Ferrari takes 1-2 victory, Lotus completes the Bahrain GP!

Ferrari is officially the team to beat as the Prancing Horse scored a 1-2 victory at the Bahrain Grand Prix. Double World Champion Fernando Alonso was the leading Ferrari as he crossed the line about 16 seconds ahead of his teammate Felipe Massa. Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel who started from pole and who was leading halfway through the race suffered from a mechanical issue which forced him to let go of his lead. He managed to keep on racing but had to settle for fourth.

Third place was taken up by Lewis Hamilton of McLaren. Fifth and sixth spots were filled by both the Mercedes GP Petronas cars led by Nico Rosberg. Michael Schumacher showed that he still has what it takes to race in Formula 1 as at times the German was pressured by reigning World Champion Jenson Button in his McLaren and Mark Webber in the other Red Bull.

Button and Webber finished in seventh and eight positions respectively. Force India managed to make it into the top ten as Vitantonio Liuzzi finished in ninth. His teammate who started from tenth was part of an incident on Lap 1 which pushed him out of the top ten. The final point paying position was taken up Rubens Barrichello in his Cosworth-powered Williams.

Lotus Racing was definitely the top team among the rookies. Both Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli made clean starts and Kovailanen finished the team’s first ever Grand Prix in 15th place. Both Virgin and Hispania failed to finish the race as all four cars went into retirement due to mechanical issues. Karun Chandhok of HRT was the first to retire followed by Lucas Di Grassi of Virgin. The Timo Glock and Bruno Senna joined the list later on. However before Glock retired he was exchanging positions with Kovalainan which was quite interesting to look at.

Jarno Trulli almost crossed the finish line but his car came to a stop at the final moments, most probably due to lack of fuel. Nevertheless he was classified in the finish list and took 17th position. A total of seven drivers retired today.

Lap 1 wasn’t really incident free as Mark Webber’s Red Bull produced a cloud of smoke and Adrian Sutil along with Robert Kubica in his Renault spun after Turn 1. Vettel led Alonso, Massa Rosberg, Hamilton, Schumacher, Webber, Button, Liuzzi and Barrichello at the beginning part of the event. Refueling mid-way through the race is banned this year and all cars ran on a one-stop strategy strictly for changing tires.

There were only few incidents and highlights were made up by Nico Hulkenberg’s spin at the beginning part of the race and Vettel’s mechanical problem that cost him the victory. Unfortunately, there weren’t many overtaking moves despite the FIA’s actions to make Formula 1 more entertaining.

Schumacher spent the entire day behind his younger teammate but as mentioned he managed to keep his nose clean and crossed the line about 4 seconds behind Rosberg. Under the new points system, Alonso scored 25 points and Massa bagged 18. Hamilton scored 15, Vettel with 12, Rosberg with 10, Schumacher with 7, Webber with 4, Liuzzi with 2 and Barrichello with 1. Next stop: The Australian Grand Prix on March 28th!

Please click here to view the full results.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• huiyoo on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:49 am

nice. hope to see they get point in future race

• Tiadaid on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:50 am

Vettel should have won…poor guy, dominates the race but ends up 4th through no fault of his own. And congratulations to Lotus for being the only new team to finish the race.

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:53 am

lotus had proved it's reliability to finished the race,and they are the only new team survived until the end of the race.

• Tengkurex on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:55 am

Even Sauber's cars are out. Well done Lotus. Go Mercedes GP Petronas.

• iskett on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:06 am

Too bad for vettel.. He thoroughly deserved P1.

On the flipside, Hamilton got the podium!

And good job Lotus.

• nabil on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:12 am

finishing first race of the season – check !

• hengkem on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:14 am

Good job Lotus! Works well in their plans to just finish the race first…I am sure more to come from this team…

• tokmoh on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:21 am

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Oh well, 4th is better than… 5th or lower. Red Bull, please build a more reliable car. PLEASE!! This race was SUPPOSED to be won by Vettel, not by a LCLY Spanish ape.

In general conclusion, this race is boring actually. Stupid rules konon to make more overtaking, but there's very few.

