New Kia Optima official images released!

These are the first official images of the new Kia Optima (Magentis in some markets) that will make its world premiere at the New York International Auto Show on April 1st. The Korean carmaker previously revealed the Optima’s design sketches, which you can see here.

Kia latest features a new interpretation of the company’s “tiger” grille that’s joined to the headlamps to create a mask-like face, as seen on the Forte and new Sportage. The fog lamps get LED driving lamps as “eyebrows”. Longer, wider and lower than the current car, this is another new entrant with the mention of “coupe-like profile” by its maker. Kia says that the sweeping chrome arc that flows A to C pillars visually lowers the car while making prominent its “cab-backwards proportions”.

“The Optima embodies Kia’s confident new design direction. It’s a global car with individual appeal,” says Peter Schreyer, Kia’s Chief Design Officer. “The next generation Optima possesses the power to surprise. It’s a car that people will simply not expect from Kia – and that’s exactly what we set out to achieve,” the man added.

I disagree with Peter on his last point. Seeing the company’s great run of form when it comes to design these days, this is exactly the kind of car we expect from Kia – clean, bold, distinctive and totally removed from the previous generation, which in the Optima’s case was worthy but dull. More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=964]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• They are already design leader of automotive world. They surpassed Japanese design at least.

• borak_faidhi on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:32 pm

me 1st:D

• longo on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm

designers should look the side picture carefully. Look what is the proper proportion of wheelbase and overall length.

• rickyll on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Great look. After Forte, the design is no longer surprising anymore. Can wait for its lunch in Mlalaysia.

• Chong on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

wow……! nice!

• KhazA on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

How about the powerplant?

• shawal on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:28 pm

continuing tradition of blandness (old magnetis was OBSURDLY bland)…but i think theres always a market for bland cars…like slyphys…..

Anyway end looks way way too fussy to be good or interesting…

But theres a hint of a JJAAGG XF from the side…..looks muscular than the old car…but overall incohesive… even at the back…

• Camry lover on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm

i think it looks great. the styling is contemporary, not overly done, sporty and quite original. this is anything but dull.

• Darren on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:57 pm

NICE CAR!

• Automotive_Critics on Mar 15, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Very good design KIA but reliability and spares price is still dissapointing.

• eduardo tan on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:06 pm

First…awesome car… cool design..!?

• jugaus on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm

Now this is elegant..how much?

• takeo1070 on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:12 pm

pete, u should add something on the grille….looks empty..overall looks great

• sonGoten (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:13 pm

nice…

• AnakSarawak on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Will we see this one as one of our NAZAnized entries in the near future?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:33 pm

Placing the logo ontop and not centre of the grille looks a bit weird. Maybe the overhang is better in real life than the image it represents. I can imagine a lot of proton buyers or first time buyers migrating to Korean's soon.

• gen y on Mar 15, 2010 at 3:38 pm

holy cow…nicey!

• first…

from side view, similar to honda accord

• nice… will complement the new sonata from kia/hyundai group…. as usual when it comes to M'sia… Naza's reputation will affect how it is received here

• Nice one.. Any Interior pict?? I think KIA will b the new people's choice in m'sia soon, but after they improved on their nationwide service & 2nd hand value (maybe??)..

• jack165 on Mar 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm

I’t up to the people to improve the 2nd hand value.. u nknow what i mean… and one more thing, if previous optima sold about 100k, but T&H car with same class sold at min 140K, how you going to expect the 2nd hand value? look at the first hand value la…

• lowprofile on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

pretty good looking. very european in design.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

Is great and a huge improvement for me.

It also compete to his own brother, sonata as well.

dunno when will some to our shore???

dunno who is the dealer, the selling price make the call.

• Satay on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:10 pm

Reaaly like BMW, nice man….

• BlackLivinan on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Nice! Hopefully the interior will be as good as the outer looks.

• 4G63tDSM on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Looks a little swedish, no?

heheh.

I like.

If Naza Kia can pull off another pricing coup as they did with the Forte, this is going to be on many shopping lists….

• Cpt Shopalot on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:13 pm

tasty

• brutus on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:31 pm

when will proton be able to kidnap this guy, Peter?

our long in the tooth Perdana needs similar treatment like this!!

