Petrobras to sponsor Lotus Racing?

Brazilian news agencies have started reporting that a deal has been sealed between Lotus Racing’s F1 team and Brazilian oil company Petrobras. A nice match in terms of aesthetics at least since both Lotus and Petrobras colours are green and yellow.

Petrobras does not confirm this, saying that the deal is still in negotiations, but I think there won’t be smoke without fire! The deal is said to be worth US$9 million and Petrobras logos are expected to debut at the Spanish GP. Petrobras is not new to F1 sponsorship – they were a sponsor of Williams in the past.

Being the only new team that finished the race with both cars, I suppose the team’s Bahrain results has worked in the Malaysian-backed team’s favor in terms of potential sponsor confidence!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• malaysia memang bole on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:30 pm

I thought it was petronas,then suddenly petrobras

the logo really match with lotus's colour

• Tengkurex on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Nice sponsorship from Petrobras to Lotus. This shows us that giant company starting to realize Lotus potential in long term.

• "70 Plymouth Ba on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:32 pm

what a very good news for our Lotus F1 team!

lets our finger cross..

• xenith (Member) on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:39 pm

Petronas did not sponsor so Petrobras also ok…

• THE ROYAL ACADEMY OF on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:45 pm

HAHAHAHA HOW ":MALAYSIAN"

• gellardo on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:49 pm

well done and nicely done LOTUS!….

• raybrig on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:50 pm

yeah, good collaboration, hopefully Lotus will perform better than Bahrian result in the next GP races..

• takin on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:50 pm

since petronas has off their sponsorship on lotus..

now petrobas has taken a good step for our lotus..

good luck lotus ;)

• blaster on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:54 pm

good for lotus. u will get other sponsor later

• firdausyusof on Mar 17, 2010 at 11:57 pm

Waaaa, now Lotus Racing seems getting more sponsors…… Previously it's CNN, now PETROBRAS, what's later…..

• Anonymous on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:05 am

Phew!

So much money comes to Lotus.

Naza, CNN, Petrobras..

Lotus better get well prepared and make some improvement in every race.

• kodok on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:06 am

can't get petronas go to petrobras.

• GooD news … lurve to see samba gurls with bikinis @ Sepang

• wow! fully backed by Amazon thugs

• thunderbird on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:12 am

Petrobras, currently the world largest NOC who operating 58 rigs at one time.

Going to drill 300 wells in next 5 years.

• pasum on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:12 am

hhaha.. Petronas x nk.. Petrobas pon jadik laa

• pasum on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:15 am

i think its the lotus color scheme that makes them wanna sponsor lotus..

• Spica on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:23 am

You guys make comment like Petrobras is 3rd rate company. Actually Petrobras is bigger company then Petronas. Based on Fortune Global 2009, Petrobras rank 34 and Petronas rank 80.

• cantek……

haha…

• bras made up of petrol

• neokid on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:39 am

nice! use d funds to develop a new engine and aerodynamics. cosworth sux,

• gangully on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:41 am

or rather petrol for bras?

hahaha… anyway… Paul, i think you made a mistake, Lotus F1 was not the only team that finish the race with both cars…

Ferrari and Maclaren and Mercedes GO did too…

• sangkunang on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:49 pm

gangully,
      paul said, lotus is the only NEW team that finished the race with both car…

the word is NEW team…
      ferrari, mclaren, mescedes are not the new team…

the new team in F1 are Lotus, virgin, and hispania…

• protonputra on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:54 am

are they premium partner or just co-sponsor. Where will be the logo being placed.

• Tiadaid on Mar 18, 2010 at 12:59 am

If Petrobras sponsor Lotus, what'll happen to their sponsorship of Williams? Or is that no longer going. And another funny thing about Williams is that AirAsia still have a presence on the Williams car. How awkward it is for Williams marketing people when they cross paths with Tony in the paddock?

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

Hopefully the deal is for real. Lotus F1 got to make improvement from time to time to gain confidence and attract other sponsors.

Good luck Lotus F1.

Salam..

• mujahid on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:07 am

emmmm…. i'm surprised…. at least a giant company have faith on lotus racing (whether or not the deal is on) rather than some typical malaysian that called themselves sooo clever to give some stupid comments….

• Peter on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:29 am

I believe that Lotus Racing will continue to improve by having more funds….The team needs more experience because they are still new…Maybe wait till a few months or even a few seasons…Lotus Racing might become a stronger team….

• alorotom on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:31 am

mujahid said,

March 17, 2010 @ 5:07 pm

emmmm…. i’m surprised…. at least a giant company have faith on lotus racing (whether or not the deal is on) rather than some typical malaysian that called themselves sooo clever to give some stupid comments….