• scanzew on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:24 am

well hamilton…you're rocks!!! well invention with air vent on mclaren that channel to rear wings…that's make mclaren incredibly fast in straight line…so innovative!!!

• GreenFuel on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:25 am

Lotus is faster than the Ferrari Powered Sauber, but still 2 laps behind Alonso. Keep it up

• nationalcar Lover on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:30 am

well done lotus..got room for improvement..in future lotus will be 1-2 victory.

• changpw on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:31 am

Seem like Virgin's car is faster than our Lotus,but lotus stability is much more better than virgin.Anyway Congratulate to lotus both car complete the race.Keep on Going ~

• trav_da_man on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:34 am

Ferrari won due to Vettel misfortunate otherwise Vettel easily dominates the race. Any congratulations to team lotus f1 for finishing both of their cars, despite trulli got last in position. This is an achievement considered this is their 1st race and the other new teams failed to finish as well.

Also good race for both Mercedes petronas drivers, looks like Rosburg has good potential just as Vettel.

Malaysians, pls raise n support our Lotus F1 team, n not forgeting Mercedes Petronas team as well!!!

• alonso on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:39 am

The 2 experienced drivers where practically

nursing the engines to finish the race and did not push the engines.

Well since we're already last, there is no other way but to move forward !!

• blaster on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:45 am

congrats for lotus. looking forward for ur improvement.

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:46 am

The start of a boring season with the new rules,

Well done lotus lets see more fights for places next race.

• Ferruccio on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:52 am

Good job Lotus Racing. I actually predicted race finish to be Massa, Alonso, Hamilton after watching quali. I wasn't confident of redbull's reliability given they had issues in practice but based on what vettel's race engineer said on TV it was a broken exhaust (they believe) which was one of those unlucky things, not serious and could have happened to anyone.

So looks like Ferrari and Redbull are leading the pace

• elpaciko on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:00 am

Dear Paul…

Please, please dont put the result in the title… some of us doesnt subscribe to ASTRO sports channel and have to wait for free broadcast. It just spoils everything…

• tokmoh on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:03 am

changpw said,

March 14, 2010 @ 10:31 pm

Seem like Virgin’s car is faster than our Lotus,but lotus stability is much more better than virgin.Anyway Congratulate to lotus both car complete the race.Keep on Going ~

>>> O RLY?

http://www.formula1.com/results/season/2010/824/6…

Virgin GG.

• singh on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:04 am

well i dont F1 is fun or exciting anymore. so boring with less overtaking opportunies. Unless something like mechanical or driver's errors, position wont change. sad sad .

• brossprocps on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:15 am

"chek nak tukaq apa pun mamu bagi…janji chek mau piii saja" Go Lotus racing,go petronas merc. Sokongan padu dari semua rakyat Malaysia. Good Job!Well done.Keep it up!

• nodurian on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:28 am

Excellent start to the 2010 season. Congratulations to Ferrari for making a dream debut by securing a strong 1-2. A complete reversal of fortune compared to last year.

Fernanda proved that he would deliver given the right car and Massa showed everyone that he's back on form after the disastrous and to a lesser man, possibly a career ending accident last year.

Congratulations to Schumi for securing the 6th place, though at times it seemed like he was threatened a bit by the current WDC Jenson Button. Nevertheless, he managed to hold Button at bay.

Nico showed that he has what it takes to take on Schumi by consistently being faster than him over the race weekend. It's no mean feat considering that you are up against a 7 times WDC.

Lady luck seemed to have deserted Vettel again as his engine lost significant power during the closing stages of the race, allowing Fernando, Massa and Hamilton to pass him. He deserved to at least be on the podium after a great qualifying plus strong race pace. But then, as it's been proven time and time again, there can never be certainty in racing.

Special congratulations to Kovalainen who managed to bring Lotus home – the only car out of all the new comers that managed to do so. Hope Lotus as a team can keep it up and ensure that Virgin Racing will always finish behind them. I'm sure all of us are rooting to see Sir Richard Branson serving on the Air Asia flight after the end of the season. That would be quite a spectacle ;)

All in all, an explosive beginning of a long season set to become more exciting in the coming races. Can't wait for Melbourne GP to start!