• DariusDrake on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Finally the Optima looks more like a car that belongs in the D-segment against the Camry or Accord. Impressed with the exec-like lines and catchy front.

• now show us the price and the specs once it lands in bolehland! hopefully it will be cheaper than the similar forte!

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:36 pm

This guy Peter Schreyer is good , KIA will lead for sure .

• mduan on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

the design is good

• great….so, v expect this Optima to be here soon via NAZA

so, Hyundai Sonata will hv a competitor …… which leads to customer benefits

• Dr. M on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm

Good design…

• go kia!!!

• Ben X5 on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:51 pm

First ? haha

Wow.. Stunning design hehe.. lovin this kia hehe.. would be perfect for budget concern ppl tat would like to have a big saloon :D.. hehe..

Cheers

• WOW, this is another "wow" design from Kia after forte and Sportage!! Keep it up KIA!

• revolve on Mar 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

OMG!!!! tis is a great improvement!!!!!

• Nice, very nice. Now I'm torn between the sonata and this.

• Cold_Fella on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Wow, fabulous!

• nice car…

• Vbkcheng on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Well done, the outlook is up to date now…D segment will have another great alternative join and share the cake….

Anyway, my personal taste, Sonata still better interm of exterior..

• ijnek (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm

nice.

what remains now is the pricing to complete with honda

4get abt the T, i wan my car to stop when i want/need it to

• AlphaBravia on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

1st! Nice car and design. Will compete with Accord 2.4L and also others model on their category.. but pity.. its KIA a.k.a NAZA .. hah.. wut a pity..

• kingv6 (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

wow.. it really wows me..

but the wheel must go..

• pomen_gtr on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm

forte trasnformed….

(must be a bit bigger than forte)

• Seem like kia are really catching up the market, the design are getting better and better or i should say for a korean car maker, this car is really awesome, but sadly is a korean car, in our local market the resale value are not too strong. But if the price are really cheaper compared to altis or even civic. I think i ll choose this.

• MyBaBi on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:26 pm

menangisla toyota!

• Wajarari on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Can we get a KIA Optima instead of NAZA Optima here in Malaysia. How do we go about with that? Advise apprecited.

• narrowband on Mar 15, 2010 at 5:57 pm

What does "first"/"1st" in some comments mean? Did I miss out something pertaining to the car…

Nice design by Kia. The Kia emblem above the front grille looks like an afterthought. I foresee owners will firstly take that off, and the car will look just about perfect.

Very angular design, can also be seen from the C-pillar, where the rear window and door are also sharply angled to match the car's angular theme. So much improvement from the Korean automaker in so short period of time. They focused a lot on their domestic market to improve.

• kopi-man on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Salute to the Koreans. They are chasing the Japanese. Check out the China, watching some news about their automotive future. Cant under estimate their potential.

I think when the car companies looking to improve truthfully and not compete in a closed economic market and having a global view, instead of feeding their suppliers, spending the money given instead of EARNed, they have a chance to success.

• Hyundai – bit conservative like merc/toyoda

Kia – youthful like Beemer/honda

Anyway, KIA is owned by Hyundai….good strategy

• The Royal Academy of on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:08 pm

oh my god……kia….

• initial R on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:14 pm

Hmmmm…. nice. Dejavu ?…. VW NCC ?…. Hmmm….. overall batter than TOYOTA…. But please don't give Naza for rebadge. The spec Quality not par as real car….

• 1 Malaysia on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:28 pm

KIA exterior design is great, better than its brother HYUNDAI!

saying Korean is making good quality products, yet i havent bought or try one. perhaps one day soon the Koreran will change my mind to get a Hyundai or KIA.

• endre on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm

tail lamp look like the alfa

• xenogearz on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

what a bold and distinctive design…very impressive…will totally buy this if the 2.4L version (if it is available) is priced below RM120k…

• droll on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:50 pm

i doubt 2.4L will be below 120k. for some reason, m'sian car prices are usually tied to the cubic capacity or horse power of the vehicle. sigh.

• wallstreet on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:53 pm

ir1 said,

March 15, 2010 @ 7:48 am

first…

from side view, similar to honda accord

————————————-

100 times better looking than Accord…

• abet73 on Mar 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm

overall design – very impressive. except the C pillar.