—————————————————————–

This is not based on faith, bro. In business, everything is based on RETURN. In another word, PROFIT. Or more literally – "What's in for me?"

Do you really think the Brazil Oil company literally invested in Lotus based on Faith? Your perception toward this world is wonderful.

• MADBOY on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:48 am

gangully said,

March 17, 2010 @ 4:41 pm

hahaha… anyway… Paul, i think you made a mistake, Lotus F1 was not the only team that finish the race with both cars…

Ferrari and Maclaren and Mercedes GO did too…

—————–

aiya, he was talking about the new team lah.

• f1fanatic on Mar 18, 2010 at 1:49 am

who needs petronas when we got petrobras rite? hehe..

• but US 9 mill seems quite small… or is it?.. premium sponsor?

• rexis on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:06 am

Fooof…. ethanol power. Dun play play.

• jamal on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:08 am

i hope petrobras jadi sponsor lotus. more money better loo. lagi manyak untong, boleh kasi laju itu kereta. anyway the car looks mundane without some serius big company sponsor. later can remove the very big 1 malaysia logo when more sponsors come in. just put small malaysia flag like ferarri where they put only small italy flag. looks classy. huhu

• MoFaz on Mar 18, 2010 at 2:19 am

neokid said,

March 17, 2010 @ 4:39 pm

nice! use d funds to develop a new engine and aerodynamics. cosworth sux,

—————————-

Sorry, US$ 9 million is not enough to develop own engine. maybe could cover salary for drivers only.

anyway, I wonder what's Naza doing in F1… they're not exporting any product so why bother advertising their brand? just for "investment portfolio"?

• I wish Petronas can sponsor for Lotus car…… :|

• eVilsin on Mar 18, 2010 at 4:50 am

MoFaz said,

March 17, 2010 @ 6:19 pm

anyway, I wonder what’s Naza doing in F1… they’re not exporting any product so why bother advertising their brand? just for “investment portfolio”?

They are international Co the have few hotel's oversea and local and property development under NAZA Group.