• theanswer on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:31 am

beside being a good driver, mechanical also parts of the race. so dont say that vettel deserved to win the race..because driver and car must be in one piece..good driver must have a good car. got a bad car means he dont deserved to win the race.

• sorry to said that i think lotus team was a joke in this coming season F1….

• bashbash on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:41 am

changpw said,

Seem like Virgin’s car is faster than our Lotus,but lotus stability is much more better than virgin.Anyway Congratulate to lotus both car complete the race.Keep on Going ~

>>> O RLY?

http://www.formula1.com/results/season/2010/824/6…

Virgin GG.

i think we need to consider fuel load of the car.. The virgin lap is on the high fuel load compare to the lotus car…

BTW…lotus have the upper hand in term or the race finished..

• neokid on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:48 am

congrats lotus and mercedes gp. lotus has proved its reliability, lets work on the performance and speed!

• JACK HAMMER on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:59 am

changpw said,

Seem like Virgin’s car is faster than our Lotus…

c'mon laaa..

lotus average speed = 184km/h

virgin average speed = 178km/h

lotus fastest lap = 2:02.701

virgin fastest lap = 2:07.062

c'mon laaa..

c'mon laaa.. aiyaaaa…

• Lotus 1Msia caya la finish the race..and got fight with virgin..commentator highlight the moments..haha

• another boring race. why the FFFFF they took the kers system out!!, it was exciting last year…

• apexg2 on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:55 am

haha…first good step from lotus and even its last but we still proud for the team…goooooo lotus…

• the fighter on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:56 am

for overall this was very boring race…the 2010 regulation really kill the excitement..the drivers drive safely due to save their tires, mean less overtaking move….no more thrill in pitlane…no more fuel load tactical …the winner mostly depend on the qualifying …the lower team not have chance to play with pits stop strategy…big disappointment huhu

• pliz, do not bash our Lotus team.. they only come in this season with very limited time to prepared for this season.. i believe, the coming year, they will come to be a big competitor to all team.. give them some time..

look at petronas.. they start with a small team last time.. sauber.. after few year, sauber become better and better.. now, after cooperate with BMW, they supporting one of major team, the Mercedes.. i believe Lotus also can be like Petronas..

(or maybe after this will be a new team, Lotus Petronas F1 Team..)

• audio on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:09 am

congrats lotus and mercedes gp. lotus has proved its reliability. Can't wait to see the next race XD

• Leonardo on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:16 am

Congratulations Lotus!. Now let's work on the speed, bit by bit.

Let's ignore the sceptics and keep on improving.

My heart goes out to Vettel, who is naturally fast. A future world champion, if he has the right car and team.

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:26 am

ryan said,

March 14, 2010 @ 11:36 pm

sorry to said that i think lotus team was a joke in this coming season F1….

—————————————————-

Oh really? And you must be Russell Peters.

• w_lighter (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:04 am

wow.. a good day for msian… lotus top rookie, good showing petronas sponsored team, LCW win all england…. bravo

• jamal on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:13 am

its part of the race guys. you dont just have to be fast, but u also need reliability. one only not enough. theres no 'poor guy' in F1 drivers huhu

• kuali hamilton on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:16 am

hamilton banyak alasan la pulak. 'squezzed out' la ape la. poyo btul

• ryan said,

I agree..so much for our hard earned tax money for an overrated newcomer that finished the race 2 & 3 laps behind

• finished 2 & 3 laps behind??

seems like 1Malaysia Lotus F1 was not even competing.

is the proton/government/tax payers money invested in the team really worth it?

• tHe^CuLpRit on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Somehow, there's been a lack of proper magazine publication for the F1 Season this time.

F1 Racing Malaysia has been intergrated into Autocar Asean. There used to be an annual F1 publication too for local market, but I don't see it, unless I missed it.

Anyway good to see Lotus finishing the race, and it looks to be an interesting battle between the top 4 team

• lowprofile on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

afterall said and done, it is a dream debut for a team that started from scratch. both cars finishing is an achievement in itself.