• Alpha on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm

it's kinda dull.n i hate the fact that it has quite a lot similarities with Audi.Well,Peter Schreyer was with Audi before.

• Korean on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Running light copy Merc, Shark fin copy BMW. Korean is always a copy cat.

• Anthony on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:26 pm

the front kia logo is nicer if its at the center of the grill. Currently is a bit weird on the grill side :)

• accel on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:34 pm

good design, kudos to Peter Schreyer. not to the korean~~~

• kenny_lim on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:36 pm

great car, great designer and kia will lead but definitely not in malaysia in anytime soon. it is worth the price but not worth the hassle of getting, maintaining and until letting it go. talked to every kia owners and all rather get a city, vios, accord rather than the kia. problem is not the car but the distributor.

• WhiteForteR on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Kenny_Lim,

you must be a die-hard Toyota salesman just like the master in other thread.

• myron96 on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:37 pm

Certainly look better than P1-EMAS^^

• cycom on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm

kudoss to korean!

• Jumbsuck on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:11 pm

O Ye Proton learn anything new yet? Better close shop sell factory to Hyundai Kia. Don't waste more good metals lah.

• ago87 on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm

What i can say is koreans are getting better and better…

• gangully on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:50 pm

that c-pillar design somehow reminds me of the GTR35

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Yes Koreans are getting better. But they must improve their after sale service standards and cost of maintenence. Once they do that, Toyota and Honda will be in trouble.

• please gov decrease on Mar 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm

wow. good job KIA. The exterior design so cool, so beautiful. Its surprise me. I like it very2 much. Love Kia. Althought its a little bit same with BMW at rear and side, front like its new Forte, but I like it. Beautiful car. If Kia remain older proice tag for the new Optima and put powerful engine, I think Honda and Toyota will tutup kedai forever in bumi Bolehland. hehe. agree that Korea will overtake Japan as Asian and World No 2 Leader. And I believe China will became a new leader in the future both in Asian and World less than 10 years. BYD, Chery, Geely, Brilliance, SAIC at right track and now they trying to capture both developed and developing market. They came with beautiful design, with more gadget at lower price. Building reputation by overtake a solid brand car, cooperate with famous designer like Berton, Pininfarina, Italdesign Guagario and planning building factory at fast and huge market lke US, Europe, Rusia and Brazil.

• pomen_gtr on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:13 pm

i wonder why some people really bother the resale value of a car if u planning to use it for a very long time???or u were a playboy changing cars/girlfriend like changing your cloths…

unless u might use the car for one or 2 years then buy the cheapest car….or kancil….high re-sale value what…. :LOL:

"re-sale value is only mind-trick by used-car dealer….to sell their 2ndhand car…

good job for kia…

• now..only if Kia M'sia could give us at least 100,000KMs or 3 years warranty period!

• leekowchai on Mar 15, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Resale value is important when u dispose ur car. When a car has low resale value, you could have problem selling it. Used car dealers would not even accept trade in or give u a ridiculous low offer. Ppl who have owned 1st hand proton tiara, citroen, kia sephia, carnival would know the pain. My friend bought p2 kembara new at 56k, disposed it to the used car dealers for a mere RM12k after 5 years.

• Squawk on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:02 pm

Looks more exec than Camry.

Used value is very subjective and not difficult to manipulate if it's syndicated. Did Jap cars in the 80s have higher used values than contis?

• Hmmm…hyundai sonata 2011 is better in look….

• xtend2damax on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:35 pm

wajaria,

WTF is the difference!? Dunno why malaysian's are so retardedly stupid! Who gives a fucks ass whether its a kia or naza! As long as the price is reasonable & the quality is good I don't give a fucks ass what logo the put on the car!

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

xtend2damax said,

March 15, 2010 @ 2:35 pm

wajaria,

WTF is the difference!? Dunno why malaysian’s are so retardedly stupid! Who gives a fucks ass whether its a kia or naza! As long as the price is reasonable & the quality is good I don’t give a fucks ass what logo the put on the car!

A Naza badge would mean serviced by Naza appointed service centres which mean poor service. Its different from a CBU Kia.