• tokmoh on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:01 am

A Petrobras is fine too.

~~~

Spica said,

March 17, 2010 @ 4:23 pm

You guys make comment like Petrobras is 3rd rate company. Actually Petrobras is bigger company then Petronas. Based on Fortune Global 2009, Petrobras rank 34 and Petronas rank 80.

>>>Quoted for truth.

One door closes, another door opens, eh? I guess with this, Alex Yoong wouldn't feel disappointed anymore :)

• Guys

Just a thought,

Giant (the supermarket) also Green and Yellow too..

• kehkehkehkeh

jgn pulak ada mangkuk yang kata petrobras money is their money too

hehehe

• they sold re-badged cars. maybe they want to 'show' it to their suppliers and gain more trust from them.

I agree with mujahid. most Malaysians are negative. this actually bring bad image to Malaysia and I don't like that. they forgot that most of our tax came from international companies(except petronas) invest in Malaysia. bad image means less investment leads to poor economy. we reap what we sow.

I bet most of us use more petrol subsidy money compare to the tax we pay in a year!

anyway, bravo lotus! even if this does not materialize, you guys done a great job to attract big sponsors. (hate to admit it but petrobras is bigger than petronas)

• all commenter sound like petrobras is less than petronas. Do you know based on Fortune 500 Petrobras is far bigger than Petronas?

• Tengkurex on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:35 am

If Petrobras sponsor Lotus, what’ll happen to their sponsorship of Williams? Or is that no longer going. And another funny thing about Williams is that AirAsia still have a presence on the Williams car. How awkward it is for Williams marketing people when they cross paths with Tony in the paddock?

——————————————————————

Petrobras have not sponsored william since 2008. Petrobras actually want to sponsor Honda in 2009 before the Brawn takeover. On 5 April 2007, AirAsia announced a three-year partnership with the British Formula One team AT&T Williams. So figure it out, why AirAsia still with William.

• Tengkurex on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:45 am

$9 mil (USD) is just a small sponsorship compare with Petronas sponsorship to Mercedes GP that worth €30 million (GBP) per season as premium sponsor. But anyway is good for Lotus that starting gaining sponsorship from multinational companies.

• jimbo (Member) on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:49 am

Petrobras made quick move..Lotus strong branding name in F1 and Sakhir results boost them high confidence in team's well progression..

• Tengkurex on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:50 am

Oppsss sorry my mistake actually €30 million (Euro).

• Tengkurex on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:55 am

Typo… should be €30 million (Euro). Sorry guys.

• blaster on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:59 am

Yup Petrobras bigger than Petronas. Good for lotus actually if they can perform well and convince Petrobras.

• frossonice (Member) on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:46 am

Great news. Thought I'm sadden to see none of Malaysia big corporations like Genting, YTL, Berjaya or TM bother to give a little sponsorship. Yes, maybe F1 does not fit their business spectrum but then again, these are the companies that rakes billions of ringgit every year from us and worldwide.

Come on, give us some sugar. Don't just keep it to yourself or invest on some foreign country south of the border.

• bryan.jones on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:58 am

fross, TM/YTL/BERJAYA/GENTING not gonna waste their money for something that don't suit them. we should salute them for sponsoring Super League/Liga M even its a national call with minimal market exposure over their products.

For me, Petronas has made the right decision by sponsoring Mercedes GP. Petronas investment is not solely on marketing perspective, but technology acquisition.

While Lotus have to keep on progressing to gain the M'sian big brothers' trust. And if you can see why Tony promoting Tune is because they're expanding the "Tune" brand to Europe (15 TuneHotels by 2017). Probably after 3-years contract expired, AirAsia will join Lotus and leave Williams for good.

• samreng on Mar 18, 2010 at 9:23 am

If you read this article you will feel how STUPID and SUCK this press and reporter…make me angry… Not study first before publish that article… DAMN & very hate them…
    http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2010&…

• MoFaz on Mar 18, 2010 at 9:30 am

TM could be out of question. to bring another GLC into F1 will only make it hot topic for politicians, and not forgetting "self-acclaimed" politicians in blogs too. Well, even after gov announced that it has nothing to do with Lotus F1 financially, some people here are still blindly accusing that "their" money is being used.

think again, how much you pay tax per year? and how much subsidies (petrol, tolls, rice, sugar, foods) you use per year?

negative mentality is happening in Malaysia. why GST could be implemented in Singapore (7%), and not in Malaysia (4%)? well, Malaysians are such spoiled brats, pampered from the moment they're born until they die. Soon, they would think that it's their "right" to get everything cheap, if not for free.

• usually "minor majority" said all the negative view..claim to be majority

• F1Freak on Mar 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Samreng what is your problem? The reporter the right to print his version of the truth after all the Lotus F1 Racing did finish 15th and 17th, LAST position. AND with 2 laps down. No one begrudges them the joy of finishing the race but REALLY, did they really have to make such a big deal for finishing? So what if there are other teams that did not finish the race? We should compare with the ones that did and strive to be the best. They should at least target to be mid of the pack. Ok, dont come back and say that I am a typical Malaysian, always negative, EVEN Kovalainen (Lotus F1 Racing driver) said they had to raise the bar higher.

Anyway getting PETROBRAS is good (if they conclude the deal). This should give them the funds to invest more in the car. And PLEASE, aim higher, finishing races is not what being in F1 is about.

• Tengkurex on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:22 pm

If you read this article you will feel how STUPID and SUCK this press and reporter…make me angry… Not study first before publish that article… DAMN & very hate them…
    ______________________________________________________________________________

Maybe the reporter is a fan of virgin, that why he bashed Lotus badly. http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2010&…