• because they only have a few month to build the car so they can't build the perfect car… so as a new team give them the time to collect a data & useful information to build up the car for this 1st sesion & i'm sure for the next sesion The Lotus car have an improvement & be among top team

• RH PumpkinKing on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm

ryan said,

——————-

Nevermind, I guess you just don't understand the sport.

• Most ever boring race…like a F1 parade!

• initial R on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

New team that start from 0 are diffrance than the team that purchase or take over from previos team. They have to gether all info all away around the track…. For F1 Lotus to finish the race with 2 car still on track still consider a good start…. The baby can't directly run after born… have proses to learn… the good advantage Lotus have is they have the profasional racer at they side to gether info more faster…. so have lots time to improve…. I agree with yen… Even sauber also have to gether info for whole 1 season before they get they own right track (that time only lah, not after petronas left them)… Petronas also get bashing at the time they start sponsoring the racing team…. So after many years did they improve ?….. You learn from mistake mean you learn the proses to born, but if u keep winning then happen 1 time mistake for sure that the day of your doom….

• nodurian on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

I think Lotus did exceptionally well, considering they only get the go-ahead 6 months ago. With 6 months of preparation, to finish the race was an amazing accomplishments akin to probably being on the podium for the more established teams.

Those who said Lotus was a joke, waste of money, blablabla – probably you guys don't really understand the competitiveness not to mention complexities of competing at the apex of motorsports.

It's also heartening to see the word Malaysia on Lotus's car zooming past the screen time and time again. As a Malaysian, I am really proud of the team.

For those who still doubt how well Lotus did in their debut, read James Allen's blog post http://www.jamesallenonf1.com/2010/03/lotus-show-… for a more complete view.

• to finish first in the race you must first finish the race. good work by lotus.

• Mysticmind on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm

I love both Lotus and Merz petronas.

I love to see there's 'Malaysia" word on 4 race cars!.

but I think I feel uncomfortable of lotus a bit because of the 1Malaysia wording there. Maybe it may about 'political agenda'.

Yes it's isssss.. well.. some of us might be think the same about it.

• The race turns out to be pretty boring. The drivers generally running risk-free racing and are content to just reach the finish line.

However, this is just the 1st race, and the teams are just adapting to the new rules. I believe the information each team gathered in this race will make the teams improve fuel & tyre strategies for the next races. Will it make the race more exciting? I kinda doubt it, but perhaps we should wait and see.

I think the problem is, except for the top guys running for the championship, it is just not worth the risk to attempt an overtake against sitting there and wait for somebody to break down.

Congrats on Lotus winning the 1st battle of the newcomers.

• one more though…

air asia on wiliams if i not mistake… =)

• dirguy on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:37 pm

proud that 4 cars with the word Malaysia and 2 more with the name of malaysian company..

• saga aeroback 1.5 on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:49 pm

congrats to lotus team and merc, hope u'll do better in the future

• my bet in 3 years that Lotus will be among top 5..

;)

• Squawk on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:08 pm

Looks like Vettel & Sutil have poor luck quite often.

Seeing how Virgin and Lotus are racing each other, it's gonna be tight between them once the reliability issues are ironed out.

• SyntiumF1 on Mar 15, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Lotus will be bankrupted before reaching the top 10.

You hear Tony bragging loudly how good his budget team was… bla bla bla… now we Malaysian are in denial syndrome ? or is it self consolation ?

Hassan Merican stood his ground to sponsor McLaren and lost his job because he was man enough to stand his ground to do what is right for Petronas – against those that pressured Petronas to sponsor the 1Malaysia Team

Wake up everyone… This is worst than Minardi …. and it will be bloody JOKE in the F1 fratenity !!

Pull out before you destroy Lotus brand and Malaysia image altogether and let Petronas do what it does best in promoting Malaysia.

• Lotus technology on Mar 15, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Which part of the car technology is from Lotus ?

This Lotus is like kereta potong – engine, transmission and aerodynamic all from others .

A real mismatch in brand and technology promotion.

• MalaysiaKu on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:10 am

Jangan Letak Jalur Gemilang kat Lotus!

Buat malu satu negara dan rakyat jelata.