• WhiteForteR on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:47 pm

Wrong. We do our service at Kia SC for the Forte. So that make sense for this Optima to be the same.

• cool design…i like it..~

• _xXx_ on Mar 15, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Kia designers listen to their customer, know what people need unlike….take a look at Sawi…omg.

• pomen_gtr on Mar 15, 2010 at 11:42 pm

servicing your car anywhere will do…..

not only at naza (if naza cars)…..

the bagde is one way naza to offer a better car with a more realistic price…check bestari who can imagine can afford a Pug. 206 if not with naza help???with insane tax structure….

thanks to anybody u want… :lol:

• mitlanevo on Mar 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

apa ni? Forte LWB edition?????

• Wajarari on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:09 am

xtend2damax said,

March 15, 2010 @ 2:35 pm

wajaria,

WTF is the difference!? Dunno why malaysian’s are so retardedly stupid! Who gives a fucks ass whether its a kia or naza! As long as the price is reasonable & the quality is good I don’t give a fucks ass what logo the put on the car!

———————————————

xtend2damax,

Whether it's a NAZA or a KIA, it is MY personal preference and there is no need for an outburst of profanity. If you can't give an answer, don't bother answering. No need for getting emo with my inquiry. You're probably visually impaired too.

• MangO on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:11 am

Would you be willing to pay extra RM20-30k more for the Kia badge? We know for certain Naza can get away with such pricing which their other competitors can't.

• please gov decrease on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:32 am

pomen_gtr said

"the bagde is one way naza to offer a better car with a more realistic price…check bestari who can imagine can afford a Pug. 206 if not with naza help???with insane tax structure…."

agree 100%. CKD is the best action to reduce insane tax structure introduced by our Gov Boleh Land. Althought we get lack quality product compare to original CBU, the best thing is we can buy import car 50% or much more lower price compare to CBU product. But Naza must increase their QC and after sales services. About resale value, only antic car can sales at higher price. Add resale value is not permanent I think. If Kia/ Hyundai or even China brand can sell their car better with less problem plus good in after sales services, I thnk the result is it will have a good resale value.

• Mad Cat on Mar 16, 2010 at 1:56 am

Cybermaster98: You seem to be saying that changing the exterior badge will immediately degrade the quality and the network SSI/CSI!? HAHAHAHA!

• MBX Boy on Mar 16, 2010 at 2:28 am

xtend2damax,

Whether it’s a NAZA or a KIA, it is MY personal preference and there is no need for an outburst of profanity. If you can’t give an answer, don’t bother answering. No need for getting emo with my inquiry. You’re probably visually impaired too.

——————————–

I think if NAZA anticipates that this new optima will sell well, they'll CKD it in Gurun. As how theorists claim, if the badge is converted from KIA to NAZA, it'll bring the price further down somehow due to how our tax works. So, if you are particular about getting a KIA because u worry about quality, I guess u have to be a little more enterprising and get their first Korean CBU units or pray hard that NAZA brings in only CBU Optimas. Otherwise if that's not the issue, do what many of us are doing: throw away the NAZA badge and replace our CKD NAZA cars with KIA badges. Hehe…

• REsale Value on Mar 16, 2010 at 3:20 am

resale value is always important, but more important factors are : do you like the car??? does it give you the value that you paying for???

If the car that you are buying is not your first choice and you are merely buying it because of resale value, then why not consider proton saga? The most you lose over the years would be RM3xk.

As for value, if you are buying a car and paying 30k more, it should have given you some extra value tht worth at least 30k. if you are just paying to preserve the second hand value of teh car, then you may need to do the math if that is worth while (do take into consideration of teh additional insurance cost, additional loan premium, etc.

Second hand value is about a complete mixture of a lot of factors, but ultimately, is that, still a lot of people wants to buy this sort of car (on a second hand basis), either they can't afford the new car price or simpy dont want to spend on new car.

Second hand price is still high in malaysia simply because our car price is just too high, imaging the new 2.4 sonata is selling at USD19xxx (RM70000) in US, new 1.8 honda civic is selling in Australia at AUD25k (RM75k) or the latest Nissan March at RM35 to 50k (referring to prices in Thailand)….what would happen to resale value….I trust that more people will be disposing car more frequent…so second hand car prices will be somehow affected….