Just let them bashing for now. Well… just wait and see what is the outcome of Lotus performance after going major upgrade at European race later.

• Mysticmind on Mar 18, 2010 at 5:52 pm

samreng said,

March 18, 2010 @ 1:23 am

If you read this article you will feel how STUPID and SUCK this press and reporter…make me angry… Not study first before publish that article… DAMN & very hate them&hellip ;http://www.kosmo.com.my/kosmo/content.asp?y=2010&dt=0314&pub=Kosmo&sec=Sukan&pg=su_05.htm

yup! a super stupid reports. such no knowledge in sports.

or else.. it might be a boring toyota user. Know nothing!

• mujahid on Mar 18, 2010 at 6:05 pm

alorotom

I think there's misunderstanding here. 'Faith' that I write more or less has a meaning that a worldwide company also have confident such a new racing team will give something to their brand.. Of course every sponsorship in this sports meant to give return to the sponsorsoring company, that's a well known reason…

• budlee on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:39 pm

petroleum brasil..

petrobras..

bras?

so lots of latina girls wearing boy shorts and bras from petrobras at sepang?

sorry… that is the first thing that came to my mind… :D

• nigttrain on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:42 pm

State of Kedah should sponsor too. Where is the Petrobras logo on the car? Not on the rear diffuser, right?

• Jaybond on Mar 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Lotus should have this mentality, to finish first, first thing is you have to finish the race.

• samreng said,

March 18, 2010 @ 1:23 am

This is the standard of our so-called journalist nowadays… I wonder what the fella's been smoking or if he even knows what F1 racing is all about.

• you are an asshole on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:21 pm

@ MoFaz said,

because we paid twice the money of a car ? so we are allow to have some subsidy and less GST ?

camry is selling RM 80K overseas, we are paying RM 150K … even the fuel subsidy is gone, i don't think we going to spend RM70K for fuel for 25 year time (lets assume 25 yes lifespan of the car)

• you are an asshole on Mar 18, 2010 at 10:26 pm

@ Mysticmind said,

wtf of that comment is related to toyota user …

• Now everyone can fly to brazil and samba.

• race fan on Mar 19, 2010 at 4:59 am

Tengkurex said,

March 18, 2010 @ 9:22 am

Just let them bashing for now. Well… just wait and see what is the outcome of Lotus performance after going major upgrade at European race later.

With the upgrade in place where do you think Lotus will finish at the first European race (Spain). Remember that ALL teams will introduce their respective 'major upgrade' in Spain.

• MoFaz on Mar 19, 2010 at 7:22 am

you are an asshole said,

March 18, 2010 @ 2:21 pm

camry is selling RM 80K overseas, we are paying RM 150K … even the fuel subsidy is gone, i don’t think we going to spend RM70K for fuel for 25 year time (lets assume 25 yes lifespan of the car)

————————————————–

Camry in Malaysia is from Thailand, so why not refer to selling price in Thai? Camry in Thai is starting from RM120K (2.0) to RM290K (3.5). can you get Camry in Thai for RM80K???

Now, which part of the world did you get Camry for RM80K? it's Saudi Arabia!

Camry 2.4 which cost RM140K in Thai being sold at RM80K in Saudi, and the funny thing is the car originated from Thai… why is that?

I'll let you come up with your assumption.

• samreng on Mar 19, 2010 at 8:21 am

F1Freak said,

March 18, 2010 @ 7:53 am

Samreng what is your problem? The reporter the right to print his version of the truth after all the Lotus F1 Racing did finish 15th and 17th, LAST position. AND with 2 laps down. No one begrudges them the joy of finishing the race but REALLY, did they really have to make such a big deal for finishing? So what if there are other teams that did not finish the race? We should compare with the ones that did and strive to be the best. They should at least target to be mid of the pack. Ok, dont come back and say that I am a typical Malaysian, always negative, EVEN Kovalainen (Lotus F1 Racing driver) said they had to raise the bar higher.

Anyway getting PETROBRAS is good (if they conclude the deal). This should give them the funds to invest more in the car. And PLEASE, aim higher, finishing races is not what being in F1 is about

—————————————————————-

That's why I said study first before put anything comment and open your mind if you know nothing about F1… Don't shame yourself… You comment will show how low knowledge you're. Do you know how F1 motorsport running? How to build a F1 team? Do you know how hard and suffer they all doing their job to build a reliable car? Even to get only second faster not an easy job… Even Honda, Toyota and BMW fell down. Do you know even Mclaren Mercedes also admit that Lotus can build a F1 car in as short as around 5 month? F1 is the highest level that engineering knowledge applying… I'm an engineering student so I know that's all not such an easy way… At least finished a race with both car is good enough in first race…

• Tengkurex on Mar 20, 2010 at 1:04 am

race fan said,

March 18, 2010 @ 8:59 pm

With the upgrade in place where do you think Lotus will finish at the first European race (Spain). Remember that ALL teams will introduce their respective ‘major upgrade’ in Spain.

——————————————————————

Yes, I realize that other teams will also be upgraded. Like what I said before..just wait and see what is the outcome of Lotus performance. I didn't set any target for Lotus.

• Jarum on Mar 20, 2010 at 10:13 am

Speaking of sponsorships, I noticed that AirAsia is still sponsoring Williams F1! How come Tony Fernandes does not have confidence in Lotus F1?? Pull out you money from Williams F1 and bring it over to our Malaysia team la, Tony!

• Tengkurex on Mar 21, 2010 at 2:10 am

Jarum said,

March 20, 2010 @ 2:13 am

Speaking of sponsorships, I noticed that AirAsia is still sponsoring Williams F1! How come Tony Fernandes does not have confidence in Lotus F1?? Pull out you money from Williams F1 and bring it over to our Malaysia team la, Tony!

——————————————————————————————————————-

Please refer what i had mentioned before that AirAsia have 3 years sponsonship deal with William from 2007-2010. You can't simply ask Airasia to pull out like that because they have contract on it. Perhaps next year we will see AirAsia at Lotus.

• sangkunang on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:58 pm

yeah…
      next year, air asia will be in lotus body.
      this year they cant put airasia logo because of sponsorship in william still under contract.

if they can, of course tony fernades will put air asia earlier, rather than tune group because is a well known brand compared to tune group…