Member member saya kat Singapore semua gelak kita sekarang !

bedebah si TONY tu ! malu betul

• race fan on Mar 16, 2010 at 2:09 am

Didn't see a single Malaysian in the technical crew. Are Malaysians no good as race mechanics? Wouldn't it be good to promote this 1 Malaysia thing by giving exposure to worthy Malaysians? We do have experienced single seater mechs competing at top level single seater racing.

• Forza Ferrari!!!

• blaster on Mar 16, 2010 at 4:15 am

SyntiumF1 said,

March 15, 2010 @ 3:24 pm

Dear SyntiumF1, you are wrong Tan Sri losing job because of that, just mind ur words.

• Diablo on Mar 16, 2010 at 5:17 am

Tan Sri made the right call. Anyone unable to see how good a deal it was for Petronas need to have their heads examined. Remember it was widely reported in the media that Lotus was asking for almost DOUBLE what Mercedes GP was asking

• some people just don't get it…people work very hard day in day out to earn salary to raise a family and have to pay taxes to gov…when the money channeled to Proton cars development it still feels okay…

but when a much much bigger amount being spent on a joke F1 cars that have nothing to do with the legendary Lotus F1 (except name & logo only) with no chance of making into top 10…that is simply a fundamentally bad (or worst) choice of investment of rakyat money.

think about it; is rakyat money really worth spending on so-called "competitiveness and complexities of competing at the apex of motorsports" ?? don't get me wrong, nothing wrong with investing in motorsports. what is wrong and totally inappropriate is when we go over the limit, doing too much or "overdoing". that's when we screw up…

• Tiadaid on Mar 16, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Why is it that Malaysians are the only one who say's Lotus is a "joke" when every other Westerners are praising them? Typical. For a team who went through a rushed development process, to run reliably is unheard of. The speed will come. But instead we slag them for not finishing higher. Come on, be realistic! And the whole "rakyat" money argument, urgh! If I hear one more "rakyat" I'm gonna puke!

• nodurian (Member) on Mar 16, 2010 at 3:08 pm

WSD said,

March 16, 2010 @ 12:29 am

some people just don’t get it…people work very hard day in day out to earn salary to raise a family and have to pay taxes to gov

——————-

A lot of people worked very hard everyday to support their family and pay taxes to the government. Some of these people are excited about Lotus F1, some are not – that's just how it is. No matter what one's view is on this matter, to make a blanket statement that 'some people just don't get it' because they don't share your viewpoint probably won't encourage positive discourse.

No doubt some investments should have never been made as it's truly a waste of tax payer's money but I honestly believe that as a reasonable person you should not pass judgement on Lotus F1 based on the results of their first ever race. Having said that, in my opinion, they did quite well in their debut race considering the constraints they were faced with.

If one day Lotus is able to squeeze themselves into top 10, would we be proud or would we still vilify them?

Personally, I would give Lotus time to blossom and see what kind of ROI they can bring to the nation. As this initiative is already underway, as a rakyat, I want to wish the team well. Once (or rather if) they start to generate good results, more fund could be sourced from external sponsors so much so that they can become a self sustainable entity without having to rely on any intervention from the government. I hope for that day to come sooner rather than later.

WSD – Interesting that you mention rakyat's money. Do you have first hand knowledge on exactly how Lotus F1 is being funded, aside from what you pick up here and there from the paper and online resources of course?

• Jaybond on Mar 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

As I have thought earlier, Red Bull will be among the top contenders.

• Ferruccio on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Everyone knew RedBull were among the top 4 but Vettel's pace in quali surprised everyone. The RB6 is an evolution of last year's RB5 because according to Adrian Newey the RB5 was already very good. The only car on the grid with a pull rod rear suspension. In itself not that easy to integrate with the aggressive rear diffusers this year.

Newey said if they knew they could design their RB5 for 2009 season with double diffusers, he would not have gone with pull rod rear suspension.

• rizalf1 on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:55 am

i think f1 a bit boring now, no overtaking bcoz all driver try to save fuel n tyre. the car carry heavy fuel not easy to balance. i sugguest maybe the car can refuel at lease 1 time in the half of race.