But this kia is really a good looking car, hopefully they put the full specs in it, like infiniti sound system, etc.

• alanzo on Mar 16, 2010 at 3:42 am

i love this one

• Hisham on Mar 16, 2010 at 3:55 am

What Naza & Sime Darby needs to do to make up the good look and quality car from kia are the after sales things and BRANDING. They really need to follow the UMW Toyota style of services. It will be "sayang" if the Good quality and Good looking car like kia, cherovet and hyundai that are coming to town will be let down by this matter. If they can do what the UMW did to the toyota, I can say that these korean car will beat the japanese car.

• another promising car frm korea ..nice car

its look similiar like camry and honda accord…

malaysian car company should take tis car as example to produce next upcoming new cars…look at the design man , no words to say.

• goh c k on Mar 16, 2010 at 4:50 am

I did the calculation for losses incurred if you disposed the car within n numbers of year and found out the below result ( this is including the loan interests paid and the value of car only, not including insurances, fuel efficiency, maintenance costs, etc ) :

ALL Model before year 2010:

Camry 2.0 Losses Per Year = RM15K~16K

Accord 2.0 Losses Per Year = RM19~RM20K

Sonata 2.0 Losses Per Year = RM21~RM23K

All the resale value is based on the value published in The Star and it is average price.

Hopefully after the new batch of korean car we have more sales and thus decreased the losses per year.

• can person sit at the back seat and not worry when speeding thru the bump?

opss, i dun mean u, gen.2

tis one or hyundai sonata?

• Another great car in market. This will be my next target after Forte.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:11 am

im breathless

• OpenMind on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:31 am

despite the much heated speculation about the potential price reduction of car due to the duty, i still think that even the duty is reduced the prices of car especially T and H will not moved much.

The logic is simple, if they are able to sell their cars ( with waitlist of up to even 5-6 months for new models) at the current prices with the relatively basic or low specification, there is no reason at all why they would reduce their selling price even their cost is sibstantially reduced.

Secondly, I still think that the car price in Malaysia is so high not only because of the duty but also the buying behaviour and also the pricing strategy of the car manufacturer. in Other words, it is also demand and supply. So, open market would be really good for malaysia with substantial competitions.

For example, look at kia sportage, hyundai Avente, Chery MPV, chevrolet optra, all of these are priced at 80+k to 90+k (some are after discount). If you do a quick check you will know that the prices of these car in other market are rather close with the japanese car.

Secondly, if a 2.5 toyota camry with 6 speed auto transmission, high solar glass, VSC/Traction control, 6 airbags, etc, etc..(you can check it on www.toyota.com), priced at USD22100 (before discount or other incentives) which is about RM77000. What do you think of the cost and the gross margin is respectively? Guys, we are talking about the all the other costs (including car and all other related cost of sales). I would easily aspect the car to be cost less than RM60,000. Even if this is RM60k in cost, why should a much lower spec car like the current Camry 2.0G priced at RM15+k? Do we pay more to the sales people, higher cost of sales, higher rental of offices or promotion, etc.?????? If you calculate properly with a CKD car duty, you will realize that most of the margin goes to toyota in this case. Can we blame them for maximizing the profit? No, it is their clever strategy coupled with our very predictable buying behaviour that resulted such pricing for such basic car (relatively to what had been sold in US). I understand US is a much bigger car market, but this is not the key point. You may refer it to australia as well, almost the same population if compared with Malaysia. When vios is priced at more than 9+k people still think that it is a steal or great bargain…??? When Nissan March is priced at more than 100k, when Jazz is selling like hot cake at RM103k?

Good Luck….Malaysian…a nation with unbelievable buying power despite having a national GDP per capita of just about USD7-8k.

• MalaysiaBoys on Mar 16, 2010 at 8:59 am

When there no options… what are our choice? Buy Proton? I hope NAZA will grow faster and convert Hyundai, Kia to the next Proton.

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 16, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Mad Cat said,

March 15, 2010 @ 5:56 pm

Cybermaster98: You seem to be saying that changing the exterior badge will immediately degrade the quality and the network SSI/CSI!? HAHAHAHA!

