Nissan to open design studio in Beijing, China

With increasingly saturated domestic markets, the world’s major carmakers are flocking to developing markets such as China and India, where car ownership figures still have plenty of room to grow. It therefore makes sense to have a base in these countries, to design, modify and manufacture cars according to local tastes. GM-SAIC’s PATAC facility on the outskirts of Shanghai is a great example of this – initially a “rebadging centre”, it’s now capable of full vehicle development (Chevrolet Sail) and even concept cars (Buick Business Concept).

Now, Nissan has announced that it will establish a design studio in Beijing. Scheduled to open early 2011 in the Chao Yang district, it will be the first design facility in China by a Japanese automaker. The studio will be part of Nissan’s global network of design centers, which includes two facilities in Japan (Atsugi and Harajuku), one in America (San Diego) and one in London, UK. Nissan’s Chinese subsidiary will invest RMB 11.76 million (US$ 1.7 million) to set it up.

“With the addition of 20 designers, Nissan’s new studio will enhance our design capabilities, as well as our product competitiveness in China and Asia where the automotive industry continues to see robust growth,” said Shiro Nakamura, Nissan’s chief creative officer and senior vice president of design.

“Locating the studio where our customers live and work allows us to best respond to their needs and design vehicles that exceed their expectations.” Nakamura-san also added that the Chinese capital’s expanding design community made it a “natural choice” over rival cities such as Shanghai.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alan Wong on Mar 23, 2010 at 12:09 am

China designers are still lacking behind… Look at their China made cars, they are all copied, not designed….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 23, 2010 at 12:16 am

oh no

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 23, 2010 at 12:23 am

I can see lots of other car's copying nissan car ideas in future..

• futureleader on Mar 23, 2010 at 1:08 am

With or without Nissan design studio, Chinese car design is moving forward.

• proton on Mar 23, 2010 at 1:57 am

they should open in malaysia, malaysia has an outstanding R&D facilities here,thanks to proton, and i'm sure proton R&D engineer is up to the par to give them a hand, and dont forget the lotus handling and the new turbo engine design experience.

we are the best, we are malaysia, and malay boleh!!

erm, actually i'm just trying to be ironic.

• Squawk on Mar 23, 2010 at 4:34 am

Why? Isn't Malaysia good enough?

• China is good.

Good with imitation product.

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:31 pm

beware – its going to be China versus the world.

• Boleh on Mar 24, 2010 at 5:50 pm

i say… why dont they open in Msia?… our gov not promote Msia to them?? Here we got lives depend on it, handling & boleh spirit & we are one & only manufacturer in the world so proud to be the only one adopting this methodology… yeah.

• Omotunde Temitayo on Jul 25, 2010 at 12:12 am

Dear Sir,
    I am young healthy man, a compulsive sketcher of designs related to the automobile industry.I am naturally talented in this and have been workingn assidiously in this area for sometime.I started my career as a car designer with no working experience at a design department of a global automotive company,no academic and training eligibility.I have capability to create attractive design concept by inspiration,my passion and imagination in auto designing lacks written description for patenting.

Also I live in a developing country where financing ideas of this nature is usually a major constraint with no automobile design academic and manufacturing design plant in my country.

Is there any distance learning programe on auto- technology that I can enrol in any where in the world?

Looking forward to hear a favourable response from you .

Thanks.

Yours faithfully,

Omotunde Temitayo

• Omotunde Temitayo on Jul 27, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Dear sir,

REQUEST FOR ASSISSTANCE ON KNOWLEDGE AQUSITION FOR ADVANCEMENT

With refernce to your advertisement “NISSAN DESIGN is currently seeking highly skilled,motivated proffessionals in the area of car Design and Modeling”for the position of car designer as advertised at www.nissan-global.com/DESIGN/RECRUIT/NDC/.I am omotunde temitayo,a compulsive sketcher of designs related to the automobile industry.I am naturally talented in this and have been working assidiously in this area since 1997.

I am a raw talent who wish to be refined in order not to be wasted.I need the help of proffessionals to realize my potentials and to turn my passion and immagination into reality.The little education I have acquired is not enough.Also,I am interested in acquiring more practical and theoretical in auto designing to boost my career prospect,as well as keep abreast of latest development on the field as well as to maintain my relevance in the field from time to time.All these will definitely enhance my productivity especially in a team setting.In my kitty are assarted attractive designs for automobile firms with the aim of promoting auto technology which still require technical support for patenting.

I am eager to undergo training and re-training in the area of car design and to have team work on my inventive ideas related to the automobile industry which will enable me,and your organization,enhance my talent and present to the whole world new development in auto-technology innovation.

Please I will be glad if I am signed up as a industrial trainee under your jurisdiction on the above mention matter.

Looking forward to a favourable response from you.

Thanks.

Yours Faithfully,

Omotunde Temitayo