedal will stuck. Seriously, how on earth can a thing as simple as a fuel pedal stuck. And, even better, *show us a bit how different is our local Camry braking mechanism than the USA one*

• Stoner on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Our roads are full of crappy outdated models…..

• fahmiyafeii on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm

izzit the new perdana?

• Peter on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm

Better safer than sorry…….Agree…..Well, recall doesnt means that the car is not safe…..It just mean to ensure the car is very very safe enough……

This is called the responsibility needed for automotive makers…

• Beep Beep on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:33 pm

2010 must be the year of recall

• Proton should join the line too.. jangan malu-malu ya.

• dunno when will proton join the party lol

• Jeremy W1 on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:42 pm

what about lancer GT??? also get involved in this issue or not….

• xavier lert on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:43 pm

not applicable here….eh but if someone live by seaside how?

• Mysticmind on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm

good, at least they were not killing people like toyota…yet.

• Tiadaid on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:47 pm

This is getting ridiculous!

• RECALL SEASON !!!! something happen in the US G. awake from SLEEP??

• perkasa on Mar 12, 2010 at 10:58 pm

we're lucky

• when is proton going to have recall so that i can have my elect window fixed foc..

• this is the time for car manufacturer to take the opportunity to admit that their car has defective problem because it can't be worst that toyota..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:27 pm

Was this the galant that Proton wanted to based its perdana on?

I predict more recalls in future. No one will remember mitsubishi, honda, ford recalls in future as they will only remember toyota for being the first and biggest fail

• Rudeboi on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:12 am

People – lo and behold – this is the next Proton luxury sedan to succeed the Perdana model

• initial R on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:32 am

Most Recall related by safety issue. But, Toyota been force to do recall…. Others do volunteer to do recall after the defect reported by customer & check by engineer. Come on, Toyota not honest on 1st place to do recall even do blame for floor matt coz of accident, other we looks like follow… but they doing it by they own willing after the defect will cost customer life… Proton also do recall when they find the defect (savvy with bearing problem, not cost customer single cent)… even now on Proton SC (under Proton), they do checking all thing that related on safety…. U can see it if look’s at Mutiara Damansara SC for example (my proton now all send there). If minor thing, they will inform u before make the repair….

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:55 am

mystvearn said,

March 12, 2010 @ 3:27 pm

I predict more recalls in future. No one will remember mitsubishi, honda, ford recalls in future as they will only remember toyota for being the first and biggest fail

Car manufacturers are abit allergic to safety issues. There have been plenty of headlining recall news, malaysian will only remember Toyota's since we know no better. But the truth is, recalls are a common occurance overseas. Almost all my old cars had a manufacturer's safety recall…. in fact my Eclipse, has a lifetime recall for its Transfer case.

No one wants to repeat the Ford/Firestone mess…

• jmg_32188 on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:56 am

now is the time for the Chinese manufacturers to recall some of their models, especially those which are copycat..

• SY0H (Member) on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:59 am

Mistsubishi? Ain't that a name very familiar with Protong? Thehehe. The big fish smells bad, don't you think the small fish smell terrible too? So no recalls from Protong too?

• totot112 on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:22 am

Wow now that is a fast move to contain the problem. Seems like 2010 most manufacturer start to take action before face it later.

Paultan, i just read a google news from BBC on 11 March 2010 on Daihatsu also do a recall, could you shed some light on that as well like what model, what defective parts, to have more details than the short summary those news release.

Thanks.

P.S. 2010 is the year of recall.

• rexis on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:28 am

If proton do a recall oversea, 3-digit cars total will be involved.

Hahaha, that would not be good to your brand image… provided if you have any!

Btw, recall doesn't exist in M'sia, we only have missed call.

• choseon on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:08 am

haha, nippon auto industry is doomed!!!

• Squawk on Mar 13, 2010 at 2:14 am

Shouldn't I be getting cheap cars if I live in Port Dickson or Kemaman?

• MoFaz said,

March 12, 2010 @ 2:12 pm

Salt… that’s why cars in Langkawi and Labuan are cheap. They corrode quicker than mainland.

Anyway, lucky for Mitsubishi, not so many cars affected like Honda and Toyota worldwide, and not very serious defect. Proton should do the same too… better late than never to replace all (especially the legendary power window) problem for free… then people will think Proton is honest in doing business.

——————

i don think power window can kill lived….can u check my saga for that problem coz i know..if u cannot find lagendary my foot..always when road jammed alway main power window to reduce boredom..up n down..up n down

• the tittle sounds like a song ;P

• bmpower on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:16 am

mitsubishi is doommmmmmmmmed…

rallyart seized down , later factory seized down, then close shop la.

before close shop, they begging a new JV with proton.

old just sold mitsu to proton lah! easier maaa…

later we can get cheaper pajero. local build.

• please gov decrease on Mar 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm

"fahmiyafeii said,

izzit the new perdana?"

ya.betullah perdana baru. salah satu model yg mgkn akan jd gantian model perdana baru. tapi kalau yg ini betul2 gantian perdana, sure tak akan dpt sambutanc

• @rief on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm

It's all about quantity and cash nowdays. they didn't really care about quality anymore.