I suggest you do your own homework. Go check out the service centres which were under Kia and the centres under Naza. Its a totally different experience. Im not refering to changing a badge at an accessory shop.

• Alley Bubba on Mar 16, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Of course Naza will say it is CKD unit when in fact it is the only completed knocked down part is the badge. Yes only that KIA badge being CKD-ed but the whole unit is CBU from Korea. Next is playing around the badge over CBU vs CKD defination. CBU of course subject to high hidden car duties taxes but that little badge will do the trick – fake CKD made overpriced CBU.

Then the price of putting KIA or Naza badge. This is the real dilemma. In free open market this Optima price should be RM70K the most with KIA badge itself. But with NAP crap and CKD-CBU trick another hidden RM30K* taxes which is unnecessary at all.

So the price is around RM100K but no, it still looks way too cheap so add another RM20K as final icing on the cake so RM120K list price is good enough to justify its CKD status (the only CKD part is the badge) just below Camry, Accord RM130K-RM140K cage price.

So are you buying CBU or CKD unit is not relevant in this Bolehland. You must pay for the badge almost twice the rate of fair market price of the car. You must pay when you should not, and that is what matter the most: Always charge double for nothing.

*RM30K is standard ali-baba rate of quick-selling car import permit AP/ali baba style (from AP holder to non-holder before reaching car buyers) so it's applicable here just as a price mark-up guide.

Sorry to say all of you car buyers must be sucked dry being held ransom to pay overpriced cars be it national or foreign cars. Worst of all all those hidden taxes also being factored in your car loan which made the final cost almost tripple or quad times, not to mention double standard practice on car loan interest rates. So what is that resale value when all the car value left is a total lost junk you paid until final last repayment?

That's only a case of fake CKD made overpriced CBU, on top of the already RM billions lost, robbed from car buyers since Proton junk days.

Your money basically made worthless for buying craps. Funny lah this Bolehland.

• Looks like someone smiling without teeth.

• Keven on Mar 17, 2010 at 3:19 am

My god,another copy cat model of kia!the kia forte look like honday city,and now the optima look like honday accord,i wonder why korea car like to copy other car manufactured 's design,cant they make their very own design car?Shit to kia!

• keven, look alike is not copy. even if they come out with their own design and idea, we still say; "owh, the design looks like bmw, merc, audi, volvo, etc." and still, it's kia; not honda. =P~

• zazaukl on Mar 17, 2010 at 4:27 am

hurm kia like usual nice design cheap price but no after sales service plus not to mentioned over price spare part price!

• goh c k on Mar 17, 2010 at 4:54 am

Keven, you better have a very high degree of designer status for you to said that statement!! I doubt you can't even copy our P1 and design your own car! haha!!

• the side view looks like m5

• nigttrain on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Alley Bubba and open mind, good points. Now all we have to do is spread the word outside of this forum. Mission:impossible.

• wah,nice design,much improvement than current model.Korean cars are better n better.

• Prashnan on Mar 27, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Dear Folks,

Great news abt KIA Optima (2011) will be launch in Jun/July 2010 by Naza,…its going to be big… big… push in sales…well done koreans….done a good job''…

2 Variants……2.0 and 2.4…..comes with 6speed paddle shift, twin moonroof…like merc e240(import)….18 inch wheels….superb'' high tech safety system(8 AIRBAGS, ABS,EBD,BAT,TCS and more….solid suspension like a Audi A6….info from KOREAN Test drive… website from CLUBK5.kr….and abt…price''….its going to be RM128,000 for a 2.0……and RM148,000……..info from nazakia…..interested to know abt this car…..better…well contact me….

• r u sure???..its middle july now …still no news of Optima 2011…hopefully the price below civic 2.0 RM130K

• goh c k on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:39 am

Prashnan, not sure how high the genuine level of your statement above…. but, surely if it is true then it will divert some prospect buyer for Sonata YF and it will be a head to head competition among this two korean made car in our local market here…

It's really interesting to see how will be the sales figure in the coming months to go!

• Damn man, should hv waited ……….. now can only drool

• nvm la, i wait for K7, double drool

• cybermaster98 (Member) on Mar 29, 2010 at 5:01 pm

Prashnan says:

27/3/2010 at 3:34 pm

Dear Folks,

Great news abt KIA Optima (2011) will be launch in Jun/July 2010 by Naza,…its going to be big… big… push in sales…well done koreans….done a good job”…

2 Variants……2.0 and 2.4…..comes with 6speed paddle shift, twin moonroof…like merc e240(import)….18 inch wheels….superb” high tech safety system(8 AIRBAGS, ABS,EBD,BAT,TCS and more….solid suspension like a Audi A6….info from KOREAN Test drive… website from CLUBK5.kr….and abt…price”….its going to be RM128,000 for a 2.0……and RM148,000……..info from nazakia…..interested to know abt this car…..better…well contact me….

Yes the Koreans are surely coming up with much better cars. But in Malaysia the factor which keeps ppl away is the poor after sale service and price of spare parts. If the Koreans can emulate the Japs in this aspect i dont see any reason why they cannot get better sales in years to come.

• K-I-A on Mar 31, 2010 at 7:53 am

Man, this is a beauty.*swoon* This or K7 will replace my Sportage, whichever comes earlier. :))) Wifey driving Forte…kekekekeh ! Praying she doesnt come across this site o/w headache…

• Prashnan on Mar 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Yap' folks…its going to be big sales,,,but hyundai sonata yf,,,,naa' no where to kia K5,

INTERMS design''' we'll….technology/engine….its going to be the same……if you are comparing the """Doong"" rivals…..ya…its going to be cheaper….. interms technology/design/performence/sizeeee""""pheeeeewwww……just wait and see….

• Prashnan on Mar 31, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Info again'' Sonata YF''' will be launching end of APRIL…..due to some golf stuff …..we;ll

its a big shit'''again….by Sime…….they gone launch 2.0…..first….upon request only 2.4…..

its up to the buyers…which one they chose…..About spec…..its a waste again, 2.0…168hp..6speed..17inch wheels….solid but no uuummmppphhh!!!…the front…i dont know what to say….???the rear….it is something……!!! .check it out once at showroom…folks….the price….around RM…136,000….with two variants……2.4 no idea??????,,,,,,

• goh c k on Apr 01, 2010 at 4:38 pm

Prashnan, I didn’t know where do you got your information from ? Kia Optima 2011 will launched here in Malaysia by Jun/July 2010 !! Meantime to tell you that in the United States this Optima 2011 will only be available there from Sept.2010 onwards!

Are you sure it will be here by Jun/July 2010 ??!!
      Needless to say their production line has to folk out the time for right hand drive Optima !

Nevertheless, time will proof this!!

• anwarpa on Jun 18, 2010 at 6:40 am

goh..he talking like a sales man..all sales man are the same..talking a good things only.

• Bangala on Oct 05, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Wait til Kia Cadenza or K7 launch ….T and H to the drain !!
    Kia FTW …

• yadzli69 on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I have purchased Kia Optima 2004 and up to date I don’t have any problem with my car. Even on my first year, I have been driving almost 80,000km. Up till now, my Optima is still giving me a very good performance.b Well maybe the only set back is the fuel consumption. For a full tank RM120, the most that I can get is 680km; which is about 11 kpl. Compare to my wife’s MyVi with RM50, I can get a milage up to 470km. For sure I am not a good driver as my speedometer will always indicate 120++ kph hahahaha….. Tested max speed only 205 kph..

I think the most imprtant thing is how good your maintaining your engine oil, filter, lubricant and water. Do a scheduled maintenance accordingly and you will always have a good performance out of your car.

• It is surely the car of next level…i had the glimse at Kl motorshow today…marvelous design and sleek finishing…it has the elegance look like Lexus…out of excitement i have consulted with 1 of the Kia team over there..he has mentioned that there will be 2.0 and 2.4 for Malaysia market and the price would be below 150k for 2.0L. Im expecting it should be around 140++ for a CBU model.It will be in the market jun/july.Its the best car for this KL motorshow for my vote…put away all the concept cars…

• similar to sonata n much better. how much?

• similar to sonata n much better

• very nice car, but still is KIA, felt bit upset, im still not very confidence in KIA product

• jamil ahmad on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm

HI MR&MIS
    I want Looking kia optem used car.